On This Day: June 3, 1966 - Wasim Akram was born

Happy Birthday Wasim Akram.

Best fast bowler the game ever produced.

The Sultan of Swing turns 49 today.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/dY6Z_vPNNYM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Happy birthday Waz!
Hmmm my favorite memory has to be when the best fast bowler of all time deceived the best batsman of all time with a cunning slower ball and clean bowled him!

West Indies bowling great Curtly Ambrose has termed Pakistan's pace bowling legend Wasim Akram as one of his “all-time favourites”, adding that the left-armer, who turned 49 today, could do ‘unimaginable’ things with the ball.

In a tribute fit for the genius that Akram was, the Pakistan great was ramped up for special praise by Ambrose in the back drop of the launch of his autobiography ‘Time to Talk’,

“Wasim Akram is one of my all-time favourite bowlers and any team that I would select comprising of the world’s best cricketers, Wasim Akram has to be in it. I’ve seen Wasim Akram do things with a cricket ball that people like me and others cannot really do. He was such a great bowler and I have a lot of admiration and respect for him.”

Akram, who played 104 Test and 356 ODIs for Pakistan, picking up a stunning haul of 414 and 502 wickets respectively, received an outpouring of respect and wishes from fellow cricketers and international cricket boards on his birthday.

The charismatic all-rounder said it had been a roller-coaster 49 years for him.

“It's been 49 years of ups and downs but I thank god for my life and the people who have loved and supported me throughout. Thank you all,” Akram said.

Former teammate and opening batsmen Ramiz Raja reserved special praise for Akram who was signed on as 'icon' cricketer for the Masters Champions League T20 along with Brian Lara, Adam Gilchrist and Jacques Kallis in UAE on Wednesday.

“He was the Sultan of Swing. One of the most dangerous bowlers; the bigger the game bigger the game-changer.”

On the occasion of Akram's 49th birthday here are some of the most memorable quotes on the left-arm magician from Lahore:

Former England captain and wicket keeper, Alec Stewart:

"Wasim was a genius with the new and old ball. Just like his partner in crime Waqar Younis, whether you were on nought or 150 he had the ability to bowl a ball that could get you out. There have not been many quicker bowlers than Wasim Akram. He had a dangerous bouncer, was a great competitor and could score handy runs down the order."

Former Indian captain and all-rounder, Kapil Dev:

"Wasim Akram is the best seam bowler of all times."

Former South Africa all-rounder, Jacques Kallis:

"In my opinion Wasim Akram of Pakistan was the best pace bowler that I ever faced. Being able to swing the ball both ways with pace made him the most dangerous bowler."

West Indian batting great, Brian Lara:

"Oh, he was fast and furious. He bowled over and round the wicket, swung the ball both ways, a master of reverse swing and moreover at times he cut the ball prodigiously. His bouncers were fast and slow too and very aggressive when in full flow and very competitive as well. He was always very unpredictable."

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene:

"Wasim Akram was a handful when I came in. In my teens, I was a bunny against him."

Former South Africa fast bowler, Allan Donald:

"The most complete fast bowler I've seen."

England all-rounder Ian Botham on Akram's 1992 heroics:

"The one player who really stood out for me was Wasim Akram. It was in that tournament that we realised just what a special talent he was and how much trouble he was going to give us and the rest of the world in the years to come."

Rolling back the years with excerpts from an exclusive Wasim Akram interview with Dawn:

Did tape-ball cricket have a part to play in your early days in the game?

I played a lot of tape-ball cricket, in addition to the plain tennis ball. I remember six-a-side (competitions) had just started in Lahore, in around 1983, when I was living with my grandmother in androon (inner) Lahore. At 15, I was a tape-ball ‘professional’ and would take ten rupees per game to win matches for different teams.

It was only after 1983 that I started playing with a cricket ball. Before that, everywhere I played, sarkoun pay, chhatoun pay ya school mein (be it on the roads, roof-tops or in school), it was with the tennis ball. In Ramazan, of course, we used to have a tournament every night.

You had a small bustling run-up, not common with fast bowlers at the time. How did you come up with that?

If I recall correctly, it was during the 1987 tour of England that I shortened my run-up after Imran told me to give it a go. “You will be able to play longer,” he said. But I was worried about my pace.

So Imran bhai took me along and measured out a run up. I ran in (from his mark) and bowled at the same pace.

Afterwards, he told me: “If you can bowl at the same speed with a shorter run-up, why run such a long distance?” And he was, obviously, right.

Imran always stood at mid-on, whispering in your ear. Tell us about that and if you can recall specific instances following or not following his advice.

I always followed his advice because I needed somebody to guide me, give me confidence for the ball I was about to bowl…aur Imran say behtar to koi bowler tha hi nahi confidence bharanay kai liyay (and there was no better bowler than Imran when you needed a confidence boost).

With the new ball, we usually talked about bringing the ball in and with the old ball, he told me to change it up. Bring it in sometimes, then take it out, bowl a bouncer, and so on…

Did you ever think or do it any different than what Imran told you?

No. Never…because he was Imran Khan. By ’89, having played a few (English) county seasons, I had polished my game and knew what I was doing.

It was the same with Waqar. We usually stood at mid-off or mid-on when the other was bowling. We were constantly talking to each other and we also had several arguments but we still talked. What to do, what not to do…

It is very important for young and experienced fast bowlers to talk. You only have to look at the Indian bowlers (in Australia) to realise it. They get hit around, they are lost, but nobody talks to them. At least I had people telling me what fields to set.

You have said that you considered Sir Viv to be the greatest batsman you have bowled to. What was it like to face him as a bowler?

Viv was a different breed. It wasn’t just his batting, it was his aura. Over six feet tall; itnay itnay (these huge) muscles; no sign of any protection; forget arm or chest guards, not even a helmet. So that whole aura was intimidating for a young skinny bowler that I was back then.

However, I still got his wickets a few times. That, I should admit, was also because his greatest days were behind him. I am glad I faced him then and not earlier.

Pace is everything for a fast bowler, but there comes a time when you start losing it. When did it happen to you and what were your feelings at the time? Was there a sense of denial?

No denial for me. After 1997, I realised that I had lost a bit of pace. I was always nippy, but I had mastered the art of swing by then. See, there is no room for denial. One should know and admit it. There is a lot more to fast bowling than just pace.

Tell us how you and Waqar defended that 125-run total against New Zealand in 1992-93?

It was a long time ago, but we had decided that gaind haath say chorna nahi ha (we weren’t going to let go of the ball) because if we did, the match was gone.

Two deliveries: One, to Dravid in Chennai, where you take the top of off after a loud lbw shout was turned down; the other to Robert Croft in England, where it defies physics and hits him in front only to be turned down. Both have created quite a furore on YouTube amongst your fans. Can you tell us a bit about them?

I remember them both reverse swinging. With Croft, I went around the wicket and bowled with a lot of energy. I bowled really fast on the Oval pitch. This was in 1996. Someone gave me a picture of Alec Stewart ducking my delivery, with both his feet airborne and over the wickets, as he is sways out of the way.

With Dravid, I brought two balls into him earlier. In this day and age, he would have been given out but not then. Before it happened, I had worked on bringing it in and then I said: ab main iski laat say bahar nikaalta hoon (I will bring it out from his leg) and that is what I did. It happened exactly how I had visualised it: where I would pitch the ball and what result it would produce.

If you could change your career with any other bowler, who would it be?

Malcolm Marshall.

Not Imran Khan?

No. As a bowler Marshall, as a leader Imran Khan, of course.

For me he remains one of my all-time favourite cricketers.

With the ball in hand he had the ability to change the course of any match in any situation. He could skittle any oppostion line-up.

Amazing bowler.

Wasim Akram turns 50 today; Tributes and best wishes to the left-arm genius

Happy 50th Birthday to Wasim Akram.

Wasim Akram turn 50-Tribute to genius

Today on June 3rd superstar Wasim Akram turns 50.His place amongst the pantheon of great fast bowlers,all-rounders and cricketers is arguable.However few can question that he took cricketing genius to it's highest zenith amongst pace bowlers.Wasim was the equivalent of musician Beethoven or painter Rembrandt or sculptor Michelangelo to pace bowling.At his best he produced the tricks of a magician.A delivery coming out of Wasim's hand was like a lyric of a musical composer .Wasim could make the ball explode like a dynamite but with the subtle nuances of a sculptor .Wasim posessed every component of a perfect fast bwler.He posessed the speed of a missile,the stamina of a work-horse,the skill of a technician,the methodology of a scientist,the control of a racing car driver ,the grace of a ballad dancer,and more than anything could move a cricket ball with the wizardry of a magician.I have never seen a pace bowler posess such mastery over the dynamics of fast bowling.Wasim's variations of swing were like the inventions of a scientist or compositions of a composer.There were quicker,statistically better or more accurate paceman than Wasim but none could do as much with a cricket ball.At his best Wasim was a very fine batsmen capable of exploding a stadium on the manner of a Sobers or Botham.At his best some of his strokes were truly majestic.

To me although an all-time great statistically Wasim did not do justice to his ability.In that respect Malcolm Marshall,Richard Hadlee,Glen Mcgrath,Dennis Lillee,Imran Khan or even Curtly Ambrose maybe better.Marshall,Hadlee ,Mcgrath,Lillee and Waqar had better strike rates;Ambrose,Marshall and Garner had better averages;Mcgrath,Walsh and Hadlee were more proliific;Ambrose ,Imran and Mcgrath better match-winners but the game is not only about stats.None of those mentioned in my book were still as complete as Wasim who posesed every quality in perfect proportion.Waqar and Alan Donald were quicker,Ambrose and Garner more accurate,Lillee or Marshall more agressive but in a total package Wasim overshadowed everyone.Arguably what went against Wasim was the quality of determination and killer instinct which Marshall ,Imran and Lillee revealed at it's deepest depth .Wasim also suffered from diabetes which was a delibitating factor.He was also often let down by the fielding side who often dropped catches off his bowling.Akram had abetter average on the flat pancakes of the sub-continent than away which speaks volumes of him.Viv Richards,arguably the best-ever batsman against genuine pace and best one down batsmen after Bradman;Jacques Kallis ,the best all-rounder after Sobers;Brian Lara,arguably the best test batsmen after Bradman;V.V.S.Laxman;the most innovative batsman of modern times from the sub-continent ,Mohamad Azharrudin and Mahela Jayewardene rate Wasim the best pace bowler they ever faced.For the all-time xi selection Wasim won more votes than even Imran Khan and Glen Mcgrath.ESPN cricinfo panel chose Wasim instead of Imran,Mcgrath,Ambrose or Hadlee which was remarkable.414 scalps in 104 tests at an average of 23.62 is remarkable.In his peak period from 1990-98 Wasim averaged around 20.4 with a strike rate of around 46 .He overshadowed every contemporary great paceman .In One Day Internationals even statisticaly Wasim was the king averaging around 23.8 with 502 scalps.No paceman mastered the swinging yorker as Akram who was revelation in the death overs.

Where Akram arguably failed was that he did not win games from losing positio s or run through batting line-ups like Curtly Ambrose did against England in 1994 in Trinidad or against South Africa ta Barbados in 1992.He lacked the determination or hostility of Dennis Lillee who came back sensationally after a back injury and after Packer cricket.Nor did take Pakistan cricket to the top of the world in test cricket like Imran Khan did in India in1987, England in 1987 or come so close in West Indies in 1988.Wasim's exploits should have made Pakistan the top cricketing nation in test and one day cricket which Imran Khan morally did in the late 1980s.The 1993 series in West Indies for the unofficial test championship,the series in India in 1999 or even the 1999 world cup are testimony to this.Wasim's best figures were also not outstanding capturing 7 wickets in an innings only one unlike Imran who had taken 7 or more wickets 5 times .Ambrose,Hadlee,Imran had all taken 8 wickets in a single innings.Another weakness was that Wasim had a greater percentage of scalps of tailenders than other greats like Mcgrath,Imran and Ambrose.

In the final analysis where would Akram rank amongst cricketers and fast bowlers?If we make a judgement on the basis of pure statistics Glen Mcgrath,Malcolm Marshall,Richard Hadlee or maybe Lillee,Ambrose and Imran would be ahead.However considering other factors like nature of pitches played on ,fielding side,strength of opposition,support from batting side etc I would place Wasim above Mcgrath,Hadlee or even Ambrose and Imran.Ambrose and Mcgrath were more accurate with more control but not as penetrative as Wasim Mcgrath benefited from playing for a champion team while Ambrose played a lot of his cricket on the fast West Indian and Australian tracks.Hadlee too was mainly succesful on green tops.On a flat track Wasim's skill would overpower anyone.However Malcolm Marshall was a master on the flat pancakes of the sub-continent and although not as talented could be more lethal than Wasim at his best.Although Lillee hardly playd on the sub-continent he could also be a demon on batting wickets with his astute skill and variations.Sydney Barnes figures made him the Bradman of bowling.Playing with a great bowler like Waqar perhaps went against Wasim having better best bowling spell figures ,more 5 wicket hauls etc just like the case of Malcolm Marshall playing amongst other pace bowling greats like Garner and Holding.If it came to only test cricket Sydney Barnes,Malcolm Marshall and maybe Lillee would rank ahead .If we combine test with O.D.I.cricket then Wasim ,in my book,would be the greatest of all fast bowlers.Marshal was not at his best in O.D.I's.However to me it is still test cricket which is the real form of the game.In that criteria Barnes and Marshall would just nose Wasim.

Amongst cricketers overall Wasim would rank below the likes of Bradman ,Sobers,Tendulkar,Warne,Imran,Hammond,Barnes,Kallis ,Mulitharan etc.However he would run neck to neck with Malcolm Marshall,Brian Lara or Adam Gilchrist.Gilchrist's phenomenal match-winning ability.Lara's phenomenal performances at his best and championing a cause single-handedly for a weak side and Marshall's superlative peformance amongst contemporary greats would pose a stiff challenge to Wasim.Again adding O.D.I's to tests Wasim would rate ahead.Amongts great left-handed cricketeters them Wasim would rank 2nd to only Sobers.

My best memories of Wasim are his wicket of Rahul Dravid at Madras in 1999 with the ball swing out,in and out.In a single test I thought his best was when taking 11-149 at Melbourne in 1989-90.I have never seen pace bowling of such superlative all-round skill as this .His dismissal of Steve Waugh and David Boon were truly classical .His dismissal of Alan Lamb and ChrisLewis in 1992 World cup depicted the art of a sculptor.His spell of 6-67 in the 1992 series in England took lethality in pace bowling to it's highest peak like writing an epic.As a skipper I admired Wasim most when leading his team to win the triangular tournament in Australia in 1996-97.Few overseas teams had achieved that distinction .The most disapointing moment was when dubious umpiring decisions cost Pakistan a famous test and series victory at Antigua in 2000,with Wasim blowing guns.

What I would remember about Wasim Akram most is how he too cricketing artistry to it's greatest zenith .More than being the most complete of fast bowlers I would like to ***** Wasim's place amongst the cricketing geniuses like Victor Trumper,Brian Lara,Rohan Kanhai,Viv Richards etc.I feel Wasim was the equivalent of a Rohan Kanhai to pace bowling who was more talented than even Bradman.Arguably if Wasim had done full justice to his phenomenal talent he could have averaged around 20,with a strike rate around 40 and taken more than more scalps than Glen Mcgrath.

happy birthday Wasim

Massive under achiever as per team goes during his time and with batting as well

Wasim Akram turn 50-10 greatest performances in test career.

Today the genius Wasim Akram turns 50.In order of merit these are his best efforts in test cricket.

1.Taking 5-100 and scoring 123 at Adelaide.This was a performance in the Gary Sobers class.With a bit more luck it could have even been turned into an improbabale victory.With Imran Wasim ressurected Pakistan from the grave.The strokes posessed the audacity and skill of Sobers.The bowling had the prowess of a Lillee.Like Ian Botham in full flow.

2.Capturing 11-160 at Melbourne in 1989-90

Although championing a losing cause took all-round skill in pace bowling to it's highest zenith.Blended pace,bounce control,movement and length in perfect proportion.Never was a cricket ball been swung at such pace in Australia.The balls that removed David Boon,Steve Waugh and Peter Sleep were magical.Wasim looked like a magician and surgeon moulded into one.Never seen batsmen in Australai so outfoxed by pace bowling art.

3.Taking 6-67 t the Oval in 1992

Swung the cricket ball at phenomenal speed.Produced incredible variations of swing with the art and originality of a magician.The ball unexpectedly exploded like a rocket or flew of at the latest movement proving Wasim's mastery of dynamics.From 183-3 England collapsed to 207 with Wasim creating a blitzkreig.

4.Scoring 257 v Zimbabwe
Although scored against a relatively weker team Wasim scored a record number of sixes.His strokeplay was reminiscent of a truly great batsmen.It proved that at his best with the bat Wasim could join a Botham or Imran,arguably posessing more natural flair.

5.Taking 6-91 and scoring 68 in the 1st test at Faisalabad in 1986 v West Indies

Even if Abdul Qadir and Imran Khan were the ultimate architects of the win the true hero was Wasim whose 68 in the 2nd innings and 6-91 spell in the 1st innings laid a foundation.A stupendous all-round effort.

6.Taking 6-61 and 5-49 wickets at Antigua in 2000

A wrong umpiring decision declaring Jimmy Adam snot out cost Pakistan a famous win .In blistering fashion Wasim ran through the Wst Indian middle order.With Adams presnt the Calypos were 19 runs adrtift with 2 wickets left when he edged ball to the keeper .Thus Wasim was denied being rtesponisble fpr Pakistan wining their 1st series on WEst Indian soil.

7.Taking 5-28 v West Indies in 1990 including 4 wickets in an over

On flat tracks Wasim revealed phenomenal mastery.

8.Taking 7 wickets at Barbados in 1988

Again dubious umpiring cost Pakistan famous win.Can never forget Wasim dismissing Viv Richards.Here he bowled faster than even Malcolm Marshall.

9.11 wickets at Dunedin in 1985

The best pace bowling performance arguably ever by a youngster or moral debutant.

10.7-119 v New Zealand in 1994

Phenomenal pace and movement not equalled by an overseas paceman in New Zealand.

Wasim wasn't a bowler he was a magician.. The things he could do with the ball wish we can see another one like him in future..

The best deliveries of by Wasim Akram I have seen -50th birthday

On his 50th birthday I am listing the 10 best dismissals in my view of Wasim revealing genius or creativity at it's highest zenith .I have given the benefit to openers or middle order batsmen and avoided tail enders.I am sorry if I have left out many as I have not seen all of them.Sorry to miss dismissals of Viv Richards,Lara and Tendulkar.Sory If I have favoured dismissals in test matches.

1.Dismissing Rahul Dravid at Madras in 1999

In the very last moment the ball mysteriously swung out like a racing car swerving in an opposite direction.Rarely will one see a cricket ball so suddenly changing the course of it's journey like a total reversal of a plot in an epic film.The ball was a product of the art of a sculptor with the innovativesness of a magician or scientist.

2.Dismissing V.V.S.Laxman at Delhi in 1999 in the 2nd test

Overpowered arguably the best player of genuine quick bowler or the arguably the most talented batsmen in world cricket of later years with ingeniuty in both innings.It looked like penetrating through a boulder.Perfect combination of control ,movement ,length and pace to break through the gate of the batsmen and crash his stumps.Mastery on flat track.

3.Dismissing David Boon at Melbourne in 1989-90 in the 1st test

Boon shouldered arms to ball that inevitably looked like making it's journey outwards but came back darting in to trap him .Rarely will one see a ball come in so late.

4.Dismissing Steve Waugh at Karachi in 1994 in the 1st test

One of the most devastating yorkers one can eve see crashing through the gate.It almost looked as though it was programmed.

5.Dismissal of Alec Stewart and Micheal Atherton of succesive deliveries n 1992 at Old Trafford

Got Alec Stewart caught behind prodding forward bewildered whether to play back of forward.The pace,movement and bounce startled Stewart who was literaly groping.The next ball totally baffled Michael Artherton unable to judge the length,bounce and movement.Swing bowling at it's highest speed and zenith.

7.Dismissal of Alan Lamb and Chris Lewis of suucesive deliveries in 1992 world cup final

Like a great sculptor putting the final touches on his work Wasim Akram tore through the gate of Alan Lamb and Chris Lewis.Rarely have there ever been better deliveries in a world cup let alone final.Bowling even the greats like Lillee,Garner,Marshall ,Kapil Dev or Holding could not deliver in past world cup finals.

9.Dismissing Steve Waugh caught behind in 1989-90 at Melbourne

A delivery that flew off and moved at the last moment startling Steve Waugh which nicked the ball to the keeper.

10.Michael Slater in 1995

In one over Akram bowled a variety of balls resembling different works of a painter.In the final ball he superbly broke through Michael Slater's gate with a yorker.It was the blending of science and art at it's absolute best.

11.Bowling Peter Sleep at Melbourne in 1989-90

A perfect yorker rattling the stumps .

12.Dismissing Kris Shrikanth and Mohinder Amarnath in Bangalore in 1987 i 2nd innings of 5th test.

2 beautiful deliveries moving away leaving the batsmen bewildered.

On his 50th birthday I am listing the 10 best dismissals in my view of Wasim revealing genius or creativity at it's highest zenith .I have given the benefit to openers or middle order batsmen and avoided tail enders.I am sorry if I have left out many as I have not seen all of them.Sorry to miss dismissals of Viv Richards,Lara and Tendulkar.Sory If I have favoured dismissals in test matches.

1.Dismissing Rahul Dravid at Madras in 1999

In the very last moment the ball mysteriously swung out like a racing car swerving in an opposite direction.Rarely will one see a cricket ball so suddenly changing the course of it's journey like a total reversal of a plot in an epic film.The ball was a product of the art of a sculptor with the innovativesness of a magician or scientist.

2.Dismissing V.V.S.Laxman at Delhi in 1999 in the 2nd test

Overpowered arguably the best player of genuine quick bowler or the arguably the most talented batsmen in world cricket of later years with ingeniuty in both innings.It looked like penetrating through a boulder.Perfect combination of control ,movement ,length and pace to break through the gate of the batsmen and crash his stumps.Mastery on flat track.

3.Dismissing David Boon at Melbourne in 1989-90 in the 1st test

Boon shouldered arms to ball that inevitably looked like making it's journey outwards but came back darting in to trap him .Rarely will one see a ball come in so late.

4.Dismissing Steve Waugh at Karachi in 1994 in the 1st test

One of the most devastating yorkers one can eve see crashing through the gate.It almost looked as though it was programmed.

5.Dismissal of Alec Stewart and Micheal Atherton of succesive deliveries n 1992 at Old Trafford

Got Alec Stewart caught behind prodding forward bewildered whether to play back of forward.The pace,movement and bounce startled Stewart who was literaly groping.The next ball totally baffled Michael Artherton unable to judge the length,bounce and movement.Swing bowling at it's highest speed and zenith.

7.Dismissal of Alan Lamb and Chris Lewis of suucesive deliveries in 1992 world cup final

Like a great sculptor putting the final touches on his work Wasim Akram tore through the gate of Alan Lamb and Chris Lewis.Rarely have there ever been better deliveries in a world cup let alone final.Bowling even the greats like Lillee,Garner,Marshall ,Kapil Dev or Holding could not deliver in past world cup finals.

9.Dismissing Steve Waugh caught behind in 1989-90 at Melbourne

A delivery that flew off and moved at the last moment startling Steve Waugh which nicked the ball to the keeper.

10.Michael Slater in 1995

In one over Akram bowled a variety of balls resembling different works of a painter.In the final ball he superbly broke through Michael Slater's gate with a yorker.It was the blending of science and art at it's absolute best.

11.Bowling Peter Sleep at Melbourne in 1989-90

A perfect yorker rattling the stumps .

12.Dismissing Kris Shrikanth and Mohinder Amarnath in Bangalore in 1987 i 2nd innings of 5th test.

2 beautiful deliveries moving away leaving the batsmen bewildered.

Your posts are amazing

The second best bowler from the subcontinent and the greatest ever left-arm bowler of all time. A true legend of the game and he was to bowling what Sachin was to batting.

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] -not greatest Pakistani pace man of all?Infact he may be the greatest fast bowler of all in terms of versatility,prowess and all-round skill.Statistically Mcgrath ,Hadlee or even Imran were ahead but morally it was Wasim who posessed more skill.Wasim was more lethal prop[osition than any of them for the greater batsmen.Unfortunately his team's batting and fielding side let him down on many an occasion.Wasim's only weakness was not to run through a batting line up like Ambrose and Imran or have great best match figures.Doread my earlier criteria kindly.

I personally place Imran ahead of Wasim, as a bowler. Not by much though.

You have valids points however, and I did read your posts. They are quite impressive. :)

great statistical achievements of Wasim Akram -tribute to 50 years

Below are some outstanding statistical achievements of Wasim Akram.Notably he overshadowed greats like Ambrose,Donald ,Waqar,and Walsh in his peak.Protective headgear for batsmen,neutral umpiring and slower wickets gave bowlers like Lille,Hadlee and Imran an edge.I can't imagine the likes of Hadlee.Lillee or even Marshall equal Wasim on flat sub-continent tracks.Wasim alos won countless man of the match awards.He alos performed marginally better than Imran and was a more potent force in his eralier part in youth and the final stage of his career.Never forget theload of the O.D.I's Wasim played.I have compiled statistics from blog of S.Rajesh from cricinfo.Couresy to S.Rajesh for upholding the glory of Wasim Akram.

There are several outstanding aspects to Wasim Akram's international career, right from its sheer longevity - almost 19 years - to the amount of success he had in Tests and ODIs, with new ball and with old, with the red variety and the white. He was pretty handy with the bat - you'd have to be if your highest Test score is 257 not out - but it's as a bowler of splendid and varied skills that Akram will be remembered.

Making his Test debut against New Zealand in the beginning of 1985, Akram needed just one match to make his mark: in his second Test, in Dunedin, he returned match figures of 10 for 128 and was named Man of the Match even though New Zealand won the thriller by two wickets.

That set a glorious Test career on its way, but the early years were, as you'd expect for an 18-year-old, somewhat erratic. Even so, there were enough promising performances to prove that Akram was the real deal. In Barbados three years later, Akram took seven wickets in heartbreaker that Pakistan lost, yet again, by two wickets. In his first five years, though, Akram only managed 94 wickets in 29 Tests - a modest average of 3.24 per match.

Akram's best years were about to come. In his first Test of 1990, against Australia in Melbourne, Akram took 11 for 160, and that haul triggered a sensational run that lasted through most of the next eight years. In 48 Tests from 1990 to the end of 1997, Akram averaged five wickets per match, and his average dropped to an outstanding 20.05, before his form finally tapered off in his last four years.

Wasim Akram's Test career with the ball Period Tests Wickets Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM
Till Dec 1989 29 94 28.18 65.9 5/ 1
Jan 1990 to Dec 1997 48 240 20.05 46.4 16/ 3
Jan 1998 onwards 27 80 28.96 66.0 4/ 1
Career 104 414 23.62 54.6 25/ 5

During that eight-year period from 1990 to 1997, Akram had the best figures in Test cricket, barring none. There were several legendary bowlers who were at the height of their craft during an era which we now look back on as a golden one for bowlers, especially the fast ones - Curtly Ambrose, Allan Donald, Waqar Younis and Glenn McGrath were all around, but Akram's stats stood out even among them. His average of 20.05 was better than anyone else's during this period (with a cut-off of 150 wickets); in terms of strike rate, only Waqar was ahead.

During these eight years, Akram was Man of the Match in 12 of the 48 Tests he played, an incredible average of one every four games. Eight of these were in overseas Tests, including the game in Melbourne and the next one in Adelaide, when he turned in an outstanding all-round performance, taking six wickets and scoring 52 and 123. At the time it was only the 12th instance of a player scoring 150 or more and taking six or more wickets in a Test.

Best Test bowlers between Jan 1990 and Dec 1997 (Qual: 150 wickets) Bowler Tests Wickets Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM
Wasim Akram 48 240 20.05 46.4 16/ 3
Curtly Ambrose 57 247 20.50 52.8 17/ 3
Waqar Younis 46 232 21.23 40.1 19/ 4
Allan Donald 36 171 23.27 48.8 9/ 2
Glenn McGrath 36 164 23.42 53.0 9/ 0
Shane Warne 62 289 24.08 62.9 12/ 3

Overall, he won 17 Man-of-the-Match and seven Man-of-the-Series awards, both of which are among the highest. Even better, his rate of winning these awards, one every six Tests, is the best among those who've won at least ten such prizes.

Highest frequency of MoM awards in Tests (Qual: 10 awards) Player Tests MoM awards Tests per award
Wasim Akram 104 17 6.12
Jacques Kallis 137 20 6.85
Muttiah Muralitharan 132 19 6.95
Curtly Ambrose 98 14 7.00
Imran Khan 88 11 8.00
Malcolm Marshall 81 10 8.10

Not surprisingly, Akram remains one of the most potent matchwinners in Tests for Pakistan. In the 41 wins that he was a part of, he took 211 wickets at an average which compares well with the best in the business.

Best bowling averages in Test wins (Qual: 200 wickets) Bowler Tests Wickets Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM
Muttiah Muralitharan 53 430 16.03 42.6 40/ 18
Malcolm Marshall 43 254 16.78 38.1 17/ 4
Curtly Ambrose 44 229 16.86 44.4 13/ 3
Waqar Younis 39 222 18.20 35.0 14/ 4
Dennis Lillee 31 203 18.27 39.0 17/ 6
Shaun Pollock 49 223 18.30 47.5 9/ 1
Wasim Akram 41 211 18.48 42.3 13/ 2
Anil Kumble 43 288 18.75 44.4 20/ 5

Like most fast bowlers from Pakistan, Akram too mastered the art of bowling grassless pitches, where reverse swing becomes a most potent weapon. He is one of only four bowlers to take more than 150 wickets in Pakistan, while in the three major subcontinent countries, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, his average was marginally better than his overall career average.

Best Test fast bowlers in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka (Qual: 100 wkts) Bowler Tests Wkts Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM
Imran Khan 51 205 20.28 48.8 12/ 3
Waqar Younis 41 191 21.07 39.2 13/ 4
Wasim Akram 57 211 22.67 52.9 11/ 1
Shoaib Akhtar 26 108 24.87 45.2 6/ 1
Javagal Srinath 35 116 26.43 55.0 6/ 1
Chaminda Vaas 71 230 27.54 62.4 6/ 1
Kapil Dev 86 279 29.01 59.8 14/ 2
Zaheer Khan 38 107 38.12 69.2 2/ 0

Thinking of Wasim and his bowling excites me even now.

1992 World Cup final, the Russell ball at lords ,the Pringle balls at the Oval, the Atherton ball at Headingley, the mallender ball at the Oval, the Croft ball at the Oval in 96, the supreme death bowling v Aus at Leeds 99, hat tricks galore, Antigua 2000, helping Pakistan beat England in his last test in England...and all the crazy collapses he instigated for Lancs plus his numerous big hitting innings!

😄🇵🇰😄🇵🇰💚💚💚

The craftiest of them all. The greatest bowler ever!! That's my opinion.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "Cricket's a great leveller. It transformed my life from an ordinary boy to one who's loved by over 1.5 billion people" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/738779658875981828">June 3, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "my life is one where dreams turned into reality. I never imagined this fame and success when I started my career" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/738781759832264704">June 3, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "Each day of my cricketing life and even now has been exemplary. I am what I am because of my fans across the world" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/738782530804011008">June 3, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram "I've no regrets in life & no complaints. My name is in cricket history books & will remain there & that´s a great pride for me"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/738784130356379648">June 3, 2016</a></blockquote>

Happy Birthday Wasim Akram

The Greatest Left Arm Bowler to Ever Grace the Game......

Happy Birthday Champ !!!!

:wasim

The real magician. He didn't make the ball talk. That was for lesser mortals. He made it sing ! Just a flick of the wrist! :wasim

The GOAT. Any format, any condition, situation, new ball, old ball, dead ball, I'm taking Wasim.

Conventional swing, reverse swing, cutters, bouncers, slower balls, length bowling. The complete bowler.

Greatest ODI bowler ever, and one of the best test bowlers the game has produced!

HBD legend Was!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On this day 1966. One of the all-time greats was born in Lahore. Wasim Akram took 916 wickets for Pakistan in an 18 year career <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/oonAvPo0ZA">pic.twitter.com/oonAvPo0ZA</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/870887524658536448">June 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

We share the same birthday and it makes me happy. I usually tell people that I share my birthday with the great Wasim Akram as if this is some great achievement and i worked hard for it. That is his affect.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Apologise to everyone for cutting cake on Waseem Bhai’s birthday yesterday..We should have respected Ramadan and the people who were fasting &#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56911;. It was a poor act on our behalf <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SORRY?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SORRY</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1003558416009318400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 4, 2018</a></blockquote>

52, but 25 at heart and bowling skill even these days, Happy birthday legend:wasim

Brilliant bowler and a fantastic ambassador for the game.

A great bowler and a living legend!

Happy Birthday Wasim! 55 year's old today.

Happy birthday to the Sultan of swing

A very happy birthday to the Sultan of swing who produced one of the best ever spells of conventional swing bowling the game has ever seen, single handedly winning his team the game in a high pressure match. Thank you for the memories, legend.

https://youtu.be/9XLiP_92qjw

Wasim Akram has picked up the most number of wickets among pacers in ODIs.
Can any fast bowler from the current generation break the record?

WA.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wasim Akram was lethal when he got the ball moving, especially in ODIs! <br><br>The Pakistan legend is 56 today. <a href="https://t.co/1KbWGg9gok">pic.twitter.com/1KbWGg9gok</a></p>— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) <a href="https://twitter.com/cricketcomau/status/1532558188553199621?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 3, 2022</a></blockquote>

Happy B-day Wasim bhai. For indians of a certain gen, your posters adorned many a hostel walls. You were what we wished we had upteen times.
Thanks to you tube-we can see your wizardry on loop. one of the most under-rated was your over to Rahul in chennai test 1999- sheer magic - genuis.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy birthday WASIM AKRAM!<br><br>Was dangerous from the very first ball of the match….<br><br>Seriously good bowling here….<br><br> <a href="https://t.co/b5AcXNRI5E">pic.twitter.com/b5AcXNRI5E</a></p>— Rob Moody (@robelinda2) <a href="https://twitter.com/robelinda2/status/1532672174569701376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>