"Some were saying that Karachiwallas are supporting me, others were saying Lahorewallas": Sarfaraz

Zeeraq

"Some were saying that Karachiwallas are supporting me, others were saying Lahorewallas": Sarfaraz

Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed spoke to the media at the end of Day 1 of the 2nd Test:

"Obviously when we were 57/5, there was a lot of pressure on me as captain"

"We lost 4 wickets in 7-8 balls so I couldn't understand what was happening but then we tried to make sure we could see off that session, as 15 minutes before Lunch were a very difficult time for us"

"After Lunch, I planned with Fakhar to rotate the strike more as that was a better choice because if we had just hung around and kept on playing dot balls, then we could have been out at any moment as the pitch behavior had changed and the ball was gripping a lot"

"The ball was breaking a bit but thankfully we had a good partnership and we got to a reasonable score"

"and because of that the match situation has evened out for both teams"

"I am OK and if the injury was more severe on my hand then I wouldn't have been able to bat"

"There is swelling and I am in pain, but I am hopeful that by applying ice overnight, I will feel better tomorrow"

"Look, I always bat like this [aggressively] but sometimes this clicks and other times it doesn't"

"I tried to remain positive today and told myself that given we were 57/5, I need to attack a bit here"

"If we attacked from that point, then I would be able to get our team and myself out of this situation"

"Fakhar Zaman played an excellent innings today and really gave me good support"

"He gave me a lot of confidence; I also prefer that I play alongside a batsman who rotates the strike"

"Fakhar Zaman handled the pressure of his first Test really well and he should be praised"

"I was really surprised by the turn on this pitch and I did not expect this to happen around 11am mark"

"We have played 10-15 Tests here and the ball always turns in the 4th or 5th Day but the way this pitch is behaving, this tells us that this is a different pitch compared to one we have played on before"

"We will try and get them out as soon as possible so that in the 4th innings we have high target to defend"

"Obviously it is very 'mentally & physically relaxing' when a player who has not been scoring runs [recently] is able to score at a time when the side needs it most"

"But I know that as a captain, this is not the time to relax as there are a lot of things which we need to fix"

"Its good that we were able to score 282 and fightback and the 2 wickets we have, including that of Usman Khawaja who is batsman capable of playing a long innings"

"I have said this before that Nathan Lyon is a much improve bowler"

"When he came before, we attacked him a lot but now he has over 300 wickets and is a better bowler now and has also played in India and Bangladesh too"

"So he has a good idea about how and what line to bowl in such conditions"

"I feel that there is big difference in Nathan Lyon's bowling between 2014 and today"

"You have to give credit to the Australian bowlers as the ball was turning sharply and it was 10-15 minute period when we lost 4 wickets"

"Yes we played some loose shots but we have to give credit to their bowling as well"

"There is of course pressure on me from all four sides; some people were saying that I should give up Test cricket, others were saying I should leave captaincy, some people wanted me out of the team; some were saying that Karachiwallas are supporting him, others are saying Lahorewallas..."

"So obviously there is a lot of pressure and as you know in our culture, pressure comes from all corners so this performance has given me some relief"

"Probably in 2015 and today was the most pressure filled knock"

"My left hand is not moving that well after I kept today - obviously as the ball hit it, its going to get swelling tonight"

"I hope it will get better if I give it ice treatment tonight"

"I think Mickey Arthur was talking about me - if I am not well tomorrow than another wicket-keeper is coming tomorrow"

"At that time Mitchell Starc bowled a quick bouncer to me, but the ball didn't rise that much when it came on to me, as the bounce was low"

"At that time, I was feeling a lot of pain but I could not come out as we did not have any batsmen coming after me, so I hung around and also my century was very close at that time"

"I dont think there is any concern about what the Australian team [is thinking about use of a substitute], its all about the umpires in this situation"

"If you see the India v West Indies Test, the keeper got injured as well but another keeper replaced him"

"We also have a substitute wicket-keeper so if I am not well, he will be coming in tomorrow"

"He's here, and he is with the A team [Sarfaraz Ahmed confirmed that it was Mohammad Rizwan when a journo asked him to confirm]"

DSC_1286 copy.jpg

Interesting from Sarfaraz about pressure. Hats off to him for persisting and coming good in the end.

Haters have been silenced. Keep going Sarfi bhai.

Both should have got 100
Sarfraz gave it away becuase of the pain I guess

Sarfaraz needed this innings badly and more importantly Pakistan needed that partnership. Hoping he is fine and is able to come on field tomorrow.

Good knock by Fakhar. That takes care of some of the doubts about his ability in test cricket. Should've scored a 100. He does play the spinners well so will be useful in the subcontinent and his shot selection is good to compensate for a slightly unorthodox technique.

Well played to Sarfraz as well. In my opinion, Sarfraz is most efficient when he plays his natural game. I don't think he plays the ball on its merit and it's not something he can change. So sometimes it'll come off other times it won't. Also should've scored a 100.

Is Rizwan allowed to keep wicket in this match if saifi doesn't feel well tomorrow

Playing test cricket can help Fakhar's game in ODI's. Playing test cricket helped make Warner an even better player

There's nothing more powerful in cricket than a performing captain. We can have issues with his output over the last few months, but he really stood up to be counted today.

So glad to see Sarfraz perform. Because of his attitude and expressive nature, he'll always have my support.

When you're averaging in 20s, just a single performance in years does not mean you have a license to attack your critics.

That's what his average is as a captain.

If you start averaging in 40+, then normal dip in form is understandable.

Good knock today, and sadly, will now become a "career saving" innings, where he will not be dropped even if he goes back to his usual non-performance for 1+ year.

If he can perform and average 40+, that's good with me.

Maybe this is the knock that could turn things around for Sarfraz... he needed this

Many of our batsmen are currently under pressure especially after that disastrous asia cup. I hope they get their form right, because if they go with this form to SA that's bad news. I hope they don't end up being Nasir Jamshed and Hafeez of 2013. Hafeez has been inconsistent since that series, and Nasir, let's not talk about him LOL what a waste he was ..so talented

Maybe this is the knock that could turn things around for Sarfraz... he needed this
The problem with Sarfaraz is that sometimes he tries to play beyond his capabilities and pays the price. Like sometimes he gives himself a lot of room exposing all his stumps (as if he was Viv). Today he was on 94 and tried to hit a 6 to get to this 100. The sooner he realises his limitations and plays within them the better.

When you're averaging in 20s, just a single performance in years does not mean you have a license to attack your critics.

That's what his average is as a captain.

If you start averaging in 40+, then normal dip in form is understandable.

Good knock today, and sadly, will now become a "career saving" innings, where he will not be dropped even if he goes back to his usual non-performance for 1+ year.

If he can perform and average 40+, that's good with me.

Sarfraz and hafeez scoring some runs is a terrible outcome for Pakistan.

Good knock by Fakhar. That takes care of some of the doubts about his ability in test cricket. Should've scored a 100. He does play the spinners well so will be useful in the subcontinent and his shot selection is good to compensate for a slightly unorthodox technique.

Well played to Sarfraz as well. In my opinion, Sarfraz is most efficient when he plays his natural game. I don't think he plays the ball on its merit and it's not something he can change. So sometimes it'll come off other times it won't. Also should've scored a 100.

To be really frank, I will reserve my judgement on Fakhar, till he plays in more venues against different teams. India's Shikhar Dhawan averages 61 in 24 innings in Asia with 6 hundreds and a SR of 75.

burnol will be in short supply tomorrow

Wow! Looks like all the criticism in media is getting to him.

Sounded a bit like how Dhoni became from 2014 onward when he had totally lost it - would snap at media reporters, mock them during press conferences, blame players publicly, will never blame his batting or captaincy for losses and became very rigid in his decision making as if to prove a point of him being always right. Seeing similar traits in Sarfaraz now which is not good for him.

Wow! Looks like all the criticism in media is getting to him.

Sounded a bit like how Dhoni became from 2014 onward when he had totally lost it - would snap at media reporters, mock them during press conferences, blame players publicly, will never blame his batting or captaincy for losses and became very rigid in his decision making as if to prove a point of him being always right. Seeing similar traits in Sarfaraz now which is not good for him.

What would be the equivalent regional rivalries in Indian cricket, I am curious. It’s Karachi Vs Lahore in Pakistan

Because Mumbai has been a traditional powerhouse in domestics, there's an alleged Mumbai mafia at work promoting its players.

There's also the north-south bias. South Indians alleging north gets a favored treatment. This is doubly funny because in this bias-matrix, east and west India are assumed to be part of the greater north.

Mumbai vs Delhi lobbies, North-South divide.

But in the earlier era, it was more rural-urban divide. Not one player from rural or semi-urban areas thrived till the 80s before Kapil Dev emerged and challenged the hegemony. Then late 90s, early 2000s saw a wave of youngsters from smaller towns - Bhajji, Kaif, Dhoni, RP Singh, Raina. This has now become a norm.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I really don’t understand what problems Sarfaraz is talking about on the tv about Kharachi & Lahore !??<br><br>Am bit lost hearing from our captain guys...<br>Is he for real..??</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1052453919715205120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfraz should only focus on cricket & should learn how to win games on the field & not off the field. Certain pressure are there as captain but face them as leader & take those pressure as opportunities not as set back ..good luck to greens caps ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1052455273242251270?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I really don’t understand what problems Sarfaraz is talking about on the tv about Kharachi & Lahore !??<br><br>Am bit lost hearing from our captain guys...<br>Is he for real..??</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1052453919715205120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfraz should only focus on cricket & should learn how to win games on the field & not off the field. Certain pressure are there as captain but face them as leader & take those pressure as opportunities not as set back ..good luck to greens caps ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1052455273242251270?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

Reading his tweets must be a very similar experience to what facing him must have been like: painful.

It's a valid tweet and concern.

It's very uneducated-like to include regions. That too as a captain.

It's a valid tweet and concern.

It's very uneducated-like to include regions. That too as a captain.

It's a valid tweet if you have no clue about what's going on in the media recently.

Both sides have been mud-slinging and it's pathetic to see. As soon as Sarfaraz's performances have dipped, those against him have started alleging that he is only retaining his spot due to his place of origin, while those in favour of him are claiming that criticism is only due to his place of origin.

It's all pretty ugly, but expected from the mess that is the media in Pakistan.

It appears that Shoaib is as misinformed as usual.

It's a valid tweet if you have no clue about what's going on in the media recently.

Both sides have been mud-slinging and it's pathetic to see. As soon as Sarfaraz's performances have dipped, those against him have started alleging that he is only retaining his spot due to his place of origin, while those in favour of him are claiming that criticism is only due to his place of origin.

It's all pretty ugly, but expected from the mess that is the media in Pakistan.

It appears that Shoaib is as misinformed as usual.

Thats not the poiint. As captain, you dont validate or give importance to such rubbish. By eve mentioning it, he has brought this ugly side to the fore for the whole world... and thats unbecoming of a captain.. completely unnecessary.

One good innings from him doesnt make him a saint all of sudden for all his past mishaps as a captain/form..

Chances are very high he will fail again...

Thats not the poiint. As captain, you dont validate or give importance to such rubbish. By eve mentioning it, he has brought this ugly side to the fore for the whole world... and thats unbecoming of a captain.. completely unnecessary.

I didn't hear the presser but there is usually some kinds of context to these type of comments.

It would be wiser to brush the issue aside but Sarfaraz is usually outspoken in press conferences and readily answers questions.

Jo bhi hai, maari iss ne chawwal hi hai..

Lets not ignore his recent subpar performance... and lets not even consider tht criticism has any foundation in regionalism..

When punjab players get dropped its because they are bad... (kami, umar, etc rtc)
But when it comes to karachi players all hell breaks loose.. for some of us..

We need to move fwd from this mentality.. wahab is lahori but he is garbage and shouldnt play..EOS!

He’s very thin skinned to pass on such comments. But I guess it’s a reaction to the way Mickey Arthur threw him under the bus by outing him as the One responsible for bowling Wahab over Abbas on 5th day morning of the 1st test.

To be really frank, I will reserve my judgement on Fakhar, till he plays in more venues against different teams. India's Shikhar Dhawan averages 61 in 24 innings in Asia with 6 hundreds and a SR of 75.

That's fair. I don't think Fakhar's average is going to fairly reflect the impact of a good knock by him. Kind of like how Azhar's relatively high average flatters him.

In my opinion, he'll do well in Australia where there's little lateral movement and the bounce is true. He might do well in New Zealand as well due to the smaller grounds.

England and South Africa will be the true test of his shot selection and technique. But let's see.

Pathano walay shots, Karachiwalla, Lahorewalla etc., we should get used to his bazaari language. It is embarrassing and does not fit the profile of a national team captain, but it is what it is. Educated and well-groomed cricketers are a rare breed in Pakistan cricket.

Seeing his fans jump up and down shows how we get excited so easily and quickly.

Haters have been silenced and Burnol has been offered after a solitary quality innings after a long, long time and the first 90+ score in Tests since 2015. He needs to perform like this for the next 2-3 series at least to make up for his freeloading over the last 15-16 months, but it appears that for some people, he has repaid his debt with interest after one performance.

Sums up Pakistani fans.

Seeing his fans jump up and down shows how we get excited so easily and quickly.

Haters have been silenced and Burnol has been offered after a solitary quality innings after a long, long time and the first 90+ score in Tests since 2015. He needs to perform like this for the next 2-3 series at least to make up for his freeloading over the last 15-16 months, but it appears that for some people, he has repaid his debt with interest after one performance.

Sums up Pakistani fans.

Great way to congratulate Sarfaraz Ahmed for an innings which saved this team.

With some of these fans, wonder why anyone plays cricket in the first place.

Jo bhi hai, maari iss ne chawwal hi hai..

Lets not ignore his recent subpar performance... and lets not even consider tht criticism has any foundation in regionalism..

When punjab players get dropped its because they are bad... (kami, umar, etc rtc)
But when it comes to karachi players all hell breaks loose.. for some of us..

We need to move fwd from this mentality.. wahab is lahori but he is garbage and shouldnt play..EOS!

There are numerous examples of bias, its an open secret by now.

There is always bias, sometimes regional, sometimes not. A lot of karachi players got undue and undeserving run in the team as well. But nobody brings up regionalism then. So why only when karachi players are on the losing end? You dont think non karachi players suffer bias?

Its a big sign of weakness playing the card of a so called minority. Especially when one is captain across all formats..

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">5 times when a Pakistan wicket-keeper has scored 50 or more in both innings of a Test match <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvAUS</a> <a href="https://t.co/NWgIBc4Sg4">pic.twitter.com/NWgIBc4Sg4</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1052874360724307970?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 18, 2018</a></blockquote>