[PICTURE] New stadiums in Bahria Town in Karachi and Lahore

TalentSpotterPk

Bahia town has just announced Bahria sports city in Karachi.

This project has a plan to build an International cricket stadium like Dubai Cricket stadium accompanied by an A class gymnasium , swimming pool & a 7 star Hotel next to the stadium.

The idea is to revive international cricket in pakistan and to provide a safe well equipped facility to international teams.

It was very much needed and PCB could not afford it.

# It's a great Idea.

# Will take 2 , 3 years to accomplish.

# Great to see Private Sector contributing to the Society.

1091118-PICBahriaTowncopy-1461527008-273-640x480.jpg

This project has a plan to build an International cricket stadium like Dubai Cricket stadium accompanied by an A class gymnasium , swimming pool & a 7 star Hotel next to the stadium.

The idea is to revive international cricket in pakistan and to provide a safe well equipped facility to international teams.

# It's a great Idea.

If that's the idea, then I'm afraid it's unlikely to make a difference.

Excellent initiative for locals nonetheless.

And i heard the capacity will be of 50K

Probably the biggest ground of Pakistan

If that's the idea, then I'm afraid it's unlikely to make a difference.

Excellent initiative for locals nonetheless.

Many people in the past on PP and on Electronic media have given this idea that there should be such a facility where hotel , gym , swimming pool & ground are at one place in one premises so that teams do not have to move through buses and a much better safety plan can be devised.

Similarly Pakistan Women team had been provided with such a facility in India 1 or 2 years ago when they visited India. There were voices raised against pakistan team visit and extremist elements were on a high but team remained safe & secure.

Though it's a isolated arrangement but a much safer option for visiting teams.

Good, we need more stadiums and clubs in big cities so that we can make 2 teams from Karachi next time in PSL :mj

Itna talent hai karachi mein ?

Tailunt is definitely there.

3 international class batsman only in Karachi :

Ahsan Ali , Saad Ali , Saud Shakeel.

2 decent 4 day bowlers :

Zohaib Shera & Mir Hamza.

1 quality T20 seam up bowler

Rumman Raees.

1 Strong Karachi team playing in Bahria sports city stadium will be fine :-)

Many people in the past on PP and on Electronic media have given this idea that there should be such a facility where hotel , gym , swimming pool & ground are at one place in one premises so that teams do not have to move through buses and a much better safety plan can be devised.

Similarly Pakistan Women team had been provided with such a facility in India 1 or 2 years ago when they visited India. There were voices raised against pakistan team visit and extremist elements were on a high but team remained safe & secure.

Though it's a isolated arrangement but a much safer option for visiting teams.

I agree with everything you say. I just don't think it's going to convince most teams to come.

Itna talent hai karachi mein ?

Tailunt is definitely there.

3 international class batsman only in Karachi :

Ahsan Ali , Saad Ali , Saud Shakeel.

2 decent 4 day bowlers :

Zohaib Shera & Mir Hamza.

1 quality T20 seam up bowler

Rumman Raees.

1 Strong Karachi team playing in Bahria sports city stadium will be fine :-)

Talent will come eventually. PSL needs to think more like a football league. Like in EPL, they have a team for each town. And they use the talent they have in their town and build from there. They do buy players from other parts but they don't fill it from 1 to 11 positions like we see in PSL and other T20 leagues. That's why I rate BBL very highly. They work on these principles and are finding success very quickly.

Only problem with that analogy is the franchise system.

PSL (or any other T20 league except the T20 Blast) shut down and cease to exist until the season begins again in a year's time.

I agree with everything you say. I just don't think it's going to convince most teams to come.

It's a step in the right direction. Whether teams will come or not is another debate for another time. What do you want to do hath pay hath deh kar bethain rahen just because teams currently are refusing to tour us ?? We need to be proactive in order for cricket to well and truly come back home and hence this step is quite encouraging and praiseworthy.

Not to dampen the excitement here but i would take the news with a pinch of salt coming from a person like Malik Riaz.

We have a equavelent of Malik Riaz in India and he is building entire Sports City next to delhi. Among tons of stadia he was supposed to build so far he has only built a Formula 1 venue, these builders do it to raise the price of their property around it as they own everything close to the venue.
If prices go up then they will build the infrastructure otherwise they will just keep it hanging.
If you see renders of the stadiums then they all look world class but its more for the consumption of the property owners in that area

It's a step in the right direction. Whether teams will come or not is another debate for another time. What do you want to do hath pay hath deh kar bethain rahen just because teams currently are refusing to tour us ?? We need to be proactive in order for cricket to well and truly come back home and hence this step is quite encouraging and praiseworthy.

At no point did I suggest we should not be doing it or that it isn't encouraging/praiseworthy.

Stupid Idea and a wastage of money.................

Bahria Town made a stadium in Bahria Rawal Pindi. Its called the Rafi stadium. The stadium is the second best stadium in whole of Rawal Pindi.

But no first class, domestic district or even club matches take place there. The director there is eating money and not bringing in actual cricket.

The ground is only used by Ali Riaz.................

Stupid Idea and a wastage of money.................

Bahria Town made a stadium in Bahria Rawal Pindi. Its called the Rafi stadium. The stadium is the second best stadium in whole of Rawal Pindi.

But no first class, domestic district or even club matches take place there. The director there is eating money and not bringing in actual cricket.

The ground is only used by Ali Riaz.................

Could price for booking the Stadium might be an issue. First Class matches and our domestic system is ridiculously underfunded and the facilities as mentioned in the OP will be international standards. The Stadium is being built for international matches so booking them would be priced on the international scale don't you think....

grounds are always booked for its pitch not for the stadium as whole, and if the stadium was available for matches to the public, booking it wont be a problem for some.

Even this stadium is an international stadium, and the second best stadium in Rawal Pindi. But no matches take place.

grounds are always booked for its pitch not for the stadium as whole, and if the stadium was available for matches to the public, booking it wont be a problem for some.

Even this stadium is an international stadium, and the second best stadium in Rawal Pindi. But no matches take place.

I am not talking about why the grounds are booked, I am saying booking it would be costly since it's under Baharia town administration and they would charge for the facilities provided that come along with the booking of the ground as well.

This is the reason why there are no first class matches in your Rawalpindi Stadium since FC and Domestics are underfunded and don't have the dough to book such a private high facility outlet. The same analogy can be used for regular folks or private teams / tournaments.

These prices however would be very affordable for an international team hence the idea is applicable and can be implemented to revive cricket back in the country.

# It's a great Idea.

how miraculous is this? was just going to post in another thread that a ground should be made by malik sahb in bahria and unfortunately this thread!!!

I am not talking about why the grounds are booked, I am saying booking it would be costly since it's under Baharia town administration and they would charge for the facilities provided that come along with the booking of the ground as well.

This is the reason why there are no first class matches in your Rawalpindi Stadium since FC and Domestics are underfunded and don't have the dough to book such a private high facility outlet. The same analogy can be used for regular folks or private teams / tournaments.

These prices however would be very affordable for an international team hence the idea is applicable and can be implemented to revive cricket back in the country.

Whenever a stadium or a ground is booked, only the price of pitch is what people pay for, not for the other stuff, the other stuff is not even allowed to be used.

Rawal Pindi stadium is used in first clas, district, u19, u16 matche...........

The cost of booking a pitch for a day is divided between 22 players of two teams. So one person has to pay 100- 300 max. CHalo even if Bahria charges 500, people are still willing to pay that price, but yet these guys dont allow any matches to take place.

Ali Riaz only uses the stadium for himself. Lets see what happens in Karachi now.

how miraculous is this? was just going to post in another thread that a ground should be made by malik sahb in bahria and unfortunately this thread!!!

I like a idea.

Another thing is that all of our stadiums are so old and ancient wrt looks & facilities.

Pcb must develop Mirpur cricket stadium it's such a beauty. We can make lively wickets over there & in Abbottabad too.
[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION]

I was watching Ghulam Ali. He said 15 years ago pcb used to organise some matches of domestic cricket in Gujranwala cricket stadium. Now they don't and stadium is closed. He said that that is Pakistan's fastest & bounciest wicket. Bit like Australian wickets.

Whenever a stadium or a ground is booked, only the price of pitch is what people pay for, not for the other stuff, the other stuff is not even allowed to be used.

Rawal Pindi stadium is used in first clas, district, u19, u16 matche...........

The cost of booking a pitch for a day is divided between 22 players of two teams. So one person has to pay 100- 300 max. CHalo even if Bahria charges 500, people are still willing to pay that price, but yet these guys dont allow any matches to take place.

Ali Riaz only uses the stadium for himself. Lets see what happens in Karachi now.

Why pcb does not play any domestic cricket in Gujranwala, sheikhupura cricket stadiums ?

they probably do have district matches there or u19, but First Class isn't possible there because they are not main Regions. I think first class matches take place in the main region. For example, Sialkot in this case. Or for Jehlum and attock it would be Rawal Pindi Cricket Stadium

Good step.In a few years time the PCB should also use the profit to renovate the National stadium,especially from the outside.

They do materilaze but they are often not as grand as his initial claims

So like the ground will be made but id be surprised if its anywhere near National Stadium standard let alone be better,

Dont worry about standard.

You should take alook at his Rafi Stadium Standard, its much better then the Pindi Club Stadium, but problem is they dont have any matches.

Dont worry about standard.

You should take alook at his Rafi Stadium Standard, its much better then the Pindi Club Stadium, but problem is they dont have any matches.

Question: Is it PCB's responsibility to select grounds or people who have them?

They do materilaze but they are often not as grand as his initial claims

So like the ground will be made but id be surprised if its anywhere near National Stadium standard let alone be better,

To be fair the biggest question always had been the means by which he has become billionaire.

The state of the art work Bahria Town does is not questionable. From tallest building of Pakistan to the grabd Mosque everything is state of the art. And he has revolutionalised modern living in pakistan.

I don't agree he has been short of his claims regarding his projects as of yet.

Since Bahria Town karachi is in early stage so you might not be assured yet but if you get a chance do visit BT Rwp & Lhr. Just we years ago everyone was like it's all fraud it will never happen on ground , he will runaway with the money of mass public etc etc but it did not happen so.

I think BT has the resources and the will and it will make it happen.

I think amongst test cricket nations we are the ones who constructed a new international cricket farthest time back. Fine after attack on SLC team in 2009 we did not have international teams touring us until 2015 but eveb than when was the last time we constructed a new stadium or renovated a cricket stadium ?

Question: Is it PCB's responsibility to select grounds or people who have them?

PCB only finds out about grounds when club cricketers play at these grounds, when the facilities are used, and slowly th e word spreads. Buts its important that if i own a ground, i should make a Grade 2 team, it saves me a huge amount of tax and get to play at my stadium aswell, thats where the real promotion of the stadium starts.

I like a idea.

Another thing is that all of our stadiums are so old and ancient wrt looks & facilities.

Pcb must develop Mirpur cricket stadium it's such a beauty. We can make lively wickets over there & in Abbottabad too.

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION]

I was watching Ghulam Ali. He said 15 years ago pcb used to organise some matches of domestic cricket in Gujranwala cricket stadium. Now they don't and stadium is closed. He said that that is Pakistan's fastest & bounciest wicket. Bit like Australian wickets.

100percent agree with Abbottabad due to its weather etc, have no idea about Mirpur, but if you're tyalking about int. cricket then they really need to invest a lot; while i'll be the first one to watch an int. match in Abbottabad ...that beauty of nature!

This is a very good idea..Bahria town is mostly build away from main city and is it self a city within a city , it has much stronger city and is far more secure ...it may bring back international teams to Pakistan

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Its not about talent but a massive population, technically quetta is owned by karachi businessman and has all the karachi players coaches

Good step by malik riaz.

i am hoping that he buys a PSL team next year. He can easily do that. and He should do that.

Good step by malik riaz.

i am hoping that he buys a PSL team next year. He can easily do that. and He should do that.

I hear people call him a big fraud etc, are these mere allegations or something concrete evidence against him? If the latter is truth he should stay away from PSL, you dont wana have a pakistani version of Srini.

Not sure about bringing back international cricket, but if they have more stadiums with good hotels connected in the country, then they could easily bring the PSL to Pakistan.

I hear people call him a big fraud etc, are these mere allegations or something concrete evidence against him? If the latter is truth he should stay away from PSL, you dont wana have a pakistani version of Srini.

Nothing has been proved against him, and he is on top 10 list of most wealthiest person in Pakistan.
he is a big name. i was a bit disappointed that he didn't buy PSL team in 1st season.

Nothing has been proved against him, and he is on top 10 list of most wealthiest person in Pakistan.
he is a big name. i was a bit disappointed that he didn't buy PSL team in 1st season.

Too much ICC Restriction.... I guess Malik Riaz is the same guy who told in live show that... In Pakistan you can buy anyone or some thing like basically he says without bribe nothing works in pakistan....

New Bahria Town cricket stadium

Many Pak news channel reporting that Bharia town is making a new cricket stadium, there showing a 3D deisgn of it on various Pak channels and it looks pretty good

Here's a YouTube video of its 3D design: https://youtu.be/pZQZX-cGSAg

Complete waste of money if you ask me.. An international match if held in Karachi will most probably be held at the National Stadium, where PCB can collect the gate fees

They would most likely rent the stadium, that way they can still make money. From what I heard a hotel will be constructed near the stadium hence eliminating the travel risks.

Design looks impressive! Same architects as those who designed the Dubai stadium.

Pls keep this discussion limited to cricket

Yeah but it should not be same like dubai stadium.Bahria town should really think they have to build a stadium + identity of a stadium too which will be Pak's biggest stadium and it will also represent Pakistan's cricket from some way..not a Copy where ppls say that it is a copy or same model as Dubai stadium

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

need one in Islamabad not karachi. Waste of money and will stand empty. A stadium in islamabad is the best chance to bring regular cricket to pakistan. Actually two stadiums would do. A slightly smaller ground for test cricket and a bigger one for limited overs. pumping more money into karachi cricket at this moment in time is silly..

KARACHI:

The architecture design of Bahria Sports City’s Rafi Cricket Stadium has been completed, according to a press release issued by Bahria Town. Construction on what will be Pakistan’s largest cricket stadium with a seating capacity of 50,000 will begin soon.

Bahria announced the project two months back and signed a contract with GMP Germany for structural design. The three-level stadium has been designed in accordance with ICC standards. The complex will consist of a cricket academy of international standard, gymnasium, swimming pool and hostels.

Famous international players will be hired at the cricket academy who will promote local as well as international cricket. The sports academy will have two full size outdoor cricket fields and 12,000 square metres indoor sports and recreational facilities. Spacious area of land has been allocated which will be sufficient to park more than 10,000 cars.

Bahria CEO Ali Riaz Malik said the construction of the largest cricket stadium was an honour for his organisation.

Bahria Town has awarded contract of the stadium to famous German firm, GMP Architects, which has also built an international cricket stadium at Dubai Sports City. In this regard, the Bahria Town’s Chief Executive Officer Ahmed Ali Riaz Malik and GMP Architects’ Markus Pfisterer signed a deal in Dubai in February.

Speaking on the occasion, Ali Riaz said Bahria Town had the distinction of introducing the most modern facilities in Pakistan. “It is an honour to build Pakistan’s largest cricket stadium in Karachi. The project will help in encouraging sports as well as tourism in the country,” he said.

He said the real estate group will keep introducing such projects, which are greatly appreciated by the general public. “Such projects will, insha Allah, prove to be the best projects of the country,” he added.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1091118...-pakistans-largest-cricket-stadium-finalised/

i can imagine it gahtering dust like the biomechanics lab from a few years ago. expect news like this during the enxt five years:

" Largest cricket stadium mired in corruption scandal"
"Karachi says no to large cricket stadium"
"ICC refuses to intervene to help bring cricket to pakistan. Large stadium projects under threat"
"The great white elephant. How a dream ended"
" Pakistans stadiums stand empty as cricket boycott continues!"
"Zimbabwe refuse to play in karachi due to security situation prefer Islamabad"
and so forth...

Looks good, looks a bit like Jawahar Lal Nehru Stadium Delhi.

Lets say international cricket returns to Pakistan this year then still this stadium wont be able to host one or two matches in every couple of years. Instead they should make it a multipurpose stadium so they can have revenue stream working even during off days.

During these tough times all I think about are the freaking Taliban.

This is a great idea but we should not and cannot be building anything, especially beautiful buildings like that as long as Taliban exists.

They will curse our beautiful stadium and take it down just mere days after it's finalized, I can't be the only one who has this kind of mindset?

too much negativity yet again shown here by fans
he is private developer, he got money.
he is building cricket stadium WITHIN sports complex WITHIN his mega project
so why ppl are against it ?
cricket is gonna come back to Pakistan or not, that's another issue.
money he is building this stadium is not PCB money and its not Govt money

too much negativity yet again shown here by fans
he is private developer, he got money.
he is building cricket stadium WITHIN sports complex WITHIN his mega project
so why ppl are against it ?
cricket is gonna come back to Pakistan or not, that's another issue.
money he is building this stadium is not PCB money and its not Govt money
Most of the fans are even more against because bahria town building that stadium in karachi...thats a shame we never think as a Pakistani.security issues in every city of Pakistan are same..zim refused to play in karachi bcuz karachi had some bad past due to bhatta, target killing etc but the point is now just suppose if any international team is willing to come and play here.are they going to play in lahore? After recently terrorist attack in gulshan e iqbal park? so even Islamabad isn't safe..we have to think as a one NATION and also pray for our COUNTRY that we get our cricket back

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

A 50,000 full seater international grade cricket stadium finally. With 4k cameras hopefully too.

Building work done so far, coming along nicely.

Could be wasted money if no International matches are played on Pakistan in the near future though.

Looks good. Is there a timeline for when this will be completed?

All I know is work has started. Its part of a sports city that is being built. I would say 18 months if not more. Trying to find a completion date on the web.

Is Malik Riaz the land mafia don?

Malik Riaz is the arguably the strongest man in Pakistan. He has an apartment in the same Park Lane in which Nawaz is involved in SC these days.

Also see below:

image-51.jpeg

BAHRIA TOWN RAFI STADIUM -this stadium is the only hope for int. cricket.

RAFI stadium is really the only hope for pakistan to host international matches in the country...
the atmosphere is really good and it will also reduce security expenses. .. this stadium is a blessing. Najam sethi and co should seriously stop chanting Gaddafi Gaddafi stadium. Rafi stadium is seriously far and far better. It is much secure and the environment will also impress foreigners and that for sure plus u don't need to give this dam five tier president level security to foreigners. PCB or whosoever has undertaken the project should complete it on fast track basis and PCB should press the panic button to complete it . I heard it is to be completed early next year and it would be better if it is done early. if u just google about the stadium and its surroundings, u will surely accept dat it is way way better than lahore (as of now because of security and all that) and surely foreigners wont hav too many hesitations because the atmosphere is really damn good for even Donald Trump to impress (lol. dat trump talk is just joke but rafi stadium is the only way forward)
wat do u people think about it......

RAFI stadium is really the only hope for pakistan to host international matches in the country...
the atmosphere is really good and it will also reduce security expenses. .. this stadium is a blessing. Najam sethi and co should seriously stop chanting Gaddafi Gaddafi stadium. Rafi stadium is seriously far and far better. It is much secure and the environment will also impress foreigners and that for sure plus u don't need to give this dam five tier president level security to foreigners. PCB or whosoever has undertaken the project should complete it on fast track basis and PCB should press the panic button to complete it . I heard it is to be completed early next year and it would be better if it is done early. if u just google about the stadium and its surroundings, u will surely accept dat it is way way better than lahore (as of now because of security and all that) and surely foreigners wont hav too many hesitations because the atmosphere is really damn good for even Donald Trump to impress (lol. dat trump talk is just joke but rafi stadium is the only way forward)

Most definitely do but has the work for it even been started? Seriously doubt it.

From the pictures, it seems it will be the best stadium in SC!! Any update on progress?

PCB need to make a stadium in Islamabad under their ownership as PAK's national stadium. It's like the Wembley or Stad de France; with accommodation for 50 VIPs & all sorts of practice facilities within stadium or surrounding areas so that, even teams like AUS & ENG can fly there, stay in under cover security & play 5/6 ODI/T20 in same venue for 2 weeks. That's should have been the plan 7 years back.

Construction has not started yet. It will 18 months from when construction starts so will not be ready for next PSL.

When it is ready it will be a international grade stadium. I cannot wait to see Pakistan play in this stadium, finally looking like we are in the 21st century.

BAHRIA TOWN RAFI STADIUM -this stadium is the only hope for int. cricket .

RAFI stadium is really the only hope for pakistan
to host international matches in the country.. .
the atmosphere is really good and it will also
reduce security expenses . .. this stadium is a
blessing. Najam sethi and co should seriously
stop chanting Gaddafi Gaddafi stadium. Rafi
stadium is seriously far and far better. It is much
secure and the environment will also impress
foreigners and that for sure plus u don' t need to
give this dam five tier president level security to
foreigners. PCB or whosoever has undertaken the
project should complete it on fast track basis
and PCB should press the panic button to
complete it . I heard it is to be completed early
next year and it would be better if it is done
early. if u just google about the stadium and its
surroundings, u will surely accept dat it is way
way better than lahore ( as of now because of
security and all that ) and surely foreigners wont
hav too many hesitations because the
atmosphere is really damn good for even Donald
Trump to impress ( lol . dat trump talk is just joke
but rafi stadium is the only way forward )
wat do u people think about it .I think this is the only way forward.

this is about the rafi stadium karachi...... not lahore's bahria town

Share some pics man! Can't see it online. Don't think so the work has been all done and dusted

just an year ago it was planned to be made...

Share some pics man! Can't see it online. Don't think so the work has been all done and dusted

just an year ago it was planned to be made...
that is lahores bahria town stadium. ... this one rafi stadium is in karachis bahria town

Whom is it named after?

the contract has been awarded to german company so without any doubt it would be completed on date..... the construction started in april 2016

Imagine floodlit packed 50,000 people. 4k cameras. This is what the world should see when they tune in to watch Pakistan cricket.

I've heard the work has started on Rafi stadium. Not sure if it will be ready to host the PSL final next year.

Imagine floodlit packed 50,000 people. 4k cameras. This is what the world should see when they tune in to watch Pakistan cricket.

i tell u that will be simply superb...... imagine imagine..... hope matches will be hosted there as it is the primary motive of stadium to host international matches.

Latest is construction has laid its base.Stadium build will start by late 2017.

If there is one person in Pakistan who can meet such a tight schedule it is Malik Riaz.

Hopefully the stadium is ready in time for PSL 2018.