No constitutional or contractual way Pakistan can be banned from World Cup: BCCI officials [#279]

What happened to Indian policy not to globalize the Kashmir issue as its their " internal affair" .

This is why desis will never surpass other races; Choti soch

Indians would do everything to look and sound like westerners, especially here in the US, but you can never take out the choti soch from within.

Who said anything about lack of foreign players. Aren't all the south American teams providing superstars to European football leagues? No league can compete with IPL financially and international cricket will be relevant only during world cups. As I said, there is still time for that and it's the end game. Your own point that cricket is dying in other countries validates my argument.

Mate people won't play cricket if it comes to that.
Even indians will prefer football over cricket any day of the week.
Football is just becoming more popular
No one has the time to watch a 4 hour match.
For football it is 90 mins and it's done. This is the one of the reasons why i'm saying cricket will die if pakistan no longer plays.

Firstly cricket wont die if Pakistan isnt playing.

Secondly if India refuses to play ICC tournaments as long as Pakistan is playing, then ICC will have to choose one. But as i said, such a scenario is unlikely.

It will die, you take out any major nation and it will die.

It will die in Pakistan for sure, and then so will this website and so does your and many indian cricket fans reason to exist online as you would have nothing to bicker with Pakistanis.

Remember how every board alienated BCCI during the financial negotiations for ICC handouts. It will be the same case if BCCI insists on banning Pakistan. They will not gain any support from other boards as Sport is supposed to be independent of politics.

As far as banning nations for political interference, my suggestion was to follow FIFA. It is far fetched at this point as most countries in Asia have political or judicial interference. The head of PCB is Pakistan PM. BCCI is in a judicial mess. BD and SL boards are routinely mired with politics as well. It should not be the case.

Remember that the CoA stopped BCCI from pulling out of the CT. The ICC pulled out a stunt because the BCCI was handicapped.

You do not gain support. You buy support.

Lets assume that Govt of India refuses to send the Indian team to any event where Pakistan cricket team is playing. What will be the financial impact on ICC tournaments?

Why will other boards take that impact for the PCB?

Was politics independent of sports when England and Australian teams boycotted the Zimbabwe?

ICC will never do this.

If India asks such a thing, Pakistan should protest vehemently to ICC about Indian high handedness.

Some people think India is BE AND ALL and GOD of everything.

But thats just delusional thinking on their part as we Will win this battle InshAllah.

Remember that the CoA stopped BCCI from pulling out of the CT. The ICC pulled out a stunt because the BCCI was handicapped.

You do not gain support. You buy support.

Lets assume that Govt of India refuses to send the Indian team to any event where Pakistan cricket team is playing. What will be the financial impact on ICC tournaments?

Why will other boards take that impact for the PCB?

Was politics independent of sports when England and Australian teams boycotted the Zimbabwe?

you dont understand that what BCCI tries to do every now and then is financially blackmail ICC.

And this could have repercussions one day. Because this is unethical.

Yes, BCCI is well within its rights to pull out of an ICC tournament or forfeith a match, but i believe there are repercussions for it aswell.

Ever since BCCI got a favourable ruling on the MOU case, Indian posters think its because of money they can get anything they want, however its not like that.

The MOU case decisio was given out on the basis of contract technicality, as BCCI had mentioned the conditions.

Here BCCI is no one to ask ICC to oust Pakistan, plus any action they decide to take will have repercussions.

Recently sme rifle shooting is going on India, and with Pakistan not being allowed to participate, the governing body has said that they will place sanctions on India and they could also face problems when placing bids for hosting Olympic,Asian, commonwealth etc games in future

you dont understand that what BCCI tries to do every now and then is financially blackmail ICC.

Yes, BCCI is well within its rights to pull out of an ICC tournament or forfeith a match, but i believe there are repercussions for it aswell.

Ever since BCCI got a favourable ruling on the MOU case, Indian posters think its because of money they can get anything they want, however its not like that.

The MOU case decisio was given out on the basis of contract technicality, as BCCI had mentioned the conditions.

Here BCCI is no one to ask ICC to oust Pakistan, plus any action they decide to take will have repercussions.

Recently sme rifle shooting is going on India, and with Pakistan not being allowed to participate, the governing body has said that they will place sanctions on India and they could also face problems when placing bids for hosting Olympic,Asian, commonwealth etc games in future

iI agree with you that BCCI has no rights to ask Pak to be kept out.. but what you are missing is it is well with in their rights to refuse to participate. Yes, there will be repercussions and if BCCI is ready to face those repercussions then what stops them from boycotting? i personally feel it is stupidity as it does not serve any purpose, but if they want they are well within their rights to do so.

Mate people won't play cricket if it comes to that.
Even indians will prefer football over cricket any day of the week.
Football is just becoming more popular
No one has the time to watch a 4 hour match.
For football it is 90 mins and it's done. This is the one of the reasons why i'm saying cricket will die if pakistan no longer plays.

Mate cricket will adapt depending on interest. It used to be unlimited to 5 days with a break to 5 days to to ODI with 60 overs to .....

Chotay log... if they have a problem they can boycott the event. Who the hell is BCCI to determine who participates or not.

If India thinks they control ICC and everything in cricket, they should just ask ICC to hand them over the WC Trophy, otherwise threaten that they would boycott the World Cup.

Im often embroiled on debates with indian posters on here but its good to see that the majority of them aren't as foolish as the Indians who are going crazy across the border.

After getting the contract of assembling F16 wings Indians are thinking that they becomes the super influential peoples of the world.

IPL 24x7 is the end game. NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL show that it's possible. India has the size and financial clout to support it.

won't be feasible, especially with that 4 overseas player rule

how are you going to find international cricketers without international matches?

This whole thing is laughable,
Pak is a full member of ICC,
Ind is asking icc to ban its full member that too from a World Cup on what basis
Not going to happen period

This is why desis will never surpass other races; Choti soch

Indians would do everything to look and sound like westerners, especially here in the US, but you can never take out the choti soch from within.

Ignorance is bliss. Sorry to burst your bubble but just look up the CEO's of Mastercard, Google, Microsoft, Nokia, PepsiCo for starters.

BTW the term "Desi" encompasses all South Indians including but not limited to blokes from from Pak, India, BD etc

Since you referred to the US, just lookup for snowflake in the urban dictionary. Looks like you chose well :)

Its not gonna happen. Both the teams will play the match. All these comments coming out are purely political. We will have an Indo_Pak match in this WC

This is not fake news. Even Vikrant Gupta from India Today/ Aaj Tak put out a 3 minute video on this latest development.

won't be feasible, especially with that 4 overseas player rule

how are you going to find international cricketers without international matches?

One look at international football should give us a hint. There is no importance given to bilateral games unless it's qualification for WC or some other tournament. There are already T20 club all over the place. They will take control of the talent development.

Point is bcci has the right to refuse to play a tournament.

What are the repurrcussions?

fines obviously. Because Indias own actions will cause financial problems for ICC.

What do you think, boycotts dont have repercussions?

1996 world cup, West Indies didnt go to Sri Lanka, they had to bare a heavy fine. IN the same world Cup Australia also didn't play 1 match and they were fined.

Lol, looks like my wish for legal actions is coming true lol

So far there is no indication of this being true and thsi thread has reached two pages....!!!!! Hahaha

Next few days are going to be awesome! I really really do wish this was true and india forfeit their game against pakistan. We will start the world cup with +2. Yayyyyyy!!!!!!

fines obviously. Because Indias own actions will cause financial problems for ICC.

What do you think, boycotts dont have repercussions?

1996 world cup, West Indies didnt go to Sri Lanka, they had to bare a heavy fine. IN the same world Cup Australia also didn't play 1 match and they were fined.

Yeah both WI and Aus forfeit their games in SL for security and yet Played the semi...

I am sure India can do the same... getting a country thrown out of an international competition “unilaterally” will be a first and nigh impossible.. so this will be their only option..

BCCI will lose the high ground and will incur fines. It's in BCCI's best interests to play. The usual BCCI ruthless narcissists like Dalmiya, Srinivasan are solid businessmen that took their organization from a relative nobody to a power house in 20 years. I hope better sense prevails once the rhetoric dies down.

Indians will never ever backout of playing.. they worship money.. not principles.. sorry.. not gonna happen!

Even if this is true, ICC will somehow resolve it.
India can't just take out a full member out of the WC just coz they have a personal grudge with them.
India's here thinking they're the USA. It's kinda amusing tbh

Even if this is true, ICC will somehow resolve it.
India can't just take out a full member out of the WC just coz they have a personal grudge with them.
India's here thinking they're the USA. It's kinda amusing tbh

They are indeed like USA in cricketing world.

My perspective on this issue is that ICC is going to be in situation where it will be caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.

If they ban Pakistan then they will be reduced to a banana organisation and if they don't ban Pakistan then India might pull out. If India pull out then it's hard for the world cup to continue due its large viewers hip and huge loss of revenue.

Also another important point to be considered is that world cup happens after the Indian general elections. So if there is a change of guard will there be a change in policy.

Any which way the next few weeks are going to be interesting.

Irelands best chance at appearing :(( :))
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] bhai fight the good fight yaar we're all behind you :)))

Imagine though.

Pakistan vs India final, Pakistan cantering home.

Ousted from World Cup

Troll level, elite :srini: :srini:

Irelands best chance at appearing :(( :))

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] bhai fight the good fight yaar we're all behind you :)))

:)) Best comment all day!! Ireland will be good in those conditions

Can you trust Vikrant or not??
According to him the letter will be given in in a day or two.

My perspective on this issue is that ICC is going to be in situation where it will be caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.

If they ban Pakistan then they will be reduced to a banana organisation and if they don't ban Pakistan then India might pull out. If India pull out then it's hard for the world cup to continue due its large viewers hip and huge loss of revenue.

Also another important point to be considered is that world cup happens after the Indian general elections. So if there is a change of guard will there be a change in policy.

Any which way the next few weeks are going to be interesting.

No matter which way I think, BCCI is not this stupid. In PR world, this is a strategy where they leak fake news through semi legitimate sources just to gauge the reactions or to indirectly convey support without actually supporting any cause. At this point, there seems to be a huge outcry in India and this is BCCIs way to join the bandwagon. This will eventually make people wonder about India's boycott from the world cup. Who in a cricket mad nation would really want that? Once it all dies down in a few days, BCCI will officially release a statement that they really pondered about withdrawing from the WC but have decided against it for whatever reasons. People will sigh a relief and commend BCCI for taking a fake stand which they never took.

Precisely this.

Can you trust Vikrant or not??
According to him the letter will be given in in a day or two.

As far as I know Vikrant is one of the most respected and level headed journos around. He has been repeatedly stressing on one thing for past couple of days. He says "Never take a decision when you are too happy or too sad. World cup is still 3 months away and anything can happen during this time".

I don't think the letter has been sent but as he said there is a high probability that it might be sent over the next few days.

Even if BCCI is really sending out that letter, they aren't stupid to do it blindly. They must have some sort of reassurances from ICC about the outcome. Nobody plunges into this to eventually get embarrassed. BCCI, although a private body has tentacles in Indian government and ICC.

This might have been true if BCCI were to act on their own. But here it seems like the board has been officially directed by the government.

The BCCI, if they have done this, have done so purely to appear strong to the Indian public. They know there's no possible way the ICC can do this and that the ICC couldnt afford to given the finances behind an India Pakistan match. The ICC by its own rules cannot even do anything, its a governing body and its literal job is to keep sport and politics aside and organise cricket. If it did a single thing here its entire credibility would be shot to pieces and it'd fall apart. Could argue England could be banned over Yemen/Afghanistan etc etc.

At worst, and I mean at worst, they'll refuse to play the group game, even that is unlikely. What this really is is a public move to garner goodwill and itll be forgotten about by next week and everything will proceed as normal bar something stupid or horrible happening.

Third scenario is BCCi is really sending this letter without any reassurance just because of the pressure from GOI. They will be thoroughly embarrassed, they will lose their clout and will be castigated by every other board. Now that's the game they will never win as they will also jeopardize the participation of foreign players in IPL and hence the next TV rights. I don't think BCCI is this stupid.

This might have been true if BCCI were to act on their own. But here it seems like the board has been officially directed by the government.

This is not a bilateral. This will impact ICC and thereby every cricketing nation.

The BCCI, if they have done this, have done so purely to appear strong to the Indian public. They know there's no possible way the ICC can do this and that the ICC couldnt afford to given the finances behind an India Pakistan match. The ICC by its own rules cannot even do anything, its a governing body and its literal job is to keep sport and politics aside and organise cricket. If it did a single thing here its entire credibility would be shot to pieces and it'd fall apart. Could argue England could be banned over Yemen/Afghanistan etc etc.

At worst, and I mean at worst, they'll refuse to play the group game, even that is unlikely. What this really is is a public move to garner goodwill and itll be forgotten about by next week and everything will proceed as normal bar something stupid or horrible happening.

This. They also want the ICC to say no, you can then paint the picture of being forced into not giving Pakistan easy points

Third scenario is BCCi is really sending this letter without any reassurance just because of the pressure from GOI. They will be thoroughly embarrassed, they will lose their clout and will be castigated by every other board. Now that's the game they will never win as they will also jeopardize the participation of foreign players in IPL and hence the next TV rights. I don't think BCCI is this stupid.

The 4th scenario is that there is still 100 days more and that's a time long enough for things to change. India may no longer need to pull out if it achieves something else militarily or diplomatically.

They could even lose the exclusive window that IPL has. IPL is the real cash cow of BCCI and they shouldn't make any moves to jeopardize it. Poplw talk.about the revenue India brings to world cricket but India also reaps a lot of benefits through a special window for IPL. The emotions are running high but they are temporary. A businessman should just think about his business and even take advantage of any situation if possible. Nothing wrong in earning money legitimately but it's absolutely disastrous if you let your business affect because of emotions.

This is not a bilateral. This will impact ICC and thereby every cricketing nation.

This is exactly what they want. Although ban on Pakistan is highly improbable India may be forced to pull out by GoI. Then the world cup would lose its charm and some amount t of soft power would be mounted on Pakistan. Because imagine if India also decides to pull out of 2020 t20. ICC would not be able to cope with huge revenue losses.

This. They also want the ICC to say no, you can then paint the picture of being forced into not giving Pakistan easy points

You mean cancel the Pak vs Ind game with points shared? Interesting...

They could even lose the exclusive window that IPL has. IPL is the real cash cow of BCCI and they shouldn't make any moves to jeopardize it. Poplw talk.about the revenue India brings to world cricket but India also reaps a lot of benefits through a special window for IPL. The emotions are running high but they are temporary. A businessman should just think about his business and even take advantage of any situation if possible. Nothing wrong in earning money legitimately but it's absolutely disastrous if you let your business affect because of emotions.

Don't think IPL is going to be affected in any which way just because India is boycotting the WC over diplomatic reasons. IPL is like a golden goose that shares its revenue with ICC so it wouldn't kill it.

IPL doesn't share a single penny with ICC. India actually enjoys quite a few privileges and if withdrawn will spell disaster for IPL. No reciprocity of players with other leagues, separate window etc.

This WC is in Eng and next is in AUS. Can't mess with those people.

It's one thing if they don't want to play Pakistan and they forfeit the match but too ask ICC to remove Pakistan cricket team from a cricket World Cup event is insane and stupid , your issue is with the army and government since you claim their behind this attack ( which India has been doing since 1947 blaming Pakistan for everything) why would you go after a cricket team which has nothing to do with the army or government just shows you how BCCI and the Indian people think

IPL doesn't share a single penny with ICC. India actually enjoys quite a few privileges and if withdrawn will spell disaster for IPL. No reciprocity of players with other leagues, separate window etc.

This WC is in Eng and next is in AUS. Can't mess with those people.

As far as I know ICC does receive a few hence IPL is given a free run.

As for AUS go I don't think they ruffle BCCI's feathers. Clearly remember how they backpeddaled during monkey gate. Even in the recent tour India categorically declined a day-night test match n the Aussies couldn't do much.

The truth is due to its market India brings the big bucks. If ICC tempers with IPL then it would be biting more than it can chew.

As far as I know ICC does receive a few hence IPL is given a free run.

As for AUS go I don't think they ruffle BCCI's feathers. Clearly remember how they backpeddaled during monkey gate. Even in the recent tour India categorically declined a day-night test match n the Aussies couldn't do much.

The truth is due to its market India brings the big bucks. If ICC tempers with IPL then it would be biting more than it can chew.

ICC's revenues are through TV rights for world events. They don't get money for bilaterals and nothing from domestic leagues, which IPl is.

AUS and Eng still have a huge clout in ICC. What if Eng and AUS want Indian players to play in their T20 leagues? What if they play bilateral tournaments during IPL? These are all favors to BCCI.

Will Indians are the biggest revenue spinner for the ICC. Pakistan is no small minnow player either, we are no 4 in the ICC and there is no way will the ICC accept cutting off No 4 in the ICC revenue stream and not to forget an India Pakistan WC match is the biggest jackpot event for the ICC and they will do everything behind the scenes to make it happen.

ICC's revenues are through TV rights for world events. They don't get money for bilaterals and nothing from domestic leagues, which IPl is.

AUS and Eng still have a huge clout in ICC. What if Eng and AUS want Indian players to play in their T20 leagues? What if they play bilateral tournaments during IPL? These are all favors to BCCI.

Unlike other countries AUS and ENG actually hold series during their respective leagues. They don't mind their own players missing BBL or English league let alone have Indian players. Also it's not just about the boards. The Australian players association wouldn't agree if CA try to tamper with IPL.

They don't hold any series during IPL is the point. They do it even during their own leagues. That's because of the favor to BCCI.

When it is time for BCCI or India cricket bashing, credibility of Indian news channel is not an issue for Pak posters.

Firstly cricket wont die if Pakistan isnt playing.

Secondly if India refuses to play ICC tournaments as long as Pakistan is playing, then ICC will have to choose one. But as i said, such a scenario is unlikely.
Cricket will suffer if Pakistan stops playing international cricket. Specially if ICC pulls off something as ridiculous as this. ICC will be taken to the cleaners, and completely destroy whatever little credibility they have right now.

India ke abba jee ka sport nahi hai ye. The fact that you're even thinking about such a scenario, makes me wonder how incredibly stupid you really are.

I will be very surprised and annoyed if this is not a fake news.

For the record, cricket will be poorer if either India or Pakistan is not playing. You don't kill 2nd largest market in favour of 1st. It will be indirectly affecting every market.

Pakistan would slaughter us in English conditions.

With them being ousted, we stand a reasonable chance of proceeding past the semis without running into them.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...istan-from-world-cup/articleshow/68089643.cms

Times of India is reporting that the request came from CoA chairman Vinod Rai who told BCCI CEO Rahul Johri to draft a letter to the ICC and request them to ban Pakistan from the 2019 WC or else threaten to pull out from the tournament.

The board will take a final call on Thursday on when/if the letter will be sent to the ICC.

However, some sources feel that this is just a political gimmick and the BCCI has to stance to take such a decision. The source further says that the letter will be meaningless and the the BCCI might make a "fool of themselves". Best case for the BCCI would be if this matter is put for a vote. However, certain sources maintain that the BCCI is being "foolish" and there would be serious legal consequences if the BCCI makes such a request...

Let's face it, the BCCI can do this if they absolutely wanted to. They just have to say the word.

But it would be utterly hilarious and tragic at the same time.

Let's face it, the BCCI can do this if they absolutely wanted to. They just have to say the word.

But it would be utterly hilarious and tragic at the same time.

No they cannot, Pakistan will take the ICC to the cleaners in a court of Law. The ICC cannot ban a member state from playing the WC and i expect the other Big Cricketing nations to stand with Pakistan.

Wow just wow! This is just a different level of foolishness and small thinking. Like khan said, small people in big offices.

No they cannot, Pakistan will take the ICC to the cleaners in a court of Law. The ICC cannot ban a member state from playing the WC and i expect the other Big Cricketing nations to stand with Pakistan.

Wrong. Every cricket nation will stand with India no matter what they feel privately - they wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of the BCCI.

And as the PCB know above all else, there is really no just/fair court of law in the cricket universe.

Wrong. Every cricket nation will stand with India no matter what they feel privately - they wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of the BCCI.

And as the PCB know above all else, there is really no just/fair court of law in the cricket universe.

There is no way the rest of the world will agree to these bullying tactics of the BCCI of having Pakistan kicked out of the WC, not everything is for sale. This is no MOU and this matter will not end up in a tribunal controlled by an ICC tribunal but will end up in a Court of Law independent from ICC and BCCI influence.