[PICTURE] New stadiums in Bahria Town in Karachi and Lahore

Nice, the design looks good. Although I want a really big cricket Stadium in Pakistan that has a capacity of at least 80K for some reason. I guess I just like witnessing a huge crowd.

This is by far the greatest cricket stadium in the world. When Pakistan puts the effort in to doing something right, it comes out Diamond status. Imagine a world cup final here, it will be legendary.

Heard some German architectural firm designed/designing it.

People saying it's a waste of Money

Malik Riaz is no fool that he became a billionaire just like that. It's great marketing tool to sell his Sport city residential and commercial plots at better price. He is actually gaining a lot, continuing to strengthen his brand.

People saying it's a waste of Money

Malik Riaz is no fool that he became a billionaire just like that. It's great marketing tool to sell his Sport city residential and commercial plots at better price. He is actually gaining a lot, continuing to strengthen his brand.

You give me land for pennies, and a bank loan (that I get written off) to build on that land, and then I sell that property for 100 - 1000 times the amount it cost me, then I can be a billionaire too.

Exciting news, lets not make it too complicated, hope to see a jam packed cricket match here in near future.

Keeping everyone updated. This is the latest. I'm guessing another 18 months? Anyone in construction in the know?

End product will be
Rafi-Cricket-Stadium.jpg

Keeping everyone updated. This is the latest. I'm guessing another 18 months? Anyone in construction in the know?

View attachment 79033

Atletico Madrid stadium which also has three stands took about six years to build. But it does have a capacity of 70,000 and had to change their design midway. Perth Stadium took around three years to build with a similar capacity to Rafi with the same three decks. Knowing that its Malik Riaz and Paragon is one of the biggest construction companies it should be done before 2020 ends. The render might change as time passes and so might the capacity but it definitely looks like it will be massive.

Can i point out the Obvious that Bahria Town and Malik Riaz isnt building this stadium to give the keys to PCB to do as they please.

Just like UAE, Bahria town will expect PCB to rent and pay to play matches at the stadium. And the pricing will be similar to what they pay in UAE to rent the stadium.

So my question is why would PCB pay Bahria town money to play here when PCB owns its own national cricket stadium in Karachi where its spending millions of dollars to renew the old stadium.

i personally cant see 1 international match happening at this BT stadium in Karachi as its not cost effective for PCB.

Beautiful design.

How much would it cost? Who is funding this? Might cost millions of dollars.

I feel disappointed that in pakistan till date we do not have a single world class stadium :( utter shame really

Can i point out the Obvious that Bahria Town and Malik Riaz isnt building this stadium to give the keys to PCB to do as they please.

Just like UAE, Bahria town will expect PCB to rent and pay to play matches at the stadium. And the pricing will be similar to what they pay in UAE to rent the stadium.

So my question is why would PCB pay Bahria town money to play here when PCB owns its own national cricket stadium in Karachi where its spending millions of dollars to renew the old stadium.

i personally cant see 1 international match happening at this BT stadium in Karachi as its not cost effective for PCB.

This stadium will become home for Karachi Kings as they are being sponsored by Bahria Town at the moment.

For international matches I am sure something will be worked out where Bahria Town will get a cut of ad revenue and gate receipts. It will be nothing like UAE with empty stadiums and extortionate payments.

This stadium will become home for Karachi Kings as they are being sponsored by Bahria Town at the moment.

For international matches I am sure something will be worked out where Bahria Town will get a cut of ad revenue and gate receipts. It will be nothing like UAE with empty stadiums and extortionate payments.
Home of Karachi Kings ? for 4 weeks a year for a PSL that is not played in Pakistan anyway.

Bro i think you will be very surprised when you find out PCB will have to pay to use this stadium and just like anything Bahria Town the prices will be equalant to what you pay to rent stadiums internationally.

Just doesnt make economic sense to pay to play at this stadium when PCB has its own stadium in the same city where its spending millions of dollars renovating NSK.

Home of Karachi Kings ? for 4 weeks a year for a PSL that is not played in Pakistan anyway.

Bro i think you will be very surprised when you find out PCB will have to pay to use this stadium and just like anything Bahria Town the prices will be equalant to what you pay to rent stadiums internationally.

Just doesnt make economic sense to pay to play at this stadium when PCB has its own stadium in the same city where its spending millions of dollars renovating NSK.

Yes it does make sense when it will be a 50,000 international spec stadium. Its a no brainer. Even Sethi said we are better off building new stadiums as renovation on old stadiums can only take us so far. When 50k people are packing the stadium and with tv revenue its going to be a huge cash cow, nothing like UAE where players and staff have to be kept in hotels the whole time.

Bahria town will be ideal destination for international cricketers too so Karachi is assured international cricket once this is built. Then its Lahore playing catch up.

Rafi Cricket Stadium – Pictures & Video of Pakistan’s Largest Cricket Stadium in Bahria Town

Untitled-158-640x360.jpg

Rafi Cricket Stadium, Pakistan’s largest cricket stadium is being built in Bahria Town, Karachi. The stadium will have a capacity of 50,000 people. The aim of this stadium is not just to revive cricket but to offer jobs to fight unemployment, promote tourism & open business opportunities in the country.

The stadium was inaugurated last year in April & the construction work started. Now its been a year, let us show our readers the progress made in the construction work through pictures & video.

30411858_476402016110354_2507734226204360704_n.jpg

23722437_416388118778411_3086769620883827962_n.jpg

DbyhZOcW0AAJzQY.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rafi Cricket Stadium Bahria Town Karachi Under Construction. The Largest Cricket Stadium of Pakistan with 50000 spectators capacity <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BahriaTown?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BahriaTown</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Bahria?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Bahria</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sindh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sindh</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/mbnJqWoV2L">pic.twitter.com/mbnJqWoV2L</a></p>— Developing Pakistan (@DevelopmentPk) <a href="https://twitter.com/DevelopmentPk/status/990279694992990209?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

There are three levels of the stadium. It will be equipped with floodlights, digital scoreboards, LED screens, training facilities, and a hostel. An international standard academy will be featured in this stadium to promote cricket in the country.

Rafi Cricket Stadium is located in Bahria’s Sports City having amazing villas, housing plots & recreational sports.

When Malik Riaz, Bahria Town founder & owner inaugurated the stadium he said, “The Rafi Cricket Stadium will be built in one and a half years to revive international cricket in Pakistan within the next two years. Not only cricket, we want to revive football and hockey as well. We want to create more employment and business opportunities, spread education to build a prosperous Pakistan. We are also building a highly secured five-star hotel which will be completed with the stadium. It’s very painful to see so much garbage on the streets and we are committed to do whatever we can to rid Karachi of this filth. By virtue of our foolproof security, the residents of Bahria Town Karachi are enjoying a complete sense of security in their gateless homes.”

https://www.researchsnipers.com/raf...stans-largest-cricket-stadium-in-bahria-town/

I always wondered why Pakistan doesn't have beautiful and modern stadiums. Finally they will have one and it could become the best cricket stadium in the world.

Good to see some progress on this, they've been building this up for a while now.

Once ready it will be the best cricket stadium in the subcontinent. Rafi stadium is an engineering marvel hats off to Pakistan for coming up with this.

They changed the face of cricket in subcontinent when they built the Multan cricket stadium. Now they are redefining cricket with Rafi stadium.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/3GRLpfRFJlw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Very slow progress, considering the last video was almost 2 years back. I understand their priority is different - for a project of that size, it's understandable that they'll first build the housing units, build the community and then the stadium which is fine. I don't think this stadium will be functional before that township is crowded.

I have seen huge complex condominiums in Canada being built in 2 years time. Should a cricket stadium take this long?

It shouldn't - I think in heart of London with so much land to be acquired, Spurs new stadium took less than 3 years while Cowboy's AT&T Stadium took less than that. Even new Wembly didn't take that long.
But, I think this place is quite far from existing city footprint, hence they are trying to build the township first, otherwise it's not financially viable; which is fine - sports has to be financially self serving, otherwise it's impossible to sustain for a nonessential service.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pictures of the Rafi Cricket Stadium which is located in Bahria Town in Karachi. Once completed, it will have a 50,000 capacity and will be the largest cricket stadium in Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/qIlh9pYeh7">pic.twitter.com/qIlh9pYeh7</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1304106302952673280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

Jis rate per es stadium par kam horaha hai, I'm pretty sure mere bachay hei jaye ga match dekhna. Huma tho nahi naseeb honay wala.

Honestly, why doesn't the PCB ask Malik Riaz and co. do build them some modern stadiums across the country? Offer him free advertisement for a certain period of time and some money. I'm sure they can work something out.

When this stadium is completed, it will be the greatest cricket stadium in Asia at least. I hope so.

Ahmedabad is head and shoulders away though

In terms of size, yes.

But in terms of looks, this will be right up there if it is completed as per plan.

From India, the best looking stadium is probably in Dehradoon or Pune

Jis rate per es stadium par kam horaha hai, I'm pretty sure mere bachay hei jaye ga match dekhna. Huma tho nahi naseeb honay wala.

Honestly, why doesn't the PCB ask Malik Riaz and co. do build them some modern stadiums across the country? Offer him free advertisement for a certain period of time and some money. I'm sure they can work something out.

Pretty sure this is a private endeavor.

Bahria town has faved financial crises due to the court cases anf other projects they had to shut. So dont be surprised if the stadium gets delayed

Cause its expensive to rent stadiums. Pcb owns the other ones.

Bahria town would build the stadiums, not own them. That is why I'm saying the PCB could work out a deal where they would build the stadiums and PCB could offer them advertisements and money or something. Just an idea.

Bahia town has just announced Bahria sports city in Karachi.

This project has a plan to build an International cricket stadium like Dubai Cricket stadium accompanied by an A class gymnasium , swimming pool & a 7 star Hotel next to the stadium.

The idea is to revive international cricket in pakistan and to provide a safe well equipped facility to international teams.

It was very much needed and PCB could not afford it.

# It's a great Idea.

# Will take 2 , 3 years to accomplish.

# Great to see Private Sector contributing to the Society.

1091118-PICBahriaTowncopy-1461527008-273-640x480.jpg

In view of the geopolitical changes in our vicinity and the politics, this project becomes even more important.

PCB and Pakistan gov should help finish this project as soon as possible so that there is one less excuse for the international teams of security threat bw hotel and stadium 🏟.

I am surprised why ex cricket players administrators are not thinking strongly about this option.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Three different views of Namal University, showing the beautiful cricket ground, the Salt Range's rock structure and Namal lake. InshaAllah Namal University will have the best environment for intellectual pursuits. <a href="https://t.co/dABbfcEiIb">pic.twitter.com/dABbfcEiIb</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1440010823733235714?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 20, 2021</a></blockquote>

We need a state of the art newly built stadium at least 70,000 capacity 3 tier seater in a good location and have the PSL final there. Teams will tour.

Surely there is enough cheap labour in Pakistan to get this done at a good price.

We need a state of the art newly built stadium at least 70,000 capacity 3 tier seater in a good location and have the PSL final there. Teams will tour.

Surely there is enough cheap labour in Pakistan to get this done at a good price.

Pakistan can never fill a 70,000 capacity stadium. The reason being, they have family section only stands (at least 1 female must be with you) and stands for those who come without a female sibling/relative. Majority of the people that will come to these games are men, and they usually come without a female relative/sibling. Those family stands basically prevent more men from going to the matches and that’s why we see so many empty seats.

Can have a small section for families and leave the rest open. Ofcourse they could fill a stadium of 70k, there's 210 million people over there. People would travel from other cities and make a day of it. Easily fillable.

Thats the kind of pictures the world needs to see. Some of these stadium looks so rusty and concrete. The Rawalpindi stadium despite an improved outfield is a joke of a stadium. Its uninspiring.

Just imagine NZ come to Pakistan after decades and they play in Rawalipindi? Lahore would have been better or Karachi. Its just underwhelming.

We need a wow factor.