PM Imran Khan says nurses appeared like ‘hoors’ after painkiller

Major

Test Star
KARACHI: Prime Minister Imran Khan has said the nurse at the Shaukat Khanum Hospital, who administered him a pain-killing injection after he fell from the stage, looked like a hoor.

The prime minister said he was in deep pain due to injuries after he fell from the stage while campaigning during the 2013 election. But the injection by the Shaukat Khanum Hospital nurse not only removed the pain but enabled him to make a speech as well. The nurses who made his pain go away looked hoors at that time.

Imran said he repeatedly asked the doctor to give him more of that pain killer injection but he refused. At one point the prime minister recalled threatening the doctor to do his bidding but he did not allow another injection.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/60...s-nurses-appeared-like-hoors-after-painkiller

video in link

pathetic comments by this pm

Full clip with context Geo and Dawn trying their best to turn this into another sexists debate.

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/iAXm62k2QvE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Full clip posted maybe you should add it into OP for better context

Still why did he use the word hoor? Hoor means a beautiful woman or apsara. Would you say that if a guy helps you and call him chikna?

had a random person called someones mother, daughter or sister a hoor for doing their nurse duty, would we be talking about context than?

Although i do get what hes trying to say but really poor choice of words. Embarrassing and downright cringy.

Not surprised why this thread was created and by whom.

It would have helped had OP actually watched the actual video clip of the speech. Leken Bhutto ab bhi zinda hai, mar ke nahi deh raha manhoos.

It would have helped had OP actually watched the actual video clip of the speech.

But still, very poor choice of words and the shameful thing is that there were women in the crowd who were laughing at it.

I have watched the video and no way it did not sound like the objectification of women. I know it is very common in Pakistan, this type of casual sexism but still.

It would have helped had OP actually watched the actual video clip of the speech. Leken Bhutto ab bhi zinda hai, mar ke nahi deh raha manhoos.

To add to this, anybody who reads The News or quotes it really does not have any credibility. This media house is nothing more than a fake news factory and have repeatedly been seen twisting words and spreading false info, case in point from just an hour ago:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="no" dir="ltr">Fake statement alert. <a href="https://t.co/53zMOh87qX">https://t.co/53zMOh87qX</a></p>— Hammad Azhar (@Hammad_Azhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Hammad_Azhar/status/1222214091923775489?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I don't recall it but was there a thread from OP when Nawaz Sharif in his live speech asked yeh orten PTI ke jalson main kia kerne jaati hen? or was there a thread by him on bilawals fingering remarks. Poor choice of words by Imran here but OP is making it sound like the end of world when his leader did far worse and there was no thread by him.

Can you tell me in what context, Mr PM said hoors?

Really poor from IK he is a PM and should be careful with his selection of words.

as usual, the flana did this brigade is here.

Let me remind you, these comments have been made by the PM of the country, not some politician.

So DAWN is not credible, THe news is not credible(even though there is a video), toh duniya mein kayree creadible news wala reh gya hai?

Let me guess, Bol channel

PMLN thought we should also jump in the headline with a racist gem by making fun of Pathans and their Urdu.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پاکستان مسلم لیگ (ن) کے ڈپٹی سیکریٹری جنرل عطاءاللہ تارڑ کا وفاقی وزیر مراد سعید کے بیان پر ردِ عمل۔<br><br>”عمران آئے گی اورمنی لانڈرنگ کے پیسے لائی گی، 300 ارب منہ پر مارے گی“ وہ سب ڈرامے کدھر گئے؟<br><br>ملک کی خدمت کرنے والوں سے حساب ایک گھنٹے میں چار پرچے دینے والا مانگ رہا ہے ؟</p>— PML(N) (@pmln_org) <a href="https://twitter.com/pmln_org/status/1222161416347668483?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

as usual, the flana did this brigade is here.

Let me remind you, these comments have been made by the PM of the country, not some politician.

So DAWN is not credible, THe news is not credible(even though there is a video), toh duniya mein kayree creadible news wala reh gya hai?

Let me guess, Bol channel

Yes Nawaz Shareef was a PM of Pakistan when passed double meaning remarks about PTI female workers in dharna where were you?

PMLN thought we should also jump in the headline with a racist gem by making fun of Pathans and their Urdu.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پاکستان مسلم لیگ (ن) کے ڈپٹی سیکریٹری جنرل عطاءاللہ تارڑ کا وفاقی وزیر مراد سعید کے بیان پر ردِ عمل۔<br><br>”عمران آئے گی اورمنی لانڈرنگ کے پیسے لائی گی، 300 ارب منہ پر مارے گی“ وہ سب ڈرامے کدھر گئے؟<br><br>ملک کی خدمت کرنے والوں سے حساب ایک گھنٹے میں چار پرچے دینے والا مانگ رہا ہے ؟</p>— PML(N) (@pmln_org) <a href="https://twitter.com/pmln_org/status/1222161416347668483?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

They have quoted him verbatim. Where are the 300 Arab rupees?

I really want this injection or tablet/capsule,Can someone export to India :hasan.

Yes Nawaz Shareef was a PM of Pakistan when passed double meaning remarks about PTI female workers in dharna where were you?

Why is it always about OH look what PMLN did too, Oh look what PPP did too.

"Too" being the keyword here.

Didnt we vote for PTI to be above and better than these parties?

We? You never thought PTI is better than these parties and you supported PMLN so please don't take the side here

so wait, according to PTI fans, its ok to call any female working anywhere as hoor?
doesnt matter if that female working is someones wife, mother or daughter?

so wait, according to PTI fans, its ok to call any female working anywhere as hoor?

You seemed to be ok with Nawaz Sharif calling PTI women as women of questionable character while being sitting PM.

We? You never thought PTI is better than these parties and you supported PMLN so please don't take the side here

Even today he is like Shahbaz Sharif is the best CM in history. Patwariyon ko onki auqaat bhool jati hai.

Do you understand the term context?

if they are bad then why you have to be bad?

I already condemned IK's comments earlier in this thread what he is said is totally wrong the selection of words was poor he should avoid such comments i don't care about context he shouldn't have uttered these words. This is not the first time i criticized him there is a difference between being a supporter and a blind follower. I am just a supporter...

Do you understand the term context?

Yes and can you explain in what context was it said? Was he trying to imply that the nurses were so ugly that after injection, even they looked beautiful? If that's the case then it's even worse.

had a random person called someones mother, daughter or sister a hoor for doing their nurse duty, would we be talking about context than?

You are trying too hard.

I am sure you can find many other excuse to put down PTI and those who support PTI but trying to take the words out of context and changing the meaning of the word is probably not the best way.

You are not a media outlet, you do not have to sell sensationalism to show unhappiness with a ruling government.

How conveniently you ignored the joke about Pathan's Urdu in this tweet.

Its quoted verbatim, i repeat. If his Urdu is weak then its no ones fault. Maybe he should have gotten better schooling. I have educated pathan friends who speak proper urdu.

Where are the 300 Arab rupees?

Even today he is like Shahbaz Sharif is the best CM in history. Patwariyon ko onki auqaat bhool jati hai.

He is. Usman Buzdar and his ilk are an absolute joke. Sitting PTI minister, Fawad Ch, called for his resignation a while ago.

Its quoted verbatim, i repeat. If his Urdu is weak then its no ones fault. Maybe he should have gotten better schooling. I have educated pathan friends who speak proper urdu.

Where are the 300 Arab rupees?

mashALLAH what an excuse

So tell me who in the Parliament mentioned the figure of $200b for the first time in 2014 as a Finance Minister? You can use google

mashALLAH what an excuse

So tell me who in the Parliament mentioned the figure of $200b for the first time in 2014 as a Finance Minister? You can use google

Murad saeed and his uneducated motor mouth has cost PTI supporters big time. You have do so much mental gymnastics just to deflect the 300 Arab question.

I just asked a simple question who in the parliament mentioned this swiss bank figure for the first time? I even mentioned the date and finance minister as a keyword...

Here is a hint-Munshi

I just asked a simple question who in the parliament mentioned this swiss bank figure for the first time? I even mentioned the date and finance minister as a keyword...

From Bewal's hint it was probably Ishaq Dar.

But why is this the point of contention?

Are you saying that PTI is not even capable enough to quote correct numbers as you are supposedly trying to bring the angle of the numbers being "wrong"?

Still no one has answered my question. What was the context in which he said this?

IK should stop such rubbish. Now his die hard fans who don't like to hear a word against him will be demanding the same injection as well so they too can see angels. Idiots.

He has said this as a joke many times before but now that these people are on a mission to find something that they can twist to suit the agenda.

Just an example of how blatantly these low lives in media are twisting his statements.

Imran Khan said "It's perception that i have no idea about inflation and I am being misguided but i know everything".......Geo tweets this "I can't control inflation, people are misguiding me". This is how blatantly lies are being spread and Imran Khan should be careful with words as well, probably stop telling any kind of jokes.

Few days ago he said in a context "Insaan ko struggle kartay rehna chaahyie, jab struggle khatam tou maqsad khatam ho jaata hai, sukoon tou qabar main milega so keep struggling".......of course some idiots just took "Sukoon qabar main milega" bit as if he said nothing is going to get better so better we all die :facepalm:

He has said this as a joke many times before but now that these people are on a mission to find something that they can twist to suit the agenda.

Just an example of how blatantly these low lives in media are twisting his statements.

Imran Khan said "It's perception that i have no idea about inflation and I am being misguided but i know everything".......Geo tweets this "I can't control inflation, people are misguiding me". This is how blatantly lies are being spread and Imran Khan should be careful with words as well, probably stop telling any kind of jokes.

Few days ago he said in a context "Insaan ko struggle kartay rehna chaahyie, jab struggle khatam tou maqsad khatam ho jaata hai, sukoon tou qabar main milega so keep struggling".......of course some idiots just took "Sukoon qabar main milega" bit as if he said nothing is going to get better so better we all die :facepalm:

Our media is a cheap media. They should be neutral but they are favoring their favorites. ARY pro PTI, They always against other parties. Geo is anti PTI they are always against PTI and so on.

This is 2020 and sexist jokes are not funny anymore.

IK should stop such rubbish. Now his die hard fans who don't like to hear a word against him will be demanding the same injection as well so they too can see angels. Idiots.

Tbh: Khan isn't very smart or good with the words. Its a bit appalling to see these goofy statements after every short while. First Germany and Japan were neighbours and now this. He thinks every speech is targeted towards a Container Dharna audience.

If that's his level of intellect and eloquence, than most pervious PMs (even if corrupt) were better with the words than him.

In last 2 months they tried every trick to destroy this goverment but it didn't work it all started when Fazlu show was flopped they had really high hopes from it when it didn't work they started using these new ways...

Tbh: Khan isn't very smart or good with the words. Its a bit appalling to see these goofy statements after every short while. First Germany and Japan were neighbours and now this. He thinks every speech is targeted towards a Container Dharna audience.

If that's his level of intellect and eloquence, than most pervious PMs (even if corrupt) were better with the words than him.

His fanbase really enjoys such statements being it racists statements like against one of the political opponents to phateechar comments.

This is 2020 and sexist jokes are not funny anymore.

Well it was light hearted joke when he wasn't seeing things straight after a pain killer, if you want to take it so seriously then up to you. I was just highlighting the motive behind making this joke viral which meant NOTHING in bigger scheme of things. SO next time someone tells you a joke, probably better analyse whether it will be offensive before laughing. What you will find is 90% of jokes make people laugh at expense of someone/something. Let's stop telling jokes all together.

His fanbase really enjoys such statements being it racists statements like against one of the political opponents to phateechar comments.

There was no justification to phateechar comments, it was in extremely poor taste.

Well it was light hearted joke when he wasn't seeing things straight after a pain killer, if you want to take it so seriously then up to you. I was just highlighting the motive behind making this joke viral which meant NOTHING in bigger scheme of things. SO next time someone tells you a joke, probably better analyse whether it will be offensive before laughing. What you will find is 90% of jokes make people laugh at expense of someone/something. Let's stop telling jokes all together.

He could have worded it better. Is he trying to imply that the injection was so strong that the nurses who were ugly looked like 'hoors'? Then that's worse. No one enjoys such jokes now. There are better things on which you can joke rather than objectifying women.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mr <a href="https://twitter.com/arsched?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@arsched</a>,it seems u have no sense of humor where u have sickeningly turned a light hearted comment abt Morphine side effects as sexist. To say that it felt like I was in heaven,one usually uses the hoor reference but of course it's all in the mind of how one translates the msg <a href="https://t.co/hlIZLLuAPe">https://t.co/hlIZLLuAPe</a></p>— Tehreek-e-Insaf (@InsafPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/InsafPK/status/1222065871318933504?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
[MENTION=135844]pakistanisgreat[/MENTION] a pro pti channel's top anchor for you in above tweet. only sabir shakir is pro PTI on Ary rest are all anti PTI and Kashif Abbasi is unbiased.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mr <a href="https://twitter.com/arsched?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@arsched</a>,it seems u have no sense of humor where u have sickeningly turned a light hearted comment abt Morphine side effects as sexist. To say that it felt like I was in heaven,one usually uses the hoor reference but of course it's all in the mind of how one translates the msg <a href="https://t.co/hlIZLLuAPe">https://t.co/hlIZLLuAPe</a></p>— Tehreek-e-Insaf (@InsafPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/InsafPK/status/1222065871318933504?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

[MENTION=135844]pakistanisgreat[/MENTION] a pro pti channel's top anchor for you in above tweet. only sabir shakir is pro PTI on Ary rest are all anti PTI and Kashif Abbasi is unbiased.

It was a sexist joke. Idiots at PTI need to stop defending it. IK is a human as well and he's not infallible.

may be recently they become anti pti not 6 months ago. Now even the Arshad bhatti and Hasan nisar started to go against PTI. Until last year specially Arshad bhatti was a great PTI support.
Plus look at their programs when NL was in government. I do not need to bring that in.

Why Sabar shakar is pro pri?
that is my concern. all of our media persons should be neutral. it does not matter who they are.

Coming from a man who couldn't save his marriages...

Who cares dude, it's his personal life. In the west a failure of a marriage(s) isn't considered a moral failing, also Khan's currently been married 5 years to the same woman right now.

His detractors are bankrupt if this is an issue they can find with him. Even if it was sexist, it is not offending from someone who is handsome and has a killer smile. I don't see any nurses protesting, just the usual imran haters.

As I have said before, he can kill a child on live tv and his loyalists will defend him and clutch at straws for “context” and they will give examples of so and so politicians who have also made similar comments.

There is no context here - he clearly implied that the nurses looked prettier than they actually were when he was given morphine.

A pathetic comment and people should not be justifying or defending it, but I guess you cannot expect sanity from PTI supporters.

Imran’s tragedy is that for all the Aitchison and Oxford education, the only woman he learned to respect in life was his mother.

Depends upon what type of pain killer injection was used. Some of them have Sedative effects and can cause hallucinations.

As a whole, context of speech was more important but this sentence was poor choice of words. A common man may use it but an executive should articulate his words in a better way.

Uneducated Nooras/Jiyalas trying their best to twist Imran's words again.

Yes, he used the wrong word, but one doesn't need to be the second coming of Einstein to understand the context.

He could have said farishta, hoor is not the right word for it.

Imran spent half of his life in England, I don't think his command of urdu is that great. He probably didn't realise that hoor was sexualised by those who can only think in such terms. He obviously wasn't implying that in any way.

Uneducated Nooras/Jiyalas trying their best to twist Imran's words again.

Yes, he used the wrong word, but one doesn't need to be the second coming of Einstein to understand the context.

Those expecting better intellect and decent choice of words from their country’s PM are not necessarily Nooras or Jiyalas. This shouldn’t be very difficult to comprehend.

Imran Khan is just dumb and lacks basic knowledge on subjects that a Statesman (and educated person) is expected to know. How can we expect tactful and clever decision making from him, after seeing all the choices he has made so far? And all the dumb people he has recruited in his Ministeries?

Those expecting better intellect and decent choice of words from their country’s PM are not necessarily Nooras or Jiyalas. This shouldn’t be very difficult to comprehend.

Imran Khan is just dumb and lacks basic knowledge on subjects that a Statesman (and educated person) is expected to know. How can we expect tactful and clever decision making from him, after seeing all the choices he has made so far? And all the dumb people he has recruited in his Ministeries?

This statement was so obvious that a 15 years old kid would understand the context without any problem.

People have no problem with idiots like Rana Sanaullah saying that meeting Nawaz at the airport is equivalent to performing the Hajj, but they are quick to jump into a thread to twist Imran's words out of nowhere.

Mere bhai, Rana Sanaullah and Nawaz Sharif were crooks but they are history now. They are no benchmarks (if at all Imran had the opportunity to teach them a lesson but he didn’t).

Anyways, We cant just keep on dragging this excuse for the rest of our lives. Time to move on with the arguments.

As I have said before, he can kill a child on live tv and his loyalists will defend him and clutch at straws for “context” and they will give examples of so and so politicians who have also made similar comments.

There is no context here - he clearly implied that the nurses looked prettier than they actually were when he was given morphine.

A pathetic comment and people should not be justifying or defending it, but I guess you cannot expect sanity from PTI supporters.

Imran’s tragedy is that for all the Aitchison and Oxford education, the only woman he learned to respect in life was his mother.

i wonder if someone said the same sentence to someones mother, daughter or wife in the same context, how would they feel.

Imran spent half of his life in England, I don't think his command of urdu is that great. He probably didn't realise that hoor was sexualised by those who can only think in such terms. He obviously wasn't implying that in any way.

This is the worst excuse I have ever heard. He has not lived most of his life in England. He has lived in Pakistan for more than that and at least for the last 30 years. If he had lived half of his life in England then he should have had British nationality. He's a full Lahori

Thats no excuse.

Hes the pm of pakistan. Not uk.

So our pm doesnt know urdu now?

The guy was a pakistani cricketer. Lived and played for pakistan, was part of the culture forgods sake.

Even if you use the british excuse, than shouldnt he know better that you cant ake such remarks about others eespecially females?

Is hoor a derogatory term? i dont think so. It means a beautiful lady. So i am still thinking that why this has been made an issue and plus, one should understand the context first.

Sorry but we arent PMLN or Mamoon :)

Is hoor a derogatory term? i dont think so. It means a beautiful lady. So i am still thinking that why this has been made an issue and plus, one should understand the context first.

As I said, there are those who are sexualising it unnecessarily in order to demean Pakistan's PM. This is more telling of their own mindset than Imran Khan's.

What is the context? And he is objectifying women who were doing their job. How would you feel if your female family member was working and an old guy at the workplace says something about her?