[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Babar Azam’s failures against India

Mamoon

ATG
He cannot handle Pakistan-India matches pressure.

5 ODIs, average 31
4 T20Is, average 30

He hasn’t played Tests against them but he is lucky because Ashwin and Jadeja would run rings around him. He is weak against spin.

9 innings, 1 half-century. It is not a coincidence.

It is a bottle-job. He is Pakistan’s best batsman but India have reduced him to mediocrity. All great Pakistani batsman were good against India but he is not following their footsteps.

Also his deluded fans who compare him to Kohli need to realize that he hasn’t been able to have 1% the impact Kohli has had on Pakistan-India matches.

Can Babar Azam improve his record against India over his career or will this fixture remain his Achilles’ Heel?

If he he continues to bottle it, will it impact his status and legacy?

Excellent thread

Babar has proven to be a mental midget against India

Thank you. It doesn’t talked about enough. It is also one of the reasons why Indians don’t rate him that highly - he is not good enough against them.

In India - Pakistan games, players who start well dominate right through their careers. Eg: Sehwag, Yuvraj, Kohli, Inzamam, Miandad, Wasim etc.

Players who fail largely continue failing: Akhtar, Waqar, Dhoni, etc. So it's tough for Babar to correct that record now.

Bottles it big time in high pressure games.

People will claim the t20 game vs India, fair enough. Just know that him and Rizwan are custom built for 140-160 run chases max.

The 200 Vs England was a red herring where Eng rested frontline bowlers.

This is a decent record to be honest. Babar is a good batsman, but not as good as his stats suggest.

There is huge disparity between his stats vs India and other sides, and 9 innings across two formats over 5 years and multiple venues is a decent sample size to identify a pattern.

In India - Pakistan games, players who start well dominate right through their careers. Eg: Sehwag, Yuvraj, Kohli, Inzamam, Miandad, Wasim etc.

Players who fail largely continue failing: Akhtar, Waqar, Dhoni, etc. So it's tough for Babar to correct that record now.

Dhoni has a massive average Vs Pak in ODIs.

Carried the team single-handedly in the aane do ODI series. Made a ton when people around him were falling left and right.

Babar is a bottler and ridiculously overrated by Pakistanis on social media probably because they've been starved of quality batsmanship for years.

1 Test hundred in SENA conditions, inflated ODI and T20 average in an era when many nations play second string teams in white ball bilaterals, and a timid, defensive captain.

He's also totally imbalanced our T20 side by refusing to bat at 3.

Babar is a bottler and ridiculously overrated by Pakistanis on social media probably because they've been starved of quality batsmanship for years.

1 Test hundred in SENA conditions, inflated ODI and T20 average in an era when many nations play second string teams in white ball bilaterals, and a timid, defensive captain.

1 test hundred in SENA and he is 28.

5 ODIs, average 31
4 T20Is, average 30

He hasn’t played Tests against them but he is lucky because Ashwin and Jadeja would run rings around him. He is weak against spin.

It is a bottle-job. He is Pakistan’s best batsman but India have reduced him to mediocrity. All great Pakistani batsman were good against India but he is not following their footsteps.

Also his deluded fans who compare him to Kohli need to realize that he hasn’t been able to have 1% the impact Kohli has had on Pakistan-India matches.

Can Babar Azam improve his record against India over his career or will this fixture remain his Achilles’ Heel?

He may be able to improve in limited overs. This sample size is not huge. 8-10 games are not enough.

In tests, it's better that he has not played India. He will struggle against ATG Indian spin attack in Asia. Babar is very ordinary against spin and obviously a weak player when good spinners are on turning tracks.

Can’t agree more. Nailed it

Babar has a lot to prove. Too one dimensional one geared at the moment.

Dhoni used to destroy Pakistan. He is amongst the greatest ODI batsmen ever and my favorite along with Sehwag. Both used to annihilate Pakistani bowlers.

There is huge disparity between his stats vs India and other sides, and 9 innings across two formats over 5 years and multiple venues is a decent sample size to identify a pattern.

Matches are still one off though. But yeah, same can be said of Bumrah, he has been a shadow of himself against Pakistan. Perhaps some players really are mental midgets.

Precisely this.

The number of times we hear about Babar's average and his ranking in white ball cricket. It's all meaningless when you can't do it consistently against first string bowling attacks.

The worst thing is even after bashing reserve bowlers, his strike rate is just 129.

Why are you always against Rizwan and Babar?

Bench pe koi Miandad aur Inzy baitha hai kya?
Isn't it what Rameez said, not verbatim, when asked about the team composition. You play with the team you have, not the team you want.
Babar is good but is being judged too harshly really in his career. Let's revisit this in annoyed 4 years to draws some decent comparisons.

Babar was called a poor test player he rectified it and is as good anyone today. T 20 is not his best format I think he will bat better in tests and ODIs vs India if he gets more opportunity

Babar Azam is world class in ODIs. Adequate in T20’s and unproven in tests. On potential he is one of the best there is.

If you consider him as some all format ATG then the problem lies with you.

Having said that he is still Pakistan’s most skillful and talented batsman so I can understand why he has blind fans kind of like Kohli, Rohit or other such premium players .

I don't think anybody really questioned that Babar lacks mental toughness leaving him far short of the elite level.

But since when can beggars be choosers? We are a pretty rubbish cricket nation held together by a few decent individuals.

For all his weaknesses Babar has not done badly as captain at all and still remains the most obvious choice we have for now.

I don't think anybody really questioned that Babar lacks mental toughness leaving him far short of the elite level.

But since when can beggars be choosers? We are a pretty rubbish cricket nation held together by a few decent individuals.

For all his weaknesses Babar has not done badly as captain at all and still remains the most obvious choice we have for now.

The most obvious choice??

Sarfaraz and Imad are still better leaders than he is. They are not even in the squad

Watch more cricket with honesty

5 ODIs, average 31
4 T20Is, average 30

I hope it's not a high on Adderall thread by you where everyone will come in and bash Babar tonight cause we lost a match to India by a whisker which you might enjoy and find soothing.

If it's not that, then I'd like to say a few things.

Babar like many of the new generation Pakistani players didn't start well against India (had his first match in 2017). Looked very scratchy in CT17 final as well before hitting a few and falling to a decent score. Nerves were pretty visible back in 2018 Asia Cup as well where he did score a 50 but it lacked the fluency and calmness that Malik showed at the other end. It was around in 2019 wc game where he did look confident and looked like he was he was not bogged down by the nerves. If you look at his inning there in a rain interrupted match which Pak were surely going to lose, Babar was the only batter who showed some assertiveness. It was after that match when he met Kohli alongside Imad and asked him for tips.

Then there was the 2021 wt20 match, where he did very well but Rizwan was more fluent one that day.

It's well known for over a month now that Babar is not in form. It's not that he only failed against India in Asia Cup but he had a poor tournament throughout. Even in the proceeding Eng and tri series, he only did well in 2-3 games where he looked money while in others he looked out of touch.

So IMO, he's done poorly in last 3 t20is against India, yes. But the thing is Babar isn't expected to do well against other oppositions as well if he doesn't regain his form. There's been a lot of single digit and less than 20 run innings by him in last few months.

He hasn't done as poorly as Umar Akmal or Ahmed Shehzad against India level of bad. But he's starting to come around. The nerve factor is not there anymore to say the least. What hindered him tonight was his rusty form which he needs to shake off as quickly as possible.

We play India only in tournaments so Babar isn't going to play even 10% of his total career cricket against India.

But once he regains form, Babar will return to being a good batter.

Regarding comparing him with Kohli, have said it time and again that the comparison shouldn't be there. Kohli is a seasoned pro possibly who is closer to the end than start. And is a generational player atleast in LOIs. In white ball cricket, he has always been a beast and he still is and will remain so. His game has a lot more armory than Babar, Babar may never develop his batting to the level to which Kohli does which is no shame. But Babar does need to work on some aspects of his batting which he would definitely know about.

Babar is still likely to go down as our best ODI and t20i batter. He only has Saeed Anwar, Miandad and Yousaf to beat there. But how high he does he end up remains to be seen.

He gets away with a lot of criticism because of his aesthetically pleasing style of play.

He's talented no doubt. Not many batsmen have ever tined the ball as well as him. And yes I like watching aesthetically pleasing batsmen. But mentally I don't think he has the make up of white ball greats.

I still think Babar will be a great Test batsman . And he'll churn out runs in ODIs as well.

Just don't expect him to destroy quality attacks and you'll be fine.

Babar lacks mental toughness, match awareness and he is unable to make it count when the chips are down.

From the start , after losing the toss he looks dejected because he was hoping to chase but still got a good score from his team , bowlers got them off to a good start, bare minimum required from him was to think and make bowling changes which for him became quite tough...

He has a lackadaisical attitude and seems lazy at times. Still a very good batsman but needs to have a better mentality

He is the obvious choice for the captaincy because he is the one who makes the team on merit..

But record against India is poor , which he needs to improve no second thoughts..

Joke thread from a troll poster who is always chomping at the bit to bring a Pakistan player down. The same Babar mauled a much better Indian bowling attack at the last World Cup. 3 failures mean absolutely nothing.

There was nothing special about that knock by Babar. A target of 151, pitch getting easier with dew on and Rizwan at other end playing well too. It was easy going for him. It doesn't fall among great knocks inspite of it being vs India in a World tournament.

[MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] really surprised by your post man, didnt expect that.

Babar is a great batsman, probably the best ever Pakistan has produced. I saw some of his test innings, and this guy bats really good.

Pakistani fans dont appreciate good talent its looks like. We deserve Umar Akmal and Ahmad Shezad

There was nothing special about that knock by Babar. A target of 151, pitch getting easier with dew on and Rizwan at other end playing well too. It was easy going for him. It doesn't fall among great knocks inspite of it being vs India in a World tournament.

plz show me a rival game, high pressure one with not a single win, and than you pull off a ten wicket vicotry.

Also on the same pitch Pakistan bowled aswell and took wickets

These records against individual countries matter not much. Babar is class and I doubt if other pitches in the WC will have this greenish tinge. I expect him to tackle the bounce though. He's experienced enough now. Instead the focus should be on Rizwan. Absolutely clueless. His 8 balls vs Afg and his innings vs India show he has no game to tackle either swing or bounce. He's unbalanced and keeps falling over for every delivery that's outside off. It's shocking really. Shan Masood should open and Rizwan should go to the middle order at 4 or 5.

Trust Babar to play anchor and quick 20 or 30 from others should get Pak the 175 they need to win the games. Get one of Asif Ali or Haider out, pick another pacer and Rizwan in the middle order.

Had that match happened in 2016 or 2014, Pakistan would have made a meal of that runchase and possibly even lost. It was because of Babar and Rizwan that Pakistan won that match as clinically as they did. This thread would have any actual relevance if Babar had a discernible weakness. Fact is, he does not. Both of his dismissals in the Asia Cup were soft dismissals where he was more to blame than Bhuvneshwar or Bishnoi were to be praised. And today he just got a good ball on a very spicy pitch that was incredibly difficult to bat on in the first six overs.

Dont know about anything else but in tests he would struggle vs Ashwin and Jadeja. Players much better than him have.

Ashwin himself rates Babar quite highly. He has said so many times. We can take his opinion for what it is worth. Doubt Babar will be all at sea against spin.

I think that captaincy has put too much pressure on Babar. And in Indo-Pak matches the captains come under more pressure than the others. Even Rohit Sharma failed today. Thankfully, India had Kohli, an ex-captain who is no longer under pressure to lead the team.

The big question is who else can captain Pakistan and take the load off Babar's shoulders so he can concentrate on his batting.

Failure against one team doesn't mean much, only if there is a pattern can we conclude something. Every great player had/has a bogey team, Lara was a complete failure against India but far lesser batsmen from his team made plenty of runs, conclusion? Besides sample size is too small for Babar, also big gaps between successive games. KL has a horrible record against Pak, as do the likes of Bumrah and SKY, but they do better against the rest of the field, same with Babar. Pakistan and India aren't the only two teams playing cricket.

Tbf, there was bottling on both sides yesterday.

Kohli was the only one who held his nerve. Everyone else failed to rise to the occasion, including Babar. You can argue for Shan- but we all know there is leagues of difference between what him and Kohli are capable of lol.

plz show me a rival game, high pressure one with not a single win, and than you pull off a ten wicket vicotry.

Also on the same pitch Pakistan bowled aswell and took wickets

Doesn't change the fact that there was nothing extraordinary about that knock.

There is nothing extraordinary in chasing 151 in 20 overs on pitch which is getting easier to bat later in the evening with dew coming in and no pressure of wickets falling at other end.

A great pressure knock is not one when you chase a 150 without losing any wicket but when you chase 160 after your team is down and out at 31/4. That's the difference.

Babar has played only one good knock out of 9 chances vs India. It is an ordinary numbers for him and he has lot to prove to make a case for himself as a great player.

Thank you. It doesn’t talked about enough. It is also one of the reasons why Indians don’t rate him that highly - he is not good enough against them.

That is true, for me at least. I don't watch Pakistan matches often so I usually only watch him play against India and he's not that great against India, except maybe that one time they won by 10 wickets.

up until a year ago his status was sky high, but how u perform in pak ind games defines legacies for pak ind players, and so far he has only had one performance of merit in important games.

still think people degrading his test record because of his recent LOI failings is a bit silly. test averages have fallen across the world, and he's done well. his primary problem in tests isnt a lack of technical ability, but an inability to play huge innings.

he's an ideal test number four given paks options and odi number three, in t20s the jury is still out.

What has rohit the so called greatest modern day opener done against Pakistan in t20is. That being said I do agree babar is a serious bottler in pressure games

I always feel Babar will be trapped LBW any ball. It is much easier to score aplenty against lesser opposition then when the pressure is not on. Under pressure Kohli is a much better batsman in T20 and perhaps even ODI's as we all witnessed today. Even as a fielder we see Kohli is much aggressive compared to the terrified looking Babar. I wouldn't expect our poorly educated cricketers to understand the importance of body language when they know nothing about human psychology. First you have to defeat the opponent with your mind before doing so on the field of play.

Clearly uncomfortable against quality bowling, but who is not? But we should not over-react. Things could have been different had he batted first. Anyways you have to lead from front when the preassure is on, but he failed.

Rare Pak great who has a poor record against India. Zaheer Abbas, Miandad, Anwar, Inzi, Moyo, Younis all did well against India, Majid Khan was a rare exception. But Indian bowling has improved now, not the trundler army the previous gen had to go up against.

Clearly uncomfortable against quality bowling, but who is not? But we should not over-react. Things could have been different had he batted first. Anyways you have to lead from front when the preassure is on, but he failed.
Again

Reality is that except Shaheen and Aamir no Pakistani player had any impact against Indian team in last 15 years. So is Babar.

Rare Pak great who has a poor record against India. Zaheer Abbas, Miandad, Anwar, Inzi, Moyo, Younis all did well against India, Majid Khan was a rare exception. But Indian bowling has improved now, not the trundler army the previous gen had to go up against.
Well put as our bowling is now World class in every formats

Hell even the likes of match fixers like Salman Butt and Nasir Jamshed upped their game against the Indians!

Pressure is the making of great players. For Pak the likes of Miandad and Inzi often got us out of a mess where as this guy always fails. This is why he is not a great player at all. Against India he hardly does anything at all.

The disparity between an "out of form"/ "post prime" Kohli & "on prime "/"beast mode" Babar is so ridiculous, so massive that it's just not funny anymore. Forget Kohli, I feel insulted whenever delusional fans compare him with Sachin & Lara! Imagine this guy at the height of 90's surviving the wrath of Mcgrath, Fleming, Donald, Pollock, Gaugh,Srinath, Ambrose, Walsh, Bishop & if somehow he survived them, he then had to deal with Warne,Murali,Kumble,Vettori.The guy is extremely lucky to be born at a period when white ball batting is the easiest job in the world. I actually feel pity for all the fans who go onto rage mode & just refuse to accept that he is simply not on the class of Sachin, Lara,Ponting, Kohli or ABD and never ever will be.I also refuse to accept him being better than Javed, Anwar, Inzy or Yousuf at this stage of his career. Those guys were not lucky to play most of their SENAW games against b/c string sides & pad their stats. He is the master of soft runs & minnow bashing which I'll give him credit for. Almost never leaves an opportunity to bash a minnow or a third string bowling attack.
All his deluded fans are in for a rude awakening, he is not going to do anything substantial against SENAI in the world cup. I expect him to bash Ned, not sure about Afg & Sri since he can't play their spinners if his life depended on it, the BD match depends if he can somehow escape /survive from Taskin. I am fully aware, a lot people are going to be angry at me & probably curse me,which is fine. I am just tired & exhausted with all those overwhelming admirations & blind worship for a fella who till now has performed very little against the top dogs on occasions truly matter. He is just an average fella who feasts on weaklings.
Also @Mamoon ,how do you rate him against proper quality fast bowling? Everybody keeps pointing his weakness against spin but I find him equally mediocre if not worse against top notch pace. We saw it today as well as in the previous match. The dude had no clue last year in Aus.

To be honest all international bowling attacks are now challenging. Even Bangladesh & Afghanistan wont give you easy runs. The previous generation were indeed lucky. But then again they had to counter the reverse swing and doosras, so it all balances out I guess

It's just not the greats, even not so greats like Afridi, Malik & Hafeez have performed & won many matches. It becomes even more embarrassing when you see Salman Butt & Nasir Jamshed slamming multiple match winning hundreds against the arch rivals. The guy is simply not up for the big time, a mental midget, I know it's tough to swallow & admit if you are a fan, but after six years & around dozen outings it's pretty obvious he can't handle the pressure & frankly he is simply not that good player that he is made out to be by fans, media & some frightened former cricketers. I of course don't blame the cricketers because whenever someone like Wasim,Waqar or Aakib have tried to give constructive logical criticism & point out his weakness they have been bullied & vilified mercilessly by the fan club.

The disparity between an "out of form"/ "post prime" Kohli & "on prime "/"beast mode" Babar is so ridiculous, so massive that it's just not funny anymore. Forget Kohli, I feel insulted whenever delusional fans compare him with Sachin & Lara! Imagine this guy at the height of 90's surviving the wrath of Mcgrath, Fleming, Donald, Pollock, Gaugh,Srinath, Ambrose, Walsh, Bishop & if somehow he survived them, he then had to deal with Warne,Murali,Kumble,Vettori.The guy is extremely lucky to be born at a period when white ball batting is the easiest job in the world. I actually feel pity for all the fans who go onto rage mode & just refuse to accept that he is simply not on the class of Sachin, Lara,Ponting, Kohli or ABD and never ever will be.I also refuse to accept him being better than Javed, Anwar, Inzy or Yousuf at this stage of his career. Those guys were not lucky to play most of their SENAW games against b/c string sides & pad their stats. He is the master of soft runs & minnow bashing which I'll give him credit for. Almost never leaves an opportunity to bash a minnow or a third string bowling attack.
All his deluded fans are in for a rude awakening, he is not going to do anything substantial against SENAI in the world cup. I expect him to bash Ned, not sure about Afg & Sri since he can't play their spinners if his life depended on it, the BD match depends if he can somehow escape /survive from Taskin. I am fully aware, a lot people are going to be angry at me & probably curse me,which is fine. I am just tired & exhausted with all those overwhelming admirations & blind worship for a fella who till now has performed very little against the top dogs on occasions truly matter. He is just an average fella who feasts on weaklings.
Also @Mamoon ,how do you rate him against proper quality fast bowling? Everybody keeps pointing his weakness against spin but I find him equally mediocre if not worse against top notch pace. We saw it today as well as in the previous match. The dude had no clue last year in Aus.

Babar is a prolific run scorer but it takes more than just a prolific run scorer to be a legendary batsman. He is Pakistan's Amla. A consistent run machine who never managed to prove himself a match-winner and produce those magical moments.

People compare him to Kohli but Kohli's innings against Pakistan at the MCG last year alone is bigger than Babar's entire career so far. Babar will never play an innings like that in that situation and even his most ardent fans know this but will never admit it.

Pakistan has a poor batting legacy and have produced a prolific all-format batsman after a very long time so it is natural that the fans go overboard and overhype him.

Babar is a prolific run scorer but it takes more than just a prolific run scorer to be a legendary batsman. He is Pakistan's Amla. A consistent run machine who never managed to prove himself a match-winner and produce those magical moments.

People compare him to Kohli but Kohli's innings against Pakistan at the MCG last year alone is bigger than Babar's entire career so far. Babar will never play an innings like that in that situation and even his most ardent fans know this but will never admit it.

Pakistan has a poor batting legacy and have produced a prolific all-format batsman after a very long time so it is natural that the fans go overboard and overhype him.
Wanted to know your input about the query regarding his ability against fast bowling. I feel this point is often kept mute whenever his strength & weakness are discussed.

Apologies, missed that.

I think he is excellent against 85-90 mph but he is overrated against truly rapid bowling. He was completely clueless against Mark Wood in the T20I series last year. He had no clue against his 95 mph+ thunderbolts.

Overall, his biggest weakness is off-spin/SLA. He is pretty good against leg-spin except Rashid. He is his bunny.

Apologies, missed that.

I think he is excellent against 85-90 mph but he is overrated against truly rapid bowling. He was completely clueless against Mark Wood in the T20I series last year. He had no clue against his 95 mph+ thunderbolts.

Overall, his biggest weakness is off-spin/SLA. He is pretty good against leg-spin except Rashid. He is his bunny.
This is more or less parallel within my thoughts. As long as it's around 125-135 kph he looks really comfortable & relishes on them. The moment it gets over 140 he becomes a scared meek kitten & just looks ways for survival. He simply doesn't have an attacking gameplan against fast bowling. He is going to have a real hard time in the wc, all teams barring Ned & Afg have minimum one 140+ guy.