Pakistan vs West Indies | 2nd Match, World Cup | Nottingham | May 31, 2019 | Pre-Match Discussion

Arsalan Pro

Right then, all official and unofficial matches before World Cup on this tour of England have come to an end.

Although we have not won anything, we have learnt a lot and have come close to selecting our best XI, only time will tell that can we turn around our fortunes on May 31, when it matters the most.

This ground is known for big scoring with short boundaries and will suit WI power hitters, hence we will need our bowling to be at their best if we are to win at Nottingham.

In my opinion, we should with 3 spin options as WI have struggled against them over the years and use 6 proper bowling options, strengthening our bowling. Extra batsman won't help.

It looks like they won't play Haris Sohail, as Asif Ali is a must on this short ground. Wahab Riaz after his reverse swinging death over spell is sure to start ahead of out of from Shaheen.
Let's see if they drop Shoaib Malik.

Likely XI:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Asif Ali
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Wahab Riaz

What would be your XI?

We've lost 11 matches in a row. We couldn't have headed into a WC GAME with any better form.

Regardless of our form the team is pretty much settled. All the players know their role.

I would go with this:

Fakhar Zaman
Imam ul Haq
Babar Azam
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz Ahmad (C) (WK)
Mohammad Hafeez
Asif Ali
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Mohammad Amir
Wahab Riaz

Imad Wasim wont be much use with the ball in Nottingham.

Just had a look at WI batting lineup and well yeah they have a great batting lineup and they bat deep.
I am certain that they will pick Hafeez in the XI because WI have so many lefties(Gayle,Lewis,Bravo,Hetmeyr,Pooran).They might even pick Malik.I think we might see this XI on Friday
1.Imam
2.Fakhar
3.Babar
4.Hafeez
5.Sarfaraz
6.Asif
7.Imad
8.Shadab
9.Hassan
10.Wahab
11.Amir
It's so tough on Haris to miss out but unfortunately I have this feeling that he might miss out alongside with Shaheen.
I hope the management play Shaheen instead of Amir but I think they will play safe for the first match.
Really excited for this match but it is going to be tough going against a strong batting heavy Windies team.
Might well chase against them on the flattest pitch in the world.

Just had a look at WI batting lineup and well yeah they have a great batting lineup and they bat deep.
I am certain that they will pick Hafeez in the XI because WI have so many lefties(Gayle,Lewis,Bravo,Hetmeyr,Pooran).They might even pick Malik.I think we might see this XI on Friday
1.Imam
2.Fakhar
3.Babar
4.Hafeez
5.Sarfaraz
6.Asif
7.Imad
8.Shadab
9.Hassan
10.Wahab
11.Amir
It's so tough on Haris to miss out but unfortunately I have this feeling that he might miss out alongside with Shaheen.
I hope the management play Shaheen instead of Amir but I think they will play safe for the first match.
Really excited for this match but it is going to be tough going against a strong batting heavy Windies team.

How is playing a guy who averages 90 in the last 2 years playing it safe?

1.Imam
2.Fakhar
3.Babar
4.Hafeez
5.Sarfaraz
6.Asif
7.Imad
8.Shadab
9.Hassan
10.Wahab
11.Amir

I think we have to bat first and bat big.
We will be under severe pressure if windies post 320+

My XI:

1. Imam ul-Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Mohammad Hafeez
5. Sarfraz Ahmed*+
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim
8. Hasan Ali
9. Wahab Riaz
10. Shadab Khan
11. Mohammad Amir

"Amir has the experience/he is a big match player,etc"
I don't want to see Amir playing but he most probably will be the part of the XI.

My XI on Merit not P@rchi and nepotism...

1. Fakhar
2. Sarfraz* +
3. Babar
4. Haris
5. Hafeez
6. Malik
7. Asif
8. Hasan
9. Shadab
10 Amir
11.Wahab

I think we have to bat first and bat big.
We will be under severe pressure if windies post 320+

It's an interesting point that you raise.What if we bat first and score 250-260 only, don't you think our bowling lineup which already is struggling will fail to defend the total or let's say even if we score 320 do you believe that they can defend 320 on Trent Bridge.
For once I believe that we are going into the world cup with our batting stronger than our bowling.
I personally will be more confident of Pakistan chasing 320 at the moment rather than defending 260.
I hope the bowling clicks though!

Right then, all official and unofficial matches before World Cup on this tour of England have come to an end.

Although we have not won anything, we have learnt a lot and have come close to selecting our best XI, only time will tell that can we turn around our fortunes on May 31, when it matters the most.

This ground is known for big scoring with short boundaries and will suit WI power hitters, hence we will need our bowling to be at their best if we are to win at Nottingham.

In my opinion, we should with 3 spin options as WI have struggled against them over the years and use 6 proper bowling options, strengthening our bowling. Extra batsman won't help.

It looks like they won't play Haris Sohail, as Asif Ali is a must on this short ground. Wahab Riaz after his reverse swinging death over spell is sure to start ahead of out of from Shaheen.

Likely XI:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Asif Ali
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Wahab Riaz

What would be your XI?

Remove Riaz for Shaheen or Hasnain, he brings no value to the team

Amir may be an economical option so I don't mind for the first match, especially in nottingham where the Windies will look to strike big.

I am a big fan of Shaheen Afridi and want to see him play every match Pakistan play but i don't want to risk him against WI. This could destroy his confidence. I would play him against SA though.

Windies will make it tough for Pakistan.. they have done well against Pakistan in the ICC tourneys

Expecting Pakistan to lose.

My XI:

1. Imam ul-Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Mohammad Hafeez
5. Sarfraz Ahmed*+
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim
8. Hasan Ali
9. Wahab Riaz
10. Shadab Khan
11. Mohammad Amir

This will probably be the team. It's criminal that Malik is blocking the spot of Haris and Asif Ali but they will not drop the senior man despite his pathetic record in England.

People saying it will be washed out?

Clear but overcast according to BBC with rain the day before. But there's 6 days to go until the match and you cannot accurately predict the weather too far ahead in England.

The sa wi match was predicted to be only cloudy as well but it got washed out. Only a small amount of rain is needed to disrupt a cricket match.

My XI:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam Ul Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfaraz Ahmed (C+WK)
5. Mohammad Hafeez
6. Asif Ali
7. Imad Wasim
8. Hasan Ali
9. Shadab Khan
10. Wahab Riaz
11. Mohammad Amir

It's an interesting point that you raise.What if we bat first and score 250-260 only, don't you think our bowling lineup which already is struggling will fail to defend the total or let's say even if we score 320 do you believe that they can defend 320 on Trent Bridge.
For once I believe that we are going into the world cup with our batting stronger than our bowling.
I personally will be more confident of Pakistan chasing 320 at the moment rather than defending 260.

Come on mate neither team should be making 260 batting first at TB.
Especially if as u say batting is our strength

320 is obviously a lot more defendable.
I would take runs on the board.
Obviously if weather dictated bowling first then that changes things

I'd play Shaheen over Hasan. Hasan's been awful for some time now in wickets and economy. Plus we need a new ball partner with Amir. I'm more willing to give Shaheen leeway who just had a few bad games. Though I think give Hasan one last chance and then sub him out for Riaz.

We have to play Haris no question, our batting is struggling too much and I don't think Hafeez cuts it at 4. Haris's bowling might be useful too. Hafeez makes it over Asif Ali as his spin will be useful against WI and he probably plays spin a bit better.

1. Imam
2. Fakhar
3. Babar
4. Haris
5. Sarfraz
6. Hafeez
7. Imad
8. Shadab
9. Hasan
10. Amir
11. Shaheen

Come on mate neither team should be making 260 batting first at TB.
Especially if as u say batting is our strength

Last year there was a match between England and India at Trent Bridge, England of all teams scored just 260 on that pitch.

I don't rate Imad and Shadab as matchwinning spinners in ODI cricket vs top sides but they do possess a good record against West Indies.

Plus these West Indian powerhitters love pace on the ball so we must maximise our spin overs by playing both with Hafeez also chipping in.

Bat first, score 350 and then strangle them with spin. Aamir's 130 kph pies are not going to do jack on this wicket.

The likes of Russell can be contained by the use of spin. Their bowling lineup doesn't look that great so hopefully a win.

I think Pakistan got a good chance tbh. It's going to be hard to pick a XI. The top 3 is settled but it's going to be hard picking the middle order.

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam-ul-Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfaraz Ahmed (C) (WK)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Shoaib Malik
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Wahab Riaz - don't like him but on merit has to be there, only good bowler vs Afghanistan
11) Mohammad Amir - Shaheen looks out of sorts :(

I'm a huge fan of Haris Sohail but the only reason I chose Hafeez ahead of him is cos Hafeez will be very useful against left arm batsmen, I also would ideally like Asif Ali over Malik but would just choose Malik for this match as he can also bowl, and I'm not sure what frame of mind Asif Ali will be in, for well documented reasons. So that's the XI I would choose, and tbh, the 11 I am expecting too.

Batting down to number 11, Imad/Shadab will do good vs WI.

I hope the team will study where to bowl to Hope and Hetmyer so they don't take the game away from us. It will come down to individual brilliance at the end and we must make sure we are fully aware of their players' strength and weaknesses heading into the game.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] What is your best XI with both Hafeez and Malik in it as these two individuals will not be dropped, anyhow with the number of left handers in the WI team perhaps it's not all bad providing both get a substantial number of overs between them

I hope Malik and Imad ain't in the 11. I would play this:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam ul Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Hafeez
6. Asif Ali
7. Sarfaraz
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hassan Ali
10. Amir
11. Wahab Riaz

This will be a repeat of 2011 Quarter final. Pakistan will either win by 180+ runs or with 25 overs to spare.

Am actually quite excited to watch this match. With WI and PAK it's always a mystery in which team shows up on the field. Both are extremely dangerous on form, out of form looks like a fish out of water.

Quite possibly the worst match up to start off our campaign. Our last WC game was an absolute disaster.

Pakistan should bat first.

Easy win for WIN
Roach and Holder will destroy over batting and Evin Lewis and Shai Hope will destroy our mediocre bowling

Easy win for WIN
Roach and Holder will destroy over batting and Evin Lewis and Shai Hope will destroy our mediocre bowling
A request to the Mods - please give this lad his own thread so he can whine to his heart's content in there.

Ye rona dhona har jaga humein aur depress kar deta hai bhai :dw

The way we will win this game is by assaulting West Indies with spin in the middle overs. I can see them taking Hassnain apart in the middle overs.

Will also be a test for our batting line up against some quick bowlers. This has the makings of a really good and close game. We need to win this game as West Indies will be In around in the final standings.

Likely XI:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Asif Ali
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Wahab Riaz

What would be your XI?

I was actually looking for you. What happend to the 400 score against Afghanistan and destroying them? Just wanted to hear your exuses.

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Haris Sohail
5) Sarfraz Ahmad
6) M Hafeez
7) Asif Ali/Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Wahab Riaz
11) Shaheen Shah Afridi

IA off to our first win!

For Pak: Spin spin spin, and then more spin

Hope for a good match, WI is the most unpredictable and exciting team right now. If they turn up fit and motivated many big teams will bleed.

Easy win for WIN

What has been our prediction score what did you predict for England vs Australia warm up btw I will go with same as you it looks like a easy West Indies win

Likely XI:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Asif Ali
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Wahab Riaz

What would be your XI?

Out of Malik, Asif, Hafeez and Harris , two will play. I would play Malik and Asif. But my feeling is Malik and Hafeez will play against WI and Asif and Harris will sit out.

1.Imam Ul Haq
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Shoaib Malik
5.Sarfraz Ahmed
6.Mohammad Hafeez
7.Asif Ali
8.Shadab Khan
9.Hasan Ali
10.Wahab Riaz
11.Mohammad Amir

Hafeez & Malik to bowl 5 bowler quota.

This game could go either way tbh, but looks like Windies might come out the winner.

Sarfaraz at no.4 is asking for trouble. We have already invested a lot in Haris Sohail and it is his time to prove his metal on world stage.

Asif Ali’s importance is overstated on this forum. He is someone who has scored a few 40 ball 50’s and that too on grounds where 360 was the par score.

My XI:
1. Imam-ul-Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Sarfaraz Ahmed
6. Muhammad Hafeez
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Wahab Riaz
10. Hasan Ali
11. Muhammad Hasnain

Likely XI:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Asif Ali
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Wahab Riaz

What would be your XI?

There are some Warn up matches of other teams.
Today is Eng vs Afg.
If Afg turn out to be decent against Eng, it's a booster for PCT.

I was actually looking for you. What happend to the 400 score against Afghanistan and destroying them? Just wanted to hear your exuses.

What do you mean excuses? Can't there be some genuine reasons for a miraculous event.

I don't care what you term this as, but to me there is a reason for everything.

Can't a minnow win a single game against a better team? If not, then whats the point of playing. Just hand the superior team the victory before the actual game takes place.

We are still to demolish a team like Afghanistan, 10 out of 10 times on a true flat English wicket. They can only compete with us 1/10 times, and maybe win it on a Subcontinent type wicket due to their better spin bowling, which they were given in that warmup game and they fluked a victory in a meaningless game. We are still a vastly superior team and let's wait till World Cup to see the actual difference between the 2 teams.

I see jinxing us all the time lol good on you with that cause it’s working great in fact all the bengalis are jinxing us on here lmao yeh bhi din aney they

Why would I want to jinx Pakistan, I think Pakistan is a better team than West Indies :amla

I was watching the highlights of 2015 WC Match NZ vs WI, Guptil scored a double ton against Windies, Fakhar >>> Guptill so high probability of Fakhar scoring a double ton against overrated West Indies.

Why would I want to jinx Pakistan, I think Pakistan is a better team than West Indies :amla

I was watching the highlights of 2015 WC Match NZ vs WI, Guptil scored a double ton against Windies, Fakhar >>> Guptill so high probability of Fakhar scoring a double ton against overrated West Indies.

Look at Babar's record against wi, he'll slap them up.

a. Fakhar is not better than Guptill

b. WI have the pace to really trouble Pakistan

No Fakhar wont score a double ton

a. Fakhar is not better than Guptill

b. WI have the pace to really trouble Pakistan

No Fakhar wont score a double ton

Be positive brother :amla Fakhar and Imam have faced better bowlers than these overrated Wannabe pacers :holding. Imam and Fakhar alone can bully windies. As [MENTION=149383]Ronaldo7[/MENTION] mentioned Babar averages 102.80 :don so you have this match covered.

Windies bowlers were even thrashed by a nobody like Mosaddek :yk

Be positive brother :amla Fakhar and Imam have faced better bowlers than these overrated Wannabe pacers :holding. Imam and Fakhar alone can bully windies. As [MENTION=149383]Ronaldo7[/MENTION] mentioned Babar averages 102.80 :don so you have this match covered.

Windies bowlers were even thrashed by a nobody like Mosaddek :yk

Let's see I would consider WI as favorites given Pakistan's current form and WI is strengthened compared to Tri series

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] What is your best XI with both Hafeez and Malik in it as these two individuals will not be dropped, anyhow with the number of left handers in the WI team perhaps it's not all bad providing both get a substantial number of overs between them

Imam
Babar
Haris
Fakhar
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Malik
Imad
Shadab
Amir
Wahab/Hasan

Yes, I’ll go with a batting heavy XI and try to bat WIN out of the game. Malik over Asif for his 10 overs off spin against 4-5 lefties in WIN top half. He is the only conventional finger spinner in PAK team.

Also, new ball is a burden for PAK team and Gayle, Lewis will open for WIN - I'll open bowling with Amir & Hafeez.

WIN bowling attack should be dominated by right arm pacers, who takes the ball away from lefty and they are quite tall - so, I'll play Fakhar at 4. This lineup has Shadab at 9 - I don’t think PAK top order needs to see out new ball and make it like Fakhar booms or PAK busts - every batsman must be played instructed to keep a high Run Rate, even for the loss of additional wickets. If PAK looses the game after scoring 302-6, someone should get P45.

Personally, I think PAK in recent days are less pathetic when chasing, more applicable against WIN, who are also better chaser.

Checking some posts above, almost everyone has selected Amir in the playing XI, dude can't get a wicket against minnows and avg 94 with ball in last 2 years and he can't even hold bat properly now

My playing XI :

1.Fakhar
2.Imam
3.Babar
4.Sarfaraz
5.Hafeez
6.Asif
7.Imad(he is certified Windies basher, so he plays this game)
8.Shadab
9.Hasan
10.Shaheen
11.Hasnain

West Indies hitters like Russell are weak against spin.

Previously they had only Gayle or bust.

But now with Shai Hope and Hetmeyer they have batsmen who can actually bat against spinners.

To me its simple.

If Pakistan bat first and score 250 to 300 they will lose easily.

The best chance Pakistan has is to bat first and score 350 plus and take bowling out of equation.

OR

Let Windies bat to a 320ish total and then chase it with Babar who averages 102 vs WI. Although, if by luck WI do manage to hit 350, Babar will immediately become useless and Fakhar will decide the match.

I think Pakistan are slight favorites despite their terrible 11 match record, but if the pitch turns out super flat, WEST IDNIES will shock Pakistan.

My Team would be :-

1 Fakhar Zaman
2 Imam Ul Haq
3 Babar Azam
4 Mohammad Hafeez
5 Haris Sohail
6 Shoaib Malik
7 Sarfaraz Ahmed
8 Imad Wasim
9 Wahab Riaz
10 Mohammad Aamir
11 Mohammad Hassnain

West Indies hitters like Russell are weak against spin.

Previously they had only Gayle or bust.

But now with Shai Hope and Hetmeyer they have batsmen who can actually bat against spinners.

To me its simple.

If Pakistan bat first and score 250 to 300 they will lose easily.

The best chance Pakistan has is to bat first and score 350 plus and take bowling out of equation.

OR

Let Windies bat to a 320ish total and then chase it with Babar who averages 102 vs WI. Although, if by luck WI do manage to hit 350, Babar will immediately become useless and Fakhar will decide the match.

I think Pakistan are slight favorites despite their terrible 11 match record, but if the pitch turns out super flat, WEST IDNIES will shock Pakistan.

WI are better than us man for man. I'd be surprised if we win. Gabriel, Hope and Heytmer alone are better than anything we have produced in 20 years.

Hope is better than babar?? Hetmyer is even more hit or miss than fakhar. Who even is Gabriel in the odi circuit??

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Haris Sohail
5) Sarfaraz Ahmed
6) Muhammad Hafeez
7) Asif Ali
8) Shadab Khan
9) Muhammad Amir
10) Hasan Ali
11) Wahab Riaz

I would love to see this XI and see how Haris Shadab and Hafeez handles the spin department

WI will continue their tradition of going from 182-2 in 25 overs to 242 all out in 42 overs while chasing 282.

Another point is that its predicted to be cloudy.

If its a rain curtailed match of 20 to 35 overs, Pakistan WONT win in anyway.

A 50 over marathon favors Pakistan.

Against WI both Imad and Shadab have to play. Bangladesh curtailed WI's run rate as they aren't the best players of spin as they struggle to rotate strike.

Lol another jinx fakhar > guptill in what world guptill will be one of the leading run scorers in this World Cup he’d smash oppositions on flat wickets

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Imam Ul Haq
3) Babar Azam
4) Haris Sohail
5) Sarfaraz Ahmed
6) Muhammad Hafeez
7) Asif Ali
8) Shadab Khan
9) Muhammad Amir
10) Hasan Ali
11) Wahab Riaz

I would love to see this XI and see how Haris Shadab and Hafeez handles the spin department

This is the best pakistan team possible with the exception of Shaheen to come in for Amir or Riaz. Need someone who will strike with the new ball

Another point is that its predicted to be cloudy.

If its a rain curtailed match of 20 to 35 overs, Pakistan WONT win in anyway.

A 50 over marathon favors Pakistan.

No rain predicted at all It’s not even gonna be cloudy so I don’t know where you’re getting you’re waetshef report from

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Asif
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Wahab
Shaheen

Haris can chip in with a few overs if necessary.

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Asif
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Shaheen/Wahab
Conditions are gonna be good and ideal for swing and seam movement because of cloudy weather and rain forecast. So i ll play Amir. He just needs to bowl length suitable for swing.