[Pak win by 4 wkts] Pakistan v West Indies | U19 Semi Final | Lincoln | 25/1/10

All this talk about Qadir but Raza looks a good little spinner doesn't he?

Can't afford Shehzad to turn into blocker of the year again.

Good bowling effort from us - at one stage it looked like the Windies would get around 250, especially when Brathwaite was on song BUT good bowling and good captaincy stifled them

Raza was the pick of the bowlers and along with the captain he was the best fielder in the side - caught well and got a good run out. Sarmad Bhatti was excellent at the start of the innings, was a little wayward at the end BUT overall he did very well

212 is a gettable score BUT this is Pakistan - we make the easy things look difficult. I think its important we get off to a good start, the last thing we want is to get bogged down early on

Raza Hasan looks like a gem of a cricketer.
Can field and can bowl for sure.

He bowled the doosra couple of times as well which the commentators failed to notice.

Good prospect, really good prospect

Daytripped said:
Why? It's not that bad. They were looking at 270 at a time.
Its not bad but it could go either way. Its targets like this which create a lot of pressure because bowling sides aren't as relaxed as if they have 300 and they're not as hopeless as if they have 100.

Sledger said:
All this talk about Qadir but Raza looks a good little spinner doesn't he?

Qadir was impressive BUT i agree Raza looks the better bowler - though i reckon that is down to experience. Qadir is only 16, whilst Raza is a year older and has played some first class cricket

Qadir understandably is very raw BUT the signs are promising - with time and some coaching he can become a good player

Would like to win this game.

Another world cup win would make up for a quarter of the sadness we've had so far down under.

kingusama92 said:
Those guys are lucky that are watching it on TV. Luckily I found a good stream. :)

yaar 6,7 saal maine internet pe dekhi hai cricket ab Allah ka fazal hai us waqt bhi tha.. haar waqt Khush raho

Showing a Shane Warne demo during the break - reckon young Qadir could do with spending some time with Warney

Acid test for this team.

Chaseable target.

Semi final.

Pressure of a chase.

If they do this I'll be mightly impressed.

Shehzad has looked terrible this entire WC. He's really put himself out of contention for a call to the team.

The great Hope has gone!

Sorry I mean the great Hype has gone.

Good bowling from Holder and Shehzad perishes.

Inswinger said:
Shehzad has looked terrible this entire WC. He's really put himself out of contention for a call to the team.

Shehzad is poor.

I mean where is all that fabled technique and composure?!

There has been so much hype about Ahmed Shehzad but that was a completely pathetic shot, his footwork was like Shoaib Malik i.e. non existent! Other guys have much better technique.

same old Pakistani team culture and habits in under 19 squad as well... playing away from the body and NOT getting behind the ball ... Ahmad Shehzad was a disappointment.

Juggernaut said:
Shehzad is poor.

I mean where is all that fabled technique and composure?!
His technique has really deteriorated over the past year. He looked solid against the Aussie and the we threw hi in the T20 and he became an ugly slogger. Needs to work on it again.

Pakistan's run rate reminds me of a maths lesson where I was asked to divide two by three.

FFS Babar use your feet.

That is one of my biggest gripes against all Pakistani batsman.

Their foot movement is non existent.

You look at the young Indian batters and they look so technically sound.

This boy may be bowling well but you need a bit of mental strength to combat him.

A standard Pakistani response to pressure like this is to give your wicket away.

Gujar said:
Pakistan's run rate reminds me of a maths lesson where I was asked to divide two by three.

Run rate is not the issue.

Don't lose wickets. See out the new ball and you'll chase this. The runs will come.

Ahmd Shehzad does not even deserve to play in the U19 team, let alone the senior team

Babar Azam gone now. Nothing pull-shot there. 2-9 in a bit of trouble like yesterday

Juggernaut said:
FFS Babar use your feet.

That is one of my biggest gripes against all Pakistani batsman.

Their foot movement is non existent.

You look at the young Indian batters and they look so technically sound.

This boy may be bowling well but you need a bit of mental strength to combat him.

A standard Pakistani response to pressure like this is to give your wicket away.

You are so perfectly spot on !!!
Just look at the batting technique, foot movement, back lift, bat swing and the whole batting style of indian batsmen... yep they are on a whole different level. I have seen indian batsmen here in U.S. leagues playing in local games, these are regular IT guys who play leisure time cricket ... and I can clearly see the difference ... they are just on a different level of batting style and technique while we stay masters of half hearted pokes at the front foot with no back lift or solid foot movement.

Typically Pakistani response to chasing 212 this.

Very poor shot from Babar.

One decent bowler in the team and the Pakistani's seem to be pissing their pants.

Uncle Sam said:
You are so perfectly spot on !!!
Just look at the batting technique, foot movement, back lift, bat swing and the whole batting style of indian batsmen... yep they are on a whole different level. I have seen indian batsmen here in U.S. leagues playing in local games, these are regular IT guys who play leisure time cricket ... and I can clearly see the difference ... they are just on a different level of batting style and technique while we stay masters of half hearted pokes at the front foot with no back lift or solid foot movement.

I dunno how they do it.

Same placid pitches and they produce batsman with good technique and a nice style.

Juggernaut said:
I dunno how they do it.

Same placid pitches and they produce batsman with good technique and a nice style.

Pretty simple ... they look at their heroes in the national side and Ranji Trophy and try to learn and emulate them... its the cultural thing which passed from top to bottom

Uncle Sam said:
Pretty simple ... they look at their heroes in the national side and Ranji Trophy and try to learn and emulate them... its the cultural thing which passed from top to bottom
And our guys look at our bowlers as heroes. That's shy we produce better bowlers and ordinary batsmen.

Uncle Sam said:

Their kids copy guys like Sachin and Dravid.

Our kids copy Shahid Afridi.

Hence the techniques.