Should Shahid Afridi have mentioned Kashmir at the toss?

From what i noticed majority of local mohali Punjabi crowd was supporting nz and aus. Kashmiri on the other side traveled to Mohali to support Pak

You are right..why would Indian Punjabis support Pakistan. .it was Muslims supporting pak..and that's a open secret..nothing to hide

He did it again. lol..
but we kashmiri fans are glad ...
good job lala, we have always supported pak...

As a Lala fan, I feel let down that he didn't even mention the Mohali crowd for their support.

He must be under tremendous pressure to prove his loyalty to Pakistan. :(

Looks like it , overcompensation for pre-tournament statement.

i think what he said after kashmir was OTT
"woh comment padhe likhe logo ke liye tha" - meaning Anurag Thakur is a anpad-jaahil LOL
wasim akram halted him - bhai mere bahut ho gaya, ab jao
the guy was prepared for hitting more ...

He did it again. lol..
but we kashmiri fans are glad ...
good job lala, we have always supported pak...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Thank you to all the people who came from Pakistan and Kashmir who came to support us here" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/wt20?src=hash">#wt20</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AusvPak?src=hash">#AusvPak</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/713351064909647872">March 25, 2016</a></blockquote>

Looks like it , overcompensation for pre-tournament statement.

Now that I think of it, poor Afridi had no other choice.

With so much anger and threats coming from Pakistan, it could have been very unsafe for him to return home without making up for it.

Now that I think of it, poor Afridi had no other choice.

With so much anger and threats coming from Pakistan, it could have been very unsafe for him to return home without making up for it.

Don't worry about it.

It at least made the entire Kashmir happy and all those who came to Kolkata/Mohali.

Being from Kashmir, I'm glad he said it. From the Kashmiris I know here, 5 had gone for today's match to support Pak. Thanks Lala.

Lala is smart well 'played' before the journey home ,now if only Anurag Thakur takes the bait(which i expect him to) and giving flying colors to Lala's new found political career.

BTW he also did thank BCCI for the hospitality which got ignored.

Don't worry about it.

It at least made the entire Kashmir happy and all those who came to Kolkata/Mohali.

Its a good thing that such small things can make people happy. Also he will be a hero back in Pakistan and all will be forgiven

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] didn't you ask once if Kashmiris can move freely around India hope you got your answer mate.

Don't worry about it.

Mohali crowd didn't get his love at all.

Imagine what Chandigarhians like F_C must have gone through after being ignored by their hero. :(

FC just support him on PP otherwise FC was in crowd with NZ and Aus flags and he had all his mohalla walas too there supporting teams playing against Pakistan :yk

i think what he said after kashmir was OTT
"woh comment padhe likhe logo ke liye tha" - meaning Anurag Thakur is a anpad-jaahil LOL
wasim akram halted him - bhai mere bahut ho gaya, ab jao
the guy was prepared for hitting more ...

Stop lying just because you want to sleep tonight :))

He said that in response to Harsha who said - "regardless of the meaning that was extracted from your statement, you did indeed receive a lot of love from Indians."

Afridi was then like, "yeah, that bayaan which I gave was for literate people."

Judging from your comprehension, looks like he was thinking of you and your friends :)))

Enjoy watching other teams play the tournament cuz your boys are

:out

:gayle

Its a good thing that such small things can make people happy. Also he will be a hero back in Pakistan and all will be forgiven

Any human being highlighting innocent people being oppressed in a country that is oppressor and occupying then that should be applauded. I'm sure Ghandi would have loved it too.

Stop lying just because you want to sleep tonight :))

He said that in response to Harsha who said - "regardless of the meaning that was extracted from your statement, you did indeed receive a lot of love from Indians."

Afridi was then like, "yeah, that bayaan which I gave was for literate people."

Judging from your comprehension, looks like he was thinking of you and your friends :)))

Enjoy watching other teams play the tournament cuz your boys are

:out

:gayle

You were too quick to jump :)) The poster adwords you quoted is an indian. :yk

Any human being highlighting innocent people being oppressed in a country that is oppressor and occupying then that should be applauded. I'm sure Ghandi would have loved it too.

Agreed. I had no problem with Afridi thanking the loyal Kashmiri crowd, which they deserve for their support. If only Pakistan is as tolerant towards people who support other teams.

It's Gandhi btw.

Doesn't Pakistan also have a Kashmir? Maybe he was referring to them. Anyway, not sure what's the big deal is.

They are refereed as Pakistanis when travel to other countries. btw most of British Pakistanis that travel around the world to support team Pakistan are from Azad Kashmir.

Agreed. I had no problem with Afridi thanking the loyal Kashmiri crowd, which they deserve for their support. If only Pakistan is as tolerant towards people who support other teams.

It's Gandhi btw.

Intolerance and false patriotism exist in ever nation of the world, few example US, Canada, Australia and UK. Pakistan is still a third world country but I'm sure majority of us only like to support Pakistan when it comes to cricket.
So Kashmiri supporting their fellow citizen isn't something wrong? Is it?

Yeah, his fans would forget his pathetic captaincy/performance and stick to this statement as an excuse to let him play further.

He should retire, no matter how good the statement was.

Please dont speak for entire Kashmir
He's speaking for majority

Don't think any locals were cheering them. Still, should've mentioned Mohali.

Intolerance and false patriotism exist in ever nation of the world, few example US, Canada, Australia and UK. Pakistan is still a third world country but I'm sure majority of us only like to support Pakistan when it comes to cricket.
So Kashmiri supporting their fellow citizen isn't something wrong? Is it?

The Virat Kohli fan in jail might disagree with you:jf

No Pakistani should be ever told by any Indian to talk or not to talk about Kashmir.

I hope Afridi talks about it every single day if he wants.

I'm glad it got under the nose of the Indians.

No Pakistani should be ever told by any Indian to talk or not to talk about Kashmir.

I hope Afridi talks about it every single day if he wants.

I'm glad it got under the nose of the Indians.

Sure. Sitting in his living room.

Someone had to tell the truth to all you chest thumping keyboard warriors who barely know any history.

Itna serious nahi hote yaar Pakpassion pe, apne bhai log hai yaha bhi. Kashmir wagerah humari Govt and Modiji handle kar lege, hum log kaiko khud ko phukaye.. :)

No he should not have, especially after Anurag Thakur asked him not to mention about the controvesial topic. But knowing Afridi he speaks without thinking as always. Its like MS Dhoni going to Pakistan and saying something about Balochistan. As a sportsman he should keep the politics away and articulate his words properly. Kashmir issue is at its lowest points now after those JNU students issue. Afridi was just taking this oppurtunity to poke at Indias sensitive point. Its truely pathetic which ever angle you look into it. Good riddance he is retiring now and pls dont come back to India again.

And LOL at few posters here saying kashmir in Pakistan. You can support Pakistan for all I care. Many people in Kerala also supports Pakistan. But Jammu and Kashmir is a BJP run state and an integral part of India. Always has been and always will be.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

As I said every nation have some form of illegal intolerance.

India is intolerant too. But I feel fans should be atleast allowed to support other teams freely. There are a lot of Pakistan cricket team fans in India. To India's credit, it doesn't jail them for 10 years. At least that's one positive.

Don't think any locals were cheering them. Still, should've mentioned Mohali.

Even Kolkata didn't cheer for Pakistan. I think it is about love locals show to Pakistani Cricketers, so a little acknowledgement would have been nice.

No he should not have, especially after Anurag Thakur asked him not to mention about the controvesial topic. But knowing Afridi he speaks without thinking as always. Its like MS Dhoni going to Pakistan and saying something about Balochistan. As a sportsman he should keep the politics away and articulate his words properly. Kashmir issue is at its lowest points now after those JNU students issue. Afridi was just taking this oppurtunity to poke at Indias sensitive point. Its truely pathetic which ever angle you look into it. Good riddance he is retiring now and pls dont come back to India again.

And LOL at few posters here saying kashmir in Pakistan. You can support Pakistan for all I care. Many people in Kerala also supports Pakistan. But Jammu and Kashmir is a BJP run state and an integral part of India. Always has been and always will be.

Yo, why so angry. Kashmir ain't going anywhere.

Afridi stated the facts. People did come from Kashmir (a lot of them to see him play judging from the posters they held up and the "Shahid Khan" chants after the game). Some of them supported Pakistan too. So who cares. As I said, they can support anyone. Their state ain't going nowhere :)

I'm not from Kashmir, but I support Afridi and have no issue with Pakistan winning if he's in the team. No one would have a problem with me standing in the ground even if i wore an Afridi jersey. So why get so touchy about Kashmiris

Someone needs a tissue paper here. Expect better in a forum full of quality posters than this self fulfilling anger venting drivel.

He is very selective in thanking, i must say.

He thanked one of Indian state's people but forgot the local crowd who were also shouting their lungs out to support lala.

As many have said, must be pressure from home which forced him to overcompensate by doing this sort of thing.

Don't worry lala, we still love you more than Pakistanis and you can say whatever you want to appease your people and to have noncontroversial time after landing back on Pakistan soil.

:sa

i think geo in last match and ary today took interview of kashmiri's who are there to support pakistan

Yes he should have mentioned it at both times.

Today when he mentioned it post match there was a huge cheer from crowd. So definitely people of Kashmir did come to support Pakistan team and they should be acknowledged.

[MENTION=47981]b[/MENTION].lesner [MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION] what do you say ? [MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION]

They are refereed as Pakistanis when travel to other countries. btw most of British Pakistanis that travel around the world to support team Pakistan are from Azad Kashmir.

I see. Thanks for the info

Let's not compare Baluchistan to Kasmir, two different issues.
No Baluchi is trying to unite with India. And no Baluchi is supporting India in cricket, on other hand many Kashmiri have travelled to watch their stars on cricket ground.

Afridi can make as many political statements he wants in his own country.He must not forget that he is in India to play in a ICC event and not to make political statements.ICC must look into it whether he is breaking ICC codes of conduct.

He is just fooling Pakistanis

Lol, it's not that big of a deal. Relax

How it is political?? He just said that There is a lot of support from Kashmir, what's the problem in this sentence?

There was no need at all. Should have praised the hosts for their hospitality

Haha breaking code of conduct.. Stupid response. India forgot about the humanitarian code of conduct, and you are talking about cricket

I think the second time was deliberate. He is trying to mask his failure by appeasing to most by mentioning Kashmir. Politics and games seldom go together.
I think he knows that he is at the end of the line and we can see more such statements from Afridi. Some players just dont know when to move out with grace.

I don't understand why some are getting butt hurt over Afridi thanking people to travel from far to support the nation they love. He also thanked BCCI and Indian states.
It is BCCI who has turned this into a political statement.
Seem like India has failed into pursuing Kashmiri to support Indian cricket team.

What is political in it ?

There was nothing political in this.

India is intolerant too. But I feel fans should be atleast allowed to support other teams freely. There are a lot of Pakistan cricket team fans in India. To India's credit, it doesn't jail them for 10 years. At least that's one positive.
Totally agree and injustice was done to that individual.

Any political statements/references should be left to the politicians an let players stick to what they do best. I recall a few years ago when Afridi was caught on camera saying something like "no matter what good I say about Indian fans, they wont love pakistan team"

so to some extent, he does play to the audience and speaks with political correctness which means he isn't necessarily speaking his heart.

There was no need at all. Should have praised the hosts for their hospitality

He did. Thanked the BCCI and the Kolkata crowd for the support. Also called those who read too much into his statement about Indian love anpad log :)))

Lol I remember Pakistanis crying when Masheafe dedicated that victory against Pakistan for freedom fighters. I hope Mashrafe does that every time they beat pakistan

from both your's and shaaik's comments i do not get any thing other than blind
emotion's like 'clueless', 'do you even hv an idea' etc etc. If you have idea about
'facts like the stand still agreements which were signed with Pak' then post them

Sorry if i came across as rude bro. I could have used better words. So I am sorry.

The discussion is great and all. And being kashmiris it does get us emotional sometimes like shaik and me got earlier.

Amidst all this we must not forget that This is a cricker forum.

I honestly have no idea why people are discussing politics and history here.

If u see my earlier posts on earlier pages you will see i have raised this concern already.

There is a time and place for everything. I did get involved in it too but that was due to pure emotion.

Lets discuss this some other day in TP section.

And sorry again.

It's funny as well as mind boggling how disappointed fans are finding solace in K word used purposely by Afridi. No wonders why these players always play with their fan's emotions by fooling them, cheating, taking drugs, fixing, etc etc. The embarrassment these fans get from their superstars, they rightfully deserves that.

lol aww did it hurt you like it did to Anurag. No one cares what Anurag asked...expecting the Pakistani captain to listen to him is stupid

This is why I luv Afridi, he does'nt look to please indian dufflebags. Again today he gave it in to them. He kinda saved sum of his face for many Pakistanis in mentioning Kashmir, who not only watch Pak content on Zindagi channel but travel & support Pakistani team wherever they can. They are more Pakistani than many of our pro-indian Pakistanis who look not to offend indians. Hope someday indian board can organize a match 'in their' stadium in Srinagar that'll be 'awesome' hehehe

Indian media and people making big deal of a comment which is not political but thanking fans. Afridi didn't say Kashmir is Pakistan or Indias.
Afridi thanked Kolkota fans too but no big deal about thanking them was made. He also not necessarily meant the Indian side of Kashmir but Whole of Kashmir. There is a large part of Kashmir in Pakistan too (Azad Kashmir) who support only Pakistan and that's a fact. Afraid I can also say and thank whoever he likes. Well done Afridi.

If Indians think Kashmiris (Indian side) support there side then why not hold matches there? The last time a match was held in IOK there were all Pakistan flags waved between a match between India and Windies ;) ask Kapil Dev am sure he remembers as it rattled him :)

Indian media and all seem rattled by Afridi comments again today. Making a mountain of a molehill and in fact they are making it political not Afridi. Didn't know a thank you to your fans is such a crime.
If Indians claim Kashmir is there's then why a thank you is such a big deal to that part of there country (according to them) is such a big deal but no big deal to thank Kolkota which is actually part of India? Wow!

And btw, no one can proof that he was talking about Indian Kashmir or Pakistan's Kashmir :)))

There where a large no. of people especially students from Indian Occupied Kashmir who study in various states like Chandigarh etc and also those who study at Jammu.
I can confirm that, trust me.

None of us including Afridi give a monkeys as to what Indians think and never will. Afridi has nothing to apologise for.

Well said Warrior and Brilliance.
Indians seem to care what Afridi thinks. Maybe it's there guilty conscious over Kashmir?
I applaud Afridi to staying brave and not being scared and bothered about what some Indians and BCCI politicians think in thanking his Kashmiri fans a second time, after they criticised him first time round.
Proud of Afridi's service to Pakistan cricket and mentioning us Kashmiri fans :)