Pakistan vs New Zealand | 1st ODI | Abu Dhabi | 3/11/09 | Pak Innings

Please dont tell me we'll see the batting PP in the last 5 overs.....again! :(

Ayyub said:
younis khan is ok T-20 player , below averge ODI player and excellent Test player :yk

What?

How can Younus be a 'below average' ODI player and an 'okay' Twenty20 player if ODIs are a longer format of the game?

Personally I believe Younus is below average in T20, very ordinary in ODI, and great in Tests.

Should only be in the Test team.

So for zaid65, I guess this is the highest record score by a 'tailender'.. 70?

who is this zaid chap who everyone keeps talking about and what did he do/say?
He is someone who can't stand the Afridi fan boys, the ones who keep singing his Bhajans 24/7.

Disco_Lemonade said:
if you think you have seen the best afridi fans, just wait fer razzaq!

Shabash, woh abhi aya hi nahi aur tumh use nazr laga rahey hou.

250 is defendable - as shown by Australia. Question is, can we get the 70 runs?

who is this zaid chap who everyone keeps talking about and what did he do/say?

Whenever you see an anti-Afridi post, dont bother reading the name of the poster. It has to be Zaid65

Latif needs to motor on - he is the set batsman.

Pakistan still has not learned how to take the powerplay. This was their problem in the Champions trophy as well.

Why does it always have to be forced on Pakistan? Powerplay should be taken in the last 12 overs when you have two set batsman.

Bublu Bhuyan said:
He is someone can't stand the Afridi fan boys who keep singing his Bhajans 24/7.

Oh I see.

Well personally I can't stand it either. It's not Afridi...more his 'fans' for whom he can do no wrong. The problem for me is that his 'fans' don't apply the same standards to other players. If Afridi fails, 'thats how he is'....is Malik fails 'he should be dropped'. Afridi played very well today and it was great to watch and made me very happy, but he has let the team down more often than not. I hope he learns from this innings.

Well said. Afridi played very well. Now we will see Afridi basher criticizing his shot. Remember in cricket things happen. He played very well, and gave Pak side direction. We may score aroud 250. Should be a winning total.

slix10 said:
So is this still a 280+ pitch?

Just tuned in.

Pitch is flattish
250-280

Take the batting powerplay and hit some shots now Latif

Back to tukk tukk cricket after Afridis exit

Kamran unfortunately will have to pick up the pace now, we need Latif as the anchor till the end.

Wazeeri said:
Pakistan still has not learned how to take the powerplay. This was their problem in the Champions trophy as well.

Why does it always have to be forced on Pakistan? Powerplay should be taken in the last 12 overs when you have two set batsman.

In Paks view, Powerplay is something that happens anyways - no need worrying about it!

250 will be a good score... but Latif is now taking up too many balls now.. it was ok upfront and it was ok to get fridi a single .. but now his gone its up to him to carry on which he really aint doing !

Latif gone

could be a blessing in disguise

But wickets are running out now

Latif bowled!

Strange shot, trying to cut that?!

Anyway well played still 184-6

Finally the rubbish player Latif goes. Don't come here and defend him. He is rubbish.

Somebody does need to tell these two that there are only 54 balls left.

need to bat sensibly here...or we will have another collapse like the semi final

Paradox said:
What?

How can Younus be a 'below average' ODI player and an 'okay' Twenty20 player if ODIs are a longer format of the game?

Personally I believe Younus is below average in T20, very ordinary in ODI, and great in Tests.

Should only be in the Test team.

ok u r right dude :yk

he is michael vaughan of pak :D

Only good thing about that is it was not Akmal.. Afridi went 3 odd overs ago and not once did Latif show he will change.. he was doing what Ajmal can do at number 11 and that is get single and somthing we didnt need now!

mashallah we are doing good. K akmal and Abdul razzaq need to stay in. powerplay yet to be taken. vettori in his last over and bond with 2 left.

time for me to pray my zuhr

Well personally I can't stand it either. It's not Afridi...more his 'fans' for whom he can do no wrong. The problem for me is that his 'fans' don't apply the same standards to other players. If Afridi fails, 'thats how he is'....is Malik fails 'he should be dropped'. Afridi played very well today and it was great to watch and made me very happy, but he has let the team down more often than not. I hope he learns from this innings.
I don't approve of blindly supporting anybody. And I hate emotional attachments. I love rational adult-like behaviour.

Consequently, I have done all the cold and ruthless analyses and the objective result of it all is: Afridi can do nothing wrong.

Nice shot from Akmal. Good spell from Vettori. We can attack the others now.

Is this the earliest Pakistan have ever taken the powerplay?

And another 4 through covers. Kami showing shades of the Windies Massacre in Abu DHabi

For all of Afridi's fantastic hitting, that 6 over cover by Kami is probably the shot of the game.

Or maybe the proceeding 4 through cover?

Oh I see.

Finally somebody is talking with common sense and putting Afridi fans on their place.

"Sometimes you just sit back and say thats a beauty"

Gotta love it Haysi and razzak

Bond is the type of bowler Razzak likes to hit, so watch out