[PICTURE/VIDEO] The "NO-BALL" bowled to Virat Kohli by Mohammad Nawaz

Was the decision to declare Mohammad Nawaz's ball as a no-ball, the correct one?

UNzd5vl.png

This should clearly the controversy around the waist height

no, by drawing a line on paint, it does not clear anything. Rules mention being upright, the batsman is not upright here.
Second, the batsman is NOT inside of the popping crease

UNzd5vl.png

also this image used is not a correct image, as this is not where the batsman made contact, the point of contact is the next frame. plus ur line is slanted near the left

In the next frame the bat would be higher brother. It is not controversial call.

the West Indies Vs Pakistan test series that was drawed is still remembered as a series that was tainted due to unfair umpiring. No one is taking credit away from Kohli but the innings and the win is tainted now, whether you like that or not. Its nothing to do with Pakistani fans, neutrals are also calling it out as being unfair for the third umpire not to make the decision.

England won the World Cup, but even till this day people dont claim it as being a fair one, infact its the indian fans that talk about it being the most unfair one.

People remember the WI series since there was no iconic.performance except umpiring blunders.

People are appreciating the ATG knock by Kohli. No one is really "getting their pants in a twist about a marginal no ball". If you are going to ask neutrals, they are going to SAY KOHLI WON his team a sensational match. They won't say umpires ROBBED Pakistan of a win.

Regarding England, who is the World Cup Winner? England. You can cry about being decided on number of 6s and 4s. Who won? England. Who is WC winner ? ENGLAND.

Who won today ? India. Asterisk? Sure the asterisk can keep jumping up and down. We lost from 48 from 18 balls. That is a bigger asterisk that keeps jumping up and down but hey its all good.

People remember the WI series since there was no iconic.performance except umpiring blunders.

People are appreciating the ATG knock by Kohli. No one is really "getting their pants in a twist about a marginal no ball". If you are going to ask neutrals, they are going to SAY KOHLI WON his team a sensational match. They won't say umpires ROBBED Pakistan of a win.

Regarding England, who is the World Cup Winner? England. You can cry about being decided on number of 6s and 4s. Who won? England. Who is WC winner ? ENGLAND.

Who won today ? India. Asterisk? Sure the asterisk can keep jumping up and down. We lost from 48 from 18 balls. That is a bigger asterisk that keeps jumping up and down but hey its all good.

If Aussies pacers can be hit 56-60 in first 4 overs of the match, it is possible to get 40-50 in 3 overs.

Neesham did the same to England last year in T20 semi final where 56 were needed in 20-21 balls.

So let’s not get over board. Pakistan has to get their 4th pacer back in the team and like a wounded Lion get back their rhythm in the world cup. It is just the beginning. World cup has just started.

why are you speaking for the Neutrals? Let them speak, neutrals have started to speak as the game ended.

No one is getting their pants in a twist, it is you who wants to give a pass to faulty umpiring that allowed India to take the game.

You dont want to talk about it and accept the defeat as is, thats fine.

But dont expect others to not mention or challenge Indian posters who claim otherwise. The whole purpose of this thread is to discuss whether that was a no ball or not. Its not as if this is being discussed in some other thread

Really? I am checking the record books. Nowhere it says that.

It wont say it in record books will it. I dont know why you keep making that same point over and over as if it is something revolutionary.

We are fans of the game and are here to discuss it in detail.

Australia v New Zealand is in the record books as an Aussie victory yet everyone calls it tainted due to the underarm incident.

South Africa rain affected match in the world cup of 1992 was recorded as a loss but the world still remembers it as being unfair and how it lead to DLS.

England V NZ is a WC victory in the record books yet Indians always troll England over jt

If you want a discussion limited to record books then you should post the scorecards only and make no comments about anything else.

Well said, Dr Sahab.

As for neutrals, if they say India won fair and square they'd be deemed as going for IPL moolah.

:)) so a potential poor umpiring call is equal to underarm ball, super over farce of a game ending on boundary count. I think spot fixing, match fixing and murder are next.

Good to know. Will note down for reference

why are you speaking for the Neutrals? Let them speak, neutrals have started to speak as the game ended.

No one is getting their pants in a twist, it is you who wants to give a pass to faulty umpiring that allowed India to take the game.

But dont expect others to not mention or challenge Indian posters who claim otherwise. The whole purpose of this thread is to discuss whether that was a no ball or not. Its not as if this is being discussed in some other thread

In cricket things happen. Umpires made a mistake but there is no supreme court or D chowk we can go & give dharna. That is how it is. Umpires are umpires. Imran khan’s very bad controversial dismissal by British Umpire Dickie Bird in 1987 semi final world cup changed the course of match & perhaps even history. Because Imran would have retired in 1987 then instead of 1992. And may be he would not have been as big an iconic figure as he is today. Neither we would have had Waqar, Inzamam and Amir Sohail as Pakistan players in first eleven.
There are 2 ways one can look. Either you keep protesting umpire decision or focus on next 4 matches & reach Semi Final.

:)) so a potential poor umpiring call is equal to underarm ball, super over farce of a game ending on boundary count. I think spot fixing, match fixing and murder are next.

Good to know. Will note down for reference

I know Indians are famous for not getting sarcasm but in this case it seems they also do not understanding analogies/comparisons.

Today's match wasn't equal to those incidents. I didnt say that.

All I said was that discussions aren't limited to record books only.

If you think they are then like Joshilla bhai you should just post scorecards.

When you can speak for them, why can't I be given the same privilege?

No, I don't want to moan about a 50 50 call and if you deny it's not a 50 50 just look at the poll and get an idea.

Wrong. There is nothing to accept. We have lost. Does the points table show us having 2 points? No. Then nothing needs to be accepted.

dont expect others to not mention or challenge Indian posters who claim otherwise. The whole purpose of this thread is to discuss whether that was a no ball or not. Its not as if this is being discussed in some other thread

Sure, but take it with a grain of salt.

We lost a close match, so your emotions are all over the place.

We can't give up 48 off 18.. It is as simple as that. Oh well no need to dwell on this no ball decision. Kohli was the story today. Just shake hands and move on, can't keep dwelling on ifs and buts.

this was not the point of contact, the point of contact is next frame.

but good analysis

The scored 116 of the last 10 overs a few tight calls can’t take away a very good batting performance by India especially Kohli who regained his form today.

When you can speak for them, why can't I be given the same privilege?

No, I don't want to moan about a 50 50 call and if you deny it's not a 50 50 just look at the poll and get an idea.

Wrong. There is nothing to accept. We have lost. Does the points table show us having 2 points? No. Then nothing needs to be accepted.

Sure, but take it with a grain of salt.

We lost a close match, so your emotions are all over the place.

I am not speaking for them, and no poll represent anything.

It was not a 50-50 call. Neutrals will speak for themselves on how they will remember this game.

The game showed how there are flaws in laws and rules and its implementation that ICC needs to work on, and for now it taints such games and performances.

Being defeated is alright, but being defeated while cheating or wrongly using a law against us is not.

In cricket things happen. Umpires made a mistake but there is no supreme court or D chowk we can go & give dharna. That is how it is. Umpires are umpires. Imran khan’s very bad controversial dismissal by British Umpire Dickie Bird in 1987 semi final world cup changed the course of match & perhaps even history. Because Imran would have retired in 1987 then instead of 1992. And may be he would not have been as big an iconic figure as he is today. Neither we would have had Waqar, Inzamam and Amir Sohail as Pakistan players in first eleven.
There are 2 ways one can look. Either you keep protesting umpire decision or focus on next 4 matches & reach Semi Final.

you are right, sometimes those marginal calls can go against us. But the issue, why always us? Do you think such a marginal call in such a match would go against India?

Also, another thing i have notice is that Pakistani fans want to dust these things down and dont wanna talk about it for I dont know what reason.

If you dont speak up on these things, how do you expect them to be fixed in future?

Fine if poster A doesnt want to talk about it, but I find it hilarious that while Indians can disrespect and do chest thumping Poster A (who is a Pakistani) going around other Pakistani posters saying accept it, only because he doesnt like his own team and wants to bash it one way or another

I know Indians are famous for not getting sarcasm but in this case it seems they also do not understanding analogies/comparisons.

Today's match wasn't equal to those incidents. I didnt say that.

All I said was that discussions aren't limited to record books only.

If you think they are then like Joshilla bhai you should just post scorecards.

i also noticed how many off them dont understand analogies and start using those analogies in the argument that it wasn't that :))

You make a correct point that if its just results that matter and nothing else, than just post score cards. Ironically, its the same lot that will cry about the fine lines if the results dont go in their favour

Can someone clarify this, I always thought that no ball for spinner was chest high or shoulder high, did that rule got changed? At least that's what I remember when we used to play though it's been many years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan not happy with the no-ball decision but it looked like a fair call <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> <a href="https://t.co/WMKN1y5k3t">pic.twitter.com/WMKN1y5k3t</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1584153189640642562?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 23, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

this OP deserves POTW for the amount of work he put in.

Can someone check the math if he is right?

First of all, stop comparing the runout with a no-ball.

The runout was reviewed by the 3rd umpire from multiple angles, and yes while Pak got lucky because the ball ricocheted from glove to wickets, but it was well within the laws of cricket. No debate.

The no-ball, we can argue whether it was a no ball or not but facts are Babar is a useless captain, bringing on a part timer spinner in the final over, and moreover, most importantly, it was Kohli's day today (just like it was Pak's day in CT17 final).

Last but not least, our top order flopped again, in a crunch game - what's new - Babar out for a Golden duck, and Rizwan playing to the 8K SUHD cameras.

160 is never enough in a T20, ever, minimum is always 180.

Pakistan got beat fair and square today, and I blame Babar all the way, and my hat off to Kohli, who thrives in pressure situations.

Move on.

you are right, sometimes those marginal calls can go against us. But the issue, why always us? Do you think such a marginal call in such a match would go against India?

Also, another thing i have notice is that Pakistani fans want to dust these things down and dont wanna talk about it for I dont know what reason.

If you dont speak up on these things, how do you expect them to be fixed in future?

Fine if poster A doesnt want to talk about it, but I find it hilarious that while Indians can disrespect and do chest thumping Poster A (who is a Pakistani) going around other Pakistani posters saying accept it, only because he doesnt like his own team and wants to bash it one way or another

1) Not to sound like a sore loser. Because with more protest on umpire call, we will be ridiculed internationally.

2) Not to get consumed too much in 1 decision while 4 matches are left.

That is why it is important to win clean & earlier because in close matches some decisions can be harmful. With 4th pacer in pak wpukd have defended 48 in 3.

UNzd5vl.png

It's the waist height at the popping crease which the ball is still 1.5m from. Given it's a spinner bowling it would clearly drop below waist height over that 1.5m

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan not happy with the no-ball decision but it looked like a fair call <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> <a href="https://t.co/WMKN1y5k3t">pic.twitter.com/WMKN1y5k3t</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1584153189640642562?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 23, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

That was a clear no ball.

Let's make this easier. Kohli had beast mode turned on. He would have smashed two sixes.

And yes, it was a no-ball.

Brad Hogg in the heat of the moment seems to be calling for a dead ball. Why is bowled a special dismissal compared to getting caught out.

Oh man. Are we gonna have geometric lines drawn in red for the next decade like that Ajmal delivery to Sachin

atleast we dont whine to the match officials that Rizwan is wasting time on purpose and killing the momentum

I think Axar was also not out . So this has evened out . This are part and parcel of high tensed encounters . Umpires would also would have been under tremendous pressure .

Younis Khan was asked about it and he said it was a no ball ..so just try to respect the opinion of the expert

Looks like a 50/50 call to me. Shouldn't have put yourself in this situation in the first place where a 50/50 call can go against you.

Two wides and two questionable no balls
Who made this guy pakistans best all rounder

I do no think spinners can defend anything in 20th over. It is all the more difficult when you ask him to bowl medium pace. I feel for Nawaz. Babar should have squeezed a over out of him. Pakistan was chasing wickets early on so exclusively used seamers upfront which was the right thing as it helped Pakistan reduce them to 31/4. Pakistan had 8 spinners overs at their disposal out of 14 overs. Both teams went with wrong bowling option. Luckily India's all rounder turned out to be a seamer. Pakistan's all rounder turned out to be spinners. Making a spinner bowl like seamer won't make him effective.

These "expert analysis" of 3- dimensional world on 2-d images have been popcorn munchings since the moon landing days. Plz carry on.

Adding to that, he is making the ball dip by 1 ft as it travels 5ft.. and since he is not using parabolic trajectory, doesn't consider the speed .. simply a straight line drawn on a 2-d image.. simple maths should suffice ..
Ball was thrown from approx. 60ft. .. ball dips 1ft/ 5ft of travel.. so let's go back.. and we get that Nawaz balls from a height of 12ft +3 or. 4ft... So 15 to 16 ft .. damn Pakistani bowlers are super giants
&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;

You don’t really need the maths. The rule is higher than waist level when the batsman is standing upright at the popping crease - it’s irrelevant where he strikes the ball.

Shouldn’t have been a no ball, might’ve cost Pakistan the match but oh well. Not much we can do about it now

atleast we dont whine to the match officials that Rizwan is wasting time on purpose and killing the momentum

There's no cricketer in the world who creates so much drama over the smallest bit of pain he suffers on the field. Even today he started again. You can see his teammates are used to it and don't have much sympathy for him any more.

My friend, your place is as a NASA engineer for the next launch to Mars. You’re wasting your talent on these trajectory calculations when mankind can use your talent for more important things.

Yes it was a no ball.

Most of all that was a bottle job over by Nawaz..Why Babar held his over back till last one was criminal as well.

Oh dear.

Inches and millimeters now.

You know the battle is lost when you start plotting trajectory of the ball to try to convince the world.

48 off 18.

28 of 8.

Thats what you should be plotting.

It was a 50 50 call but rightly went in India's favor because Nawaz bowled a waist high full toss two deliveries back as well. The umpires would have noted it.

Mawaz bowled one proper delivery and it got him a wicket first ball. He went downwards from there and confused trying to do too many things.

Would have been better if he bowled normally and got hit for 3 boundaries rather than thus fiasco with no balls and wides.

That's why Babar is a poor captain.

Pretty pathetic of Pak fans to cry foul over this. It’s painfully obvious that it was a no ball. Especially when umpy was nice enough to let Nawaz off with one earlier.

I guess blaming umpire is easier than accepting that their player withstood the pressure, ours cracked under it.

It really doesn’t matter. Let’s not play this silly victim card. Our strategy was wrong and it was a horrendous last over. One of the worst last overs I’ve ever seen. We lost the moment babar started relaxing after the 4th wicket. Instead of going for the 5th wicket we thought we just need to control this game. Instead it allowed kohli and pandya to play themselves in for the onslaught at the end.

Well played Kohli - you deserved to win this game.

Is PCB going to quit ICC over this?

You have to ask PCB that but as a cricket fan for decades I find this to be a farce and so won't take seriously matches where India plays. I would say the same if Pak team were accorded with such favors owing to lucrative contracts.

Call the police then or send a legal notice because as far as I am concerned game is done and dusted fair and square.

If you think it was fair and square then why spend your time trying to justify the cheating on the forum?

Fact is umpiring was biased and India won because of that. So as a fan of cricket I am disappointed that cricket is becoming WWE.

If he were standing in the popping crease; not that he should be standing at the crease … zara samajhne ki koshish kijiye

If you think it was fair and square then why spend your time trying to justify the cheating on the forum?

Fact is umpiring was biased and India won because of that. So as a fan of cricket I am disappointed that cricket is becoming WWE.

No India got an extra ball because of that.

48 off 18

28 off 8.

And you blame umpires?

Lol.

Remember Kohli was trying to hit a Free Hit.

oh bhai, free hit or not, Kohli was still gonna hit as 7 were required off 3 balls. No Free Hit than 8 required off 2. So he was gonna hit it either way.

You think he would had stopped it for a single?

There's no cricketer in the world who creates so much drama over the smallest bit of pain he suffers on the field. Even today he started again. You can see his teammates are used to it and don't have much sympathy for him any more.

and there you go.... still whining about rizwan

No India got an extra ball because of that.

48 off 18

28 off 8.

And you blame umpires?

Lol.

Fact is umpires were pressured into giving a non existent no ball. Result is what it is and not first or last time that Pakistan has lost a match.

You can Lol or make attempts to get pats on back by indians on the forum or try and act smart makes no difference to facts.

You are the second "doctor" on this forum who acts this way, lagay raho.

Don't think Kohli would have slogged if it's not a free hit..

ture, 8 required off two, kohli wouldnt had slogged it, he would had taken a single and make it 7 needed off 1 new batter other end

Next time there is a match between india and Pakistan i will remember that its like WWE and so no need to take it seriously.

So for indian supporters if such victories make you happy then keep smiling , reality is that these are hollow victories. Just like a wrestler no matter how weak or underdog ends up winning in wrestling.

oh bhai, free hit or not, Kohli was still gonna hit as 7 were required off 3 balls. No Free Hit than 8 required off 2. So he was gonna hit it either way.

You think he would had stopped it for a single?

It was 7 off 2 or 6 off 3.

Ended up being 6 off 3.

Nawaz bowled a wide so became 5 off 3 with Free Hit remaining.

In your alternative picture, 7 off 2 would have become 6 off 2 after the wide, which is doable and doesn't need an absolute slog.

It was 7 off 2 or 6 off 3.

Ended up being 6 off 3.

Nawaz bowled a wide so became 5 off 3 with Free Hit remaining.

In your alternative picture, 7 off 2 would have become 6 off 2 after the wide, which is doable and doesn't need an absolute slog.

You are right, it would had been 7 off 2. but Kohli was gonna slog either way and, no batter is just gonna dab the ball and risk it on the last Even if it was 6 needed off 2, You think Kohli would had dab for a single and than get the new batter to hit a 6 becuase you cant hit 5 runs you need a six

No-balls can't be reviewed, that's an unfortunate fact. Indian team knows that for sure, because there was an enormous incident around this rule in an IPL game last season with Delhi Capitals threatening to walk off.

It depends on where Kohli was taking guard, but this was most probably not a no-ball and a bad call.

The third umpire should be making all these calls honestly because they have enormous significance. This potentially cost Pakistan 4 runs and an extra ball.

Don't let that distract you from a truly horrendous over by Nawaz. Not because India got there, but he just got so scared that he wouldn't trust his normal bowling action and opted for this strange medium pace style with Rizwan standing back. If he had just bowled normally Pakistan would have deservedly won.

Yeah that's the bottom line. For that reason Pak deserved to lose like we did. Spinner throwing down medium pacers was just ridiculous.

Fact is umpires were pressured into giving a non existent no ball. Result is what it is and not first or last time that Pakistan has lost a match.

You can Lol or make attempts to get pats on back by indians on the forum or try and act smart makes no difference to facts.

You are the second "doctor" on this forum who acts this way, lagay raho.

28 off 8.

Lol.

No blame on Shaheen for giving 17 runs.

On Haris Rauf giving 2 sixes off last 2 balls.

Rotay raho tum.

Umpires lost Pakistan the match.

The Delusion !

Lol.

You are right, it would had been 7 off 2. but Kohli was gonna slog either way and, no batter is just gonna dab the ball and risk it on the last Even if it was 6 needed off 2, You think Kohli would had dab for a single and than get the new batter to hit a 6 becuase you cant hit 5 runs you need a six

No what I am saying is, he slogged because he had NO FEAR of getting out because of Free hit.

If it had been a legal delivery, he could have chosen a safer shot instead of a swipe, with the same attempt of 4 or 6.

And that makes sense logically too..

No what I am saying is, he slogged because he had NO FEAR of getting out because of Free hit.

If it had been a legal delivery, he could have chosen a safer shot instead of a swipe, with the same attempt of 4 or 6.

And that makes sense logically too..

:)) bhai there is no sense in taht.

He was gonna slog either way because situation required

Most of the non Indian cricketing world tbh.

And its funny because its usually Indians who complain Englands world cup victory is tainted :))
Most of the non cricketing world !!!!! In which universe?
All my local friends, indian or otherwise don't seem to think so.It was a hard fought game and the best team won. The lie, it seems is being propagated by a few emotional fans who didn't get the outcome they wanted.
BTW, I still remember the Pak-WI series and no, don't recall it as tainted and yes i have a good memory.
This was no Maradona's "hand off god" as some on forum have been so desperately trying to put forth.

:)) bhai there is no sense in taht.

He was gonna slog either way because situation required

Do you know what's a proper cricketing shot and what's a slog?

M assuming you think all of Kohlis 6s are slogs.

My point is still valid, either way.

Free hit - can't get out, can be more adventurous with shot choice.

No Free hit- can get out, have to choose a less adventurous shot with the same possible result.