Pakistan v England | 3rd Test | Karachi | 17-21 December | Pre-game Discussion

So the series is lost.

Now comes the familiar how to save a whitewash discussion.

How do you propose we can avoid this humiliation?

Stop the discussion now. I m fed up of their pathetic cricket with pathetic selection.

As shoaib akhtar says average people can only have average results.

They all are average starting from chairman to the 15th member of squad.

Average players average team. Average coach average selectors.

Everyone is average.

Goodbye Pakistan cricket.you don't deserve hardcore fans.

1. Sack the mullahs
2. Get players with Javed Miandad‘s street fighter mentality. Cricketers with strong wills like Imran, Wasim, Waqar not these mentally soft players of the current squad.
3. Profit

1) Be brave and prepare dry surface similar to Multan
2) drop Ali and put in Hasan Ali for added batting depth and reverse swing option
3) Zahid Mahmood and Agha Salman are weak links. Replace them with huraira and Yasir Shah

Just needs humiliation now at fortress karachi to end a shambolic series.

Hopefully England will not take its foot off the pedal & inflict a whitewash, exactly the humiliation that Babar deserves.

I would like to see Rehan Ahmed come in for Leach.

Concur on this. Leach is not taking wickets or holding the batmen to give his own quicks a rest.

Rehan might at least do the former.

England will come even harder here, not preassure as the series is already in the bag.

Pakistan's only chance is to bowl smartly in Karachi.

If they had rested Shaheen shah from world t20 he might have played here? He is world no.4 ranked bowler now. Next best icc ranked pak bowler is hasan ali or yasir shah i think.

Pakistan starting lineup should be

Imam
Shafiq
Shan
Babar
Saud
Sarfraz
Rizwan
Nawaz
Abrar
Naseem
Ali

Lack of experience already cost us two games

Saqlain on Karachi pitch:

"Karachi wickets will also be favorable for spinners. A spin wicket will be made so that the ball turns more"

Pakistan going over and out now to give away their plans to the opposition

Has to be the worst, dumbest management in PCB history

And you have posters here that say Pakistan’s management doesn’t doctor pitches for their benefit.

Agha Salman goes out for a specialist i.e. Shan Masood. Mohd Ali goes out for a more potent pacer.

I would like to see Rehan Ahmed come in for Leach.

Concur on this. Leach is not taking wickets or holding the batmen to give his own quicks a rest.

Rehan might at least do the former.

This is worth a shout.
Root66 in his role as backup spinner can support Rehan if the batters decide to go after him a bit.

I would also replace Basement with Foakesy.
Bring back the specialist gloveman.

Harry Brook is designed to play against Pakistan. This guy's eyes light up when he sees Pakistan bowlers
Averaging 67@152 SR in T20, 89@101 SR in Tests. Curious to see if he will get to 500 runs in a single series. 143 runs away.

It won't happen but I would like to see both Hurrairah and Mubashir play at Karachi. As the pacers have been innocuous,I would like to Ihsanullah called up and played. Game up for Mohammed Ali, Faheem, Zahid and AA.

I was vouching for mubasir to get into this squad to.

It would have been risky to put a young spinner against these English guys but as the series is over, we have nothing to lose. He has a good action and now needs experience to develop

This selection and Team is a complete joke. The way England playing looks like they do not rate Pakistan at all.

They look like playing a club team. Very disappointing , it is not about loss, its about where they think Pakistan are. This is a reality check.

If you cannot bat on green pitch , are afraid to prepare turning pitch , are outbatted on batting surfaces , where are you supposed to be comfartable ? This is nonesense.

If they had rested Shaheen shah from world t20 he might have played here? He is world no.4 ranked bowler now. Next best icc ranked pak bowler is hasan ali or yasir shah i think.

For that you need to have proper management , who plan ahead which bowler plays where and where is he rested. There is absolutely NO planning anywhere .

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">- In my opinion, Pakistan should include <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SarfarazA_54</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/shani_official?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@shani_official</a> in playing 11. Sarfaraz will bring much experience & Shan will help this team to have more stability. I hope our team will perform well in Karachi inshaAllah. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a></p>— Shoaib Malik &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@realshoaibmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik/status/1602264686250102786?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is worth a shout.
Root66 in his role as backup spinner can support Rehan if the batters decide to go after him a bit.

I would also replace Basement with Foakesy.
Bring back the specialist gloveman.

Leach is bowling a lot of four-balls and letting the pressure off. The lad probably will too, but will also bowl more wicket balls. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 have never trusted a leggie in my lifetime and way back before that - even Titch Freeman in the fifties couldn’t get a game despite taking 300 wickets per County season - but BMac and Stokes think outside that box. Give Rehan a run and see what he does!

Imam ul Haq has had the right approach against Root and has attacked him via using his feat. Everyone else has been very timid and scared of Roots bowling. Pakistani batsmen need to seriously up their counter attacking game.

Harry Brook is designed to play against Pakistan. This guy's eyes light up when he sees Pakistan bowlers
Averaging 67@152 SR in T20, 89@101 SR in Tests. Curious to see if he will get to 500 runs in a single series. 143 runs away.

His first breakthrough at professional level was in PSL. It seems like he has a special affinity & attachment with Pakistan, he has called it his second home. Loves playing here.

Unfortunately he is going to torment his second home for years to come. He is too good for our pathetic bowlers.

This guy is going to light up the PSL in a few months.

There is no way Pakistan will win with the bowling attack they played in Multan - ever. Must get rid of Zahid, Ali and maybe Fahim. If Nasim is still unfit then Pakistan must bring in Wasim and Hasan. Karachi always offers reverse and Hasan and Wasim might be able to utilize it. Ideally, should also go for a specialist bowler over Fahim but its unlikely since they aren't any options in the current squad and don't think they will pick more than one player from outside the squad (if even that). If they persist with the same bowling attack then a whitewash is a certainty.

Naseem Shah out of Karachi Test

Multan, 13 December 2022:

A niggle in the bowling shoulder has ruled out Naseem Shah from the third and final Test between Pakistan and England at Karachi.

The fast bowler will travel to Lahore where he will undergo further assessment at the National High Performance Centre before beginning rehabilitation.

The team management has not requested for his replacement at this stage.

Both Pakistan and England teams travel to Karachi tomorrow afternoon.

Are there any real Pak fans on these threads or just ...'meri bhi suno'...
Pure rona dhona.

It would have been risky to put a young spinner against these English guys but as the series is over, we have nothing to lose. He has a good action and now needs experience to develop

He could easily replace Agha who hasn't done nothing with both bat and ball in this series.even if he didn't replace Agha he could replace zahid and play as the 5th bowler.

Replacing Agha will be not worth it. I think M Wasim for Mohammad Ali is the only change needed.

Agha needs to bat higher up. He isnt going to play to his potential at 8.

Both squads have arrived in Karachi

JP96H0R.png

Replacing Agha will be not worth it. I think M Wasim for Mohammad Ali is the only change needed.

Agree.. Ali should be replaced by Wasim jr. or not sure who will replace Naseem..

They got all experience sitting in the bench... with Sarfraz, Shan and Azhar Ali..

They should have selected Abbas, Mir Hamza , Hassan Ali and Sameen Gul as pace bowlers in this series.

They should sit useless Zahid mehmood and bring in Shan or Azhar ali back
Replace rizwan with Sarfraz.

Imaam
Abdullah
Babar
Saud Shakeel
Sarfraz
Agha
Nawaz
Fahim ashraf
Abrar
Wasim Jnr
Zahid let him get another hammering so he can be dropped from the squad for the next series.

Agree.. Ali should be replaced by Wasim jr. or not sure who will replace Naseem..

They got all experience sitting in the bench... with Sarfraz, Shan and Azhar Ali..

They should have selected Abbas, Mir Hamza , Hassan Ali and Sameen Gul as pace bowlers in this series.

They should sit useless Zahid mehmood and bring in Shan or Azhar ali back
Replace rizwan with Sarfraz.

And they should have selected Kamran Ghulam instead of Agha.

Sky Sports Cricket's Nasser Hussain has urged England to focus on trying to sweep Pakistan 3-0 in Karachi rather than pick a side with next summer's Ashes in mind.

England completed a series victory over Babar Azam's men by winning the second Test in Multan on Monday, a week after triumphing in the series opener in Rawalpindi.

The tourists could potentially hand a debut to 18-year-old leg-spinner Rehan Ahmed in the final fixture - if they did, he would become their youngest men's Test cricketer of all time.

The Karachi Test starts on Saturday - live on Sky Sports from 4.30am - with England looking for a ninth win in 10 matches since Ben Stokes became captain and Brendon McCullum head coach.

Hussain told Sky Sports News: "I don't think England will take a backward step, I don't see Stokes or McCullum saying, 'we are 2-0 up, we will give people a chance'. I hate hearing that. If you play for England, you deserve that cap, not so they can have a look at you.

"You have to remember where England were six months ago with one win in 17 Tests and how they have turned it around. Have that same attitude. Don't think of The Ashes, don't think about New Zealand, who they have next in February.

"A 3-0 win in Pakistan would be the best Christmas present for England fans so win this one game and round off an absolutely brilliant six or seven months for English cricket, including the T20 World Cup win."

"England may want to get Ben Foakes back in as he is an exceptional wicketkeeper - and how is Mark Wood's body? He looked absolutely exhausted, physically and mentally, at the end of the last Test match and you want to look after a racehorse like him. But if he is fit and raring to go, you give him another game.

"Then there is Ahmed. I think England think it is going to spin in Karachi so they may play the extra spinner - but whatever side they pick must be one they think can beat Pakistan, not a side with one eye on the future or 'let's have a look at him'.

"Pick a side that wins 3-0, which would be a magnificent performance on these pitches away from home in alien conditions."

On Stokes and McCullum reviving England's Test fortunes, Hussain added: "It is a remarkable transformation, one of the great transformations not just in cricket but in sport in general.

"From where the England cricket team were when Rob Key took over [as managing director of men's cricket] for it to turnaround has been a fabulous performance. Not just the winning but the style. Stokes and his men have made it very exciting cricket.

"I think we knew what we were going to get with Stokes. He is tough character and at his best when England are in difficult positions.

"But I have been really impressed with the tactical side, the subtle decisions on field placings, when to take the new ball and when not to.

"Holding back Jimmy Anderson, the greatest new-ball bowler England have ever had and not giving him the new ball. Not giving Ollie Robinson the new ball but giving it to the spinners.

"He has not surprised me tactically because anyone who has played the innings he has must know the game, but he has surprised everyone with how many times he gets his tactical decisions right."

Anderson is back in the top two for the first time since February 2019 after moving ahead of India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, with Australia quick Pat Cummins now the only player above him.

Speaking to Sky Sports during the Multan Test, former England fast bowler Steven Finn said of Anderson: "His pace has been maintained and if anything he has got quicker in the last couple of years which is just unfathomable at his age.

"He has such a smooth, repeatable action that if you were telling any kid how you want them to bowl when they are younger, you'd want something like Jimmy.

"He has that competitive bit between his teeth all of the time. He wants that fight, he wants to do all the hard work."

SKY

Naseem out again, no additions to the squad, fringe players are just as garbage as those not performing in starting X1. Mo wasim the clueless clown needs to be sacked after this series.

Series is lost , wcfinal chance gone. Try some changes.
1. Give Rizwan rest play Sarfraz.
2. Play shan masood for either imam if unfit or salman agha. Need to know if he recovered any form and worth retaining and also lefties negates right arm reverse swing plus better player of short pitched bowling.
3. They should have drafted Hasan Ali but they didn't so no choice but to play mo wasim in place of muhammad ali.
4. Play anyone instead of zahid,again missing guys like shadab who are allowed to play bbl over tests.

Pakistan practice at NSK

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/rzt1gq" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

A whitewash is as certain as when we tour Australia. Which is shameful. Babar has destroyed Pakistan cricket. He might actually top Butt as our worst captain.

Imam-ul-Haq speaking in a presser in Karachi

"Test matches in Rawalpindi and Multan were in our hands. Unfortunately, we were unable to execute our plans, which is disappointing"

"Pakistan is not losing because England is playing outstanding Test cricket. We are losing because of our own mistakes."

"There is no opener currently capable to meet the performances of the opening duo of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan in T20."

"We will keep on playing as we do. We lost due to our mistakes, and we admit it. We will try and come up strongly"

"See, only England is playing such sort of cricket in Test format"

"If you look at the Australia tour earlier this year, they also played even with lower run-rate than us. As I said, nobody except England is playing like this. I think credit goes to them but let's see how long they can go like this"

"Under Joe Root's captaincy, England suffered and that's why they are also out of ICC Test Championship. Stokes came in and things changed. Still, they have a lot of cricket coming up in different countries and conditions. Let's see how they play there"

"Including T20 players in Test cricket is a call of chairman and captain"

"We will keep on playing like we do. We lost due to our mistakes and we are admitting it. We will try and come up strongly"

I hope for this test side:

Creepy
Duck It
Pontiff
Harry
Superman
World’s Best Keeper
Robbo
Teenage Leggie
Woody
Duracell Man

"Test matches in Rawalpindi and Multan were in our hands. Unfortunately, we were unable to execute our plans, which is disappointing"

"Pakistan is not losing because England is playing outstanding Test cricket. We are losing because of our own mistakes."

"There is no opener currently capable to meet the performances of the opening duo of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan in T20."

"We will keep on playing as we do. We lost due to our mistakes, and we admit it. We will try and come up strongly"

"If you look at the Australia tour earlier this year, they also played even with lower run-rate than us. As I said, nobody except England is playing like this. I think credit goes to them but let's see how long they can go like this"

"Under Joe Root's captaincy, England suffered and that's why they are also out of ICC Test Championship. Stokes came in and things changed. Still, they have a lot of cricket coming up in different countries and conditions. Let's see how they play there"

"We will keep on playing like we do. We lost due to our mistakes and we are admitting it. We will try and come up strongly"

Imam Ul haq totally shading England in that conference. No need of commenting on the performance of opposite team, especially when you yourself are languishing on your home pitches.

Weird quotes considering that England are 2-0 up and have won the series. Some quite defensive and arrogant comments imo.

I think it will be a spinning pitch, so Teenage Leggie can come in to give one of the seamers a rest and he will bowl in tandem with Specsavers.

Weird quotes considering that England are 2-0 up and have won the series. Some quite defensive and arrogant comments imo.

Agree, when you have lost two home test series's in a row you need to pipe down & let your cricket do the talking. As the legendary David Moyes once said "Promise less, deliver more"

I think it will be a spinning pitch, so Teenage Leggie can come in to give one of the seamers a rest and he will bowl in tandem with Specsavers.

Specsavers is bowling one four-ball per over and leaking runs, meaning the quicks have to be overbowled. I’d rest him. Invisibility Horse looked cream-crackered and Duracell Bunny is 200 years old. Can’t just bowl and bowl them.

Imam is an arrogant individual so his comments arent a shock, sadly this is the delusional mindset of the current team where they think that last few series losses have just been down to a few mistakes, A 3-0 whitewash may see some heads roll including loud mouth Imam.

Sticking me neck out for once, to predict three-nil to the Ingerlund.

how about a consulation 2-1?

It could turn around quickly. Pakistan have been competitive in the first two tests for long periods, but losing crucial hours of play.

Imam is an arrogant individual so his comments arent a shock, sadly this is the delusional mindset of the current team where they think that last few series losses have just been down to a few mistakes, A 3-0 whitewash may see some heads roll including loud mouth Imam.

What struck me is that Pak has lost three home Tests in a row, two home series back to back, and in their last seven Tests home & away they’ve registered just one win. It’s not great at the moment for them.

This isn’t the time for Imam to be questioning the opposition and doubting its sustainable qualities.

With that recent record of results, let the opposition be concerned with itself, and focus on getting one’s own house in order first.

What struck me is that Pak has lost three home Tests in a row, two home series back to back, and in their last seven Tests home & away they’ve registered just one win. It’s not great at the moment for them.

This isn’t the time for Imam to be questioning the opposition and doubting its sustainable qualities.

With that recent record of results, let the opposition be concerned with itself, and focus on getting one’s own house in order first.

Completely agree. Running down Joe Root’s captaincy or questioning the sustainability of bazball (even though that’s a fair matter of discussion for this forum) in a press conference was totally unwarranted. Better focus on their own pathetic results.

This guy is being ultra defensive

looks like Pakistan havent learnt a lesson, or a home series loss is not a thing to bother sickening mentality, this is criminal approach, hopefully a whitewash awaits us

It's going to be great when Babar finally wins the toss in this useless match only to lose the next two vs NZ and lose that home series too.

What's he at now, 8 out of last 9 tosses have been lost? Against England this year, I am pretty sure he has only won 2 tosses out of 10. He has also only won 1 toss out of 7 Test matches this year (the drawn match in Pindi vs Aussies).

Problem Is the pakistan camp don't see any issue with performances, when the coach is hugging players for scoring 40s in a failed run chase. The captain is making same excuses and doing nothing about it.

A lot of the defeats recently have been self inflicted on basis of poor team selections, captain being clueless, negative mindser etc... but like you say Pakistan players, coach, chairmen need to shut the hell up on making statements and start learning from mistakes.

Worse thing for long term Pakistan cricket would be a win here as we would get the rubbish it was a close series and could have been different and no changes for NZ will be made. Just like England losing in WI was the straw that broke the camals back. A 3-0 Series defeat might cause a few heads to roll. I am not holding my breathe.

To lose 2 home series in such a manner is shameful. Winning 1 test in last 7 in Asian conditions is minnow like output.

Babar Azam in his presser:

"Imam has an issue with his hamstring and I think he won't play tomorrow's match"

PCB have confirmed also:

"He is a doubtful starter because he has a niggle in hamstring that he had in Multan test on the day of Pak second innings"

Pictures of practice from today

FkFuJZJXwAEApK4.jpgFkFuJZPXEAk4fBR.jpgFkFrt-uWQAE5oEN.jpgFkFuJZHXwAA0OTN.jpgFkFrt-uXoAEmy5W.jpgFkFuJZJXkAAjVVV.jpgFkFrt-uWQAAgGVQ.jpgFkFrt-2WAAAP7Ll.jpg

Babar Azam's captaincy also came under the scanner and during a pre-match press conference, the skipper was asked whether the leadership role has had an impact on his performance.

However, Babar wasn't too pleased with the question and threw a counter-question towards the reporter: “Aapko lagta hai meri performance pe farak pad raha hai? (Do you think it is impacting my performance?),” Babar asked.

When the reporter clarified that she meant it in terms of team's overall performance, Babar explained that the side has faced a number of injuries throughout the series that has had a negative impact.

“Hamne jitne Test match khele hain, hamne dominate kiya hai. Ham struggle kar rahe hain kyunki injuries kafi ho gayi hai, hamaara combination disturb hua hai jiski vajah se results nahi aa rahe. (We have dominated in both Tests. We struggled because our players got injured and it disturbed our combination. That's why we didn't get the desired results)," Babar said.

“Dono matches hamaare haath me the, ham finish nahi kar paaye. As a team, hamein kaam karna hai situation pe aur pressure me hamein cheezo ko kaise apni taraf laana hai. Aisa nahi hai ki kisi ek bande se team haar rahi hai, meri vajah se kuch aisa ho raha hai. Koshish ye hi hoti hai ki best XI khilaayi jaaye aur unse kaam liya jaaye. Players support kar rahe hain. (Both games were in our hands but we couldn't finish. As a team, we have to work on playing under pressure. It isn't as if we are losing because of one player. We always try to play our best XI and make the best use of it)

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...eporter-s-question-in-pc-101671179096275.html

Babar Azam's captaincy also came under the scanner and during a pre-match press conference, the skipper was asked whether the leadership role has had an impact on his performance.

However, Babar wasn't too pleased with the question and threw a counter-question towards the reporter: “Aapko lagta hai meri performance pe farak pad raha hai? (Do you think it is impacting my performance?),” Babar asked.

When the reporter clarified that she meant it in terms of team's overall performance, Babar explained that the side has faced a number of injuries throughout the series that has had a negative impact.

“Hamne jitne Test match khele hain, hamne dominate kiya hai. Ham struggle kar rahe hain kyunki injuries kafi ho gayi hai, hamaara combination disturb hua hai jiski vajah se results nahi aa rahe. (We have dominated in both Tests. We struggled because our players got injured and it disturbed our combination. That's why we didn't get the desired results)," Babar said.

“Dono matches hamaare haath me the, ham finish nahi kar paaye. As a team, hamein kaam karna hai situation pe aur pressure me hamein cheezo ko kaise apni taraf laana hai. Aisa nahi hai ki kisi ek bande se team haar rahi hai, meri vajah se kuch aisa ho raha hai. Koshish ye hi hoti hai ki best XI khilaayi jaaye aur unse kaam liya jaaye. Players support kar rahe hain. (Both games were in our hands but we couldn't finish. As a team, we have to work on playing under pressure. It isn't as if we are losing because of one player. We always try to play our best XI and make the best use of it)

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...eporter-s-question-in-pc-101671179096275.html

Babar blaming injuries for losing lol. Most of the England team are ill, yet still did enough to win both tests

That is true both matches we should have won but that is only because England have been taking the Micky. One thing I would say in Babar's favour is that he needs to win the toss and bat first for once.

Babar Azam in his presser:

"Imam has an issue with his hamstring and I think he won't play tomorrow's match"

PCB have confirmed also:

"He is a doubtful starter because he has a niggle in hamstring that he had in Multan test on the day of Pak second innings"

Great.

Time for the 33 year old loser who averages 29 after 25 Tests & averaged 2.50 in his last series.

Babar blaming injuries for losing lol. Most of the England team are ill, yet still did enough to win both tests

Babar saying that Pakistan has dominated the two Tests and only didn’t win because of injuries is a shocking statement.

I dont see much credit for the England win coming out of the Pakistan camp at the moment.

Great.

Time for the 33 year old loser who averages 29 after 25 Tests & averaged 2.50 in his last series.

Imam isn't any world beater either. He scores only when it does not matter. He is a big choker as we saw in the last game. His stats are boosted by playing on pindi highway. He is yet to do anything of note in test cricket.

Really excited to see this England team.

Debut for Rehan and a return for Foakes.

A batting lineup that extends all the way down to arguably 9 or 10, and lots of bowling options.

Alarm is set.

Really excited to see this England team.

Debut for Rehan and a return for Foakes.

A batting lineup that extends all the way down to arguably 9 or 10, and lots of bowling options.

Alarm is set.

Me too! England plays very good test cricket. Between England vs. Pakistan and India vs. Bangladesh, I would watch the former. Let us hope the 3rd test is a closely contested match.