Only one six in the last 2 matches, cause for concern?

SM1989

Tape Ball Captain
Pakistan failed to hit any sixes in the previous game against New Zealand and Nawaz was the only one to hit a six in the game against Bangladesh today.

Given this is T20 cricket where boundaries are very much needed. The inability of Pakistan batsmen to clear the boundary in the last two games doesn't bode well ahead of the world cup.

Yeh tou hoga!

We have become more and more complacent with every passing day of Babar’s captaincy and Saqlain supporting him

Surprising stat on tiny Kiwi grounds where even top edges fly for six, and especially when Bangladesh are one of the opponents.

TBF, this was a normal dimension ground, not the usual tiny ones.

Tbf, Shan Masood didn’t get to bat against BanglaTigers…otherwise those stats of 6’s would look different.

Lol, ignorant post. Have a look at the ground they are playing on.

Hagley oval is one of the biggest ground in the world. Yea it is no MCG. But boundary size is very big.

It is no surprising. Babar Azam hits one six every 46 balls in his career. Rizwan like 25 balls. They consume vast number of balls. So it is natural there are not many sixes.

We are missing Sharjeel khan and Umar Akmal

100%!

Akmals and Ahmed Shehzad are the answer. Especially Ahmed Shehzad, he has more talent than Sachin and swagger of Kohli.

Pakistani coaches ruined his career. He could have won us many world cups by now!

100%!

Akmals and Ahmed Shehzad are the answer. Especially Ahmed Shehzad, he has more talent than Sachin and swagger of Kohli.

Pakistani coaches ruined his career. He could have won us many world cups by now!
Umar Akmal is struggling to make his 2nd XI team, and here we want him to represent the national team :))

meh business as usual, keep expectations low, very low in fact, and nature will take its course as Saqlain "ammi jaan" Mushtaq would say...

and Moyo loves it when boys do well left and play single doubles, thats what makes one a proper test bstsman... ye 360° aur sirf 4s 6s wala cricket shaitaani cricket hai... Moyo bhai ne toh asif k practice k 150 chikkay bhi khatam karwa diye...

Just imagine we can't clear the boundaries at will against a 2nd gig Bangladesh attack what would we do against the likes of Starc Cummins, even last year Cummins schooled us in the middle overs

we have highly talented khushdil, asif, chacha, haider, etc. we will be fine.

but quite honestly speaking, I think with some proper application, we can make it work. Nawaz and Shadab are doing a good job and even Asif showed some brains in the last game against NZ although we lost it, he did not bat too terribly.

i think its just the mindset that needs to be adjusted. with the proper conditioning, they can work wonders. just gotta have the self belief and the backing.

Our openers are allergic to hitting sixes in the powerplay

Coaches and captain are not interested to change the approach and adopt modern T20 approach. Pakistan is probably the only side still playing old method of 90s keeping the wicket in hand and then slog. This method won't work against the better bowling attacks. I was hoping Pakistan lost match against BG so that I can hear the interesting story of Father-son duo taking turn riding the donkey by storey teller Head coach Saqlain and explain media about all the nizam of nature like day and night etc etc

Opposition bowlers realize that the bulk of the Pakistani batsmen struggle to put away the changes of pace and they will easily hole out to the fielders on the boundary. This is something the Pakistani players need to urgently work on in the off season.

RizBar also lacks the stamina to hit long long sixes that's a fact they are like 660c cars just manoeuvre them on flat roads no heavy duty service

Definitely an issue.

Especially when you look at teams around the world smashing sixes left, right and centre.

Big grounds in Australia, this could be an even bigger issue.

For a while I've felt Mohammad Yousuf, a perfectly reasonable coach for technically correct batting, playing straight, high elbow etc - is a misfit to coach art of T20 batting.

However there was an interesting article this week with David Hussey mentioning Australia as a venue has the second lowest percentage of runs in boundaries in T20.

So that may suit our tuk tuk merchants.