Pakistan vs South Africa | 2007 Series | 1st Test | Karachi | 01/10/07 | Day 4

Sadly, there are three facts against Pakistan :

1) We play spin very badly. Harris is an average county standard spinner. We cannot play him. We have not played spin well for many years. The last great player of spin was Salim Malik (in my opinion). Expect us to struggle against Harris big time.

2) We have a poor batting team even if Inzi and Yousaf were included (Inzi is finished). The two world class batsmen we have are YK and Yousaf. YK is very inconcsistent at the moment. The other batters (including Malik) are simply not up to test standards.

3) Playing under pressure will make the task doubly difficult and we havn't consistently played well under pressure.

I will be very surprised if we get a draw. I am not saying Pakistan have NO chance. Of course they do (of getting a draw). It is VERY unlikely however.

Boundary View said:

1) We play spin very badly. Harris is an average county standard spinner. We cannot play him. We have not played spin well for many years. The last great player of spin was Salim Malik (in my opinion). Expect us to struggle against Harris big time.

2) We have a poor batting team even if Inzi and Yousaf were included (Inzi is finished). The two world class batsmen we have are YK and Yousaf. YK is very inconcsistent at the moment. The other batters (including Malik) are simply not up to test standards.

3) Playing under pressure will make the task doubly difficult and we havn't consistently played well under pressure.

I will be very surprised if we get a draw. I am not saying Pakistan have NO chance. Of course they do (of getting a draw). It is VERY unlikely however.
i concur! :16:

Kallizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

"The Pakistan players all run towards Kallis to either shake his hand or to pat him on the back, great sportsmanship shown by the hosts"

Let's hope we are not too generous with our wickets in the 2nd innings.

Pathan007 said:
my wooooooooord! win???????? :))) :))) itni jaldi roza lag giya :16:

He meant

A win for South Africa

A Defeat for Pakistan

Or a draw

NeVerMind said:
"The Pakistan players all run towards Kallis to either shake his hand or to pat him on the back, great sportsmanship shown by the hosts"

Let's hope we are not too generous with our wickets in the 2nd innings.

we play cricket in the right spirit unlike our neighbours

Guys - just came in - whats the match situation....scores etc ?

Kallis gets his second hundred. SA declare on 264 for 7, a lead of 423 runs and tea is taken.

Ok first goal - go to stumps today without losing a wicket and about 50 on the board.

Boundary View said:

excellent points mate..

Just slow down. Open with Malik. He will do a "against-Murali".

4 sessions is not hard to bat out with Butt, Misbah, Faisal, Younis, and Malik.

hahaha come on younis bhai, allah da naam lay kay (Butt is saying to younis)

Honestly, will we ever see a decent opening pair for Pakistan in our lifetime?

Salman to Younis: "Shabaash Yuni Bhai, Allah da naa le ke".

Score ? Is Hafeez gone ?

ap ka jawab darust hay

"Sohrab cycle bananay walay ki janab say yeh pedal ap ka howa. ap is main kasi bhi waqat cycle dalwa saktay hain" :))) :)))

I said to open with Kaneria and Asif... would do better than Hafeez!

YK tried his best to follow Hafeez but only succeeded in getting a 4

419 to get

Younis and Butt need to last the rest of the day

30 overs left

419 to get

if we score 194, i would be more then happy :boom:

419 to get

You are counting the wrong thing. It's the overs you need to count down. 30 to go after this. Let's hope Butt brought his 2020 form into this test match.

YK is playing 20/20

and i guess thats the right thing to do man everyone is behind the wicket

ok meri 6th sense keh rahi hay kay younis is going to get out soon.. ap kaya kehtay hain :D

Styne opens his mouth and YK heads down smiles walks down the track

407 to get

tauseefm said:
ok meri 6th sense keh rahi hay kay younis is going to get out soon.. ap kaya kehtay hain :D

Nahi he is going to be the highest scorer ever in the 4th innings :D

hafeez needs to be thrown in wilderness from where he never ever makes a comeback in any sort of a game. a total disgrace!

Nahi he is going to be the highest scorer ever in the 4th innings :D

do you mean 20? :)))
btw negative thinking works sometimes.... if we lose then it won't hurt that much but if we save the match.. i would more then happy being a lota :D :)))

Pathan007 said:
hafeez needs to be thrown in wilderness from where he never ever makes a comeback in any sort of a game. a total disgrace!

do you mean Islamabad? :)))

cant believe such overated players like kallis can get a century in both innings. pfft

aussie-pak said:
cant believe such overated players like kallis can get a century in both innings. pfft
Like you said - you judge players based on watching them once - and hence no very little about anything cricket related!

Pakistan in a hurry - typical pre Iftaari behaviour....

these pakiz umpire are hell bent on white supremacy. the replays were inconclusive. how could he give that out?

And the Saffies are extracting some bounce LoLz,Beimani hui hai hamrey saath

Another walking wicket

according to Waqar,faisal Iqbal has got the potential equal o Kallis, Excuse Me?

Ba Adab Ba Mulahiza Hoshar. Nigahey Robaroo...Sahansa-e-Safarish Tashreef Latay Hain(F Iqbal) :120: