Pakistan's chances of reaching the semi-finals stage of the ICC World Cup 2023?

Will Pakistan somehow qualify for the semi-finals of the ICC World Cup 2023?

Ok. Bat first, score 400, bowl them out for 110

Looking at how bad Eng batting has been, there is a slight chance.
its over. one important thing people are forgetting: even if we score 400 somehow. getting england collapse to 110 or lower assumes they keep chasing the 400 througout, which won't happen, because they have to ensure they don't drop their NRR to fall out of top 8, so if they are 60 for 5 or something, they will simply bat safer and get to 150-200 (or whatever the calculated amount is) for them to continue to stay above bangladesh/netherlands.

I just hope this WC debacle will lead to captain dosti yaari's removal as captain. Hope all the friends are dropped too. However, if Rizwan is made the next captain, he himself is part of the friends group and will still keep playing the same friends. We are doomed.

When the country has gone to sh!t why will the cricket team be immune?

Its funny how fans here were laughing at Afghanistan, but it was Afghanistan that ended up kicking Pakistan out of the tournament.

The team that could never beat us and we used to proud ourselves on that, got thrown out of the world cup by the very same team.

Plus, when you get smacked for 350+ by a side like Sri Lanka, you dont deserve to be playing the semis.

The tamasha is over. Babar can now be sacked as captain.

What happens if England bat first?

Getting them out cheap will help the team understand how many over to chase the score down in.

Similar to what the Kiwis did today.

its over. one important thing people are forgetting: even if we score 400 somehow. getting england collapse to 110 or lower assumes they keep chasing the 400 througout, which won't happen, because they have to ensure they don't drop their NRR to fall out of top 8, so if they are 60 for 5 or something, they will simply bat safer and get to 150-200 (or whatever the calculated amount is) for them to continue to stay above bangladesh/netherlands.
You can't fall below 6 whatever happens.

Lanaat on Tuktuk Defensive mindset! Aggressive mindset! Score 600! If Misbah calls for advice, don’t pick up his call

I think 1000 is more realistic.

( no seriously, Pakistan can do around 450 which makes 160 all out a decent proposition).

Pakistan can't do 600 even in 90 overs of Test match cricket.

Why this obsession with this one tournament of this one sport (played seriously by half a dozen country) ? If your team is not doing well in this cricket world cup then move on, follow some other sport in which your country is doing well. That is what the fans of most other countries do.
You are in a cricket forum dude. What are you doing here?

Pakistan have to win by at least 287 or, assuming England are kept to 150, chase down the target in 3.4 overs
so 150 runs in 22 legal deliveries.. that is 6.8 runs per ball.
They need a freak spell to ball England out to like 30 or 40 runs. Qudrat ka Nizam..

Imagine Ben Stokes, Butler and Bairstow reading these comments and imaginary scenarios by the Pakistan fans

Not sure how they will react
they will be very very scared of mercurial Pakistan. If Bumrah and co ball bowl teams out for 50-60 runs, why not Pakistani bowlers.

Take a look on this

Shaheen 6/35
Babar 96 (98)
Imam 100(100)
Fakhar 13(31)

We are almost in same position after 4 years. What we can do different this time?

For starters, not target 280 batting first.
Problem is even fakhar go with all guns blazing and get 150 in 80 balls, can other batters continue with that RR? I doubt it.
Babar, rizwan, chachu, saud are not trustworthy batters at all, if fakhar got out early we may not reach 300.

I just hope this WC debacle will lead to captain dosti yaari's removal as captain. Hope all the friends are dropped too. However, if Rizwan is made the next captain, he himself is part of the friends group and will still keep playing the same friends. We are doomed.

When the country has gone to sh!t why will the cricket team be immune?
Been watching cricket religiously for 20 years since I was 7

We all make our teams before any World event.
14/15 that I would have selected if I was in a position of authority were selected

In previous tournaments, there used to be a couple of jokers selected who everyone knew would fail and they did fail

This time the selection was on merit. Batsmen and fast bowlers did their bit

Spinners let us down massively. Didn't expect Shadab, Nawaz, Usama to be such garbage bowlers

Not selecting Abrar costed us a semi-final spot

Take a look on this

Shaheen 6/35
Babar 96 (98)
Imam 100(100)
Fakhar 13(31)

We are almost in same position after 4 years. What we can do different this time?

Break a world record. 500, and it’s possible to bowl England out for 210. If we get 450, eng will likely reach 160, gives us 20% chance, atleast something to ball at.

Been watching cricket religiously for 20 years since I was 7

We all make our teams before any World event.
14/15 that I would have selected if I was in a position of authority were selected

In previous tournaments, there used to be a couple of jokers selected who everyone knew would fail and they did fail

This time the selection was on merit. Batsmen and fast bowlers did their bit

Spinners let us down massively. Didn't expect Shadab, Nawaz, Usama to be such garbage bowlers

Not selecting Abrar costed us a semi-final spot

I think the fake number 1 ranking has got to your head.

Our team was good only against 2nd versions of Aussie, India, Nz, England.

We padded to our hearts content and our bowlers looked unbeatable.

As soon as Asia Cup and World Cup came, we were shown the truth.

Our batting is okay ( not great but acceptable) while bowling is terrible.

We are not a number 1 ODI team, no matter what rankings say.

Pakistan has won against the two qualifiers, Bangladesh, and New Zealand in a match curtailed by rain. Mediocre performance by the World No. 1 team. The choking by their bowlers mainly cost them the Semi Final spot. Their batsmen also choked at crucial times.

For starters, not target 280 batting first.
Sarfraz after the match said, they never went for the NRR as it was an impossibility

In that match, we required a bigger margin. I think it was 310

Plus it would have been the biggest win in ODI history at the time if we had won by 310 runs

Now India has shown us it can be done

I think the fake number 1 ranking has got to your head.

Our team was good only against 2nd versions of Aussie, India, Nz, England.

We padded to our hearts content and our bowlers looked unbeatable.

As soon as Asia Cup and World Cup came, we were shown the truth.

Our batting is okay ( not great but acceptable) while bowling is terrible.

We are not a number 1 ODI team, no matter what rankings say.
Nahi Sir that's not the point

Point is, no deserving player was kept out

Jaisi bhi hai, yehi team hai

The key word I want to identify is "consistency" and its lack of association with Pakistan cricket. Pakistan's cricket has never been run professionally therefore there is no system in place to drive our cricket forward. We have always been a mercurial side and such sides never win long tournaments or leagues. Given our mercurial nature we might hop onto a knock out tournament and our momentum might carry us through. However in a long tournament or a league we simply lack "consistency" to be considered a real challenger.

Like any other nation Pakistan also loses games in a tournament however the reason we cannot be considered a challenger like other teams is because of the manner in which we lose our games. Any decent side would not lose in such a ridiculous manner in which Pakistan team loses its games.

Some recent examples where we received absolute thrashing:
1. Vs India (WC 2023) - 7 wicket win with 117 balls remaining
2. Vs NZ (WC practice game) - 5 wicket win with 38 balls remaining chasing 350
3. Vs India (Asia Cup '23) - 228 runs defeat
4. Vs England (Bilateral '21) - 9 wicket win with 169 balls remaining (England were playing a C side)
5. Vs Windies (WC 2019) - 7 wicket win with 218 balls remaining

The point is simple here any top team will simply not be thrashed in the manner in which Pakistan ODI team has been getting thrashed. If any top team gets thrashed in a similar manner they have serious investigation into how they can move on and improve from here however for Pakistan it seems like business as usual. I'm not considering the series of losses we have had I'm simply talking about the manner in which we have been losing recently suggests we are not ready for competing with international teams.

Break a world record. 500, and it’s possible to bowl England out for 210. If we get 450, eng will likely reach 160, gives us 20% chance, atleast something to ball at.
Only problem is eden gardens is bowling pitch.ned got a win over bng after scoring 230.india struggled to core 250 at one point against sa.its looking like a spinners paradise. Markham was turning the ball like Murali.

Pakistan needs to complete chase in 16 balls or win by 287 runs batting first. Qudrat ka Nizam???

Only way forward is for Pakistan to bat first and put up a performance for the ages breaking plenty of records along the way! 420+ and knocking England out for <130. We're probably at the end of the line... NZ put away SL clinically, and knew how important NRR was to give themselves the biggest advantage they could possibly get. They were also smart to put in SL first and backed themselves to bowl them out early so that rain has less chance to affect the game (though in the end it was a non-factor). Great performance from NZ and they would be deserving semifinalists, but there is that outside (OUTSIDE) chance - if Pakistan bat first.

To be fair it seemed we were en route to scoring 400 the way fakhar was going recently. Fakhar needs a double century and Pak need to score 450-500. The stuff of fairytales.

This team didn't deserve to make the finals. Absolute trash strategy and no sense of management. You play a bunch of T20 hacks in an ODI world cup and this is what you get. This has always been a middling team at best and until there is real systemic change it will always be this wya

Honest opinion needed

What is/was more difficult?

Us beating England by 285 runs.

OR

Netherlands beating South Africa last year and us going through to the semis?

Serves Pakistan right for not smashing Netherlands which every main team did and then taking 33 overs to score 200 against Bangladesh when it was well known that NRR would be an issue.

To be fair it seemed we were en route to scoring 400 the way fakhar was going recently. Fakhar needs a double century and Pak need to score 450-500. The stuff of fairytales.
Truth is - there is always a chance, only if the team believes in themselves and the next batter to come. But just going to paste my reply in the Pak v ENG match discussion thread:

Knowing this team - it's likely that they have already accepted defeat, if the past is any indicator. Remember that in 2019 we were in a very similar situation where we needed to win by more than 300 runs against Bangladesh, and Sarfaraz actually won the toss and batted first, and even said that he knows we need to post a big score. And yet.. we only scored 315. Fakhar started off with 13 from 31 balls (and got out) and Imam hit a run a ball 100 and Babar hit a run a ball 98 (and I remember my brother and I were so happy he missed out on his 100 for the dumbass way he batted.. wish Imam also got out before 100). Only Imad Wasim tried (43 from 26).

It's essentially the same group of player, just led by Babar vs Sarfaraz. Can they understand that it's not about padding your personal stats? Can they understand we want Babar & Rizwan to play like it's a PSL T20? This is all if we're lucky enough to get a bat first. If you believe - you never know. There's no person that believed Pak will chase 400 even in a shortened game, yet one person believed and did it. Imagine if you have the whole batting line-up believe in themselves and the person who's going to come in next? Nothing would be impossible!

Honest opinion needed

OR

Beating England by 285 is way more difficult - but it's possible only if the team believes.

Honest opinion needed

OR

Easily us beating eng. That was difficult, but it was t20 anything can happen. Here we are expecting Pakistan to break so many records, wining by close to 300 runs is ridiculous lol. We might not even score 290, never mind winning by that. If fakhar scores a 40 ball 100 maybe then players will start to believe.

Serves Pakistan right for not smashing Netherlands which every main team did and then taking 33 overs to score 200 against Bangladesh when it was well known that NRR would be an issue.
Blame your captain and his chief advisor

They don’t believe in playing modern cricket. They believe in scoring their personal scores and praying for the best outcome

Pakistan have to win by 287 runs or more. If they bat second, they have to chase the target down in 3.4 overs.

First option can be attempted perhaps (score 400 and then bundle England out for 100). Second option is out of the equation.

Whatever Happens let Pak gives its best in the next Game . WC 2023 is not the end of Cricket for any Country even if that Country wins the finals .There is lot of Cricket to be played after the finals of WC 2023 and being a Champion in WC2023 does not automatically guarantee that u end up winning all other games .So let us not over analyse and leave the teams to give the best in the coming games

Can someone explain…

If Pakistan do beat England the way they need to with NRR, where does that leave England’s nrr in order to qualify for the CT?

Surely they won’t be qualifying if that’s the case?

The 5% chance that Pakistan has of doing this oweing to a fakhar miracle. That might be all over as soon as the toss when England decide to bat first.

Can someone explain…

If Pakistan do beat England the way they need to with NRR, where does that leave England’s nrr in order to qualify for the CT?

Surely they won’t be qualifying if that’s the case?

I think England are safe NRR-wise. Should at least finish 8th (if not 7th).

SL's NRR is now very bad.

Pakistan have to win by 287 runs or more. If they bat second, they have to chase the target down in 3.4 overs.

First option can be attempted perhaps (score 400 and then bundle England out for 100). Second option is out of the equation.
For that Pakistan will have to win the toss first.

Gavaskar on air said as an Indian he would be more nervous facing Pakistan than New Zealand in the semis.

I agree.

Because it's not about who has a better chance of beating us. Actually I would rate NZ higher in that. Rather, it's more about who you fear failing against more. That's where the nerves come from.

It would have been one tense day, and while it's a shame that it's not happening, this Pakistan team with its performances and lack of fight barring the one-off solitary performers, seriously hasn't been a Top 4 team. NZ have just about been marginally better, despite pulling a lot of cons along the way.

You are in a cricket forum dude. What are you doing here?
I am also following other sports, viz Chess. Two Indians won Grand Swiss Chess (Open and Women's titles) there. This was history's strongest tournament. 10 % of participants were Indians. Chess by the way is played by all 200 plus countries of the world. This feat is way bigger than most Indian achievements in cricket.

So a bit of optimism, England has scored 170 or less 3 times this World Cup. Lowest being 129. Can a fakhar blitz once again do the improbable.

• IMG_3035.png
    IMG_3035.png
    677 KB · Views: 8
Pakistan had one job.One job, reach the semis. So that i could watch India versus Pakistan at Eden Gardens.

But no: they can't even do that.

Lost to Afghans. Couldn't even choke the chokers SA.

Matlab kuch bhi. Kuch bhi nahin hota inse. Jahan jana sirf Biryani khana hai.

Everywhere they go, they only care about Biryani. Hyderabad they went out to eat Biryani. Bangalore they went out to eat Biryani and Kebab. Kolkata they ordered Biryani and Kebab and gravies from a restaurant to the team hotel.

Is this the World Cup of cricket or Biryani eating?
With all due respect when we wanted india to come into the finals for asia cup 2022, world cup 2022 and t20 world cup 2021(we wanted india to make semi, for a possible chance of india vs pakistan final) India were not able to do that either, we Pakistanis wanted to play you guys on 3 occasions in the finals.

It is unfournate I agree, india vs pakistan in semi final would have been awsome, but not meant to be. I do agree that the Pak players should have had a focus and mission in mind to win the world cup even if it means not going out and having fun, that is what dissapointed me about this team, in this world cup the lack of commitment.

All this talk of scoring 450 and then getting Eng out on 90 is rubbish, Pakistan doesn't have that steam, advice to Babar and Co is play your natural game and win it, even a win by 24 runs will be enough we ain't achieving anything from reaching SF apart from $$