So Pakistan Test team is finally exposed outside UAE?

Strike Rate

I know it's only 1 Test match and the match is still not finished but it clearly shows us that Pakistan Test team isn't that bad as some of the experts on PP kept telling us for 2/3 years when we were playing in UAE.

I still remember some of those statements:

Let them play a Test outside UAE/SC and you will see them exposed.

Yasir is only good for these pitches.

Pakistani batsmen will be walking wickets outside Asia.

Pakistan as a Test team is overrated and their Test ranking is misleading because of playing at home (UAE)

So humble pie time guys? I hope i don't need to tag those that are well known for these statements :P (but well i am pretty sure if Pakistan lose the next match those same people will be out again repeating these statements)

Waiting for the usual apologists to say, "But it was a sub-continental style pitch", "England were missing a couple of key players", etc. etc.

Well done Pakistan. This sets up the series nicely.

We can lose 2-1 or 3-1 now, which is better than losing 2-0 or 3-0.

If Pakistan wins or draws the series, we can start threads like these days.

For now, it's premature, because remember what happened to India after they won the Lord's Test in 2014.

Pakistan didn't play special cricket but England were poor and were missing their best bowler and another important player.

Overall I think it was a pretty average performance by us.

Good win but nothing to be excited about moving forward, it's a long series.

Waiting for the usual apologists to say, "But it was a sub-continental style pitch", "England were missing a couple of key players", etc. etc.

Or Clouderson wasn't playing?

Thank you bro

Brilliant test win.

Thoroughly enjoyed watching it.

Pakistan deserved this win big time.

And they have unearthed a gem of a bowler too. :yasir

For now, it's premature, because remember what happened to India after they won the Lord's Test in 2014.

Pakistan didn't play special cricket but England were poor.

We can't control England performance. I told you on a flat track we have a chance. I know most of these English players as I watch country cricket and the way you was hyping them was ridiculous.

Just give us credit. We out peformed England even biased Botham said we deserve it. Act like a fan Mamoon bhai

Well those usual suspects are out again giving us excuses :D bas kerdo bhai her cheaz main negative dhundna kabhi to band kerdya kro :))

This was our first Test match outside Asia against a quality side after more than 2 years and you are calling it an average performance against a team that have been playing superb cricket recently?

Pakistan didn't play special cricket but England were poor and were missing their best bowler and another important player.

But if we lost you would be being negative? So why go over the top after one defeat

"Pakistan cricket is finished"

If this is how we perform when we are 'finished', I shudder to think what we can do when we play well. One of the best and resounding wins abroad. Hats off.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

What a match what a prformance by both teams. Great crowd as well! Great game of cricket and better team won!

Just give us credit. We out peformed England even biased Botham said we deserve it. Act like a fan Mamoon bhai

Some people are born to find negativity in everything they can't enjoy a single positive moment for a change.

I know it's only 1 Test match and the match is still not finished but it clearly shows us that Pakistan Test team isn't that bad as some of the experts on PP kept telling us for 2/3 years when we were playing in UAE.

I still remember some of those statements:

Let them play a Test outside UAE/SC and you will see them exposed.

Yasir is only good for these pitches.

Pakistani batsmen will be walking wickets outside Asia.

Pakistan as a Test team is overrated and their Test ranking is misleading because of playing at home (UAE)

So humble pie time guys? I hope i don't need to tag those that are well known for these statements :P (but well i am pretty sure if Pakistan lose the next match those same people will be out again repeating these statements)

You forgot to tag [MENTION=139052]Acricketfan[/MENTION] [MENTION=139840]Balthazar[/MENTION] :)))

Yes there are some clown posters who couldn't shut up saying how Pakistsn would lose 4-0. Lol

Some people are born to find negativity in everything they can't enjoy a single positive moment for a change.

He has said England are the best team in the world, and we played average according to him. Yet we dismantled this so called best team in the world in there home conditions :))).

I said from day one on flat tracks we can beat England. I have seen most of these England players in country cricket, they are good but have weakness that have been exposed

Nice thread title [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION] :D Click bait-ish, do you work for scoopwhoop by any chance? :inti

Yes there are some clown posters who couldn't shut up saying how Pakistsn would lose 4-0. Lol

3-0 or 2-0. Don't think anyone said 4-0.

Nonetheless, Pakistan winning a Test was surprising.

He has said England are the best team in the world, and we played average according to him. Yet we dismantled this so called best team in the world in there home conditions :))).

I said from day one on flat tracks we can beat England. I have seen most of these England players in country cricket, they are good but have weakness that have been exposed

oh yea Playing outside Asia after 2 and half year against the so called best team in their home but well well it's still an average performance :)))

Wait for the series to finish.

This is normal on PP though, Pakistan wins a game = people have a go at the doubters.

Then normalcy is restored and we start losing again and doubters continue to doubt.

We won an amazing match and this is one of our best victories in a long time.

To be fair we have not done anything outstanding in recent times Until this test
So we were average and we are not world beaters based on 1 test Let's see how the rest of the series Go

I'm not taking credit from Pakistan, but we should be more concerned with our individual performance rather than looking at the opposition.

Openers failed, most of the middle-order failed and the pace bowling was mediocre.

We won because England missed their best bowler and played poor cricket.

There are 3 Tests to go and we shouldn't celebrate early.

Melodrama. If you lay out your horizon long enough you will always always right because in the long run we are dead.

Mamoon you can bookmark the thread i am pretty sure you will spend time searching for it to bump if we lose the next match.

To be fair we have not done anything outstanding in recent times Until this test
So we were average and we are not world beaters based on 1 test Let's see how the rest of the series Go
Pakistan has chasedd 380 odd, chased 300+ in 2 sessions, whitewashed Australia, beat New Zealand, beat England at Lords. These are all relatively recent?

Even if Pakistan get murdered after this(which is unlikely, a further draw is highly possible), they've done quite a lot to be considered RELATIVELY one of the best teams.

Yasir Shah and Misbah-ul-Haq have been found out outside UAE

Sent from my INFINIX-X551 using Tapatalk

Pakistan has chasedd 380 odd, chased 300+ in 2 sessions, whitewashed Australia, beat New Zealand, beat England at Lords. These are all relatively recent?
Even if Pakistan get murdered after this(which is unlikely, a further draw is highly possible), they've done quite a lot to be considered RELATIVELY one of the best teams.

Ok we are the best test team and are absolutely untouchable and beat teams like England Australia south Africa For fun?

We was average according to one poster.

Calm down, lets not get ahead of ourselves.

Lets remember one thing that if it wasnt for yasir,this test could had been lost.

I know its a great win, but to say that so and so poster said that, this win shouldnt overshadow our short comings.

Ok we are the best test team and are absolutely untouchable and beat teams like England Australia south Africa For fun?
I hope you understand why I bolded 'relatively'. I said Pakistan are not an average test team like their so called fans claim and deserve to be rated among England, New Zealand and whatnot. The fact that England couldn't win a game in the UAE as opposed to Pakistan winning in the UK is testimony to my claim ....

Lets remember one thing that if it wasnt for yasir,this test could had been lost.

I know its a great win, but to say that so and so poster said that, this win shouldnt overshadow our short comings.

If it wasn't for Misbah, Pakistan wouldve lost the game. If it wasn't for Sarfraz innings in second innings, Pakistan wouldve lost the game. If it wasn't for both Shafiqs innings, pakistan would've lost the game. What exactly is your point here? Doesn't matter if its one person or 11 doing the job, winning is winning.

This is normal on PP though, Pakistan wins a game = people have a go at the doubters.

Then normalcy is restored and we start losing again and doubters continue to doubt.
Please sit back and accept one more fact. Your beloved England team is nowhere near world-class, nor do they deserve the number one spot as some were erronously pointing out. England were smashed in the UAE, while Pakistan just beat England in England within 4 days. Do not come up with the bad light excuse for the Abu Dhabi test. As I said, Pakistan finished off England inside 4 days while England were hoping against hope for a win on the fifth and final day.

Its time to put sub-continent teams' performances overseas into context. India and Pakistan have both beaten England comprehensively in England in atleast one test. The likes of England and Australia go abroad, get man-handled and come back thumping their chests saying 've competed mate'. Our sasti awaams keep on buying that ******** due to inferiority complex.

Yes but let's enjoy the win today and disect the peformance tomorrow.

Hopefully Yasir gets more assistance in the pitch in the next game.

You forgot to tag [MENTION=139052]Acricketfan[/MENTION] [MENTION=139840]Balthazar[/MENTION] :)))

Easy there. England were just downright pathetic, I think they deserved it for underestimating Pakistan. The absence of Anderson and Stokes didn't help either. Even a team like srilanka have won a test match in that pitch, so I don't think its anything special.

I hope you understand why I bolded 'relatively'. I said Pakistan are not an average test team like their so called fans claim and deserve to be rated among England, New Zealand and whatnot. The fact that England couldn't win a game in the UAE as opposed to Pakistan winning in the UK is testimony to my claim ....

Based on 1 test?

I'm not saying pakistan are a poor team But they are not a no1 test team like some people make it Out

Inshallah if we win This series its fair to say we have improved A lot and if we beat Australia away then We are on our way to be a no1 team

Beating England Australia and New Zealand in uae or Asia don't mean anything they generally struggle there

But yes we are a no1 team If we can beat them away And asia/uae

Please sit back and accept one more fact. Your beloved England team is nowhere near world-class, nor do they deserve the number one spot as some were erronously pointing out. England were smashed in the UAE, while Pakistan just beat England in England within 4 days. Do not come up with the bad light excuse for the Abu Dhabi test. As I said, Pakistan finished off England inside 4 days while England were hoping against hope for a win on the fifth and final day.

Its time to put sub-continent teams' performances overseas into context. India and Pakistan have both beaten England comprehensively in England in atleast one test. The likes of England and Australia go abroad, get man-handled and come back thumping their chests saying 've competed mate'. Our sasti awaams keep on buying that ******** due to inferiority complex.

If we lose this series 2-1 or 3-1, there is no need to thump our chests.

India also won at Lord's in 2014 and there were similar premature celebrations, before England regrouped and smashed them.

So the fact is that both Pakistan and India are poor travelers.

England have won in Australia, India and South Africa in recent years.

No other team has done that. Australia cannot win a session in India or UAE.

It's not an excuse that they did not win in Abu Dhabi due to bad light, it's a fact.

If Pakistan wins or draws the series, then we can claim that we are better than England.

Most teams today only win series at home but England are relatively better travelers, which is why they are better.

It was a 6/10 performance from Pakistan.

We need to be 8/10 in the next 3 matches if we want to win or draw the series, because England will pick their game up as well.

Mamoon you can bookmark the thread i am pretty sure you will spend time searching for it to bump if we lose the next match.

Don't worry sir, others will bump it before me. I promise you I won't bump it. :117:

Beating ENG, in ENG is indeed an outstanding performance, specially for a team hardly plays outside the UAE roads. This indicates the skill (I don't use the term talent) is there - the more that individual skill 'll be synergized in a strategic way, it'll be a much better unit. That can only be done by improving Domestic cricket & grooming players in a system closer to International cricket.

LO is a bit different ball game, as it's based on combination, which needs lot more thoughts & planning. The game has shifted from past & it's constantly shifting, while Test cricket is still almost same like 1912; which is more individualistic. Besides, PAK'll always be a force in Test, batting first as it's not easy to chase against 4 penetrative, versatile attack minded bowlers with lots of skills & variations.

However, I am really, really impressed with Arthur - I must admit that, I was for Law; but this guy looks to understand PAK team better than most Pakistani in cricket.

Taking into account everything must confess this has been a very good performance from Pakistan they have done exceptionally well given the adversity they are going through. The series is a long one and Pakistan winning the first test will bode well for the viewers and make the series competitive. Pakistan seriously need to take the nervousness out of their system and play with some aggression, the lack of aggression from their batsmen at the top is simply mind boggling, azhar ali is the biggest culprit he simply can't keep defending all day long he plays an innings that is detrimental to the teams cause. Micky Arthur should instruct the batsmen to bat with some purpose. Woakes is a fine player but with due respect he isn't as good as his figures have suggested. A lot of hard work awaits for pakistan after this win in the first test.

Old Traford should be a good game and CAN play in pakistan's favour with England always looking to play 2 spinners.... ....... so could be good.

Based on 1 test?

I'm not saying pakistan are a poor team But they are not a no1 test team like some people make it Out

Inshallah if we win This series its fair to say we have improved A lot and if we beat Australia away then We are on our way to be a no1 team

Beating England Australia and New Zealand in uae or Asia don't mean anything they generally struggle there

But yes we are a no1 team If we can beat them away And asia/uae
Beating England in England is adequate enough for the Pakistanis to consider themselves the number 1 test team. Beating Australia in Aus just makes it undisputed. You must also consider how the white teams have performed in Asia. Australia got mullered by Pakistan and India; the only thing they can boast about away is beating south africa(which isn't even an Asian team and are nowhere near what they were in 2013). On the other hand, Pakistan have now done something in the UK which the white teams couldn't do(except for New Zealand!!), if they win the series they'll defo be number 1.My current

test rankings anyway are...
1.England
2.Pakistan
3.New Zealand
4.India
5.Australia
6.South Africa
7 onwards is all the irrelevant sidemen

England, Pakistan and New Zealand are all interchangable.

A good victory but its true that our batting faltered in both innings , our fast bowling was mediocre. A good test victory anyhow.

But there are bigger challenges now , with Anderson back in the side Pakistani batsmen will have very little breathing space. Ben stokes might replace Finnn making england batting even better.

Technically not the best performance but mental aspect was superb amongst Pakistanis.

Loved how everyone gelled together and try to support one another. Wished our test team had this level of energy

If it wasn't for Misbah, Pakistan wouldve lost the game. If it wasn't for Sarfraz innings in second innings, Pakistan wouldve lost the game. If it wasn't for both Shafiqs innings, pakistan would've lost the game. What exactly is your point here? Doesn't matter if its one person or 11 doing the job, winning is winning.

See thats the poor attitude. You guys say it doesnt matter, and when the short coming sget exposed later on, then everyone starts having a go at the captain

The win is a great win

But dont overshadow the short comings

I would say SA and Australia are a better test side than Pakistan atm.

Pakistan can now say, they they deserved the 3rd rank spot

India also won at Lord's in 2014 and there were similar premature celebrations, before England regrouped and smashed them.

It's not an excuse that they did not win in Abu Dhabi due to bad light, it's a fact.

If Pakistan wins or draws the series, then we can claim that we are better than England.

Most teams today only win series at home but England are relatively better travelers, which is why they are better.
Dude, you're counting wins from a time when England had KP, Collingwood, Prior etc in their line-up. Even that side did not have a claim to the throne. The current England side has one of the worst middle-orders going around in world cricket. No matter how much their media tries to stuff these guys down our throat, the likes of Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Hales (one top-order bat) and Ballance/Compton/Buttler have done nothing in test cricket. Thats four over-rated players who have done jack in their careers playing for the supposed best team in the world.

Food for thought.

This was defn one of the best i have seen Pakistan perform in a long time (when the odds were against them) Pakistani bowlers are always a treat to watch,really hope Amir and Yasir carry the momentum to the next match as well.

Dude, you're counting wins from a time when England had KP, Collingwood, Prior etc in their line-up. Even that side did not have a claim to the throne. The current England side has one of the worst middle-orders going around in world cricket. No matter how much their media tries to stuff these guys down our throat, the likes of Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Hales (one top-order bat) and Ballance/Compton/Buttler have done nothing in test cricket. Thats four over-rated players who have done jack in their careers playing for the supposed best team in the world.

Food for thought.

They did win in SA with the current team and competed much better than Australia in UAE.

Yes. This is a total team performance to win a test match at Lords.

Misbah, Shafiq, Sarfraz, even Younis with his two 30 plus innings did it in batting department. Yasir was exceptional, but Rahat's second innings opening burst with 3 wickets had a great impact. Aamir and Wahab bowled very well without much luck. So it's time for Pakistani fans to enjoy this great achievement, not to focus on their shortcomings. They will get time to analyze their shortcomings before the start of 2nd test.

great performance from Pakistan I admit I was one of the wrist slitters who thought we would get demolished by England. We got a little luck our nemesis Jimmy wasn't playing but we took full advantage of that and outplayed England in their own backyard at the home of cricket. Even with our pacers being very hit n miss in the match. Yasir was exceptional and so was Misbah in the first innings. I just hope we can carry on this level of performance in the next 3 Tests.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

At least for today, take some rest bro.

IND plays in AUS, ENG, SAF, NZ every 4 years for 3 to 5 Tests, PAK last toured AUS & ENG before a lot of PPers didn't even know about PP. More over, MashAllah, PCB would reduce the 2 Test series in to 1 Test rubber, if allowed.

Playing Test is itself a learning curve, & PAK players play 250 overs FC Style on shocking wickets in NOV-JAN period. This is simply beyond imagination what these 3 bowlers, Asad & MoHa could have done had they played say 35 Test matches in AUS, SAF, IND, ENG & NZ in last 5/6 years.

PCB should change it's home venue to UK from UAE.

3-0 or 2-0. Don't think anyone said 4-0.

Nonetheless, Pakistan winning a Test was surprising.

It was only surprising to extremely pessimistic sort of people. Everyone else knew this Pakistan test team is no pushover.

If this is how we perform when we are 'finished', I shudder to think what we can do when we play well. One of the best and resounding wins abroad. Hats off.

Worst Day for [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] feel sorry for you mate. But i know you are busy in scratching your head to find holes and excuses for this fluke pak win??????? don't you????????

I'm really happy Asad performed this test but I really hope he doesn't sit back and not perform rest of the matches. We need him and Azhar, Sarfi to perform to have decent chance in this series cause Anderson, Stokes, Rashid will be back and all I see Pak collapsing to less than 200 every innings. :(

Especially fear Anderson in form he is in he would give us nightmares :(

Pak cricket is not finished, n nor r we the best by miles.
But if u didn't think that pak could give England a game especially at lords n oval, then ur cricket knowledge and recent following of the game is not up to scratch!!
Other tests will be hard but with a bit of luck and fight we can pull it off. Confidence will be up now. The bowlers are capable of knocking over England for 150 at least once if there is anything in the wicket and above and that gives us a shout like. Bring it on

What do you expect? You and few others went on how Pakistan would be lucky to be even draw a match here and how England is on another level.

So it makes sense that after a big win like this, people will have a go at those putting the Pakistan team down for months and saying the team is finished,

No Asian team has won 2 matches in England for the past 20 years; the last was Pakistan's 96 test series. Every single side after that failed including the great Indian side with Tendu & co. Not winning 2 matches wouldn't mean that this series is a failure for Pakistan.

This was a precious win for Pakistan and shows that its test team deserves the no3 spot it earned - come what may later on.

Off-topic but you seem to have adopted Dr Bassim's style of 1 sentence paragraphs. Don't do that.

This is for all the poste rs who thought Pakistn team are 'minnows' especially some posters from Bangladesh and Ireland whose own team cant even win a test at home LOL

It was an average performance by the team and a superlative one by Yasir.

He literally had to do so much of the work himself; taking wickets, containing runs, even scoring runs.

Of course would love if pakistan win the series but they have already done something that england have not managed in their last three trips .
Haters gonna hate .

if you consider that out openers and tail is so weak and that we were carrying a bowler who is yet to hit his stride (aamir) we have done phenomenally well.