[PICTURES] ICC asks BCCI to remove Indian army insignia from MS Dhoni's gloves; COA says No [#207]

Should MS Dhoni be allowed to keep Indian army insignia on his gloves?

This should have been avoided. Dhoni shouldn’t have brought his personal ‘interest’ to the cricket field. I don’t understand why people here see it as such a huge issue though.

Needless. The biggest tribute that MS could pay to the armed forces is to win the cup.

Instead of spending all your time, energy and efforts on bettering ones performance on the field, why get into all of these needless distractions?

The ICC is right in their stand. If they give an exception now, God knows which player would come with what message from which angle and justify their stand. Better to keep all these at an arms length.

The Indian fans too need not become too emotional about it. The ICC is just trying to be neutral. So just move on and focus on the next game. There is already too much pressure and expectations on the field.

Needless. The biggest tribute that MS could pay to the armed forces is to win the cup.

Instead of spending all your time, energy and efforts on bettering ones performance on the field, why get into all of these needless distractions?

The ICC is right in their stand. If they give an exception now, God knows which player would come with what message from which angle and justify their stand. Better to keep all these at an arms length.

The Indian fans too need not become too emotional about it. The ICC is just trying to be neutral. So just move on and focus on the next game. There is already too much pressure and expectations on the field.

Think things have snowballed out of control and now its "izzat ka mamla"

BCCI should de-escalate the issue by some back room diplomacy with ICC as this wont end nicely for them.

This should have been avoided. Dhoni shouldn’t have brought his personal ‘interest’ to the cricket field. I don’t understand why people here see it as such a huge issue though.

Its a huge issue in india. Sunil Gavaskar was openly mocking people saying that yes indian team should listen to crazy people on the street and boycott the event just like people have been demanding, if this is the way to gain anything.Azharuddin rightly said that Dhoni knew he wasn't allowed to wear it as it is in the contact, but more than Dhoni he held the indian team manager responsible for the fiasco.

The BCCI has backed Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the controversy over the insignia on his gloves. The ICC requested Dhoni to remove the insignia that looked like an Army symbol from his gloves citing breach of regulations. Not only the BCCI, the Indian sports fraternity has also supported the cricketer with multiple sportsmen saying there's nothing wrong in Dhoni displaying the insignia.

Committee of Administrators (CoA) Chief Vinod Rai asserted on Friday that Dhoni will continue sporting the insignia on his wicket-keeping gloves as it is not a military symbol. "The BCCI had already sent a formal request to the ICC for clearance. As per ICC regulations, players can't sport any commercial, religious or military logo. There was nothing commercial or religious in this regard as we all know," Rai told news agency PTI.

"And it is not the paramilitary regimental dagger that is embossed in his gloves. So Dhoni is not in breach of ICC regulations," he added. Dhoni is an Honorary Lieutenant Colonel in the Parachute Regiment of the Territorial Army and the dagger is part of their emblem.

Following BCCI's request, the ICC's Cricket Operations team is set to discuss the matter with the World Cup's Event Technical committee. Rai said that BCCI CEO Rahul Johri will reach the event before the Australia game and speak to the senior ICC officials.

Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju said, "The government does not interfere in the affairs of sports bodies, they are autonomous. But when the issue is connected with the sentiments of the country, the interest of the nation has to be kept in mind. I urge the BCCI to take a fair step in the Mahendra Singh Dhoni case."

Suresh Raina tweeted, "We all love our country and that's exactly MS Dhoni has done, saluting the sacrifices of our heroes and honouring them. It should be taken as an act of patriotism and not nationalism."

London Olympics bronze medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt said, "The demand for the removal of this badge is not only an insult to the sacrifices of the Indian Army but the Indian Army. We all have fellow countrymen with Dhoni (sic)."

Hima Das, who is the first Indian to win a gold medal in a track event at the IAAF World U20 Championships, also supported Dhoni. "INDIA with Dhoni brother. I support Mahi brother. Jai hind Jai Bharat (sic)," she wrote on her twitter handle.

RP Singh commented on the ICC's stance on the issue and said, "Tough for me to understand how MS Dhoni's on-field gesture on his glove is a problem to ICC. His fans have taken inspiration out of it and he himself is a respected Lt. Col, really strange," he wrote.

After India's opening World Cup match against South Africa in Southampton, the ICC requested Dhoni to remove the insignia from his gloves citing rules that forbid display of messages "which relate to political, religious or radical activities or causes".

https://www.businesstoday.in/latest...ports-fraternity-back-dhoni/story/354303.html

Sunil Gavaskar said he did not care what MS Dhoni wore as long as India's charismatic wicketkeeper continued to do what he does so spectacularly on the field. Dhoni was in the middle of a raging controversy after the ICC objected to the army crest on his wicketkeeping gloves.

MS Dhoni sported an army insignia on his gloves during India's World Cup 2019 opener against South Africa on Wednesday. The ICC requested BCCI to ask Dhoni to remove the crest but Indian fans were left fuming.

While several leading sports personalities felt MS Dhoni was justified in wearing those gloves, Gavaskar said the ICC rules were there for a reason and if MS Dhoni was allowed to continue wearing his gloves then players from other countries might also be encouraged to do things their way.

"Rules are there for a reason and they are meant to be followed. That's why they are there. Moeen Ali was fined by the ECB when he was wearing a wristband supporting a particular cause in 2014. Last time I checked MS Dhoni was over 21 years old and wearing the gloves or not is now entirely his call," Gavaskar told India Today.

"Other countries players' might do something as well. If you want to object, do that before the rules are passed. Once the rules are passed, you can do nothing about it," he said.

India got off to a winning start to their World Cup campaign when they crushed South Africa by 6 wickets in Southampton. They next take on defending champions Australia at The Oval on Sunday.

But Gavaskar was certain India would not be distracted because of the entire controversy surrounding Dhoni's controversy.

"This team is focused on winning the World Cup. They know MS Dhoni will deal with it. As far as I am concerned, as long as he keeps affecting those quick stumpings and keeps taking those brilliant catches, whether he is wearing gloves or not does not matter to me. What he wears and what he does not, I don't give a toss," Gavaskar told India Today.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...gloves-army-sunil-gavaskar-1544472-2019-06-07

The best thing about it is that Dhoni has managed to rattle Pakistan camp and has the 16th June match up perfectly.

India one step ahead now wrt mind games.

Pressure back on Pakistan.

Lol Pakistan has literally nothing to do with this. All this unnecessary controversy over this complete non-issue will only unsettle and distract the Indian cricketers. :))

Its a huge issue in india. Sunil Gavaskar was openly mocking people saying that yes indian team should listen to crazy people on the street and boycott the event just like people have been demanding, if this is the way to gain anything.Azharuddin rightly said that Dhoni knew he wasn't allowed to wear it as it is in the contact, but more than Dhoni he held the indian team manager responsible for the fiasco.

The Indian media has taken it up. That’s why. Most of us here feel Dhoni should have avoided this controversy. But we don’t see it as a crime either.

You guys should have called it ‘ridiculous’ and moved on. Anyone reading this thread would get the impression that Pakistanis are hurt by what Dhoni did. You shouldn’t be. Literally every thread started here in the last couple of days reflects a very unhealthy obsession towards India.

Once again, I am not arguing that whether it was (or wasn’t) a breach of an ICC code.

My point is that sporting a small symbol that is (a) not very visible and (b) is highly unrecognizable to the point that no one outside India even knows what it is means should not be a big deal.

If ICC have a problem with this, they may as well nan Dhoni’s camouflage backpack.

Lol why should the visibility of the symbol even matter? Rules are rules.

By that logic, Moeen's bracelet that was even smaller and less visible, should have been allowed too. They literally had to magnify it to even read what was written on it.

Think things have snowballed out of control and now its "izzat ka mamla"

BCCI should de-escalate the issue by some back room diplomacy with ICC as this wont end nicely for them.

As the popular saying goes "Common sense is not so common".

Totally needless controversy and yes MS very well knows the implications as well as the Indian team management.

Why get into all of this needless controversies?

Recently read a quote "Be careful when you follow the masses - most of the time the 'M' is silent!"

Enough said.

The Indian media has taken it up. That’s why. Most of us here feel Dhoni should have avoided this controversy. But we don’t see it as a crime either.

You guys should have called it ‘ridiculous’ and moved on. Anyone reading this thread would get the impression that Pakistanis are hurt by what Dhoni did. You shouldn’t be. Literally every thread started here in the last couple of days reflects a very unhealthy obsession towards India.

Instead of preaching us what to do, you should be preaching your own countrymen.Whats happening on your streets and in your media do matters as the whole world is watching.

Pak obsession can be clearly seen on indian channel on this same issue.
And yes its time for your countrymen to move on, enough tamasha already, like gavaskar said "joh chata hain india me kuch bhi bolta hai"

Instead of preaching us what to do, you should be preaching your own countrymen.Whats happening on your streets and in your media do matters as the whole world is watching.Pak obsession can be clearly seen on indian channel on this same issue.
And yes its time for your countrymen to move on, enough tamasha already, like gavaskar said "joh chata hain india me kuch bhi bolta hai"

I don’t see anything like you mentioned on the streets here in Mumbai.

Instead of preaching us what to do, you should be preaching your own countrymen.Whats happening on your streets and in your media do matters as the whole world is watching.

Pak obsession can be clearly seen on indian channel on this same issue.

You have decided that whole of India is behind this story. We have a lot on our plates already. Only a part of the cow belt is going behind this.

I don’t see anything like you mentioned on the streets here in Mumbai.

I can send you the link of tv show where the host is talking to Gavaskar,Azharuddin and others and he mentions public on street demanding indian team to come back.
Why do you think gavaskar has been giving sarcastic statement? obviously in response to demands of deranged people.

I can send you the link of tv show where the host is talking to Gavaskar,Azharuddin and others and he mentions public on street demanding indian team to come back.
Why do you think gavaskar has been giving sarcastic statement? obviously in response to demands of deranged people.

Public on streets is a figure of speech for heaven's sake. You know it.

[utube]URUrPFtGK60[/utube]

Lol why should the visibility of the symbol even matter? Rules are rules.

By that logic, Moeen's bracelet that was even smaller and less visible, should have been allowed too. They literally had to magnify it to even read what was written on it.

Yes rules are rules, but I am arguing that exceptions could be made for symbols that are quite small and recognizable.

Moeen’s bracelet was not prominent, but “Save Gaza” is very recognizable. After all, it is one of the biggest conflicts in the modern world.

The Indian army insignia is not recognizable at all. The vast majority of us didn’t even know what an Indian army insignia looks like.

I think this is nitpicking by the ICC and they have created a controversy which most likely would have been avoided.

ICC would bend its Knee infront of mighty BCCI but theyb are only worried about retaliation from Pak players and it could easily become ugly
Tbh i feel all this is being done to hype the June 16 match

A classic example of “damned if you do, damned if you don’t”.

Had the ICC not enforced their rules on BCCI and some Pakistani nerd on special media picked up what the symbol on Dhoni’s gloves meant, we would have thrown a massive tantrum, and as usual, the ICC would be berated and called spineless and the Indian Cricket Council etc.

However, ICC’s prompt action clearly contradicts the myth that is completely powerless over BCCI.

Unfortunately, what the ICC is unaware of is that we (the people of Pakistan) are professionals whingers. We will always find a reason to cry and complain.

It doesn’t matter if they didn’t make any exception for BCCI. As long as Dhoni’s head is not chopped on a guillotine, we will not rest easy.

ICC should give up on pleasing Pakistan. We can never be satisfied and they should simply let us whinge and cry as usual.

As far as hyping the match is concerned, they don’t have to. It is a World Cup game and it is already hyped up because of the recent political tensions.

So a pretty much unknown symbol brought to the attention of the ICC.

By whom?

1. PCB via some tip from the military
2. Pakistan fans - with some curiosity about what that was
3. Indian fans - discussing between themselves and the ICC picked it up

Wondering how this even became an issue?

Yes rules are rules, but I am arguing that exceptions could be made for symbols that are quite small and recognizable.

Moeen’s bracelet was not prominent, but “Save Gaza” is very recognizable. After all, it is one of the biggest conflicts in the modern world.

The Indian army insignia is not recognizable at all. The vast majority of us didn’t even know what an Indian army insignia looks like.

I think this is nitpicking by the ICC and they have created a controversy which most likely would have been avoided.

Where will this stop then? Next you'll see Pakistanis wearing army armbands and Bangladeshis wearing camouflage caps.

It sets a wrong precedence. You have to nip this sort of nonsense in the bud.

This is totally unnecessary. India and BCCI know at the back of their minds that they are in the wrong. But they will still back Dhoni and bring the sport to a halt.

Where will this stop then? Next you'll see Pakistanis wearing army armbands and Bangladeshis wearing camouflage caps.

It sets a wrong precedence. You have to nip this sort of nonsense in the bud.

That is why ICC needs to evaluate it on case by case basis, but if they want to apply it uniformly without exceptions, that is fair enough I guess. Nevertheless, this is not a ban worthy offense.

So a pretty much unknown symbol brought to the attention of the ICC.

By whom?

1. PCB via some tip from the military
2. Pakistan fans - with some curiosity about what that was
3. Indian fans - discussing between themselves and the ICC picked it up

Wondering how this even became an issue?

4. ICC officials spotted a logo during replays and questioned BCCI?

It became an issue when Indian fans oblivious to the laws laid down by the ICC, felt the ICC were attacking India - literally and metaphorically.

The International Cricket Council has asked India’s MS Dhoni to remove an army insignia from his wicketkeeping gloves, prompting New Delhi to weigh in after a nationalistic furore in the country.

Dhoni is an honorary lieutenant colonel in the territorial army and sported its dagger insignia on his gloves during India’s opening World Cup match against South Africa.

The ICC said its clothing and equipment rules allow only manufacturers’ logos on gloves and Dhoni and the India team had not sought permission to sport the badge.

India’s prime minister Narendra Modi’s nationalist government on Friday urged the country’s cricket board, the BCCI, to sort out the matter.

“The government does not interfere in matters of sports bodies, they are autonomous,” the sports minister, Kiren Rijiju, said on Twitter. “But when the issue is related to the country’s sentiments, then the interest of the nation has to be kept in mind. I urge the BCCI to take appropriate steps on the issue.”

The BCCI said it has already written to the ICC seeking permission for Dhoni to sport the insignia.

The controversy has prompted passionate responses from both ruling and opposition politicians, Bollywood stars, as well as the public. The hashtag #DhoniKeepTheGlove has been trending on Twitter India.

Fawad Chaudhry, a federal minister in Pakistan, said Dhoni was in England to play cricket, not for any war.

Dhoni and his teammates wore army camouflage-style caps in a one-day match against Australia in March to show their solidarity with Indian paramilitary police killed in a militant attack by a Pakistan-based group.

The team, led by Virat Kohli, also donated their earnings from that match to the families of the defence personnel who died on duty.

Meanwhile, Adam Zampa has been reprimanded by the International Cricket Council after breaching its code of conduct in Australia’s 15-run World Cup win over West Indies.

The Australia leg-spinner was heard using an audible obscenity by the umpires after completing the 29th over - his seventh - in West indies’ pursuit of 289 at Trent Bridge on Thursday.

Zampa admitted to the level one offence, negating the need for a formal hearing, and one demerit point has been added to his disciplinary record, with four in the space of 24 months leading to a possible ban.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2019/jun/07/indian-government-icc-ms-dhoni-cricket

People are protesting, whether on street, in school or offices, doesn't really matter.

people protects on internet, not outernet...

on topic it's pointless controversy, he just have to remove this since ICC asking, it's nothing to do with Patriotism..

World Cup-winning India spinner Harbhajan Singh feels India players will be focussed on the task in hand and not the controversy surrounding MS Dhoni's gloves when they meet Australia in a crucial World Cup clash on Sunday.

Commenting on the recent controversy over MS Dhoni sporting Indian Army's dagger symbol on his wicket-keeping gloves, Harbhajan Singh said the Indian team will be unfazed by the whole brouhaha around Dhoni's gloves during their match against Australia on June 9 .

MS Dhoni wore gloves with Balidaan Insignia during India's match against South Africa but the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday turned down the Board of Control of Cricket in India's (BCCI) request to allow the Indian wicketkeeper to continue to wear the same further on the tournament.

"Obviously [players will be focussed], that's something news channels are showing. I don't think any player on Sunday will be thinking what MS is wearing on his gloves. They have a big game in front of them. If they win this one, then they will put out a statement that they are in it to win this Cup," Harbhajan Singh told India Today in an interview.

India defeated South Africa by 6 wickets in their campaign opener in Southampton and will look to register their second win of the tournament against Australia at The Oval, London, June 6.
Harbhajan Singh said both India and Australia are among the best teams at the World Cup 2019 but kept India as favourites to win the clash.

"Exciting game. Both the teams are top most teams in the competition. This is going to be a cracker of a game. I think India are slightly ahead."

"I don't think there will be any changes in the playing XI. Weather is expected to be fine. I don't think we have to make a lot of chances. We have the players who can adapt to any sort of situation. India will be good."

"They just should bat normally in the first 10 overs just the way they played Tests against Australia. If can resist and not lose too many wickets or not a single wicket inside the first 10 overs. then I think India have a good chance of making 280-290."

Harbhajan Singh said Australia possess quite a strong batting unit with the return of David Warner and Steve Smith after serving the one-year ball tampering ban.

The off spinner also warned India of Australia pacer Mitchell Starc who took a five-wicket haul against West Indies.

"It's going to be challenging to bat against Mitchell Starc. We saw in the previous game. He is in fine form. Coming to London, I don't expect a lot of swing."

India are heading into the match after a convincing win over South Africa in their World Cup 2019 opener on Wednesday. Australia, on the other hand, have won two on two and are on a 10-match winning streak in ODIs.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...ajan-singh-ms-dhoni-gloves-1545081-2019-06-08

Rules are rules, but you are arguing that an exception should be made for India of course, while at the same time attacking Pakistan supporters for being on the right side of the law. Nothing surprising here at all.

NEW DELHI: The controversy over the insignia on cricketer MS Dhoni's gloves reached the Indian Army's doorstep today. The gloves, worn by MS Dhoni during India's first world cup match against South Africa, carry the "Balidan" badge or logo of the army's parachute regiment's special force. Mr Dhoni was afterwards barred by the International Cricket Council or ICC from sporting the insignia. Reacting to the controversy, the army put the ball in Mr Dhoni's court, saying it was up for him to decide whether he wanted to wear the gloves or not.
Lieutenant General Cherish Matheson, the General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the South Western Command said the army had nothing to do over the controversy and that it was Mr Dhoni's personal decision to wear the gloves, according to news agency PTI.

The ICC alone could take a stand on the issue, he added.

The ICC had yesterday shot down the Board of Cricket Control in India or BCCI's request to allow the cricketer to wear the gloves.

The reason for the denial, according to the ICC, was that any individual logos or messages, except from sponsors, were not to be displayed by players "on any items of clothing or equipment". According to ICC rules, only two manufacturer identifications can be sported at the back of each glove.

"In addition to this, the logo also breaches the regulations in relation to what is permitted on wicket-keeper gloves," said a statement from the international cricketing body.

The items of clothing should also not carry any political or racial connotations of any sort, according to the ICC.

The BCCI had contended that the insignia on his gloves was "not the paramilitary regimental dagger that is embossed on his (MS Dhoni) gloves."

Mr Dhoni is an honorary lieutenant of the parachute regiment.

It is believed that Mr Dhoni will continue wearing the same gloves, but will cover the insignia with tape.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ms-...c-international-cricket-council-to-de-2050163

Former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir believes that the International Cricket Council (ICC) should concentrate on the game and not on the players’ sporting apparel. The comment in wake on the controversy surrounding an apparent military insignia on MS Dhoni’s ICC World Cup 2019 wicketkeeping gloves.

“The ICC’s job is to run cricket in the right way, not to see who is wearing the gallows and the logo on it,” he said during an interaction with TV9 Bharatvarsh.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had defended Dhoni after he sported a dagger logo on his green gloves in India’s win over South Africa on Wednesday.

Dhoni is an honorary lieutenant colonel in India’s Parachute Regiment and the BCCI wrote to the International Cricket Council asking for clearance for their star to keep wearing the gloves.

But the ICC responded by saying in a statement: “The logo displayed by MS Dhoni in the previous match is not permitted to be worn on his wicket-keeping gloves.

“The regulations for ICC events do not permit any individual message or logo to be displayed on any items of clothing or equipment.

“In addition to this, the logo also breaches the regulations in relation to what is permitted on wicketkeeper gloves.”

Gambhir added that in his opinion, ICC should rather concentrate on making conditions suitable for bowlers as well and not favour tailor-made pitches for batters only.

“ICC ought to look into the matter that we should not have 300-400 run total. ICC work is to provide pitches for bowlers as well and not make every condition suitable for batters only. The entire logo issue is being unnecessarily given importance,” said Gambhir.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...controversy/story-58xRi2IawCDjmLmgYwW2oI.html

people protects on internet, not outernet...

on topic it's pointless controversy, he just have to remove this since ICC asking, it's nothing to do with Patriotism..

Adds pressure on other wicket keepers too
Both butler and rasheed khan were injured today

And mushfiqur made a bad error of judgement already in the last game

Pakistan minister Fawad Chaudhary jumps into MS Dhoni gloves insignia row

Fawad Hussain taking a potshot at Indian media jumped into the ongoing contention over Mahendra Singh Dhoni on Thursday.

The ongoing contention over Mahendra Singh Dhoni wearing insignia of Indian special forces in the match against South Africa has invited attention from neighboring country Pakistan.

Federal Minister of Science and Technology government of Pakistan Fawad Chaudhary took a plunge into the ongoing contention over Mahendra Singh Dhoni wearing the insignia of Indian Army Special Forces on his gloves.”Dhoni is in England to play cricket and not for MahaBharata, what an idiotic debate in India media, a section of Indian media is obsessed with the war they should be sent to Syria, Afghanistan or Rwanda as mercenaries….#idiots.” the minister tweeted on Thursday from his twitter handle.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni besides being a player is also honorary Leitunent Colonel in the parachute regiment of the territorial army. The insignia containing dagger pointed downward, with upward extending wings extending from the blade and a scroll superimposed on the blade with balidaan superimposed in Devnagiri is allowed to be worn only by para commandoes. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was spotted wearing the regimental insignia when he stumped Phehlukwayo in the 40th over in the match against South Africa. The Indian Armed forces insignias draw close inspiration from foot soldiers, chariots, horses and elephants and of weapons like spear, sword, and bow & arrow used during Mahabharata.

The BCCI has shot up a letter to ICC asking it to allow Mahendra Singh Dhoni wear the regimental insignia. “The BCCI had already sent a formal request to the ICC for clearance. As per ICC regulations, players can’t sport any commercial, religious or military logo. There was nothing commercial or religious in this regard as we all know,” Vinod Rai told PTI over the phone.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...hender-singh-dhoni-gloves-contention-5769853/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bob Willis "the army insignia should not be on Dhoni's gloves at a World Cup. It shouldn't be allowed - get it off" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1137640836357861377?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

Stupid and communal Indian media comparing this incident to Pakistani players offering Salah in the ground during practice sessions lol. Height of insecurity and stupidity.

MS Dhoni removes Army insignia from gloves in keeping with ICC order

Dhoni_Gloves.jpg
Dhoni_Gloves_02.jpg
Dhoni_Gloves_03.jpg
Dhoni_Gloves_04.jpg

India‘s MS Dhoni took the field without a controversial dagger logo on his wicketkeeping gloves in Sunday’s ICC World Cup 2019 game against Australia after being ordered to remove the symbol by cricket’s governing body.

Dhoni’s gloves in the opening game against South Africa bore an apparent military insignia that breached rules laid down by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

But a different pair of gloves appeared to conform with ICC regulations when India fielded after making 352 for five batting first against world champions Australia at the Oval.

The ICC turned down a request by the BCCI to allow Dhoni to sport the symbol that gained widespread attention on television and on social media in India, with #DhoniKeepTheGlove trending on Twitter.

According to the World Cup clothing and equipment regulations manual, only two manufacturer identifications can be sported on the back of each glove. Also, any logos should not have any political or racial connotations. Dhoni is an honorary lieutenant colonel in India’s Parachute Regiment.

In March, the India team wore camouflage-style caps provided by Dhoni during a one-day game against Australia as a tribute to India’s armed forces after 40 troops were killed in a suicide bomb attack in Kashmir.

The ICC has previously ruled against players making political statements and in 2104 the global governing body banned England allrounder Moeen Ali from wearing wristbands saying “Save Gaza” and “Free Palestine”.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...-from-gloves-in-keeping-with-icc-order-854583

MS Dhoni a patriot, Pakistan need not advise us on gloves row: Giriraj Singh

Lashing out at a Pakistan minister over his snide remarks on Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s gloves with ‘Balidan’ insignia, Union minister Giriraj Singh Sunday said the Indian wicketkeeper is a “patriot” and the country does not need any advice from its neighbour. Dhoni, an honorary Lieutenant Colonel of the Territorial Army, landed in a controversy after sporting gloves embossed with a design of a dagger – which looked more like the Indian Army’s insignia. He wore the gloves during India’s World Cup game against South Africa in Southampton last Wednesday.

“Dhoni is a renowned cricketer and the pride of Jharkhand, which was carved out of Bihar. He is a patriot and he displayed his patriotism (by wearing the gloves). We do not need any advice from Pakistan on the matter,” Singh told reporters in his parliamentary constituency here.

Fawad Chaudhary, Pakistan’s Minister for Science and Technology, on June 6 said Dhoni was in England to play cricket, not for “Mahabharta”. He also said that a section of Indian media was obsessed with war.

“Dhoni is in England to play cricket not for MahaBharta, what an idiotic debate in Indian Media, a section of Indian media is so obsessed with War they should be sent to Syria, Afghanistan Or Rawanda as mercenaries….” he tweeted. Giriraj Singh, talking to reporters in Patna on the insignia row two days ago, said Dhoni was committed to the glory of the country.

“He is a true ‘rashtrabhakt’ (patriot). He is not like other celebrities whose love for the country remain inconsistent. He is a patriot and committed to the glory of his country,” the minister said.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had recently requested the Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) to advise the Indian cricketer to remove the insignia from his gloves.

The BCCI, while stating that it did not wish to get into a spat with the ICC on the issue, maintained that the embossed design was not exactly the insignia of the Army, and hence, wearing gloves with the badge should not be seen as violation of norms.

https://www.financialexpress.com/in...dvise-us-on-gloves-row-giriraj-singh/1602468/

Indian ministers need to shut up now, when they get triggered by Pakistani remarks it just makes them look petty. You got your hand slapped rightly by ICC, quite rightly, now let it go and move on.

Ridiculous by indians making such an issue out of this

The rules are simple and the same for everyone and noone shoild be above them

Its laughable theyve made this an izzat issue Why such dramabaazee i do not know

Interesting to see how ICC will deal with this. A clear violation has taken place. If nothing happens, Sarfraz should also wear Pakistan SSG- Army logos on his gloves.

Man the mans gloves look like garbage without that logo let the man keep it btw all you guys crying over this gayle has also written universe boss on his shoes which is not allowed under the icc rules so maybe someone should talk about that too but that logo made the gloves look nice they look like some radi ka maal now

A week after a Pakistan minister referred to the gloves and said “Dhoni was not in England for Mahabharat”, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman struck a reconciliatory note. “You won’t get any spillover from the Pakistan side. They are there to play cricket, full stop. We don’t need to make gestures. I have always seen cricket as a tool to create goodwill and better understanding. We should keep it like this. It’s a sport. It’s a gentleman’s sport. That’s how it should be,” Mani, a former ICC chairman, told The Indian Express.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...e-gestures-says-pcb-chief-ehasn-mani-5779799/

e133bae3-5fcb-4de4-8721-5f04f5d79693.jpg

So MS D not wearing his army gloves in an Indian tournament! Strange?

He doesn't wear Indian tricolour either in IPL.

He chose to wear the honoured insignia for the best global tournament when representing his country. Will always have my respect though I'm not a huge fan of Dhoni of last 3-4 years

So he wanted to make a political statement and it wasn't out of any sort of respect for the Indian Army? No wonder he was asked to remove the insignia.

Well done ICC.

So he wanted to make a political statement and it wasn't out of any sort of respect for the Indian Army? No wonder he was asked to remove the insignia.

Well done ICC.

Dhoni wore the insignia of his regiment.

Regarding ICC, well that Manohar was trying too hard to keep his votes together. Sadly he still had to leave and his lackey Imran Khawaja has little chance of winning.

He chose to wear the honoured insignia for the best global tournament when representing his country. Will always have my respect though I'm not a huge fan of Dhoni of last 3-4 years

Absolutely idiotic to be wearing army gloves on a cricket field. Wait till others break out ISI and MI5 caps and LTTE insignias. Stupid when Dhoni does it, stupid when Misbah does it at Lords.

Sometimes sports get conflated up with causes such as racism, cancer awareness, even injustice etc - where supporting arguments are strong.

But glorifying your countries army is just so childish and a 3rd rate way to win respect - Whether you are performing or not on your day job.

DUBAI: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) CEO Wasim Khan's effort to provoke controversy by calling for visa assurance from International Cricket Council (ICC) for the 2021 T20 World Cup in India hasn't found many takers.

Dispelling the PCB CEO's unfounded fear - according to media reports - that their players might face visa issues while travelling to India for the 2021 T20 World Cup, the ICC has made it clear that all participating teams will be given visas as per agreement with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Speaking to ANI, an ICC spokesperson said that planning for the tournament was being made keeping in mind that all teams will be provided with visas. "The Host Agreement for all ICC events, including the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, provides that the host member will ensure visas are provided for all competing teams. The planning for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 in India is underway on that basis," the spokesperson said.

A BCCI official said that Khan seems to be ignorant. "I think that statement of the PCB CEO stemmed from ignorance. This issue was laid to rest last year itself when the GOI (Government of India) had written to the Presidents of the IOA and the IOC on the issue. So unless he is privy to some future course of action to be taken by Pakistan that would deteriorate the circumstances drastically, it is a non-issue," the official told ANI.

The above-mentioned letter was issued on June 18, 2019, by then Sports Secretary Radhe Shyam Julaniya after a couple of Pakistan shooters were denied a visa to compete in the ISSF World Shooting championship in the national capital. The visa issue had led to the International Olympic Committee reconsidering the decision to hand India international sports events.

The letter from Julaniya, in possession of ANI, clearly stated that country of origin of athletes wouldn't be a barrier for them to get visas to come and compete in international sporting events in the country. "It's the policy of the government that India will hold international sporting events and will permit all qualified athletes belonging to any National Olympic Committee (NOC) recognised by IOC or any national federation affiliated to the international federation concerned to participate. Such participation of athletes shall be without prejudice to our principled positions and policies on other political matters including issues such as international recognition or otherwise of the country of origin of the athletes," Julaniya had written to Indian Olympic Association's (IOA) President Narinder Batra and marked a copy to IOC chief Thomas Bach.

https://www.newindianexpress.com/sp...-from-icc-for-2021-t20-world-cup-2212721.html

Absolutely idiotic to be wearing army gloves on a cricket field. Wait till others break out ISI and MI5 caps and LTTE insignias. Stupid when Dhoni does it, stupid when Misbah does it at Lords.

Sometimes sports get conflated up with causes such as racism, cancer awareness, even injustice etc - where supporting arguments are strong.

But glorifying your countries army is just so childish and a 3rd rate way to win respect - Whether you are performing or not on your day job.

Symbolic gestures have always been used on sports field - most recent bring athletes around the world taking a knee to support the BLM movement. Cannot have an either or situation.

Not a smart argument.

Taking the knee is a gesture which, when it is seen and talked about, corrects injustice in the world. Pink clothes and ribbons, when they are talked about, spread awareness about cancer. Even Black Armbands that Zimbabwean players wore (Flower and Olonga) spread awareness of grave injustice in their countries.

What supposed good does talking about an army do to the world?

Sounds like he is true patriot, I am kind of confused though, how can someone like him sign a deal with a Chinese company after what they did to your soldiers?

Chinese company signs Dhoni for smartphone campaign

https://www.rediff.com/cricket/repo...ns-dhoni-for-smartphone-campaign/20200917.htm

Was he forced to sign this deal?

Dhoni wore the insignia of his regiment.

Regarding ICC, well that Manohar was trying too hard to keep his votes together. Sadly he still had to leave and his lackey Imran Khawaja has little chance of winning.

But why can't we wear the insignia of his regiment in the IPL?

It sounds like it was a politicizing the sport by doing that because things were hostile last year and he wanted to make a statement.

Kudos to ICC for doing what is right.

Is it okay for MS Dhoni to keep bringing the Indian Army into the context of cricket every time?

Is it happening on the cricket field while playing a cricket match??
An IPL franchise honoring Indian Army heroes on an Indian military victory. and Dhoni being an Honorary Lr. Col. seems appropriate. What's the issue here? A Domestic franchise, a retired cricketer and an hon. Army officer.

Is it happening on the cricket field while playing a cricket match??
An IPL franchise honoring Indian Army heroes on an Indian military victory. and Dhoni being an Honorary Lr. Col. seems appropriate. What's the issue here? A Domestic franchise, a retired cricketer and an hon. Army officer.
Alright, but is there a need of posting on official csk handle?

Here i am talking about CSK , not pcb or bcci
Then I have already covered it, its a local franchise. Why should that matter what a local franchise does?
Local sports franchises in USA regularly honor their military veterans in their games, this is nowhere close to that even.

Is USA a benchmark?
What's the benchmark ? Please share. now rejected local franchises example from USA. If dive deep enough we might find local sports cricket bodies honoring military veterans of their respective nations.

What is your appropriate benchmark.. lets hear that.

Is USA a benchmark?
Let's take a county example now! Just one casual google search, no one talks about it because its a non-issue anywhere except at international level. Where it can get political.

Here :

Lest We Forget: Essex Cricket Remembers
Essex Cricket will always remember those brave heroes who fought in both world wars, with many also representing the Club before and after their service – here is a look at some of those men.

What's the benchmark ? Please share. now rejected local franchises example from USA. If dive deep enough we might find local sports cricket bodies honoring military veterans of their respective nations.

let me know if any other franchise league cricket has done it. because i am talking about franchise league cricket

HAHA, very very specific. but literally too easy. Just one min google search. I have never watched a PSL game, but I can just guess how many times Pak Army generals would be seen floating around and getting lauded for the safe keeping of Pakistan cricket.

“The people of the city were eagerly waiting to meet their players,” said Balochistan’s Chief Minister, Jam Kamal Khan, who was joined by commander of southern command, Lt General Asim Saleem Bajwa and the team owner, Nadeem Omar.

I think Pakistan Cricket team has been the most involved one with their Army.

I don't need to remind anyone of Army training camps.

Pcb is the benchmark 😀
As you said - this is a domestic league - and if any issues bcci will deal with it as a domestic league- simple as that

Case is open. Because you failed to show me any posts from PSL, CPL, or MLC involving the army in their setup.
the article i Shared has a PSL franchise celebrated and honored by an Amry and the franchise captain wearing Army jacket of all things. What more you need as prrof. PSL franchises cricketers shooting across the LOC? :facepalm