[REPORT] ICC referee Andy Pycroft apologises to Pakistan team over handshake row [Update@ Post 310]

Ball Blazer

Administrator
The handshake row may have just escalated, as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has sought to intensify the situation in the Asia Cup. A day after lodging a protest against the Indian team with the International Cricket Council (ICC) match referee, the PCB has now turned the heat on the ICC official himself. It has now demanded that Andy Pycroft be removed from the panel of match referees for the Asia Cup.

"The PCB has lodged a complaint with the ICC regarding violations by the Match Referee of the ICC Code of Conduct and the MCC Laws pertaining to the Spirit of Cricket. The PCB has demanded an immediate removal of the Match Referee from the Asia Cup," Mohsin Naqvi, who is the chairman of the PCB, has said in a social media post Monday (September 15).

Pycroft (69) has been at the centre of controversy for allegedly not acting on the PCB's protest against the Indian team, which refused to shake hands with the Pakistan players after they beat the arch-rivals by seven wickets at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday (September 14). The Zimbabwean has also allegedly been accused of telling the two skippers - India's Suryakumar Yadav and Pakistan's Salman Ali Agha - not to shake hands at the toss. It is not clear whether the PCB's complaint is based on one of these allegations or on both.

Cricbuzz has reached out to the ICC as well as the PCB for a formal comment.

Earlier on Monday night, the Pakistan team management lodged a protest with Pycroft against the Indian players' behavior. "Team manager Naveed Cheema lodged a strong protest against Indian players' behaviour of not shaking hands. It was deemed as unsporting and against the sport of the game. As a protest we did not send our captain to the post match ceremony," the Pakistan team management said.

Pycroft is one of the most experienced match referees, having been on the ICC Elite Panel since 2009. Along with nominating Pycroft, the ICC had also forwarded the name of West Indian Richie Richardson for the Asia Cup. The Elite Panel currently includes three other match referees - Javagal Srinath of India, Jeff Crowe of New Zealand, and Ranjan Madugalle of Sri Lanka.

Hilarious stuff from ACC and PCB chairman. Maybe he got instructions from field marshal to take this decision.
You cant force anybody to shake hands. Utterly rubbish.

Bye bye pakistan team from asia cup

Focus on winning the next match against India. This is not PCB domain so stop complaining about everything.

They cannot win against top teams, this is the only way to stay relevant in the media. Pakistan has been presented with a perfect opportunity by the Indian team and they'll milk it till Asia Cup ends.

The team is trash and Naqvi is well aware of it.

If the match referee can't even be neutral then what's the point of him being the match referee? Asking players not to shake hands tells you that he was approached beforehand by the BCCI to enforce their will. Think PCB are well within their rights to demand his removal. But they should stick to that instead of creating needless drama of "pulling out" of the tournament.

either do not play at all, or follow spirit of sports if you are choosing to play for money despite boycott calls
Hilarious stuff from ACC and PCB chairman. Maybe he got instructions from field marshal to take this decision.
You cant force anybody to shake hands. Utterly rubbish.

Bye bye pakistan team from asia cup

Mohsin has not created drama so far. He did what he said instead of just talking in air.
If the match referee can't even be neutral then what's the point of him being the match referee? Asking players not to shake hands tells you that he was approached beforehand by the BCCI to enforce their will. Think PCB are well within their rights to demand his removal. But they should stick to that instead of creating needless drama of "pulling out" of the tournament.

Cricket’s problem right now is that a small pool of teams play each other, and politics between two of them keeps spilling onto the field. Sport isn’t war; it’s a game with agreed rules so people can enjoy a few hours and get on with life. If this is what we’re going to see, those two teams should stop playing each other for a while. The downside is cricket already has limited opponents, so avoiding becomes very difficult.

Pakistani Players are coming across as Cry Babies now - It seems winning the match is out of their capability so only doing all these dramas to divert the attention of the fans and playing victim card. They are not disappointed over losing the match but more disheartened that Indian players didnt shake their hands. Pathetic.

This is a different matter than what I initially understood.

It should be investigated.
I prefer if there is nothing to investigate, I would prefer if the team that wants to avoid hand shaking after the game to simply not play it. Cricket is a game not a war, it has no bearing on what happens in real life.

Its a made up sport which only few countries have an interest it, out of which only the third word countries of Indian subcontinent where its played as number 1 sport, why politicise such a minor sport in the first place? let just play, shake hands and move on to the next one.

PCB chief should also suspend all eleven players immediately for that horror show yesterday.

As I said, he knows the team is trash and has to resort to this controversy to take the heat off of them. The best way to answer these shenanigans by India yesterday is to play well and give them a great game.

Khelna bhi nahi data, sir rondni lagani aati hai :misbah

PCB chief should also suspend all eleven players immediately for that horror show yesterday.

As I said, he knows the team is trash and has to resort to this controversy to take the heat off of them. The best way to answer these shenanigans by India yesterday is to play well and give them a great game.

Win Loss doesn't matter by your dumb logic Pakistan are in a better situation because of higher head to head numbers

I prefer if there is nothing to investigate, I would prefer if the team that wants to avoid hand shaking after the game to simply not play it. Cricket is a game not a war, it has no bearing on what happens in real life.

Its a made up sport which only few countries have an interest it, out of which only the third word countries of Indian subcontinent where its played as number 1 sport, why politicise such a minor sport in the first place? let just play, shake hands and move on to the next one.
The war + sports product we are being delivered doesn’t work for me. I am all for rivalry in sports but what we are seeing now is simply misplaced nationalism. It’s just a game. Too much geopolitics has come in. Not interested.

Win Loss doesn't matter by your dumb logic Pakistan are in a better situation because of higher head to head numbers
It does matter, Indian captain was in a position to say all that filth because his team won by a crushing margin.

Give them a game they won't forget and beat them, then run your mouth in the press conference too. Crying like sore losers about not shaking hands is just silly in my opinion.

Apparently match referee told the captains to avoid hand shake not force the hand shake.
If that was case surya wouldn’t be dedicating this to Pahalgam victims . It was pre planned by India . Andy just conveyed . Naqvi is dumb someone might have told him with some masala and he started fuming . Just like he sacked Shaheen and made Babar captain again on some outside noises .

Stupid PCB strikes again. Arrey bhai what’s the fault of Andy here . He has been told by India we will not shake hands . PCB behaving as if he was the one who forced both nations not to shake hands. Ridiculous by Naqvi and expected this is just a drama done to hide your pathetic performance on field .
That’s it. This is distraction drama similar to surgery etc.

Was a clear saazish to bring Pakistani player morale down. All other teams get to shake hands with Bhartiya superstars and get selfies, but not the Pakistanis.

Unfair :sanga

The pycroft issue is related to the handshakes at toss.
Pycroft directed both captains not to shake hands, so that is the issue pcb has with match referee.

The match referee set the precedent here of not shaking hands.

So he knew before hand that soemthing like this would happen at the end of match aswell and allowed it.

If the icc referee cant be neutral than shouldnt be officiating matches

Match referee is Andy Pycroft. Why did he get involved in this? LOL. He is from Zimbabwe.

Did he get paid by India to do this antic? That's the only explanation I can think of.

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag there was a time when I was calling for #Boycott and now PCB is contemplating of doing the same.

You still doubt this famous saying - When Rajdeep speaks, you listen?

@The Bald Eagle :inti

images

It does matter, Indian captain was in a position to say all that filth because his team won by a crushing margin.

Give them a game they won't forget and beat them, then run your mouth in the press conference too. Crying like sore losers about not shaking hands is just silly in my opinion.
Actually indians are the one that kept on crying and still are crying even after winning the game....their captain.said this was a fitting response to their loss of 6 rafales rofl rofl

Pakistan is simply sprinkling some salt on their wounds and if PCB have any real balls they won't allow their players to shake indian hands in the next encounter

PCB are creating drama in a way that will make them the laughing stock.

This is what I would have done if I were PCB:

1. Shrug off the Indians’ behaviour as something of zero importance. That’s a message in itself. You don’t want to shake hands? Go eff yourself.

2. At most a statement roughly along the lines of “ We congratulate the Indian team and all India on their win. It is a great pity that their team chose to interject politics into the beautiful game. Behaviour like this doesn’t really fly, just like their planes didn’t seem to fly a few months ago”.

You get the idea - one can work on a couple of drafts to make this more sophisticated. Humour / grace.

Instead, this sacking of their own guy, complaining against the match referee comes “toys out the pram behaviour” and makes it funny

As an aside, I’m Indian.

1. Shrug off the Indians’ behaviour as something of zero importance. That’s a message in itself. You don’t want to shake hands? Go eff yourself.

2. At most a statement roughly along the lines of “ We congratulate the Indian team and all India on their win. It is a great pity that their team chose to interject politics into the beautiful game. Behaviour like this doesn’t really fly, just like their planes didn’t seem to fly a few months ago”.

You get the idea - one can work on a couple of drafts to make this more sophisticated. Humour / grace.

Instead, this sacking of their own guy, complaining against the match referee comes “toys out the pram behaviour” and makes it funny.
Correct.

Something along the lines of ‘congratulations India, they played well and are deserved winners, we will identify what went wrong for us today but will be back stronger’

Instead
‘Fire wahla why no handshake. Hey SKY’

What a silly thing to request. Also am astonished that dude is 69 and still officiating matches. I would like to be able to move around at that age, let alone do something important like this.

Serves them right for playing cricket with a country that just attacked you. Should have banned cricket with India for the forseeable.

This wasn't some obscure proxy attack with loose connections if any. This was a direct military conflict and Pakistanis died.

Really this is quite strange from a professional cricket board. Why blame a referee if India don’t want to shake hands. Focus on the tournament. There can be no better statement than performance on the field.

Genuinely believe Pakistan should focus on performing better and winning rather than worry too much about these things. Generally these things come back to haunt. It happened in 2016 and it can very well happen again in this tournament. I personally believe India should have never played this tournament. Once they did, they should have just silently played out the matches without much of a fuss. But by making things political, our cricket team has only put needless pressure on itself. When you’re arrogant, you have to keep winning. India would look dumb af if Pakistan manage to make it to the final and win the tournament now. I will be the first to admit that on the forum if I’m still here by then.

How stupid, just play the game man. If I was a player I’d be itching to get back on that field to put right that pathetic performance.

All this over a handshake.

Pehlay khel kar ruswa hoay jab k option thee k different pools main chalay jaatay.

Phir haar kar izzat kharaab ki jab poori dunya ko pata chal gaya k in ki team main potential hi nahi hai fight ka.

Ab is tarah k topi dramay kar k mazaq urwain gay apna.

This could be the spring board event that you can use to kickstart fledgling cricket in the country but no. Ajeeb hi logo say waasta parr gaya hai hmara. Larai bhi haar gaye, moun par mukkay bhi kha liay, ab dhandora peetain gay aur mazeed sharmindagi ikathi karain gay.

It's just handshakes, so the act itself is not a big deal nor should it be made out as such. Pakistan needs to move on and focus on its next game.

On the other hand, I do agree with the PCB asking to remove Andy Pycroft because his decision suggests a potential lack of neutrality which is key for his position as match referee.

Telling the captains not to shake hands at the toss is odd and I'm not sure why he felt he had to be involved in that at all. For example, let's switch things around and assume he told SKY that you have to shake hands at the toss. It would be just as ridiculous.

Serves them right for playing cricket with a country that just attacked you. Should have banned cricket with India for the forseeable.

This wasn't some obscure proxy attack with loose connections if any. This was a direct military conflict and Pakistanis died.
Cricket needs to be depoliticised now. This match had nothing to do with those events.

It's just handshakes, so the act itself is not a big deal nor should it be made out as such. Pakistan needs to move on and focus on its next game.

On the other hand, I do agree with the PCB asking to remove Andy Pycroft because his decision suggests a potential lack of neutrality which is key for his position as match referee.

Telling the captains not to shake hands at the toss is odd and I'm not sure why he felt he had to be involved in that at all. For example, let's switch things around and assume he told SKY that you have to shake hands at the toss. It would be just as ridiculous.

I will say, it's also important to understand how Pycroft said it.

Did he just relay the message that India won't be shaking hands and told Agha/Pakistan to avoid him getting embarrassed? Or did he just walk up last minute and say there will be no handshakes without a proper explanation?

The former is fine, while the latter is just him not doing his job properly raising concerns about how much the BCCI can influence him.

Yes.. but if it was ordered from top , hopefully they pur BCCI GOI under the bus
For sure it’s been directed to him, don’t think SKY would’ve involved himself with this otherwise.

BUT he did and this was unnecessary. I know most Indians won’t get it now, but these are the moments that say a lot about who one really is. A different captain could have said no to this ask.

For sure it’s been directed to him, don’t think SKY would’ve involved himself with this otherwise.

BUT he did and this was unnecessary. I know most Indians won’t get it now, but these are the moments that say a lot about who one really is. A different captain could have said no to this ask.
At best Kohli Ganguly Dhoni might had, SKY probably isn't permanent.

I will say, it's also important to understand how Pycroft said it.

Did he just relay the message that India won't be shaking hands and told Agha/Pakistan to avoid him getting embarrassed? Or did he just walk up last minute and say there will be no handshakes without a proper explanation?

The former is fine, while the latter is just him not doing his job properly raising concerns about how much the BCCI can influence him.
Most likley BCCI told Pycroft they wont shake hands and Pycroft conveyed it to Salman

makes no sense for someone like Pycroft to meddle in such situation and get his hands dirty

If pakistan wants to score some brownie points over it should boycott the enxt game against india.. salman agha should come to toss and declare that they will not participate...in fact boycotting the meaningless yesterday game would have made more sense..there is no sense of cricket game in such high hostility

isn't ACB organiser of this tournament? They can remove themself someone from umpiring/referee position. Unnecessary fuss

Just creating drama to cover for poor performance its best to knuckle down and try to qualify for next round we are still in the tournament why bring more distraction for the players already they are down.

Genuinely believe Pakistan should focus on performing better and winning rather than worry too much about these things. Generally these things come back to haunt. It happened in 2016 and it can very well happen again in this tournament. I personally believe India should have never played this tournament. Once they did, they should have just silently played out the matches without much of a fuss. But by making things political, our cricket team has only put needless pressure on itself. When you’re arrogant, you have to keep winning. India would look dumb af if Pakistan manage to make it to the final and win the tournament now. I will be the first to admit that on the forum if I’m still here by then.
agree completely. This is dumb from everyone involved. If Surya wanted to dedicate anything, he needs to wait until we win the cup. Winning random match against a fairly mediocre team and then dedicating is stupidity. Moreover, don't play the tournament if you don't want to shake hands. I don't think anyone is forcings India to participate here. I would have loved to see a triangular tournament involving AUS, NZ and may be WI.

If pakistan wants to score some brownie points over it should boycott the enxt game against india.. salman agha should come to toss and declare that they will not participate...in fact boycotting the meaningless yesterday game would have made more sense..there is no sense of cricket game in such high hostility
It will make Pakistan look very bad. Indians will claim that Pakistan chickened out to avoid another humiliating loss.

What a load of nonsense. Instead of focusing on the fact that Pakistani players put up a spineless performance against India, as per usual, the PCB wants to cry about "no handshakes."

Who the hell cares about handshakes, and why the hell do our players want to shake hands with the Indians, our enemies? One of the big reasons for our decline is the fact that our players just want to be nice to everyone and be good boys. In the words of Shoaib Akhtar, we need some "Badmashi". If Indians don't want to shake your hand, they can go to hell. But it looks pathetic and childish on the part of the PCB to be crying about something so trivial.

Pretty sure this came down the slope GoI —> BCCI —> ICT.
But as far as doing differently than the ask, there’s nobody in the world who’ll go against the directive from their employer or country. It doesn’t matter what your standing is. Players have had to remove symbols from their clothes/ shoes or have been warned and/fined and they haven’t repeated it after that. It’s just the way it is. You can’t fault the players for that.

PCB have unnecessarily cornered themselves—now there’s nowhere to hide.
  1. Andy Pycroft has done nothing wrong for ICC to remove him. He simply conveyed to Pakistan that the Indian side wasn’t keen on a handshake. Technically, there’s no law under which he can be removed.
  2. PCB showed fake bravado by threatening to pull out of the Asia Cup if Pycroft isn’t removed.
  3. Pakistan’s next match is on Wednesday.
So, whatever has to happen must happen tomorrow. If PCB can somehow get Pycroft removed within 24 hours, good luck to them....LOL.

But if they can’t, then as a “self-respecting nation,” they should boycott the game on Wednesday. Because if they still play, it will be a clear case of thook ke chaatna.

So Rajdeep’s prediction: Pakistan will boycott the UAE game on Wednesday, concede 2 points, and crash out of the tournament. India and UAE will qualify for the Super 4 from Group A.

Basically, this is the end of Pakistan in this Asia Cup.

PCB ne PCB pe hi hamla kar diya

:yk

#SelfGoal
#NoMoreElClassico
#IndvUAEOn21Sept

PCB have unnecessarily cornered themselves—now there’s nowhere to hide.
  1. Andy Pycroft has done nothing wrong for ICC to remove him. He simply conveyed to Pakistan that the Indian side wasn’t keen on a handshake. Technically, there’s no law under which he can be removed.
  2. PCB showed fake bravado by threatening to pull out of the Asia Cup if Pycroft isn’t removed.
  3. Pakistan’s next match is on Wednesday.
So, whatever has to happen must happen tomorrow. If PCB can somehow get Pycroft removed within 24 hours, good luck to them....LOL.

But if they can’t, then as a “self-respecting nation,” they should boycott the game on Wednesday. Because if they still play, it will be a clear case of thook ke chaatna.

So Rajdeep’s prediction: Pakistan will boycott the UAE game on Wednesday, concede 2 points, and crash out of the tournament. India and UAE will qualify for the Super 4 from Group A.

Basically, this is the end of Pakistan in this Asia Cup.

PCB ne PCB pe hi hamla kar diya

:yk

#SelfGoal
#NoMoreElClassico
#IndvUAEOn21Sept
Pakistaniyon ne Pakistaniyon pe hi hamla kar diya. Example - They suspend Usman wala 😂😂😂😂😂

:klopp :kp

Pretty sure this came down the slope GoI —> BCCI —> ICT.
But as far as doing differently than the ask, there’s nobody in the world who’ll go against the directive from their employer or country. It doesn’t matter what your standing is. Players have had to remove symbols from their clothes/ shoes or have been warned and/fined and they haven’t repeated it after that. It’s just the way it is. You can’t fault the players for that.
These is where ICC and ACC being independent fair bodies would have come in but with Jay Shah and Naqvi in control of stuff, politics is bound to be intermingled with cricket. Pak as a country for sure needs less politics everywhere and especially in sports.

It was an opportunity for him to be a statesman, he used it to do that. I think there is no end to it once you start becoming political. Imagine the absurdity of playing a match that no one is forcing you to and then being mean to fellow professionals. It’s so petty I am literally amused.

According to reports, if India wins the Asia Cup it will Refuses to take the trophy from ACC chairman Naqvi. :klopp :kp

Kohli definitely and maybe Dhoni would have said no to this ask, I can’t imagine anybody else standing up to GG/BCCI diktat.

Pakistaniyon ne Pakistaniyon pe hi hamla kar diya. Example - They suspend Usman wala 😂😂😂😂😂

Now surely Pakistan has no other choice - Either Pycroft quits or PCT boycotts Asia cup. On top of that time is running out with next game on Wednesday.

By God....never expected this #Boycott will take a total 360 degree turn within few days.

Whoever is running PCB should be given a medal.

:klopp

This is for those who don't know the procedure to remove a match referee

First Wasim Khan ( General Manager) will sign the letter, then it will go to Sanjog Gupta's ( ICC CEO) desk, then finally it will go to ICC Chairman Jay Shah's to sign the expulsion letter.

Ab dekh lo Pakistaniyo age kya hone wala hai.

This is for those who don't know the procedure to remove a match referee

First Wasim Khan ( General Manager) will sign the letter, then it will go to Sanjog Gupta's ( ICC CEO) desk, then finally it will go to ICC Chairman Jay Shah's to sign the expulsion letter.

Ab dekh lo Pakistaniyo age kya hone wala hai.

I don't understand why Pakistani are eager to shake hands with Indian players. U cannot force anyone if someone don't want to shake hand with you. Instead of working on their circket and make their team better they are diverting attention and energy to something else.

Pakistan is unable to digest its crushing defeat against India . They are trying a face saver by demanding the removal of the Match Referee. Let’s see whether they will boycott rematch against UAE . That will be some fun.

I don't understand why Pakistani are eager to shake hands with Indian players. U cannot force anyone if someone don't want to shake hand with you. Instead of working on their circket and make their team better they are diverting attention and energy to something else.

Kohli definitely and maybe Dhoni would have said no to this ask, I can’t imagine anybody else standing up to GG/BCCI diktat.
No they would not have stand against any instructions from BCCI. Indian team coach is EX BJP MP . A party who is known for its ruthless nature and hatred against Muslims to stay in power. Son of Home minister of India Jay shah is heading ICC do no body can dare to say NO to them.

Instead, this sacking of their own guy, complaining against the match referee comes “toys out the pram behaviour” and makes it funny

As an aside, I’m Indian.
I would have to agree with this.

Pulling out at this stage when Pakistan has been soundly beaten would be the wrong step and would bring humiliation to Pakistan, they should have pulled out from the beginning...

They should also expected this sort of behavior from India and planned accordingly.

Threatening to pull-out of the tournament is a bit like cutting off your nose to spite your face. What would that accomplish? Best way to get revenge is by beating the opposition through your performance. Seems PCB has realized that such a thing is impossible for this team. Also seems like the BCCI and the Indian government have fully succeeded in getting a rise out of the PCB through this publicity stunt. PCB should have no-sold the whole thing. Not shaking the opposition's hand reflects more badly on you than it does on the your opposition, but it's not as big of a deal as PCB are starting to make it now. Focus on the cricket instead of this needless drama.

Apparently pcb need the money, if they boycott the tournament it might show that they don't need it.

What happened was wrong, Indian players should have acted professionally and shaken hands after the game. But now, it’s being blown out of proportion, and way too much attention is being given to it. The focus should be on cricket. Our players need to improve and prepare better for the upcoming matches.

Maybe there’s a realization that this team isn’t good enough right now and could easily get beaten again but it is what it is. All we can do is hope the team learns, fixes its mistakes, and works towards getting better.

Meanwhile, the PCB is busy playing politics trying to distract fans from the defeat against India by making noise, demanding the match referee’s removal, and creating unnecessary drama. That’s just nonsense.

I didn’t like how India behaved after the game, but it’s time to move on. They beat us fair and square, and right now, they’re miles ahead of us as a team.

What happened was wrong, Indian players should have acted professionally and shaken hands after the game. But now, it’s being blown out of proportion, and way too much attention is being given to it. The focus should be on cricket. Our players need to improve and prepare better for the upcoming matches.

Maybe there’s a realization that this team isn’t good enough right now and could easily get beaten again but it is what it is. All we can do is hope the team learns, fixes its mistakes, and works towards getting better.

Meanwhile, the PCB is busy playing politics trying to distract fans from the defeat against India by making noise, demanding the match referee’s removal, and creating unnecessary drama. That’s just nonsense.

I didn’t like how India behaved after the game, but it’s time to move on. They beat us fair and square, and right now, they’re miles ahead of us as a team.
They are accusing Pakistan of terrorism, the only evidence Hindutva had provided are Pakistani chocolates.

Pakistan is unable to digest its crushing defeat against India . They are trying a face saver by demanding the removal of the Match Referee. Let’s see whether they will boycott rematch against UAE . That will be some fun.

Not the first time Pak has lost to India.