[PICTURE] Will the new trench system at Gaddafi Stadium revolutionize cricket viewing in the subcontinent?

I'm concerned what if the superman fly's over the trench and his brand new pants get caught in the spikes on the pole what will happen then? very poor planning by Mohsin Naqvi

Net over the trench.....to prevent the ball from falling into the trench.

How are they going to retrieve the ball from the middle of the net?

1738289176362.png

Yep... was about to say the same... That is not much of an issue. Bigger issue will be if that net fails and someone falls inside that trench,,,
And if that falling person have a big body like Azam Khan . I'm thinking about what will happen to those nets?

Using dandas of Punjab Police
I would love to see them use PP's danda or ... any danda for that matter! :unsure: :) I remember we used to make so much fun of PP's thulaas in Qaddafi stadium.... some times that was more fun than cricket!

Thulas.

Spoken like a true punjabi :)

Guess the stadium and perfect view for cricket fan's

Such a lovely stadium .

1000060343.jpg

Net over the trench.....to prevent the ball from falling into the trench.

How are they going to retrieve the ball from the middle of the net?

View attachment 150283
Should ve kept spectator side a bit high so net would ve had a natural slope and ball would ve rolled down on its own instead of sticking in middle. But even now there are high chances it might happen here and there or might not even occur once

Pakistani fans,
The stadiums look fine now to host matches. The anxiety phase is gone.

Der aaaye durust aaaye

The drone shots on match day would look great when the stadium is full of fans.

For those who were concerned about players jumping into the trench to commit suicide

View attachment 150496
Some really weird posts have been made by overseas pakistans as if they have issue with this and want us locals to watch the game behind fences.

Like when did fans care about how ba will he retrieved, as their will obviously be a mechanism.

Some really weird posts have been made by overseas pakistans as if they have issue with this and want us locals to watch the game behind fences.

Like when did fans care about how ba will he retrieved, as their will obviously be a mechanism.
sore losers just upset its not done by their favorite ramiz raja. They don't support development They support burning buses and destroying national buildings that's why they upset

During yesterday's New Zealand vs Pakistan match in Rawalpindi, a spectator carrying a picture of Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) leader Saad Rizvi breached security and invaded the pitch, disrupting the game. The incident has reignited discussions about stadium security measures in Pakistan.

Many people in this thread have been questioning the necessity of trenches in pakistan stadiums.

this is your answer

A fan most probably afghan supporter was caught by the security officials in the GSL stadium. In Afghanistan vs England encounter in CT 2025
===
IMG-20250227-WA0035.jpg

Pitch invaders will always find a way to enter. all is well that ends well here.

The rain is also seriously emptying the stands (there is no overhead cover for most of the fans). They're all piling out at record speed, maybe to seek shelter underneath the stands. Had built up to about 75% capacity, almost all Afghan fans. It's now a proper downpour.
They haven't managed to cover the bowler's run ups in one end.

No proper ground facilities but trench banana jaruri tha .

Drainage system at the lahore stadium is very very poor

ICC should ask for account books: I am sure mostly Gujju bhai’s are looking at them. Best CA’s out there: how come a super sopper was not bought with the money ICC disbursed: it might be Indian tax payer that was misused . We want audit 😡

Unfortunately politicians we have in power are well known for corruption. It is known to everyone that every infrastructure project is an opportunity to fill up their pockets and the stadium renovation project was no different. I wouldn’t be surprised if more than 50% of the initial budget was actually used for the actual work done.

Another washout !! I think India will all the money should definitely follow Sri Lanka’s model of covering the whole ground up with tarps so if the rain goes away the match can start very quickly.
ICC for all its tournaments should provide or mandate the use if tarps that cover the entire ground - for poorer boards they could fund the purchase too. In this day and age it us sad games are lost to soggy fields, which is a several hundred times greater revenue loss than the cost of tarps.

I would want to hear what Wasim, Jadeja, Waqar would have to say about this farce in the show tonight

They are on PCB payroll I think. They will not criticize 😭 Waqar Bhai is employed by PCB and Wasim Bhai is getting a lot of flak for his criticism. Jadeja is a bit of a suck up.

If Sri Lanka can have excellent ground coverage given their overall economic status and ICC funding level, all countries should. Especially for icc world events. Makes no sense. Especially as they were given funds to renovate. Also in this ground they could have even considered channel drains to take water to the ditch that was built.

I should have asked this on the first page but can someone explain a layman like me what is the benefit of the new trench system?

SL has the best coverage process. All Asian countries incl Ind and BCCI should learn from them. Very efficient and fast. And it rains quite a bit in SL unlike Ind or Pak. SL uses it even in their domestic tournaments not just international or else you cant play half the year there with the rain they get. And once rain subsides, game starts back very quickly. Food for thought.

I should have asked this on the first page but can someone explain a layman like me what is the benefit of the new trench system?
no fence to block the view of fans in stadium. Fans crossing on to the pitch very difficult. NOt impossible but very difficult

so what? These are heavy rains.
30 minutes rain and all the facilities exposed.

PCB is incompetent, and again today they had showed why, instead removing the water from the covers ground staff spread it further on the ground. Lol

Only one Super Sopper at the pakistan biggest ground . pathetic

PCB is incompetent, and again today they had showed why, instead removing the water from the covers ground staff spread it further on the ground. Lol

Its not 30 mins of rain. Are you in Pakistan?

it has been raining heavily in Punjab.

Its not 30 mins of rain. Are you in Pakistan?

it has been raining heavily in Punjab

In this match only 30 mins of rain, it didn't rain since then

Seems like you didn't watch the match.

Embrassment for Pakistan

We were watching the match . rain started around 7:32 PM and stopped around 8:10 PM ( IST) .Kisko pagal bana rha hai

So you were wathcing tv. Rain has been continous. Rain doesnt stopp, the drizzle slows down. Also the amount of rain taking place and the fact that its night is also considered

In this match only 30 mins of rain, it didn't rain since then

Seems like you didn't watch the match.

Embrassment for Pakistan
I live in a country and have family in other cities. So i dont need to watch a match and tow the Indian propoganda.

The only embarrassment is for Indians and their overseas Pakistani chamchas.

So you were wathcing tv. Rain has been continous. Rain doesnt stopp, the drizzle slows down. Also the amount of rain taking place and the fact that its night is also considered
Again lying .there was not a single drop of drizzle after 8:10 and cut-off time was 10:40 PM

Trying very hard to defend the incompetent of PCB .

Mohammad Hafeez is also critical of drainage system, and says we are stuck in 60s and 70s.

He also lives in Pakistan. Learn to accept the bitter truth.

Pakistan "finished" renovation last minute. Installed some Plastic seats and Sacareen but forgot about drainage system.

Embarrassing.

Hope both semis are moved out of Pakistan.

Absolute farce it is, any chance ICC moves a resolution in next meeting asking PCB to remove this clown Nqvi from being chairman

It rained heavily for almost 45 minutes which was enough to flood any ground sometimes it's just nature and you can't control it.

We can't control the rain , fair . but we can control the situation after The rain and Re-start the match within one hour if ground facilities are World class .

That doesn't excuse the board to have poor facilities and lack of prepration to tackle bad weather. As it was pointed out earlier, these was only 1 super sopper on the ground and the covers weren't put properly. The less said about the drainage the better. This was all broadcasted live so there's no hiding the incompetence and failure to make the ground match worthy. This is not the 90s anymore and PCB shouldn't be hosting international tournaments with such inferior infrastructure that doesn't meet international standards

We can't control the rain , fair . but we can control the situation after The rain and Re-start the match within one hour if ground facilities are World class .

As I mentioned earlier rain was too heavy to handle... u can manage a drizzle or light rain but with that much rainfall even advanced equipment can't help clear the ground so quickly.

I live in Pakistan as well and with many relatives in Lahore

I know the suitation as well
It seems like you dont know the ground realities and feeding Indians with more propoganda.

This is not just 30 mins of rain, its heavy rain with further showers going on and off.

It’s not a Pakistan problem, rain has washed away games everywhere in the world. It’s a cricket problem that’s quite solvable yet remains unexplainable why countries can’t spend a few thousand dollars to get tarps.

The trench is probably flooded now, throw all the players in it. If Rizwan’s leadership is anything to go by, am sure all would work out quiet well;

‘Process saying we patient inshaAllah, stay in water yaroh, flood going to exit champions trophy muahahahaaaahhaha’

Agah Salman:

‘Shouldn’t we swim now and not wait around?’

*Babar swims to Rizwan and they huddle together*

The cricket of Pakistan is in these trenches now. So much for the poor viewers. Put some crocodiles in it..along with RizBar the legends.

From the NZ vs SA semi-final:

"Santner and Phillips taking time out of the game, are they? No. ball's lost in the stands. Danyal Rasool, at the ground, says the ball has gone into that moat between the fans and the ground. There is an operation to get it out. The moat that was built to take out the barriers separating the stands and fans. Daryl Mitchell helping fetch it. Ladder comes out! Ball's retrieved, or is it a new one? Either way, Phillips has it as Afghan Jalebi plays on the speaker"