[PICTURES] "I never compromise on my pace" : Ashok Dinda

LegendsXI

Local Club Captain
However, with a distinct jump in his delivery stride, Dinda was certain to catch eye-balls. The seamer did no harm to his already set reputation and grabbed a spot in the Kolkata Knight Riders squad for the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League and went on to don the Indian colours in his debut match against Zimbabwe in 2010.
With a string of good performances, both for India in the ODIs and Bengal in the domestic season, under his belt, the 28-year old is knocking hard at the selectors’ door and it will not be a surprise if the Kolkata seamer is fast-tracked into the longer format.
Excerpts from an exclusive interview:

ESS: It’s a tough job being a fast bowler in a country dominant with spinners. How do you approach it?
AD: Sometimes it is difficult to play on Indian wickets which don’t offer much assistance. I try to keep it simple and bowl to my line and length. The spin and pace combination is according to the plan. If the spinner attacks from one end then the fast bowler tries to defend from the other. It is helpful to bowl in partnerships according to a specific theory which the captain decides.
ESS: Fast bowlers in India cut their pace after some time. You still bowl with the same pace?
AD: (Laughs) I only know one thing -- to bowl fast and bowl long spells. I never compromise on my pace and work hard on the fitness with my trainer in the gym. My trainer keeps pushing me to keep in shape for bowling long spells.
ESS: Now with the bowlers polishing their batting skills, how seriously are you approaching your batting?
AD: I am approaching my batting very seriously. I try not to throw away my wicket when a well-settled batsman is playing at the other end. All I am focussed on is to give him strike as early as possible. I don’t like to do too many things while batting, just keeping it simple. Last year, I was involved in some crucial partnerships with Shukla and Saha, so we as bowlers try to stick around as much as we can.

Source: http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/exc...94863/Dinda:-I-will-never-compromise-on-pace/

That's right Dinda, you compromise your pace any more and the ball won't leave your hand.

He bowls in the whwreabouts of 140...

Pak has a pacer right now how bowls at that pace ??

Shoaib Akhtar could bowl 4 overs in a T20 now at 140+. So could Gul/Wahab/Jeddi, heck even Aizaz Cheema lol. Lets see him bowl 140+ in a proper game.

IPL money has inflated the egos of nobodies like Dinda. This is far worse than Gambhir;s "we still average 53" and Raina's "I want tp play 80 tests". Its time to look for humble cricketers who just play cricket and stop talking rubbish.

people taking it wrongly. He just meant, he won't compromise pace (whatever he has) for anything. Means He can bowl at 40 kmph but he won't compromise it for line and length. That's dinda.

He may not be the fastest around but he's still 10ks faster than Pakistan's best bowler Junaid lol.

I like him for his work rate, he looks like the kind of guy who would give it his all on every opportunity. I know he is not that quick to begin with and neither has he got other skills but he meant to make a point and it makes a lot of sense, he just meant to say that he'd not give up on the primary/basic attribute of fast bowling i.e to bowl fast.

He does put in his all, but pace just doesnt seem to be his forte. He has such an awkward delivery stride and release. Dare I say, Sreesanth has a better follow through and release and generates more pace

That 'leap' before be bowls is hilarious its like all of time has just stopped. Batsman must stay awake with many a sleepless night thinking of the thunderbolts thrown down by this monster.

Recent image taken of Dinda's speed.

_39180350_sign203.jpg

After all that- it was Yadav with one of the fastest deliveries of the recently concluded Ind Eng game - in other words - just bowl fast - then talk!

Dinda pls compromise yourself for team's betterment.

people taking it wrongly. He just meant, he won't compromise pace (whatever he has) for anything. Means He can bowl at 40 kmph but he won't compromise it for line and length. That's dinda.

And here comes the indian to support and defend his countryman, as usual, no matter what rubbish they say.

Calm down, it's only fun :yk:, no need to defend everything.

Dinda 10 odi matches 8 wickets at average of 52 Econ6.50
Umesh Yadav 17 matches 17 wickets at average of 46 Econ,6.25

Doesn't he mean he wouldn't compromise on pace ....if he had any?

Tbh honest i like this guy. Honest, hardworking and dedicated.. Best wishes to him.

Lol , you didnt have any to begin with you numpty , if he jumps any higher in his delivery stride i will refuse to believe in the laws of gravity .

Means He can bowl at 40 kmph but he won't compromise it for line and length. That's dinda.

and that is wrong.. line and length is far more devastating than pace. Mcgrath proved it who had low pace but great line and length. :sami proved if you ball fast and it's all over the place you will have a devastating economy of 5.8 in ten overs in a first class domestic circuit on a pitch which suits bowlers :facepalm: :facepalm:

He means he will stay sharp at around 140kph.

I think it will be a great trade if his speed lowers too 135 or 133 kph and his line and length improves.

He may not be the fastest around but he's still 10ks faster than Pakistan's best bowler Junaid lol.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHaA funyy post hahah....... Wait you are serious????? are you kidding me. Ashok dinda is not the reincarnation of :akhtar :lee combined you know. Have you seen his pace.

Anyway he is a hard worker so jokes aside best of luck but remember the real art in cricket is not throwing 150 kph bullets, its the line and length. whoever is his bowling coach made a mess of this.

People having serious comprehension problem. All he meant was, as a patriotic Indian, he refuses to compromise and bowl a single ball over 130 mph no matter what the incentive

And here comes the indian to support and defend his countryman, as usual, no matter what rubbish they say.

Calm down, it's only fun :yk:, no need to defend everything.

erm even my post took a dig at dinda. Read the last line. I laughed when i saw the title too. No defending when it comes to our bowlers. I'l join the bashing. :D

That 'leap' before be bowls is hilarious its like all of time has just stopped. Batsman must stay awake with many a sleepless night thinking of the thunderbolts thrown down by this monster.

And the strange thing is that he reaches the batsman in his follow-through, way before the ball..

People having serious comprehension problem. All he meant was, as a patriotic Indian, he refuses to compromise and bowl a single ball over 130 mph no matter what the incentive

Yeah 130 MPH.

My favourite thread right now:yk. Hilarious posts so far:))!

He should have migrated to Australia where his kangaroo family lives.

Dinda will probably pawn Pakistan in ODI considering their tradition of making trundlers into superstars :nehra :munaf :kula

Any PPers thinking of sending a gift to Dinda for his next birthday, here are some T-Shirt ideas!

• 2100783304_dea7175b60_o.jpg
    2100783304_dea7175b60_o.jpg
    7.9 KB · Views: 576
  • speedy_gonzalez_pitch_pose_t_shirts-r36a70b6f4b05404ba52353db42154a4f_804gs_216.jpg
    speedy_gonzalez_pitch_pose_t_shirts-r36a70b6f4b05404ba52353db42154a4f_804gs_216.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 570
  • speed-kills-tshirt.jpg
    speed-kills-tshirt.jpg
    20.1 KB · Views: 576
  • sonic_boom_b1_bomber.jpg
    sonic_boom_b1_bomber.jpg
    16.6 KB · Views: 712
  • speed-kills.jpg
    speed-kills.jpg
    56.6 KB · Views: 591
Dinda flown in into Mumbai as cover for Yadav! Yadav injured!

Cook and co.... must have started to shiver in fear!

I am sure Indian fielders would easily be able to see the shaking legs! :afridi :akhtar

yaar isski jump ka kuch karo jab wo take off kerta hai aisa lagta hai kissi ne bund per do 11 number ke litter maarey hon.

"hai ammi ji, hai ammi ji"

Best of luck to lad!! but I'm sure in any street of Lahora/Karachi we can find bowlers equal to Dinda's calibre :D

IPL money has inflated the egos of nobodies like Dinda. This is far worse than Gambhir;s "we still average 53" and Raina's "I want tp play 80 tests". Its time to look for humble cricketers who just play cricket and stop talking rubbish.
One can only have ego because of IPL if they are allowed to play in IPL :). Also, what is wrong with Gambhir and Raina's statement? Use logic when writing these posts.

By the way, when is Pakistan starting its own UAEPL?

One can only have ego because of IPL if they are allowed to play in IPL :). Also, what is wrong with Gambhir and Raina's statement? Use logic when writing these posts.

By the way, when is Pakistan starting its own UAEPL?

If you used logic, you would have known that Im Indian. What is wrong with Gambhir;s statement is that he has been out of form for 2.5 years and has the arrogance to say he and sehwag average 53 in order to somehow make it seem like he is doing alright. How is this guy not dropped and more importantly how is this guy has a Grade A contract with BCCI.

Raina (and Gambhir) doesnt deserve 80 tests the way he plays when the ball bounces over his waistline.

Of course lets not forget this gentleman Dinda has made a name for himself around the world as a ferociously quick bowler who puts the fear of God into batsmen.

Dinda is born to bowl seriously fast, its a rare sight to see express pace in world cricket these days.. so this news that Dinda will not compromise on his pace is very reassuring for all his fans.

high jump action will cause sleepless nights for cook and co.

Better Dinda than unlucky Ishant. Dude averaged 90 in Oz despite 2 pitches which aided pace bowling.

Will he break the 200 avg barrier if given the chance here???

Better Dinda than unlucky Ishant. Dude averaged 90 in Oz despite 2 pitches which aided pace bowling.

Will he break the 200 avg barrier if given the chance here???

is that really a barrier ?
what is vinay kumar's test average?

Vinay Kumar's average should have caused a divide by zero error. But Mike Hussey was kind enough to gift him a wicket :facepalm:

Anyhow, Dinda's jump breaks the space-time continuum. All that matters !!!

Vinay Kumar's average should have caused a divide by zero error. But Mike Hussey was kind enough to gift him a wicket :facepalm:

Anyhow, Dinda's jump breaks the space-time continuum. All that matters !!!

this was mentioned some where...
ashok dinda is like vinay kumar on springs :91:

Haha...

Rubbish bowler... Although phassster than most of the current Pakistani trundlers. :sohail

better than yadav lol the slower the indian pacers get the better they get.

so I advise him to compromise on pace and idolise praveen kumar and all the other indian trundlers.

Only thing funnier than our legend's breathtakingly insane spell today would be this thread. :))

Seriously, would it be bordering on a platitude now if I say this guy is the worst bowler to represent India?

Dinda bowls close to 140k's.

Problem for him is, the ball comes out of his hand gun barrel straight. No Seam or Swing or Variations. Pure cannon fodder this man is.

Dinda is lucky to be still playing and earning big bucks in spite of no talent.

Only thing funnier than our legend's breathtakingly insane spell today would be this thread. :))

Seriously, would it be bordering on a platitude now if I say this guy is the worst bowler to represent India?

The comments in this thread are hilarious

Good fiery spell today with figures of 57 runs in 4 overs without a wicket.

What happened? Did he jump over the umpire's head today?

I just saw some comments in Match Thread so checked the scorecard... and found this. :murali

19.1 Dinda to HH Pandya, SIX
19.2 Dinda to HH Pandya, SIX
19.3 Dinda to HH Pandya, SIX
19.4 Dinda to HH Pandya, FOUR
19.5 Dinda to HH Pandya, SIX
19.6 Dinda to HH Pandya, 1 wide, OUT