[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Were floodlights to blame for Rachin Ravindra's injury at the Gaddafi Stadium?

Were floodlights to blame for Rachin Ravindra's injury at the Gaddafi Stadium?

FearlessRoar

Looks like the Indian media have started a new campaign to discredit Pakistan’s preparations for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

Blaming the floodlights for Rachin Ravindra’s injury seems like an excuse. Such incidents have happened in many countries, even in top venues. If LED lights were a big issue, we would have seen similar problems in other matches too.

5Qh87Sl.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------

PCB blamed for Rachin Ravindra injury, ICC told 'shift Champions Trophy to Dubai': 'If Pakistan can't provide...'

PCB was blamed for the Rachin Ravindra incident as fans told ICC to reconsider Pakistan as the Champions Trophy host.

New Zealand's Rachin Ravindra incurred a freak injury during the first ODI of the tri-series against Pakistan on Sunday. He suffered a laceration to his forehead, leaving him bleeding. He was immediately taken off the field. Although New Zealand Cricket claimed he was "otherwise well," Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was savaged over the incident, with social media users bluntly telling the International Cricket Council (ICC) to reconsider Pakistan as the Champions Trophy host.

The incident happened in the 37th over of Pakistan's innings when Ravindra was seen steadying himself to take the catch after Khushdil Shah slog-swept Michael Bracewell towards deep square leg. However, the New Zealand star lost sight of the ball amidst the floodlights as it hit him in the face.

Ravindra was seen staring at the ground for a few seconds, probably in a daze, as blood began to fall down his face, leaving the stadium in stunned silence. The medical team quickly rushed in, along with the Pakistan team doctor. He was attended on the ground, where he laid down for a few minutes before being helped out of the field with his face covered in a towel. Ravindra received warm applause from the packed Gaddafi Stadium.

Following the incident, which even raised concerns among social media users, Pakistan's credentials as a hosting nation for the Champions Trophy were questioned, and PCB was blamed for the injury.

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif, speaking on Caught Behind, revealed that the main issue was the use of LED lights at the venue. "The glow is more in such lights. Hence, when the ball travels flat, you are often unable to see it," he said.

Update on Rachin Ravindra

New Zealand Cricket claimed that Ravindra is "well" but will continue to be monitored ahead of the team's second game against South Africa on Monday.

"Ravindra was forced from the field after being struck in the forehead by the ball attempting a catch in the 38th over," a New Zealand Cricket statement said. "He sustained a laceration to the forehead which has been addressed and treated at the ground, but is otherwise well. He came through his first HIA (Head Injury Assessment) well and will continue to be monitored under HIA processes."

Looks like the Indian media have started a new campaign to discredit Pakistan’s preparations for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

Blaming the floodlights for Rachin Ravindra’s injury seems like an excuse. Such incidents have happened in many countries, even in top venues. If LED lights were a big issue, we would have seen similar problems in other matches too.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

PCB blamed for Rachin Ravindra injury, ICC told 'shift Champions Trophy to Dubai': 'If Pakistan can't provide...'

PCB was blamed for the Rachin Ravindra incident as fans told ICC to reconsider Pakistan as the Champions Trophy host.

New Zealand's Rachin Ravindra incurred a freak injury during the first ODI of the tri-series against Pakistan on Sunday. He suffered a laceration to his forehead, leaving him bleeding. He was immediately taken off the field. Although New Zealand Cricket claimed he was "otherwise well," Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was savaged over the incident, with social media users bluntly telling the International Cricket Council (ICC) to reconsider Pakistan as the Champions Trophy host.

The incident happened in the 37th over of Pakistan's innings when Ravindra was seen steadying himself to take the catch after Khushdil Shah slog-swept Michael Bracewell towards deep square leg. However, the New Zealand star lost sight of the ball amidst the floodlights as it hit him in the face.

Ravindra was seen staring at the ground for a few seconds, probably in a daze, as blood began to fall down his face, leaving the stadium in stunned silence. The medical team quickly rushed in, along with the Pakistan team doctor. He was attended on the ground, where he laid down for a few minutes before being helped out of the field with his face covered in a towel. Ravindra received warm applause from the packed Gaddafi Stadium.

Following the incident, which even raised concerns among social media users, Pakistan's credentials as a hosting nation for the Champions Trophy were questioned, and PCB was blamed for the injury.

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif, speaking on Caught Behind, revealed that the main issue was the use of LED lights at the venue. "The glow is more in such lights. Hence, when the ball travels flat, you are often unable to see it," he said.

Update on Rachin Ravindra

New Zealand Cricket claimed that Ravindra is "well" but will continue to be monitored ahead of the team's second game against South Africa on Monday.

"Ravindra was forced from the field after being struck in the forehead by the ball attempting a catch in the 38th over," a New Zealand Cricket statement said. "He sustained a laceration to the forehead which has been addressed and treated at the ground, but is otherwise well. He came through his first HIA (Head Injury Assessment) well and will continue to be monitored under HIA processes."

Indian media journalist Rashid Latif blaming LED lights . Very good

On the Cricket field on various grounds players have lost sight of the ball in flood lights.

Whether this issue is exacerbated at Gaddafi stadium can only be confirmed over time.

Its not only indian media, but its also the likes of Rashid Latif.

So heres my take.

Indian media and fans will look for opportunities to bash the stadium and the event.

But than there is another issue of pakistan youtubers and low budget sports show. Rashid latif is a tool sitting in Karachi, wasnt in Gaddfi nor was he fielding there but while sitting in karachi he has come up woth a dumb theory that there is a glare in the lights that cause this injury.

The comentators of the match did me tion this as speculative, they said maybe he missed the catch due to the floodlights. Even i speculated on the match thread that maybe ravindra lost his balance as the place he was standing was not actual grass but a a practice pitch and because fielding is done without spikes he may have slipped.

People like Rashid Latif want to boost their own shows, so they try to act as experts and say whatever they hear as heresay. Really irresponsible from Rashid Latif to make such comments.

Currently, no one knows what happened, maybe Rachin had a brainfade, maybe he slipped on that practice pitch or maybe there was a a floodlight issue, maybe some fan teased him because as soon as he got hit he looked back at the crowd.

Thing is, wait for Rachin himself say something before speculating, and this msg is for all soo called pakistani journalist and ex cricketers and self proclaimed sports journalist

Btw would had appreciated if the Cuttack thread was allowed to be posted.

They were using pesticide nozzles and tanks to spray water on fans.

Currently, no one knows what happened, maybe Rachin had a brainfade, maybe he slipped on that practice pitch or maybe there was a a floodlight issue, maybe some fan teased him because as soon as he got hit he looked back at the crowd.

Thing is, wait for Rachin himself say something before speculating, and this msg is for all soo called pakistani journalist and ex cricketers and self proclaimed sports journalist
I heard the newzealand coach was behind the boundary line and rachins focus was there

Btw would had appreciated if the Cuttack thread was allowed to be posted.

They were using pesticide nozzles and tanks to spray water on fans.
How is that relevant to this thread though?

Make a new one.

Victim blaming has started as it seems.
Victim blaming? This isnt a rape case...

Rachin messed up a catch. Yes he got hit that is sad, but at the end of the day he dropped an easy catch.

Now every now than if someone is bashed for dropping a catch, are you gonna call it victim blaming?

Don’t think the LED lights would’ve been a factor, the ball was pretty low.

What could’ve been a factor is the white seats in the background.

PCB should have played few practice/ domestic match to check the all Facilities .

This is why they should have finished the all construction works a months ago but they didn't have any time .

This is normal procedure even everything's is fine.

He dropped a catch. Ball slipped through his hands. Nothing more.

Don't think it has anything to do with floodlight. If floodlight had issue, other players could've made mistakes too.

BCCI must have been left red-faced as play was halted in Cuttack due to a major technical failure during the India vs England 2nd ODI

BirgQgG.jpg

Glimpse of Karma in cuttack, i hope and pray for more. Indians IRL are much better people. But then they are the ones outside India.

Maybe pakistan should have used those floodlight so rachin would have not injured .it could have been very dangerous but hopefully he is fine now .

Apparently we have a special set of floodlights for Rachin at GSL and separate set for the remaining 21 players. Our bad bro, we will try to do better next time.

So you wants all the players to injured . A bus has accident but some of people injured and some are fine so that's doesn't mean accident had not happened because some are fine.

PCB should have played few practice/ domestic match to check the all Facilities .

This is why they should have finished the all construction works a months ago but they didn't have any time .

This is normal procedure even everything's is fine.

As i said earlier PCB didn't follow the standard procedure . period

Everyone else coped fine but the old flipping Indian origin guy decided to heat butt the cricket ball.

Indians will go to any length to try make Pakistan look bad.

Correct.

I don't think Kiwi fans are complaining about this. Only Indians are making a big deal. Very nosy people.

Everyone else coped fine but the old flipping Indian origin guy decided to heat butt the cricket ball.

Indians will go to any length to try make Pakistan look bad.
News was started by Pakistan ex players and journalists and indian Media take it from there .

But yea blame indian instead questioning the PCB.

Why they didn't follow the standard procedures.

Ohh Wait you May be don't know what is the standard procedure .

Victim blaming? This isnt a rape case...

Rachin messed up a catch. Yes he got hit that is sad, but at the end of the day he dropped an easy catch.

Now every now than if someone is bashed for dropping a catch, are you gonna call it victim blaming?
If due to poor maintenance of the outfield it comes to the point that players fell down and dropped catches, then bashing them for the dropped catch is certainly victim blaming.

I think he did lose the ball in the lights. LED lights are brighter and hit the eyes differently. However, this isn’t a new phenomenon and more and more stadiums are moving to LED. Outfielders should know and probably be using sunglasses.

I think we’re making a mountain out of a mole hill because everyone saw the gushing blood.

Flood lights failure has occurred in Australian grounds and South African grounds as well.

Its a technical problem.

If due to poor maintenance of the outfield it comes to the point that players fell down and dropped catches, then bashing them for the dropped catch is certainly victim blaming.
Is there a proof that there is poor maintenance?

So when ever there is catch dropping you will first sit and find if the maintennace was the issue tha critic the player for dropping a catch?

Lol victim blaming for poor performance

The new flood lights have been installed from the money ICC gave PCB.

90 per cent of which comes from India.

Auqaat se badhkar aur Bute ke bahar baat nahi karni chahiye.
can you plz provide trail of the money spent came from India. THanks

Is there a proof that there is poor maintenance?

So when ever there is catch dropping you will first sit and find if the maintennace was the issue tha critic the player for dropping a catch?

Lol victim blaming for poor performance
If there is allegation, then certainly it should be investigated.

there is allegation of match fixing in every india match, does that mean every match of india should be investigated?

The allegations are made by India bookies who say, saab fixed hai.....

We can't rule out floodlights as a factor to the incident. He missed the catch and clearly had a shocked expression, indicating that he completely lost sight of the ball.

The stadium should have been completed months ago and should have undergone a thorough quality check before hosting such a major tournament. What if there is actually an underlying issue with the floodlights? I know some Indians are trolling, but there might be some truth to it.

We can't rule out floodlights as a factor to the incident. He missed the catch and clearly had a shocked expression, indicating that he completely lost sight of the ball.

The stadium should have been completed months ago and should have undergone a thorough quality check before hosting such a major tournament. What if there is actually an underlying issue with the floodlights? I know some Indians are trolling, but there might be some truth to it.
Ok Sharlock, funny about the we part. Has the ICC made an issue about the floodlight?

Next time don’t use words which are above your intellectual capacity. It is spelled “Sherlock”.
Next time dont go around pretending as you are some authority by saying WE.

When ICC will have an issue about lights than talk.

LOL we cant rule out, as if you are an investigative officer for ICC :facepalm:

90% comes from India? Like indian government, Indian cricket board? Do you donate that money to ICC? Or India A plays against India B and then you donate that money to other countries?

This level of false sense of grandeur and delusion is why Indians have become the most hated ethnic group worldwide. Insufferable.

I mean there have been multiple allegations on Ashwins and Bumrah’s bowling actions. Why have they not been investigated yet?

And from the looks of it, its only Indians that have been suffering from severe pain since Pakistan has been alloted Champions Trophy. Why dont you guys give it a rest, and focus on your matches in Dubai which have nothing to do with Pakistan?

Next time dont go around pretending as you are some authority by saying WE.

When ICC will have an issue about lights than talk.

LOL we cant rule out, as if you are an investigative officer for ICC :facepalm:
‘We’ is a collective noun and is used when more than one person has discussed an issue. Why don’t you take the time to learn English? I never said the ICC cannot rule it out.

This is a forum and a discussion thread. I’ll talk about it for as long as I want. If you have a problem with that, don’t post.

I mean there have been multiple allegations on Ashwins and Bumrah’s bowling actions. Why have they not been investigated yet?

And from the looks of it, its only Indians that have been suffering from severe pain since Pakistan has been alloted Champions Trophy. Why dont you guys give it a rest, and focus on your matches in Dubai which have nothing to do with Pakistan?
How will I know why Ashwin and Bumrah isn't investigated?

Make the allegation in the proper forum and then let's see what ICC does.

‘We’ is a collective noun and is used when more than one person has discussed an issue. Why don’t you take the time to learn English? I never said the ICC cannot rule it out.

This is a forum and a discussion thread. I’ll talk about it for as long as I want. If you have a problem with that, don’t post.
Again, when ICC has an issue they will notify the authorities.

Come up here saying We cannot rule it out as a self proclaim experts only shows you are trying to speculate a fault here on the ground.

Sorry let me do a bit of correction:

“We” as a collective noun here describing bunch of Indians cribbing and having constant moaning and crying sessions since Pakistan has gotten CT allotment.

Kiwis have raised no concern, neither has ICC. But the “We’s” here cannot stop their rhona dhona. And you are right, you can cry and shout as much as you would like as its a forum and we can always call you out for your BS. :ronaldo

How will I know why Ashwin and Bumrah isn't investigated?

Make the allegation in the proper forum and then let's see what ICC does.
When are you making your allegations on the proper forum to see what ICC does about GSL floodlights? I will follow your lead, kumar.

there is allegation of match fixing in every india match, does that mean every match of india should be investigated?

The allegations are made by India bookies who say, saab fixed hai.....
Every match of every country should be investigated for transparency especially when allegations are there.

I can't recall such allegations even in PP forum against Indian matches. Any recent incident that you can mention where there was allegations?

“We” as a collective noun here describing bunch of Indians cribbing and having constant moaning and crying sessions since Pakistan has gotten CT allotment.

Kiwis have raised no concern, neither has ICC. But the “We’s” here cannot stop their rhona dhona. And you are right, you can cry and shout as much as you would like as its a forum and we can always call you out for your BS. :ronaldo
funny thing is, few of them than mention indians in third person to show that they themselves are not indians.

I like how there are posters that pretend to be Indians. But the nationalism mask often slips.

The We's are self proclaimed experts.

90% comes from India? Like indian government, Indian cricket board? Do you donate that money to ICC? Or India A plays against India B and then you donate that money to other countries?

This level of false sense of grandeur and delusion is why Indians have become the most hated ethnic group worldwide. Insufferable.

Indian broadcasters pay that money. Indian public pays the Broadcaster and Indian public is the target audience of the advertisers on that channel.

Pakistan Cricket Board struggles to find broadcaster for its home series.

If India A plays India B that will also bring more money than any Pakistan home series match.

Leave other countries. Talk about Pakistan. 50 per cent of PCBs budget is dependent on ICC revenue share. 90 per cent of which comes from Indian territory. Thats what a PCB chairman told Pakistan's senate.

And you think Indians care if pakistanis hate us. Lol. Thats expected.

How do you know kiwis raised no concerns?

Every match of every country should be investigated for transparency especially when allegations are there.

I can't recall such allegations even in PP forum against Indian matches. Any recent incident that you can mention where there was allegations?
LOL say no more

Thread: Should ICC/SLC investigate Sri Lanka's 317 run ODI loss to India?

Post BY @Itachi in that thread

1739123969303.png
1739124003133.png

3 2 1, you may start the mental gymnastics now.

Allegations by whom? Which ex Cricketer? Which Umpire or Match refree?

How do you know kiwis raised no concerns?
Has it came in media they have raised concerns?

We dont know whether Rohit Sharma made a racist remark against Joe Root in todays match. But because we dont know, are we gnna make a thread and assume that ok we dont have proof any racist indicent taking place, But "WE" should not rule out any racist incident not taking place.

This is the logic of Indian fans in this thread

@Major is just sharing his opinion, while you are flaunting India’s/BCCI’s money as if it came from your own pocket. Anyway a guy getting paid ₹2 per post by the BJP IT Cell is talking about others aukaat? You have no idea how rich the person on the other side of the screen might be. Apni dhoti sambhaal, chotey. :inti

Kiwis have raised no concern, neither has ICC. But the “We’s” here cannot stop their rhona dhona. And you are right, you can cry and shout as much as you would like as it’s a forum and we can always call you out for your BS. :ronaldo
Neither Rashid Latif nor I am Indian. It might be hard for your fake nationalistic ego to digest, but I'll say what I have to say.

He dropped a catch. Ball slipped through his hands. Nothing more.

Don't think it has anything to do with floodlight. If floodlight had issue, other players could've made mistakes too.
I agree. Unless more players were injured , we can't determine if it's the lights or not.

LOL say no more

Thread: Should ICC/SLC investigate Sri Lanka's 317 run ODI loss to India?

Post BY @Itachi in that thread

View attachment 150616
View attachment 150617

3 2 1, you may start the mental gymnastics now.
So.... What was the aftermath?

Again, when ICC has an issue they will notify the authorities.

Come up here saying We cannot rule it out as a self proclaim experts only shows you are trying to speculate a fault here on the ground.
Of course, I’m trying to speculate there might be a fault but I’m not saying that ICC said it. I said the upgrades should have been completed months and everything should have been tested thoroughly.

I agree. Unless more players were injured , we can't determine if it's the lights or not.
Dig a hole in a footpath.

And let's wait more people to get injured to check to see if the footpath is at fault or people can't see the hole.

Has it came in media they have raised concerns?

We dont know whether Rohit Sharma made a racist remark against Joe Root in todays match. But because we dont know, are we gnna make a thread and assume that ok we dont have proof any racist indicent taking place, But "WE" should not rule out any racist incident not taking place.

This is the logic of Indian fans in this thread
So because it's not in media, hence kiwis didn't raise concern....

You are depended on media a lot considering how you criticise it.

News was started by Pakistan ex players and journalists and indian Media take it from there .

But yea blame indian instead questioning the PCB.

Why they didn't follow the standard procedures.

Ohh Wait you May be don't know what is the standard procedure .

Many things start in Pakistan and are reported by Indian media. But it becomes Indian media's problem.

So because it's not in media, hence kiwis didn't raise concern....

You are depended on media a lot considering how you criticise it.
i dont critisize the media. If a complain was made it would had been forwarded to the PCB and once PCB recieve such complains, work would be done on the floodlight. And if the media representatives pick any work that is being done on the floodlights they would report back.
Thats how media works.

The media teams have their cars and trucks parked outside Qadaffi.

Like i said, many of you are just trying to find a fault

Many things start in Pakistan and are reported by Indian media. But it becomes Indian media's problem.
I have seen you complain about many things that have started in India but picked up by Pakistani media. You get hostile and through fits asking what business is it of Pakistan etc etc.

Please direct the same hostility towards your own media as it seems they do the same in reverse.

It's going to be an embarrassing moment tomorrow for those Indian news outlets that were reporting this just one day prior.

Yes, Indian media in absolutely correct. PCB, Pakistani government and the flood lights are 200% responsible for Ravindra's injury...... in exactly the same way, Sri Lankan's team was responsible for the abandonment of 1996 World Cup semi final at Eden Gardens. One can the smiles on Sri Lankan players after they caused the fires in the stand with their match winning performances..... why they couldn't just perform badly, lose and avoid the fires?

1739130698163.png