Sarfaraz Ahmed's performance watch after international comeback in 2022

What a knock this was.

Looked so comfortable and dominant throughout. It’s like he was playing on a different pitch to everyone else.

The team needs to be balanced. Is there a place for Sarfaraz as a specialist batter in this side alongside Rizwan as wicketkeeper? Or is that a silly idea.

I would take Sarfaraz over Shan Masood on subcontinent pitches any day.

uSg2nuG.png

Guys got zero fitness pants when taking 3rd run, customary drops catches missed stumpings that costs matches/series.

There’s a reason he was on the bench for 3/4 years !!

That was a super effort by Sarfaraz, a lion-hearted fightback by him when things seemed over. Deserved to go home with what would´ve been one of the very best wins in the long history of Test cricket. Haven´t seen to many better innings than this by a wicket-keeper. A wonderful series for him in general, of course. Pleased for him!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Just saw the closing moments of the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvsNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvsNZ</a> test. Truly remarkable 💯💯💯 Well batted <a href="https://twitter.com/SarfarazA_54?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SarfarazA_54</a>👏👏</p>— Ashwin 🇮🇳 (@ashwinravi99) <a href="https://twitter.com/ashwinravi99/status/1611366260906033154?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 6, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The only guy from the India squad who legit appreciates Pakistani cricketers and isn’t scared to show it

Huge knock, proved me wrong with the bat.

Considering the other batters, worth selecting Sarf as a batsman and Rizwan as keeper batting #7 or opening.

The only guy from the India squad who legit appreciates Pakistani cricketers and isn’t scared to show it

Was gonna say the same. He’s always tapped into Pakistan matches.

Kohli as well always has good things to say.

Brilliant knock.

Hope Rizwan gets a boot for a few years now - he needs to learn how to bat, which isn't going to be easy at this stage of his career.

Rizwan needs to be permanently dropped from T20s as well, Haris in. Or, someone else who can bat according to T20 cricket.

ODIs - it could be Sarfraz if he can up his SR there. Or again, Haris or someone else.

Thoughts [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] ?

Tim Southee on Sarfaraz

“Sarfaraz was outstanding… not only today, but throughout the whole series"

“He came out, he played positive cricket, played busy cricket. For somebody who hasnt played for four years, credit to him.”

“We knew from the nature of the surface that things could happen late in the Test but Sarfaraz was probably the difference. We couldve won had we got him earlier.”

Unbelievable performance from sarfaraz- but this type of pitch where it doesn't bounce and spins slowly and the opposition spinners are average - that is right up his street.
He made the most of it.
Keeping still has issues - so with that combination Im not sure he should be the first choice WK in Australia next year.

Brilliant knock.

Hope Rizwan gets a boot for a few years now - he needs to learn how to bat, which isn't going to be easy at this stage of his career.

Rizwan needs to be permanently dropped from T20s as well, Haris in. Or, someone else who can bat according to T20 cricket.

ODIs - it could be Sarfraz if he can up his SR there. Or again, Haris or someone else.

Thoughts [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] ?

Ive always maintained this throughout Misbah's appointment as everything in 2019.

Misbah wanted a performing captain and not someone who actually knows how to captain. He picked Rizwan who had been a consistent failure at international level and gave him the long rope. All Rizwan needed was one innings to kick out Sarfaraz in everything forever. Rizwan succeeded, Misbah succeeded. Pakistan failed. Our cricket suffered a slow death for 3-4 years since then.

Rizwan also knows that everyone is now after him and they want him removed at least as an opener in T20 because they know he cant get those soft runs in the middle order like he does to bolster his stats as an opener. Therefore, Rizwan never rests. Rizwan plays every match. Rizwan scores a decent personal score at a riddicolously poor strike rate as an opener in order to maintain a weirdly inflated average. Imagine being the chief selector who knows that he wants two flamboyant openers, but has to drop Rizwan with his average of 50 in T20.

We are in a big, big mess! Dropping Rizwan from T20 could lead tocivil war in Pakistan.

Tim Southee on Sarfaraz

“Sarfaraz was outstanding… not only today, but throughout the whole series"

“He came out, he played positive cricket, played busy cricket. For somebody who hasnt played for four years, credit to him.”

“We knew from the nature of the surface that things could happen late in the Test but Sarfaraz was probably the difference. We couldve won had we got him earlier.”

High praise and shows respect for Sarfraz’ approach.

The opposition must wonder sometimes what exactly the Pakistani players are doing playing slow for no apparent reason. It’s probably refreshing for them to see someone in Pakistan to play positively.

I think over the course of the 5 tests Vs England and NZ we must have set some kind of record for the number of players it’s taken a certain number of balls to get off the mark.

There was Rizwan’s masterclass Vs England and now Saud Shakeel and Nauman Vs NZ

Ramiz Raja on Sarfaraz's exclusion

"What is the point of asking such a question? Was I supposed to play in his place? Was I going to wear pads and play in his place? I had nothing to gain by not picking him. It's good for Pakistan cricket that he has done well now."

Rizwan speaking in an interview:

“You can ask the head coach Saqlain Mushtaq that what I told him after the end of the England Test series,” said Rizwan, “I was happy to see Sarfaraz perform because that is what I wanted. I personally thought that since I wasn’t able to perform, I didn’t deserve to play in the next series.

Some players said that every player goes through this phase and you can’t sit on the bench based on few failures.”

“I went to the coach and captain myself and told them that you can drop me because I haven’t performed. Two players are witnesses to this conversation,” he said.

“Sarfaraz has been performing in domestic and deserves his chance now. So I was happy to see Sarfaraz perform because I asked for his inclusion. Whoever performs best for Pakistan deserves to play"

Some great praise by Aleem Dar:

According to Dar, Sarfaraz Ahmed stands above the likes of Misbah ul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, and Babar Azam as the most accomplished captain for Pakistan

“I believe every one of them had different qualities but if someone had superior game awareness and better captaincy skills then it was Sarfaraz Ahmed"

Speaking in an interview

"I have had the privilege of spending quality time with all the players, including Babar Azam, over the past four to five years"

"As a professional cricketer, I believe in being prepared to play in any format, my constant endeavor is to maintain my fitness and form, ensuring that I am ready to seize any opportunity that comes my way, irrespective of the format,"

"My heart had a strong desire to play tape ball cricket, considering my background. However, the playing conditions here are different. In my early days, we used to play cricket on roads and on cement wickets,"

"It brings me immense pleasure to see how tap ball cricket, which originated in Karachi, has now gained popularity worldwide. The festival of tape-ball cricket has been elevated by the participation of teams from Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, making it a truly global phenomenon"

"The trend of both hard-ball and tape-ball cricket has significantly grown in the United States. Various leagues are being organized, in which a large number of Pakistan cricketers are welcome to participate"

After Sarf's performance on his comeback, is it justifiable for him to be NOT part of the XI?

Things looking bleak if he keeps wickets. Expect a few dropped catches and missed stumpings.

To make up for that he will score a useless 50.

Things looking bleak if he keeps wickets. Expect a few dropped catches and missed stumpings.

To make up for that he will score a useless 50.

His runs were not useless in making sure Pak don’t lose 0-2 at home against NZ

Rizwan was the useless one who was part of the 0-3 loss v England at home

Disappointing seeing this guy make a comeback. Pathetic keeper and pathetic batsman but somehow he had the gloves over Rizwan.

Sarfraz retiring hurt was a blessing in disguise for Pakistan so Rizwan could show him how it’s done!

The sifarishis will only hurt us

Disappointing seeing this guy make a comeback. Pathetic keeper and pathetic batsman but somehow he had the gloves over Rizwan.

Sarfraz retiring hurt was a blessing in disguise for Pakistan so Rizwan could show him how it’s done!

The sifarishis will only hurt us
Did you ever think that rizwan's superior keeping ability and good abilities with the bat can ever be a match for how powerful saifi's domicile is?

Match Update from QeA Trophy 2023/24: Karachi Whites v Faisalabad

At the end of day two, veteran Asad Shafiq was joined on the crease by Sarfaraz Ahmed. Thereafter, Karachi started the day with their two most experienced batters on the crease, as the scorecard read 203-5.

Asad and Sarfaraz, who scored 108* and 128* respectively, took their side from 203 to 434. The brilliant 234-run-stand between the two most experienced batters of the side ensured that the side was considerably ahead of their opponents.

Could Sarfaraz Ahmed by the number 4 in ODIs for Pakistan in the CWC?

His last 8 FC innings

weBln10.png

Some people are saying that he can be a part of the world cup. I am not seeing this happening but anything can happen with Pakistan Cricket Team so you never know.

Apparently he’s replacing Mohammad Harris and will be put into the reserves.

With the amount of rumors flying around, it seems the entire ODI squad is being replaced at this point.

Sarfraz is pretty over the hill but if Haris is not going to open if he plays ODI's then Sarfraz is likely a better option especially in spinning conditions.

This is too easy for Saifi bhai. Honestly it’s insulting that he is forced to play in this 3rd grade tournament just to prove to our corrupt selectors that he is the best keeper and best batsmen of the country.

Inshallah after we get knocked out of the group stages this wc, Saifi bhai will return to all 3 formats and lead Pakistan to many tournament and series wins

Sarfaraz hit his 16th FC hundred today in Round 4 of QeA Trophy
He is in some incredible form, ageing like fine win.

People laugh when I say it but he can extend his career like Misbah did into his early fourties however the difference will be that whereas Misbah did it to harm Pakistan, Sarfraz will do it to benefit Pakistan for the next half a decade at minimum

I can only imagine the results which will be produced with Sarfraz captaining a team with Saim, Saud, Azam K, Shaheen and Naseem. Can be a potential golden age similar to the 80s for us

Yeah sure more embarrassing results like getting whitewashed against SL and NZ for sure
Thankfully he was removed as captain

Karachi Whites skipper Sarfraz Ahmad has now crossed the 150-run mark in his 16th first-class century.

Yeah sure more embarrassing results like getting whitewashed against SL and NZ for sure
Thankfully he was removed as captain
Yes the Champions trophy and number 1 T20 rank were such embarrassments. Instead we should take pride in Babar being the first captain to be whitewashed at home, losing three consecutive tournament finals and by 200 runs to India

Lol

Bro Rizwan isn’t going anywhere. They know who to get him in one way or another.
Mate don't worry. If the rumours I'm hearing are true than both Zaka and Shakil Sheikh wanted Sarfraz back in the team meaning the higher ups have faith in him

Although Babar has an unmatched cult following, the tide is slowly changing and a disastrous world cup will be enough for the balance of power to change. I have faith the rightful will be restored

Biggest blunder to not even have him in the reserves at least

Typical Pakistan cricket nonsense
He is a 36 year old with inferior keeping skills than Mohammad Haris. He isn't a good LO batsman and never was. He also has a ton of baggage not because he's a toxic individual but because his fans are and his status as a former captain.

There is ZERO reason to have Sarfaraz anywhere near the LO teams and I'd say his test career should be over too. Rizwan is the present and Haris is the future.

Mate don't worry. If the rumours I'm hearing are true than both Zaka and Shakil Sheikh wanted Sarfraz back in the team meaning the higher ups have faith in him

Although Babar has an unmatched cult following, the tide is slowly changing and a disastrous world cup will be enough for the balance of power to change. I have faith the rightful will be restored
No my boy he isn't coming back

To be completly fair I do think babar is departing from captaincy but I don't think rizwan is going anywhere.

Based of how things stand, we are literally losing to any team besides the minnows, our bowling is so useless this WC. Babar is already being memed for the friendship 11 so likely this is his last outing as captain.

But I don't think rizwan is departing, believe it or not he has the strongest hold on the team atm, even more so then babar and shaheen, he's literally the top of the table when it comes to being a golden boy.

Like media critises shaheen, Babar and shadab but not a single person has ever actually critised rizwan besides sohaib Akhtar and a few more anlaysts who rightfully bashed him for his Asia cup final performance and his test performance.

One thing rizwan is very good at unlike babar, he knows how to stay on the media's good side. Unlike shadab or babar that would throw a hissyfit, Rizwan very cleavery went on the media after losing his test spot saying he was stepping down for sarfi the senior, this made everyone in media admire him 100x more for his supposed maturity.

Same with his drama injuries, everyone views rizzu as a gladiator who keeps fighting on no matter how injured he gets, if he fails to perform, Rizzu can just say I was injured but I gave it my all on my last legs for the team , and all of media will praise him as the ultimate fighter.

Say what you want about rizwan, this guy is an expert at gaining media spotlight and pretty much having the entire pcb rapped around his finger. He ain't going anywhere bro. He knows his away around unlike babar and shadab.

Yes the Champions trophy and number 1 T20 rank were such embarrassments. Instead we should take pride in Babar being the first captain to be whitewashed at home, losing three consecutive tournament finals and by 200 runs to India
Also forgot to add first time we defeated India by 10 wickets in world cup
In past we didn't even used to be in last four

The thing about sarfi is that you can tell he genuinely enjoys cricket and plays for the team. In the nadir Ali podcast, players like umar akmal, Salman butt were whining but sarfraz was chilling and didn't give a damn about being dropped, he was honestly so humble and cared so much for the team over himself or his milestones.

That's what seprates him from babar and misbah, Babar is 100x the batsmen that sarfraz is but he can't ever reach sarfi's heights due to his selfish nature, Babar is the type of player to deliberately slow down for his milestones even if the run rate will increase.

Sarfi always plays with the mindset on how he can help his team win, Babar on the other hand is unconcerned, he plays with the mindset of getting his 100, and then letting others and god do the work and hope for the best.

We saw how Saud was batting with 140 SR and how Every NZ batsmen were batting with 140Sr. Someone like ravindra should not be outplaying Mr no 1 batter in the world. Only Williamson who is injured and not fit wasn't able to bat to standards and even he was going at a Sr of 100+.

When you have part timers bowling like daryl Mitchell, Glenn Philips, Babar is more then capable and skilled enough to feast on these types of bowlers the same way saud was feasting, but he won't and never will because God forbid he risks the chance of getting out, so he'll purposely limit himself.

Players like saud, Sarfraz, Saim ayub, none of these guys care about themselves, they know full well the team and the country is more important then they are. Its what seprates these players from players like rizzu, babar, Imam etc.

But our community doesn't understand this and will use the stats argument which is the weakest argument you can make to shut people up.

Scoring meaningless 100's means nothing. Win a cup for your country and actually play for your team like fakhar, Azhar, Hafeez, Sarfraz, Omad waseem, Amir did and then we'll talk. Series hunders and 50+ averages against c sides means jack at this point.

He is a 36 year old with inferior keeping skills than Mohammad Haris. He isn't a good LO batsman and never was. He also has a ton of baggage not because he's a toxic individual but because his fans are and his status as a former captain.

There is ZERO reason to have Sarfaraz anywhere near the LO teams and I'd say his test career should be over too. Rizwan is the present and Haris is the future.
Yeah I wouldn’t question why you believe what you do

This guy is the role model for any budding Pakistani cricketer.

He doesn’t whinge or whine when he’s out of the team. When he’s picked as a reserve, he pulls his weight and shows no arrogance about being an ex-skipper (believe it or not, haters like Rambo has a problem with that aswell)

Keeps working at his game. Comes back after a long stint out of the game and schools every player in the team on how to play spin.

Now still killing it in domestic cricket.

For all the media push about Rizwan’s “team man persona”, Sarfraz has it naturally without trying to attention seek about it.

Our next test series is in Australia. Sarafraz averages
Yeah I wouldn’t question why you believe what you do
Nationalism is a disease. Get over it and support Pakistan/Muslims. It doesn't matter where Sarfaraz is from, he's too old and isn't that good.

To be completly fair I do think babar is departing from captaincy but I don't think rizwan is going anywhere.

Based of how things stand, we are literally losing to any team besides the minnows, our bowling is so useless this WC. Babar is already being memed for the friendship 11 so likely this is his last outing as captain.

But I don't think rizwan is departing, believe it or not he has the strongest hold on the team atm, even more so then babar and shaheen, he's literally the top of the table when it comes to being a golden boy.

Like media critises shaheen, Babar and shadab but not a single person has ever actually critised rizwan besides sohaib Akhtar and a few more anlaysts who rightfully bashed him for his Asia cup final performance and his test performance.

One thing rizwan is very good at unlike babar, he knows how to stay on the media's good side. Unlike shadab or babar that would throw a hissyfit, Rizwan very cleavery went on the media after losing his test spot saying he was stepping down for sarfi the senior, this made everyone in media admire him 100x more for his supposed maturity.

Same with his drama injuries, everyone views rizzu as a gladiator who keeps fighting on no matter how injured he gets, if he fails to perform, Rizzu can just say I was injured but I gave it my all on my last legs for the team , and all of media will praise him as the ultimate fighter.

Say what you want about rizwan, this guy is an expert at gaining media spotlight and pretty much having the entire pcb rapped around his finger. He ain't going anywhere bro. He knows his away around unlike babar and shadab.
Your assessment of how Rizwan uses his pious imagery to manipulate the media is 100% correct and I cannot disagree their

However I believe you are underestimating the impact a disastrous world cup will have on the group of four (Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen and Shadab)

All of them are the core of the current Pakistan team and a poor performance reflects badly on each of them equally (Babar maybe more so however on marginally)

The thing is their are many journalist who have stood by the injustice show to Sarfraz over the years and when inevitably we are knocked out of the world cup in the first round than the blame will go mostly to the aforementioned group whereas guys on the sidelines (Sarfraz, Imad, Amir etc) won't have to answer for anything as they have nothing to be blamed for

Therefore with the small but strong support Sarfraz does have in the media as well as some manoeuvring from the higher ups, than I can see Sarfraz being given the test captaincy for the Australia series and as he carries his form from first class into tests than I can see the LOI captaincy being given back to him, giving a chance to rebuild the team and base it on merit and competence rather than friendship and nepotism

He doesn’t whinge or whine when he’s out of the team. When he’s picked as a reserve, he pulls his weight and shows no arrogance about being an ex-skipper (believe it or not, haters like Rambo has a problem with that aswell)

Keeps working at his game. Comes back after a long stint out of the game and schools every player in the team on how to play spin.

For all the media push about Rizwan’s “team man persona”, Sarfraz has it naturally without trying to attention seek about it.
Although that's what makes me love him so much, a greedy part of me wishes that if he is back as captain (inshallah) than he looks to be more assertive when it comes to those who lobby so strongly against him and looks to create a small but competent circle (Imad, Saud, Azam K and Saim) who can ensure he is given an ample opportunity to build a proper modern team

Because sarfi doesn't care about himself. Rizwan is the type to make claims such as how he's the 2nd coming of Dhoni or gilchrist, where sarfraz genuinely does not care.

He only cared about the team and how to win.

Thing is when we lost as a team we never blamed sarfraz because you can tell the guy gives it his all. With babar we blame him because their multiple issues never ironed out.

No squad rotations, always same formula, Lying on media about his buddies, throwing some people under the bus.

If I recall correctly, sarfraz has never thrown a single player under the bus, not even kamran akmal or rizzu when they returned. Nor has he worried about his position to much

The whole sarfi was a coward who batted himself Low is nonsense, people literally critised him for batting at opening, then they critise him for batting at no 7 to accommodate youngsters, then when he listens to media and bats himself at 4, people critise him again for blocking haris sohail at 4, even though haris himself wanted to bat at 5 and enjoys that position more. Lakh Di lanat. Well you got your wish, now you're stuck with a guy who whines no stop " I am not happy, give me no 4 or opening, I am Mr important."

Your assessment of how Rizwan uses his pious imagery to manipulate the media is 100% correct and I cannot disagree their

However I believe you are underestimating the impact a disastrous world cup will have on the group of four (Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen and Shadab)

All of them are the core of the current Pakistan team and a poor performance reflects badly on each of them equally (Babar maybe more so however on marginally)

The thing is their are many journalist who have stood by the injustice show to Sarfraz over the years and when inevitably we are knocked out of the world cup in the first round than the blame will go mostly to the aforementioned group whereas guys on the sidelines (Sarfraz, Imad, Amir etc) won't have to answer for anything as they have nothing to be blamed for

Therefore with the small but strong support Sarfraz does have in the media as well as some manoeuvring from the higher ups, than I can see Sarfraz being given the test captaincy for the Australia series and as he carries his form from first class into tests than I can see the LOI captaincy being given back to him, giving a chance to rebuild the team and base it on merit and competence rather than friendship and nepotism
The problem is sarfraz has a small support. But sarfi isn't the type to abuse the media. He's a humble guy, he won't try to get media hype to get him back in lol.

Rizwan will throw drama bazi on the media. As I said, you can simply tell from their past interviews.

Sarfi never threw anyone under the bus, he respected his seniors and respected his juniors. Sarfi scolded hasan Ali on the field but on the press he never threw the guy under the bus, just said he needs to improve and hasan Ali did by the time the semi final against England was reached.

Babar is the type of guy to say " Zaman Khan is trash but shadab is the 2nd coming of Shane warne"

Just like how rizwan is the type to say " I am the moat vital asset that this world has ever known"

Still I'm hoping justice prevails at the end of the day.

Ugh, Damn you Misbah for what you did. This 2023 world cup has 2015 world cup written all over it, horrible team with only saud being the shining light, just like how sarfi was the only shining light in 2015.

Bro Babar just needs an ego check thats all, rizwan needs to go yes.

Babar is an improvement type player and seems to have ironed out his issues against spin as well.

Babar use to attack and Bully the bowling during his 2016 to 2017 days, unlike rizzu or Imam, Babar easily has the skills to dominate the bowling.

The reason why Babar slows down and plays conservatively is because he's let Mr no 1 rank get to his head, so he's become milestone obsessed. Babar tries to get his 100, while putting pressure on others to accelerate and keep up with the run rate.

If sarfi becomes captain again, Babar will start to dominate the bowlers even more so then his 2016 days because he's currently 100x more skilled then he use to be.

For Babar we just need a captain who can bring a mindset change.

Rizzu and imam can never improve though, their limited. So I don't want Babar out from batting, just captaincy, he didn't use to be Conservative, nor does he lack the skills to accelerate like imam or rizzu, Babar cam easily accelerate and get those 18 to 25 ball quick fire 50's. He just won't cause he's eyeing that surpassing YK 40 century record rather then team play.

Bro Babar just needs an ego check thats all, rizwan needs to go yes.

Babar is an improvement type player and seems to have ironed out his issues against spin as well.

Babar use to attack and Bully the bowling during his 2016 to 2017 days, unlike rizzu or Imam, Babar easily has the skills to dominate the bowling.

The reason why Babar slows down and plays conservatively is because he's let Mr no 1 rank get to his head, so he's become milestone obsessed. Babar tries to get his 100, while putting pressure on others to accelerate and keep up with the run rate.

If sarfi becomes captain again, Babar will start to dominate the bowlers even more so then his 2016 days because he's currently 100x more skilled then he use to be.

For Babar we just need a captain who can bring a mindset change.

Rizzu and imam can never improve though, their limited. So I don't want Babar out from batting, just captaincy, he didn't use to be Conservative, nor does he lack the skills to accelerate like imam or rizzu, Babar cam easily accelerate and get those 18 to 25 ball quick fire 50's. He just won't cause he's eyeing that surpassing YK 40 century record rather then team play.
This is where I strongly disagree

Babar does not have the ability to reach that 5th gear that class batsmen like Kohli, Sharma, Smith etc have

You said that from 16-17 he was "bullying" bowling line ups, please show me a single innings of his where he did that at a high strike rate. From my memory all his hundreds in that period came at a strike rate of less than 100 with his 100 in Australia coming of 109 balls chasing 370- that really does not sound like bullying rather stat padding

If anything some of Babar's "better" innings have come post 2017 such as his 125 vs South Africa and 100 of 70 odd vs Australia (B teams yes but he wasn't destroying B bowling line ups in the past either)

With regards to captain I disagree their too. He played under the captaincy of a very compotent Imad in Karachi for over 5 years and in those five years I do not remember him taking the PSL by storm in any way, shape or form. Yes he would always top the run charts, but his strike rate was well below average

The fact of the matter is Babar is a decent batsmen, second to Saud in my opinion, but as you said his ego and cult like status, have made people think he is some second coming of Kohli which he is not, rather he is a more refined Misbah

This is where I strongly disagree

Babar does not have the ability to reach that 5th gear that class batsmen like Kohli, Sharma, Smith etc have

You said that from 16-17 he was "bullying" bowling line ups, please show me a single innings of his where he did that at a high strike rate. From my memory all his hundreds in that period came at a strike rate of less than 100 with his 100 in Australia coming of 109 balls chasing 370- that really does not sound like bullying rather stat padding

If anything some of Babar's "better" innings have come post 2017 such as his 125 vs South Africa and 100 of 70 odd vs Australia (B teams yes but he wasn't destroying B bowling line ups in the past either)

With regards to captain I disagree their too. He played under the captaincy of a very compotent Imad in Karachi for over 5 years and in those five years I do not remember him taking the PSL by storm in any way, shape or form. Yes he would always top the run charts, but his strike rate was well below average

The fact of the matter is Babar is a decent batsmen, second to Saud in my opinion, but as you said his ego and cult like status, have made people think he is some second coming of Kohli which he is not, rather he is a more refined Misbah
Against Nepal he Accelerated made a 50 of 18, something misbah could never do.

He clearly has the ability to strike freely. He just doesn't do so due to milestone habits.

Babar is a clean striker bro, and a good timer, and his ability to play fast is superior to saud, saud is 100x superior in playing spin though.

It's just babar doesn't bother attacking cause he wants others to do the lifting. He'll only start attacking once 100 is reached lol. By then it's too late.

Against Nepal he Accelerated made a 50 of 18, something misbah could never do.

He clearly has the ability to strike freely. He just doesn't do so due to milestone habits.

Babar is a clean striker bro, and a good timer, and his ability to play fast is superior to saud, saud is 100x superior in playing spin though.

It's just babar doesn't bother attacking cause he wants others to do the lifting. He'll only start attacking once 100 is reached lol. By then it's too late.
Come on bro are you really going to use Nepal to justify his ability to accelerate.

Misbah was able to score a 50 from 18 balls on the slow wickets of the UAE, I'd take that over anything Babar does vs Nepal

It's not about milestones either. Take the game against South Africa in last years 22 world cup. Haris had got the team of to a flyer, the pitch was flat and Babar could not afford to slow down for milestones as it was a must win game and a loss would have put tremendous pressure on his captaincy at the time. Now what does Babar do in such a situation, he scores 7 from 14 and throughout that innings he was making an effort to amp up the gears and yet couldn't do it.

It's not any kind of selfishness (although he has plenty of that) rather a lack of ability

Now yes maybe if the fame hadn't gotten to his head, he may have been able to self reflect and improve his striking ability however that hasn't been the case rather he has been content to stay as a good accumulator and nothing else

Come on bro are you really going to use Nepal to justify his ability to accelerate.

Misbah was able to score a 50 from 18 balls on the slow wickets of the UAE, I'd take that over anything Babar does vs Nepal

It's not about milestones either. Take the game against South Africa in last years 22 world cup. Haris had got the team of to a flyer, the pitch was flat and Babar could not afford to slow down for milestones as it was a must win game and a loss would have put tremendous pressure on his captaincy at the time. Now what does Babar do in such a situation, he scores 7 from 14 and throughout that innings he was making an effort to amp up the gears and yet couldn't do it.

It's not any kind of selfishness (although he has plenty of that) rather a lack of ability

Now yes maybe if the fame hadn't gotten to his head, he may have been able to self reflect and improve his striking ability however that hasn't been the case rather he has been content to stay as a good accumulator and nothing else

But babar's literally hit t20 100's including a 51 ball 100 against South Africa.

Irrespective of any argument such as 2nd string attacks and what not, it requires skills and actual acceleration ability to score at that rate.

Babar does not lack the ability to accelerate. Misbah can never play the innings that babar can. Nor is misbah a test great that people think he is. Every player in the test squad besides the openers hafeez and shehzad were superior to misbah, Azhar and younish at their peaks were serving 300's , shafiq and sarfi were superior bats on tests to misbah. Misbah is a fraud.

Babar isn't a fraud, he's genuinely a really really good batsmen and deserves to be our no 3. He's a solid player. He just isn't the player media has built him up to be.

He can accelerate, but won't for obvious reasons listed above. Also the whole quality bowling argument,

No player unless you're an actual top dawg like 2016 kohli or prime de villers is scoring t20 100's or smashing the opposition if the bowling includes the likes of bumrah stark etc.

Against these types of bowlers even England wouldn't accelerate unless they have a bad day.

Babar clearly showed he can Bully bowlers as long as those bowlers are not pure Peak class, which even atg's struggled with. If he could ugly 2nd string attacks in t20,

Then he should have bullied a 2nd string attack NZ was using aka Glenn Philips and darlyn Mitchell bowling lol, he willingly chose not to.

Babar isn't bad, he's capable of bullying 2nd string sides like the top tier batsmen like bairstow just fine. He doesn't do so due to reasons listed prior.

Literally every half decent player in his team scored at least a century. No credence in this performance at all. PCB letting everyone down by making domestic cricket watered-down to the point I'd fancy my chances of getting a game and I haven't played at any level for nearly a decade.

This guys is a really tough competitor. Personally I would want him to be with the team Pakistan in this World Cup ahead of Haris as the backup wicket-keeper.

Captaincy is not going to 36 year old again no thanks

Literally every half decent player in his team scored at least a century. No credence in this performance at all. PCB letting everyone down by making domestic cricket watered-down to the point I'd fancy my chances of getting a game and I haven't played at any level for nearly a decade.
I mean credit for the double century as it's never easy to score one of those.

But... it was one of the easiest double centuries anyone has ever scored lol.

This guys is a really tough competitor. Personally I would want him to be with the team Pakistan in this World Cup ahead of Haris as the backup wicket-keeper.
I would have both Haris and Sarfraz instead of the darling of the team, but it ain’t gonna happen when his BFF is captain and the cult is going strong

personally i think sarfaraz can be given a chance in test matches considering the fact that he is in superb form.

I think he could be added in the middle order as a batsman only to boost the power hitting for us in the world cup.

Love his ability, he is a fighter but one big dip in form, fitness and leadership during the 2019 world cup cost him big time. He improved all of those a lot in the last 4 years.

Rizwan should consider a temporary retirement from Test cricket since Sarfraz, despite being 36 years old, is not showing signs of slowing down

What a performance from kaptaan. Seems like now he is certain to be back as test captain and if reports are true ODIs too.

Just needs a good PSL to be back in the T20 side and when that happens we can finally look ahead to Pakistan cricket moving foward

What a performance from kaptaan. Seems like now he is certain to be back as test captain and if reports are true ODIs too.

Just needs a good PSL to be back in the T20 side and when that happens we can finally look ahead to Pakistan cricket moving foward

I'm glad he did well and he would make a good captain. But at 36, isn't it better if we try to groom someone younger who will be around for the next WC?