PCB yet to decide ODI captain for South Africa series

A captain should also back his board instead of throwing them under the bus like he did in New Zealand and numerous times during the PSL as well.

Rizwan koi Doodh kha dhula nahi hai.
Then pull him up for it or remove him there and then. It’s been a long time since the things you mentioned - no sense in reacting over that now.

Fact is that this has been the most volatile regime PCB has ever had. Coaching staff, management and captains have been fired on what feels like a monthly basis.

No accountability of the decision makers - only the players are being made to answer for poor results.

Very reflective of how this country is being run

I think u are one of the persons here who understand sense.
Others are just talking rubbish.
Rizwan should be first given 20-25 odis and then discussion should be held.
13 odis is too small a sample size.
He captained the team to a win in Australia and South Africa , too high of a standard for Pakistan. These guys are happy with wins against minnows aslong as their favourite players perform and their hated players fail. These two guys in here acting as if Riz who is one of the few international keepers in history to average over 40 in every format is some pathetic player. Their only reason is intense hatred

Precisely, can tell very clearly some of these guys have never played the sport or held any type of managerial position in their lives
Yes, in our field of work and management we appoint guys like Rizwan as senior management 🤡

Rizwan reads and understands cricket miles better than clowns like Hesson or the ever lost Aaqib. You can tell he actually watches and studies the game, unlike some who just throw around buzzwords in press conferences. His feel for pitch behavior, match flow, and ground conditions is on another level altogether, you see it every time he captains, whether for Pakistan or at domestic level.

A real captain must have full authority over his squad and playing XI. The selectors, coaches, and management are supposed to work with him, not work against him. Their job is to make sure his plans are executed properly, not to sit around pretending to be cricketing geniuses while interfering in every decision.

If there’s ever a disagreement, fine, talk it out, bring everyone on the same page, and move forward like professionals. That’s how functional cricket systems work. You pick people for these positions because they’re supposed to be smart enough to resolve things sensibly.

In any serious setup, everyone can voice their opinion, but when all’s said and done, the captain’s word should matter most. He’s the one leading out there, making real time decisions, taking the heat, and owning the outcome. You can’t expect results if the person accountable for success and failure isn’t even allowed to lead on his own terms.

Rizwan reads and understands cricket miles better than clowns like Hesson or the ever lost Aaqib.
Yeah sure, ok.

First it was Ian Bishop who according to you was being disingenuous towards Rizwan in the CPL…A lie in which you were caught and still haven’t apologised for,

And now Rizwan understands cricket better than Hesson?

Rizwan fans are the Macabi Tel Aviv fans of Pakistan cricket it seems!

If there’s ever a disagreement, fine, talk it out, bring everyone on the same page, and move forward like professionals. That’s how functional cricket systems work. You pick people for these positions because they’re supposed to be smart enough to resolve things sensibly.
Funny enough,

They did exactly that. And they said “thank you for your services Rizwan, we will take it from here”..

Deal with it.

In any serious setup, everyone can voice their opinion, but when all’s said and done, the captain’s word should matter most. He’s the one leading out there, making real time decisions, taking the heat, and owning the outcome. You can’t expect results if the person accountable for success and failure isn’t even allowed to lead on his own terms.
He was allowed to lead on his own terms.

This will be verified and confirmed one day. Just because Aqib isn’t as immature as your hero who according to you cannot do anything wrong, does not mean he will not come out and expose all the rubbish he has seen with Rizwan as captain.

The CT conditions demanded 2 or 1 seamers, 1 fast bowling all rounder and 2 spinners…

Whose decision was it to somehow insist on Naseem Shah to play at all costs? Go on, think about it! Use your brain. Even if Aqib was favouring players, he was only going to favour Shaheen and Rauf. You could have played 2 specialist spinners and a fast bowling all rounder in Faheem (this was forced by Aqib because he probably wanted 2 spinners to play). So who was it that stuffed in Naseem Shah into the playing XI? Who’s parchi is Naseem Shah??

A real captain must have full authority over his squad and playing XI. The selectors, coaches, and management are supposed to work with him, not work against him
Who’s worked against Rizwan?

That’s another serious allegation. You are saying that the coaches/selectors were picking deserving players for Pakistan to work against the captain? The same captain who still had a top 4-5 of Saim, Abdullah/Fakhar, Babar, Himself at 4, Agha at 5 and Hassan Nawaz at 6.

How exactly have they worked against him??

Based on my experience of working in different roles within cricket setups, here’s what I believe happened:

Rizwan likely questioned or disagreed with Aaqib’s selections when the first T20 squad was picked after he became captain. It seems Aaqib and Naqvi didn’t like that, they didn’t agree with his plans or vision. As a result, they quickly removed him from the T20 captaincy and went further by dropping him from the squad altogether, which made absolutely no cricketing sense, especially when the replacement wasn’t even ready or available at the time.

From that moment on, Aaqib and Naqvi had already decided that they would remove Rizwan from the ODI captaincy as well. They just didn’t want to look bad by making another sudden change so soon. While Hesson might not be fond of Rizwan either, this whole drama began with Aaqib and Naqvi. Now, they are using Hesson as cover, putting the gun on his shoulder and firing from there.

Both Aaqib and Naqvi operate with inflated egos and want complete control. They can’t tolerate anyone questioning their decisions. Any player or captain who dares to challenge their plans gets sidelined or completely dropped. Both Babar and Rizwan have questioned their flawed selections and direction, and this is how they’ve been punished for it.

Mark my words, Aaqib and Naqvi will end up damaging Pakistan cricket in a way we’ve never seen before. The truth will eventually come out when both of them are no longer part of any cricketing setup in Pakistan.

From that moment on, Aaqib and Naqvi had already decided that they would remove Rizwan from the ODI captaincy as well. They just didn’t want to look bad by making another sudden change so soon. While Hesson might not be fond of Rizwan either, this whole drama began with Aaqib and Naqvi. Now, they are using Hesson as cover, putting the gun on his shoulder and firing from there
Baseless nonsense.

Rizwan was given every chance to make a side where he and his mate Babar could re-adjust into the middle order knowing they are not cut for the role as openers. They never were in the first place, and cricket has now moved onto extreme lengths where a good powerplay with the bat can win you games. Rizwan was having none of it and was RIGHTFULLY booted out. Enough was enough. The decision was correct! Pakistan have been brilliant at actually trying to maximise the powerplay and we have far superior top order batters to do this without Babar and Rizwan.

As far as your ‘Naqvi and Aqib’ assumption is concerned….there is Zero proof to it. Maybe you imagined this like you did with Ian Bishop.

Trying to absolve Hesson in this isn’t going to work now especially considering the bongi you have made by saying Rizwan understands cricket better than Hesson. The man is a thorough professional with a goal. A proven track record with New Zealand cricket in which he created one of the most powerful and impactful NZ white ball sides in modern cricket. Hesson is a certified technician.

This man doesn’t rate Rizwan. Nor did Gary Kirsten before him. So learn to accept that the medieval Rizwan batting style is not acknowledged and accepted in today’s white ball cricket.

Deal with it!

Recently, a few clowns here were making fun of Rizwan’s T20I captaincy, which honestly was nothing but comedy. You can’t judge any captain after just a handful of games. The same goes for his ODI stint, he started off really well but then lost a tournament and a series, all while dealing with constant chaos around him, endless coaching changes, selector shuffles, and interference from every direction.

He was never even given real authority. PCB stripped him of the right to pick his own squad or playing XI, basically forcing him into a corner, either resign or play the role of a puppet. And we have seen this script before, they did the exact same thing to Gillespie and Gary.

What makes it even more ridiculous is appointing Salman as T20I captain at a time when they were preaching about modern cricket and a new template. They sidelined Babar and Rizwan, two players with better strike rates than Agha, just to install someone who would follow orders.

This isn’t about cricketing vision anymore, it’s about control. These people are worse than any PCB setup we have seen in the past. The sooner they are shown the door, the better it will be for Pakistan cricket.

Fact is, if Rizwan is removed from the ODI captaincy, which seems highly likely to happen soon, whether this week or in the next few months, we’ll never truly know how good he could have been as Pakistan’s captain. A year or a handful of games, even 10 to 20, is simply not enough to judge any captain’s potential.

Rizwan has already proven his leadership credentials at the domestic level, where he has consistently led his teams to championships and multiple finals. That kind of consistency doesn’t happen by luck, it shows he knows how to build and guide a team.

Any new captain must be given full authority to run the team his way. Without that, nothing works. Players start playing for themselves instead of the team, and the captain’s plans and vision never take shape. That’s the only way to build a strong, unified, and successful side.

If Aaqib and Naqvi didn’t agree with Rizwan’s cricketing philosophy or approach, then they shouldn’t have appointed him as captain in the first place. Their job was to sit down with him, understand his plans for Pakistan cricket, and decide based on that. But it seems they didn’t care to do that. They likely assumed Rizwan would quietly follow orders, a mistake on their part, because Rizwan made it clear from the start that he wanted full authority as captain, or they were free to remove him.

Based on my experience of working in different roles within cricket setups, here’s what I believe happened:

Rizwan likely questioned or disagreed with Aaqib’s selections when the first T20 squad was picked after he became captain. It seems Aaqib and Naqvi didn’t like that, they didn’t agree with his plans or vision. As a result, they quickly removed him from the T20 captaincy and went further by dropping him from the squad altogether, which made absolutely no cricketing sense, especially when the replacement wasn’t even ready or available at the time.

From that moment on, Aaqib and Naqvi had already decided that they would remove Rizwan from the ODI captaincy as well. They just didn’t want to look bad by making another sudden change so soon. While Hesson might not be fond of Rizwan either, this whole drama began with Aaqib and Naqvi. Now, they are using Hesson as cover, putting the gun on his shoulder and firing from there.

Both Aaqib and Naqvi operate with inflated egos and want complete control. They can’t tolerate anyone questioning their decisions. Any player or captain who dares to challenge their plans gets sidelined or completely dropped. Both Babar and Rizwan have questioned their flawed selections and direction, and this is how they’ve been punished for it.

Mark my words, Aaqib and Naqvi will end up damaging Pakistan cricket in a way we’ve never seen before. The truth will eventually come out when both of them are no longer part of any cricketing setup in Pakistan.
I can share a bit more about what likely happened in that initial meeting between Rizwan, Aaqib, and Naqvi. It seems Naqvi and Aaqib were throwing around their usual buzzwords like playing modern cricket, bringing in a new template, and forcing batters to play at a high strike rate. Rizwan, who clearly understands the game far better than these two, probably pushed back and suggested a more gradual and realistic approach. He knew that kind of talent simply didn’t exist in the current setup and that forcing such an approach would lead to one batting collapse after another, which is exactly what ended up happening.

You can’t just live in a fantasy world and copy what other top cricketing nations are doing when your own domestic structure is full of politics, favoritism, and corruption. Players here haven’t been prepared for that style of cricket. Rizwan and even Babar knew perfectly well that many of these so called modern players were nowhere near international standard, especially when they struggle to score consistently even in domestic cricket. And when it comes to their intent and strike rates, the less said the better.

I’ve heard about this recently and it seems like the PCB have already made up their mind:

My $0.02

1. Rizwan literally led us to ODI Series wins in SAF / Aus. No one else has ever gotten close. Showed positive intent with the aim to bowl out the opposition rather than defensive Misbah brand of cricket..

2. Yes the tri series / CT losses at home were disappointing. However, Rizwans hands were tied the moment we lost Saim / Fakhar to injuries. PCB did him no favors by not selecting Sufiyan nor Nawaz as additional spin options

3. Rizwan also bore some responsibility for the ODI series loss against WI. However, we need to keep things in perspective and realize that this bilateral series was meaningless and PCB did not want to play ODI’s anyway. Again- Rizwans hands were tied when neither Saud nor Kamran Gulam were selected and we had to play Tullay Baal like Hasan Nawaz

en pull him up for it or remove him there and then. It’s been a long time since the things you mentioned - no sense in reacting over that now

That’s what I would have done. I wouldn’t appoint him as captain in the first place,

But if I’m in the situation where I am supposed to decide what to do now that he is the skipper, I would have booted him out right after the NZ series where he started to shift the blame on the management and selection committee in his public interviews.

I think the PCB were too lenient towards him and let him captain against West Indies.

Showed positive intent with the aim to bowl out the opposition rather than defensive Misbah brand of cricket..
This is incorrect

Rizwan’s team won the Aus series by playing the Misbah brand of cricket. Misbah was decent leading this way in Aus 2015 where his pacers didn’t let oppositions score the massive 300+ totals that were being scored by the good teams.

Batting wise, Rizwan made it clear before the series that he doesn’t care how the world is batting. He said this because he had no intention of even pushing to become a 350+ modern day outfit. He knows he himself can’t do it so he’s going to ensure his team don’t even try.

If Aaqib and Naqvi didn’t agree with Rizwan’s cricketing philosophy or approach, then they shouldn’t have appointed him as captain in the first place. Their job was to sit down with him, understand his plans for Pakistan cricket, and decide based on that. But it seems they didn’t care to do that. They likely assumed Rizwan would quietly follow orders, a mistake on their part, because Rizwan made it clear from the start that he wanted full authority as captain, or they were free to remove him.

Was it not Rizwan who was blatantly doing TC of Naqvi right after the 2023 World Cup? He was praising Naqvi for being everywhere in the world in 24 hours and how hard working he is.

The mistake is on Rizwan’s part. His lifelong goal to have absolute control of the Pakistan side was coming to fruition as it was being made out that there is no one else better to lead…so he had a clear path ahead of him. He was the one that was getting giddy and excited. He didn’t take up this job out of reluctance, he was very happy to go along with anything. On top of it, he was given a free hand against Australia in Australia, Pakistan were expected to lose 3-0 and they even said to him that even if you win one game we will be proud of you.

Rizwan is Rizwan’s enemy here. No one but he is the architect of his own fall.

Rizwan has already proven his leadership credentials at the domestic level, where he has consistently led his teams to championships and multiple finals. That kind of consistency doesn’t happen by luck, it shows he knows how to build and guide a team.

If you are talking about PSL consistency….

Sohaib Maqsood exposed the truth by saying that the only time Multan Sultans started to win games for their winning season was when Rizwan got out early as an opener, which allowed Russouw and the middle order to have more time to take charge of the innings.

Two out of the 3 seasons is when Multan Sultans were allotted home fixtures in the first half of the season…so all they had to do was win 4/5 of their home games and they pretty much secure a play off spot, whilst other teams are constantly battling under the pressure of winning home and away for these spots.

Last year Multan were not given this home run and we saw how $hit they were.

2. Yes the tri series / CT losses at home were disappointing. However, Rizwans hands were tied the moment we lost Saim / Fakhar to injuries. PCB did him no favors by not selecting Sufiyan nor Nawaz as additional spin options
So what does a proper leader do? Does he compromise on his mates getting a gig or he insists on the selectors to give him the best performing openers from the domestics to open the innings? Regardless of their age and experience? Where was the leadership here??

It was just Saim Ayub, all you needed to do was to be brave and pick a specialist opener…whoever…just pick the bloody opener and stop trying to be too funky!!!!

But no, friendships mattered more to Rizwan. How else does he have the excuse to play 3 seamers in SC conditions??? How else can he get in his Parchi Naseem Shah alongside Shaheen and Rauf??? How else are all the boys going to get that big game exposure against India where they can all hug and kiss Kohli bhai????

There is always a political dimension to Pakistan cricket and captaincy. We aren't a country built for people holding rival positions of leadership.

How viable is it to have the ODI captain not playing in the T20 squad? It wont be long before the knives are out, win or lose and the political machinations start to take place.

In the medium term, The t20i and ODI captaincy should be combined and it should be under a captain who doesn't play as much ( or any) test cricket.

This will keep the formats separate for a bit and also keep the pressure of the respective captains.

In an ideal world I'd make Shadab LOI captain and Shan test captain. After this WTC cycle Salman can become the test captain.

But for now if the plan is for Agha to.lead the world t20 then make him odi captain too so he is comfortable and supported in his position.

However, we need to keep things in perspective and realize that this bilateral series was meaningless and PCB did not want to play ODI’s anyway. Again- Rizwans hands were tied when neither Saud nor Kamran Gulam were selected and we had to play Tullay Baal like Hasan Nawaz
Wow you sound so desperate to absolve Rizwan here! Wow, just wow!

PCB didn’t want to play the ODI series because they didn’t want to have to go through the headache of announcing a team with Rizwan as skipper knowing he’s useless, and they didn’t want to take him off just before a major tournament either knowing how there are certain sectors within the Pakistan media who make life extremely difficult for the current players if Babar and Rizwan are not given preferential treatment. The WICB could care less and they sensed a vulnerable Pakistan as their prime opportunity to secure ODI World Cup qualification! They didn’t budge.

You name specific players such as Saud and Kamran…what number do these players bat in domestics?? In what world does Saud, Kamran, Tayyab, Agha, Talat and God knows how many proper middle order batsmen bat after Rizwan at number 4???

All of these careers are being wasted and destroyed just because Rizwan as adamant to bat at number 4!!!!

I can share a bit more about what likely happened in that initial meeting between Rizwan, Aaqib, and Naqvi. It seems Naqvi and Aaqib were throwing around their usual buzzwords like playing modern cricket, bringing in a new template, and forcing batters to play at a high strike rate. Rizwan, who clearly understands the game far better than these two, probably pushed back and suggested a more gradual and realistic approach. He knew that kind of talent simply didn’t exist in the current setup and that forcing such an approach would lead to one batting collapse after another, which is exactly what ended up happening.

You can’t just live in a fantasy world and copy what other top cricketing nations are doing when your own domestic structure is full of politics, favoritism, and corruption. Players here haven’t been prepared for that style of cricket. Rizwan and even Babar knew perfectly well that many of these so called modern players were nowhere near international standard, especially when they struggle to score consistently even in domestic cricket. And when it comes to their intent and strike rates, the less said the better.
“He knew that kind of talent simply didn’t exist in the current setup.”

They never fail to surprise me. This is what it always boils down to — the same self-defeating mindset: we can’t modernize because we don’t have talent. It’s the most convenient excuse to stay mediocre.

And they all share it — from Misbah to the current Rizwan supporters, each justifying stagnation by calling it “realism.” This negative thought process has held Pakistan cricket hostage for years. Instead of supporting the right talent and nurture them, they declare in advance that it doesn’t exist.

Meanwhile, Sahibzada Farhan and Hassan Nawaz are among the top five six-hitters this year. Haris scored one of the fastest centuries and maintained a strike rate near 150 whenever he got chances in the top3, ranking among the top three. And Saim Ayub — well, he needs no introduction. But of course, they must not be from Pakistan, right? They certainly don’t deserve any chances whatsoever.

We shouldn’t even try, they say. We should just accept being ranked No. 9 and pat ourselves on the back for “effort.” Yet somehow, Rizwan — who was a consistent failure before 2020 — was the only one worthy of patience and development. The rest? Not talented enough, apparently.

This isn’t wisdom — it’s a culture of low expectations disguised as wisdom.

They never fail to surprise me. This is what it always boils down to — the same self-defeating mindset: we can’t modernize because we don’t have talent. It’s the most convenient excuse to stay mediocre.

And they all share it — from Misbah to the current Rizwan supporters, each justifying stagnation by calling it “realism.” This negative thought process has held Pakistan cricket hostage for years. Instead of supporting the right talent and nurture them, they declare in advance that it doesn’t exist.

Meanwhile, Sahibzada Farhan and Hassan Nawaz are among the top five six-hitters this year. Haris scored one of the fastest centuries and maintained a strike rate near 150 whenever he got chances in the top3, ranking among the top three. And Saim Ayub — well, he needs no introduction. But of course, they must not be from Pakistan, right? They certainly don’t deserve any chances whatsoever.

We shouldn’t even try, they say. We should just accept being ranked No. 9 and pat ourselves on the back for “effort.” Yet somehow, Rizwan — who was a consistent failure before 2020 — was the only one worthy of patience and development. The rest? Not talented enough, apparently.

Top post

POTW @mods

Just another shambles from the PCB. They are completely clueless on how to create a successful team so just play musical chairs with the coaching staff and captaincy. No one will ever be successful long term because they will never get an opportunity to stay that long.

Normally you post quite readable posts but this one has neither head nor tail and you are mixing up formats.

There is a simple underlying pattern in Pak cricket that you can trace at least over the last 15 years. It goes like this. Pak may have a budding star or even a well established batsman who may score heavily in a low quality domestic format of any kind. Then they are expected to make the jump from domestic to international where matches are televised and we can all now see glaring flaws against international counterparts. Those flaws either get ironed out in the course of international matches or the player is discarded. But what about when the whole team has obvious flaws. You have to retain a few flawed players and relegate the worst.

In tests Pak has to stick with the likes of Shan, babar, Rizwan even if they have flaws. They have to give enough chances to Abdullah, saim kg as they are making the step up.

This is why Odis are so important. Batting 50 overs is not easy it requires elements of both tests and t20’s but our weak batsmen get found out. Only question is how they go away and develop their game. Saim, Abdullah kg, Rizwan, babar all have glaring weaknesses.

But t20 is unique. You can have glaring flaws but still occasionally have good performances. Frahan, Harris, Nawaz are exactly these kind of players. They will get found out by good bowlers and have to adjust to make the cut and jump from t20’s to Odi. But we play very few odi’s.

You can’t then blame pcb for being quite circumspect regarding Odi captaincy. Yes it’s possible that it leads to cliques but the opposite is also true that a good captain knows his players and is aware of whatever weaknesses they are working on. I just simply don’t see how Rizwan hurts the Odi team. If anything Pak need a bit of stability and discarding players captains every other series leads to real insecurity in the team for everybody. Soon enough I think Agha or SSA will take over ODI captaincy but the first thing they need is a settled 12 players.

Normally you post quite readable posts but this one has neither head nor tail and you are mixing up formats.

There is a simple underlying pattern in Pak cricket that you can trace at least over the last 15 years. It goes like this. Pak may have a budding star or even a well established batsman who may score heavily in a low quality domestic format of any kind. Then they are expected to make the jump from domestic to international where matches are televised and we can all now see glaring flaws against international counterparts. Those flaws either get ironed out in the course of international matches or the player is discarded. But what about when the whole team has obvious flaws. You have to retain a few flawed players and relegate the worst.

In tests Pak has to stick with the likes of Shan, babar, Rizwan even if they have flaws. They have to give enough chances to Abdullah, saim kg as they are making the step up.

This is why Odis are so important. Batting 50 overs is not easy it requires elements of both tests and t20’s but our weak batsmen get found out. Only question is how they go away and develop their game. Saim, Abdullah kg, Rizwan, babar all have glaring weaknesses.

But t20 is unique. You can have glaring flaws but still occasionally have good performances. Frahan, Harris, Nawaz are exactly these kind of players. They will get found out by good bowlers and have to adjust to make the cut and jump from t20’s to Odi. But we play very few odi’s.

You can’t then blame pcb for being quite circumspect regarding Odi captaincy. Yes it’s possible that it leads to cliques but the opposite is also true that a good captain knows his players and is aware of whatever weaknesses they are working on. I just simply don’t see how Rizwan hurts the Odi team. If anything Pak need a bit of stability and discarding players captains every other series leads to real insecurity in the team for everybody. Soon enough I think Agha or SSA will take over ODI captaincy but the first thing they need is a settled 12 players.

I get your point — and I actually agree with a lot of what you said about player development and flaws. But my comment wasn’t about Rizwan’s batting, the ODI lineup, or captaincy. It was about Pakistan’s T20I strategy — and the mindset that’s been holding our cricket hostage for years.

There’s a whole contingent of fans and ex-players who keep backing defensive options because they don’t trust our batting talent. And that mistrust becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

It’s a circular logic:

“We can’t modernize because we don’t have talent.”

But maybe we don’t have talent because we never give attacking players the time or space to develop.

Look at our selections. How many chances did Sharjeel Khan get after his return? How many games did Rizwan and Babar open together, blocking every experiment? Shan Masood was another defensive selection, made to “stabilize” things rather than push them forward.

Even when someone does break through, the system can’t stand it. It was Matthew Hayden who forced Mohammad Haris into the T20I side in 2022 World Cup — and Haris’ fearless hitting was a key reason Pakistan reached the World Cup final. And what happened next? He was dropped.

Saim Ayub — dropped from the Test side. Hassan Nawaz — a top six-hitter and match-winner all year — dropped after four failures. Sahibzada Farhan — top five in six-hitting this season — is the target of critique because of the inevitable failures that come with the territory. Every time a stroke-player fails once, he’s gone. Every time a “safe” player fails repeatedly, he’s told to take his time and find rhythm.

This isn’t pragmatism. It’s fear. And fear is why we’re stuck.

You said flaws get ironed out through international exposure — I completely agree. But how can they, if we never let these players stay long enough? Other teams back raw talent through failure. England stuck with Harry Brook and Phil Salt. That’s how you build modern batters.

Pakistan, on the other hand, keeps stabilizing mediocrity. We pick safe players, lose games, and then claim there’s no talent — repeating the same cycle every few years.

As for Rizwan — I’m not anti-Rizwan. He’s crucial to the Test side and can be a decent ODI player if someone can knock sense into his head. HE IS NOt a No. 4 ODI batter. He can use his captaincy to stay here but he’s failing Pakistan cricket. He doesn’t rotate strike well or play both sides of the wicket. He’d make far more sense lower. Saud Shakeel, meanwhile, is a much better fit at No. 4 — better against spin, better at finding gaps. Saud Shakeel played the most assured innings against India in CT at no5 and he was dropped right after that for the WI tour? Why? Who is getting insecure? You see, I respect @Rana because he smells politics much before many of us do.

On captaincy, Rizwan’s been average. A few calls were plain bad — taking three pacers to the Champions Trophy when spinners were available, or making Saud Shakeel and Babar open so he could play No. 4. Some fans say he lacked control, but those calls were his. WI is a mediocre side and losing like that to WI was embarrassing. His results speak for themselves.

At the core, this isn’t about one player or one format. It’s about a mindset that rewards safety and punishes intent. We’ve convinced ourselves that playing “responsible” cricket means batting like it’s 2005. We don’t back modern players, we don’t back risk, and then we wonder why we’re ranked No. 9.

Until Pakistan stops mistaking fear for stability — and learns to trust its own talent — we’ll keep getting what we deserve: tuk-tuk to the bottom of the rankings.

On captaincy, Rizwan’s been average. A few calls were plain bad — taking three pacers to the Champions Trophy when spinners were available, or making Saud Shakeel and Babar open so he could play No. 4. Some fans say he lacked control, but those calls were his. WI is a mediocre side and losing like that to WI was embarrassing. His results speak for themselves.
The RizBar fans will try to throw Aqib under the bus for this. I know these players and their fitrat all too well.

Aqib most likely wanted 2 seamers in the XI and the 3rd seamer being the fast bowling all rounder Faheem Ashraf. He forced the decision to include Faheem, why would he do so? It’s because he wanted a strategy of 2 spinners. You don’t pick a fast bowling all rounder. If you do not intend on playing the extra spinner. It’s plain and simple. This is why India have been building the work load on Pandya who is an average seamer but this allows them to pick 2 specialist spinners if they must.

Rizwan had a serious issue with this decision. Rizwan is the one who has been promoting and clinging around with Naseem Shah. Even in the PSL, Rizwan was truth to hijack the trade of Naseem to IU by offering 2-3 of MS’s good performers in place of him.

So the decision to play 3 seamers falls simply on Rizwan when you connect the dots. Aqib wasn’t going to budge from Shaheen and Rauf, and Rizwan wasn’t going to compromise on Naseem. All 3 played, even though only 2 of them should have played, Faheem as the 3rd seamer and 2 specialist spinners!

I get your point — and I actually agree with a lot of what you said about player development and flaws. But my comment wasn’t about Rizwan’s batting, the ODI lineup, or captaincy. It was about Pakistan’s T20I strategy — and the mindset that’s been holding our cricket hostage for years.

There’s a whole contingent of fans and ex-players who keep backing defensive options because they don’t trust our batting talent. And that mistrust becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

It’s a circular logic:

But maybe we don’t have talent because we never give attacking players the time or space to develop.

Look at our selections. How many chances did Sharjeel Khan get after his return? How many games did Rizwan and Babar open together, blocking every experiment? Shan Masood was another defensive selection, made to “stabilize” things rather than push them forward.

Even when someone does break through, the system can’t stand it. It was Matthew Hayden who forced Mohammad Haris into the T20I side in 2022 World Cup — and Haris’ fearless hitting was a key reason Pakistan reached the World Cup final. And what happened next? He was dropped.

Saim Ayub — dropped from the Test side. Hassan Nawaz — a top six-hitter and match-winner all year — dropped after four failures. Sahibzada Farhan — top five in six-hitting this season — is the target of critique because of the inevitable failures that come with the territory. Every time a stroke-player fails once, he’s gone. Every time a “safe” player fails repeatedly, he’s told to take his time and find rhythm.

You said flaws get ironed out through international exposure — I completely agree. But how can they, if we never let these players stay long enough? Other teams back raw talent through failure. England stuck with Harry Brook and Phil Salt. That’s how you build modern batters.

Pakistan, on the other hand, keeps stabilizing mediocrity. We pick safe players, lose games, and then claim there’s no talent — repeating the same cycle every few years.

As for Rizwan — I’m not anti-Rizwan. He’s crucial to the Test side and can be a decent ODI player if someone can knock sense into his head. HE IS NOt a No. 4 ODI batter. He can use his captaincy to stay here but he’s failing Pakistan cricket. He doesn’t rotate strike well or play both sides of the wicket. He’d make far more sense lower. Saud Shakeel, meanwhile, is a much better fit at No. 4 — better against spin, better at finding gaps. Saud Shakeel played the most assured innings against India in CT at no5 and he was dropped right after that for the WI tour? Why? Who is getting insecure? You see, I respect @Rana because he smells politics much before many of us do.

At the core, this isn’t about one player or one format. It’s about a mindset that rewards safety and punishes intent. We’ve convinced ourselves that playing “responsible” cricket means batting like it’s 2005. We don’t back modern players, we don’t back risk, and then we wonder why we’re ranked No. 9.

Until Pakistan stops mistaking fear for stability — and learns to trust its own talent — we’ll keep getting what we deserve: tuk-tuk to the bottom of the rankings.
Ok I’m glad we agree. Now we have to establish some parameters for what exactly we are debating.

So t20: in this crash bang wallop Mickey Mouse format I really don’t care who plays but there are some caveats. There is no place for babar/riz but you need a solidifying and calming presence in middle order batting when youngsters are going wild. Aghas presence is more important than the runs he scores. But that’s a moot point it could really be any senior. But all the players you mention are out and out hacks. They absolutely could progress to become gems but for that they would really need to play lots of first class. Saim for instance has played very little first class. I’m so against players making a step up to t20’s just based on a few good PSL GAMES but then it’s not their fault. Performing in whatever format they can is all they can do. I do like that management throw a rookie in and pull them out after a few matches to work on weaknesses. But it also can destroy confidence.

ODI: Pak odi team is actually quite settled. There are a few really good players coming to the boil, the right side of 30, with enough youngsters snapping at their heels. This is exactly the right balance. My main worry as you know has always been bowling. We tend to rely on batters gifting wickets rather than prise them out. A good captain is important but not as much as a couple of good fast/medium bowlers. We have none.

Tests: I actually think we have the making of a fantastic test team. Again fast bowling is the weakness. I like shan, hate abdullah, can’t wait for Saud to make a double hundred against a top team. Agha is class, the spin duo need backing and SSA is a lone warrior injury prone and quite lost. Nuff said.

It’s a circular logic:

Let me just pick up on this. You gave the example of Phil salt and harry brook.

That daring approach in English cricket works because you in English batting line up have proper first class players from number 1-7. They have been brought up in a strong professional development program played lots of t20 leagues around the world and have team members who all follow the same ethos of aggressive strike play regardless of win or loss. This has been in play since 2015 if not before.

Now compare Pakistan. You mention Hassan Nawaz , Harris and Saim. They have not even played as much first class combined as Liam livingstone. Their 6 hitting is arbitrary and random. Like afridi. A mediocre record if there ever was one. Doesn’t matter that they will have a record breaking innings once in a while. What you want is 4-5 players with enough experience and confidence and 360 degree stroke play to take on the opposition. We just can’t develop this consistently. Harris certainly does on occasion as does Saim. Farhan looks to be solid and Nawaz anything but. Only time will tell

But you need to see these performances in PSL or other domestic tournaments first.

The RizBar fans will try to throw Aqib under the bus for this. I know these players and their fitrat all too well.

Aqib most likely wanted 2 seamers in the XI and the 3rd seamer being the fast bowling all rounder Faheem Ashraf. He forced the decision to include Faheem, why would he do so? It’s because he wanted a strategy of 2 spinners. You don’t pick a fast bowling all rounder. If you do not intend on playing the extra spinner. It’s plain and simple. This is why India have been building the work load on Pandya who is an average seamer but this allows them to pick 2 specialist spinners if they must.

Rizwan had a serious issue with this decision. Rizwan is the one who has been promoting and clinging around with Naseem Shah. Even in the PSL, Rizwan was truth to hijack the trade of Naseem to IU by offering 2-3 of MS’s good performers in place of him.

So the decision to play 3 seamers falls simply on Rizwan when you connect the dots. Aqib wasn’t going to budge from Shaheen and Rauf, and Rizwan wasn’t going to compromise on Naseem. All 3 played, even though only 2 of them should have played, Faheem as the 3rd seamer and 2 specialist spinners!
Exactly — it was a criminal decision. Had Pakistan taken a couple of proper spinners like Sajid Khan or Nauman Ali to the Champions Trophy, the outcome could’ve been very different. Rizwan’s stubborn insistence on batting at No. 4 in ODIs has also cost Pakistan crucial games. If he must play, he should come in at a position where he’s forced to fight or counterattack — not where the team needs consistent strike rotation and tempo.

I’m still convinced Saud Shakeel was sidelined after that innings against India precisely because he looked too good. He was the most assured middle-order batter we had — and yet, instead of being backed, he was quietly pushed out. I hate to say I called it, but it was obvious: they can’t fit Saud at No. 5 when Rizwan and Babar insist on occupying 3 and 4, both striking under 80 and both out of form.

And the irony? The only game they managed to win against West Indies was on the back of a brilliant knock from Hassan Nawaz — who will remain on chopping block due to the way he plays and the lack of cricketing sense in Pakistan.

That’s Pakistan cricket in a nutshell: liking, disliking and punish the players who win you games.

Not a fan of 3 different captains for 3 different formats, ideally all format captain, 1 captains for white ball (odi and t20) and 1 for test. I saw on BBN sports, they said Shaheen is favorite to be ODI captain, however Babar and Shan are in the race to possibly be captain as well.

Let me just pick up on this. You gave the example of Phil salt and harry brook.

That daring approach in English cricket works because you in English batting line up have proper first class players from number 1-7. They have been brought up in a strong professional development program played lots of t20 leagues around the world and have team members who all follow the same ethos of aggressive strike play regardless of win or loss. This has been in play since 2015 if not before.

Now compare Pakistan. You mention Hassan Nawaz , Harris and Saim. They have not even played as much first class combined as Liam livingstone. Their 6 hitting is arbitrary and random. Like afridi. A mediocre record if there ever was one. Doesn’t matter that they will have a record breaking innings once in a while. What you want is 4-5 players with enough experience and confidence and 360 degree stroke play to take on the opposition. We just can’t develop this consistently. Harris certainly does on occasion as does Saim. Farhan looks to be solid and Nawaz anything but. Only time will tell

But you need to see these performances in PSL or other domestic tournaments first.
Ok I’m glad we agree. Now we have to establish some parameters for what exactly we are debating.

So t20: in this crash bang wallop Mickey Mouse format I really don’t care who plays but there are some caveats. There is no place for babar/riz but you need a solidifying and calming presence in middle order batting when youngsters are going wild. Aghas presence is more important than the runs he scores. But that’s a moot point it could really be any senior. But all the players you mention are out and out hacks. They absolutely could progress to become gems but for that they would really need to play lots of first class. Saim for instance has played very little first class. I’m so against players making a step up to t20’s just based on a few good PSL GAMES but then it’s not their fault. Performing in whatever format they can is all they can do. I do like that management throw a rookie in and pull them out after a few matches to work on weaknesses. But it also can destroy confidence.

ODI: Pak odi team is actually quite settled. There are a few really good players coming to the boil, the right side of 30, with enough youngsters snapping at their heels. This is exactly the right balance. My main worry as you know has always been bowling. We tend to rely on batters gifting wickets rather than prise them out. A good captain is important but not as much as a couple of good fast/medium bowlers. We have none.

Tests: I actually think we have the making of a fantastic test team. Again fast bowling is the weakness. I like shan, hate abdullah, can’t wait for Saud to make a double hundred against a top team. Agha is class, the spin duo need backing and SSA is a lone warrior injury prone and quite lost. Nuff said.
I completely agree that our T20 batters must play red-ball cricket to round out their games. Two to three solid First-Class seasons could do wonders for players like Haris, Saim, and Hassan Nawaz — and it’s encouraging that the PCB finally seems to be moving in that direction.

First, the players Hesson and Agha are backing aren’t all guys without First-Class experience. Sahibzada Farhan averages 45 in FC cricket — that’s exactly the kind of foundation you want in your modern batters. Saim Ayub has already played two full FC seasons — about as much as Tilak Varma, for comparison. Even Mohammad Haris is having a solid FC season right now. Sure, Haris and Hassan Nawaz still need more red-ball cricket, but it’s not like they’re skipping that part of their development.

Second, the criticism that these players have “failed” or done poorly is just not accurate. Since debut, Farhan, Haris and Hassan all average above 20 with strike rates around 145–165. Those are exactly the impact numbers you look for in modern T20 batting.

Third, the word “hack” gets thrown around way too easily — and unfairly. Power-hitting isn’t hacking; it’s a specialized skill set. Players like Saim, Haris, and Hassan have rare attributes — fast hands, high back-lifts, natural bat speed, and the ability to hit all around the ground.

Take Hassan Nawaz, for instance. His high back-lift, quick feet against spin, and whippy bat swing allow him to create angles and generate power from the crease — those are learned mechanics, not luck. Similarly, Saim’s bat swing and Haris’s early length judgment are elite T20 tools that need fine-tuning, not rejection.

You don’t just play FC and become a strong T20 player either. These are different skills.

We keep misunderstanding aggressive talent as “unrefined, hack, tullay baaz” while giving endless patience to our conservative players — Rizwan, Babar, Shan, Saud — whose own games also need development. The difference is in style, not value. Both groups need refinement, but we only call one group “hacks.”

And that’s the core issue — we punish the skill set we actually lack the most. If players like Sehwag or Saeed Anwar had been judged by the same standards early in their careers, they might’ve never become the players they did because they were pretty poor at the start of their careers and I’ve seen how their careers developed too.

I completely agree that our T20 batters must play red-ball cricket to round out their games. Two to three solid First-Class seasons could do wonders for players like Haris, Saim, and Hassan Nawaz — and it’s encouraging that the PCB finally seems to be moving in that direction.

First, the players Hesson and Agha are backing aren’t all guys without First-Class experience. Sahibzada Farhan averages 45 in FC cricket — that’s exactly the kind of foundation you want in your modern batters. Saim Ayub has already played two full FC seasons — about as much as Tilak Varma, for comparison. Even Mohammad Haris is having a solid FC season right now. Sure, Haris and Hassan Nawaz still need more red-ball cricket, but it’s not like they’re skipping that part of their development.

Second, the criticism that these players have “failed” or done poorly is just not accurate. Since debut, Farhan, Haris and Hassan all average above 20 with strike rates around 145–165. Those are exactly the impact numbers you look for in modern T20 batting.

Third, the word “hack” gets thrown around way too easily — and unfairly. Power-hitting isn’t hacking; it’s a specialized skill set. Players like Saim, Haris, and Hassan have rare attributes — fast hands, high back-lifts, natural bat speed, and the ability to hit all around the ground.

Take Hassan Nawaz, for instance. His high back-lift, quick feet against spin, and whippy bat swing allow him to create angles and generate power from the crease — those are learned mechanics, not luck. Similarly, Saim’s bat swing and Haris’s early length judgment are elite T20 tools that need fine-tuning, not rejection.

You don’t just play FC and become a strong T20 player either. These are different skills.

We keep misunderstanding aggressive talent as “unrefined, hack, tullay baaz” while giving endless patience to our conservative players — Rizwan, Babar, Shan, Saud — whose own games also need development. The difference is in style, not value. Both groups need refinement, but we only call one group “hacks.”

And that’s the core issue — we punish the skill set we actually lack the most. If players like Sehwag or Saeed Anwar had been judged by the same standards early in their careers, they might’ve never become the players they did because they were pretty poor at the start of their careers and I’ve seen how their careers developed too.
Ok now you’re mixing and matching lots of different formats and points. Let me break it down.

Farhan. Excellent player getting a good run. Decent first class record. Kg same age and experience decent player lots of first class only inconsistent selection. Deserves a run in Odi.

Saim, Nawaz, Harris. The younger generation. Getting inconsistent selection. Why. There are serious gaps in their game. They are temperamentally weak, have serious flaws in their footwork and have a lot of premeditated shots in their repertoire often getting out the same way which means they are on bowlers radars. So they are good for a few games and then a quick drop so they can iron out deficiencies and make a comeback. Which they will.

This is nothing compared to the weaknesses of babar and Rizwan. Sure babar has a massive flaw with left arm spin and Rizwan struggles with strike rotation eating up vital deliveries. His bat comes down from 3rd slip so essentially he’s playing every off side ball to leg side.

But. You need players better than them to replace them. Saud is. KG isn’t.
But as you are discussing t20. It’s time younger guys replace them but those younger guys have a long long way to go. They will get there by playing first class, lots of t20’s and possibly Odi. They have to play 365 days a year. That’s competition for places. It’s healthy.

Farhan has had lots of chances. Nawaz Harris and Saim just have to fight their way back. It’s absolutely the right way.

But for every Farhan there is an Umar Kamal , Umar Amin Nadir jamshed shohaib maqsood. (Players good for a few innings till they are found out)