RBS Pentangular ODI Cup | Federal Areas Leopards vs NWFP Panthers | 21 April 2010

Come on Shoaib, make it 3 in 3 and show fatty your worth! :ibutt

Oooooh, just gets an inside edge on the hat-trick ball.

Cover Drive said:
Now lets hope he gets MOM

How did he get his fifth wicket? Bowled? Caught etc

replay of his 4th :D reverse swinging youker right through the batsmen!

Cover Drive said:
Now lets hope he gets MOM

How did he get his fifth wicket? Bowled? Caught etc
Put it this way, BOWLED is an understatement.. ;-)

Bouncer! Pulled! Caught!!

6 wickets for akhtar!!!!

1999 all over again!!! :D :D :D

Bouncer hooked straight down the square leg fielder's throat.

Akhtar finishes with SIX.

The fact that he came back to bowl his full quota shows some hunger, they would have won even if he did not finish his spell but this is pretty impressive.

What a brilliant day! :D

blast from the past!!

HE'S BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACK

Shoaib Akhtar's tournament stats so far...

18.3-0-97-8

Average of 12 !!!
Strike Rate of 14 !!!

Ali888 said:
Shoaib Akhtar's tournament stats so far...

18.3-0-97-8

Average of 12 !!!
Strike Rate of 14 !!!

How can the selectors possibly have any excuse now!

Inshallah inshallah he does not get injured

Come on Shabby! :akhtar :akhtar :akhtar

To bowl inswinging yorkers at will and at pace is really an amazing art.
4 of his wickets uprooted the middle stump and then there was the ball that got Nazir.
Very very impressive, actually unbelievable stuff.

Lets not get excited folks. No one has ever doubted his talent. Its the fact that he hurts himself and is unfit all the time which causes him to be left out. If he gets through this tourney fit then we having something on our hands.

Beautiful display of pace , wit and outright talent by Akhtar today though.

Yasir Hameed: Shoaib bhai's spell killed us. I hope we can come back and do well in the next game.

Bazid Khan: Tournament is still open, Shoaib's first spell was outstanding.

:akhtar pwned the interviewer who said that its too late now that the T20 team is selected!!

What a dumb question: "Shoaib aap late nahi ho gayay, T20 ki team already announce ho gayi?

IF - and thats a big IF - Shoaib keeps this form up throughout the tournament, don't rule out a return against Australia and England this summer. :)

kingusama92 said:
If he gets through this tourney fit then we having something on our hands.

Obviously. Of course.

But I'd still rather have a 90% fit Akhtar than a 150% fit Sami in our T20 bowling lineup.

(not saying Akhtar is 90% fit right now, he's fully fit)

HIGHLIGHTS FROM GEO ARE BEING POSTED ON YOUTUBE SO PEOPLE WHO MISSED IT DEFO KEEP YOURS EYES OUT IF YOU MISSED IT..........OR EVEN IF YOU DIDNT ;)

Shoaib Akthar (MOM): I wish Pakistan the best in T20WC and hope they come back with the trophy. I needed recovery from my op, I needed to work on bowling fitness and prove it which I did today, ball is in administrators court. I want to give best performances in this tournament, thanks to my team and management for supporting me.

Abdullah22 said:
What was his reply?

(Translated) Nope not at all ive always supported pakistan and wish the team the best of luck and hope they come back with the cup. mine and the whole countrys prayers are with the buys & afridi whilst i continue to prove my fitness

Interviewer couldnt argue with that one :))

Cover Drive said:
What did Akhtar say?
main ne apna kaam kardia hai ab selectors pe hai, i have best wishes for afridi and pakistan during t20

Cover Drive said:
What did Akhtar say?

(Translated) Nope not at all ive always supported pakistan and wish the team the best of luck and hope they come back with the cup. mine and the whole countrys prayers are with the buys & afridi whilst i continue to prove my fitness

my job was to prove my fitness and now its up to the selectors

Interviewer couldnt argue with that one

If Imran Nazir hadnt had that slog out at the start whilst akhtar found his footing and you take out Akhtars first three balls akhtars figures would read 9 overs 40 runs 60 wickets 4.44 econ

Cover Drive said:
JazakALLAH Khair guys. I appreciate it

no prob :) rem to catch the high lights on you tube.....im planing to do the same despite watching the match ;) :P

Right guys im outta here :D got my uni exams in less then 2 weeks :P but what a day it had been :akhtar

great discussion :) specially Cover Drive & Sledger.

Catch u guys letr ;)

TalhaSyed said:
If Imran Nazir hadnt had that slog out at the start whilst akhtar found his footing and you take out Akhtars first three balls akhtars figures would read 9 overs 40 runs 60 wickets 4.44 econ

Yeah and while you are at it lets take out the remaining 40 runs as well. After we take those runs out he would have had 9 overs 6 wickets for no runs... econ. of 0.

:))) Usama you're handing out some serious pwnage these days - first zaid65 in that Afridi thread now this. Legend :))

kingusama92 said:
Yeah and while you are at it lets take out the remaining 40 runs as well. After we take those runs out he would have had 9 overs 6 wickets for no runs... econ. of 0.

knew some one would try be a smart alec

but that would be in a row ;) i was taking out is first 3 balls out of 9.3 overs :P that hes bowled 9 overs in 3 consecutive spells for 40/6

Oh wow - so if we follow your theory, if somebody scores a 197 in an ODI, we just say, "oh cmon, if we add those 3 runs he would've gotten if he didn't get out, that's a double century! Count that knock as a 200 instead."

Paradox said:
Oh wow - so if we follow your theory, if somebody scores a 197 in an ODI, we just say, "oh cmon, if we add those 3 runs he would've gotten if he didn't get out, that's a double century! Count that knock as a 200 instead."

did i say you should count the figures as 40/6 or change the record books?? I said that he bowled 9 overs for 40 runs for 6 wickets. which is impressive for some one whose fitness is continuously in doubt. never asked you or anyone else to go change the score books or the records in ur head
:))) :))) :))) :))) ....its not that funny is it :13:

TalhaSyed said:
HIGHLIGHTS FROM GEO ARE BEING POSTED ON YOUTUBE SO PEOPLE WHO MISSED IT DEFO KEEP YOURS EYES OUT IF YOU MISSED IT..........OR EVEN IF YOU DIDNT ;)

Can you provide the link? Thanks

TalhaSyed said:
did i say you should count the figures as 40/6 or change the record books?? I said that he bowled 9 overs for 40 runs for 6 wickets. which is impressive for some one whose fitness is continuously in doubt. never asked you or anyone else to go change the score books or the records in ur head
:))) :))) :))) :))) ....its not that funny is it :13:

He didn't. Just because you want the stats to look better doesn't mean you remove the three boundaries that he got hit for. The stats are what they are, you can't change them.

Paradox said:
He didn't. Just because you want the stats to look better doesn't mean you remove the three boundaries that he got hit for. The stats are what they are, you can't change them.

He didnt ball 9 overs that went for 40 runs and 6 wickets in 3 consecutive spells?

Did i say change the stats? i was just pointing out a fact to show how well :akhtar has recovered

pakcricketfan said:
Has Imad Wasim really improved his bowling or is it just the standard of batting? :33:

the standard of batting wasnt brilliant but he also bowled really well :)

I seriously hope Akhtar maintains his fitness and get selected for England series. Can anyone upload highlights for this game?

So far only found the MOM interview and 6 wickets highlights:

[utube]PMQlIxml5JY[/utube]

Shoaib Akhtar six-for seals Leopards win

Federal Areas Leopards 305 for 8 (Murtaza 63, Majeed 56) beat Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Panthers 228 (Zohaib 47, Shoaib 6-52) by 77runs

A combined batting effort and a six-wicket haul from Shoaib Akhtar sealed Federal Areas Leopards' second successive win in the Pentangular One-day Cup, as they beat Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Panthers by 77 runs at the National Stadium in Karachi.

After opting to bat, the Leopards were boosted by half-centuries from four of their batsmen. Opener Rahil Majeed and Umar Amin scored at a brisk pace in a 65-run second wicket stand, Yasim Murtaza scored a quick 55-ball 63 including six fours and a six and wicketkeeper Naeem Anjum provided the late flourish, finishing with an unbeaten 53 off 36 balls to lift the Leopards score to 305. Left-arm spinner Zohaib Khan was the pick of the Panthers bowlers, taking 3 for 46.

In reply, none of the Panthers batsmen managed a score of 50 or above as Shoaib crippled them with early strikes, and returned to finish off their innings and seal a thumping win for the Leopards. He dismissed openers Imran Nazir and Rafatullah Mohmand cheaply, broke a 46-run sixth wicket stand by getting rid of wicketkeeper Ahmed said and nipped out two of the tail-enders to end with 6 for 52.

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakdomestic-09/content/story/456821.html?CMP=chrome

TalhaSyed said:
despite being a bit expense he bowled a good line and length apart from a couple loose balls. Was bowling about 87.37289 mph :) faster then last match defo. His ball to get both wickets were really good but his ball to ball Nazir was immense!! :D
kudos to your Speed gun TalSye..:14:..I dont care if he goes for runs as long as he's removing oppositions top batters...:akhtar

Seen Sheen said:
kudos to your Speed gun TalSye..:14:..I dont care if he goes for runs as long as he's removing oppositions top batters...:akhtar

Today he really brought back memories from a decade ago :D not been this happy about suming cricket related for months :D

akhtar, irfan, asif, aamer, wahab

Pakistan pace ranks looking good again after a period of rubbish with likes of rao etc

Star Player. hopefully we will see him in pakistan jersey soon inshallah. My prayers with shoaib and his family. he may have done bad off the field but his performances on the field are more important. We all make mistakes in life. What a role model he is for the young children of pakistan. Has always been conscious of Allah which shows the greatness of the man. Great things happen to deserve who work for it.
Good Luck Akhtar

Probably in next match,he'll touch or rather cross the 90.00000 mph mark...:akhtar...fingers crossed..

Seen Sheen said:
Probably in next match,he'll touch or rather cross the 90.00000 mph mark...:akhtar...fingers crossed..

insahllah :D il keep my eye out ;)

Chuck150 FSD said:
He's baaaaaack. I hope somehow he gets into the T20 WorldCup....you never know with PCB.
welcom Lyalpuri bhai..
Anything can happen..some ankle twisting,hamstring and we might see Shoaib playing against Ozs..:akhtar..

Seen Sheen said:
He hit 92 mph today one of the commentators was saying

It's been such a long time since I have seen a genuine Pak bowler swing a yorker delivery like that at pace. He has to be one of Pakistan's all time best reverse swing bowlers.

^ A shame, he could have been one of Pakistan's great bowlers period.

wow what a performance...
he needs to play 2 straight tournaments without missing a match n getting injured....to prove himself fit.