PTI announces mass resignations from National Assembly

Extra_Cover

Local Club Star
ISLAMABAD: Former prime minister Imran Khan has reportedly decided to tender his resignation as a member of the National Assembly ahead of the election for the new prime minister of Pakistan.

The decision was reportedly made during the PTI's parliamentary party meeting.

Sources privy to the matter quoted Khan as saying: "We will not sit in this Assembly under any circumstances." He said that PTI will not sit in the Assembly with the people who have robbed Pakistan and who have been "imported by foreign forces".

"We have made this decision to keep the institutions under pressure who want this government to run the country [...] we will not let them continue."

However, sources said that most of the parliamentary party members opposed Khan's decision to tender resignations, and instead, advised that they should not leave the field empty and face the Opposition strongly at every front.

At this, Khan said if none of the parliamentarians resign, he "will be the first member to resign from the assembly.”

After this, all the members consented to the decision, saying that Khan has the authority to order them to resign.

He further stated that the entire country saw the power of PTI Sunday night.

In another major development, the PTI has also decided to boycott the election of the prime minister for which they have nominated former foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

PTI parliamentarians start tendering resignations
So far, Farrukh Habib, Ali Zaidi and Murad Saeed’s resignations have come to the fore.

Former federal minister Fawad Chaudhry, while speaking to Geo News, said that all the members will hand down their resignations to NA Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, who will also resign from his post after accepting the resignations.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/410805-imran-khan-decides-to-resign-from-the-parliament

Imran Khan probably had one look at the crowds last night and went for the move.

Seems a strange move.

Is there not a risk that it wont trigger elections but will just trigger a hell of a lot of by elections?

I repeat what I have said before that this NCM by PDM is a massive own goal.

On the flip side, I'm actually very concerned now that this idiotic move by PDM has given IK massive power yielding ability to dictate terms. I'm not in favour of any one person yielding so much street power like what IK has at the moment. We are a heated moment away now from all out civil war all thanks to this little NCM stunt of PDM.

Time for all respective people to step in and stop this from getting ugly.

I repeat what I have said before that this NCM by PDM is a massive own goal.

On the flip side, I'm actually very concerned now that this idiotic move by PDM has given IK massive power yielding ability to dictate terms. I'm not in favour of any one person yielding so much street power like what IK has at the moment. We are a heated moment away now from all out civil war all thanks to this little NCM stunt of PDM.

Time for all respective people to step in and stop this from getting ugly.

In Pakistan unfortunately that means a military coup.

Let this play out. It will be book-ended by by-elections and general elections and the people can have their say.

In Pakistan unfortunately that means a military coup.

Let this play out. It will be book-ended by by-elections and general elections and the people can have their say.

A lot has been happening in Pakistan politics in a very short time. Please also remember that this is all unfolding during Ramadan where such scenes are unprecedented.

Someone would have to step in before these protests go ugly. In a country like Pakistan ugly protests would spread like wildfire and can impact our national security. All the talk of constitutional NCM sounds good on a dining table meet but when things start burning outside you need to take decisions in the betterment of the country.

Opposition to field joint candidates for the vacated seats. Like I have said, this will be a big blunder. Only Fawad and Sheikh Rashid are in favor of resigning while all others are strictly against it.

Biggest own goal! This will not result in fresh elections.

It might not but this is an excellent move in light of the events that ship jumpers didn't vote in the NCM. It will expose those PTI members that go against party discipline and are hungry for power. PTI will then charge them under Article 63A

For not resigning from their seats? I wasn't aware that was illegal. Are you guys making up your own laws now?

Great news for pdm. Time to wim more seats in by elections

Doesn't look like they've resigned. Logo ki kabron pe paisa bana k jahil rakhne wala sadiq aur ameen PM candidate is running his mouth

It will take months before the resignations are accepted. Not sure what PTI are trying to achieve here? Again, this is the kind of example you find from someone who's ego is bigger than his brain.

Yet another decision taken by PTI where they don't have unanimous consent from their own members. Shabaash.

The idiotic part is that if they don't resign - it will be another U-turn. After the chest thump.

Shambles.

It will take months before the resignations are accepted. Not sure what PTI are trying to achieve here? Again, this is the kind of example you find from someone who's ego is bigger than his brain.

Yet another decision taken by PTI where they don't have unanimous consent from their own members. Shabaash.

The idiotic part is that if they don't resign - it will be another U-turn. After the chest thump.

Shambles.

His stupidity led to him being ousted. No wonder he is the only pm to be removed like this.

Even now his ego is he doesnt want to work with thisgovt.

If they win by election, they cant make their own assembly they will have to work with these guys

The ECP will be in a bind. These bye elections will be held within 90 days as per law. They have said they are not ready as per orders from the mafia. This will be interesting

IK is becoming a master at exposing the whole mafia. Constitutionally ECP has to do elections in 90 days, let's see what excuse they make up now

By-elections needs to happen within 2 months as per the esteemed law and legislation. We have heard so many good things about laws and legislations of the country so lets see if ECP will comply will it or not. If they do then they are ready for by-elections on 130odd seats in 2 months but they cannot be ready for 340 odd seats till 7 months. Bhai Wah!

Really impressed with the PTI core team. Man for man PTI members are way better than the opposition.

Qasim Surri, Shah Mehmood Quereshi, Asad Umer and Ali Mohammad Khan are just ❤
They speak like true men, straight forward and honest

By-elections needs to happen within 2 months as per the esteemed law and legislation. We have heard so many good things about laws and legislations of the country so lets see if ECP will comply will it or not. If they do then they are ready for by-elections on 130odd seats in 2 months but they cannot be ready for 340 odd seats till 7 months. Bhai Wah!

Difference being the by-elections will be done on old halkabaazi for which they are prepared the new elections were required to be done on new halkabaazi which will take 7 months to implement.

Very interesting.

And what some posers here don't understand how much this will cost. Eventually they will go for fresh elections.

Difference being the by-elections will be done on old halkabaazi for which they are prepared the new elections were required to be done on new halkabaazi which will take 7 months to implement.

I guarantee that if the mafia wanted the elections they would be done in 3 months. They want time to stop the machines and overseas PKs voting

Really impressed with the PTI core team. Man for man PTI members are way better than the opposition.

Qasim Surri, Shah Mehmood Quereshi, Asad Umer and Ali Mohammad Khan are just ❤
They speak like true men, straight forward and honest

There isn't a contest. Look at the faces of the old crooks and you see thugs with dirty faces

I guarantee that if the mafia wanted the elections they would be done in 3 months. They want time to stop the machines and overseas PKs voting

As mentioned, ECP can conduct elections on the same halkabaazi within 3 months. That's not an issue. The issue was that the new general elections would need to be done on the new halkabaazi which required 7 months to prepare

First they wanna stop NAB and the cases against them. All the other institutions are already in their pockets

As mentioned, ECP can conduct elections on the same halkabaazi within 3 months. That's not an issue. The issue was that the new general elections would need to be done on the new halkabaazi which required 7 months to prepare

Still against the constitution. ECP has one job and that is to be prepared for elections. But ofcourse banana court won't take that up

Allhamdolilah PTI proved today they're not hungry for power and got rid of the selected tag.

Now we will see the incompetence of an imported government. Next few months will be quite entertaining

Many experts say the country will have to go to next general elections.

Ab sahi khichry pakke gai NA mein lol

So where have they been all this time. Legally they are required to hold elections within 3 months. And if that was changed, then when?

Still against the constitution. ECP has one job and that is to be prepared for elections. But ofcourse banana court won't take that up

They are prepared. PTI's own administrative issues lead to delays. PTi reduced the number of constituencies to 166 and needs to conduct an official census. ECP had reminded IK to proceed with the census but he did not.

7 month wali game is only an excuse to wait out the time period so they can appoint an army chief of their choice

So where have they been all this time. Legally they are required to hold elections within 3 months. And if that was changed, then when?

There needs to be an official census that is carried out by the government after a change of the number of constituencies in the NA. The census is carried out by the government. PTI had been delaying the census not ECP

Ecp chairman and deputy chairman are from bap party and pti...

Ecp takes time to prepare for election. Why do you think it takes them minimum of 90 days.

Like i said you dont live in the country yet want to critisize and pretend to be an expert here.

Fata was added in kpk, thismeans new electorial lists have to be prepared. This will mean going to court and getting orders from. Court takes time they tske 3-5 months atleast. There is alot of reading that has to be done.

After which new lists get made.

7 month wali game is only an excuse to wait out the time period so they can appoint an army chief of their choice

Again more lies and more baseless accusations. Ramadan mien jhoot bolte howe sharm nahi aati?

So you have almost absolute power for a coalition in the national assembly for 2-3 months.

IK better hope there is a lot of unrest on the streets to keep up the pressure on the government, otherwise PTI will get buried and wont have any answer to the laws passed by the PDM. Even if they win back all the seats in the by election, you are essentially handing over complete power for months.

They are prepared. PTI's own administrative issues lead to delays. PTi reduced the number of constituencies to 166 and needs to conduct an official census. ECP had reminded IK to proceed with the census but he did not.

Lol the excuses. Oh bhai mere last census was in 2017, previous to that it was in 1998. 5 saal mein kya zaroorat par gyi for a new census

A lot of PTI members are hinting at cashing the people's reactions in here. I again say this protest will only grow given the happenings that happened today. If this gets ugly then it would get real ugly.

Whoever is responsible just step in and ensure fresh elections happen at earliest before the lava is erupted on streets.

Do you deny that Talal Ch( amongst others) said last year that NS would appoint the next COAS. You need to apologise

It won't be Nawaz Sharif. It will be Shahbaz Sharif. Only because PTI failed to hold the census on time which means that PDM would need to be in power for the next 7-8 months which is the time required to prepare for the next elections

So you have almost absolute power for a coalition in the national assembly for 2-3 months.

IK better hope there is a lot of unrest on the streets to keep up the pressure on the government, otherwise PTI will get buried and wont have any answer to the laws passed by the PDM. Even if they win back all the seats in the by election, you are essentially handing over complete power for months.

He's letting them be so they can expose themselves even further. If they tackle NAB, IK's prediciton will once again come true. He's already predicted that all the corrupt will get together against him - this came true
He predicted they will try to character assassinate him and his wife - also true
He's told us about the foreign intervention - seems true so far

He's letting them be so they can expose themselves even further. If they tackle NAB, IK's prediciton will once again come true. He's already predicted that all the corrupt will get together against him - this came true
He predicted they will try to character assassinate him and his wife - also true

Yes, "character assassinate" him and his wife by revealing the corruption both had been involved in.

How does foreign intervention seem true so far? What proof do you have of this?

NAB needs to be tackled. Imran Khan used NAB aggressively for political victimization. This is not the purpose of NAB and it needs to be addressed.

Again more lies and more baseless accusations. Ramadan mien jhoot bolte howe sharm nahi aati?
This statement from Zaleel Ch is interesting. No mention of 7 months. I am looking for the statement on the COAS. Hie did they know with such certainty. The American plan has been in the works since last September

Yes, "character assassinate" him and his wife by revealing the corruption both had been involved in.

How does foreign intervention seem true so far? What proof do you have of this?

NAB needs to be tackled. Imran Khan used NAB aggressively for political victimization. This is not the purpose of NAB and it needs to be addressed.

Why pinpoint only one institution. If NAB needs to be addressed then so do the courts and ECP. Anyways if they do tackle NAB, they will lose credibility. Already they stole their way into parliament. And people are believing the foreign intervention narrative.

My prediction, opposition is going to make a seriois mistake and make PTI even more popular. The next election it will be the end for PML N and they'll be on the run.

Every government has corrupt links and corrupt money funds their activities and elections. The difference is in the magnitude of corruption and how aggressive the investigation is.

If they start digging in the previous government finances, I guarantee you there will be solid links to kickbacks for government projects, cash for favours etc. You may believe IK is personally clean but there is no way every one of his inner circle is clean too. Those will come out when the cases are opened.

Every government has corrupt links and corrupt money funds their activities and elections. The difference is in the magnitude of corruption and how aggressive the investigation is.

If they start digging in the previous government finances, I guarantee you there will be solid links to kickbacks for government projects, cash for favours etc. You may believe IK is personally clean but there is no way every one of his inner circle is clean too. Those will come out when the cases are opened.

Sure there will be a few of those but their magnitude is not going to be great. IK's team can play the victim card then, like PDM does now. It might not seem like it, but momentum is with Khan. People will appreciate that his team gave up power cause they don't want to sit with the corrupt. This is a pretty consistent stance from Khan

Why pinpoint only one institution. If NAB needs to be addressed then so do the courts and ECP. Anyways if they do tackle NAB, they will lose credibility. Already they stole their way into parliament. And people are believing the foreign intervention narrative.

My prediction, opposition is going to make a seriois mistake and make PTI even more popular. The next election it will be the end for PML N and they'll be on the run.

You think they care about what you determine as credibility. They need to tackle NAB which is an institution that Imran used to torture his opposition.

Your prediction is complete and utter (you know what). Just wait and watch son, we'll show you you how adults play this game

Lol the excuses. Oh bhai mere last census was in 2017, previous to that it was in 1998. 5 saal mein kya zaroorat par gyi for a new census

Brother, sincere advice,if you want to partake in political discussion, atleast do read editorial section of a pakistani newspaper. Through that you will increase your political knowledge and not just post whatever comes in your mind

Sorry to say bur you are posting very immature things.

I will advice you to go to Dawn website and read todays editorial with the heading, Election Preparations.

Delimitation of constituencies were required by law since 2017 census. Pti wanted to do digital census which they failed.

IMG_20220411_165619.jpg

Sure there will be a few of those but their magnitude is not going to be great. IK's team can play the victim card then, like PDM does now. It might not seem like it, but momentum is with Khan. People will appreciate that his team gave up power cause they don't want to sit with the corrupt. This is a pretty consistent stance from Khan

It can work, it all depends on the court of public opinion on how strongly it is with IK right now. If the protests snowball into a Euromaidan or Tahrir square style public movement, it will be hard for the new government to deny holding fresh elections.

On the other hand if its a party led protest every few days, then that wont be enough to move the needle.

Brother, sincere advice,if you want to partake in political discussion, atleast do read editorial section of a pakistani newspaper. Through that you will increase your political knowledge and not just post whatever comes in your mind

I will advice you to go to Dawn website and read todays editorial with the heading, Election Preparations.

Delimitation of constituencies were required by law since 2017 census. Pti wanted to do digital census which they failed.

View attachment 115615

Is this 'nazara e zaroorat'? Isn't law and constitution absolute? If law says elections in 90 days then shouldn't nazara e zaroorat take backseat like it did with SC decision?

ECP said they can hold elections on previous halkabaazi within 90 days. PTI wanted them to do it on the new halkabaazi which requires a new census which is the job of the government.

View attachment 115615

Thanks for pointing out this article, I hope you read it yourself and maybe some other sources aside from the biased Dawn. I know it's your favourite but here is a basic fact you might have missed:

The bill to use EVMs and overseas voting rights was signed by the President on Dec 3rd 2021. ECP officials didn't even attend the ceremony for it, eventhough they were invited.
The election supervisor was told to start acquiring EVM machines. Now on April 7th the SC spoke with the ECP spokesperson in the NCM Suo Moto case to ask about preparation of elections. To which they responded they need another 7 months.
Add the 7 months to the 3 and half they wasted since Dec 3rd and you're looking at a total of 10 + months. Their constitutional obligation is to be ready within 90 days. They should've been ready, no excuses.

Everyone knows that ECP works against the PTI evident with all the cases going on, so anything they say are just excuses. They could've easily advised the government in power that hey, we are in a pandemic let's just stick with the manual census results. They started the delimitation exercise on their own now so why huff and puff and become an obstacle against the government when they could've done that from the very beginning. Oh could it be that the Shariffs are in power now so let's get the ball rolling?

I'm glad you read editorials but please also try reading between the lines and use your God given brain to come to your own conclusions rather than taking everything you read as a fact.

Thanks for pointing out this article, I hope you read it yourself and maybe some other sources aside from the biased Dawn. I know it's your favourite but here is a basic fact you might have missed:

The bill to use EVMs and overseas voting rights was signed by the President on Dec 3rd 2021. ECP officials didn't even attend the ceremony for it, eventhough they were invited.
The election supervisor was told to start acquiring EVM machines. Now on April 7th the SC spoke with the ECP spokesperson in the NCM Suo Moto case to ask about preparation of elections. To which they responded they need another 7 months.
Add the 7 months to the 3 and half they wasted since Dec 3rd and you're looking at a total of 10 + months. Their constitutional obligation is to be ready within 90 days. They should've been ready, no excuses.

Everyone knows that ECP works against the PTI evident with all the cases going on. so anything they say are just excuses. They could've easily advised the government in power that hey, we are in a pandemic let's just stick with the manual census results. They started the delimitation exercise on their own now so why huff and puff and become an obstacle against the government when they could've done that from the very beginning. Oh could it be that the Shariffs are in power now so let's get the ball rolling?

I'm glad you read editorials but please also try reading between the lines and use your God given brain to come to your own conclusions rather than taking everything you read as a fact.

Ecp deputy chair is from pti

ECP said they can hold elections on previous halkabaazi within 90 days. PTI wanted them to do it on the new halkabaazi which requires a new census which is the job of the government.

Its like banging your head on the wall with them.

The other day these guys were bashing the supreme court when the 5 judges of supreme court along with the AGP posted by inran khan were unanimous in the supreme court verdict on NCM.

Yet we have people who are not even constitutional experts aready to do bhess here.. apparently they know better than 5 supreme court judges and Pakistans own AGP chosen by imran

Its like banging your head on the wall with them.

The other day these guys were bashing the supreme court when the 5 judges of supreme court along with the AGP posted by inran khan were unanimous in the supreme court verdict on NCM.

Yet we have people who are not even constitutional experts aready to do bhess here.. apparently they know better than 5 supreme court judges and Pakistans own AGP chosen by imran

Yes let's derail the conversation back to the constitution. I think you like reading, so please go read Article 68 and 69. The constitution is also available in urdu if English is not your Forte

Please go teach our Supreme Court on the articles of the constitution of knowledgeable one

LOL

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]

An example of ECP giving pushback to government and finding excuses all the time.

This time the reference is from, you'll love this, Dawn!

"The ECP said time was too short for a large-scale procurement and deployment of EVMs and imparting training to a massive number of operators, adding that it was not advisable to introduce EVM nationwide in one go. It said the polls on one day as required under the law would be nearly impossible"

https://www.dawn.com/news/1645100/ecp-raises-37-objections-to-evm-introduction

An example of ECP giving pushback to government and finding excuses all the time.

"The ECP said time was too short for a large-scale procurement and deployment of EVMs and imparting training to a massive number of operators, adding that it was not advisable to introduce EVM nationwide in one go. It said the polls on one day as required under the law would be nearly impossible"

Are you aware of pepra laws for procurement?

Yes, thank you captain obvious.

Are you aware of pepra laws for procurement?

Major, you always go off direction. These objections were countered and the bill was signed. See you didn't read the article I sent

No, I think you're a 12 year old who doesn't understand how the world works nor is aware of the pepra laws for procurement and just copy/pastes things he see's on his dads whatsapp group.

Lol I wish I was 12 bud. You guys are derailing conversations left right and centre and I'm keeping up. My dad is too old for whatsapp lol

Major, you always go off direction. These objections were countered and the bill was signed. See you didn't read the article I sent

:facepalm: how are pepra laws off direction.

Pepra laws exist for procurement. Its a long process. You are not even aware of them yet you are bashing ecop here for procurement

:facepalm: how are pepra laws off direction.

Pepra laws exist for procurement. Its a long process. You are not even aware of them yet you are bashing ecop here for procurement

Oh bhai I'm bashing you and your understanding. ECP didn't even bring up procurement of the machines as an issue for needing 7 months (Commissioner's statement to SC) Their main issue is delimination and that too for a reduction of only 6 constituencies due FATA merger.

Procurement is an issue that you're making and trying to draw me into argument for so that you can show your efficiency.

Oh bhai I'm bashing you and your understanding. ECP didn't even bring up procurement of the machines as an issue for needing 7 months (Commissioner's statement to SC) Their main issue is delimination and that too for a reduction of only 6 constituencies due FATA merger.

Procurement is an issue that you're making and trying to draw me into argument for so that you can show your efficiency.

Their main issue is the incompetency of the previous government in carrying out a new census as required by law

Their main issue was PTI because liffafay nhi thay aatay. Abb aye ge toh dekhna ECP ki efficiency

Dumbest move possible by pti.

Pdm will have full power to pass any bill they want now.

If pti contests on those na seats, they are at risk of losing seats. Lets say they win all those seats back, the numbers arnt gonna magically change. Imran khan will have to deal with shebaz shareefs govt either way...

Imrans ego getting the best of him

You think they care about what you determine as credibility. They need to tackle NAB which is an institution that Imran used to torture his opposition.

Your prediction is complete and utter (you know what). Just wait and watch son, we'll show you you how adults play this game

I thought after last night's protests and the turn outs, you would have realized that the game has changed.

Last nights protest were nothing. People on the street mean nothing. PTI had similar if not more support in 2018 and only secured 32% of the votes and that too with electables. This time they don't even have electables

Ofcourse, I can show you visual evidence since you doubt my word on everything.

Here's a link to the many protests that took place last night. See the support Khan has across Pakistan. This is grassroots son. Arab spring coming to Pakistan. Game has changed, aiveen nhi uss ne astifay diye

https://twitter.com/worqas/status/1513232373894234124?t=fo9044XYG5uzpFvjTSFuAA&s=19

How many people are those? What % of the voting population do they make? If I were to venture a guess I see a few lakh. Let's take an estimate on the higher side by saying 90-100 lakh. That's 5% of the total population.

Needless to say but I'll say it anyway since you lot are a tad bit slow. 5% is not even close to being the entire nation