Pakistan vs South Africa | 2007 Series | 1st Test | Karachi | 01/10/07 | Day 4

Very well played by younis khan..
if we play without any fear we can be a good team.

This is the sort off situation (esp at home) where YK/MoYo/Inzi have seen us through.

I think Misbah will have huge bearing on the outcome of this one.

Pakistan playing positively, this is good batting. But I still think we will fall short in the end.

filosofee said:
Is Zaheer that bad a commentator? Sorry, not near a TV or radio at this point and having a 'quick' skive.

Chaps, one question - do any of you remember why, exactly, umpire John Holder reported the English cricket team during a match in 1991, I believe, the 5th and last Test at the Oval, against the WIs?

The reason why I ask is that I'm contending that there's some double standards in the way the (black) umpire John Holder was treated, removed from officiating in Test cricket for nine years after lodging his complaint/report and the way umpire Hair is being glorified as some hero.

Any light on this will be illuminating, thanks! :)

hmmm

I wasn't aware of that filo

Will try and look it up.

AWAN IN A MILLION said:
In his selfish mind, he has done his job....he will be out very soon now (I pray he continues).

Conveniently forgetting all his TEAM work in the last 2 years? Some ludricous statements being made by some posters today.

This is the sort off situation (esp at home) where YK/MoYo/Inzi have seen us through.

I think Misbah will have huge bearing on the outcome of this one.
They're not playing, so let's forget about them for now bhai.

I would be very happy if we can bat out for a draw from this position. Then next match I hope there are some significant changes in the team - Inzi, Moyo, Taufeeq, Hameed in.

But you never know if we can get through the end of the day without losing a wicket, the runs needed should be down to like 270 at this rate.

14 overs left today

If we get to close without losing another wicket...we will still be in with a shout.

But no more wickets today.

Conveniently forgetting all his TEAM work in the last 2 years? Some ludricous statements being made by some posters today.
I'm not judging him during the past two years. I want him to succeed today.....

AWAN IN A MILLION said:
They're not playing, so let's forget about them for now bhai.
I didnt say they were playing - do we have to 'dumb-down' our posts to make them easier to understand for some of you?

Blistering Barnacle said:
I would be very happy if we can bat out for a draw from this position. Then next match I hope there are some significant changes in the team - Inzi, Moyo, Taufeeq, Hameed in.

There is no way this will be a draw

95% SA win
5% Pak win
0% draw

There are not enough runs required for it to be a draw. Too many overs left.

Oh right, so it was just a generalisation about Punjabis! That's ok then!

As for you...to be honest I had not even heard of you before today so never thought about how old you might be. Never mind.

This little exchange is creasing me up and keeping me from work! :))

Where do us Balochans fit in, with Pak generalisations? Just asking so I know my place!!!!! :)))

Younis Kahn is playing like an Aussie Opener... Going for it... putting the saffers on the backfoot.

If he can make a double hundred.... oh wait a second... let me wake up

Well played YK,he didnt tried to invent anything in the last over and thats good to see

There is no way this will be a draw

95% SA win
5% Pak win
0% draw

There are not enough runs required for it to be a draw. Too many overs left.

Well, based on the overs remaining I think our run rate required to win would be about 3.25.

A draw is possible, but I agree that the odds are heavily in SA's favour.

I think we're all getting a little excited here, its still a huge chase and the odds are way against us.

filosofee said:

Where do us Balochans fit in, with Pak generalisations? Just asking so I know my place!!!!! :)))

Ahhhh....do your work filo! It's more important! :D

I love Balochis by the way! One of my Dad's best childhood friends was a Balochi....sadly no longer with us but in true desi fashion he stayed at our house for like 3 years when I was a kid. Was a great man, with a great sense of humour!

Anyway, Pak 90 for 2.

334 required.

Now YK is trying to invent against Harris might not be a good idea

Well, based on the overs remaining I think our run rate required to win would be about 3.25.

A draw is possible, but I agree that the odds are heavily in SA's favour.

I can't see us batting out 100+ overs from here and going at less than 3.25 per over.

filosofee said:

I note he gets away with calling you 'filo' :D

Oooooooooooopps my heart almost came in my mouth,use the God damn bat man

I didnt say they were playing - do we have to 'dumb-down' our posts to make them easier to understand for some of you?
OK moderator saab....what was your point about them then? Oh, and don't ban someone just because they don't agree with your opinion....Like you have done on many occasions. Mr meglamaniac! I am trying not to swear you effin pr1*k! ....Do not imply that I'm stupid.

I think younis should let faisal play Harris, he is handling him better

AWAN IN A MILLION said:
Sorry bhai, but I can't help thinking that you are one angry person. Are you fasting?

I don't read anger in what Hash is posting, more irony. Whereas the other poster is clearly upset. Let's not use the term in this thread, just to be on the inoffensive fence.

Well Faisal Iqbal is still there - every ball is a bonus, and who knows, he could do a Abd Razzaq, and score a 'career-saving' knock tomorrow!

If we can go into the final day needing about 270 off 90+ overs with 8 wickets in hand - anythings possible!!

14 overs left today

If we get to close without losing another wicket...we will still be in with a shout.

But no more wickets today.

If we don't lose any more wickets by the end of tomorrow then we should definately be in with a shout.

I can't see us batting out 100+ overs from here and going at less than 3.25 per over.

I don't recall the exact requirements now, but last time SA played a test in Pakistan, we managed to bat for a draw when it looked like we were going to lose.

Players like Malik can shut up shop and go along at 1 run per over.

I note he gets away with calling you 'filo' :D

:)) not to be pronounced PHILLO

but feelo, to make it a bit more feminine!

xbox said:
I think younis should let faisal play Harris, he is handling him better

Thats what i want,
Yk to face fast bowlers and Bhanga sahib to face Harris

Well Faisal Iqbal is still there - every ball is a bonus, and who knows, he could do a Abd Razzaq, and score a 'career-saving' knock tomorrow!

If we can go into the final day needing about 270 off 90+ overs with 8 wickets in hand - anythings possible!!

12 overs to go now.

Say, we go at 3 per over......another 36 runs.

That leaves 298 to win on the last day. If we don't lose any more wickets today that is by no means impossible.

Younis is going to have to get a very big one.

Every ball Faisal survives is a bonus so not expecting or hoping for anything from him.

AWAN IN A MILLION said:
OK moderator saab....what was your point about them then? ! I am trying not to swear you effin pr1*k! ....Do not imply that I'm stupid.
Is that all it takes for you to resort to that level?

filosofee said:
I don't read anger in what Hash is posting, more irony. Whereas the other poster is clearly upset. Let's not use the term in this thread, just to be on the inoffensive fence.

Not agreeing with some one dont mean that they are upset with them, and where did you feel that i was being angry..........Which i am still not or to prove my point i have to use some of these........ :))) ;-) :)) :D

I think we should give credit where its due. I think Faisal is handling Harris pretty good. Very good technique to play spin

Pakistani batsmen have a habit of losing concentration and throwing their wickets before a break. Still a long way to go before close.

khalidali7070 said:
Not agreeing with some one dont mean that they are upset with them, and where did you feel that i was being angry..........Which i am still not or to prove my point i have to use some of these........ :))) ;-) :)) :D

AWAN IN A MILLION said:
OK moderator saab....what was your point about them then? I am trying not to swear you effin pr1*k! ....Do not imply that I'm stupid.

^Theres the angry one...

I'm enjoying watching Younis shove his haters words back down their throats!

...how about Faisal haters?? :21:

This is not what I undertsand, A player is playing well and instead of commending him, people still have negative things to say about them. Idiots! How is he slefish? Because when he gtes a score he goes to make a real big one? Hell, if that's the criteria, then I wish all our players were selfish too!

W63L35 said:

Hey, I still stand by that if Faisal makes a double hundred today, i will be the first one to give him a hug!

W63L35 said:

well the Faisal haters includes me

and yes I am enjoying his innings too!

Though when I posted that it was still a bit early.

100 for 2.

NeVerMind said:
Hey, I still stand by that if Faisal makes a double hundred today, i will be the first one to give him a hug!

Forget hug, I'll give him a kiss

If Faisals posts a hundred, should he play in the next test ahead of Moyo and possibly Inzi?

What ifs.

In the meantime, let's hope he keeps going.

....just like that Indian...who kissed Ricky?
I'd pay to watch you do that!!! :)

If Faisals posts a hundred, should he play in the next test ahead of Moyo and possibly Inzi?

What ifs.

In the meantime, let's hope he keeps going.

He's already made 34 more runs that I had expected, anything else now is a bonus, lets not think too far ahead shall we

Fasial nearly out - played a weird shot between the 2 slips! Goes for 4!

Luton Bad Boy said:
He's already made 34 more runs that I had expected, anything else now is a bonus, lets not think too far ahead shall we

Well Faisal has a rep in the 2nd innings and against spin. Let's hope he lives up to that.

People, get a room!

and as for if Faisal makes a hundred today, should he play instead of Inzy/MoYo. I think he should def play but not in place of Moyo. I think we can drop Hafeez and have a makeshift opener.

I don't know about you folks but, my nerves are starting to hit me because I don't want to lose another wicket before the close of play. Gotta Love Tests.

oh please Younis

PLEASE don't do that

Not with 8 overs to go.

Defensive smith could have had Faisal there had he not been protecting the boundries and had a second slip in place! Thats where Australia have been so successful, you rarely see any bowler bowling with just 1 slip.

Well Faisal has a rep in the 2nd innings and against spin. Let's hope he lives up to that.

Key is to NOT get lose any wicket today.......!!!

Usually closes to the end of the day, players change their batting style (too defensive), they get out!

This game can be drawn if the run-rate slows... and this will happen if wickets fall.... So all options still open at this point.... though most stacked in SA favour

Biggyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

100 Partnership

303 to win