Pentangular ODI Cup final 2008-09: Punjab Stallions v Federal Areas Panthers

Captain Shoaib Akhtar joins Amin in the middle. He has to contribute something with the bat.

201/7 (45)

He's pushing 145 I'm sure, and that too on dead pitches. As mentioned he's like one of those street tape tennis quickies that dart in and give it their all. The ball is often a blur.

Puts a lot into every delivery and his length and lankiness help in flinging the ball.

amarmak said:
shoaib has been really lucky (i cant say its his captaincy :p)

everytime and i mean everytime he's made a change the new bowler has taken a wicket in the first over.

If the same had happened with Younis or Afridi
Everyone would be saying great captaincy etc
Sadly everyone is biased toward him

There was still one ball left in the 45th over, and shoaib gets 2 runs off it.

203/7 (45)

siccric said:
I think you'd enjoy Pakpassion commentary more than Mirza Iqbal Baig and company. But if you don't mind that and constant chattering in the background, I don't mind :P

cool yaar, whats your MSN so I can get the #?

mine is uddinm33@msn.com

Well how is Amin`s temp? I mean can he play big shots as well when required?

amarmak said:
wahab has done exactly what gul does...

With a considerable bit of luck. He looked pretty ordinary to me when I was watching, to be honest.

Commentators saying Amin should be playing some big shots, but i don't think he should yet. Maybe in the last 2 or 3 overs, he can't afford to get out now.

Really good bouncer to shoaib, surprised him a bit.

its been different for wahab in this match... he looked good from the first ball. getting two guys caught behind with away swingers and an old ball. job well done

amarmak said:
its been different for wahab in this match... he looked good from the first ball. getting two guys caught behind with away swingers and an old ball. job well done
How quick is he in terms of Kph? I remember him when he played som ODIs for Pakistan. He bowled many no-balls but he did get the extra bit of bounce from the deck.

OUT!!

Shoaib tried to sweep that to fine leg, gets hit on the pads and given lbw.

Bad decision, that clearly hit him a few inches outside the line of offstump.

Talha picks up Shoaib lbw, looked like it hit him outside the line. Deserved another though, troubled Shoaib with pace through the over.

207-8 after 46.

Sheikh said:
Talha picks up Shoaib lbw, looked like it hit him outside the line. Deserved another though, troubled Shoaib with pace through the over.

207-8 after 46.
:akhtar

IAJ said:
How quick is he in terms of Kph? I remember him when he played som ODIs for Pakistan. He bowled many no-balls but he did get the extra bit of bounce from the deck.

mid to high 130's... but the overall application has been better then what we've seen before

Umar Amins ave. is close to 55 now :) allthough he has just played 13 matches at this level

The 45th over went for 23 runs. Poor Wahab

OUT!!!

Amin finally gets out, walked across the stumps and Wahab bowled a beautiful yorker. Gone plumb lbw!

Amin finally goes lbw to Riaz. Looked like it was slipping down leg.

Fine knock, 77 off 104.

one more wicket for wahab and this final will be a memorable one for him with a fivefer

Sheikh said:
Amin finally goes lbw to Riaz. Looked like it was slipping down leg.

Fine knock, 77 off 104.

THAT WAS ABSOLUTELY PLUMB.... is anyone else watching confirm

amarmak said:
THAT WAS ABSOLUTELY PLUMB.... is anyone else watching confirm
It was reversing, he moved across his stumps and it hit him on middle and leg. Would have probably clipped leg stump. I've seen those turned down.

siccric said:
It's saying this service is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later..

That might be why I can't log in.

Whats your MSN if you're on? I'll use a mobile version

What is happening with stupid cricinfo now. They are changing the scorecard all the time.

wajahat said:
anyone watching the game: please confirm current score.

yeah i know... it was reversing. umar shuffled across and both middle and leg were visible. it was middle of middle for sure.

218 all out.

WAHAB GETS A FIVERfer...

Man sooo much bowling talent we have.

MashaAllah infinity :D

PlanetPakistan said:
how did Riaz go from 8-0-56-1 to 9-0-43-4??

Miracles do happen!

Once innings is over, can someone confirm how long lunch will be?

We're gonna try to get this audio stuff set up fast so we can listen to the 2nd innings

OUT!!

Rao hits one straight to midwicket. 5 wickets for Riaz!

So Federal areas are 218 all out. Not a very good score, is their bowling attack good enough to defend that? I think they'l need to get 10 wickets.

218/9 in 48 ovrs.
Talha and Akhtar will have to strike early and consistently take wickets if the Leopards are to win this

natalia said:
218/9 in 48 ovrs.
Talha and Akhtar will have to strike early and consistently take wickets if the Leopards are to win this
U mean tanvir and akhtar

The Leopards' bowling attack is really strong. Tanvir, Rao, Akhtar, Arafat, Ajmal.
Punjab should win this but only after a big scare from the bowlers

I think cricinfo needed this innings-break badly..

Obeid said:
Miracles do happen!

Once innings is over, can someone confirm how long lunch will be?

We're gonna try to get this audio stuff set up fast so we can listen to the 2nd innings

Jaldi ker yaar. Jaldi jaldi..I dont wanna miss captain sahab winning it for Stallion once again. :wasim

Id expect Punjab to get this total with a couple of wickets down. Good to see Wahab Riaz do well.

Umar Amin scoring runs at right time, a call up for S.L series?

Id expect Punjab to get this total with a couple of wickets down. Good to see Wahab Riaz do well.

Umar Amin scoring runs at right time, a call up for S.L series?

Too soon for him i think.

^ Cricinfo's having live commentary done..

Wahab riaz did a Sajdah in the end, Mashallah.. :) Very nice piece of bowling from him.. Spoke very highly of Malik as well, saying the role he was given befitted him perfectly :)

Let's see how Punjab fares against :akhtar, :sohail, :rao .. The game is still not out yet.. :)

1.2 Sohail Tanvir to Nasir Jamshed, 3 runs, Miscued push squirts away through midwicket
1.1 Sohail Tanvir to Nasir Jamshed, no run, beautiful outswinger, draws jamshed forward and beats his prod
End of over 1 (2 runs) - Punjab Stallions 2/0 (217 runs required)
Azhar Ali 0* (4b) Shoaib Akhtar 1-0-2-0
Nasir Jamshed 1* (2b)

Got anything trying to stream the video or audio?
I don't understand the audio but yeah, who cares :|

Well brothers, while we are enjoying this match, the series between pak - lanka is doubtful now, take a look at the thread.

My boy Nasir Jamshed is on fire.. with 7 runs of 10 haha good decision to let him open with Azhar.

Ok, we almost have the audio of the match up

Just maybe 10 more minutes.

Good cricket, Tanvir bowls four deliveries outside offstump and Azhar leaves all four.

Eagle Eyes said:
My boy Nasir Jamshed is on fire.. with 7 runs of 10 haha good decision to let him open with Azhar.

Doesn't look like he's on fire. Most of them were tentive shots.

Maiden over by Tanvir. 11/0 (4.0)

Another short ball, Jamshed pulls it for four again. Looks like he got a thick outside edge there.

Shoaib follows it up by another short one, i think he's found something in Jamshed's technique to persist with that length.

The problem with Jamshed is that he is not a quick runner, he is only 19 and can hardly run, he better do something with that because this will affect his batting also as the reflexes will get slower and slower.