Our Desi brothers and their habits

Javelin said:
Pot calling the kettle black?
I think, you have failed to get his point. No matter where you are, keep your feet on the ground.

It also reminds me a story/joke. Before 1947, in Lahore two janitors (Christians) were watching Muslims out on the roads demanding for independence. One asked other, why are they demonstrating? Other replied, "No big deal, they are demanding independence and we are not giving them." I think Waqar's point was to avoid having this kind of mentality.

HillRock said:
Then you must be the one who extensively use the word "like" in their sentences, ;-)

"And then, he was all like, and then I was like, and he was like, no way, and then I was like, yeah, way. And he was like..."

I have noticed this thing in Pakistani students who went to English medium schools.

It means the same applies to Mushtaq Ahmad as well:13:?

What annoys me most about desis:

Desi aunties & uncles at weddings. One plate of food at one time is not enough, they have five plates at once. Then at the end they say they didn't get any food or the food wasn't nice etc. Personally I don't like to eat much at weddings I feel embrassed I don't know why.

Desi uncles and boys with bluetooth headsets. They look like fools.

I don't mind being asked where I come from pakistan, but being asked what clan or caste I belong to drives me crazy.

Most annoying thing for me is.. Desi with beards

when they grow a big mullah type beard, they honestly believe they know more than you or anyone else about Islam... not everyone, but people Ive met in my lifetimne hold that mentality...

having a beard doesnt mean youre a full blooded muslim, its just an image nothing more..

bit arrogant really

Foozee said:

when they grow a big mullah type beard, they honestly believe they know more than you or anyone else about Islam... not everyone, but people Ive met in my lifetimne hold that mentality...

having a beard doesnt mean youre a full blooded muslim, its just an image nothing more..

bit arrogant really
Playing with fire there buddy. Now just wait for the attacks.

Marihal said:

Desi aunties & uncles at weddings. One plate of food at one time is not enough, they have five plates at once. Then at the end they say they didn't get any food or the food wasn't nice etc. Personally I don't like to eat much at weddings I feel embrassed I don't know why.

I don't mind being asked where I come from pakistan, but being asked what clan or caste I belong to drives me crazy.

That cracked me up:))!

Foozee said:

bit arrogant really

actually lemme rephrase this...

im annoyed at those desis who have beards and think they know more than you about Islam... like just because you have beard don mean you have more knowledge is what I mean

Marihal said:

May be that is the case in UK. But here in the US, you will see more non-desis with bluetooth headsets. They look like robots

Foozee said:
actually lemme rephrase this...

im annoyed at those desis who have beards and think they know more than you about Islam... like just because you have beard don mean you have more knowledge is what I mean

Every single person, desi or non-desi, even Mulim or non-Muslim, thinks that he knows more about Islam than the next person.

The only people who will ask stupid questions are freshys and mangys (mangeters) i dont see a british asian lad coming up to me and asking me random questions like that aha

bob20006444 said:
The only people who will ask stupid questions are freshys and mangys (mangeters) i dont see a british asian lad coming up to me and asking me random questions like that aha

Ah, my favourite topic! What's a mangy (mangeter)?

Encouraging the youngsters to study further, further and further but are in no mood to do something better in their lives themselves. Their own past reveals that they themselves didn´t bother to touch a book even:26:.

"Mind your own business" is something they haven´t heard of:|.

well, got a question about mr. 10% junior...... would we consider him "desi" or "non desi"....(btw he speaks Urdu with english accent)

Inventing their own forms of gunaahs(sins)
Like my friend,I was sitting with my friends and I cracked my knuckles and she was like,"yeh gunaah hai,aise nahi karna chahiye"
I said,"acha,toh baray baray gunah bhool jayein aur in chhotee baaton par hum fikar karein?..pehle namaz,roza waghaira theek karna chahiye"

So my other Irani friend agreed with me and nodded her head.My Pakistani friend didnt say anything!

Now,I dont give smart replies,I just directly ask,where in the Qur'an and Hadith does it say?..:D

And RASAMS in weddings.Honestly,why cant the weddings be simple and without 500+ relatives and guests? and the rasams.Our Prophet said the weddings should be simple and without any extravaganza.:)

ace_allrounder said:
Inventing their own forms of gunaahs(sins)
Like my friend,I was sitting with my friends and I cracked my knuckles and she was like,"yeh gunaah hai,aise nahi karna chahiye"
I said,"acha,toh baray baray gunah bhool jayein aur in chhotee baaton par hum fikar karein?..pehle namaz,roza waghaira theek karna chahiye"

So my other Irani friend agreed with me and nodded her head.My Pakistani friend didnt say anything!

Now,I dont give smart replies,I just directly ask,where in the Qur'an and Hadith does it say?..:D

And RASAMS in weddings.Honestly,why cant the weddings be simple and without 500+ relatives and guests? and the rasams.Our Prophet said the weddings should be simple and without any extravaganza.:)
Bravo! This is the first time I have heard a female who understands this important point (bolded part).
:14: :14: :14:

Never informing the other person before visiting his place. Always trying to make excuses like "We were here in the nearby and thought of coming to your place."

Bravo! This is the first time I have heard a female who understands this important point (bolded part).
:14: :14: :14:

Well, she is only 15. Once she grows older and her 'Utthna beitthna' with those Pakistani aunties increases, she will realize how important and valuable it is amongst women to spend money on useless things:26:.

DHONI183 said:
Well, she is only 15. Once she grows older and her 'Utthna beitthna' with those Pakistani aunties increases, she will realize how important and valuable it is amongst women to spend money on useless things:26:.

Hmm,
Yeah but some of my friends dont think like that.And plus,in our family,we dont have that much extravaganza and rasams.Well, among close relatives atleast.But I have seen and witnessed the rasam-ified weddings among Pakistanis.

And I dont like crowds. :( (except in cricket matches :P)

ace_allrounder said:
Hmm,
Yeah but some of my friends dont think like that.And plus,in our family,we dont have that much extravaganza and rasams.Well, among close relatives atleast.But I have seen and witnessed the rasam-ified weddings among Pakistanis.

And I dont like crowds. :( (except in cricket matches :P)
More power to your elbow ace!

And RASAMS in weddings
are probably the only good and fun part of wedding. wedding day itself is boring. Plus what other entertaintment is there for people especially girls. Rasams are usually when close friends and family get together and have some fun. Get rid of Valima but keep the Mehndi etc

how much i make , If i’m married, closing the door on my face( I used to be guilty of this before)

What a weird and wonderful thread. I would really like to read a ssimilar one about Chinese brothers, but don't really know where to look. Anyone got any ideas?