PCB positive to get hosting rights of major ICC event in 2023-31 cycle: Wasim Khan

They can try but doubt that the ICC wants an India-less tournament. There is no way Modi's India is touring Pakistan even if Aus, NZ or Eng reguarly tour Pakistan.

An India-less tourney is financially not viable for the ICC or other countries. The reason they will keep ditching Pakistan even if they do not want to.

They can try but doubt that the ICC wants an India-less tournament. There is no way Modi's India is touring Pakistan even if Aus, NZ or Eng reguarly tour Pakistan.

An India-less tourney is financially not viable for the ICC or other countries. The reason they will keep ditching Pakistan even if they do not want to.

The next cycle of tourneys are in the late part of the next decade and beyond and Modi won't be there then. Or everyone hopes.

Its a the opposite of a vicious downward spiral!

More matches/teams we host, better our chances of hosting tournaments etc

Well done to Wasim and Co for broaching this subject and actually have a strategy in place.

Honestly the FTP is more important than getting some ICC events. WK needs to ensure we get at least one 4 match test series in England. Against everybody else we should be playing at least 3 match series'. Leave the 2 match series for Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Ireland and Afghanistan.

However I am still optimistic that we can get a T20 World Cup. Maybe the PCB should team up and bid with SL and BD for the 2031 WC.

He said 2023-31. That's at minimum 2 years out which is enough time to upgrade our stadiums and finish build on new ones. The progress they are making I won't be surprised that they will get a few tournaments.

They should look to get 2 tournaments that be great but india could block that

Successfully hosting a few ICC events impacts the money the broadcasters are willing to offer you

I have to say it’s wishful thinking. Building castles in the air is never a good idea.

Cricket returning to Pakistan and sides touring regularly is first step. No way they will have a chance to host multi nation tournament at this stage.

People are talking about bcci. Has Australia or England given an affirmative ? One step at a time. It will happen. But not any time soon.

A lot of wishful thinking in this thread and PCB is opening its mouth too early as usual.

Unless there is a dramatic shift in balance of power, PCB has no chance of hosting - or co-hosting - an ICC tournament.

The non-big 3 countries are not getting hosting rights without the approval of the big 3, and if any big 3 board disapproves, that country is not going to host.

There is no way BCCI is going to help PCB make money and create an awkward situation for itself where it has to either forfeit participation in an ICC tournament or unwillingly drag itself to play in Pakistan.

As long as BCCI remains in power, Pakistan has much a chance of hosting an ICC tournament as Antarctica.

Not just this element, but also the undeniable fact that stadiums are low quality in Pakistan. Every country has that one stadium that stands out, either by design or capacity. We have nothing, and frankly, renovating the Multan Stadium is only going to help with test matches by having another place to play at.

Secondly, you're going to need more tours from SENA countries, just to solidify the fact that it is actually safe for players. PSL should become longer with more teams to justify the fact that we can keep teams secure for long periods of time.

Furthermore, there is a lot of stuff that we aren't considering, like the fact that attracting fans from other parts of the world to support their own teams in Pakistan means that our tourism will have to improve tremendously. We boast about the beauty of Northern Pakistan, but there aren't enough tourist programs to those parts.

BCCI can't stand it when Pakistan is making money from ICC affiliated events, much less Asia Cup related events. They will never send the Indian team over to Pakistan even if Pakistan gets hosting rights, so the only way to challenge their authority is by improving as a team, and becoming one of the Big 3. If one of India, Australia, or England spirals into poor performances and the quality of cricket goes down, we'll have a good opportunity to have a better voice in cricketing affairs.

Frankly, I don't really care about Pakistan playing India, it's meaningless to me. Never quite enjoyed it when it did happen either, so wouldn't be much of a loss. You look at how we have brought cricket back to our country, which has been a remarkable journey with many ups and downs. The happiness and cricketing craze is starting to make a resurgence in Pakistan, and people are really starting to get passionate about the team and PSL in particular. I'd take that over any bilateral series with India. If we meet in ICC events, that's fine, but otherwise, I think that Pakistan Cricket is in a situation where we can live without India.

I have to say it’s wishful thinking. Building castles in the air is never a good idea.

Cricket returning to Pakistan and sides touring regularly is first step. No way they will have a chance to host multi nation tournament at this stage.

People are talking about bcci. Has Australia or England given an affirmative ? One step at a time. It will happen. But not any time soon.

One step at a time.

We've brough Sri Lanka and Bangladesh for test series.

South Africa has arrived, and hopefully all goes well.

Before you can ask for hosting rights, you need to make sure that every playing country is satisfied with the security and has at least toured to come to a conclusion.

We're still awaiting tours from Afghanistan, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia, England, West Indies, and a few more associate nations.

Until those tours happen, you can't contest the hosting cycle, because this point will be brought up.

They should look to get 2 tournaments that be great but india could block that

India should not. But BCCI should make it clear to ICC that while they don't have objection to Pakistan hosting ICC events, India may not participate and any MPA should mention that in writing.

Not just this element, but also the undeniable fact that stadiums are low quality in Pakistan. Every country has that one stadium that stands out, either by design or capacity. We have nothing, and frankly, renovating the Multan Stadium is only going to help with test matches by having another place to play at.

Secondly, you're going to need more tours from SENA countries, just to solidify the fact that it is actually safe for players. PSL should become longer with more teams to justify the fact that we can keep teams secure for long periods of time.

Furthermore, there is a lot of stuff that we aren't considering, like the fact that attracting fans from other parts of the world to support their own teams in Pakistan means that our tourism will have to improve tremendously. We boast about the beauty of Northern Pakistan, but there aren't enough tourist programs to those parts.

BCCI can't stand it when Pakistan is making money from ICC affiliated events, much less Asia Cup related events. They will never send the Indian team over to Pakistan even if Pakistan gets hosting rights, so the only way to challenge their authority is by improving as a team, and becoming one of the Big 3. If one of India, Australia, or England spirals into poor performances and the quality of cricket goes down, we'll have a good opportunity to have a better voice in cricketing affairs.

Frankly, I don't really care about Pakistan playing India, it's meaningless to me. Never quite enjoyed it when it did happen either, so wouldn't be much of a loss. You look at how we have brought cricket back to our country, which has been a remarkable journey with many ups and downs. The happiness and cricketing craze is starting to make a resurgence in Pakistan, and people are really starting to get passionate about the team and PSL in particular. I'd take that over any bilateral series with India. If we meet in ICC events, that's fine, but otherwise, I think that Pakistan Cricket is in a situation where we can live without India.

The people said rightly. Pakistan doesn't need enemy from abroad their own people are enough for own destruction. Pakistan never ever progress mark my word. Unless the people within changed thier way of thinking. Always negative and criticism. Kuch positive bhi soch laur bol liya karo. Even Allah has said in holy book, You will be rewarded as you wish. Na umeedy kufr hai.

I feel that too host an icc event, Pakistan will need a modern new stadium in most of its major cities. You can’t have an icc event the way you host a national t20 cup. I think an icc tournament might just be the kind of incentive to kick start that kind of infrastructure building.

The people said rightly. Pakistan doesn't need enemy from abroad their own people are enough for own destruction. Pakistan never ever progress mark my word. Unless the people within changed thier way of thinking. Always negative and criticism. Kuch positive bhi soch laur bol liya karo. Even Allah has said in holy book, You will be rewarded as you wish. Na umeedy kufr hai.

I never said that I don't want to see Pakistan host events, of course I do. It would be a great privilage if we could, and I certainly hope that we get an opportunity to do so.

I was listing the logical steps that must be taken before we can expect the ICC to give us hosting rights, which if you don't know, is a very complicated procedure.

You are being negative in the way you think, but the fact of the matter is that we should keep our hopes high but also set expectations of where we want our cricket to be.

Bhai dekho, mene apni observations bitai hain aap logo ko. Mene kabhi bhi mere post me bola nehi tha ke me chahta nehi hoon ke Pakistan host kare, wo baat bilkul ghalat hai. Me zaroor chahta hoon ke Pakistan ka nam world cricket me shamil ho jay, aur hamare mulk ki tareefey ho dunya ke har kone pe, magar kuch chizo ko pehle sehi karna hai ke hum sukoon se phir World Cup host kar lein.

Too much negativity on this thread.

If we don’t bid now, we will have to wait till 2032 to bid again. During this 2023-2031 time period, we are likely to only get U19 and Women’s World Cups which are also ICC events. If lucky, we will get a full fledged ICC event at the toe end of this time period. Therefore there should be absolutely no concerns about stadiums and if anything we will have enough time to develop them, our economy, and our tourist programs.

I never said that I don't want to see Pakistan host events, of course I do. It would be a great privilage if we could, and I certainly hope that we get an opportunity to do so.

I was listing the logical steps that must be taken before we can expect the ICC to give us hosting rights, which if you don't know, is a very complicated procedure.

You are being negative in the way you think, but the fact of the matter is that we should keep our hopes high but also set expectations of where we want our cricket to be.

Bhai dekho, mene apni observations bitai hain aap logo ko. Mene kabhi bhi mere post me bola nehi tha ke me chahta nehi hoon ke Pakistan host kare, wo baat bilkul ghalat hai. Me zaroor chahta hoon ke Pakistan ka nam world cricket me shamil ho jay, aur hamare mulk ki tareefey ho dunya ke har kone pe, magar kuch chizo ko pehle sehi karna hai ke hum sukoon se phir World Cup host kar lein.

Sahi kaha aapne. Sirf Josh nahin. Akal sey bhi kaam karna hoga.

Hang on. I thought only England, India and Australia were allowed to host ICC events.

I can't see Pakistan being allowed to host any ICC events for quite a long time.

Do you think they will be as extreme as him? (Genuine question). Vajpayee was BJP but was actually great for Indo-Pak relations.

Hinduvata and vendetta is the only way they can stay in power. They have nothing else to sell and nothing sells better than hate and division especially in the name of religion and nationalism. Modi is unique in that sense that he has managed to merge two forms of extremism into one which is Hindu nationalism and got votes.
Don't forget his entry was banned into west for more than 10 years but Democracy in the name of division can bring forward so many unbelievable idiots that you really pinch yourself to believe. Who would have though trump and boris johnson but they managed to fool and deceive the public.

Won't happen

The elephant in the room is india, it basically twists icc arm and there is no way they will let a major icc event take place in pakistan , and no event will take place without the cash cow that is indian cricket

Bcz Vajpai was gullible he was backstabbed by certain gentleman from ur Country when he come to your country for peace ,still do u think anybody from BJP should believe u people

I think Pakistan will go for a joint bid with an another country. I guess Indian group stage matches won't be in Pakistan. The knockouts will be in the other country to avoid India playing in Pakistan.

They deserve it.

Pakistan must get solo hosting rights at some point soon.

If Bangladesh and Sri lAnka can be solo hosts why can't Pakistan get it too.

Hinduvata and vendetta is the only way they can stay in power. They have nothing else to sell and nothing sells better than hate and division especially in the name of religion and nationalism. Modi is unique in that sense that he has managed to merge two forms of extremism into one which is Hindu nationalism and got votes.
Don't forget his entry was banned into west for more than 10 years but Democracy in the name of division can bring forward so many unbelievable idiots that you really pinch yourself to believe. Who would have though trump and boris johnson but they managed to fool and deceive the public.

Blah blah blah just nauseum of words.
Look inwards and find out why no cricket happened within Pakistan.

Bid for the event and try your best to get it instead of finding a bogeyman always.

They deserve it.

Pakistan must get solo hosting rights at some point soon.

If Bangladesh and Sri lAnka can be solo hosts why can't Pakistan get it too.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka both have pretty decent cricketing infrastructure plus ecosystem. Sri Lanka has revived it's hospitality business and public infrastructure and Bangladesh even though not at that level is pretty decent. Add to that ground conditions and professional staff, overall security environment, they are ahead. Pakistan obviously have more stadiums, more consumer base but unless they tick those boxes they may not be ready for a primier event yet. However they should definitely bid for u-19 WCs as well as if they are smart for the Women's T20 tournament. That way they don't need to scale up suddenly and not face a massive test in terms of organization while at the same time will be a very positive brand message to the rest of the world.

Do you think they will be as extreme as him? (Genuine question). Vajpayee was BJP but was actually great for Indo-Pak relations.

If Amit Shah or Yogi Adityanath is one of Modi’s successor then I am afraid they are more extreme than Modi.

On Topic: Pakistan deserves to host an ICC event. I can see PCB gets hosting rights for one of the WT20 and possibly 2031 WC along with Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka both have pretty decent cricketing infrastructure plus ecosystem. Sri Lanka has revived it's hospitality business and public infrastructure and Bangladesh even though not at that level is pretty decent. Add to that ground conditions and professional staff, overall security environment, they are ahead. Pakistan obviously have more stadiums, more consumer base but unless they tick those boxes they may not be ready for a primier event yet. However they should definitely bid for u-19 WCs as well as if they are smart for the Women's T20 tournament. That way they don't need to scale up suddenly and not face a massive test in terms of organization while at the same time will be a very positive brand message to the rest of the world.

We have Western standard motorways connecting every major city. We have five star hotels for teams in every major city from Karachi to as far north as Islamabad and Murre. Our cricket grounds are not any worse than both Sri Lanka or Bangladesh. What infrastructure are you on about

Ground maintenance , drainage systems, overall stadium infrastructure in SL and BD is good. Infact it's even better than some of Indian venues. And you can't compare SL as a tourist destination with Pak. It takes few years to build that ecosystem for international audience.

So it seems India will be missing a world cup event in the next cycle.
There is no way an Indian cricket team is travelling to Pakistan for a long foreseeable future.
yea not happening... india is gonna get it their way 100x from icc before pakistan gets a world cup to themselves