Protesters surround Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, disperse after negotiations (Main culprit arrested)

JaDed

Scores of protesters surrounded the Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, located in its namesake city, on Friday afternoon, threatening to overrun the holy site if their demands for the release of suspects in an alleged forced conversion case were not met.

However, the protesters dispersed after several hours in the evening following successful negotiations between them and government representatives, which led to the release of the arrested persons.

Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, also known as the Gurdwara Janam Asthan, is the site where the first Guru of the Sikhs, Guru Nanak, was born and is regarded as one of the holiest sites in the religion.

On Friday evening, scores of charged protesters staged a sit-in outside the Gurdwara. They were led by the family of a man, Ehsan, who was accused of forcibly converting a Sikh woman, Jagjit Kaur, earlier this year.

On August 28, a First Information Report (FIR) was filed in the Nankana police station against six people who were accused of abducting and forcefully converting the 19-year-old woman.

The police subsequently traced the suspects to Lahore and detained one of them. Later, the woman had submitted a written statement in the court, stating that she had converted to Islam and married Ehsan of her own free will. She also accused her family of "wanting to kill me".

The woman was subsequently shifted to a Darul Aman shelter on the court’s orders, after the Sikh community had demanded that the police bring her back to her parents' house irrespective of the conversion being forced or consensual.

On Friday, Ehsan's family alleged that police had raided their home and detained several family members, including Ehsan, ahead of the next court hearing scheduled for January 9. “Today, police personnel raided our home and arrested my brother and relatives after torturing them,” Ehsan’s sister told the media outside the Gurdwara, claiming that the police also tortured women and children present in the house.

Ehsan’s family also alleged that the police were trying to pressure them ahead of the court hearing.

For his part, the District Police Officer of Nankana Sahib, Ismail Kharak, said that the suspects were arrested on the basis of a complaint filed by a citizen regarding a dispute. He did not, however, comment on the family’s allegations regarding the police’s attempts to pressure them ahead of the hearing.

In the evening, successful talks were held between the protesters and the PTI Nankana Sahib president Pir Sarwar Shah. Police subsequently released all arrested persons, following which the protesters ended their protest and dispersed from the site.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1526068/protesters-surround-gurdwara-nankana-sahib-disperse-after-negotiations

Good on the authorities able to disperse, I don't want to take a dig at any authority on my side but this is well done before it became an issue.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Who are these people? Why Murdabaad slogans were chanted by the mob? Where is the government??? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> <a href="https://t.co/HJcrKAVsNW">pic.twitter.com/HJcrKAVsNW</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1213106341746794496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 3, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Situation in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> is under control now: Police <a href="https://t.co/ftbQunJmGs">https://t.co/ftbQunJmGs</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1213135214555402245?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 3, 2020</a></blockquote>

Hundreds of angry Muslim residents of Nankana Sahib pelted stones on Gurdwara Nankana Sahib on Friday. The mob, as per initial reports, is being led by the family of Mohammad Hassan, the boy who allegedly abducted and converted Sikh girl Jagjit Kaur, who is the daughter of the gurdwara's pathi.

By Friday at 7 pm, reports coming out of Pakistan said that the mob had surrounded the gurdwara and were threatening to destroy it.

In a video, recorded at the site of the protest, the protesters were seen saying that they were against the presence of the gurdwara there. They say they will soon change the name of the place from Nankana Sahib to Ghulaman-e-Mustafa.

"No Sikh will remain in Nankana," the protesters can be heard saying.

Sources at the ground have told India Today TV that local police and Pakistani Rangers have started arresting the protesters to quell the situation.

Till the last update, several Sikh devotees were stranded inside the gurdwara.

The incident comes a day after Sikhs celebrated Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti on Thursday.

Nankana Sahib, a district in Pakistan's Punjab province with a namesake gurudwara, assumes importance for Sikhs as their first Guru, Guru Nanak Dev was born there in 1469.

The case of Sikh girl conversion

The angry mob at the gurdwara is being led by Mohammad Hassan's brother, who has claimed that Hassan has been beaten up mercilessly by the authorities for lawfully and consensually marrying the girl. The family claims that the Sikh girl, now known as Ayesha, has refused to convert back despite the pressure. "Despite the beatings at the behest of the ministers and authorities, we will only follow the orders of the court and wishes of Ayesha. She says she does not want to convert again," Hassan's brother said at the protest at the behest of his brother.

https://www.indiatoday.in/amp/world...-1633739-2020-01-03?__twitter_impression=true

They should have surrounded the police station and protested but then this is the typical desi mentality

In a video, recorded at the site of the protest, the protesters were seen saying that they were against the presence of the gurdwara there. They say they will soon change the name of the place from Nankana Sahib to Ghulaman-e-Mustafa.

"No Sikh will remain in Nankana," the protesters can be heard saying

Pakistan government should also spend money on educating people about the importance of religious tolerance if they are serious about making it a better place for all citizens

Whenever their is a inter religious marriage in Pakistan you hear one side saying its forced, and the other saying it was a love marriage.

Either way some way needs to be strictly punished. If the guy abducted her give him a life sentence, however if the parents are lying and it was a love marriage, then they need to be held accountable.

All it took is a small issue for people to pelt stones on one of the most revered temple of Sikhs.

Still need to establish what exactly happened here. It will only accelerate the Khalistan movement. Sikh's are no more happy in India that the padosi is taunting Pak.

Social media has become the go-to platform for someone to spread a message quickly. Be it positive or negative, the internet is the fastest medium to deliver the message to millions across the globe. While it often takes a little while to inspire people for something constructive even on social media, hate usually spreads like wildfire. Indian cricketer Harbhajan Singh came across a similar case where, in a video, an angry Muslim man could be seen threatening to destroy Nankana Sahib Gurdwara in Pakistan.

Hundreds of angry Muslim locals threatened to destroy the Nankana Sahib gurdwara in Pakistan on Friday afternoon, while pledging to build a mosque in its place instead. It's the brother of Mohammad Hassan, who had allegedly abducted and converted Jagjit Kaur (daughter of the gurdwara's granthi), who could be seen leading the mob in the recorded video.

In the video, Hassan's brother was heard saying that he will make sure that there's no Sikh left in the city and will ensure that its name is changed from Nankana Sahib to Ghulaman-e-Mustafa.

Bhajji shared a couple of videos of the same incident on his Twitter account, asking the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan, to take action against the mob threatening to destroy the gurdwara.

“Don’t know what’s wrong with some people why can’t they live in peace.. Mohammad Hassan openly threatens to destroy Nankana Sahib Gurdwara and build the mosque in that place..very sad to see this [MENTION=5335]imrankhan[/MENTION]PTI”, Harbhajan wrote in his first tweet.

The Ministry fo External Affairs in India has condemned the vandalism of the holy Sikh shrine in Nankana Sahib which is the birthplace of Shri Guru Nanak Dev ji. The Chief Minister of Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh, also appealed to Imran Khan, asking for him to rescue the trapped devotees inside the gurdwara from the angry mob.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...ened-to-destroy-nankana-sahib-gurdwara/535553

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Don’t know what’s wrong with some people why can’t they live in peace.. Mohammad Hassan openly threatens to destroy Nankana Sahib Gurdwara and build the mosque in that place..very sad to see this <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw" [MENTION=5335]imrankhan[/MENTION]PTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/vbmzsZNX1x">pic.twitter.com/vbmzsZNX1x</a></p>— Harbhajan Turbanator (@harbhajan_singh) <a href="https://twitter.com/harbhajan_singh/status/1213305964876550145?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">God is one..let’s not divide it and create hate among each other’s.. let’s be human first and respect each other’s.. Mohammad Hassan openly threatens to destroy Nankana Sahib Gurdwara and build the mosque in that place <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw" [MENTION=5335]imrankhan[/MENTION]PTI</a> plz do the needful &#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56911; <a href="https://t.co/egjRo5oml4">pic.twitter.com/egjRo5oml4</a></p>— Harbhajan Turbanator (@harbhajan_singh) <a href="https://twitter.com/harbhajan_singh/status/1213307400519704576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistanis who criticise the treatment of Muslim minorities in faraway lands should first speak out against the treatment of minorities in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Pakistan is the worst place for minorities.

Pakistanis who criticise the treatment of Muslim minorities in faraway lands should first speak out against the treatment of minorities in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

You were missing in many threads, but now you are re-born again because this happened in PTI era. :))
Yes Pakistan is the worst place for minorities after India.

Completed it for you :))

They should have surrounded the police station and protested but then this is the typical desi mentality

Pakistan government should also spend money on educating people about the importance of religious tolerance if they are serious about making it a better place for all citizens

LOL.
Maybe tell Modi to do it first. Cow vigilantes are on the rise. Babri Masjid was BROKEN DOWN. This is nothing compared to what you've done. Don't teach us about religious tolerance.

You were missing in many threads, but now you are re-born again because this happened in PTI era. :))

He has a point though, how can we in good conscience point fingers at India when we have incidents like this taking place?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Death threats and stone pelting to innocent tourists to support forcible conversion of a girl! This is Pakistan and that is why <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaSupportsCAA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaSupportsCAA</a> <br><br>Meanwhile, Pakistan army’s puppet is busy making a fool of himself by tweeting fake videos. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JagjitKaur?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JagjitKaur</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> <a href="https://t.co/vkNQhvTWIw">pic.twitter.com/vkNQhvTWIw</a></p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1213352419368681474?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

So an incident that was over in hours, in which no one got killed or injured, is an example being used. I am not defending this incident, but one must be scrapping the bottom of the barrel if this is their example of why India is so much better, especially given what has happened in India in the last few months.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Death threats and stone pelting to innocent tourists to support forcible conversion of a girl! This is Pakistan and that is why <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaSupportsCAA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaSupportsCAA</a> <br><br>Meanwhile, Pakistan army’s puppet is busy making a fool of himself by tweeting fake videos. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JagjitKaur?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JagjitKaur</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> <a href="https://t.co/vkNQhvTWIw">pic.twitter.com/vkNQhvTWIw</a></p>— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1213352419368681474?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Lol the midget is the real hardman of Twitter :))

Twitter is perhaps the only place where the midget even has a voice :)))

So an incident that was over in hours, in which no one got killed or injured, is an example being used. I am not defending this incident, but one must be scrapping the bottom of the barrel if this is their example of why India is so much better, especially given what has happened in India in the last few months.

Sir, in pakistan it's pretty common to hear minority side saying 'our girl was abducted & forcefully converted' & muslim side saying 'No the girl converted on her own !'
This is the same script that has been happening since 1947

don't know how much harm this incident hampered but it helped BJP to prove CAB is right !

LOL.
Maybe tell Modi to do it first. Cow vigilantes are on the rise. Babri Masjid was BROKEN DOWN. This is nothing compared to what you've done. Don't teach us about religious tolerance.
Modi is only interested in serving the hindutva vadis and people who don't oppose the spreading of ideology of his party.India is slowly becoming a hindu pakistan under his rule.I don't have any issue in accepting that.Pakistan started mistreating minorities after few years of it's formation do you know why one of the founding fathers of Pakistan left the country.Yes the demolition of Babri masjid was one of the darkest moments in the history of india, pakistanis took the revenge of it by attacking hindus and demolishing dezones of temples in their own country.I'm not trying to teach you anything.Your PM is trying to project the image of the pakistan as some kind of tolerant country by rebuilding and renovating minority places of worship but incidents like this shows the mentality of people so priority should be given to change the attitude of people towards minorities

PTI era? How is it even relevant? Adding random emojis contribute nothing to the topic at hand, please add something constructive.

This incident is bad no doubt and shouldn't have happened but Indians should be the last one condemning it after what they did with babri masjid.

Sad to hear about this.

Pakistan and India are two sides of the same coin when it comes to shameful treatment of the weak and vulnerable .

I condemn this act...
but dont make a mountain out of a mole ...

Mohammad Hassan openly threatens to destroy Nankana Sahib Gurdwara
whos he ? a politician or in govt or some army man ? he is no one ....

but i can share alot of material where some indian BJP politicians sitting in govt threatening muslims every now and thn ....

I condemn this act...
but dont make a mountain out of a mole ...

whos he ? a politician or in govt or some army man ? he is no one ....

but i can share alot of material where some indian BJP politicians sitting in govt threatening muslims every now and thn ....

Really this is like "Ravi Kumar threatens to destroy Kaaba" type story - do you think the GOP will standby and let this man destroy Nankana Sahib like that?

not a chance, if needed, they will deploy Rangers ... and we all know when Rangers cme, no one will be able to stand infront of them, forget the Army ....

Have you seen any Pakistani in this thread defending this person?

I am sure you won't come back to reply because you are unable to but which Pakistani are defending it?

Please tell us

PTI era? How is it even relevant? Adding random emojis contribute nothing to the topic at hand, please add something constructive.

Making general statement, mostly talking point, doesn't contribute to anything either.

Tarek Fateh called this a terrorist attack :)))

The guy's going mental

Have you seen any Pakistani in this thread defending this person?

I am sure you won't come back to reply because you are unable to but which Pakistani are defending it?

Please tell us

They may not be defending the act but they go around thumping their chest that Pakistan is a very tolerant country.

No!

Highlighting India's bigotry, which not only affect India but also Pakistan and other neighboring countries does not translate in to Pakistan as a tolerant country. I do not understand where did you get that perception?

I have seen on multiple occasion, you only appear whenever such incident happens and usually comments are in lines of the above comment.

Obviously, India has blown this out of proportional, it was not wide spread, only a local incident, where only one sided used religious card to garner wide support, which they have failed because Pakistan and Pakistani refused to let them play a religious card.

And if you were to do more research before keep typing up memorized talking points then you would know the preacher who tried to spread hate also apologized, not that it preclude him as he initially tried to use religious card.

The key words, "matter was settled".

Do not let India, Indian media, nor mini midget ex cricket and now a member of a hate group RSS/BJP/Hindutva cloud your judgement.

This incident is bad no doubt and shouldn't have happened but Indians should be the last one condemning it after what they did with babri masjid.

The first time when they tried under under Mulayam he made police open fire and min 17 got killed.. then his govn fell and thats when VHP did that again.

But you are right on authorities, they did an excellent job here of dispersing.

In India and Pakistan these things will happen all that can be done is police authorities doing their job.. and in this case it was done no one died and I’m sure govn has taken notice and the miscreants will be given a notice.
So no point name calling..

Looks like the authorities have worked behind the scenes.

One could call this damage control or photo ops, and the culprit's apology should've been from behind bars, but hey, at least the efforts occurred, and since comparing and contrasting with the Humsaaya Mulk is the order of the day, at least the culprit wasn't elected MNA from Nankana...

Our record with minorities may leave a lot to be desired, but efforts such as these at least show we're cognizant of it.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Muslim ulema and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Punjab?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Punjab</a> assembly's representatives paid a visit to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sikh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sikh</a> Gurdwara Janamasthan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> - pledged for religious harmony in the country <a href="https://t.co/2kVcLBzfYI">pic.twitter.com/2kVcLBzfYI</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1213454424640774144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Gadi nasheen of Darbar Mian Mir <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Lahore?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Lahore</a> visited <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sikh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sikh</a> Gurdwara Janamasthan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> - apparently situation is back to normal now <a href="https://t.co/gcTsuNvDwm">pic.twitter.com/gcTsuNvDwm</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1213457448129978369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imran who uttered objectionable words against Sikhs yesterday apologises today for his misconduct . <a href="https://t.co/cTmThmvSgR">pic.twitter.com/cTmThmvSgR</a></p>— Kh khalid Farooq (@Kkf50) <a href="https://twitter.com/Kkf50/status/1213445507558850560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 4, 2020</a></blockquote>

India is simply trying to deflect all the attention of this rather small matter in Pak from it's own CAA mess that has millions protesting in their own country. What happened was a a personal argument between two men that spilled over, that's all. No one died or anything like at all so India can relax. As this Pak Sikh gentlemen rightfully says India should worry about their own anti Muslim laws instead of poking their nose in to our affairs. Mamta Banerjee yesterday said so to that Modi answer to everything is "Pakistan".

No!

Highlighting India's bigotry, which not only affect India but also Pakistan and other neighboring countries does not translate in to Pakistan as a tolerant country. I do not understand where did you get that perception?

I have seen on multiple occasion, you only appear whenever such incident happens and usually comments are in lines of the above comment.

Obviously, India has blown this out of proportional, it was not wide spread, only a local incident, where only one sided used religious card to garner wide support, which they have failed because Pakistan and Pakistani refused to let them play a religious card.

And if you were to do more research before keep typing up memorized talking points then you would know the preacher who tried to spread hate also apologized, not that it preclude him as he initially tried to use religious card.

The key words, "matter was settled".

Do not let India, Indian media, nor mini midget ex cricket and now a member of a hate group RSS/BJP/Hindutva cloud your judgement.

Nobody is clouding my judgement. It is high time Pakistanis open their eyes to the persecution of minorities in Pakistan.

In the last 10 years, at least 7000 Shias have been killed due to their faith. And, when a Pakistani goes to apply for an ID card, you actually have to declare a certain sect as heretics. There is institutionalised persecution of minorities.

Nobody is clouding my judgement. It is high time Pakistanis open their eyes to the persecution of minorities in Pakistan.

In the last 10 years, at least 7000 Shias have been killed due to their faith. And, when a Pakistani goes to apply for an ID card, you actually have to declare a certain sect as heretics. There is institutionalised persecution of minorities.

Then lets talk about constructive as you said.

So who told you 7000 shias has been killed due to their FAITH? I know there were lots of riots between Sunnis and Shias, but only Shias got killed? Shias are not minority in Pakistan, first correct this fact.

India Condemns "Targeted Killing" Of Sikh Man In Pakistan's Peshawar
Sikh man killed in Peshawar: The incident "follows the recent despicable vandalism and desecration of Gurdwara Sri Janam Asthan at Nankana Sahib," the government said.

Peshawar:

A 25-year-old Sikh man was killed in Pakistan's Peshawar two days after a mob attacked a gurdwara at Nankana Sahib, local media reported today. Ravinder Singh, the brother of Public News anchor Harmeet Singh, was shot dead in Peshawar by an unidentified man, according to reports.

Ravinder Singh was a resident of Shangla district at Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He had come home from Malaysia and gone to Peshawar to shop for his wedding, his friend Manmeet Kaur told NDTV.

After killing him, the man made a phone call to Ravinder Singh's family, the police said, news agency ANI reported.

India today said it strongly condemns the "targeted killing" of the "minority Sikh community member in Peshawar". The incident "follows the recent despicable vandalism and desecration of the holy Gurdwara Sri Janam Asthan at Nankana Sahib and the unresolved case of abduction, forced conversion and marriage of a Sikh girl Jagjit Kaur," the government said in a statement.
"India calls upon the Government of Pakistan to stop prevaricating and take immediate action to apprehend and give exemplary punishment to the perpetrators of these heinous acts. The Government of Pakistan should act in defence of their own minorities instead of preaching sermons about it to other countries," the government said.

Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal tweeted to condemn the killing.
Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh also tweeted, "Shocked & anguished over killing of Sikh youth Ravinder Singh in Pakistan, coming on heels of Nankana Sahib Attack. Imran Khan govt must ensure thorough investigation and strict punishment for the culprits. This is the time to act on what you preach."

A group of angry local residents had pelted stones at the Gurdwara Nankana Sahib in Pakistan on Friday evening. The group was led by the family of a man who had allegedly abducted a Sikh woman from her home last August.

The opposition has also come out strongly against the Pakistan authorities for failing to prevent the attack. "The attack on Nankana Sahab is reprehensible and must be condemned unequivocally. Bigotry is a dangerous, age-old poison that knows no borders. Love + Mutual Respect + Understanding is its only known antidote," Congress leader Rahul Gandhi tweeted on Saturday.
Members of the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Committee and Shiromani Akali Dal staged a protest against the Pakistan embassy on Saturday to denounce the incident.

The Pakistan Foreign Office, in a midnight statement, said there was a "scuffle between two Muslim groups" in Nankana Sahib on Friday. They claimed that that a minor incident at a tea stall led to the altercation, and the accused were immediately taken into custody. "Most importantly, the gurdwara remains untouched and undamaged," the Pakistan Foreign Office said.

(With inputs from ANI)
Source: https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/25-...-peshawar-report-2159081?pfrom=home-topscroll

Why are you sharing an article from 2013?

A lot can change in 7 years.
People shared this with khalistani twitter handlers who were desperately trying to defend gurdwara incident, they were asking them to at least demand fair treatment for all the dirty works they are assigned to do.I don't think attitude of desis towards people who are considered as untouchable or lower class will change within seven years.

Then lets talk about constructive as you said.

So who told you 7000 shias has been killed due to their FAITH? I know there were lots of riots between Sunnis and Shias, but only Shias got killed? Shias are not minority in Pakistan, first correct this fact.

Why are Shias not a religious minority?Shias were specially targeted due to their faith. There have been and continue to be targeted by LeJ and the TTP to a lesser extent.

There are videos available where LeJ militants vow to cleanse Pakistan of Shias.

Okay so we are now talking about Shia?

Did I not mentioned that Pakistan has problem? you want me to point it out, not just me but almost every Pakistani on this thread has mentioned that fact.

In the last 10 years more than 7000 Pakistani have been killed due to communal violence and terrorist attack. Pakistan is not a model state for minority, every Pakistani knows that. I do not get why are you keep trying to pass this perception that Pakistani do not understand this fact? What makes it different that majority of Pakistani are not supporting or electing those who promote violence against minorities.

and why are you ignoring my other points?

Sikh man killed in Peshawar: The incident "follows the recent despicable vandalism and desecration of Gurdwara Sri Janam Asthan at Nankana Sahib," the government said.

Peshawar:

A 25-year-old Sikh man was killed in Pakistan's Peshawar two days after a mob attacked a gurdwara at Nankana Sahib, local media reported today. Ravinder Singh, the brother of Public News anchor Harmeet Singh, was shot dead in Peshawar by an unidentified man, according to reports.

Ravinder Singh was a resident of Shangla district at Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He had come home from Malaysia and gone to Peshawar to shop for his wedding, his friend Manmeet Kaur told NDTV.

After killing him, the man made a phone call to Ravinder Singh's family, the police said, news agency ANI reported.

India today said it strongly condemns the "targeted killing" of the "minority Sikh community member in Peshawar". The incident "follows the recent despicable vandalism and desecration of the holy Gurdwara Sri Janam Asthan at Nankana Sahib and the unresolved case of abduction, forced conversion and marriage of a Sikh girl Jagjit Kaur," the government said in a statement.
"India calls upon the Government of Pakistan to stop prevaricating and take immediate action to apprehend and give exemplary punishment to the perpetrators of these heinous acts. The Government of Pakistan should act in defence of their own minorities instead of preaching sermons about it to other countries," the government said.

Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh also tweeted, "Shocked & anguished over killing of Sikh youth Ravinder Singh in Pakistan, coming on heels of Nankana Sahib Attack. Imran Khan govt must ensure thorough investigation and strict punishment for the culprits. This is the time to act on what you preach."

A group of angry local residents had pelted stones at the Gurdwara Nankana Sahib in Pakistan on Friday evening. The group was led by the family of a man who had allegedly abducted a Sikh woman from her home last August.

The opposition has also come out strongly against the Pakistan authorities for failing to prevent the attack. "The attack on Nankana Sahab is reprehensible and must be condemned unequivocally. Bigotry is a dangerous, age-old poison that knows no borders. Love + Mutual Respect + Understanding is its only known antidote," Congress leader Rahul Gandhi tweeted on Saturday.
Members of the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Committee and Shiromani Akali Dal staged a protest against the Pakistan embassy on Saturday to denounce the incident.

The Pakistan Foreign Office, in a midnight statement, said there was a "scuffle between two Muslim groups" in Nankana Sahib on Friday. They claimed that that a minor incident at a tea stall led to the altercation, and the accused were immediately taken into custody. "Most importantly, the gurdwara remains untouched and undamaged," the Pakistan Foreign Office said.

(With inputs from ANI)
Source: https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/25-...-peshawar-report-2159081?pfrom=home-topscroll

Last country should be condemning any killing when they elect a racist and a bigot who openly support killing of minority.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The main culprit in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> incident Imran has been arrested<br><br>FIR # 6/2020 u/s 295A/290/291/341/506/148/ 149, 6 sound system /7ATA has been registered at Nanakan Police Station <a href="https://t.co/v1LYzO7ACI">pic.twitter.com/v1LYzO7ACI</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1213889349433151488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

Shameful act.

I felt ashamed when my Sikh friend asked about this...

Although nothing happened, this should be sorted out and great to see the man getting arrested.

Shame to all those idiots trying to destroy such a historical place of worship.

Well done to the authorities for bringing the situation under control without much problem.

And a big LOL at fools like Gambhir using this as a tool to misguide his party's ****** against Pakistan.

So personal conflict between two groups and one individual makes threats against Sikhs.

Almost entire Indian media feels shocked. Likes of Javed Akhtar, Gautham Gambhir and well known journalists propagate this as some sort of tragedy (Tarek Fateh even calling it terrorist attack).

Although it was just a threat, whole social media in Pakistan erupted, authorities took action and local key figures (including religious) gathered to apologize, Prime Minister had to step in and the culprit has been arrested on terrorism charges WOW

Meanwhile in India, goons are attacking university and many teachers, students and locals have been tortured while police is sitting around. many top officials have threatened the Muslims, police is torturing them, dozens killed and thousands injured but somehow they are more worried about Pakistan......WOW...UNBELIEVABLE AND SHOCKING :facepalm: :facepalm:

Okay so we are now talking about Shia?

Did I not mentioned that Pakistan has problem? you want me to point it out, not just me but almost every Pakistani on this thread has mentioned that fact.

In the last 10 years more than 7000 Pakistani have been killed due to communal violence and terrorist attack. Pakistan is not a model state for minority, every Pakistani knows that. I do not get why are you keep trying to pass this perception that Pakistani do not understand this fact? What makes it different that majority of Pakistani are not supporting or electing those who promote violence against minorities.

and why are you ignoring my other points?

The problem is blatantly clear. Pakistanis do not condemn the persecution of minorities in their land as enthusiastically as they condemn the persecution of Muslims, who in most cases are a minority, in faraway lands.

Pakistanis do not take to the streets when Shias or Christians are slaughtered. However, you see them jumping up and down when it comes to Kashmiris, Rohingya, Palestinians and the rest.

The problem is blatantly clear. Pakistanis do not condemn the persecution of minorities in their land as enthusiastically as they condemn the persecution of Muslims, who in most cases are a minority, in faraway lands.

Pakistanis do not take to the streets when Shias or Christians are slaughtered. However, you see them jumping up and down when it comes to Kashmiris, Rohingya, Palestinians and the rest.

LOL, now emotion is the issue with you? are you trying to waste my time or are you unable to counter my points?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Protest in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Shangla?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Shangla</a> against the murder of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sikh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sikh</a> youth Parvinder Singh, his hometown. Majority of Muslims showed solidarity with Sikh community and demanded the arrest of culprits. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/ExnKDlts8p">pic.twitter.com/ExnKDlts8p</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1214157611559505920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 6, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The main culprit in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NankanaSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NankanaSahib</a> incident Imran has been arrested<br><br>FIR # 6/2020 u/s 295A/290/291/341/506/148/ 149, 6 sound system /7ATA has been registered at Nanakan Police Station <a href="https://t.co/v1LYzO7ACI">pic.twitter.com/v1LYzO7ACI</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1213889349433151488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

In Pakistan they are put in Jail. In India they become Prime Ministerial candidates. #advani

7 ATA in registered FIR? That's Anti-Terrorism Act!

The Foreign Office summoned Indian Deputy High Commissioner Gaurav Ahluwalia to convey Pakistan’s rejection of India's allegations concerning the maltreatment of the Sikh community and attacks on Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, a statement from the FO said on Tuesday.

During the meeting, Director General (South Asia & SAARC) Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri conveyed Pakistan’s denouncement of the Indian government’s allegations of "vandalism and desecration" of Gurdwara Nankana Sahib and the “targeted killing” of a Pakistani Sikh youth in Peshawar.

The DG termed these allegations as a part of India's "desperate attempts to divert attention from the continuing state terrorism" in India-occupied Kashmir (IOK) and "systematic discrimination against minorities in India," the statement said.

The DG further said that Pakistan's constitution guarantees equal rights to all its citizens and the government is committed to protecting the rights of minorities, with zero-tolerance against any discrimination.

According to the FO statement, the Indian Deputy High Commissioner was told that "rather than pointing fingers towards others, India should focus on ensuring effective protection of its own minorities and their holy places of worship — including mosques — from repeated instances of desecration, hate crimes and mob lynchings."

The Indian allegations had surfaced after police had to step in on Friday amid rising tensions in Nankana Sahib after a heated debate at a tea stall threatened to blow into a big law and order issue.

Reports said four customers, while taking tea at Zaman’s stall in front of Gurdwara Janam Asthan, started a conversation about his nephew, Muhammad Ehsaan who, just a few months ago, came into the limelight for marrying a Sikh girl after allegedly forcing her to convert.

Zaman reportedly reacted with anger, which led to a confrontation between two groups. A small crowd gathered to raise slogans. A team of Nankana Sahib police had to intervene briskly to control the situation.

In a statement issued later that day, the Foreign Office had clarified that the incident in Nankana Sahib was the result of an "altercation between two Muslim groups" and that it should not be portrayed as a communal issue.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1526838/f...allegations-of-maltreatment-of-sikh-community

Peshawar:

(With inputs from ANI)

Peshawar police crack Sikh youth’s murder mystery

The police have cracked the mystery of a Sikh youth’s murder in Peshawar, which India tried to portray as religiously motivated “target killing” to take the global spotlight off its own systematic discrimination of religious minorities.

A young man from the Sikh community, identified as 25-year-old Ravinder Singh from the remote Shangla district of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, was found dead in Peshawar on Sunday. At the time, the media erroneously identified him as Parvender, saying he was in Peshawar for shopping.

Ravinder Singh, said to be the brother of a Sikh journalist Harmeet Singh, lived in Malaysia and had returned home for his wedding.
A senior security official told The Express Tribune on Thursday that it was a “contract killing” paid for by Ravinder’s fiancé, Prem Kumari, who didn’t want to marry him. “She promised the hitmen Rs700,000 for Ravinder’s murder,” the official added. “Part of the committed money was paid in advance, while the rest had to be paid after the murder.”

According to the investigation team, Ravinder was murdered in Mardan and later his body was shifted to Peshawar by the hitmen. Prem Kumari has been taken into custody at Mardan, one investigator told The Express Tribune.

“In Peshawar, the hitmen dumped the body at a deserted place and called the family from Ravinder’s phone to demand ransom or else they would kill him,” he added. “All this was done to divert any investigations into the murder.”

Ravinder’s body was found dumped at a deserted place in the precincts of Chamkani police station on Sunday – a day after he was murdered.

The investigation team – led by Peshawar’s capital city police officer – cracked the blind murder case after four days of arduous investigations in which officials from other investigative and intelligence agencies also provided valuable clues.

The Hindu nationalist government of Narendra Modi tried to portray it as a religiously motivated “target killing” to malign Pakistan for alleged persecution of religious minorities – triggering an angry rebuke from Islamabad.

“Indian attempts to politicise the tragic killing of [the] Pakistani Sikh youth are mischievous and reprehensible,” the Foreign Office spokesperson said on Monday.

“As this crime was reported, a case was registered immediately and a high-powered committee constituted to investigate the matter. The law will take its course and those responsible will be brought to justice,” she added.

“Rather than feigning any dishonest concern for minorities elsewhere, the BJP government would do better by focusing on the ongoing human tragedy at home and protecting India’s minorities from ‘Saffron terror’,” she said.

A day later, Indian Charge d’Affaires Gaurav Ahluwalia was also summoned at the Foreign Office to convey “Pakistan’s strong rejection of baseless and fabricated” allegations of mistreatment of the Sikh minority community in the country.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2134017/1-peshawar-police-crack-sikh-youths-murder-mystery/

Peshawar police crack Sikh youth’s murder mystery

The police have cracked the mystery of a Sikh youth’s murder in Peshawar, which India tried to portray as religiously motivated “target killing” to take the global spotlight off its own systematic discrimination of religious minorities.

A young man from the Sikh community, identified as 25-year-old Ravinder Singh from the remote Shangla district of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, was found dead in Peshawar on Sunday. At the time, the media erroneously identified him as Parvender, saying he was in Peshawar for shopping.

Ravinder Singh, said to be the brother of a Sikh journalist Harmeet Singh, lived in Malaysia and had returned home for his wedding.
A senior security official told The Express Tribune on Thursday that it was a “contract killing” paid for by Ravinder’s fiancé, Prem Kumari, who didn’t want to marry him. “She promised the hitmen Rs700,000 for Ravinder’s murder,” the official added. “Part of the committed money was paid in advance, while the rest had to be paid after the murder.”

According to the investigation team, Ravinder was murdered in Mardan and later his body was shifted to Peshawar by the hitmen. Prem Kumari has been taken into custody at Mardan, one investigator told The Express Tribune.

“In Peshawar, the hitmen dumped the body at a deserted place and called the family from Ravinder’s phone to demand ransom or else they would kill him,” he added. “All this was done to divert any investigations into the murder.”

Ravinder’s body was found dumped at a deserted place in the precincts of Chamkani police station on Sunday – a day after he was murdered.

The investigation team – led by Peshawar’s capital city police officer – cracked the blind murder case after four days of arduous investigations in which officials from other investigative and intelligence agencies also provided valuable clues.

The Hindu nationalist government of Narendra Modi tried to portray it as a religiously motivated “target killing” to malign Pakistan for alleged persecution of religious minorities – triggering an angry rebuke from Islamabad.

“Indian attempts to politicise the tragic killing of [the] Pakistani Sikh youth are mischievous and reprehensible,” the Foreign Office spokesperson said on Monday.

“As this crime was reported, a case was registered immediately and a high-powered committee constituted to investigate the matter. The law will take its course and those responsible will be brought to justice,” she added.

“Rather than feigning any dishonest concern for minorities elsewhere, the BJP government would do better by focusing on the ongoing human tragedy at home and protecting India’s minorities from ‘Saffron terror’,” she said.

A day later, Indian Charge d’Affaires Gaurav Ahluwalia was also summoned at the Foreign Office to convey “Pakistan’s strong rejection of baseless and fabricated” allegations of mistreatment of the Sikh minority community in the country.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2134017/1-peshawar-police-crack-sikh-youths-murder-mystery/
This is just sad. A life worth only 700,000 rupees

Lahore: Pakistan's Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) on Tuesday sentenced up to two years imprisonment to three convicts involved in vandalizing Gurdwara Nankana Sahib in the country's Punjab province.

Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, also known as Gurdwara Janam Asthan, is a site near Lahore where the first Guru of Sikhs, Guru Nanak, was born.

In January 2020, a violent mob had attacked the Gurdwara and thrown stones and threatened to destroy the minorities worship place (Gurdwara Janamasthan) to build "Ghulaman-e-Mustafa" shrine there. However, police had controlled the situation.

"On Tuesday a Lahore's ATC handed down two years jail term to prime accused Imran Chishti and imposed a fine of 10,000 Pakistani Rupees. Two other accused - Muhammad Salman and Muhammad Ahmed - were convicted for six months. However, four other accused were acquitted for want of evidence," a court official told PTI.

All the suspects were present in the court when the sentence was announced. Strict security measures were taken to handle any protest by the religious elements in the wake of their conviction.

Imran Chishti, a government employee working in the Fisheries Department, and other suspects were arrested under terrorism and blasphemy charges following the attack on the Gurdwara last year. They faced charges under sections 295A, 290, 291, 341,506, 148 and 149 of Pakistan Penal Code and 7-ATA (anti-terrorism act).

According to the FIR, Chishti had incited the mob. He wanted to settle his family issue and created a law-and-order situation in the Nankana city. Police said Chishti had deliberately misled the area's Muslim people against the Sikhs for his "family matter".

Convict Chishti is the elder brother Mohammad Hassan who married a teenage Sikh girl, Jagjit Kaur, in September, 2020 after allegedly abducting and converting her to Islam. The Muslims and Sikhs of Nankana Sahib, some 80kms from Lahore, had a face-off over the matter.

Chishti had claimed that his brother has been beaten up by police for "lawfully and consensually" marrying the daughter of the gurdwara's granthi.

Jagjit Kaur has been living in Darul Aman (government shelter house) in Lahore. Her new name is Ayesha. She reportedly has refused to convert back and return to her house.

Mohammad Hassan has been pressured by police and authorities to divorce her.

India had strongly condemned the incident of vandalism at the revered Gurdwara and called upon the Pakistan government to take immediate steps to ensure the safety and security of the Sikh community there.

Hundreds of protesters had also thronged the streets near the Pakistan High Commission in New Delhi demanding that Islamabad provide adequate security to Sikh shrines and community members there.

Shiromani Gurdwara Parbhandhak Committee, the top body which manages Sikh shrines in India, had also urged the Pakistan government to take stringent action against the culprits who attacked the gurdwara - one of the holiest sites in Sikhism.

https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/pak...kana-sahib-2351554?pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories