England vs India | 4th Test | Manchester | July 23-27 | Pre-Match Discussion

India have never won/drawn a series after being 2-1 down

Only thrice has a team won a five-match Test series being 2-1 or 1-0 down after the third match of the series:

◾ ENG vs SA in ENG after being 0-1 down (1998)
◾ WI vs AUS in AUS after being 0-1 down (1992/93)
◾ AUS vs ENG in AUS after being 1-2 down (1936/37)

The best opportunity to play Kuldeep has already passed. This was at Headingley and Lord’s where the pitches had been baked dry. India might be 3-0 up if they’d selected him in their XI.

Weather has turned now, OT will be full of moisture and if there’s anything in this next pitch for the bowlers, it will be seam movement.

The best opportunity to play Kuldeep has already passed. This was at Headingley and Lord’s where the pitches had been baked dry. India might be 3-0 up if they’d selected him in their XI.

Weather has turned now, OT will be full of moisture and if there’s anything in this next pitch for the bowlers, it will be seam movement.
Oval is always helpful for spinners:kp

Woah if true, then he has stood for his country for the first time
Nha he always stands for his country. No doubting that.

He will have to be treated like archer though. Both injury prone bowlers.

So it is what it is. He has had 2 back surgeries already. My issue is with our team making it a big ordeal just to find out about his availability.

Just don’t make it a soap opera

Ok he isn’t playing? Move on. Say workload management. Finished. Stop wasting time. Get a backup replacement ready as always.

He is a great bowler but we should never be dependent on one player. So always move on.

Nha he always stands for his country. No doubting that.

He will have to be treated like archer though. Both injury prone bowlers.

So it is what it is. He has had 2 back surgeries already. My issue is with our team making it a big ordeal just to find out about his availability.

Just don’t make it a soap opera

Ok he isn’t playing? Move on. Say workload management. Finished. Stop wasting time. Get a backup replacement ready as always.

He is a great bowler but we should never be dependent on one player. So always move on.
When it comes to cricket, you are a more open-minded fan than majority of indians here. Appreciate

I am more than happy to see Harshit bowl with siraj and khmabhoj. We have a couple more in domestics but Kuldeep Sen and himanshu
Also Simarjeet

All are quick and bouncy but it seems like we don’t have spots available this time. Would like to see Sen and himanshu get a chance in the future.

We talk about bumrah’s workload management but what about siraj??

He has bowled way too many overs. He has been over worked.
He needs rest too. Not sure why we aren’t rotating him as well.

It sucks that both akashdeep and arshdeep got injured. Would have been a good match had those 2 been fit. We can also confuse England with their names lel.

Khmabhoj may do well as he is pretty good with seam presentation. Khmabhoj siraj and bumrah is still a pretty good attack but not our best version. Let’s see what happens.

Nitish got injured in training. But somehow for ipl everyone is fit though huh?

@Vikram1989 i know it’s not ideal but khaleel did pretty well in the A tour game

Guess call him up with khmabhoj and siraj/bumrah?

He isn’t the best but he doesn’t break down and can bowl long spells.

We just need fully fit players. Siraj has bowled a fair ton of overs.

Surprised Woakes is getting another run out unless we see more traditional English style conditions in Manchester.

The pitches admittedly have been flat in this series and Woakes isn't the only seamer to have struggled (he averages 56 so far with the ball). However he's unlikely to go to Australia given his dismal record with the Kookaburra and he's 36 years old. England need to groom a replacement soon.

Dawson for Bashir only change ! Where is the tail ?
Dawson at 8 , Woakes at 9 , Carse at 10 & Jofra can slog some too !!!
How many overs do we get on 1st two days folks ?

Liam Dawson is such a valuable addition. He has 18 first class hundreds.

Unfortunately he hasn't played much for England and he is already 35 years old.

He should be given proper chance this time around.He can serve England well for 2-3 years.

Surprised Woakes is getting another run out unless we see more traditional English style conditions in Manchester.

The pitches admittedly have been flat in this series and Woakes isn't the only seamer to have struggled (he averages 56 so far with the ball). However he's unlikely to go to Australia given his dismal record with the Kookaburra and he's 36 years old. England need to groom a replacement soon.
Woakes is a batsman as well. Remember. They always prefer batting depth which allows their bazball to thrive.

Weather forecast is not great so Pacer will get enough help on a spicy pitch and we are just playing with 3 Pacers .:kp

Dawson for Bashir only change ! Where is the tail ?
Dawson at 8 , Woakes at 9 , Carse at 10 & Jofra can slog some too !!!
How many overs do we get on 1st two days folks ?
current forecast suggests we might get 325 overs in the game . Unless the pitch is a major departure from what we have had in this series , we might be in for a draw !!!

Watch now India finally wins the toss, decides to bat and gets bundled out for a 100 under cloud cover 😆

Not going to happen unless we have 6 mm of live green grass !
Surprised they are persisting with Woakes & Tongue & Atkinson have not been considered .

Bumrah bhai saab ka run up 10 feet tak nahi hai but paaji nu sirf rest dilvaooo.
Give him his match fees only instead of contract he will start playing test against Zimbabwe as well after that.

Lol why does this ugly action bumrah guy gets so much footage.
He has no real impact on the game.
Actually he loses more when he plays for his team
His record is like this
Mts- 47
Won- 20
Lost-23
Draw- 4
He loses them more matches than he has won for his team
India might win if he doesn't play.

England should have considered dropping zak crawley who is the worst test player in the world,along with ollie pope he is pretty garbage and Chris woakes who is done at this level now.
These three players bring england's level down which is still very high than this mediocre india.

England should have considered dropping zak crawley who is the worst test player in the world,along with ollie pope he is pretty garbage and Chris woakes who is done at this level now.
These three players bring england's level down which is still very high than this mediocre india.
Absolutely right.

Crawley is rubbish
Pope is weak
Woakes is done

Liam Dawson is back in England's Test side for the first time since July 2017.

It will also be his fourth game in the format

Atkinson isn’t fit enough for a full game yet, ECB and Surrey have confirmed it. I can envisage him replacing Old Chris at the Oval which is of course his home ground.

Just a shame how poor this England team is that a joke side like India with plumbers like Parsidh and Karun Navyar are matching England at home blow for blow. Shameful indictment of how low this side has fallen with their so-called Bazball.