Pakistan need to develop a batsman who India fear

Varun

Senior Test Player
In my opinion this could be a recipe for success against India in World Cup games or otherwise. Too often Pakistan's batting performs like a flat tyre and a dead fish with the (admittedly decent) bowling attack left to pick up the pieces.

If you had a grade A batsman on the other hand, the scales will tilt in your favour. Recall Nasir Jamshed during the Aane Do series? Somebody like him with a dose of long term consistency will keep the Indian think tank on their toes, and the rest of Pakistan's batsmen can revolve around him.

If said batsman can help the team score 275 in an ODI or 160 in a T20, you might break the streak and win a game against us once in a while.

They did score 275 in 2003

They did, and I'm sure the Indian team at the time were wary of Saeed Anwar who helped them score those runs.

There's nobody like that in Pakistan cricket now.

LOL. We have had many a batsmen your team feared. Talking about odis the won big win you had was the 2011 semi final. Look at 92 or 99 we outperformed you big time.

Our aim is to have a strong captain that has a brain. We need a young and fearless team. With that we will beat many teams including you dear parosee.

They did score 275 in 2003

And it was a decent match and we prolly would have won if Razzaq had kept hold of Sachins dolly. Even though our bowling attack was past it and some members were surviving in reputation alone

Same issue in 2011 too

These recent matches India had the superior team. But we also blew matches like 2003 and 2011 through terrible fielding

They did, and I'm sure the Indian team at the time were wary of Saeed Anwar who helped them score those runs.

There's nobody like that in Pakistan cricket now.

Agreed. If not for the freak Sachin Innings, Saeed had set Pakistan for the win. And with that bowling, Pakistan should have won but :sachin

This will come from Continous exposure to Indo-Pak games for our players. Only a prime Afridi and Inzamam had this impact.

Nasir Jamshed was on his way. Whatever happened to him? Why sudden loss of form? Any personal issues?

Test against South Africa in 2012/13 seemed to have messed him up. I think, he was not ready to play test cricket yet and especially against that bowling line. Hasn't recovered yet.

I still can't believe how Pakistan's batting has turned in to a laughing stock. You had a very decent bats in Inzy, MoYO, Younis, Malik, Razaaq. More often than not they were able to put a par score, if anything it was your bowlers who looked very average at best. Now they can't bat, can't bowl and certainly, can't field. :))) What happened?

In my opinion this could be a recipe for success against India in World Cup games or otherwise. Too often Pakistan's batting performs like a flat tyre and a dead fish with the (admittedly decent) bowling attack left to pick up the pieces.

If you had a grade A batsman on the other hand, the scales will tilt in your favour. Recall Nasir Jamshed during the Aane Do series? Somebody like him with a dose of long term consistency will keep the Indian think tank on their toes, and the rest of Pakistan's batsmen can revolve around him.

If said batsman can help the team score 275 in an ODI or 160 in a T20, you might break the streak and win a game against us once in a while.

True that.

Where is Javed Miandad when you need him?

If any Pakistani batsman could make India scared, it was him.

I still can't believe how Pakistan's batting has turned in to a laughing stock. You had a very decent bats in Inzy, MoYO, Younis, Malik, Razaaq. More often than not they were able to put a par score, if anything it was your bowlers who looked very average at best. Now they can't bat, can't bowl and certainly, can't field. :))) What happened?

To make 118 on that excuse of a batting wicket was a decent effort. We are just stuck with such a buzdil captain. Who is more busy with pleasing indian hearts then winning games.

Was he afraid to win or what!

Some batsmen from Pakistan who India genuinely feared - Ijaz Ahmed, Moin Khan, Saeed Anwar, Youhana, Younis Khan. These guys were gritty and always seemed to score against us.

Malik, Inzi are other notable mentions..

Nasir Jamshed was on his way. Whatever happened to him? Why sudden loss of form? Any personal issues?
Yes. PCB stopped his Biryani and Gulab Jamun diet, and he lost balance as a result. Centre of gravity moved up and he could bat no more. Incompetent PCB as usual..

Sent from pone

Some batsmen from Pakistan who India genuinely feared - Ijaz Ahmed, Moin Khan, Saeed Anwar, Youhana, Younis Khan. These guys were gritty and always seemed to score against us.

Malik, Inzi are other notable mentions..

Misbah to a certain extent as well, in recent times.

They should first produce a batsman. All they seem to dish out are hacks and old slowpokes.

Salman Butt
Nasir Jamshed
Shoaib Malik

The only batsmen I can recall recently who are actually up for the big tie!

Not much. You always knew you had a chance. Not with the guys mentioned in my earlier post. They scored and never looked to get out. Irritating kind...
I posted what most Pakistanis think.Apparently, Afridi gives Indians sleepless nights!

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

Team will suddenly come to life in next game. Its nerves and lack of big game temperament.

Please stop this nonsense. We had the temperament and awarness. Our captain messed up big time. We were right on top for 60 percent of the match till the moment came when we needed a spinner to bowl 4 overs.

Fact: we had no spinner!

I posted what most Pakistanis think.Apparently, Afridi gives Indians sleepless nights!

Why would anyone fear a guy who has spent maximum 100 balls in an innings in the entire career spanning 450+ matches? Of course, he had his moments with an innings here and there, but never really was a threat. At least against India..

At least our batters made more than 79 on a decent track against a decent bowling attack :)

We need to swap the Pakistani Shezad with the Afghani one - that bloke will put fear of God into bowlers and he is no hack.

Pakistan does not need someone whom "INDIA" fears. As if India is the team they are trying to catch up with. How about India develops a bowler whom Zimbabwe fears.

Why would anyone fear a guy who has spent maximum 100 balls in an innings in the entire career spanning 450+ matches? Of course, he had his moments with an innings here and there, but never really was a threat. At least against India..
Precisely!

Mohammad Shahzad from Afganistan anyone ??? He is smoking the South Africans now WOW, can Pakistan get him to play for their side somehow ? like ENG roping in the South Africans...

We need to swap the Pakistani Shezad with the Afghani one - that bloke will put fear of God into bowlers and he is no hack.

Unbelievable, I made this post before this current innings , Shezad is the real deal.

Pakistan only develops batsmen who we fear not the opposition...

When they kicked out MoYo and YK and made Afridi and Razaq as superstars, you can see intelligence of fans and management...Afridi has 20 years long career, even UA wanted to be next Afridi rather than MoYo...[emoji84][emoji84][emoji84]

Lot of blame goes to Pakistani fans and cricketing culture, we just don't understand batting...[emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

India worship SRT, that's why they get Kohli... There is no substitute for cultural investment

It's mainly when we got the influence of afridi on our youth

Our youth only want fours and sixes and succumb. No one want to idolise miandad inzi and MoYo

Yeh din bhi ana tha ke Indian batain gaye ke bhai team behtar karo matches mein maza nahi ata :facepalm:

Our youth only want fours and sixes and succumb. No one want to idolise miandad inzi and MoYo

Where is hitter in our team. U want to say misbah. Ahmed shahzad.Hafeez.azhar Ali . ooops

No one but that's the point. We may have produced batsmen had our youth idolised MoYo Inzi and JM and Saeed Anwar

By and large they don't fear, period. That's what makes them professional. That bowlers
can bowl them out is another matter. Pakistani fans are projecting their own insecurities
here. Stop being afraid yourself and worry about getting the opposition out, not intimidating
them. Here's looking at you Wahab. You are not in kindergarten anymore.

very good point.
Hanif,
Burki,
Majid,
Asif Iqbal,
Inti?
Javed,
Salim Malik,
Saeed,
Sohail,
Inzi,
Moyo,
Misba?

Next ?

Well Misbah did existed, but now we dont even have him

To the post:

Sorry. Pakistan does not have the resources to do that.

Hey Indians remember the name Babar Azam ...once Dhoni leaves u will be back where u were before Him I.e. in Our shadows... I personally believe Kohli is too hyper to be a successful Indian captain against Pakistan and your batting is too dependent on him he will have a bad patch against Pak at some point...
India forever in Our shadows

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Yeh!

Someone like Lala - still 1.3 billion Indians sweat in their nightmares for that Kanpur blast.

Pakistan only develops batsmen who we fear not the opposition...

When they kicked out MoYo and YK and made Afridi and Razaq as superstars, you can see intelligence of fans and management...Afridi has 20 years long career, even UA wanted to be next Afridi rather than MoYo...[emoji84][emoji84][emoji84]

Lot of blame goes to Pakistani fans and cricketing culture, we just don't understand batting...[emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

India worship SRT, that's why they get Kohli... There is no substitute for cultural investment

Amazing post!

This is like saying "All I have to do is get rich and I'll be good for life".

No one but that's the point. We may have produced batsmen had our youth idolised MoYo Inzi and JM and Saeed Anwar

You need strong domestic structure and batsmen friendly pitches to make it work. In the time of JM,Saeed Anwar etc, It was common saying from our fast bowler that domestic pitches favor batsmen.

Pakistan does not need someone whom "INDIA" fears. As if India is the team they are trying to catch up with. How about India develops a bowler whom Zimbabwe fears.

Where does Zimbabwe come in the picture ? I suggest that you need to concentrate on developing a national team that can avoid losing to domestic champions of other test nations first.

Hey Indians remember the name Babar Azam ...once Dhoni leaves u will be back where u were before Him I.e. in Our shadows... I personally believe Kohli is too hyper to be a successful Indian captain against Pakistan and your batting is too dependent on him he will have a bad patch against Pak at some point...

This is not a Pakistan team where Imran's retirement caused a leadership vacuum. India have always followed the Australian model of longevity in a captain's tenure. The leaders are chosen very carefully. Kohli is ready to be the captain and if at all, he is more aggressive than Dhoni. Both of them are tactically astute and command a great deal of respect from their peers. Expect out and out pacers along with good spin bowling in the Indian team once he takes over. He has already proved that his batting isn't impacted by captaincy.

If u have always followed Oz model of longevity than why isn't ur overall record better against us like Ozs?

Duckworth Louis or not, it's a stiff total that Pakistan will be chasing in a bit.

Here is their best chance of putting their foot on the pedal and gunning for it. They have won Champion's Trophy games against us before, so there are no voodoos or the weight of history stopping them.

If somebody can just stand up and show some fight, that'll do this rivalry a whole lot of good. Babar Azam - I'm looking at you in particular.

Duckworth Louis or not, it's a stiff total that Pakistan will be chasing in a bit.

Here is their best chance of putting their foot on the pedal and gunning for it. They have won Champion's Trophy games against us before, so there are no voodoos or the weight of history stopping them.

If somebody can just stand up and show some fight, that'll do this rivalry a whole lot of good. Babar Azam - I'm looking at you in particular.
sharjeel is not here, so i suppose no point in wallowing over him. one of the openers needs to find some spine. babar azam is a steady player....he will need others around him to fire faster.

and he has his hands in pockets, thinking of you... :yk

Decent start.

Can Shehzad and Azhar Ali deliver?

Shezad has the potential to be pakistani great batsman whom india fears but others around him bat so slow he has to take risks even before he settles down and in the process give his wicket away

India doesn't fear Amla, de Villiers, Root, Williamson or Smith despite them being great batsmen. Why will they fear any Pakistani batsman? We are not a meek, cowering team anymore.

Good suggestion but will be the batsman

Malik Moyo or should we recall Bhanja or Farhat

Shezad has the potential to be pakistani great batsman whom india fears but others around him bat so slow he has to take risks even before he settles down and in the process give his wicket away

Did you type that with a straight face?

Pakistan just need to develop a good batsmen. Not just for India to fear but for everyone to fear

Did you type that with a straight face?

i genuinely believe he is the most talented for shorter formats from pakistan. But when things are not going his way or pressure is build up on him by slower pakistani batsmen he gives it away and gets out.

Lol this is unbelievable. It's totally the opposite. He puts pressure on the whole team with his snail pace.

I would say that Pakistan needs to develop a batsman - or even just a player - who does not fear India.

Shehzad and Umar Akmal symbolizes everything wrong with Pak cricket.

Just an FYI, Dhoni has already quit other formats for a while and the team has been doing quite well. The transition has been going on just fine which is obvious from the team's performance in Dhoni's absence.
Every captain has his own way of managing a team and Kohli's hyperness so far has been keeping rest of the team fairly pumped up.

While their are match winners and individual play can occasionally win matches, it is a team sport. Watching the two teams its obvious that India plays as a team while Pakistan plays and relies on individual performances. Fitness between the two teams is miles apart. India's domestic circuit is managed pretty well to ensure competitiveness and a good stream of players until the foreseeable future. look at Hardik Pandya emerging from the IPL league. So yeah Mr. cool, Dhoni did a fantastic job but I am sure Kohli will forge his own legacy

Can't tell if sarcastic.

Fakhar Zaman, anybody?

He might be a Jamshed like figure at the top of the order who can clatter his way to dozens of runs.