Pakistan should not boycott the T20I World Cup 2026

ICC WILL IMPOSE A SERIES OF SANCTIONS IF PAKISTAN DECIDES NOT TO PLAY THE T20 WORLD CUP 🚨

- No Bilateral Series with any International team ❌
- No NOC for Foreign players in PSL ❌
- No Asia Cup participation ❌

Ye padke Naqvi surrender kar dega
:klopp :kp

lol your source is Indianexpress…

All the things mentioned in your post - ICC has no control over. Asia Cup is an ACC event and will most likely be impacted yes

ICC threatens Pakistan with sanctions, Asia Cup ban: Report

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) found support from Pakistan in its bid to urge the International Cricket Council (ICC) to move Bangladesh’s T20 World Cup matches out of India over security concerns, and reportedly said it would review its participation if the issue was not resolved. After those efforts went in vain, with the ICC formally ejecting Bangladesh from the World Cup line-up, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Mohsin Naqvi said the final call on Pakistan’s participation would rest with the government.

However, Naqvi’s statements in support of Bangladesh reportedly irked the ICC. According to The Indian Express, the apex body has threatened Pakistan with sanctions, including a possible ban from the Asia Cup.

Sources told the national daily that if Pakistan also pulls out of the World Cup, the ICC could impose a series of sanctions, including the suspension of all bilateral series, denial of No Objection Certificates (NOCs) for foreign players in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), and exclusion from the Asia Cup.

“If Pakistan also decides not to play the T20 World Cup, the ICC will impose sanctions, including no bilateral series with any international team, no NOC for foreign players in the PSL, and no Asia Cup participation,” a source said.

Naqvi had earlier criticised the ICC for “double standards” following what he described as an act of “injustice” against Bangladesh. He added that the Pakistan government would take the final and binding decision on whether the national team participates in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

“Bangladesh has been treated unfairly. One country can make any decision whenever it wants, while it is the opposite for another. Bangladesh is a major stakeholder and such injustice should not happen,” Naqvi told reporters.

The PCB chairman also questioned what he described as selective decision-making by the global body, alleging that one member nation was exerting undue influence.

“One country is dictating terms. When the ICC changed venues for Pakistan and India in their favour, why was it not done for Bangladesh?” Naqvi asked.

“Our policy and position are clear. When the time comes and the government takes a decision, everyone will know. We are not under the ICC; we are answerable to our government. Once the Prime Minister returns, he will decide, and we will follow government directives.”

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...h-sanctions-asia-cup-ban-101769309545335.html

PCB needs to honor the agreement of playing ICC Games in SL.

We cannot just “boycott” when that agreement is in place and we are guaranteed to play in SL. It’s an integrity issue at this point.

All the things mentioned in your post - ICC has no control over. Asia Cup is an ACC event and will most likely be impacted yes
Oh bhai konsi duniya main reh raho ho ? ICC will suspend Pakistan cricket so ACC to dur bilateral series bhi ni khel payega 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

PCB needs to honor the agreement of playing ICC Games in SL.

We cannot just “boycott” when that agreement is in place and we are guaranteed to play in SL. It’s an integrity issue at this point.
Pakistan wont boycott the World T20 because they are dependent on ICC handouts and fear of senction.

So just like Asia cup surrender where they said we will boycott the match against UAE but we know what happened after that.

Himmat nahi hai tumhaari.

Oh bhai konsi duniya main reh raho ho ? ICC will suspend Pakistan cricket so ACC to dur bilateral series bhi ni khel payega 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

ICC cannot interfere in bilaterals as long as both countries as members of ICC. Both cricket boards are responsible for setting up bilaterals…

The only thing ICC can do is suspend PCB’s membership

It's one of the better newspapers in India. I would take it seriously.

ICC cannot interfere in bilaterals as long as both countries as members of ICC. Both cricket boards are responsible for setting up bilaterals…

The only thing ICC can do is suspend PCB’s membership
Ways the ICC can prevent a team from playing

Suspension of a member board: If the ICC suspends a member (common reasons: governmental interference, breach of the Constitution, governance failures), that board loses ICC voting rights, access to funding, and eligibility to play in ICC events. Suspension can prevent the national side from participating in ICC-sanctioned tournaments.

Expulsion or termination of membership: In extreme cases, membership can be terminated, removing all ICC privileges and the ability to play official international matches recognized by ICC.

Tournament bans and disqualifications: The ICC can bar specific teams from particular ICC competitions for breaches of tournament rules, eligibility violations, or disciplinary findings.

Sanctions against players/officials: Banning key players or administrators under the ICC Anti-Corruption or anti-doping regimes can weaken a team’s ability to field a side, indirectly preventing participation.

Recognition and status control: The ICC determines which matches have official international status (e.g., Test, ODI, T20I). Without recognition, a team can still play friendly or invitational matches, but they won’t be ICC-sanctioned internationals.

I genuinely hope Pakistan boycotts. It is not because I dont want to see them play or enjoy Ind v Pak game but to teach a lesson to its TV experts like Sikandar Bakht. He is saying ICC will suffer huge loss if Pakistan pulls out. I just want to test this theory. It is high time this myth and bravado gets busted
If those were myths and bravado, Pakistan wouldn’t be playing all its games in Sri Lanka.

You can keep your head in the sand all you want. But the fact that Pakistan was able to make the ICC accept its demand of not traveling to India for any global tournament says enough about the influence it wields.

Indians didn’t see that coming and for many the best coping mechanism is denial - case in point

None of this would've happened had Indian Govt not pandered to its rabid far right base by pressuring BCCI to exclude Mustafizur from IPL under the nonsense pretence of "solidarity" with Bangladeshi Hindus.

I guess the lives of Afghanistan's Hindus (the few that are left after the Taliban's genocide) don't have as much value seeing as though Afghan cricketers are set to welcomed with open arms once again. Where's the solidarity for them ?

India began this circus and now its cyberarmy, with their North Korean-esque devotion to parroting the official script, are pulling Pikachu faces in shock now that a clown show has developed.

The subcontinent shouldn't host a flea market let alone an ICC event in the next 5 years minimum.
anyway IPL is a domestic league and BD banned IPL in BD which was the correct retaliation. Boycotting WC is digging their own grave

Would the sweetest revenge not be to win the tournament that India is co-hosting ?

This threat to pull out doesn't do anything positive for cricket .
this is the best thing.. Pak should win the tournament that India is hosting, same way India won the one they were hosting. This is the right way to answer back. BD should have participated and atleast try to make it to Semis. that would have been a slap. Now it looks childish

You are just shooting yourself in the foot.

No one cares if Bangladesh plays cricket or not, let alone in India.
absolutely true. I don't think there is any neutral fan who wants to watch BD play. IN their entire existence as a cricketing nation all they have achieved is a being a source to several memes. They have no legacy and nothing to root for. Forget winning, i don't think they have ever reached a semifinal in a WC. I don't think anyone cares if they play cricket or not, with or others

ICC WILL IMPOSE A SERIES OF SANCTIONS IF PAKISTAN DECIDES NOT TO PLAY THE T20 WORLD CUP 🚨

- No Bilateral Series with any International team ❌
- No NOC for Foreign players in PSL ❌
- No Asia Cup participation ❌

Ye padke Naqvi surrender kar dega
Love it!!

Bring it on!
Pak live for these days… half our lives are spent in lawsuits and counter claims.

it can only be brought on, if PCB withdraws first. Ball is completely in PCB's court.. go on..
I don’t have high hopes for PCB to withdraw. They would do half hearted something.
If they actually withdraw, majority of Pakistanis would consider this a great step.
Deep down every Pakistani knows, ICC is just off shoot of BCCI and are bullying.
If you don’t draw a line, they will eat you up alive.
They will use same threats that USA uses- financial loss, sanctions and bans etc.

None of this rant has anything to do with this case.

14 out of 16 countries voted against Bangladesh

Ireland and sri lanka refused to have BCB in their group at last moment.

None of this has anything to do with BCCI or Modi or nay double standards. Pak and Bangla fans can lie about this all they want.

His expectations are that indian government will be pakistan friendly

I don’t have high hopes for PCB to withdraw. They would do half hearted something.
If they actually withdraw, majority of Pakistanis would consider this a great step.
Deep down every Pakistani knows, ICC is just off shoot of BCCI and are bullying.
If you don’t draw a line, they will eat you up alive.
They will use same threats that USA uses- financial loss, sanctions and bans etc.

What is pakistans excuse of boycotting srilanka? Its not safe?

Pakistan wouldn't do a boycott because repercussions will be huge. They are already playing in Sri Lanka. If they still boycott, besides revenue losses, PSL recognition might be taken away and no active international cricketer would take a part then. This is dramabazi from Naqvi. Pakistanis are pragmatic unlike Bangladeshis.

What is pakistans excuse of boycotting srilanka? It’s not safe?
It’s not about safety. PCB has given its official statement - on why they don’t want to participate. Either you can take their word for it or come up with whatever cope. The ultimate decision is left to government.

I would b shocked if they withdraw. They would do something symbolic to tell people they did something. The establishment of Pakistan, are good at playing all sides.

Pakistan have no reason to boycott the T20 World Cup as their matches are already scheduled in Sri Lanka. But if they still try to boycott then ICC will make their already miserable situation even worse. In short, it would be the end of Pakistan cricket.

#HaiHimmat? @Usman Chadda @Major @DeadlyVenom @BouncerGuy @KingKhanWC @emranabbas ?

And more importantly, boycotting means betraying the Sri Lanka Cricket Board, which continued with the series even after a recent terrorist attack.The entire Pakistani leadership, including the Pakistani Prime Minister, appealed to Sri Lanka to continue the tour.

Reports indicate growing tension between the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) ahead of the 2026 T20 World Cup, with PCB Chairman and Interior Minister Mohsin Naqvi warning of a possible boycott in solidarity with Bangladesh.

Naqvi has accused the ICC of applying “double standards” by refusing to shift Bangladesh’s matches out of India, despite previously allowing a hybrid model for Pakistan.

Sources suggest the ICC is displeased with Naqvi’s confrontational stance and his alleged pact with the Bangladesh Cricket Board, and is considering unprecedented sanctions if Pakistan withdraws. These could include suspension from bilateral series, exclusion from the Asia Cup, and restrictions preventing foreign players from joining the PSL—moves that would severely damage Pakistan’s cricketing revenues and international presence. Naqvi has stressed that Bangladesh, as a full ICC member, deserves fair treatment, and said Pakistan’s final decision will rest with Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

“Bangladesh decided to boycott the World Cup; now it remains to be seen what the PCB decides. Mohsin Naqvi understands the game and has a good grasp of all aspects. Whatever decision he makes will be the right one. If other countries stand up after Pakistan, the ICC will realise that this is not the Indian Cricket Council but the International Cricket Council.”

- Najam Sethi.​

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) found support from Pakistan in its bid to urge the International Cricket Council (ICC) to move Bangladesh’s T20 World Cup matches out of India over security concerns, and reportedly said it would review its participation if the issue was not resolved. After those efforts went in vain, with the ICC formally ejecting Bangladesh from the World Cup line-up, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Mohsin Naqvi said the final call on Pakistan’s participation would rest with the government.

However, Naqvi’s statements in support of Bangladesh reportedly irked the ICC. According to The Indian Express, the apex body has threatened Pakistan with sanctions, including a possible ban from the Asia Cup.

Sources told the national daily that if Pakistan also pulls out of the World Cup, the ICC could impose a series of sanctions, including the suspension of all bilateral series, denial of No Objection Certificates (NOCs) for foreign players in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), and exclusion from the Asia Cup.

“If Pakistan also decides not to play the T20 World Cup, the ICC will impose sanctions, including no bilateral series with any international team, no NOC for foreign players in the PSL, and no Asia Cup participation,” a source said.

Naqvi had earlier criticised the ICC for “double standards” following what he described as an act of “injustice” against Bangladesh. He added that the Pakistan government would take the final and binding decision on whether the national team participates in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

“Bangladesh has been treated unfairly. One country can make any decision whenever it wants, while it is the opposite for another. Bangladesh is a major stakeholder and such injustice should not happen,” Naqvi told reporters.

The PCB chairman also questioned what he described as selective decision-making by the global body, alleging that one member nation was exerting undue influence.

“One country is dictating terms. When the ICC changed venues for Pakistan and India in their favour, why was it not done for Bangladesh?” Naqvi asked.

“Our policy and position are clear. When the time comes and the government takes a decision, everyone will know. We are not under the ICC; we are answerable to our government. Once the Prime Minister returns, he will decide, and we will follow government directives.”

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...h-sanctions-asia-cup-ban-101769309545335.html
Amazing win for Bcb and Pcb.

Getting threatened yet again by ICC.

“Bangladesh decided to boycott the World Cup; now it remains to be seen what the PCB decides. Mohsin Naqvi understands the game and has a good grasp of all aspects. Whatever decision he makes will be the right one. If other countries stand up after Pakistan, the ICC will realise that this is not the Indian Cricket Council but the International Cricket Council.”

- Najam Sethi.​
"Other countries" voted to kick Pak out

- Najam Sethi.​
He is lying because he knows the low IQ, gullible awam will buy those lies.

Naqvi was there and saw 14 out of 16 countries voting against Bangladesh and standing with BCCI. He knows who the other countries are standing up for. So does Najam

Your solution seems very vague and random. Not specific.

What needs to be done for long term benefit? What should the setup be? How will revenue be generated? How will boards achieve self sufficiency? Some basic questions.
To be honest, devising a revenue strategy model is not within my domain of expertise.

It seems that though that your primary focus here is on generating revenue. While I understand the importance of financial considerations, I must emphasise that money is secondary for me. It's not because I am affluent, but rather because I prioritise principles and standing against injustice. I hope this clarifies my stance.

Naqvi was there and saw 14 out of 16 countries voting against Bangladesh and standing with BCCI. He knows who the other countries are standing up for. So does Najam
As you are a non gullible and high IQ person could you please explain how the 14 members stood with BCCI in this vote, considering how you have previously mentioned BCCI has nothing to do with this and anyone who suggests they have is a liar?

Thanks bro.

I still can't wrap my head around the Indian theory how Mohsin Naqvi has managed to trigger GOI into asking SRK to fire Mustafizur for security reasons so he could betray Bangladesh.
SAAR BOYCOTT SAAR but after a warning from ICC , Naqvi surrender and announced the Pakistan team.

Pakistan and surrender - a better Love story than Twilight.

@Rana this is your level.

As you are a non gullible and high IQ person could you please explain how the 14 members stood with BCCI in this vote, considering how you have previously mentioned BCCI has nothing to do with this and anyone who suggests they have is a liar?

Thanks bro.
Ah pedantry and technicality. Well yes, 14 members included BCCI too

But ok, it was 13 and not 14. Even if BCCI has abstained there would be 13 votes against Bangladesh.

Even if BCCI had abstained ireland and sri lanka refused group chances and matches to be played in Sri lanka.

I still can't wrap my head around the Indian theory how Mohsin Naqvi has managed to trigger GOI into asking SRK to fire Mustafizur for security reasons so he could betray Bangladesh.
Meh, slimy despicable people always take advantage of situations. They don't need to create situation but they can instigate others when a minor situation arises.

Such people always wait for minor situations and try to create trouble

This is too rich coming from supporters of parties whose ministers don't even know the difference between IQ and AQI. Bhai, rehne de. :yk :inti

LOL...Well done ICC. No wonder they announced the squad immidiately. Fake bravado nikal gaya. Feel for Rashid Latif and Sikku Bhai.

:klopp

LOL...Well done ICC. No wonder they announced the squad immidiately. Fake bravado nikal gaya. Feel for Rashid Latif and Sikku Bhai.

:klopp
Oh bas karde!

Pakistan media reported yesterday Pakistan will announce the squad today.

We are not in favour of boycott, but Pakistan will do it if they really want.

Indians thought ICC will throw PCB out for not giving them trophy…what happened?

Oh bas karde!

Pakistan media reported yesterday Pakistan will announce the squad today.

We are not in favour of boycott, but Pakistan will do it if they really want.

Indians thought ICC will throw PCB out for not giving them trophy…what happened?

Brother...even I dont want Pakistan to boycott. But have you seen your ex cricketers smirking in all tv studios? All of them asking to boycott and teach a lesson to ICC

Brother...even I dont want Pakistan to boycott. But have you seen your ex cricketers smirking in all tv studios? All of them asking to boycott and teach a lesson to ICC - Rashid Latif, Ahmed Sehzad, Sikku bhai, Tanvir Ahmed, Dactaar Sahab etc etc.
These analysts are there for viewership and gaining attention, don't waste time 9n them

Well we would have beaten Pak 9 out of 10 times too, so the points were not a problem.

The problem is the broadcast rights and revenue. Bet Amit and Jay are sweating bricks right now, desperate to send the India team to Colombo when the date comes around.

Well we would have beaten Pak 9 out of 10 times too, so the points were not a problem.

The problem is the broadcast rights and revenue. Bet Amit and Jay are sweating bricks right now, desperate to send the India team to Colombo when the date comes around.
I also think Pakistan are well within their rights to boycott the match at the toss if India/BCCI plan on misbehaving or dehumanising Pakistani players

Pakistan can boycott anything but BCCICC will senction Pakistan cricket, PSL and all revenue will be stopped. Akal 2 min m thikane aa jayegi. Fir se surrender karna padega.

:klopp :ko

Jay Shah begging pakistan to play world cup or face sactions i told you all before this do kori ka india will come begging Pakistan to play worldcup.

Why not replace pakistan with Uganda just like they did with Bangladesh

Pakistan should forfeit india vs pakistan game and say government not allowing to play india we are enemies.

Pakistan can boycott anything but BCCICC will senction Pakistan cricket, PSL and all revenue will be stopped. Akal 2 min m thikane aa jayegi. Fir se surrender karna padega.

:klopp :ko

Stop begging pakistan to play with india why not replace them with Uganda just like india did with Bangladesh

#hai dam ?

Bangldesh - we are not traveling to india
India - ok we will replace you

Pakistan - we will not play worldcup
India - we beg you to play with us if you dont we will sanctions please please pakistan we beg you to play with

This is india's aukaat

Bangldesh - we are not traveling to india
India - ok we will replace you

Pakistan - we will not play worldcup
India - we beg you to play with us if you dont we will sanctions please please pakistan we beg you to play with

This is india's aukaat
I don’t understand the threat of removing Pakistan from Asia cup…where did that come from in ICC’s perspective?

What will they name the Asia cup without Pakistan and Bangladesh? The Gaysia cup?

To be honest, devising a revenue strategy model is not within my domain of expertise.

It seems that though that your primary focus here is on generating revenue. While I understand the importance of financial considerations, I must emphasise that money is secondary for me. It's not because I am affluent, but rather because I prioritise principles and standing against injustice. I hope this clarifies my stance.
I completely understand your stance. What I am concerned about is that a whole bunch of innocent participants in the board's ecosystem will be affected. Likely in profound way. Just so some politician(s) can score some points.

My focus is on those people. Things should be done so revenues keep coming in and these people are taken care of.

I don’t understand the threat of removing Pakistan from Asia cup…where did that come from in ICC’s perspective?

What will they name the Asia cup without Pakistan and Bangladesh? The Gaysia cup?

They’re desperate for an India vs Pakistan match that’s where the real money comes from. The whole india is obsessed with that fixture.

Funny how every ICC tournament somehow ends up putting them in the same group.

This is why they are resorting to beg pakistan to play that fixture and threatening pakistan with sanctions if they don’t

That will be name of pakistan - Bangladesh series after Pakistan boycott the World T20. :klopp :kp

Brother...even I dont want Pakistan to boycott. But have you seen your ex cricketers smirking in all tv studios? All of them asking to boycott and teach a lesson to ICC
Ex-cricketers? So you are forming your opinions based on ex-cricketers instead of an official statement from the PCB. Even Indian ex-cricketers and the public were chanting "boycott, boycott" before the Asia Cup. Kyu kya hui, dil ke armaan aansuon mein bah gayi? :yk :inti

Ways the ICC can prevent a team from playing

Suspension of a member board: If the ICC suspends a member (common reasons: governmental interference, breach of the Constitution, governance failures), that board loses ICC voting rights, access to funding, and eligibility to play in ICC events. Suspension can prevent the national side from participating in ICC-sanctioned tournaments.

Expulsion or termination of membership: In extreme cases, membership can be terminated, removing all ICC privileges and the ability to play official international matches recognized by ICC.

Tournament bans and disqualifications: The ICC can bar specific teams from particular ICC competitions for breaches of tournament rules, eligibility violations, or disciplinary findings.

Sanctions against players/officials: Banning key players or administrators under the ICC Anti-Corruption or anti-doping regimes can weaken a team’s ability to field a side, indirectly preventing participation.

Recognition and status control: The ICC determines which matches have official international status (e.g., Test, ODI, T20I). Without recognition, a team can still play friendly or invitational matches, but they won’t be ICC-sanctioned internationals.

lol ICC has no jurisdiction to ban Pakistan from Asia Cup

If you had read the rules you wouldn't be saying this nonsense. :klopp :kp

Sequence of events in this entire saga:

1. BCCI: “KKR, remove Mustafizur.” KKR: “Done”
  2. BCB: gets offended “Fine then, move our matches out of India.”
  3. PCB & Mohsin Naqvi: “Bangladesh tum aage badho, hum tumhare saath hain 🤝
    (background music intensifies)
  4. PCB: “Bro, play your matches in Pakistan, problem solved.”
  5. Nobody listens. PCB: “Okay then… we might pull out of WT20.” 👀
  6. ICC meets all member boards. Result: 14 boards say “We stand with ICC.” PCB: left on read
  7. BCB: “Uri baba saar 🥺, give us 24 hours saar, need to talk to govt saar.”
  8. BCB + some players meet govt. Decision: “Yeah no India trip.”
  9. Rumours: “Scotland might replace Bangladesh. ”BCB: “Saar we have 180 million viewers, please saar.” 📺
  10. BCB: “We will go to dispute committee and CAS.” ⚖️
  11. Next day ICC: “Congrats Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿, here’s your new fixture.”
  12. Mohsin Naqvi: “We will consult govt and decide whether to play or boycott. ICC must prepare for a 22nd team”
  13. ICC: “If Pakistan also pulls out, severe sanctions incoming.”
  14. PCB: “Relax yaar, just joking 😂” Announces team faster than a T20 powerplay.

1769337925927.png

I agree though there is no need for us to boycott. We are already forcing India to go to Sri Lanka for their home game. Maybe there is something we can do - in the India game we can play in a half-half Pakistan/Bangladesh special edition kit?

I completely understand your stance. What I am concerned about is that a whole bunch of innocent participants in the board's ecosystem will be affected. Likely in profound way. Just so some politician(s) can score some points.

My focus is on those people. Things should be done so revenues keep coming in and these people are taken care of.
i totally understand and agree with your perspective. Given the current trajectory of events, it seems inevitable that each country will need to become self-sufficient, standing on their own legs, so to speak. Naturally, this means they will need to implement cost-cutting measures, including potential pay cuts. It's clear that for any sport or business to truly flourish, it must do so organically, rather than relying on a generous influx of donations year after year. This approach will ensure long-term sustainability and success.

I agree though there is no need for us to boycott. We are already forcing India to go to Sri Lanka for their home game. Maybe there is something we can do - in the India game we can play in a half-half Pakistan/Bangladesh special edition kit?
Not only kits, but you can also select Bangladeshi players.. New team name :- East & West Pakistan. :klopp :kp

^ Not a very intelligent post. Sure the BCCI pandered to rightwingers in India .. but that was a domestic decision and none of BCB's business. You are drawing equivalence between a player's participation a private domestic league with national team participation in a multilateral international tournament. The two are poles apart.
A) It's naive to convince yourselves that deliberately discriminating against arguably the most renowned current Bangladeshi cricketer on the basis of their nationality, would not provoke a nationalist Bangladeshi Govt and BCB (not predisposed to India to begin with) into responding.

You know perfectly well if the roles were reversed that BCCI wouldn't draw such distinctions, and would retaliate in any manner it deemed fit !

B) IPL is a private league on paper but not in practice when the Govt is brazenly interfering with recruitment decisions.

C) While India aren't the only nation guilty of weaponising cricket for domestic politics - India isn't entitled to demand the rest of the world that it should bear no consequences for doing so regardless of how much revenue it generates.

What's become apparent since India's rise that the concern for many Indians never was with Anglo-Australian imperialistic dominance of world cricket per se or notions of fairness and equality. The real problem was India themselves weren't doing the dominating.

Now we're seeing the same colonial dynamic except with rotund nepo kids like Jay Shah instead of white Earls and Lords.

Reactions: KB
Its an ICC tournament and ICC security council found no security threat for BD cricketers in India. So there is no ground onto which they can change their venue. BD were free to pull out if they still didnt want to play and that is exactly what they have done.
That process had as much credibility and impartiality as a student marking their own homework.

India Today reported BJP leader Sangeet Som saying on Dec 31st that Mustafizur "would not be able to step foot from the airport" should he be allowed to participate in IPL. There's equally lovely comments from other prominent figures. Normally these statements are the reserve of a minority of cranks - except these are members of the ruling party.

That's a clear security threat if there ever was, so how can an ICC security assessment assert a Bangladeshi touring party wouldn't be targeted in a similar way ?

The answer is they can when the guy responsible for India's security is the ICC Chairman's own papa ji !

In some way I'm glad this episode occurred because it utterly exposes the farcical nature of cricket governance and dispenses with any pretence of ICC neutrality. The other boards, who mostly cannot survive without ICC funds, clap along while the BCB are left with no means of recourse because Board of Directors decisions cannot be appealed !

14 out of 16 countries voted against Bangladesh

Ireland and sri lanka refused to have BCB in their group at last moment.
You may be familiar with the phrase turkeys will not vote for Christmas. Most of the non-Big 3 boards would collapse overnight without ICC funding.

There was never a remote possibility of them doing anything other than clap along with this farce where the ICC approves the security arrangements that conveniently happens to be led by the governing body's own father.

You may be familiar with the phrase turkeys will not vote for Christmas. Most of the non-Big 3 boards would collapse overnight without ICC funding.

There was never a remote possibility of them doing anything other than clap along with this farce where the ICC approves the security arrangements that conveniently happens to be led by the governing body's own father.
No one likes winning and fairness more than Aussies. But they also follow india right?

Aussies alone disprove your claim. So do the English.

It's takes a special mentality to think everyone else is corrupt and going along while you are the only honest and moral one

When reality is one board threw a childish tantrum because a player was excluded from a private leave and other just took opportunity to instigate. And the other boards all called their bluff.

No one likes winning and fairness more than Aussies. But they also follow india right?

Aussies alone disprove your claim. So do the English.

It's takes a special mentality to think everyone else is corrupt and going along while you are the only honest and moral one

When reality is one board threw a childish tantrum because a player was excluded from a private leave and other just took opportunity to instigate. And the other boards all called their bluff.
Who mentioned corruption ? I'm asking do you honestly think, in a hypothetical world where the other cricket boards had no financial imperative to maintain political ties with India, that the vote would've gone 14-2 in favour of BCCI's stance ?

We know the answer from ICC's other votes on cricketing matters that carry no financial repercussions because those votes are typically far closer.

We both rightly condemn far-right extremism in the US. Similarly you should ask why narrow minded bigots like Sangeet Som and Anand Dubey, who threaten cricketers on the basis of their nationality and religion, have a veto over who private entities employ in India ? It's depressing that one of the oldest and most diverse cultures on earth are allowing the most toxic and buffoonish elements to dictate national policy.

Imagine if some Pakistani mullah made similar remarks and a Hindu or Sikh cricketer was removed by a PSL franchise. I'd be unable to log in because the weight of Indian condemnation would've crashed the forum.

Looking at the squad selected, we might aswell boycott. I’m in no mood to watch these boring losers. Little weaklings

Would love Pakistan to boycott anything happening in India and even it's co-host tournament. Just boycott and don't play those tournaments. India has played dirty pathetic politics for far too long.

Let's see how many international tournaments this game can survive without Pakistan vs India game. No matter the result, entire India gets glued to screen to watch the game against Pakistan and their broadcasters and ICC rely on this game heavily.

Any future tournament in Pakistan should only be held in Pakistan, no co-hosting to accommodate India. India can do the same, and Pakistan doesn't have to participate in those tournaments

According to govt sources the Pakistani government will instruct the PCB to participate in the world cup but to forfeit the game vs India. What will the ICC and BCCI reaction be to this step by the PCB?

Nothing of the sort will happen.

On what grounds will we boycott this game?