[PICTURE] Will the new trench system at Gaddafi Stadium revolutionize cricket viewing in the subcontinent?

I posted the picture to show a "running catch" or "saving the boundary" ...... plus we all know that there has been no matches played at a cricket ground with any trench. :)

Thanks for posting your picture. I had not seen a Gaddafi Stadium picture with the fence that will protect players from falling into the trench.

I wonder how high the fence will be. Do you know? If I have to guess from your picture, it is 4-5 feet high.

These types of fences have worked very well in India for years... I don't know how trench will work better than these fences.

View attachment 149932
You can see how far the seats are from the ground in this picture whereas in Gaddafi the seats now look much closer to the ground. Fantastic stuff.

Ok, so you are an overseas who probably never been to a cricket match in Pakistan, and doesnt know the viewing obstruction. Plz give a better solution to have fences removed?

I dont really expect a reply, because instead of talking about solutions or options, you just want to hate Naqvi for political reasons.

National stadium karachis biggest issue has been the fence obstruction

1. This "overseas" thing is getting tiring.. come up with something new..
2. I have watched many games of cricket in Pakistan, I'm sure many of those were before you hit puberty.
3. I've supported Pakistan Cricket since the 70's and have seen governments come and go, idiots taking the helm, some corrupt and others just incompetent, none of this has stopped me from supporting Pakistan Cricket.
4 Solutions? Others have addressed this so nothing more to add but if I can think of other alternatives I'll be back

No

The gap between the boundary and the fence is about 3 meters

The fence its self is 1 meter high

I can't imagine a player doing a jump which is 3 metres long and 1 meter high when saving the ball
Yes, I knew you had said that fence is 1 meter high. What I meant was; for a fielder to trip over 1 meter high fence into the trench won't be impossible.. as the fence is right on the edge of the trench.

1737331751813.png

I don't see anyone making such a big jump. The boundary appears to be 2-3 meters away, followed by a 1-meter-high fence.
worst case scenario someone might hit into the fence but i cant see anyone falling inside the trench
Let's see what happens. We'll find out in Tri-Series ... how players deal with it.

Yes, I knew you had said that fence is 1 meter high. What I meant was; for a fielder to trip over 1 meter high fence into the trench won't be impossible.. as the fence is right on the edge of the trench.

View attachment 149936
Why would a fielder stand 3 to 4 metres outside the boundary unless they're just fetching the ball?

If they jump to stop the ball outside the boundary, it’s a six anyway.

And if they jump and fall outside, it’s not like they’re going to magically fly in thr air and fall in the trench

The picture your showing is a bad example the trench isn't going to be anything like that

You can see how far the seats are from the ground in this picture whereas in Gaddafi the seats now look much closer to the ground. Fantastic stuff.
I have watched many matches in Gaddafi Stadium... and I think, you may be right, if you are talking about this distance.
I would love to know the exact distance before and after the renovation though. :)

1737332237178.png

Here is an older picture...
1737332604512.png

Another thing the I have noticed ... is that the number of rows in the new stadium are many more than the old stadium. The angle of the seats is steeper in the new stadium. New stadium picture in of the left.

1737332924430.png

I was replying to @Slim who said that distance of the seats seems closer.

He said..that the distance between very first (bottom) row of the seats and the wicket in the new stadium.
It looks good and I have seen some videos from the seats and the view looks amazing from the seats.

Only the bottom few seats might have issue but those tickets will be going for 1000 rupees think

Those are not major stadiums. So you basically have no examples equivalent to Lahore?
rapur holds 65 k people. Gadaffi is 40k and dharamshala is 23k

Point is, we are discussing trenches,

Nothing screams we are a warzone.

Like building trenches. Inside a cricket stadium.

Guaranteed some paindu did this.

Based on watching experiences through fences. A fence obstruct the view.
What watching experience? You haven’t been to Indian stadiums so you shouldn’t be commenting on whether they provide a good watching experience or not.

Indian stadiums are world class, far better than Pakistani stadiums including the ones that are being revamped.

What watching experience? You haven’t been to Indian stadiums so you shouldn’t be commenting on whether they provide a good watching experience or not.

Indian stadiums are world class, far better than Pakistani stadiums including the ones that are being revamped.
Again, when you place a fence, it obstructs your viewing experience.

I have never been to sharjah stadium, but just through pictures and video i can tell that those fences block the view because i have faced same issues at pindi stadium.

I dont know where you are taking discussion to. No one is making claims that pakistan has better stadiums or india has bad stadiums.

The discussion is about how fences look terrible and block view and how this issue exists in subcontinent. And thus, how the trench system improves the experience.

At the end of the day, whether its india, pakistan, sharjah, the fence does obstruct rhe view and trying to argue against it makes 0 sense

IMG_4499.webp

Now that’s what you call a “view”.

A trench isn’t going to stop someone from entering the field, we’re talking about people that climb trees to watch a match.

There’s so many better alternatives to keeping fans in the stands. You could’ve raised the stands like in some of the baseball stadiums where the first line of seats are 3-4 metres above the ground.

German shepards.

G4S stewards.

Mamay on roller skates.

View attachment 149951

A trench isn’t going to stop someone from entering the field, we’re talking about people that climb trees to watch a match.

There’s so many better alternatives to keeping fans in the stands. You could’ve raised the stands like in some of the baseball stadiums where the first line of seats are 3-4 metres above the ground.

German shepards.

G4S stewards.

Mamay on roller skates.
Also pitch invasions in football grounds (in the top division) were the norm prior to the last twenty years.
I don't see a trench around the pitch to stop this happening and yet pitch invasions are now history in the top flight. Why can't we learn from the west?

Again, when you place a fence, it obstructs your viewing experience.

I have never been to sharjah stadium, but just through pictures and video i can tell that those fences block the view because i have faced same issues at pindi stadium.

I dont know where you are taking discussion to. No one is making claims that pakistan has better stadiums or india has bad stadiums.

The discussion is about how fences look terrible and block view and how this issue exists in subcontinent. And thus, how the trench system improves the experience.

At the end of the day, whether its india, pakistan, sharjah, the fence does obstruct rhe view and trying to argue against it makes 0 sense
Once again, if you haven’t been in a stadium, you cannot comment on the viewing experience. It is ridiculous. You can’t go by pictures.

It’s like saying that a BMW has a rough ride when you haven’t driven one.

You should stick to discussing viewership experience of those stadiums where you have watched matches in person.

Once again, if you haven’t been in a stadium, you cannot comment on the viewing experience. It is ridiculous. You can’t go by pictures.

It’s like saying that a BMW has a rough ride when you haven’t driven one.

You should stick to discussing viewership experience of those stadiums where you have watched matches in person.
If discussion on this forum was not based on only through personal experience than the purpose of a sports forum dies because when a player plays what he has to deal with and what we Watch on tv is different. So your analogy doesnt work.

Once again i have to repeat myself, a fence obstructs the view, whether its pindi or in delhi.

Anyways, the main topic here is how the trench is the solution to the problem, dont know why you latching on such small issues

There’s so many better alternatives to keeping fans in the stands.

German shepards.

G4S stewards.

Mamay on roller skates.
Are we talking about controlling humans here or neanderthals of bygone era?

While we are at let's put up electrocution towers, snipers, drones.

If discussion on this forum was not based on only through personal experience than the purpose of a sports forum dies because when a player plays what he has to deal with and what we Watch on tv is different. So your analogy doesnt work.

Once again i have to repeat myself, a fence obstructs the view, whether its pindi or in delhi.

Anyways, the main topic here is how the trench is the solution to the problem, dont know why you latching on such small issues
Tomorrow you will say that Lord’s has a better viewer experience than MCG even though you haven’t been in either ground, or that stadium X has better food than stadium Y based on pictures.

You didn’t need to drag Indian stadiums into this discussion and criticize their viewership experience when you haven’t watch a single match in an Indian stadium. It is disrespectful.

Please stick to critiquing those stadiums where you have actually watched matches in person and are not basing your opinions on pictures.

Tomorrow you will say that Lord’s has a better viewer experience than MCG even though you haven’t been in either ground, or that stadium X has better food than stadium Y based on pictures.

You didn’t need to drag Indian stadiums into this discussion and criticize their viewership experience when you haven’t watch a single match in an Indian stadium. It is disrespectful.

Please stick to critiquing those stadiums where you have actually watched matches in person and are not basing your opinions on pictures.
Does the Lords or MCG have a fence?

Where am i critisizing Indian stadiums and why are you getting so worked up about mentioning indian stadiums?

The thing im critiquing is the fence which is used in the subcontinent and i have mentioned subcontinent and i thibk india comes in the subcontinent.

What i should stick to is non of your concern.

Again, a fence blocks the view, you dont need to be sitting in Sharjah to know that when you have already experienced it in the local stadium

View attachment 149951

German shepards.

G4S stewards.

Mamay on roller skates.
Subcontinent is not civilized for such views.

Still people who are critisizing the trench have not able to provide a logical alternative.

A k9 unit cant control crowds. They are for finding drugs.

And stewards? Lol. Bhai this is Pakistan, if you dont have any authority given by constitution no one respects you.

Anyways, it seems like trenches are being deployed in India already, so when there hasnt been any issue there why should we than?

Why would he say that?

A fence is a fence watching a game through one will obstruct your view, whether that fence is in India, Pakistan, England, or Australia.

Are we talking about controlling humans here or neanderthals of bygone era?

While we are at let's put up electrocution towers, snipers, drones.

ok, you’re right. Let the fans sit just outside the boundary line. In fact, take away all the security, let the fans bring in AK’s and Molotov’s because we wouldn’t want to “control” them.

Subcontinent is not civilized for such views.

Still people who are critisizing the trench have not able to provide a logical alternative.

A k9 unit cant control crowds. They are for finding drugs.

And stewards? Lol. Bhai this is Pakistan, if you dont have any authority given by constitution no one respects you.

Anyways, it seems like trenches are being deployed in India already, so when there hasnt been any issue there why should we than?

You’ve clearly never been to an EDL march if you think a K-9 unit can’t control a crowd.

If you were going to a match in Gaddafi stadium, you and a few others had the intentions of running on to the field to get a selfie with Misbah, are you honestly going to consider running past 10 German Shepard’s? If the answer is no, then it’s crowd control.

ok, you’re right. Let the fans sit just outside the boundary line. In fact, take away all the security, let the fans bring in AK’s and Molotov’s because we wouldn’t want to “control” them.
What's sad about all of this is that once upon a time there were no fences in pak stadiums.

I vividly recall this incident in peshawar test vs. newzealand, when bunch of pathans went apeshiet and hurled rocks at foreign players. Similar behavior followed up in other cities thereafter.

Consequently, fences and security were laced up to mitigate such happenings. We regressed as a civilized nation priming in the 70s to a fanatical one since then.

What's sad about all of this is that once upon a time there were no fences in pak stadiums.

I vividly recall this incident in peshawar test vs. newzealand, when bunch of pathans went apeshiet and hurled rocks at foreign players. Similar behavior followed up in other cities thereafter.

Consequently, fences and security were laced up to mitigate such happenings. We regressed as a civilized nation priming in the 70s to a fanatical one since then.

Farhan, can you show me one event where there’s no security anywhere in the world.

Does the Lords or MCG have a fence?

Where am i critisizing Indian stadiums and why are you getting so worked up about mentioning indian stadiums?

The thing im critiquing is the fence which is used in the subcontinent and i have mentioned subcontinent and i thibk india comes in the subcontinent.

What i should stick to is non of your concern.

Again, a fence blocks the view, you dont need to be sitting in Sharjah to know that when you have already experienced it in the local stadium
No clue about Lords but from the matches I've seen on tv, never seen a fence.

In MCG? Hell no, the idea of a fence in Australian grounds is hilarious.

You’ve clearly never been to an EDL march if you think a K-9 unit can’t control a crowd.

If you were going to a match in Gaddafi stadium, you and a few others had the intentions of running on to the field to get a selfie with Misbah, are you honestly going to consider running past 10 German Shepard’s? If the answer is no, then it’s crowd control.
You think Punjab Police has a k-9 Unit for crowd control?

I love it when overseas Pakistanis live in their small bubbles

You think Punjab Police has a k-9 Unit for crowd control?

I love it when overseas Pakistanis live in their small bubbles

The Punjab Police has introduced a unit of Afghan Kuchi breed dogs to bolster security at border checkposts and assist in fighting terrorism and crime.

In the initial phase, 24 Kuchi dogs have been stationed at 11 border police posts across the province. These specially trained dogs are tasked with chasing criminals, dispersing violent protesters, and providing an added layer of security at sensitive locations.

🤷🏻‍♂️

Just to clear things up, there aren’t any magical invisible fences in India that you can conveniently see through 🤡
Unless you have watched a match in an Indian stadium, you have no business talking about the viewing experience. Same applies to any other venue in the world.

One trench and suddenly Pakistani stadiums have become the gold standard in subcontinent. What rubbish.

Both you and Major are making fools out of yourself in this thread but who am I to complain. Carry on.

Unless you have watched a match in an Indian stadium, you have no business talking about the viewing experience. Same applies to any other venue in the world.

One trench and suddenly Pakistani stadiums have become the gold standard in subcontinent. What rubbish.
The same applies to "Babar taught Saim to hold the bat" as you were not there to witness it 🤡

It does obstruct the view. U might be sitting in the bestest of stadiums and everything but if u are in lower row and have a fence infront it ll obstruct ur view definitely

Not sure why you are posting selfies. We have a different thread for that in the Time Pass forum.
Yeah try to change the topic I know you have 160 IQ 🤡

So why can you give your opinions on a matter when your not even present there and @Major can't

Where you present in the Peshawar zalmi dressing room when Babar was teaching saim to play cricket?

Yeah try to change the topic I know you have 160 IQ 🤡

So why can you give your opinions on a matter when your not even present there and @Major
I don’t have a dog in this fight, but I do have a problem with people talking about the “viewership experience” of stadiums that they haven’t set foot in.

It’s like a guy a who owns a motorbike but complains about the drive of an Audi.

I don’t have a dog in this fight, but I do have a problem with people talking about the “viewership experience” of stadiums that they haven’t set foot in.

It’s like a guy a who owns a motorbike but complains about the drive of an Audi.
Do you really think watching a match through a fence won’t disrupt your viewing experience compared to watching without one? Use that 160 IQ of yours.

Fence or no fence, trench or no trench, you can’t talk about the viewing experience of a stadium when you haven’t been there to experience it. As simple as that.

I dont think boundary line is this close. One demerit of old gaddafi was how far the boundary line was from fans idk what they have done about that now

Saw this old pic and its way farr
There’s a big gap between the boundary line and the fence, and it looks safe, but we can’t really judge it properly until we see the full version. The picture angle makes a big difference too.

Depends on the fence and how high it is. I have been to National Stadium and the net cage in front disrupted the view. Unless you were sitting higher than the net/fence.

Major and I are discussing the view through the fence. The discussion has moved to the second page let me see if I can find some pictures to help you guys understand what we mean.

file-8TAQQ4szFZ9XB3FCmtG8uC (2).jpg

Hate Naqvi. He has blood on his hands and will hopefully get his due. But this is a good idea. They will probably place a lose net over it to retrieve ball. Hopefully, they have engineered it right so that water drains out quickly.

There’s a big gap between the boundary line and the fence, and it looks safe, but we can’t really judge it properly until we see the full version. The picture angle makes a big difference too.
You and Major possess this magical ability to determine the viewing experience of a stadium without having been in the stadium, so not sure why you need to wait to see the full version to give your verdict here. You can simply summon your magical ability.

Watching cricket with an obstructed view is not an ideal viewing experience, you don't need any magical abilities to recognise that.

Is this AI? Looks like WWE cage match and Mitchell Starc climbing the cage
Cricketer and fence is Ai generated. The background is real and I added the background. Once ai generated the image of the cricketer climbing the fence lol.

But the background is from 2023 wc.

Any poster know the ball retrieval mechanism if it goes into the trench? I am sure, a few balls will go into the trench.

The stadium has started to look good already and after finishing work is done, it will make for a great viewing. Good for Pakistani fans, you deserved this upgradation, it was long overdue.

Ngl, it’s a travesty Bharat wouldn’t be part of the “real” fun and celebrations of the event that will only be on display in Pakistan during the tournament. The UAE matches won’t have the same vibe.

A Bharat vs Pakistan match at Gaddafi would have been epic. The game is indeed poorer for the worsening ties between the brotherly nations.

My sincerest wishes to Pakistani cricket fans on a wonderful tournament filled with a lot of passion, celebrations, great memories etc. if Pakistan makes a run to the finals once again it will light up the tournament which is a genuine possibility given the resurgence of Pakistan cricket team and the simultaneous downward trend in certain other top teams. I have a feeling ho try Bharat and Australia will miss out in semis this year.

The stadium has started to look good already and after finishing work is done, it will make for a great viewing. Good for Pakistani fans, you deserved this upgradation, it was long overdue.

Ngl, it’s a travesty Bharat wouldn’t be part of the “real” fun and celebrations of the event that will only be on display in Pakistan during the tournament. The UAE matches won’t have the same vibe.

A Bharat vs Pakistan match at Gaddafi would have been epic. The game is indeed poorer for the worsening ties between the brotherly nations.

My sincerest wishes to Pakistani cricket fans on a wonderful tournament filled with a lot of passion, celebrations, great memories etc. if Pakistan makes a run to the finals once again it will light up the tournament which is a genuine possibility given the resurgence of Pakistan cricket team and the simultaneous downward trend in certain other top teams. I have a feeling ho try Bharat and Australia will miss out in semis this year.
Glad to hear some words of appreciation for Pakistan. We wanted India to come and pay in Lahore and make this event an iconic one but sadly, politics won here as well... Hopefully soon, we might be seeing more Indo-pak cricket.

I am very sure millions of genuine cricket fans in Bharat will feel they missed out seeing their team play in Pakistan. We would have loved to see the atmosphere and the Pakistani fans reactions to our team playing there. Hostility is part of the game and I think every sportsman should feel it in their career. Our cricket team isn’t used to playing against the crowd, to play Pakistan in Pakistan with the crowd behind them would be a goosebumps worthy feeling for a Bharatiya cricketer. They missed out for sure. No one can lie about that.

I am glad the Pakistan team came to our country for tournaments during the last decade. It must have been a never to be forgotten memory for them to play on our grounds, especially at Ahmedabad with 1 lac Bharatiya people bring that heat. If I was a cricketer this is what i would dream of.

They don't want to play you. Befriend you. Mingle with you.

They are simply implementing TNT to its exact word. Live with it.

It would have been awesome to see indian players and fans in Pakistan. This only helps in reducing distances and bringing people closer. Would have taken this tournament to another level because im sure journalists from across the border and then fan interactions between influencers and celebs would have been a content gold mine.

Not trying to be clever here but BCCI has ruined international cricket. We wont see Pakistan playing in India either.

They don't want to play you. Befriend you. Mingle with you.

They are simply implementing TNT to its exact word. Live with it.
No harm in being friendly and humane to people who are not jingos and not brain dead. Freelancer bhai aka @Bhaijaan is different gravy. Not your usual.

Looking amazing so far

I have watched many matches in Gaddafi. Even one of the test matches from the infamous Sri Lanka series. I was really young tho. And last match i saw in Gaddafi was back in 2018 during PSL. From the looks of it, the viewing experience definitely has improved.

Apparently they will install "Net" in trenches to avoid ball falling in their

That makes sense but how will they retrieve the ball from the net.... with fishing poles? Of course, no one will be able to walk on those nets.