PTI's Tsunami March on 14th August [Mega Thread]

Have you though? As far as I know the last government was the ONLY one which completed it's term. When we talk about democracy, it is one uninterrupted process. Not the army taking over or Imran taking over after every couple of years.

The very reason democracy has not worked or corrupt were not thrown out was because army took over every few years. So democracy was killed and then had to start all over again. This was like a baby learning to walk. As soon as the baby started crawling someone would kill it and it would have to be reborn and learn to crawl again. If you had uninterrupted democracy for even 30-40 years, I daresay, half of your corruptions and problems would have vanished. Maybe more

What future are you talking about? Yesterday you were reliant on Mushraff, today you have another savior in Imran. Where are the actual people in all this? Wishing on a cult personality to wave a magic wand and wish all problems away, instead of being patient and improving things one by one by your own persistence and vote power?

You are very right. Most of the Pakistani have no respect and appreciation for democracy. Its a process not an event.

I never consider corruption to be a problem, its a symptom that is manifested because of cultural issues. Cultural is most difficult, yet most important thing to change inorder to move forward.

Culturally we are resistant to anything west, rational driven, scientific or any other liberal ideas. Muslims specially have this problem lot more than any other social group, hence we are the most backward in the world. Unless we develop elasticity in society to allow liberal culture to evolve (not bully it), we will remain where we are.

Dominance of ultra conservatism in our cultural is something many Pakistani and muslims proud of, is infact the reason of many problems and probably worst part of our culture that has kept us ignorant and in dark ages for very long time.!!!

It's the truth.

You honestly think 70 percent of Pakistan's poverty ridden population cares about your dumb marches...

They want food in their stomach, they want food in their homes, they want their children to survive the cold when it's cold, and bear the heat when it's hot with electricity if possible.

You think they want ****** rallies about "New Pakistan" and "Pakistan ki Taraqi ki raah".

Don't include yourself that is the blessed 10 percent of the population in the common majority who want change.

"Jin logon ko yey pata nai next meal kahan sy arai hy , they damn care about your march and who rules the country. They just want to eat food and live their life peacefully"

Stop trying to twist facts to the world, that everyone wants Imran Khan.

Fact is 70 percent of the population is below poverty level, and wants gas food water electricity, chahay wo Madonna hi akay kyun na dey dy...

La La Land....

Revolution is always by a minority if you look at the great historical revolutions( French, american, Rise of Islam etc), the people who are not bothered by politics will be the same with or without a revolution, Mao and his communist were just a tiny minority but they took control of all of china simply because they acted where others failed to act or were not willing to, The people you talk about will have their roti,capra,makan whether it is pml-n or Pti but to change the system requires people who are willing to die for what they believe in.

I agree that the "fever" was nothing more then an excuse to get away for the night! How convenient that he should fall ill on the very first night of the protest, obviously he did not think of the thousands who had followed him like sheep nor bothered to make any arrangements for them. The number of protesters is rapidly dwindling now as people see the march for what it really is, another PTI outdoor circus for IK to further inflate his ego.

PTI has no real answers other then re elections after a few months after the current government is ousted. When they don't win others are cheating, if they eventually do then they'll kiss the a$$ of the American's much more then the Sharif brothers do. The remaining few thousand should just all return home leaving IK and TUQ on their own, see how they like that!

So once again another guy says do nothing. The protest has already been a success, it has drawn concessions from a corrupt govt with all their thugs and money. If IK let his supporters down they will go home so I don't see what your problem is. I think your problem is that you are fearful that they may succeed. As for your assertion that they may kiss the a$$ of the Americans more than the Nooras, well you may or may not be right but with the PPP and the Nooras that is already fact, so once again you criticize the IK for what he may or may not do but you are happy with the Nooras who already do these things. You sound very confused.

IMRAN TO GIVE UP DEMAND OF NAWAZ'S RESIGNATION

ISLAMABAD: The federal government and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan have reportedly reached a deal after which the former allowed the Azadi March to enter Islamabad while Imran agreed to set aside his minus-Nawaz Sharif formula, The News has learnt.

Under the formula reached between the government and the PTI, the latter would stage a sit-in in the federal capital for a day or two after which it would disperse peacefully.A well-placed source told The News that the PTI had assured the government that it would not create trouble in the federal capital and disperse peacefully.

“Both the parties have agreed at not creating any problem for the government and disperse peacefully after the government agrees to some demands of the PTI. The government, through its back channel negotiators, assured the PTI that some of its demands would be implemented while his demand of Nawaz’ resignation could never be implemented,” said the source.

Asked who had mediated between the two sides, the source opted for silence. However, it was amply clear that there would be no minus-Nawaz formula. He said the basic goal of every citizen was the country’s progress and prosperity. This is the main reason that negotiators succeeded in pacifying Imran, he added.

“The current political turmoil is not a problem for the PML-N or PTI, but it is creating a huge problem for many other institutions as well as for the provinces. All these forces could not let this situation escalate, as the ultimate sufferer would be the state and Imran Khan will have to realise this factor,” the source commented.

The source further said had there been any chances of a confrontation or chaos, then at least Makhdoom Javed Hashmi would have never joined the long march, especially after leaving the party.

The News tried to contact Hashmi, but he could not be reached. A source close to Javed Hashmi also informed The News that he had agreed to join the Azadi March after Imran Khan’s assurance that he would not disturb the system.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-13-32208-Imran-to-give-up-demand-for-Nawaz-resignation

So much for "revolution".

The News is part of Geo/Jang group so it is going to be anti-Imran Khan with their sauces.

Many anchors today have admitted, that the initial thoughts during the early hours of the day where everyone started to believe that IK supporters have been disappointed and have started dispersing back to their homes were wrong. People had gone back for rest and had come back in even bigger numbers today.

If these numbers are maintained or even increased then I don't think we can ignore the fact that either NS will resign or army will intervene in the next 72 hours. Very critical the next few days are now.

only the die hard PTI supporters left.

Maybe they could have had 200,000 people if they got their timing right and there was no rain.

They arrived at 4am, which is too damn late. Plus it rain. They have lost a lot of people for sure.

Don't worry, I think there is a McDonald's near Serena Square. PTI can stay there for several weeks at least.

Not gonna lie, when I first read "tsunami march" I thought it was a march to raise aid for tsunami victims :facepalm:

Gotta say the whole "political rival marching on city with all his supporters in the name of change" is reminding me a lot of Mussolini's "March on Rome"

Not gonna lie, when I first read "tsunami march" I thought it was a march to raise aid for tsunami victims :facepalm:

Gotta say the whole "political rival marching on city with all his supporters in the name of change" is reminding me a lot of Mussolini's "March on Rome"

Welcome to Pakistan, Donal-boy!

Now we target the largest news network in Pakistan. Okaay..

I hope you understand that large != truth

Let's wait and see if there is indeed any deal (there would be one evetnualy after days of sit in but...)

Besides IK in his speech today lambasted GEO/News for spreading propaganda that there was any deal going on. Make of it whatever you will!

I hope you understand that large != truth

Let's wait and see if there is indeed any deal (there would be one evetnualy after days of sit in but...)

Besides IK in his speech today lambasted GEO/News for spreading propaganda that there was any deal going on. Make of it whatever you will!

Alrighty then.

Please do post timely updates.. :)

So has the revolution come already....

TBH, getting pretty tired of all this.

Hilarious tweet!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Last year on this same day this guy put his demands and entertained Islamabad. I hope PTI don't end up like him. <a href="http://t.co/Zrqq6VbsyJ">pic.twitter.com/Zrqq6VbsyJ</a></p>— Usama Shahid Kakazai (@Usama_Shahid) <a href="https://twitter.com/Usama_Shahid/statuses/500707251342950401">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Imran and Qadri - I and Q, with not much IQ between them.</p>— cyril almeida (@cyalm) <a href="https://twitter.com/cyalm/statuses/500650148263772161">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>NayaPakistan-walas: "Rul te gaye aan, par chuss bara aya aae" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTIAzadiMarch?src=hash">#PTIAzadiMarch</a> <a href="http://t.co/DAFaQJzpcw">pic.twitter.com/DAFaQJzpcw</a></p>— Babar Sattar (@Babar_Sattar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Babar_Sattar/statuses/500733374852378624">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

So once again another guy says do nothing. The protest has already been a success, it has drawn concessions from a corrupt govt with all their thugs and money. If IK let his supporters down they will go home so I don't see what your problem is. I think your problem is that you are fearful that they may succeed. As for your assertion that they may kiss the a$$ of the Americans more than the Nooras, well you may or may not be right but with the PPP and the Nooras that is already fact, so once again you criticize the IK for what he may or may not do but you are happy with the Nooras who already do these things. You sound very confused.

The confusion is amongst you PTI supporters living in a dream world. Where are the millions of people PTI said they'd bring to Islamabad?? Great leaders do not retire to their homes when the going gets tough although I realise IK is back with his people now , what will happen if they do manage to topple the government?? I also find IK's pro-India and anti-Pak Kashmir views to be highly disturbing for the sake of maintaining his fan club from across the border. Nowhere have I supported the Sharif brothers, again you PTI supporters jump to illogical conclusions when others challenge your views. Another problem is how will all those people who have followed IK to Islamabad nourish themselves during the period when no arrangements have been made?

very well said.

"Revolution arai hy bhai" don't worry.

He's a good cricketer, he will be a good leader because he was a good cricketer. :)

Someone please.....put these people out of their misery.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x23v345" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x23v345_special-transmission-on-ary-news-16th-august-2014_news" target="_blank">Special Transmission On ARY NEWS - 16th August...</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/zemtv" target="_blank">zemtv</a></i>

Apart from all the repetition of what has been said before, the only real development is the offer made to chaudary nisar which he'll obviously reject or refuse to acknowledge

Pakistan don't need a march,it need a revolution and to bring that revolution and be sure the actual and future leaders still honest they have to bring fear in them and the most simple way here is to kill the actual leader gonna mark the spirit for decades and make a precedent or you can go by the democratic way who gonna take some decade .

Went to the Azadi March last night unfortunately was not able to go all the way because of rush/hurdles the crowd from what i saw was good

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Zain Querashi son of SMQ after attending Azadi march comes to marriott to have dinner</p>— jasmeen manzoor (@jasmeenmanzoor) <a href="https://twitter.com/jasmeenmanzoor/statuses/500748801619922944">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Honourable thing would be if Sheikh Rasheed, Imran Khan & all their MNAs/MPAs return their TA/DA, salaries and perks enjoyed for 14 months.</p>— Marvi Sirmed (@marvisirmed) <a href="https://twitter.com/marvisirmed/statuses/500738824406720512">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

How many times she has done it herself.....this is the issue with zombie nation, just preach and never apply on yourself

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Zain Querashi son of SMQ after attending Azadi march comes to marriott to have dinner</p>— jasmeen manzoor (@jasmeenmanzoor) <a href="https://twitter.com/jasmeenmanzoor/statuses/500748801619922944">August 16, 2014</a></blockquote>

So what? He's not elected in any capacity and is entitled to eat where he wants. I don't see a problem here

Why should he suffer because of his dad's political duties. At least someone can see through this whole topi drama business.

Went to the Azadi March last night unfortunately was not able to go all the way because of rush/hurdles the crowd from what i saw was good

It almost sounds like you went to some mela. Have fun while it lasts.

exactly its like that also i salute all those people who are there from day 1 its extremely tough to sit in there pathetic :nawaz should realize this

Lol Marvi Sirmed with typical useless and meaningless tweet, can't remember when was the last time she said something that made sense. I think the ONLY time in life she agreed with Imran is when he said something about improved relations with India. Why should they return salaries? They haven't been on vacations or anything, just because they are questioning government's rigging at elections which i am sure likes of Marvi know very well is so common?

I heard a karkun talked to media and said "Maza aye ga Islamabad jaen ge,sair ho jae gi".How shameful!

Man you're going to bring any positive change!

I am not worried about IK March. I am worried about Qadri March. His supporters are emotionally and religiously attached with him and will do anything they are told. I fear bloodshed. Allah reham. Females with young children are there. God forbid if anything happens, things will be worst.

Lol Marvi Sirmed with typical useless and meaningless tweet, can't remember when was the last time she said something that made sense. I think the ONLY time in life she agreed with Imran is when he said something about improved relations with India. Why should they return salaries? They haven't been on vacations or anything, just because they are questioning government's rigging at elections which i am sure likes of Marvi know very well is so common?

I don't particularly like her but she has a point. What is PTI still doing in the NA. Why haven't they already resigned from this fake parliament. On one hand they are asking the PM to resign and on the other hand they want to keep their own seats so just in case things don't turn out the way they want, at least they can go back to their regular jobs. This is called playing it safe, unlike the fiery revolutionary talk we hear in the jalsas.

I am not worried about IK March. I am worried about Qadri March. His supporters are emotionally and religiously attached with him and will do anything they are told. I fear bloodshed. Allah reham. Females with young children are there. God forbid if anything happens, things will be worst.

Both IK and Qadri have gotten themselves in a tight corner. TUQ's credibility is already shot so it won't matter much if he backs down from his demands and once again agree to some half baked promise by the govt. But more importantly, IK is starting to get impatient. Initially it seemed like the plan was to stay for weeks but with thinning crowds and the prospect of annoying the residents of Pindi and Islamabad by making their lives miserable with every passing day, I think the plan now is to start getting pushy and create situations which can lead to a major showdown between the crowds and police/para-military forces. Let's see what happens.

I don't particularly like her but she has a point. What is PTI still doing in the NA. Why haven't they already resigned from this fake parliament. On one hand they are asking the PM to resign and on the other hand they want to keep their own seats so just in case things don't turn out the way they want, at least they can go back to their regular jobs. This is called playing it safe, unlike the fiery revolutionary talk we hear in the jalsas.

Let me add this also. KPK CM came with full Protocol. Used all KPK Vehicles, Petrol, Gas, Diesel sab awam ke tex ka. Kya ye Khulla Tazaad Nahi?

Seems like you have quite high approach ! How do you know that he is using government vehicles,petrol,gas and diesel ? :sanga

I live in Pakistan and following all the channels which are covering the events live. They showed the footage of CM KPK going to Islamabad with full Protocol. The reporter then told that even Govt hospitals Ambulances are being used for March.

How do you know that the reporter wasn't lying?

You are another die hard supporter of PTI who is living OUTSIDE Pakistan and know nothing about Pak politics :). I have nothing to add more.

Because you are another pakistani blinded by our media mafia!

i aint a die heart pti fan but i know one thing and that is < Imran is 1000 times better than nawaz and zardari >:)

things are going to get ugly in these 48 hours. I don't see Nawaz resigning.

Do you really think Nawaz will resign just because few thousand people are doing a sit in ?? No one is even doing hunger strike which could have a deadline effect.

What does he care, he can let them rot on streets and yet nothing will happen to him.

The only way he will let go of his much waited and worked for seat is if Army takes over. That will not be good for anyone. That would mean another two year of army rule, release of mushi and a sham election to validate army's takeover. Mushi having a political party and sheeda will come very handy.

Other possibility is if Imran invades the PMs house and physically drag him to streets. That will be even messier.

In the end army will decide what will happen next, Imran will have to go home eventually and that will only strengthen Nawaz. Imran also knows it, he didnt burn his boats before he came to Isloo. His party members were supposed to resign from state and national assembly before 14th but they didnt.

Seems like Imran Khan has been trolled big time. His position on stake. Who to blame?

Do you really think Nawaz will resign just because few thousand people are doing a sit in ?? No one is even doing hunger strike which could have a deadline effect.

What does he care, he can let them rot on streets and yet nothing will happen to him.

The only way he will let go of his much waited and worked for seat is if Army takes over. That will not be good for anyone. That would mean another two year of army rule, release of mushi and a sham election to validate army's takeover. Mushi having a political party and sheeda will come very handy.

Other possibility is if Imran invades the PMs house and physically drag him to streets. That will be even messier.

In the end army will decide what will happen next, Imran will have to go home eventually and that will only strengthen Nawaz. Imran also knows it, he didnt burn his boats before he came to Isloo. His party members were supposed to resign from state and national assembly before 14th but they didnt.

Well what do you think what has more chances to happen? Nawaz resigning or police/army killing/beating people in the march?

Also about army intervention How do you think army will handle these thousands of people? Those days are gone when they will put bans on electronic or print media and beat key party leaders and the followers and lock them into jails. This time I don't see any martial laws where army chief takes over everything. Army might intervene but their role would be different this time.

All this drama reminds me of the Aam Aadmi Party in our neck of the woods. AAP is said to have western backers, does the PTI or PAT have the same ? The Tahir-Square style agitation is trademark CIA.

Well what do you think what has more chances to happen? Nawaz resigning or police/army killing/beating people in the march?

Also about army intervention How do you think army will handle these thousands of people? Those days are gone when they will put bans on electronic or print media and beat key party leaders and the followers and lock them into jails. This time I don't see any martial laws where army chief takes over everything. Army might intervene but their role would be different this time.

Neither can happen on its own, Nawaz is not fool enough to use force, he already burnt his hands in model town. Plus he dont have to use force, sitting people are not causing him harm. Only if people start rioting then he will be justified in using force. (which may actually happen in small scale and followed by blames on each other)

Nawaz wont resign on its own unless army threatens him to put back in jail. In that case PPP will oppose army and may come back in power later on.

Again in my opinion things are actually going in Nawaz's way. He doesnt have to use force, this time PTI and PAT workers are really peaceful (as per the deal according to some sources). He can let them sit where they stand. Let them face weather and chant slogans. No harm done, eventually people will have to go back to work and get on with their daily lives. If that happens then PTI will lose its revolution bringing credibility for ever. Imran has played his card too soon.

I also think Nawaz is more worried about PAT workers who are way more in numbers, way more determined and very well organized. PAT doesnt have leadership conflict issue as they are single leader organization.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CM?src=hash">#CM</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Punjab?src=hash">#Punjab</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/shahbazsharif">@shahbazsharif</a> to resign to finish the turmoil
Gesture appreciated
<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash">#Pakistan</a>
<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanNeedsUnity?src=hash">#PakistanNeedsUnity</a> <a href="http://t.co/mkNRAQgZnu">pic.twitter.com/mkNRAQgZnu</a></p>— Sadz (@RJSadiaSattar) <a href="https://twitter.com/RJSadiaSattar/statuses/500959389659201537">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

Imran Khan says he will make an important announcement at 8pm tonight. After the announcement Nawaz Sharif will not be the Prime Minister of Pakistan within two weeks.

Came across an interesting prediction that fits with what is currently happening in Pakistan. The man speaks of the Nawaz Sharif government being a short lived one. He believes that Imran Khan will not be our future PM but "kingmaker". I am not a believer in palmistry but respect his views. He seems pretty accurate.

Imran Khan says he will make an important announcement at 8pm tonight. After the announcement Nawaz Sharif will not be the Prime Minister of Pakistan within two weeks.

Yeah just saw his interview on Samma tv! he looked very confident, wonder what he will say. I hope it's not a let down.

Btw are the numbers of people still huge? Saw a report of lots of empty seats on ary

Why are some of the PTI workers moving towards red zone already?

Yeah just saw his interview on Samma tv! he looked very confident, wonder what he will say. I hope it's not a let down.

Btw are the numbers of people still huge? Saw a report of lots of empty seats on ary

Yes numbers are reducing. It's understandable because of insufficient basic needs and hot weather.

PTI Workers moving towards Red Zone. Looks like they have had enough. Their leader not yet arrived yet but looks like they are not listening to other leaders of PTI.

Is khan sahib back in bani galla? He should be with the people her gathered in Islamabad.

TUQ is outdoing him

Just compare the crowds. The PTI crowd seems barbaric and uneducated whereas PAT's crowd is far more civilised and respectful.

This is going to get interesting, they are moving towards red zone. If govt uses force then both parties lose, if they dont then govt loses its writ and may actually forcefully get taken down by a crowd. I hope PTI is still in control of the mob.

I wonder what is their goal to move towards PM house and at what point they will stop.

PTI needs to find a way out and should ask PML-N to give them some option that they don't end up completely embarrassing themselves.

The Jang group has really disappointed me. Media cannot be biased in reporting facts; its not in their favour long term.

Imran launches civil disobedience, that was unexpected, hopefully some deals/negotiations starts through back door channels, some across board respectable Baloch nationalists or whatever way.

If IK is urging people not to pay any taxes then who pays for the schools, hospitals, police, etc?

Those who can afford private health care, education etc will have no problems but what about the rest?

NFP tweets- [MENTION=77]nadeem[/MENTION]fParacha: It's quite obvious now, IK is making up stuff as he goes. This is is getting seriously surreal.

Important announcement was asking people not to pay taxes