Potohari/Pahari/Mirpuri Thread

Mere pahari dost sabh hindi boltey hain :facepalm:

Pahari mey wo sirf apne pahari dosto ke saath secret wali chugali krte hain

Tusaa pahari dramyaa(plays) dekhoo.Miki kharo england.Main ve sher jasaa.Main ve kukr khasa.Main julaaya ha england ay dramya kon kon tkyaa vaiy

Main kal o Angrezi film takki si...West is West. Bari changi a gi, boou maza aaya

pataan mudhay ki half caste unnay banayah. mikki om puri na nakh takki tay ultiyah payjanna :31:

Chalo koi gal ni, lol nakh ki choro ji changa acting kittees. Main bouun haasya sa jub oo aakhya sa 'vy you always bloody istuupid?' :)):))

Lol yw, number 1 source for breaking news :P

have i ? btw have i told u music keeps me going ? :D

Angel thats right lol ;-)

Ooopsies.

Lol, I kinda gathered that. :P

Nahi, kaddeh vi ni. :facepalm:

Tusaa pahari dramyaa(plays) dekhoo.Miki kharo england.Main ve sher jasaa.Main ve kukr khasa.Main julaaya ha england ay dramya kon kon tkyaa vaiy

OMG, main oh do dramay takkay sun. Bloody hilarious.

No am not lying, why would I? :))

Music and how it keeps you going. I had forgotten myself, had to look back up, Lol.

Mikki koni pata tu kiya joot marya si :P

You forgot ? you should try eating almonds ;)

enjoy karyaa atif. mein bujya ke marrakech changi jaga ai.

thought it was about time i made a re-entrance to this thread.

aur ka hona pya? ka karney pe o Allah ne bandhe?

[utube]Oi0scEz0EGA[/utube]
:asif:asif poor old geezer

Mujhe bhi sikhao :ahmed

who want.
Hello Salaam
Goodbye khudaafiz
Welcome to Kashmir Kashmir vich tashreef llaikinu
Mister, Sir Saab
Lady, Mrs, Madam Memsaab
Miss, Young Lady Janaani
Greetings Mr Smith Salaam alaykam Smith saab
How are you? Kea aal eh?
I’m fine, thank you Meh Teek, shukar
Well enough Bas teek a
And you? Ta tu teek eh
So How’s everything? Saara Kuch teek eh?
What’s new? Navi taazi?
Nothing Kuch ni
How is your family? Taara Khandaan na ke aal eh?
Everyone is fine Saare teek an
Take care Khyaa rakhna

dont worry im here now. ka karne pe o is friday raat? party sharty kun karsi? lol

Mein to masay resturant se muree aya ah, friday night mari hoon khatam hoyee gi lol.

Maine nahi seekni pahari bhai

in mirpuri/kotli u would say

papa meh teh ne pahari sikhni (brother i don't want to learn pahari) basically a rough translation of what it means

or u could say papa meh teh na pahari sikhna

true pahari which starts changing above kotli/tatapani and extends on borders of neelum valley into areas of poonch rajauri in indian OCCUPIED kashmir the dialects vary from village to village area to area with small differences and in some villages u have very different isolated dialects due to the mountainous isolation of some villages.

well in my dads village they would say

papa mattah ne pahari sikhni

and also u can say it as papa mattah na pahari sikhna

in my mams village u can only say it as

lala mattah na pahari zada

as u can see in my mams village they call brother lala

whilst in my dads village they say papa

mattah = me

meh-teh = me

ne/na = no

sikh = teach learn same word in punjabi and urdu as well

and in my mams village they use the word zda/zada instead of sikh

in mirpuri/kotli u would say

papa meh teh ne pahari sikhni (brother i don't want to learn pahari) basically a rough translation of what it means

or u could say papa meh teh na pahari sikhna

true pahari which starts changing above kotli/tatapani and extends on borders of neelum valley into areas of poonch rajauri in indian OCCUPIED kashmir the dialects vary from village to village area to area with small differences and in some villages u have very different isolated dialects due to the mountainous isolation of some villages.

well in my dads village they would say

papa mattah ne pahari sikhni

and also u can say it as papa mattah na pahari sikhna

in my mams village u can only say it as

lala mattah na pahari zada

as u can see in my mams village they call brother lala

whilst in my dads village they say papa

mattah = me

meh-teh = me

ne/na = no

sikh = teach learn same word in punjabi and urdu as well

and in my mams village they use the word zda/zada instead of sikh

Dont they speak Hindko most people I know consider they self Hazara in Muzzafarabad just like in Mirpur,Bhimber and Kotli they are Potohari.

the hindko spoken in northern muzzfrabad division which includes muzzfrabad district proper and into southern part of neelum is virtually same language to poonchi (pahari) that is spoken from south muzzafrabad division (hattian bala district) into poonch division proper rawlakot, sudhanoti, bagh etc. and this language is also virtually same as the bordering regions of hazara particulary areas like talhata, ghari habibullah, jabri, jabri kalesh, garlat, tori, boi , boi ilaqa , pattan khurd.

its just like mirpuri of mirpur and kotli and potohari of gujar khan pindi they are virtually same language with a tad bit of differences and percularities

only that in poonch- muzzfrabad-mansehra area due to mountainous terrain and certain villages isolated there are more perculiar dfifferences of certain dialects varying from village with various degrees and strengths of hindko and pashto influence.

in certain parts like in upper neelum u have shina languages, and unique languages like kundal shahi

and also the bakkerwals of azad kashmir basically the gypsy people have their own unique language called gojri which is different and spoken mainly by the bakkerwals.

who want.
Hello Salaam
Goodbye khudaafiz
Welcome to Kashmir Kashmir vich tashreef llaikinu
Mister, Sir Saab
Lady, Mrs, Madam Memsaab
Miss, Young Lady Janaani
Greetings Mr Smith Salaam alaykam Smith saab
How are you? Kea aal eh?
I’m fine, thank you Meh Teek, shukar
Well enough Bas teek a
And you? Ta tu teek eh
So How’s everything? Saara Kuch teek eh?
What’s new? Navi taazi?
Nothing Kuch ni
How is your family? Taara Khandaan na ke aal eh?
Everyone is fine Saare teek an
Take care Khyaa rakhna

this is too much modern influence on this , from urdu and mainstream standard punjabi

some of the words u have used our grandparents would never have used , the pahari they spoke had very arcahic words that are not common with standard punjabi and the way they pronounced it is difficult to write down but the sounds were different.

tashrif is a posh word used by urdu speakers

mem saab, etc posh urdu words

here is my attempt from boli spoken in my dads village

Hello= salaam/ pay khair oveh
Goodbye = allah nay valeh
Welcome to Kashmir = pay aal oveh tussan na kashmeerch ghachayo

Lady, Mrs, = bibi , bi, begum
Miss, Young Lady = zanani, lori,

How are you?= Keh aal e ,

I’m fine, thank you = mehrbani matta teekah

Well enough = bas boon kuj ehn

And you?= Teh tu”n”

So How’s everything?= Saryan na keh aal eh

Nothing = Kuj ve na

How is your family?= Taaray karan nay na aal kehveh

everyone is fine= Saaray teek an

Take care =Khyaal rakhi

dialect in my mams village which is in a more mountainous area and different tribal background eventhough they are in the same district as my dad.

Hello = salaam/ pay khair o veh
Welcome to Kashmir = pay aal oveh staso na kashmeerch ratlul na

How are you? = kehshay aal e

I’m fine, thank you = mehrbani matta shee

Well enough = bas derich

And you? = wa tu”n”

So How’s everything? = Saryan na sumra aal eh

Nothing = hich na

How is your family? =Sta et karan nay na aal kehshay

everyone is fine = Saaray she “an”

Take care = pami bord

this is too much modern influence on this , from urdu and mainstream standard punjabi

some of the words u have used our grandparents would never have used , the pahari they spoke had very arcahic words that are not common with standard punjabi and the way they pronounced it is difficult to write down but the sounds were different.

And you?= Teh tu”n”

Nothing = Kuj ve na

Take care =Khyaal rakhi

dialect in my mams village which is in a more mountainous area and different tribal background eventhough they are in the same district as my dad.

Well enough = bas derich

And you? = wa tu”n”

Nothing = hich na

everyone is fine = Saaray she “an”

Take care = pami bord

The way they speak in your dads village is almost the same as how we speak.

And you?= Teh tu”n”

Nothing = Kuj ve na

Take care =Khyaal rakhi

Well enough = bas derich

And you? = wa tu”n”

Nothing = hich na