[Pak win by 4 wkts] Pakistan v West Indies | U19 Semi Final | Lincoln | 25/1/10

its.raja

Local Club Star
Less than 5 hours to go now. I hope Pakistan will win the Semis and Finals as well.

when is the match? tonite? i hope and wish pak wins today match and i do remember pak beat wi in their first match aswell. so inshallah hope our un 19 players brings us happniess.

Looking forward to seeing Umsan Qadir bowl. Wonder why he didn't bowl against India.

For me, Pak have won the cup by kicking out indians from the tournament...i dont care what happens now....

itduzz said:
For me, Pak have won the cup by kicking out indians from the tournament...i dont care what happens now....
DO you know, indian under 19 was coached by one of the best coaches in the world:
DAVE WHATMORE

Interested to see big Hammad again, looks like another beast in the making.

:afridi

West Indies aim for another surprise

The two teams confronted differing expectations in the lead-up to this tournament. Pakistan had won the championship twice and finished runners-up once. Keeping with the trend in their country to pick cricketers young, a fair number of players had experienced the first-class and the List A levels. They were among the frontrunners for the title and haven't disappointed, giving their fans something to cheer about in harrowing times, with the timely high of a thrilling win against India which knocked the defending champions out.

In preparation for this tournament, discounting the warm-ups, West Indies had limited exposure to the one-day format in the KFC Cup as a part of the ongoing domestic season. Unlike several other teams, they played no international cricket in 2009. Little was known about them outside the Caribbean. A victory in the Plate championship in the 2008 edition by their predecessors meant expectations from the new lot were measured. But they have exceeded them and repaid the faith of their selectors, who, a month earlier, had backed them to win. "I can see them going all the way. This team is better balanced than two years ago when we went to Malaysia and won the Plate Final," Clyde Butts, the West Indies Cricket Board's chairman of selectors, had said. Now they are just two games away from meeting their objective.

Pakistan's unblemished progress to the semis and their familiarity with the conditions at Lincoln, the venue for the game, hands them a significant advantage. They beat West Indies by a convincing margin in their first game of the tournament, and overcame testing conditions - on a large ground with the ball swinging around and the boundaries elusive - in Lincoln in the rain-affected quarter-final to edge past India.

West Indies' advance in the tournament has been rugged. Two hair-raising thrillers, and Bangladesh's newly-acquired choking disorder, settled their place in the knockouts. They beat Bangladesh by one run in the league phase and watched them squander a last-over victory against a Mohammad Waqas-inspired Pakistan, a result that gave West Indies a backdoor entry into the business end of the competition. Keen to cash in on the good fortune, fast bowler Jason Holder dismantled the England batting line-up to seal an 18-run win in a low-scoring quarterfinal encounter.

The teams have had their share of individual successes. Openers Babar Azam and Kraig Brathwaite are the two highest scorers in the competition. Allrounder Hammad Azam has been extremely handy in the death overs, helping his team to two tight wins with the bat, while Fayyaz Butt's genuine ability to swing and extract movement off the pitch has contributed to his staggering average of 12.14 for his seven wickets. Holder has been West Indies' saviour with the ball. A solitary wicket, that of half-centurion Tasnamul Haque, came in that crucial last over against Bangladesh and, as a possible prelude to the favourable conditions in the semi-final, a five-for against England brought his team within striking distance of the summit.

Unlike the senior World Cup, there are fewer barriers to scale in the youth version. The title-winners would have to play six games to win the competition, as opposed to 11 in the 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean; the relatively fewer steps to the big prize offer a greater potential for surprises. While Pakistan remain favourites, the team they helped reach the knockout stage by upstaging Bangladesh will find backers.

http://www.cricinfo.com/u19wc2010/content/story/445653.html

Really looking forward to this - we managed to beat the Windies in the group stages so inshallah it will be the same result again. They have done very well though, nobody though they would get this far and they dumped England out in the Quarter Finals

Usman Qadir is the one i want to see - saw the other players in the last match. There has been a lot of talk about him, finally should get to see him in action

Anyone have any idea what the weather is like?

Geordie Ahmed said:
Really looking forward to this - we managed to beat the Windies in the group stages so inshallah it will be the same result again. They have done very well though, nobody though they would get this far and they dumped England out in the Quarter Finals

Usman Qadir is the one i want to see - saw the other players in the last match. There has been a lot of talk about him, finally should get to see him in action

Anyone have any idea what the weather is like?
Weather might play a roll there. Last time India and Pak both struggled big time because of cloudy weather. I hope weather will not be like last time.

Sohaib-789 said:
I want pakistan, sri lanka final :)

Yes it is payback time. Remember the tri series where we lost in the final over against them, before the NZ tour.

But let us beat Windies first InshaAllah...

Geordie Ahmed said:
Its the semi final, isnt it obvious how many matches are left?

I kno it's just the two semis and final but was jus confused about all the other matches

Sohaib-789 said:
Probably cas they were playing a part time keeper :/

What is that for an answer? If the other two spinners can bowl, why can not he bowl? Are you afrad the keeper will miss stumpings, catches etc? Don't worry. He is an OK keeper.

Super Sixer said:
:62:
bring it on!:105:

back to the topic,is India out of the tournament? coz on cricinfo,it shows they have a semi final match against England :20:
confused..

That is the loser semi-final, for teams who lost the quarter finals. And the final here will decite who takes the fifth spot.

Geordie Ahmed said:
http://uk.weather.com/weather/hourByHour-NZXX0003?cm_ven=cricinfo_UK&cm_cat=grounds&cm_ite=weather&cm_pla=hourly

Seems like it will be partly cloudy for most of the day - showers will be late afteroon, im guessing the match will be over by then

Lets hope we win the toss and bat first - i dont think chasing is in our blood

thanks

I agree, let the bowling handle the real pressure cooker part of the match.

And I do hope Babar plays a biggish innings today and Qadir bowls a longish spell.
Didn't happen against India. Would love to see these guys live in action

I'd much rather watch this u19 team than the senior team.

They have fight and spirit unlike the senior who have adapted a losing mentality.

kashif77 said:
I'd much rather watch this u19 team than the senior team.

They have fight and spirit unlike the senior who have adapted a losing mentality.

Same here - when i was watching the senior side it was like, meh BUT i was really excited whilst watching the U19's - the effort they put in was great to see and it was nice to see a captain that actually had a clue

its.raja said:
trust me they are good in chasing ;-). chased 35+ runs in 2 overs against BD and last one against India they won chasing.

Well the Bangla chase was helped by the Bangla captain doing a :moyo esque blunder by giving some average bowler the last over

Also the India chase was only 114 BUT we still made hard work of it

Its got to be bat first - try to score over 250 and hopefully our bowlers (spinners especially) will do the trick

Its funny isn't it how a lot of times in the 90s, Wasim and Waqar would blast India out in the first innings and then an Ijaz, Afridi, Inzamam or whoever would knock of the runs.
There was a point where Pakistan were very good chasing, in fact under Inzamam it was always Pakistan's preference to bowl first.
Interesting how times have changed.

Sledger said:
Its funny isn't it how a lot of times in the 90s, Wasim and Waqar would blast India out in the first innings and then an Ijaz, Afridi, Inzamam or whoever would knock of the runs.
There was a point where Pakistan were very good chasing, in fact under Inzamam it was always Pakistan's preference to bowl first.

And now Pakistan couldnt find those players with their rubbish selection. Time changes every time this time around we have nothing but next time we could find something.

Sledger said:

We were good at chasing because we had :inzi

Sledger said:

I don't think it was ever Pakistan's preference to ball first

The pattern even at our peak was

Slow start, keep wickets in hand, guys like Miandad, Inzi etc etc would go crazy at the end of innings when they were set.
We get a good total.

Then our bowlers come into their own.

Nope in around 05-06 Inzamam used to prefer chasing unless the wicket was absolutely dead.

Sledger said:
Nope in around 05-06 Inzamam used to prefer chasing unless the wicket was absolutely dead.

Well we didn't have nearly half as good a bowling attack as we had earlier on during that short period.

But really, if that is true, it was a really short period, most of the time, throughout our history, we've been a bat first side

SuperSixer90 said:
Wait how many more matches are left? Cricinfo is showing about 6

Yea they have so many matches left because they have the Plate matches and Play off matches all the up to 15th place play off :S :|as far as the main world cup goes...or the Super League...as its officially called...Just the 2 semis (Pak VS WI & Aus VS SL) and the final left.

Cant wait for this game to start!! :D inshallah Pakistan can once again beat WI as they did in the group matches and go on to win The whole thing insahllah :)

Really strange tho how Pak isnt playing Aus or SL to avoid teams from the same group palying in the Semi

*sallu* said:
Well we didn't have nearly half as good a bowling attack as we had earlier on during that short period.

But really, if that is true, it was a really short period, most of the time, throughout our history, we've been a bat first side
Yeah, but my point is whenever Pakistan bowled first they used to be very good at chasing especially in the late 90s and quite a few games in Sharjah.

I wonder if Azam can repeat his heroics in this game, I expect WI to be a better unit now because their bowlers are starting to click. Batting is pretty explosive - maybe they're peaking at the right time.

I am assuming they will be playing an unchanged side or will Anup Santhosh be brought back?

More than anything else...Shahzad needs to go, but that won't happen

Khabri420 said:
I am assuming they will be playing an unchanged side or will Anup Santhosh be brought back?

More than anything else...Shahzad needs to go, but that won't happen

Well for his standards and expectations he hasn't had a good world cup at all

But to drop him would be utter foolishness
He does have a 50 odd in the world cup and he even bowls regularly.

So theres no way he should be dropped, but yes, it has been a below par performance from him so far

I think the specialist keeper will come back, wasn't that the reason Ghumman couldn't bowl :qadirjnr?

for those in the UK, the game is being shown live on Sky Sports 4.

I liked the look of Hammad Azam..Tall,lanky quickie and a handy lower order player.He bowled impressively against the Indians,was easily the quickest of the pacers from either side and batted sensibly..An allrounder in the making:13:..

Looks like Pakistan's answer to Chris Tremlett. :))

Every info is about Uk/Canada and the site is named as PakPassion. What about the poor lads from Pakistan, no one provides info about us. :(

Sledger said:
Looks like Pakistan's answer to Chris Tremlett. :))
His physique is more like our own Shabbir 'Maachi' Ahmed..But one thing is for sure,his action is clean as a whistle..:p

Every info is about Uk/Canada and the site is named as PakPassion. What about the poor lads from Pakistan, no one provides info about us. :(

We have 1 TV system / platform in UK.

In Pak, you get cable TV & that gives you TV from bloody everywhere!!
All 'do number' of course!

We have 1 TV system / platform in UK.

In Pak, you get cable TV & that gives you TV from bloody everywhere!!
All 'do number' of course!

Serious kion ho raha hai yaar. Joke tha.

Bad joke, I admit. But it was a joke.

Sohaib-789 said:
16 minutes to go toss should be taking place now.

Bhai
which cricket are you playing

Toss is always 30 minutes before a game
Thats standard.

Test, Odi or t20 or first class cricket

oh nooooooooooooo we are gonna bowl first. He should have batted first man. :pissed:

Pakistan win the Toss and bowl first

Simon Doul: Win against India must have made you happy?
Ghumman: Yes, but we came here to win the world cup, not to win against India

*sniff sniff*
Thats the attitude