Should Imran Khan sack Minister Ch Fawad Hussain?

Lot of criticism for the minister's tweets and statements but many feel he is a good way to counter some of the challenges from the outside world.

So whats the verdict - does he stay or go?

He has played a big role in PTI losing all credibility, so yes Imran needs to do the right thing for once.

Yes that clown needs to be fired. Plus Khan needs to fire all the lotas he has surrounded himself with. Severely disappointed with Khan who promised change. How can you bring in change with lotas?

I often wonder its all topi drama by Khan.

PTI is fast losing its credibility as the party of change when it has such trolls representing it. Problem is that there is no decent alternative to PTI in Pakistan so people will have to bear such classless ministers for a long time.

Fawad should be a bit more professional. No need to engage with Twitter trolls.

Maybe Imran should replace him.

Chaudary Fawad Hussain in sense is Imran Khan by characteristics. Maybe we should start with Imran Khan first? After all, Imran Khan hired him suggests Fawad Hussain is not problem alone.

As a minister he should definitely be more responsible with statements but other than that he is FAR better than most Indian ministers who are hate filled bigots.

Surprisingly, I totally agree with you.

This Fawad guy isn't even a patch on Indian ministers as far as hate oozing out of them from every corner.

He has no filter and is an easy target for Indian trolls. He needs to zip up or ship out.

He is an embarrassment. He needs to concentrate more on his job then spending time of Twitter.

He should, but Imran has sorta already dealt with him by giving him a useless postion of the Science Ministry. No harm.

BJP would like him to continue for sure. He is helping their cause by generating more anti-pak sentiments. From indian point of view he is good entertainment.

Yes please. Imran should find someone with good common sense. Minister Fawad has been a huge letdown. He makes Modi look like a NASA scientist.

Some of the appointments of Imran Khan have been baffling. Fardious Ashiq Awan and Fawad Chaudhry are trash.

Yes.

Replace Fawad Chaudhry and Shah Mehmood Qureshi with more competent politicians or technocrats.

What a pathetic tweet...Good that Modi refuses to engage with such a govt.

Funny, from what I've heard he's trying to open backdoor lines of communication.

And don't try to act like this is anywhere near like the kind of filth that comes out of the mouths of your BJP politicians. It's hilarious seeing a non entity like Fawad have so many Indians in his mentions. He must be loving it.

Lol
It's a high school level diss but well done to Fawad.
The ****** are properly triggered now

Funny, from what I've heard he's trying to open backdoor lines of communication.

And don't try to act like this is anywhere near like the kind of filth that comes out of the mouths of your BJP politicians. It's hilarious seeing a non entity like Fawad have so many Indians in his mentions. He must be loving it.

Which Indian politician has hurled such personal abuses at a pakistani PM?

Fully support any personal and political insults hurled at Modi.

Anyone who ran a campaign and political office to divide people should be insulted on daily basis.

Any of his supporters getting but hurt over it should be ignored.

Fully support any personal and political insults hurled at Modi.

Anyone who ran a campaign and political office to divide people should be insulted on daily basis.

Any of his supporters getting but hurt over it should be ignored.

Those powerless to do anything to Modi can only hurl insults.

Poor people. Frothing at the mouth and throwing toys out of the pram. Good that Modi ignored these people.

Those powerless to do anything to Modi can only hurl insults.

Poor people. Frothing at the mouth and throwing toys out of the pram. Good that Modi ignored these people.

Oh come on, we're talking about someone who ran up some mountain rather than spend a night with his virgin wife, he's not exactly some superman.

Maybe if he'd passed that hurdle, he wouldnt be holding onto those man hugs so long.

Oh come on, we're talking about someone who ran up some mountain rather than spend a night with his virgin wife, he's not exactly some superman.

Maybe if he'd passed that hurdle, he wouldnt be holding onto those man hugs so long.

As i said, those powerless to do anything to Modi are hurling insults at him. From the Pakistani PM to You.

Don’t really care about the image, he should be removed because as a science minister he is wasting time on social media for something that is not even his job and his behavior is not suitable for someone of his age. PTI should replace him and others with more competent individuals as the time goes on.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hopeless show by <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiJanta?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiJanta</a> after spending Billions of Rs this is what they could gather from all over USA Canada and beyond, shows money can’t buy everything <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiInHouston?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiInHouston</a> <a href="https://t.co/3IshLXfXs3">https://t.co/3IshLXfXs3</a></p>— Ch Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1175799706389221378?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

:)) Hard to believe that he is the Federal Minister for Science and Technology in Pakistan.

Kindly read the replies to his tweet where there are actual photographs and video of the event.

No, he should be remain. World deserves those sciency comments and those techie thoughts.

ISLAMABAD: Science and Technology Minister Fawad Chaudhry said it was his right to slap TV anchor Mubasher Lucman as the latter had made derogatory remarks about him.

Speaking to talk show host Shahzad Iqbal on Geo News' programme Naya Pakistan, the federal minister said he was a human being first before anything else. "Ministries come and ago," he said.

"I have been a minister earlier as well. I will not tolerate personal attacks against myself. We are all human beings and will react when someone makes such false allegations."

Chaudhry issued the statement hours after he slapped Lucman, the TV anchor, at an event for saliciously linking him to Tik Tok star Hareem Shah. The altercation had taken place at the valima ceremony of provincial minister Mohsin Laghari's son where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Jahangir Tareen was also present.

Stressing having no regrets for hitting Lucman, he said he did not recognise the principle that one should not hit another person just because they were a federal minister.

The minister rejected allegations he was involved in any way with Hareem Shah as the TV anchor had suggested and said he hadn't even met the Tik Tok star once.

"Thousands of people meet me every day," he said. "People click selfies with me. However, I do not know who she is."

He criticised TV anchors Lucman and Sami Abraham by saying they were not journalists.

"Has any journalist body condemned my actions? Did the Punjab Union of Journalists say anything about it? These [Sami Abraham and Mubasher Lucman] are accidental journalists; they have nothing to do with journalism," he said.

He said this was not the first time that Lucman had levelled false allegations and maligned someone's character to get views on his YouTube channel. The minister said he had previously targeted PTI leaders Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Zartaj Gul Wazir with false allegations as well.

In response to another question, he said it did not matter if the TV anchor was close to the prime minister or had attended PTI sit-in protests in Islamabad.

"Lots of people supported us during the 2014 dharna [sit-in]," he said. "Does that give him or anyone else the license to make such allegations against me?"

Chaudhry noted in response to another question — about how Hareem had gained access to senior PTI leaders — that the Tik Tok star had been sitting in the first floor of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA) where everyone could have gone and sit. He said peons and the common man could also come to his office.

"Do you expect a person like Shah Mahmood Qureshi to respond to such accusations? Most people avoid entertaining such allegations owing to their sense of respect and integrity."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/265756-fawad-chaudhry-defends-right-to-slap-mubasher-lucman

Can they remove this guy from politics already? He is always in news for some stuff unrelated to his position.

Scuffle between Mubashir Luqman and Fawad Chaudhry. Mubashir Luqman files FIR against him

PTI minister Fawad Chaudhry on Sunday acknowledged that he came to blows with anchorperson Mubashir Luqman at a wedding in Lahore.

"There was a scuffle that broke out. A small fight broke out. In a fight, as usually is the case, he may have got one (slap) in, I may have hit one," said the minister during Geo News talk show "Naya Pakistan" on Sunday evening. This is the second such incident involving the federal minister; he slapped journalist Sami Ibrahim during a wedding in June last year.

Meanwhile Luqman, who had refrained from publicly commenting on the incident, submitted an application to register a First Information Report (FIR) against the minister, it emerged late Sunday night.

The Valima ceremony of Punjab Irrigation Minis*ter Mohsin Leghari’s son, where the altercation took place, was held earlier in the day. Eyewitnesses told Dawn that PTI leaders Jaha*ngir Tareen, Ishaq Khak*wani and Chaudhry were busy in conversation when Luqman arrived. They said a vitriolic exchange of words took place between the two (Chaudhry and Luqman). The minister told Luqman that he would sue him for defamation.

"Chaudhry threatened Luqman that he would not spare him, then slapped and shoved him," an eyewitness said.

As the two scuffled, PTI leaders and some journalists stepped in.

The physical altercation was apparently over a video Luqman uploaded on his YouTube channel in which he and anchorperson Rai Saqib discussed TikTok stars Hareem Shah and Sandal Khattak, and videos allegedly involving Chaudhry and Punjab Information Minister Fayyazul Hassan Chohan.

The show claimed that the two girls had several videos of the science and technology minister and could release them any time. The show also claimed that the Punjab information minister had close links with the girls and had been *introducing them to top political figures of the PTI government.

Luqman moves to register FIR
In his application submitted at the Model Town police station late Sunday night, the anchorperson said he was attending the event along with Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar, Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar, Tareen and various federal ministers and provincial ministers.

Luqman said he was talking to his friends when Chaudhry attacked him along with 10-12 of his mussala ghundas (private guards).

"They subjected me to severe violence," he said, adding that after threatening him of serious consequences and of murder, they left the site of the incident.

According to Luqman, two witnesses had seen the whole incident.

He claimed that prior to this incident, the federal minister had called and threatened to have him killed if he did not stop his allegations.

In his application, Luqman said a case should be registered against Chaudhry and the others. While his application has been submitted, the FIR has not yet been registered.

Fawad defends himself
Fawad first confirmed the scuffle on Twitter and later while talking to Geo News.

"I am a minister but that doesn't mean my respect can be allowed to be tarnished like this. It can't be that anyone should be able to accuse us and then we should be told not to react."

In response to whether he thought he did the right thing, Chaudhry said: "Of course. It was my right. When you level such allegations anyone will react."

Chaudhry denied reports that he had guards around him during the alleged brawl. "People who know me know that I don't roam around with guards. In Islamabad I am alone and here too I was alone," he said.

When the host pointed out that this was the second time Chaudhry had slapped someone and asked whether it was a case of poor impulse control, the minister said: "Others criticise too. But Ibrahim and Luqman, can you honestly say they are journalists? They are all in the professional incidentally."

"Everyone has a tolerance level. I face a lot of criticism. But I have not even blocked people on Twitter," said Chaudhry.

He said that he had complained to the prime minister's aide on accountability, Shahzad Akbar, about Luqman's show and had also called the director general of Federal Investigation Agency's cyber wing, but did not get the desired response.

When the talk show host expressed concern over the fact that a minister had been unable to move the relevant organisations for a response and what that means for the common man, Chaudhry said that was what the PMRA (Pakistan Media Regulatory Authority) law had been established for.

"But the problem is, the army says they will do their own accountability, the judges say the same, and the media also says they will make their own laws and do their own accountability.

"So then the politicians are left to do this."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1526450/m...fawad-chaudhry-following-physical-altercation

It seems Fawad Chaudhry slapped journalist sami ibrahim in the past and coincidentally in a weeding too

And during his tenure a third journalist had to go to jail. It was Dr Shahid Masood. Don’t exactly remember what the case was back then.

Anyways if Fawad had some issues and all this is fake he needed to sue Journalist Rai Saqib, it was actually Saqib who mentioned Fawad’s involvement with those ladies in Luqman’s programme. You can watch it on Luqmans YouTube channel. So starting a fight will weaken his case.

The journalist was spreading fake news about him and even did an hour long show on it.. but violence is never the answer

It is not Fawad Chaudhry’s fault that an incompetent person like him has been given a hugely important ministry like Science and Technology. He stated that Pakistan sent Hubble to space. Do I need to say more?

Imran does not have to sack Fawad. He needs to sack himself because he is the source of this circus.

I don’t think we have had a more immoral group of street urchins in the government. Perhaps the Yahya regime comes second.

Imran surely knows about Fawad's imcompetency and cluelessness and this is why he has given him the Ministry of Science where he can do whatever he wants, his decisions having no effect on the country's economic policies.

He would have sacked him a long time ago if he had better options than him and the likes of Firdous Awan, SMQ,... Unfortunately, he has to keep them as he doesn't have the choice.

It is not Fawad Chaudhry’s fault that an incompetent person like him has been given a hugely important ministry like Science and Technology. He stated that Pakistan sent Hubble to space. Do I need to say more?

Imran does not have to sack Fawad. He needs to sack himself because he is the source of this circus.

"Pakistan sent hubble" was just gold..:)))

IK himself has taken this fake pious looking personality of his to the extreme limit.

tasbeeh karna aik acha kaam hai lekin agar ap sirf dikhawe k liye kar rahe ho tu yeh bus jahliet hai.

He has come off as a complete show off ever since marrying for the 3rd time. Also his confidence in Buzdar despite his lack of leadership and man management shows how much rigid Imran Khan is in his decisions. Every PTI supporter has begged him to bring some more credible CM but he just doesn't care then he talks about u turns making great leaders.

Imran Khan was a good cricketer and did a lot of good things like SKH but it's a fact that his political career revolved around sheer hate of Nawaz Sharif and Zardari. Even today he talks more like he is in opposition rather than leading this nation out of crisis and leave am exemplary Pakistan behind.

IK even took a mega U turn when his govt. passed latest ordinance about NAB which was his main point when he was fighting election to eradicate corruption yet he is kind of handicapping govt institutions against corruption.

Agree with all of this.

Did you see his beg of a tweet to Elon Musk? :))

Fawad Chaudry is necessary to counter the verbal diarohea of the opposition

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Where are Pak Universities? Everywhere in the world Universities are providing guideline to the Govts through leading reserach and policy papers,why Pak Unis are silent spectators? We need to up the game...Vc’s must initiate reserach..up the game guys <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronavirusinpakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronavirusinpakistan</a></p>— Ch Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1243751869236817921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2020</a></blockquote>

Will skip NA session as tests of various parliamentarians have come out positive: Fawad

Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry has decided against attending the National Assembly's proceedings today after alleging that the coronavirus tests of various parliamentarians have come out positive.

"I was always in favour of holding proceedings via video link," Chaudhry said in a tweet.

Hilarious memes on social media.... Pakistani meme game is top notch. Glad to see scientific methods winning over old school and archaic methods.

Ruet e hilal committee created problem today

Lockdown was extended till 10 o clock for chand rat. Peoples buying behavior is such that people buy on the last day. Like shopping for eid groceries like bread, milk and condense milk.

Fawad Chaudry did the right thing by announcing it earlier, but people were going to accept the official ruet e hilal annoucnement.

Ruet e hilal wasn't going to announce **** today. It was after some general from pindi said to him that he sigted the moon and they made the annoucnement at 10:15.

By thatn all stores were shutting down. Right now there is chaos in mkt place

There should be no question about firing him. He is the only gutsy minister in Imran Khan’s spineless cabinet. Instead, he would make a good PM given how he is willing to take on rabid mullahs!

I agree with Fawad Chaudry. If Namaz timings and Iftar and Sahri time is known ahead of time based on science , why not moon sighting. He was right, there is no need for creating confusion about the Eid day, no one can make plans ahead of time and all this confusion can be eradicated if we use science and technology, nothing un-Islamic about it.

Why we nee moulvis to set up Islamic Calendar . I'm glad he raised this question, well done Fawad Chaudry.

So he has confessed that Pakistan was behind the Pulwama attack. He took a U-turn when he realized he goofed up, but it was too late.

So will the PTI supporters abuse him like they abused Ayaz Sadiq?

Absolutely, after what he said about Pulwana attack , he should not only be sacked but should be sent to Jail also. What an idiot he is turning out to be.

So he has confessed that Pakistan was behind the Pulwama attack. He took a U-turn when he realized he goofed up, but it was too late.

I was looking for this guy :))) He corrected himself unlike your Sadiq. So, we dont need to abuse him, because you and your party supporters are doing it efficiently by sharing just some seconds clips. That's the best that you can do.

Absolutely, after what he said about Pulwana attack , he should not only be sacked but should be sent to Jail also. What an idiot he is turning out to be.

Absolutely, but one should listen and watch the whole clip. Not just some seconds clips from twitter/fb :)

So a slip of the tongue is a confession? If he repeats it then you can start to celebrate but it doesn't work that way. As far as Sadiq is concerned, he was stating party policy, Rana the Qatil said he agreed with him, Imran Riaz has stated that a Noora member told him that this statement was discussed in a party meeting. Another epic fail:shh

I was looking for this guy :))) He corrected himself unlike your Sadiq. So, we dont need to abuse him, because you and your party supporters are doing it efficiently by sharing just some seconds clips. That's the best that you can do.

Correct himself? He spilled the beans. Now there is no correcting. The damage is done.

Pakistan tries very hard to change the perception that it is not a safe haven for terrorists. However, it continues to fail to change this perception and that is why it keeps swimming in the FATF grey list.

Own goals by our politicians such as Ayaz and Fawad Ch. only make things worse.

So a slip of the tongue is a confession? If he repeats it then you can start to celebrate but it doesn't work that way. As far as Sadiq is concerned, he was stating party policy, Rana the Qatil said he agreed with him, Imran Riaz has stated that a Noora member told him that this statement was discussed in a party meeting. Another epic fail:shh

Please read my reply to Hermoine Green.

Slip of tongue or not, the damage is done. Btw, why do PTI politicians have such slippery tongues? Perhaps they should run their mouths less.

Unless he watches so much Indian news of BJP not sure how his tongue slipped to mention Pulwama? How did he specifically know that place?

I thought it was a false attack the way things seems to be nowadays defn not guess I need to trust my own right wing govn over what i read on threads here.

Please read my reply to Hermoine Green.

Slip of tongue or not, the damage is done. Btw, why do PTI politicians have such slippery tongues? Perhaps they should run their mouths less.

But you have avoided my point that Ayaz Sadiq statement was party policy. The reality is that the Indians will believe what they want, and you read their denial on basic facts on the 2019 conflict. I do agree that statements on Foreign policy should be written down on paper and read out to avoid slips of the tongue or misinterpretion.

Unless he watches so much Indian news of BJP not sure how his tongue slipped to mention Pulwama? How did he specifically know that place?

I thought it was a false attack the way things seems to be nowadays defn not guess I need to trust my own right wing govn over what i read on threads here.

Pulwama attack was used by India as a basis for attack on Pakistan, so Fawad is right Pakistan response should be celebrated.

He clearly mentions after Pulwama attack in the speech. Listen to full speech

But you have avoided my point that Ayaz Sadiq statement was party policy. The reality is that the Indians will believe what they want, and you read their denial on basic facts on the 2019 conflict. I do agree that statements on Foreign policy should be written down on paper and read out to avoid slips of the tongue or misinterpretion.

Party policy is subject to relationship with the military at any given time. Right now, PTI party policy is to worship the military, but when PTI was in the opposition and Nawaz sharif had the backing of the military, then Imran’s party policy was to openly criticize the military.

But India does not care about party policy or individuals getting their tongues slipped. Both Ayaz and Fawad Ch. gave them what they wanted to hear and they will run away with it.

Party policy is subject to relationship with the military at any given time. Right now, PTI party policy is to worship the military, but when PTI was in the opposition and Nawaz sharif had the backing of the military, then Imran’s party policy was to openly criticize the military.

But India does not care about party policy or individuals getting their tongues slipped. Both Ayaz and Fawad Ch. gave them what they wanted to hear and they will run away with it.

Criticising the Millinery is one thing, i am pro Millinery but they have made some howlers in the past but this crap is on a totally different level and it shows what levels these traitors will stoop to save NS. NS is their Deity, not PKs and the fact they have realised too late( not in Rana the Qatils case) and this time the usual mafi through the back door channels won't work. I hope the party and individuals are banned for life. How can anyone ever trust this group with national security

No, the damage is done now.

No damage has been done India media twists all statement by default, so nothing new. Pakistan was blamed anyhow, and Fawa speech said the truth Pak gave India bloody nose after the Pulwama drama.

Criticising the Millinery is one thing, i am pro Millinery but they have made some howlers in the past but this crap is on a totally different level and it shows what levels these traitors will stoop to save NS. NS is their Deity, not PKs and the fact they have realised too late( not in Rana the Qatils case) and this time the usual mafi through the back door channels won't work. I hope the party and individuals are banned for life. How can anyone ever trust this group with national security

No damage has been done India media twists all statement by default, so nothing new. Pakistan was blamed anyhow, and Fawa speech said the truth Pak gave India bloody nose after the Pulwama drama.

28BBB069-10AC-465B-A02E-B68BE591F80D.jpg

So who has caused more damage? The opposition (Ayaz Sadiq) or the government (Fawad Chaudhry)?

Ayaz Sadiq because he called our army cowards. They already believed what Ch Fwd is perceived to have said although they know its not true. Ayaz Sadiq was attempting to demoralise our army. He needs to be hanged.

No, Fawad Chaudhry caused more damage. Ayaz Sadiq made Pakistan army look weak and his statement was used by the Indian media to make fun of Pakistan.

However, Fawad Chaudhry made Pakistan look like a state that is actively involved in instigating terrorist activities.

Yes India already believed what he said, but they wanted to hear it from the horse’s mouth and now they have a statement by a Pakistani politician to back their allegations.

According to reports in the Indian media, India will write a letter to ICJ to declare Pakistan a terrorist state and get Pakistan into the FATF blacklist.

We won’t end up there because our Chinese masters will come to our rescue and us getting blacklisted will hurt their business in Pakistan, but our hopes to swim out of the grey list have been dented.

If Ayaz Sadiq deserves to be hanged, what kind of treatment would you suggest for Fawad Chaudhry?

No, Fawad Chaudhry caused more damage. Ayaz Sadiq made Pakistan army look weak and his statement was used by the Indian media to make fun of Pakistan.

However, Fawad Chaudhry made Pakistan look like a state that is actively involved in instigating terrorist activities.

Yes India already believed what he said, but they wanted to hear it from the horse’s mouth and now they have a statement by a Pakistani politician to back their allegations.

According to reports in the Indian media, India will write a letter to ICJ to declare Pakistan a terrorist state and get Pakistan into the FATF blacklist.

We won’t end up there because our Chinese masters will come to our rescue and us getting blacklisted will hurt their business in Pakistan, but our hopes to swim out of the grey list have been dented.

If Ayaz Sadiq deserves to be hanged, what kind of treatment would you suggest for Fawad Chaudhry?

No he didn't. The Indians believed this to be true and they are desperate to be true. We know its not true and deep down all the Indians all so know. Sadiq was willing to sacrifice the country for a crook, enough said about these crooks.
Its interesting that you mention FATF, and you know the treacherous behaviour of these crooks over it also failed. 21 of the 27 have been met, and soon all will be met. They steal and launder and Kaptaan has to spend his time to clean up the mess. I can remember someone ***** calling these crooks competent, do you have any idea who it was:shh
Nothing should happen to a patriot like FWD Ch. Sadiq needs to be hanged and the whole crooked mafia should be banned.

Does not make any sense to defend Fawad, he should be sacked.

It makes sense when you are a PTI cult-follower and have thus lost the ability to think.

Fawad Chaudhry made a bigger blunder than Ayaz Sadiq by any measure.

Unfortunately, some people will defend and believe anything that Imran or any PTI member says or does.

Sarina Isa moves SC to initiate contempt proceedings against Fawad Chaudhry over 'highly offensive' tweet

Supreme Court Justice Qazi Faez Isa's wife Sarina Isa on Monday filed an application in the apex court for initiating contempt of court proceedings against Minister For Science and Technology Chaudhry Fawad Hussain over a "highly offensive" tweet.

In a tweet earlier this week, Hussain had said that he had been "listening to the speeches of an undertrial judge (Justice Isa) of the Supreme Court for a week. If answer, then lectures will start [ranging from] we are saddened to we have been insulted.

"Sir, if you too are fond of politics like your godfather Iftikhar Chaudhry (former chief justice of Pakistan), then resign and contest elections for the councillor. You will get to know about both [your] popularity and acceptance," Hussain had further said.

In her petition, Sarina said Hussain through his tweet had "confirmed that secret cameras have been installed in the courtroom because he was hearing all that happened in [it], despite never having once attended a single hearing".

She contended that her husband was still a judge of the Supreme Court and not an "undertrial prisoner", adding that by referring to Justice Isa as an undertrial judge, the federal minister had "committed contempt of this court and of a sitting judge of this court".

She also referred to Hussain's use of the word godfather in his tweet, saying that it was a term used for criminal syndicates and mafia bosses and was thus "highly offensive to the dignity and respect of this honourable court [and] constitutes gross contempt".

"Ch Fawad Hussain has violated his ministerial oath of office, the Constitution of Pakistan, mocked and ridiculed this honourable court's former chief justice, a sitting judge of the Supreme Court and committed contempt of this honourable court," the petition stated.

"If judges of the highest court of Pakistan are humiliated, disrespected and abused in this manner by a federal minister, then the Twitter brigade at their command and the combatants of the 5th generation warfare do much worse," it added.

Sarina said that Hussain had "encouraged a barrage of attacks against Justice Isa" and he and others in the government wanted Justice Isa "not to hold his government accountable".

She added that the minister's tweets "present an intolerant and autocratic government and the image of a powerless Supreme Court, which has serious repercussions and undermines the independence and credibility of this honourable court".

Sarina requested the court to initiate contempt of court proceedings against Hussain, punish him appropriately, remove him from office and direct him to shut down his Twitter account.

Voices of support
Meanwhile, #IStandWithFawadChaudhary was among the top trends on Twitter as government officials voiced support for the minister.

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Political Affairs Shahbaz Gill said that besides being the minister of science and technology, Hussain was also a "political personality" who always respects the courts.

Referring to a remark allegedly made by Justice Isa during a court hearing earlier, Gill claimed that "if you call the country a gutter, then who understands politics and political statements better than Chaudhry.

"Chaudhry will give an answer," he added.

Over the course of this month, Justice Isa has appeared multiple times before a 10-member bench of the Supreme Court which is hearing a set of review petitions in his case. He had earlier informed the court that he would be arguing the case himself.

Justice Isa had filed an application seeking a directive that the Pakistan Television Corporation be directed to broadcast live proceedings of the hearings. The Supreme Court reserved its ruling on the application on March 19.

During the last hearing, Justice Isa had bemoaned that the judges who got blackmailed should better prefer committing suicide since they were not administering justice but following dictates.

He regretted that the prime minister had stated that the opposition wanted to highlight a judge and even had the audacity to attack a constitutional body like the Election Commission of Pakistan, which comprised "judges like us and their status is equal like us".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1613968/sarina-isa-moves-sc-to-initiate-contempt-proceedings-against-fawad-chaudhry-over-highly-offensive-tweet

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Fawad Chaudhry was reportedly reappointed as the minister for information and broadcasting on Thursday.

PTI's Senator Faisal Javed Khan congratulated Chaudhry on Twitter for his reappointment and wished him the best.

“Congratulations Fawad for getting reappointed as Federal Minister for Information. Wish you all the best. Lots of prayers.”

On August 20, 2018, Fawad was appointed as Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting in the federal cabinet. However, in April 2019, he was removed from the ministry.

On April 28, 2020, Shibli Faraz was sworn in as the new information minister, in a ceremony held at the President House.

Fawad’s appointment comes as another major reshuffle in the federal cabinet. It was earlier reported that PM Imran is expected to announce a cabinet reshuffle, potentially replacing several ministers and picking up some new faces.

The premier was reportedly unhappy with some key ministers’ performance and has already conveyed that only those would stay in the cabinet who can deliver.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/229492...dhry-on-reappointment-as-information-minister