Pakistan [268/8] defeat Afghanistan [209] by 59 runs in the 3rd ODI to sweep series 3-0

Update: Saud has been added in the pakistan Asia cup squad. Shukar, Koi to akal hai hamerei cheif selector mein, ab kudhya zaman Khan, Imad waseem Aur abrar ko Dal dei bhai, Nawaz, Usama mir, Chacha and Faheem need to go
Nawaz overall is more valuable player than Abrar, but Faheem, Usama and Ifti should be dropped

Abrar for Usama, not for nawaz. Usama Mir isn't a bad bowler despite this series performance, however he is predictable and isn't a wicket taker. Unlike shadab usama although he has better control then shadab(normally) he lacks any variation, no googly, no arm balls, flippers, leg break etc, it's just casual leg spin over and over, with him relying on his height to maybe generate extra bounce. He won't trouble anyone.

Abrar is a mystery spinner with great control, great spin and he seems to know how to bowl doosra's, offcutters and various other variations of standard offspin, he's going to be ridiculously hard to play especially in Sri Lanka and India which have spin friendly wickets.

If you want to keep nawaz, then have images replace Chacha, Imad is a better batsmen and bowler then chacha. His so called avg of 62 bowling in odi, isn't a reflection of his abilities.

Bowl imad and Zaman Khan from over 30 onwards and these 2 will win you so many games for years to come. Pak have been bowling imad at the wrong times in odi, that's all.

Based of this series, our best 15 squad for the world cup should be

1) Babar (c)
2) Imam
3) Fakhar
4) Abdullah Shafique
5) Saud Shakeel
6) Muhammad Rizwan (WK)
7) Muhammad Haris (WK)
8) Tayyab Tahir
9) Zaman Khan
10) Imad Waseem
11) Shadab Khan
12) Abrar
13) Shaheen Shah Afridi
14) Naseem Shah
15) Haris Rauf

Inzimam won't go for this squad but it's pur best squad possible.

We have one 4 excellent fast bowlers, 3 good spinners with one of them being a yesteryear spinner and the other being an excellent death overs spinner which is rare in world cricket.

2 Good lower order batsmen who can hit from the get go at 6 and 7, as well as 4 world class accumulators in the form of Imam, Babar, saud and rizwan and one impact player in the form of Fakhar.

^^ Please Inzimam don't be an idiot, this is the squad that wins you the world cup. Max I cannsee tayyab being replaced for agha for the extra bowling option, but tayyab is a better bat.

What a joke of umpiring and broadcasting.

Drs broken down

Sigh, in the 1st innings, the pitch loosened up by the 30th over and the same hing happened In the 2nd innings.

Now that the pitch is more batting friendly, faheem is back to getting smacked by Tail enders. Where are all the James Anderson and Glenn mcgrath folkes at?

What a joke of umpiring and broadcasting.

Drs broken down
I mean the machine broke down, something they couldn't have predicted, but the 3rd umpire is incompetent, the umpiring in this series has been a joke in general.

A 10 year old could have deduced that, that was 100% out. 3rd umpire should have made the decision but alas he needs a machine to hold his hand.

Lazy cricket here from Pakistan.

Taking it easy and not going for the kill.

Gotta give it to Mujeeb, he and rashid khan are the only ones in the afghan unit to have a winning mentality.

Both should be groomed to be middle order batsmen, Mujeeb is destined to bat at no 4 and rashid at no 5.

Should had checked shaheens front foot there. Slightly on the line maybe?

Very loose there in the end by Pakistan. This attitude against a stronger team could cost them an important match someday.

Gotta give it to Mujeeb, he and rashid khan are the only ones in the afghan unit to have a winning mentality.

Both should be groomed to be middle order batsmen, Mujeeb is destined to bat at no 4 and rashid at no 5.
Are u serious?

AFG have fought back really hard after that mauling in the first match. They don't have the skill levels to compete against Top 6 sides over 50 overs. Their seamers are all playing a Top 6 side for the first time.

That too against Pakistan who are on the verge of the #1 ranking. The fact that they fought so hard against a strong WC favourite is impressive

Lazy cricket here from Pakistan.

Taking it easy and not going for the kill.
Na. We did well. It was all about increasing the gap between runs and balls.

There was no way afghanistan could had won this cause the margin was too big.

Had we went for the kill, than we would had not had attacking bowlers at depth and would had relied on spinners and faheem.

Are u serious?
Mujeeb and Rashid khan are better batsmen then the entire afghan middle order and thats factual.

Afghanistan team has 3 problems that prevent them from being World class.

A) Horrible death bowling

B) Joke fielding

C) Batting entirely reliant on opening pair, omdismiss their opening, and the tail virtually starts. Mujeeb and rashid can atleast slog and can be more threatening then any of their middle order batsmen

AFG have fought back really hard after that mauling in the first match. They don't have the skill levels to compete against Top 6 sides over 50 overs. Their seamers are all playing a Top 6 side for the first time.

That too against Pakistan who are on the verge of the #1 ranking. The fact that they fought so hard against a strong WC favourite is impressive
They need to fix their death bowling, fielding and middle order batting.

Once they do that, they'll be a world class side and the 3rd best Asian team > Bangladesh and Sri lanka.

The reason they keep losing to Pakistan from winning positions in the past is entirely due to fielding, death bowling and batsmen always being a good 15 to 20 runs short.

Mujeeb and Rashid khan are better batsmen then the entire afghan middle order and thats factual.

Afghanistan team has 3 problems that prevent them from being World class.

A) Horrible death bowling

B) Joke fielding

C) Batting entirely reliant on opening pair, omdismiss their opening, and the tail virtually starts. Mujeeb and rashid can atleast slog and can be more threatening then any of their middle order batsmen
Ok I hope sense prevails and they start batting mujeeb at 4 next game onwards. Mujeeb is averaging 6 because he bats lower down the order

Pakistan win by 59 runs. 3-0, good stuff all round.

Ok I hope sense prevails and they start batting mujeeb at 4 next game onwards. Mujeeb is averaging 6 because he bats lower down the order
Mujeeb shouldn't bat at no 4 straight away, he's nothing more then a mindless slogger atm, and the reason he performed is because in both the first and 2nd innings it became easier to bat from over 30 onwards.

However he should be groomed and trained by management and be cultivated to a proper all-rounder. He's superior to Afghanistan's entire Middle order, besides opening, Afghanistan's Tail starts from no 3 all the way to out of form no 7 Nabi.

If he learns how to rotate strike, find gaps and develops shots and strokes, same goes for Rashid khan, then he'll become a force to be reckoned with, cause he clearly has power, talent and the ability to freely clear the boundary.

Future Glenn Maxwell in the making if he's groomed properly.

Mujeeb shouldn't bat at no 4 straight away, he's nothing more then a mindless slogger atm, and the reason he performed is because in both the first and 2nd innings it became easier to bat from over 30 onwards.

However he should be groomed and trained by management and be cultivated to a proper all-rounder. He's superior to Afghanistan's entire Middle order, besides opening, Afghanistan's Tail starts from no 3 all the way to out of form no 7 Nabi.

If he learns how to rotate strike, find gaps and develops shots and strokes, same goes for Rashid khan, then he'll become a force to be reckoned with, cause he clearly has power, talent and the ability to freely clear the boundary.

Future Glenn Maxwell in the making if he's groomed properly.
Bhai pitches this series were not easy to bat on. I am sure their order batsmen have more potential than a tailender. Mujeeb scored because the opposition had relaxed, the game was already lost. And as u rightly pointed out it became easier with an older ball in both innings

They need to fix their death bowling, fielding and middle order batting.

Once they do that, they'll be a world class side and the 3rd best Asian team > Bangladesh and Sri lanka.

The reason they keep losing to Pakistan from winning positions in the past is entirely due to fielding, death bowling and batsmen always being a good 15 to 20 runs short.
Heck, even Gurbaz and Zadran are playing against a Top 6 attack for the first time. They need to find better quicks for sure. Also, they'll need replacements for Hashmatullah Shahidi and Nabi soon. They can't play forever.

I don't agree with the comparisons with SL and BD. AFG compete with those countries because they either play them in the UAE or in WI, BD and in SL. These countries all have spinning, gripping, slow decks which makes Afghans a real threat. But they'll get hammered on true or seaming surfaces.

That's why they have lost all their ODI matches to SL,BD and WI in other venues like India, NZ , Australia and England. They need conditions to even beat SL , BD and WI.

Bhai pitches this series were not easy to bat on. I am sure their order batsmen have more potential than a tailender. Mujeeb scored because the opposition had relaxed, the game was already lost. And as u rightly pointed out it became easier with an older ball in both innings
That's incorrect. In the 2nd odi which was a batting pitch, their openers gave 224 runs and set a solid platform for them to score a good 330 to 340. Yet their entire team only managed to score 76 runs for 4 wickets in 14 overs.

Their tailenders are ironically superior batsmen to their middle order players except for nabi.

Afghanistan will continue and continue to lose to Pakistan from winning positions consistently because their middle order let's them down, their fielding let's them down and their death bowling straight up asks for the opposition to win the game.

Ik Afghanistan is a minnow, but out of All the minnows I've seen, these guys genuinely have the potential to be a world class side one day if they iron out these 3 issues.

But i dont think that'll happen due to lack of money and infrastructure for the Afghan nation.

Heck, even Gurbaz and Zadran are playing against a Top 6 attack for the first time. They need to find better quicks for sure. Also, they'll need replacements for Hashmatullah Shahidi and Nabi soon. They can't play forever.

I don't agree with the comparisons with SL and BD. AFG compete with those countries because they either play them in the UAE or in WI, BD and in SL. These countries all have spinning, gripping, slow decks which makes Afghans a real threat. But they'll get hammered on true or seaming surfaces.

That's why they have lost all their ODI matches to SL,BD and WI in other venues like India, NZ , Australia and England. They need conditions to even beat SL , BD and WI.
Afghanistan are currently NOT better then bangaldesh and Sri lanka, I didn't claim that, however they have the best spin attack in the world and a decent pace attack.

But they lose due to lack of batting talent as well as completly forgetting how to bowl beyond over 30 + the constant extras and misfields doesn't help.

Afghanistan are currently NOT better then bangaldesh and Sri lanka, I didn't claim that, however they have the best spin attack in the world and a decent pace attack.

But they lose due to lack of batting talent as well as completly forgetting how to bowl beyond over 30 + the constant extras and misfields doesn't help.
Afghanistan has the potential to surpass Sri lanka and Bangladesh if they Iron out these 3 issues that I have mentioned, but I doubt that'll happen due to lack of infrastructure for Afghans atm.

Hashmatullah Shahidi | Afghanistan captain: The pitch was different today. We did the mistakes again with the batting. We'll work on that. Lot of learnings from this series. We know we'll face same type of teams in the Asia Cup and World Cup. Our batting wasn't up to the mark and we were poor in the field as well. Afghanistan's spin bowling is always good. I am very satisfied with them. Our openers are doing good, our middle-order needs to take some responsibility. We'll try to work on that. We had three injuries this series, that's a part we missed.

Imam-ul-Haq | Player of the Series: It's just a process. It's difficult in these conditions especially against their spinners. Rotation of strike was very important. The management planned that and it worked. I have listened to my chachu as well. You should move your back leg against spinners. It's working and I am happy. (On his fielding) I want to thank all the team management, fielding staff, we have been working hard. Fielding is very important and we are working hard. It gives you confidence, will take the all the positives and try to improve.

Mohammad Rizwan | Player of the Match: The conditions were tough. We came to know that it's a 240-pitch. After losing our openers, we assessed the pitch and decided to take it deep. Imam played the LPL here and he gave us the inputs. (Batting in the middle-order) It's a bit difficult. Some times you play against the new ball, sometimes the ball grips and some times you need to accelerate.

I don't see this current unit defeating BD & SL either at AC or at WC. Had it been a t20 format maybe they could've possibly got away with one or two. But for a 50 over unit they are just way too handicapped with so many unresolved issues. Even the unplayable spin trio will get smashed in SENA conditions as we have already witnessesed. I believe Ind will handle them much smartly & positively.

Pakistan Climbs to No. 1 in ODI Rankings Following Stellar Series Whitewash Over Afghanistan

Pakistan has once again asserted its dominance in the One Day International (ODI) format, soaring to the pinnacle of the MRF Tyres ICC Men's ODI Rankings, courtesy of a comprehensive 3-0 series whitewash against Afghanistan. This victory not only showcased their cricketing prowess but also allowed them to surpass Australia to clinch the coveted No. 1 spot.

In a series replete with exhilarating moments, Pakistan established its supremacy right from the outset. The inaugural ODI witnessed them craft a staggering 142-run victory, a testament to their exceptional bowling performance. The sequel was nothing short of a cinematic thriller, where the Men in Green, exhibiting sheer resilience, clinched a victory in the final over with just a solitary wicket to spare.

The decider saw Pakistan set a competitive target of 268, buoyed by stellar half-centuries from the dynamic duo of Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam. Even though there was a fleeting phase of instability during their innings, they regained momentum to post a formidable total on a challenging pitch. Afghanistan’s chase was kept under control thanks to Faheem Ashraf's initial breakthroughs, followed by regular wickets from Pakistan's spin arsenal. Despite Mujeeb ur Rahman's valiant quickfire half-century, the total proved to be insurmountable for Afghanistan. Shadab Khan emerged as the star of the bowling unit, bagging three crucial wickets.

Pakistan's journey to the summit of the ODI rankings has been nothing short of phenomenal. Their previous season witnessed them decimating West Indies and Netherlands in successive 3-0 whitewashes both at home and away. This momentum carried into 2023, where they clinched a series win over New Zealand. Even when the Blackcaps sought revenge in a subsequent five-game ODI series, Pakistan displayed their class, taking the series 4-1.

Australia, the erstwhile table-toppers with 118 rating points, now find themselves in the second position, while Pakistan enjoys the view from the top with 118.48 rating points.

As cricket aficionados eagerly await the Asia Cup and further ODI clashes leading up to the grand spectacle of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, it’s evident that the battle for supremacy among Pakistan, Australia, and India is still very much alive. One thing's for sure, the world of cricket is in for a riveting treat!

I don't see this current unit defeating BD & SL either at AC or at WC. Had it been a t20 format maybe they could've possibly got away with one or two. But for a 50 over unit they are just way too handicapped with so many unresolved issues. Even the unplayable spin trio will get smashed in SENA conditions as we have already witnessesed. I believe Ind will handle them much smartly & positively.
Afghanistan are no where near Sri Lanka and Bangladesh atm.

They could be if they had a better middle order, good fielding and decent Death bowling.

But they have neither, their gonna get exposed badly if the pitch doesn't favour them.

Afghanistan are no where near Sri Lanka and Bangladesh atm.

They could be if they had a better middle order, good fielding and decent Death bowling.

But they have neither, their gonna get exposed badly if the pitch doesn't favour them.
So yes I 100% agree with you

Hashmatullah Shahidi | Afghanistan captain: The pitch was different today. We did the mistakes again with the batting. We'll work on that. Lot of learnings from this series. We know we'll face same type of teams in the Asia Cup and World Cup. Our batting wasn't up to the mark and we were poor in the field as well. Afghanistan's spin bowling is always good. I am very satisfied with them. Our openers are doing good, our middle-order needs to take some responsibility. We'll try to work on that. We had three injuries this series, that's a part we missed.

Imam-ul-Haq | Player of the Series: It's just a process. It's difficult in these conditions especially against their spinners. Rotation of strike was very important. The management planned that and it worked. I have listened to my chachu as well. You should move your back leg against spinners. It's working and I am happy. (On his fielding) I want to thank all the team management, fielding staff, we have been working hard. Fielding is very important and we are working hard. It gives you confidence, will take the all the positives and try to improve.

Mohammad Rizwan | Player of the Match: The conditions were tough. We came to know that it's a 240-pitch. After losing our openers, we assessed the pitch and decided to take it deep. Imam played the LPL here and he gave us the inputs. (Batting in the middle-order) It's a bit difficult. Some times you play against the new ball, sometimes the ball grips and some times you need to accelerate.

Should've been Shadab. Not sure on what criteria Imam was preferred. Shadab directly or indirectly forced the result on Pak's favor in all the marches.

Babar Azam | Pakistan captain: We are number one in ODIs. All credit to the boys, they are working hard. We had a small camp in Lahore. All credit to the boys and the management. One of the best spin sides - Afghanistan. That should help us in Asia Cup. The conditions weren't easy while batting first. Rizwan and I tried to build a partnership and take it deep. We have a good bunch of players. We tried different combinations. In a couple of days we have our first Asia Cup match. Saud is selected for Asia Cup. He's a very good player of spin.

Pakistan should have selected an extra fast bowler.Shaheen should have been rested.One of Arshad Iqbal or Abbas Afridi could have played instead of Shaheen.They are good bowlers.

Mujeeb’s innings goes to show that a more capable side would have cruised this. Pakistan batted too conservatively at best and selfishly at worst.

Milestones zindabad

Mujeeb’s innings goes to show that a more capable side would have cruised this. Pakistan batted too conservatively at best and selfishly at worst.

Milestones zindabad
Mujeeb's innings showed what can happen when you fall asleep on the wheel.

Mubarak on my team becoming the top ranked ODI team, lead by one of the best batters in the world.

I wish to see Afghanistan as top 6 team in future. These guys have so much potential. Just sucks watching them lose game after game.

They can become top 6 if they fix their batting, their atrocious death bowling and their joke fielding.

Should've been Shadab. Not sure on what criteria Imam was preferred. Shadab directly or indirectly forced the result on Pak's favor in all the marches.
I agree, Shadab is the man of this series lol. Not imam 😂.

Should have wrapped that match up much sooner than they did, but I guess sometimes you take the foot off the pedal when they knew the match was won.

Good score on the board after some decent batting in the second half of the innings and then early wickets was always going to be the key.

Job done!

These conditions suited the excellent Afg spin attack. We put a good total on the board and won easily. One of the interesting things i find with Afghans is why they just play spinners rather than some average pace bowlers.

Fakhar is a worry.He still has technical problems.He struggles when bowlers good line and length.

They can become top 6 if they fix their batting, their atrocious death bowling and their joke fielding.
Afghans played good cricket.They don’t get a chance to play big teams.This a young team,7 of their players(out of 11) are in their early 20s so they have plenty of team to learn.