Pakistan's next coach - Who are the contenders?

Azhar Ali - really? He might struggle to keep his Test spot come September, so making him Captain assures him 2-3 years pension - he'll definitely be a great boy Captain for PCB for sure. I had 3 captains for 3 teams, don't think reducing it to 2 changes much - either you find someone like Kohli, Will & Smith (or Shakib - he'll lead ODI team as well after WC) for 3 formats, otherwise better to go for best fit. In my list, may be they can make Babar test captain as well, doesn't matter much.

For the coaching staff, I don't think Arthur will retain his job unless PAK does really well in WC (say make the Finals at least) - in that case Mickey deserves to stay may be. But, I was more into PAK's Test team which is probably at it's lowest point since 1960s (don't bother about ranking - PAK isn't better Test team than SRL and will lose comfortably both series against BD, because PAK's home series will be played in UAE). Since MA has taken charge, only silver lining is 3-3 in ENG, otherwise else where result is shambolic: 4-2 against WIN is probably something remotely acceptable, though current WIN will blow PAK in their home. 0-2 & 1-2 against Kiwis, 0-3 & 1-0 against AUS, 0-2 against SRL and latest is this SAF tour. PAK should expect better return than this. The other options you mentioned - I doubt.

Moody was offered half a million $ by BCB, yet he didn't block himself for a year long job, Gary is working as BCB's consultant, which is another name of distant Director because he won't shift his family to Dhaka - don't see him doing that at Lahore either, Rixon is SRL's fielding coach after salty relation with PCB and he is 62+, not suggested. Jason might be ... but guy didn't manage Aussie job during their crisis

My previous post has the feedback on Mo Akram..... Personally, I believe in local coaches for bowling because bowling needs lots of mentoring while batting is more methodical, process oriented - still you need some basic technical knowledge to be an fast bowling coach of an International side. If it's Pakistani than probably best shot is Kabir Khan, but I would stick to a foreigner - Streak, Pont or Bond. Botha as fielding coach is fine.

Finally for batting coach - I like English batting coaches. They come with MCC Manuel & Text Book methods. May be English coaches are best for academy boys rather than National team. Hick is Aussie batting coach (not sure if still now), but frankly speaking I am not impressed with Aussie batting, very similar to Hick's career. On batting belters, GH was a monster, but bolted it under pressure. Thorpe can be excellent choice because he is probably the 2nd best Pom spin player since Compton & before KP, at least among top 3 with Gooch & Gatting, and PAK needs it's batsmen to be taught how to play spin by an Englishman ..... which should be a National shame, but that's PCT's deserved destiny I guess.

Azhar is adjudged by his captaincy in a format where he wasnt a regular... But surely and clearly he will do really well as a test captain which his forte... A player can lead team only when he is good in that format and the team.. Same thing applies to Sarfraz with tests...

DJ cannot be judged with his short stint at IU for 3 weeks... If he can coach a national side for 2-3 years then that would help his cause...Right now cannot appoint him as a national coach based on club cricket for couple of seasons...

I believe Julian Wood or Thorpe would be a great addition as batting coach even under MA...

Not many foreigners will come forward to coach Pakistan due to security reasons, in that case MA should be retained if they dont get equally a good one...

Selection of Pakistan National Team's Coach

People might have forgotten that the process of selecting the coach of Pakistan cricket team was handed over to Wasim Akram and Ramiz Raja... They shortlisted 2 candidates.... Mickey Arthur and Dean Jones.... Although I think Mickey has done quite a decent job, but I would have personally loved to see Deano getting the call....
He has a brilliant cricketing brain and has applied for the post n number of times...
Besides this, he was a very good and an aggressive batsman of his era. He could has worked with our batsmen as well... Would have saved PCB a considerable amount of money which they have been paying Grant Flower for the past 4 to 5 years... I don't know why PCB kept faith in Grant for so long when his services have hardly shown any positive results....

Share your views and have your say....

Dosto sirf like se kaam nhi chalega... I want your comments aur Jo b suggestions ho dedo...

whoever you select please select recent players who have played modern day cricket , dont select dinsoros of 1970s

Dean Jones should have gotten in place of Mickey Actor. In any case after the expected debacle at the WC, I hope they give it to Dean Jones.

Mickey and Inzi had 4 years to build a team, and the team is worse now than it was in 2015 (who would have thought that was possible). Absolutely no hope going into the WC, unless all the main players return and the team starts smashing it from the England series (highly unlikely).

My picks for the coaches are

Dean Jones or
Sir Viv Richards and
Brian Lara as our batting coach

Hassan Ali should be captain - the only one currently mentally strong enough to win matches. Be it with his bowling or batting, Hassan Ali playing a blinder in South Africa, New Zealand and the last over 6 he hit against Afghanistan.

He really needs to work hard on both batting and bowling - he could be the next great thing.

I would have taken Stuart Law, but he is Middlesex now. West Indies cricket is unrecognizable from the time he took it on.

Dean Jones - I have my doubts. He has had only short stints. Does he have the patience and the energy to be long term performance builder without becoming one of the boys?

If Pakistan loses badly in the World Cup. Can we opt for Dean Jones and Ian Pont?

I think we have seen Deano's interest for Pakistan Cricket as well as Ian Pont is interested to groom our bowlers.

Do you guys think Pakistan can opt for them? Can Pakistan excel under both of them or one of them?

If only we had opted for Dean Jones back when we were picking a replacement for WY.

100% sure Deano would have done alot better than conartist. The only time they have competed together is at the PSL, while Deano has helped his group of largely unknown IU players win the PSL twice. Mickey's KK has never qualified for the final, heck the only reason they even make it to the playoffs is on the back of the superior talent they can buy and not any brilliance of the con artist.

But but but "we hate losing" :ma

I would say Dean jones is a very obvious choice. He has experience working with pakistani players. He seems to have a method working with the young pakistani players.

My question is which coach can substitute for the absence of world class talent? At the bare minimum Pakistan needs a coach who gets team selection, composition right, can strategize properly given the team's strengths/weaknesses and of course iron out technical problems in players as well

I think there is no absence of talent. The only problem is the system like everybody just opposed MD Wasim Khan's appointment.

We need proper structure less teams more competition good pitches + Dean Jones and someone like Ian Pont for fast bowlers than we're good to go.

Do you really think that Waqar will comeback after all the saga during his last experience as coach.

Pak head coach - Dean Jones
Pak batting coach - Mohammad Yousaf
Pak fast bowling coach - Waqar Younis
Pak fielding coach - Steve Rixon (if possible to get him again)
Pak wicket keeping coach - Atiq uz Zaman

These mercurial and bookish coaches like MA, DJ won't work with PCT. They never have in past.
Cricket coaching is no longer a role for technical modifications in skill set of players. It's main purpose now is strategical and teaching players about interactive game awareness.

Younis Khan will make an excellent coach for PCT if not for his dictatorial ego.
[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] , is there a prerequisite (workshops/courses/qualifications) for being a coach or not mandatory ?

Is there anyway Graem Smith is going into coaching ? Or is he already engaged with any franchise ? If he is available, PCB should hire him at his terms.

In an ideal world
Head coach : Ricky Ponting
Batting coach : Sangakkara
Bowling coach : Ottis Gibson
Fielding coach : Steve Rixon

Realistically speaking
Head coach : Dean Jones
Batting coach : Mohammad Yousuf
Bowling coach : Waqar Younis
Fielding coach : Upul Chandana

Dean Jones is a very blunt and honest personality. I like the bloke but he will not last a minute working in the highly political environment of the Pakistan national team where senior's egos need to be stroked and a media that pushes its own agenda.

Not to mention he has no international coaching experience.

Dean Jones is a very blunt and honest personality. I like the bloke but he will not last a minute working in the highly political environment of the Pakistan national team where senior's egos need to be stroked and a media that pushes its own agenda.

Not to mention he has no international coaching experience.

Tom Moody. Can he be lured ?

I don't know if he'd be willing to relocate. If we can't lure an established name and we have to punt on an unproven coach with no international experience, then I'd go for Mahela Jayawardene.

He has played cricket in modern era and understands the subcontinent mindset. Sri Lanka have played Pakistan god knows how many times so he has a good idea of our strengths/weaknesses. Was also a tactically astute captain.

He's had some IPL experience and was a batting coach for England briefly.

Head coach -> Shoaib Akhtar
Batting -> Viv Richards
Bowling -> Wasim Akram
Fielding -> Rixon

We need to bring back the aggressive brand of cricket that we used to play in mid to late 90s.

Mahela Jaywardena or Kumar Sangakarra

Time to get someone who understands the game in Asia and the importance of spinners.

Dean Jones would probably be a contender tho am not sure how good a coach he really is.

Wasim Khan should have a good insight into blokes working in county cricket, or could try to tempt a big name like Andy Flower to come in and take the reins.

Mahela Jaywardena or Kumar Sangakarra

Time to get someone who understands the game in Asia and the importance of spinners.
I like this option. Knows asian conditions and importance of spinners as well as good for grooming our batting. Less cultural difference as well should gel well with the boyz.

Potentially save on batting coach salary or get a professional but less renowned batting coach from county that wasim khan knows.
Bowling is bigger issue these days anyway so need to get someone really good like Ian Pont, or maybe even Waqar back so he can fix all the issues left by Azhar and groom the new talent like Husnain, Haris, Shaheen, etc.

Fielding can be anyone who the coaching panel is fine with, though things had improved quite a bit under Steve Rixon. Maybe consider a joint posting of fielding cum batting coach in someone like Ricky Ponting or Jonty Rhodes.

Would love one of the SL greats Mahela or Sanga. However, wouldn't mind Dean Jones he's done a terrific job at Islamabad and also his eye for talent is great.

Ian Pont as the fast-bowling coach and a separate spin-bowling coach. Batting coach could be Inzy or we could just use Mahela or Sanga.

Here are my two cents,

Head Coach: My options are:

1.Dean Jones. Has proven to be a pretty good tactician with good knowledge of modern cricket. Is accustomed to Pak conditions and has shown interest to become the coach more than once.

2.Graham Ford: Extremely good proven coach but is incharge of Surrey which is in my knowledge the highest paying county so he's likely to make more in Surrey than what he would get in Pak. Unless he has apetite for coaching international teams, there's a very grim chance of seeing it happening.

3.Phil Simmons: A proven coach who is leaving Afg role after WC, but I suspect he is in talks with new WICB administration to become their coach. So it's an interesting option.

4. Paul Nixon: A good modern coach who definitely has some liking for Pakistani players. Plus would be able to assist in the wicketkeeping training as well.

Batting Coach: Ian Bell(don't think there can be a better batting coach for tests than him, a technical master and an up and coming coach in warwickshire clubs.), Younis Khan(if the circuit somehow remains balanced here), Murray Goodwin, Simon Katich

Fast Bowling Coach: Kyle Mills, Chris Martin, Heath Streak, Jon Lewis

Spin Bowling Coach: Mushtaq Ahmad or Saqlain Mushtaq. Paul Wiseman could be an outside gamble.

Fielding Coach: Only and only Steve Rixon. Just get him back somehow hopefully Wasim Khan can convince him.

Andy Flower
Mike hesson
Gary Kirsten

Bowling coach :- Shane bond

Team Management.

Dean Jones as Head Coach
Mohammad Yousaf as Batting Coach
Saqlain Mushtaq as Spin Bowling Coach
Shoaib Akhtar as Fast Bowling Coach
Jonty Rodes as Fielding Coach

Slection Panel.

Aamir Sohail as Cheif Selector
Ijaz Ahmad as Member
Aqib Javed as Member
Abdul Razzaq as Member
Younas Khan as Member

How do you know Azhar isn’t doing the same behind closed doors, and the change today was because of him?

What about any local coaches who aren’t big names? I keep hearing Pindi regions coach is well thought of. Also a man by the name of Sabih Azhar gets thrown around a lot. Any thoughts on lesser known local names?

Rashid Latif Vs Azhar Mehmood

So i have been watching game on hai show on Ptv sports and Rashid Latif own youtube channel and rashid latif a wicketkeeper seems to know more about bowling than our own bowling coach. He has pointed out many errors in our bowlers from wrist position to what not and i keep thinking that this should all be done by mehmood for which he is getting paid. Even today he and shoaib akhtar highlighted shaheen’s weaknesses and at the same time lance klusner was shocked that these common errors have not been fixed by our bowling coach.

There is also a video of sohail khan where he credits rashid latif for fixing his bowling as per sohail he was done but was saved by latif back in 2011.

Possible to try new names like Jayawardene, Ponting, Snagakkara, Clarke etc?

Abdul Razzaq fielding coach
Inzamam running between the wickets coach
Shoaib Akhtar team mentor
Nasir Khan Jan team masseur
Salman Butt fixing coach

Our rankings will improve drastically

Rashid Latif is a solid bloke, he knows his cricket and his cricketing IQ is second to none

Faisal Iqbal batting coach
Mohammad Sami bowling coach
Chisty Mujahid English speaking coach

Been following him since his playing days. He is straight forward guy and unfortunately won’t be able to work with our current cricket setup/management.

Watch now many people will bash him for his principle stand against match fixing, he was the original whistle blower against match fixers, the Akrams and Maliks of this world, for which he was ostracized and blackballed. But he was labelled a loud mouth drama queen by Pakistani fans...

Same has been the reaction now for his legit commentary and criticism of the current coaching, management and board...

Easy to talk a big game sitting in a studio. Rashid comes from an illustrious line of cricketers from Karachi who don’t know how to work as part of a team: yk, Miandad being the first the other two that come to mind

Fair enough about competence regarding bowling Azhar was just collected a cheque for nothing. But and a big but Rashid is also a horrible person when it comes to regional bias no although better for a few things he is worse for a lot of other things

There are two types of people:
People who try to produce something and may not be very good at it. So they look bad in the eyes of general public.
The other type just sits around critiquing people for failing in what they are trying to do. But they never actually do anything themselves. They are best at simply analyzing and criticizing.

Rashid fits in category two. He apparently has his own academy and all and I would like to hear how many of his students have graduated to national colors successfully? Please leave any bias based theories at the door.

I like him and I believe some of his analyses are pin point accurate. But he makes everybody else sound like a villain.. which is wrong. Also favoring anybody and everybody from your region irrespective of merit is also wrong.

You can complain about Azhar Mehmood as bowling coach, but you also have to know that Sarfaraz as captain makes wrong decisions on which bowler to use where, and what fields to set... that’s stuff a bowling coach is not responsible for. But you will rarely hear Latif day that because Sarfaraz is from his region.

Please keep Misbah away from pak team.....
He is an ideal coach for Indian bating .....
We need a coach who had played modern cricket....
Bating coach = M Hussey(also Head coach)
Bowling coach = Umar Gull
Fielding coach = jhonty Rhodes
Spin bowling coach = Saqlain Mushtaq

we need a coach who can create a team from some reasonably talented individuals but not world beaters..we need someone who can build a team like NZ..a team with spirit that relies on some core talented players but punches above its weight. Until we can get our domestic situation sorted..I don't want to hear this "we have the most talented players etc etc" bakwaas..we have a core of really good players..

It is my personal belief that desi (read sub-continental) teams need Desi coaches.

We desis have very complex and intricate cultures and social structures.

Only a few exceptional outsiders can really thrive under these situations - guys like John Wright, Gary Kirsten and Day Whatmore. These guys were similar personalities who preferred being behind the scenes and often took a back seat.

Someone like Mickey Arthur who is very much an alpha male would find it hard to leave his impression on an already complex and overloaded desi culture.

So my suggestion to PCB would be to induct your former greats into coaching roles.

Shoaib Akthtar for next Pakistan Coach

I think the time has come for Shoaib to be the new coach for Pakistan and replace micky, he can help the players get ripped, have a proper bowling strategy and be fighters.

Enough of mota aloo Sarfraz, we need proper fighters.

I think the time has come for Shoaib to be the new coach for Pakistan and replace micky, he can help the players get ripped, have a proper bowling strategy and be fighters.

Nice to see a Sahiwal poster but I disagree Shoaib would be a disaster.

Shoaib Akhtar ? Oh, for God sake, no .

Head coach: Dean Jones/Viv Richards
Bowling Coach: Wasim Akram - there can be no better.
Batting Coach - Brian Lara/Nasser Hussain/Michael Vaughn
Fielding Coach - Nobody can help this team catch a ball.

uff how i absolutely hate threads like this. trying to apply a bandage to a headless corpse.

i feel Mickey Arther is probably gone but jeez, it it really his fault.
has he selected Hafeez, Mirza for the past decade? Lack of player development. One and done for young players to accommodate seniors.

The candidates that will be mentioned
Miandad(no thanks)
Walker Younis(hell no)
Mohsin(was good but his time has passed)

Ideally someone young, fresh. An analytics guy?

Pakistan need to get in bio mechanics team , power hitting is required.

Rashid Latif should be in the management , has great insight about games.

Get in Andy Flower / Ford / Moody as head coach with clear planning to change the way OD cricket is played. Look to develop positive batters instead of midgets .

As fast bowling coach get in Shoaib Akhtar , who can make them come in and bowl fast spells instead of half hearted trundlers .

Head coach: Dean Jones/Viv Richards
Bowling Coach: Wasim Akram - there can be no better.
Batting Coach - Brian Lara/Nasser Hussain/Michael Vaughn
Fielding Coach - Nobody can help this team catch a ball.

None of them will be available there for us

Its safe to say that's the end of our cricket. Not because we have lack of talent but also we have so many corrupted officials in our cricket which even include most of the former and many current players plus crook mafia. A coach cannot not do anything with our cricket.
Unless we have a good bunch of honest cricketers and intellectual people nothing will change but it will be even worse with time.

A coach can’t do a jack if the system is filthy.

However, I would love to try Ponting, Jayawardene, Hussey etc. Modern greats who recently retired. Not old babays from 80’s please.

None of them will be available there for us

I think Dean Jones will be if you look at his passion to lead Islamabad but how he motivates and cares for his players.
Nasser Hussain loves Pakistan always positive about our team.
What about Shoaib Akhter as bowling coach I mean the guy always criticising our bowling.

Dean Jones? He’s known for his habit of overcomplicating things and creating overcomplicated strategies. Don’t think the players would enjoy it one bit.

In a sports like cricket and a totally dysfunctional setup like Pakistan cricket coach's role is non value added, especially with former lejunds and members of player mafia calling all the shot.

Let's just give Inzi the portfolio...what's the point of the coach, when Inzi can do it all...

Keep our former cricketers as far away from the team as possible, all they bring to the team is politics and inflated egos, none of them are particularly good coaches anyway. Get in someone like Dean Jones in my opinion. He knows our players and has done a pretty good job for Islamabad, is a good strategist too. We also need to get a decent fast bowling coach like Ian Pont or Shane Bond. A lot of our best talent coming through is in the fast bowling department, we need to make sure that our strong suit at the very least is getting the right help.

Appointing good coaching staff is great, but it's only a short term fix that'll simply plug some holes in a sinking ship. Alongside appointing the right staff, we need to make sure PCB becomes more professional, and it's well defined that the chief selector is only there to pick the 15 man squad. Above all, domestic cricket, grassroot coaching and ground quality, etc need to be all fixed so that we have a constant supply line of well developed cricketers, ready for competitive international cricket.

Viv Richards anyone.His passion is unmatched.Think he will be good for us.He can be good coach with Bobby as captain

Lets think out of the box -
IMRAN TAHIR?
a lahori, so understands the culture, speaks the language, has been part of a vey good int team, seen and coached by world class coaches, decent and humble guy with a passion for winning.
What you guys say imran to be our new coach, he even has the right name!

I don't think the coach will do any magic more you need is a proper structure overhaul that being said, Dean Jones sounds like a good contender I don't know what would he like to take the job.

I believe a head coach should be local and someone who is known for his brains and man management unlike Waqar who even struggled to keep the team together even when he was the captain.

Need someone who is really serious in doing good for the team. Not someone like Mickey who is expert at giving excuses and making big statements and not backing up his words.