Osama Bin Laden is DEAD

That is actually is not a very good news for Pakistan (especially for civilians)

Pakistani politicians , army and ISI can get their share of reward for covering US act (if we assume that it was all fake).

But the reaction from extremists against these will be faced by pakistani civilians.

True, but apparently the TTP are denying that Bin Laden's dead.

(the TTP are different to the Afghan Taliban; the Afghan Taliban contend he's been dead long ago)

Let me be clear though Bin laden is GOOD riddance either way. It was good riddance all along. Even if this whole thing is a lie its a good thing the matter has been out to rest officially if not truthfully. But i am just worried about Pakistan at the moment.

I think the president and the Kayani are still thinking what to say and how to handle it, they have been shocked by the events.

Bin Laden died a long time ago..and that is the truth. Even Benazir let it slip her speech before she died and there have been other evidence. The mansion story in Abbotabad is nothing short of BS to Pakistanis because we especially know that city very well, we go there for summer tourism all the time.

The picture of the body does not look real at all. Americans wont show the body and already tossed in sea.

Malicious.

Bin laden was dead a long time ago and he was kept alive for a long time because it served Us interests and now out of the blue bin laden killed in a luxurious mansion after a fierce fight by navy seals in Abbotabad? Americans and non pakistanis can easily buy that but we cant.

I am not sure from where you get this information that OBL is dead 10 years ago. Do you have any evidence???

if OBL was killed long back in 10 years ago and this is all fake then

1. Why to choose a place so near to Islamabad ? As this will raise doubt against Pak authorities.

2. It will be difficult to take Pak authorities into confidence as it would have been if found in Af/Pak border.

1. US is now after Pak.

2. US showing Pak who is boss.

(the TTP are different to the Afghan Taliban; the Afghan Taliban contend he's been dead long ago)

What else can you expect them to say???? How many times they have admitted in the past when their top leadership got killed.

TTP lets keep in mind were the fake Taliban who only materialized in around 2006. They don't mean anything..are a bunch of wanna bees and brain washed militants at best.

That is actually is not a very good news for Pakistan (especially for civilians)

Pakistani politicians , army and ISI can get their share of reward for covering US act (if we assume that it was all fake).

But the reaction from extremists against these will be faced by pakistani civilians.

You are absolutely right. Pakistan is in the middle of it all. Extremists will target Pakistan for helping out US in its war against them, and rest of the World would hate Pakistan for residing the most wanted man on earth. It's a lose-lose situation for Pakistan.

Though Pakistanis (educated ones) will be relieved to hear this news, they won't be celebrating the death because of what is to follow next which will hurt Pakistan badly.

So is this the beginning of the end of the war on terror? Or is it just the start..?

You are absolutely right. Pakistan is in the middle of it all. Extremists will target Pakistan for helping out US in its war against them, and rest of the World would hate Pakistan for residing the most wanted man on earth. It's a lose-lose situation for Pakistan.

Though Pakistanis (educated ones) will be relieved to hear this news, they won't be celebrating the death because of what is to follow next which will hurt Pakistan badly.
Yah, that was my first reaction when I heard the news.

It would have been much better if OBL were found in the border areas instead of close to Capital and that too in a military area.

I get information from where all other people get this information.

From media, former generals, journalists, economists, political analysts, and when required from Benazir bhutto herself.

[utube]UnychOXj9Tg[/utube]

What would US gain from these two ? Isn't it already the case?

Pak has consistently tried to push US policy back as far it is able to....

Now US is pushing back...

All politics....

Public will think that Pak has been sheltering OBL.... then US has carte blanche on Pak....

So is this the beginning of the end of the war on terror? Or is it just the start..?

Given the media's stance on Pakistan right now (and for the past 4 or 5 hours) ... I realise Pakistan is in a tight place right about now. War on terror will not end any time soon.

What else can you expect them to say???? How many times they have admitted in the past when their top leadership got killed.

Who are you talking about? The TTP or the Afghan Taliban?

My point was the TTP believe Bin Laden is still alive, whereas the Afghan TAliban have said he was dead long ago (i.e. in 2001).

Pakistan's response so far, they are being careful.

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan said Monday that the killing of Osama bin Laden in a US operation was a "major setback" to terrorist organisations around the world.

"Osama bin Laden's death illustrates the resolve of the international community, including Pakistan, to fight and eliminate terrorism," the foreign ministry said.

"It constitutes a major setback to terrorist organisations around the world," it added in a statement, saying that US forces had conducted the operation around northwestern town of Abbottabad early Monday.

Pak has consistently tried to push US policy back as far it is able to....

Now US is pushing back...

All politics....

Public will think that Pak has been sheltering OBL.... then US has carte blanche on Pak....
What US policy Pak is pushing back?

As far as we know, Pak has been accepting everything what US asked. Even they have allowed drones and even now as we see they have allowed foot soldier.

Regarding world policies, I don't think US need Pak's acceptance.

Regarding economic policies, nothing there either.

So what US policies Pak was pushing back for which US had to do this drama and spend so much money?

People on twitter are saying that this mansion is right next to a Pakistan military base, like, right next door...

People on twitter also saying that the USA did this without Pakistan's knowledge ... yes, they attacked a compound right next door to a military base without any Pakistanis knowing about it :rao

The military compounds in Pakistan are in every major city, and most smaller cities. No surprise that this would be portrayed as something massive.

Yah, that was my first reaction when I heard the news.

It would have been much better if OBL were found in the border areas instead of close to Capital and that too in a military area.

We still don't know for sure if he is dead (today), since there is no proof of it all, we would think that all this is serving someones interest. Either the Pakistan intelligence, Army, gov't or US, we don't know, but someone is definitely benefiting from it.

Pakistan president will be in a spot now.

If he says they had no idea about the attack, then ppl will ask how did they allow US force on Pakistan ground.

If they say they helped US forces to give intelligence and help in the attack then terrorists go after them.

Really in a bad spot to be and hence we can see very little reaction from them.

Not just " my country " but also my religion and people suffered more than the US , Americans cannot have more hatred for him than I do .

edit - let me add , i am happy he is gone but i do not know if celebrating and partying is something i should be doing . it is sick.

Throughout history there always been someone, even back Mohammed Peace be upon him when they killed kuffars they didn't celebrate, just thank Allah and hope nothing bad happens, I don't know how people could celebrate someone's dead no matter who he is..

Bhutto said he was murdered , this was 4 yrs ago..here is proof..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnychOXj9Tg

and same year she got murdered, I can only conclude she knew way more than that and US didn't want here to spoil their game/agenda.

If the CIA had checked google earth they would see someone clearly marked Osama Bin Laden's house with a tag

People on twitter also saying that the USA did this without Pakistan's knowledge ... yes, they attacked a compound right next door to a military base without any Pakistanis knowing about it :rao

The military compounds in Pakistan are in every major city, and most smaller cities. No surprise that this would be portrayed as something massive.

Yeah, some of the details coming in are very sketchy, there's no way that Pakistani intelligence wouldn't know American's were attacking a compound.

We still don't know for sure if he is dead (today), since there is no proof of it all, we would think that all this is serving someones interest. Either the Pakistan intelligence, Army, gov't or US, we don't know, but someone is definitely benefiting from it.
he dead a week ago

That doesn't matter now whether he was really killed today or not.

The whole world would accept it (except some conspiracy theorists). The questions will be raised irrespective of if OBL was killed today or not.

The US dollar has been declining rapidly and it approaching worrisome low levels and conditions are not good based on the money supply, inflation and economic fundamentals and debt.

This will be a good distraction for a little while.

Obama praising Pakistan in his speech, he said it was with the help of Pakistan military intelligence that they managed to track him down. He also said that Osama had declared war on Pakistan.

Speech currently on Fox News

But question is how strongly TTP can prove him alive. Else OBL will be considered dead and the news till now to be true.

Pakistan president will be in a spot now.

If he says they had no idea about the attack, then ppl will ask how did they allow US force on Pakistan ground.

If they say they helped US forces to give intelligence and help in the attack then terrorists go after them.

Really in a bad spot to be and hence we can see very little reaction from them.

I really think all that is decided what he is going to say, or what the official words will be. They will be somewhere along the lines of 'gov't of pak, army and ISI were aware of this all this time (for last 7 months), they were talking careful measure into carrying this out properly, it was brought to our attention by US officials, and we gave them a go ahead'

I don't think they will care too much about the people of Pakistan, as they are the small fishes, they will die either way, they will look to please the Americans and other countries.

Obama praising Pakistan in his speech, he said it was with the help of Pakistan military intelligence that they managed to track him down. He also said that Osama had declared war on Pakistan.

Speech currently on Fox News

Obama's a good bloke, at least in the public sphere.

That doesn't matter now whether he was really killed today or not.

The whole world would accept it (except some conspiracy theorists). The questions will be raised irrespective of if OBL was killed today or not.

you believe he was killed today?

What US policy Pak is pushing back?

As far as we know, Pak has been accepting everything what US asked. Even they have allowed drones and even now as we see they have allowed foot soldier.

Regarding world policies, I don't think US need Pak's acceptance.

Regarding economic policies, nothing there either.

So what US policies Pak was pushing back for which US had to do this drama and spend so much money?

Its a mixture of different things...

1) OBL died a long time ago.... I fail to see how someone who patently didnt care about what the US thought of him... would stay silent for 10 years...

He died in the Tora Bora mountains... it suited the US's political agenda to keep alive a "figurehead" for Extremism... as it then made it easier to do what they wanted....

Now the political game is "Exit strategy" from Afghanistan and "Squeeze Pakistan".... Exiting Afghan cant happen while "OBL is still alive"... two birds with one stone...

In terms of squeezing Pak... there are a number of things...

A) Behind the scenes Pak is trying to push US policy back.. eg drones etc.

B) US has gone as far as it can in Afghanistan... US now wants to focus on radical elements in Pak

C) Whilst Pak has been helping US, US doesnt think it is helping enough

D) LONG TERM AIM - To take control of PAK NUKES.

Re world policies... - US always plays the long term political game... you do need public support for Oseas missions... in the US people are strating to wander whether its worth spending all that money....

I really think all that is decided what he is going to say, or what the official words will be. They will be somewhere along the lines of 'gov't of pak, army and ISI were aware of this all this time (for last 7 months), they were talking careful measure into carrying this out properly, it was brought to our attention by US officials, and we gave them a go ahead'

I don't think they will care too much about the people of Pakistan, as they are the small fishes, they will die either way, they will look to please the Americans and other countries.
hmmmm, I don't think it will be that easy. Questions like

1. Who accomodated OBL in that area which is full of Army high profile officers.

2. How long he was there and how come it was not noticed.

3. If there was no support for OBL from Pak Army and ISI, then why OBL decided to come and live in an area which is so close to Army establishment? Is he that ignorant?

It would not be that easy for Pak authorities to stay clear now.

you believe he was killed today?
yaar, mere aur appke maan ne ya na maan se se kuch hota hai kya?

I am just telling what I see happening. Not if I believe if he is dead or alive.

Most people around the world will believe it and ask the same questions which I put. It doesn't matter what you, me or few others think.

1) OBL died a long time ago.... I fail to see how someone who patently didnt care about what the US thought of him... would stay silent for 10 years...

He died in the Tora Bora mountains... it suited the US's political agenda to keep alive a "figurehead" for Extremism... as it then made it easier to do what they wanted....

Now the political game is "Exit strategy" from Afghanistan and "Squeeze Pakistan".... that cant happen while "OBL is still alive"... two birds with one stone...

B) US has gone as far as it can in Afghanistan... US now wants to focus on radical elements in Pak

This is not long term aim thats the damn target. Pakistan is the only Muslim country in the region which can counter any attempts of the creation of Greater Israel. Israel is the Daddy of USA and they are just listening to their Daddy.

Do I need to?

Ofcourse you need to. You believe in this drama thats why you need to come up with some proves. Where are the pictures? Where is the body? Why they throw his body in the ocean?

Now the political game is "Exit strategy" from Afghanistan and "Squeeze Pakistan".... that cant happen while "OBL is still alive"... two birds with one stone...

Re world policies... - US always plays the long term political game... you do need public support for Oseas missions... in the US people are strating to wander whether its worth spending all that money....
Okay some good points.

But why US wants Pak nukes as it seems that is the ultimate goal from your post.

Al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden The United States did not notify the Pakistani government about the US operation that killed al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden, says a US official. Late on Sunday, US President Barack Obamaannounced that bin Laden was killed by US forces after he was found hiding in a compound in Pakistan. “We shared this intelligence on the compound with no other country, including Pakistan," the unnamed US official said, AFP reports. The official added that the reason for not sharing intelligence with Islamabad was “the need to maintain complete secrecy” about the operation. During the Sunday US operation that killed bin Laden, three other men -- including a son of the al-Qaeda leader -- and a woman were also killed. “In addition to Osama bin Laden, three adult males were killed in the raid,” anotherunnamed US official said earlier, adding that one of them was believed to be an adult son of bin Laden. Two other women were also injured in the raid that lasted less than 40 minutes, the official added. The announcement of bin Laden's death comes almost ten years after the September 11 attacks on the United States. On September 11, 2001, a series of coordinated attacks were carried out in theUnited States, leaving almost 3,000 people dead. During the incident, 19 reported "al-Qaeda terrorists" hijacked four commercial passenger jet airliners and crashed two of them into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, killing everyone on board and many others working in the buildings. The hijackers crashed a third airliner into the Pentagon in Arlington, Virginia, just outside Washington, D.C.

But question is how strongly TTP can prove him alive. Else OBL will be considered dead and the news till now to be true.

Well there's a distinction between the TTP and the Afghan Taliban, which is largely why i posted that. The TTP consider him alive (their evidence is possibly all the evidence we've had for the last 10 or so years; nothing, but just believing he's alive), and the Afghan Taliban consider him dead long ago, back in 2001.

Now think about it, the Afghan Taliban defend Bin Laden as a guest of their country and a leader of Al Qaeda. Why would they say he's dead back in 2001? And there weren't any videos of him afterwards (except some that most people suspected as being fake...eg he looked better than ever after there were reports of him having diabetes and kidney disease and even paralysis of one side. He had the hall marks of a dying man in 2001.

Ofcourse you need to. You believe in this drama thats why you need to come up with some proves. Where are the pictures? Where is the body? Why they throw his body in the ocean?
Read my other posts my friend. It doesn't change a damn thing what me or you believe.

But Pakistan govt will face the questions what is been posted in this thread.

It doesn't change in anyway whether OBL was killed today or not. Do you agree to that?

Okay some good points.

But why US wants Pak nukes as it seems that is the ultimate goal from your post.

Cos they concerned the Radicals/Extremist (whatever you want to call them) will get their hands on them...

Why are they after Irans (potential) Nukes?

When Pak got Nukes - It genuinely caught US by surprise... IMO

Read my other posts my friend. It doesn't change a damn thing what me or you believe.

But Pakistan govt will face the questions what is been posted in this thread.

It doesn't change in anyway whether OBL was killed today or not. Do you agree to that?

Yes I agree that Pakistani government is in hot waters after this drama.

Why make the assumption that he's been hiding in that mansion or a long time? Maybe he just moved in recently?

hmmmm, I don't think it will be that easy. Questions like

1. Who accomodated OBL in that area which is full of Army high profile officers.

2. How long he was there and how come it was not noticed.

3. If there was no support for OBL from Pak Army and ISI, then why OBL decided to come and live in an area which is so close to Army establishment? Is he that ignorant?

It would not be that easy for Pak authorities to stay clear now.

those will be easy questions because they can just be like we only found out about them few months back (when CIA also found out) through our agencies and we were keeping a close eye on him, and waiting for the right moment to carry out the operation in a proper manner.

Tougher questions will be asked inside Pakistan, as why were US allowed inside Pakistan, and carry out a freakin army attack? If they knew of Osama, why didn't they just trial him in Pakistan court, or why couldn't Pak army carry out the operation themselves, why the need to get US soldiers and helicopters into our soil.

Musharraf on Geo saying that this was a violation of our sovereignty and that the operation should have done by Pakistan forces.

Bin laden was the reason a lot of Pakistanis were killed, including some in the world trade centre on 9/11. I'd rather he was captured alive but He was never expected to surrender.

Well there's a distinction between the TTP and the Afghan Taliban, which is largely why i posted that. The TTP consider him alive (their evidence is possibly all the evidence we've had for the last 10 or so years; nothing, but just believing he's alive), and the Afghan Taliban consider him dead long ago, back in 2001.

Now think about it, the Afghan Taliban defend Bin Laden as a guest of their country and a leader of Al Qaeda. Why would they say he's dead back in 2001? And there weren't any videos of him afterwards (except some that most people suspected as being fake...eg he looked better than ever after there were reports of him having diabetes and kidney disease and even paralysis of one side. He had the hall marks of a dying man in 2001.
See that is what I am saying.

TTP has no proof.

Af Taliban is saying it for so long and no one has believed them. So why people will believe them today ?

The majority will take today's activity as true and the future actions or reactions will be based on what happened today (irrespective of if it was true or fake)

I am just saying what may happen (not necessarily what is truth).

those will be easy questions because they can just be like we only found out about them few months back (when CIA also found out) though our agencies and we were keeping a close eye on him, and waiting for the right moment to carry out the operation in a proper manner.

Tougher questions will be asked inside Pakistan, as why were US allowed inside Pakistan, and carry out a freakin army attack? If they knew of Osama, why didn't they just trial him in Pakistan court, or why couldn't Pak army carry out the operation themselves, why the need to get US soldiers and helicopters into our soil.

Agree. Why were US forces allowed to set foot on Pakistani soil? Our own SSG was more than capable to conduct this alleged operation.

Cos they concerned the Radicals/Extremist (whatever you want to call them) will get their hands on them...

Why are they after Irans (potential) Nukes?

When Pak got Nukes - It genuinely caught US by surprise... IMO
hmmm fair enough fear.

So why do they think it may fall into extremists hands if they know that OBL was actually no where near Pak nukes ?

Either their fear is true or thats not the reason.

osama is buried already as said by US

shall we move on then is the 4th odi today?

See that is what I am saying.

TTP has no proof.

Af Taliban is saying it for so long and no one has believed them. So why people will believe them today ?

The majority will take today's activity as true and the future actions or reactions will be based on what happened today (irrespective of if it was true or fake)

I am just saying what may happen (not necessarily what is truth).

There's a difference between the Afghan Taliban and the TTP. The Afghan Taliban were the ones hiding Bin Laden. Anyhow, most of the media did believe he died early on (http://whatreallyhappened.com/WRHARTICLES/osama_dead.php : Note the reputable sources)

Why make the assumption that he's been hiding in that mansion or a long time? Maybe he just moved in recently?
The US and Pak has said that they knew about him staying their for atleast last 7 months (not sure if they are saying the truth)

The question is that, Who will be the new Osama now for USA and its people? I guess Ghadaffi.

His death in pak's soil a challenge for pak they are waiting a terrible civil war in pakistan

Agree. Why were US forces allowed to set foot on Pakistani soil? Our own SSG was more than capable to conduct this alleged operation.

Obviously Pakistani forces are considered not good enough for such attacks. American troops were flown all the way from Afghanistan in the middle of the night to perform this action which they successfully did and took his body with them. This is how special forces are suppose to operate.

those will be easy questions because they can just be like we only found out about them few months back (when CIA also found out) through our agencies and we were keeping a close eye on him, and waiting for the right moment to carry out the operation in a proper manner.

Not really yaar. If you are a fugitive, will you ever go and hide in a police cantonment near a police station? Unless you have some help from police ? :)

And OBL was not a petty thief and his staying in such a high profile house will raise a lot of eyebrows. How will they say no one knew about his staying in a secure area of Army establishment ?

That would be much easier for Pakistani govt and army I would say. Have they ever cared about their citizens ? Why would they bother now?

hmmm fair enough fear.

So why do they think it may fall into extremists hands if they know that OBL was actually no where near Pak nukes ?

Either their fear is true or thats not the reason.

I fear it may fall into their hands...!! I think its a long way off... but I still fear it.

For the US gov - they have to have a strategy in respect of it.... no matter how far away it is....

they possibly think its closer than I do....

PS: thats one of the reasons.... not the only reason.... see above.
PS: OBL is only a figurehead....

His body should have been buried in the Islamic manner & not disposed off at sea.

Mahesh Bhatt: While you 'rightfully' celebrate the killing of Osama bin Laden, who will hang the other terrorist George 'Butcher' Bush.

Obviously Pakistani forces are considered not good enough for such attacks. American troops were flown all the way from Afghanistan in the middle of the night to perform this action which they successfully did and took his body with them. This is how special forces are suppose to operate.

Hollywood stuff

I fear it may fall into their hands...!! I think its a long way off... but I still fear it.

For the US gov - they have to have a strategy in respect of it.... no matter how far away it is....

they possibly think its closer than I do....

PS: thats one of the reasons.... not the only reason.... see above.
PS: OBL is only a figurehead....
fair enough reason I would say.

Lets hope we get more clarity in future.

US came to afghanistan to hunt for OBL, now their main objective being met, will they quit afghanistan?

US is aiding Pakistani forces for years only to combat terrorism and these terrorists. There is a geniune concern among the US defense officials that Pakistanis are not acting on the geniune intel and it had appeared to them that sometimes the bad guys were tipped ahead of time about such an attack. I dont think US shouldnt taken any sort of chance with the Pakistanis in the case of OBL. I am glad this moron is gone and i hope this will show all the bad guys that their names are numbered. American forces will get these guys in every town and village wherever they are hiding.

well thank god Obama thanked Pakistan army and ISI. pheww..

Oh my God!!!!!!!!!!

My family lives in Abbotabad, I hope they are ok. Please make dua people.

Well as long they are not residing close to Illiyasi mosque and Kakul area, which I am sure they are not, they would be fine.