Pakistan players turning instant millionaires after Champions Trophy win

Muhammad10

KARACHI: The young Pakistani players who played in the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time and won the title have become instant millionaires after a string of cash and other rewards announced on Tuesday.

Opener Fakhar Zaman, pacer Rumaan Raees and all-rounder Fahim Ashraf all made their ODI debuts in the Champions Trophy while 18-year-old spinner Shadab Khan has just played seven ODIs for Pakistan.

Others like captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Hassan Ali, Emad Wasim were also playing in their first Champions Trophy tournament.

For all these players, the Champions Trophy is turning out to be a bonanza in financial terms.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has announced to give cash award of ten million rupees to each player.

Information minister Maryam Aurangzeb told the media in Islamabad that Sharif will also host a grand reception for the winning team. The players have also been invited to visit the Senate with the trophy to honour them for their victory.

The PCB also announced that besides the cash bonus of 29 million rupees due to the team as part of their central contracts, the Board would also give each player a cash bonus of one million rupees.

The team has already pocketed prize money of around 200 million rupees from the ICC for winning the trophy.

Famous builder Riaz Malik has also announced cash prizes of one million rupees each and plots for the players while others are slated to follow soon.

A marketing executive said the new players would also earn a lot now from endorsements after the Champions Trophy victory.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...champions-trophy-win/articleshow/59240015.cms

Well done. They all deserve it but how about we fix our domestic structure and pay those guys as well. They are still being paid peanuts and given lambi paani wali daal and chawal.

Great! As stated above, we need to invest in our domestic cricket and facilities.

a lot of people are announcing awards, but I don't know if they will all go through.

to be honest, the 1 crore per player announcement seems wayyy too good to be true

This used to happen in the 90's all the time, local and federal governments and various organizations would make these announcements and very seldom they would actually follow through

a lot of people are announcing awards, but I don't know if they will all go through.

to be honest, the 1 crore per player announcement seems wayyy too good to be true

This used to happen in the 90's all the time, local and federal governments and various organizations would make these announcements and very seldom they would actually follow through

exactly. Especially Malik Riaz and Co

Apparently, the prime minister announced it, so it should be true?

There are people below the prime minister who end up taking cuts out of such monies.

The PM never finds out, and some lame reason is given to the receiving person. No one knows the truth. The players aren't that really smart enough to figure out the truth.

These guys have deserved it and rightly so. You perform and bring laurels to the country, you get rewarded for it big time. That is how it should work in professional sports.

My first instinct was to be wary that the money/fame might get to a few of these players heads. There's been no talk of groupings under Sarfraz as far as i'm aware? Once a few egos develop though i'm sure that age old problem in Pakistani dressing rooms will rear it's ugly head again.

PM announces Rs10m for each Champion Trophy team player

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif announced on Tuesday a reward of Rs10 million each for every player of the national cricket team for winning the Champions Trophy after defeating archrival India in London’s Oval cricket ground.

According to Minister of State for Information Marriyum Aurangzeb, the prime minister announced the reward for the national team for winning the Champions Trophy. She said by showing brilliant performance in the tournament, the national team had lifted the spirits of the nation. She added Pakistani team outclassed their opponents in all departments – batting, fielding and bowling.

“For showing an outstanding performance, the team deserves appreciation,” she said and added that the reward would be helpful in uplifting sports in the country.

Published in Dawn, June 21st, 2017

https://www.dawn.com/news/1340853/pm-announces-rs10m-for-each-cricket-player

Pakistanis going way overboard with the rewards as always. It was the same case after the 2012 India serie. And the government using valuable public funds in this manner when there hospitals which need funding is just mind boggling. We are all happy and proud of the team but I cannot condone such use of the state's funds.

100% deserve these rewards, they already make chump change with the cool and cup guys giving a pathetic 500 RS during man of the match awards in our series.

They put everything on the line and won gold for the country against much superior sides (on paper) so this is earned.

It's too much. I don't agree to spend public money without any proportion. I am not sure what Gov of UK announced for andy Murray for winning wembeldon or angelina Merkel for German football team. But Pakistan is democratic country, not monarchy and PM is representative not King to announce anything on emotions.

People may hate my comment but let me mention what I believe is correct

English Dictionary

Millionaire (n): some who possesses 1,000,000 amount of currency of a English speaking country i.e. US, UK, Australia

sorry.. but these aren't millionaires... maybe Kamran and Afridi are

Really think the government should have other things to better spend the money on, but nevertheless happy for the players

this is the benefit of beating india in a final
first the reception and welcome by locals and now this prize money
tbh they deserve it
cant wait for next series

77 thousand pounds almost. That is a huge amount .
Although rewarding the players after such a brilliant victory is a good step, but amount should be a bit less so that the taxpayers money could be spend in some other better ways.

It's about £70,000-75,000.

Our players earn a pittance compared to other players. It's a deserved reward for an excellent performance.

Rewards and recognition will hopefully instil pride and purpose to succeed and keep attentions on the game rather than outside influences *ahem* for a quick buck :asif

Should get more considering the insults hurled their way by critics and fans after losses.

You cant do this with public fund or remitance which has been brought by workers who work hard in foreign countries and has miserable life than these players....Bangladeshi goverment also has same money wasting mentality. If the board themselves are rich then they may do anything.

Brother when our boys win Hasina goes crazy.

Pak players brought honor and pride to their country. They won a major ICC event. They deserve all they get. I hope our boys win something soon - then you will see how we react in gift giving.

This is about £1.2 million pounds (combined for all 15 players) the money which is tazpayers money could be better used to help smaller cricket clubs and create a legacy rather than an ott present from a sitting duck pm

Too much money I believe.

If anything government should invest the money on cricketing facilities

The money will come,don't worry guys like Fakhar and Shadab don't have to worry about "where is the money coming from"

Will I be able to live a good life

It's about £70,000-75,000.

Our players earn a pittance compared to other players. It's a deserved reward for an excellent performance.

Rewards and recognition will hopefully instil pride and purpose to succeed and keep attentions on the game rather than outside influences *ahem* for a quick buck :asif

What are you on about?

The average retainer across central contracts a month is 4 lakhs, so in a year its 48 lakhs. One Test match fees 4 lakh, ODI is 3 lakhs, and T20 is 2 lakhs.

So in the last 6 months of last year alone, our players earnt 24 lakhs from their retainers, 48 lakhs from from the Test matches against England, WI, NZ and Australia, 48 lakhs from ODIs.

So someone like Amir, Sarfaraz, Babar, Hafeez, Wahab who played two formats earnt 82 lakhs just in six months, and that is not even counting their 70 lakh-1 crore PSL salary :)) (also not this is not even counting the T20 games we played!). This is also not counting the minimum 300,000 lakhs bonuses after good performances in individual matches.

All these numbers can be confirmed on numerous online publications and sources.

Our players earn crores, not including their endorsements or sponsors. The one we should be crying for our domestic players, THEY earn pittances.

yeah millionaires in Rupees. People saying that's a lot should get a reality check. Anything from $100k - $400k is well deserved.

This rousing reception, welcome, fanfare and prizes, endorsements is what will make the current generation want to be cricketers. This is justified.

Indian players get all the money and it hasn't done them any harm.

What are you on about?

The average retainer across central contracts a month is 4 lakhs, so in a year its 48 lakhs. One Test match fees 4 lakh, ODI is 3 lakhs, and T20 is 2 lakhs.

So in the last 6 months of last year alone, our players earnt 24 lakhs from their retainers, 48 lakhs from from the Test matches against England, WI, NZ and Australia, 48 lakhs from ODIs.

So someone like Amir, Sarfaraz, Babar, Hafeez, Wahab who played two formats earnt 82 lakhs just in six months, and that is not even counting their 70 lakh-1 crore PSL salary :)) (also not this is not even counting the T20 games we played!). This is also not counting the minimum 300,000 lakhs bonuses after good performances in individual matches.

Our players earn crores, not including their endorsements or sponsors. The one we should be crying for our domestic players, THEY earn pittances.

Compared to other players is what I said.

That is the way it's always been. With winning such tournaments come prizes. goodies, money and accessories galore. Just hope it doesn't get to their heads. With the next world cup being in England they've got a real chance of winning it if they keep developing and working hard. Won the T20 WC and CT both in England.

Compared to other players is what I said.

They will always be less compared to other players because of the different economies of our countries and the standard of living in each nation. Even Indian players, minus the IPL, are paid less than Australian and English.

The money our players get gives them the chance to live like kings in Pakistan, hence comparisons with other players are meaningless. And even then it translates to 150-200,000 dollars a year. Which in no way is a ''pittance'' compared to double that of English and Aussie players.

Just imagine Amir, for 5-6 years he was not earning what he could have earned from Cricket and now is enjoying all these halal riches and millions in ruppees. The Pak players who played from 2010 to 2016 earned big time and will still get to earn big time.

I can see Sharjeel going down same route.
[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION]

Amir would have been millionier long time ago only by playing in england.

This is going to be a big turn around for Pak cricket something that will ne remembered for 20-30 years.
Now more tesms would also like to tour pakistan.
I see it as a revival

Yes they already will be paid by the Prize money, this money could be better spent for Academies and increasing the domestic pay structure.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A local bank in Karachi has awarded Sarfraz Ahmed a BMW after he captained Pakistan to victory in the Champions Trophy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CT17?src=hash">#CT17</a> <a href="https://t.co/FXbh3kh0za">pic.twitter.com/FXbh3kh0za</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/877789815688896512">June 22, 2017</a></blockquote>

Pakistanis going way overboard with the rewards as always. It was the same case after the 2012 India serie. And the government using valuable public funds in this manner when there hospitals which need funding is just mind boggling. We are all happy and proud of the team but I cannot condone such use of the state's funds.

at least someone gets something out of these funds else we hardly sees these funds are being used for anyone else benefit except constructions of roads only.

They will always be less compared to other players because of the different economies of our countries and the standard of living in each nation. Even Indian players, minus the IPL, are paid less than Australian and English.

The money our players get gives them the chance to live like kings in Pakistan, hence comparisons with other players are meaningless. And even then it translates to 150-200,000 dollars a year. Which in no way is a ''pittance'' compared to double that of English and Aussie players.

That's the bottom line though, isn't it pal - what they earn is significantly less than other players.

I didn't put conditions on my statement such as "whether they play IPL or not, or whether they're Australian or not".

I know they live like kings in Pakistan; where have I contested that? that wasn't the topic of debate ;). They earn less compared with other players, a pittance compared to some - that's what I said and I stand by that, whichever way you want to break it down and present it.

What are you on about?

What does all that equal in USD?

82 Lakhs equates to just less than $80,000.

In 6 months* So multiply that by 2.

Which all translates to around a couple of hundred thousand dollars a year, MINUS their PSL salaries which are also 70,000-140,000 dollars. You add that with sponsorships and its easily 250,000 minimum.

Which according to Sunzi is a pittance compared to ''others''. I don't know who these others are. This money is comfortably more than 70% of the teams.

That's the bottom line though, isn't it pal - what they earn is significantly less than other players.

I didn't put conditions on my statement such as "whether they play IPL or not, or whether they're Australian or not".

I know they live like kings in Pakistan; where have I contested that? that wasn't the topic of debate ;). They earn less compared with other players, a pittance compared to some - that's what I said and I stand by that, whichever way you want to break it down and present it.

In addition to my reply above, I checked, Australians earn close to 600,000 pounds a year. English similar. I am assuming Indians similar. That's double ours but nowhere means we earn a ''pittance'' compared to them. Our domestic players earn a pittance yes. Not our international players. For a team with no home games and being deprived of that cashcow and a for team who scraped bottom of the barrel we are paid more than 70% of the boards out there.

this is where i feel that no one understands how to take the game forward. and also, that is how you create a selfish system in cricket.

yes, reward the players as that is great but this should not be the be all end all of the thing.

for starters create a fund - put the prize money from icc which was usd $ 2.2 million. add exactly the same amount from the government and the board. put it in a bank and create pensions for all the cricketer in the domestic top tier - 200 maybe or however many they are. a usd $ 6.6 million fund invested over long term and used as pension of all the players is something big even if it has 600 stake holders over a period of 20 years.

domestic player is someone that we need to take care of. they are still being fed stuff from 'daigs' and one look at domestic matches shows that none of them are actually really modern athletes.

reward the ground staff, get some good physical trainers, use this success euphoria to build a team for the ages.

wishful thinking on my end but still ...

In 6 months* So multiply that by 2.

Which all translates to around a couple of hundred thousand dollars a year, MINUS their PSL salaries which are also 70,000-140,000 dollars. You add that with sponsorships and its easily 250,000 minimum.

Which according to Sunzi is a pittance compared to ''others''. I don't know who these others are. This money is comfortably more than 70% of the teams.

Sorry brother, I meant what do they earn from central contracts, fees, retainers etc combined a year?

Then add PSL.

You get 250k USD?

Well done, if some of these still resort to fixing after this, they should be banned for life. Sharjeel and co, if they are guilty, will look like fools now. Missing all the money and fame and honour.

Sorry brother, I meant what do they earn from central contracts, fees, retainers etc combined a year?

Then add PSL.

You get 250k USD?

60 lakhs a year from Central contract. And then around 48 lakhs same amount from a year of tours. So in Mohammad Amir's case:

A $100,000 from his playing year including match fees for ODIs, Tests and his central contract. And $140,000 from his PSL contract. So that is $240,000. I have not added the extra tens of thousands from T20I games and their fees given to players by PCB as we had too many games and I have a headache. :))

This also does not take in account the BPL salaries.

60 lakhs a year from Central contract. And then around 48 lakhs same amount from a year of tours. So in Mohammad Amir's case:

A $100,000 from his playing year including match fees for ODIs, Tests and his central contract. And $140,000 from his PSL contract. So that is $240,000. I have not added the extra tens of thousands from T20I games and their fees given to players by PCB as we had too many games and I have a headache. :))

This also does not take in account the BPL salaries.

So sounds like $300,000+.

In Amir's case (county etc), he may hit a 4-500,000 figure?

Good money.

I think that is more than our players apart from Shak who must be one of the richest players from all leagues, endorsements.

So sounds like $300,000+.

In Amir's case (county etc), he may hit a 4-500,000 figure?

Good money.

I think that is more than our players apart from Shak who must be one of the richest players from all leagues, endorsements.

I mean ofcourse we will always have the Aussies and the English and Indians earning more specifically due to IPL millions. But outside those three Pakistani players earn excellent amounts now too. I can see the same for your players, you add their pay from BCB, IPL, PSL, BPL and it'd be very good too.

For us, giving these players such money means they live like kings in Pakistan and such a big amount of money from a board struggling financially without home cricket is amazing as it is. It might be less than the Big 3 but pittance it certainly is not. The one place we are struggling is domestic salaries. Which are very low.

Just did some quick calculations to see how much a player who played every match for their country in 2016 in all formats would earn based on the current base salaries and match fees. I took the highest salary for each team and the amount of players on this salary are in brackets after the country. Obviously these values exclude all one off bonuses, franchise/domestic contracts, sponsorships etc.

Australia (20) : £785,000
England (10) : £1,019,000
Pakistan (6) : £117,000
India (4) : £311,000

Just did some quick calculations to see how much a player who played every match for their country in 2016 in all formats would earn based on the current base salaries and match fees. I took the highest salary for each team and the amount of players on this salary are in brackets after the country. Obviously these values exclude all one off bonuses, franchise/domestic contracts, sponsorships etc.

Australia (20) : £785,000
England (10) : £1,019,000
Pakistan (6) : £117,000
India (4) : £311,000

Only Eng players are Shahs.

Let's assume 15 players get 10,000,000 rupees each. That comes out to 150,000,000 rupees, or 1.5 million USD. Where is this money coming from? How much would a difference be made if this was reinvested into our domestic structure?

I'm so happy and proud of the boys as much as the next Pakistani, but this really seems over the top. Let's fix our domestic structure and reinvest in our system so that victories like this don't occur every 20 years but instead much more frequently. Just my thoughts.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shadab Khan has been given a car by an Islamabad car dealer for his excellent performance at the Champions Trophy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CT17?src=hash">#CT17</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/OIq1g9FCZc">pic.twitter.com/OIq1g9FCZc</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/880111108077617154">June 28, 2017</a></blockquote>

Good luck to them. Very average Indian cricketers are millionaires due to the IPL. Who can begrudge Pakistan players getting these awards? It will secure their families futures. They are not paid well compared to the other countries so I am delighted for them. A lot of posters appear concerned that the money will go to their heads. They are not stupid. They know that if they perform, more riches are on the way. If they don't, they will lose their place.

I prefer to think that this will make them hungrier for more success. Maybe it will make them hungrier for more financial success only - but cricketing success and financial success go hand in hand so let's just go with the flow and be glad that they are being rewarded.

In addition, these guys will become role models. Every Pakistani youngster will want to become rich playing cricket. Is this a bad thing? Of course not.

Gifts given by different companies and individuals is great but I'm not sure the PM should be handing out so much money and hosting lavish parties if he's using state funds to organize it and not his own private stash (which is also controversial given how much he pays himself).

I think our top players earn enough the problem is they don't earn anything from domestic one of the reasons many don't want to retire. An international player can make $250k in a year a domestic player won't make even Rs250k a year. And players on the fringes that make $150-200k 1 year and $20-30k the next are likely to find other means to supplement the income. Nawaz Sharif and other local governments should not be offering public money to them as iske baap ka paisa nahin hai and they are using it to promote themselves a builder or bank etc can do this for promoting themselves.