jnaveen1980
I do see some discussions going on. Now he is gone.No one is comparing Buttler to Babar / Rizwan.
Ben stokes master class lol 58 strike rateReminds me of this match:
ENG vs SL Cricket Scorecard, 25th Match at Bengaluru, October 26, 2023
Live Cricket Scoreboard: Get England vs Sri Lanka 25th Match, cricket scorecard, ICC Cricket World Cup 2023/24 dated October 26, 2023.www.espncricinfo.com
Last time England blew it on a dead-flat batting deck.
They damaged Stokes's legacy by bringing him back for this tournament.Ben stokes master class lol 58 strike rate
One match can't define the legacy. I Never rate player's based on few innings.
He can obv. jk. but took deep today onlyOne match can't define the legacy. I Never rate player's based on few innings.
Buttler has already proved it that he can smashed any bowling attacks .
Yes please!STAY ON TOPIC AND TALK ABOUT GAME. NO MORE PERSONAL ATTACKS...
Ducket, another opener (Buttler can be here), Root, Bethell. This should be top 4. Also Adil Rashid for sure in bowling + Archer@daytrader
Btw I do agree with you one thing. I'd rather take a 60 runs of 80 balls then 10 runs of 3 balls in odi cricket.
However England's problem isn't that their playing reckless or attacking cricket.
Phil Salt is out of form but I don't mind him as he plays with the right intent. He's the only outlier due to form.
The issue is
1) Jamie smith isn't a no 3, so no clue what England are trying to achieve.
2) Root being a no 4 is downright comical, He's always been a slow accumulator with a horrible conversion rate against top teams in odi, so no idea why their giving him a no where he comes even lower down the order to kill the momentum.
3) Brooks isn't a whiteball player. He's a certified pace basher. In tests you can get away with it but endlessly blocking spin but in odi, he just doesn't know how to attack spin and he doesn't have infinite time to block it out.
4) Butler is aging and his reactions are declining.
5) Nothing wrong with livingstone, a 31 avg 108 sr player at no 7 is fantastic in odi cricket but salts form, Jamie smith at no 3 and brook at 5, ensure that Liam has to play an anchor or rebuilding role and he isn't good at that.
England is failing mainly due to the fact that their order combination is totally wrong and incorrect.
Root should be at no 3, and besides duckett, everyone else should be kicked out and a new younger team should replace.
Next time,
Jao, Aaj Eid manaoFlagship team of the Gung ho approach is all out for 179 on a phatta wicket, wasting 12 overs remaining.
I think Butler is dome tbh. He gave up captaincy, will probs step down from odi cricket soon enoughDucket, another opener (Buttler can be here), Root, Bethell. This should be top 4. Also Adil Rashid for sure in bowling + Archer
Team | Avge | SR |
Australia | 73.33 | 121.21 |
India | 57.62 | 86.32 |
New Zealand | 54.1 | 93.76 |
South Africa | 50.33 | 100.66 |
England | 28.35 | 95.43 |
Afghanistan | 27.74 | 86.89 |
Pakistan | 23.95 | 82.3 |
Bangladesh | 22.63 | 71.78 |
@daytrader
Btw I do agree with you one thing. I'd rather take a 60 runs of 80 balls then 10 runs of 3 balls in odi cricket.
However England's problem isn't that their playing reckless or attacking cricket.
Phil Salt is out of form but I don't mind him as he plays with the right intent. He's the only outlier due to form.
The issue is
1) Jamie smith isn't a no 3, so no clue what England are trying to achieve.
2) Root being a no 4 is downright comical, He's always been a slow accumulator with a horrible conversion rate against top teams in odi, so no idea why their giving him a no where he comes even lower down the order to kill the momentum.
3) Brooks isn't a whiteball player. He's a certified pace basher. In tests you can get away with it but endlessly blocking spin but in odi, he just doesn't know how to attack spin and he doesn't have infinite time to block it out.
4) Butler is aging and his reactions are declining.
5) Nothing wrong with livingstone, a 31 avg 108 sr player at no 7 is fantastic in odi cricket but salts form, Jamie smith at no 3 and brook at 5, ensure that Liam has to play an anchor or rebuilding role and he isn't good at that.
England is failing mainly due to the fact that their order combination is totally wrong and incorrect.
Root should be at no 3, and besides duckett, everyone else should be kicked out and a new younger team should replace.
Jao, Aaj Eid manao
You won't return to pre 2015, but you will remain weak for a while now. Till 2027 excluding minnows, you will remain comfortably behind The rest of SENA and India.InshaAllah the lions will roar again.
New faces will arrive, philosophy of all or nothing will not and should not change!
Never will we return to pre-2015
who do you put alongside duckettI think Butler is dome tbh. He gave up captaincy, will probs step down from odi cricket soon enough
One thing we can be sure of with GoreyYou won't return to pre 2015, but you will remain weak for a while now. Till 2027 excluding minnows, you will remain comfortably behind The rest of SENA and India.
A couple of rough months for England await. They'll get demolished by India and Aus in the upcoming Indian test and ashes and in 2026 they won't bounce back that quickly.
But yes post 2027, they'll be back eventually. Their culture of attack attack attack won't go away.
They have surprisingly very good bench strength. They are not clicking. Spin issue has to be addressed.One thing we can be sure of with Gorey
If they know something is wrong, they will act to fix it! I trust their process
Extremely poor against spinI sincerely believe Harry Brook would have a field day as he likes Pakistan pitches. But he was totally MIA.
The difference between this squad and 2019 is that 2019 players weren't just reckless bashers.I think this selection and lineup was a conscious decision by McCullum and he's been adment that this is the only way to play. They've been gearing up for this since last year Ausrtalia series.
Should've picked Moeen bhai and Sam Curran as both of them have the ability to play at any position and situation. They could've provided this lineup with flexibility that they badly missed
It'll probs be a new team eventually, someone from domestic. I wouldn't stress much about it. Their upcoming 19 year old all play an attacking brand.who do you put alongside duckett
They need to find someone like Morgan and Stokes. Aka moster batsmen but players who have a plan B incase early wickets fall.One thing we can be sure of with Gorey
If they know something is wrong, they will act to fix it! I trust their process
Australia ODI model is the ideal not England brainless cricket .InshaAllah the lions will roar again.
New faces will arrive, philosophy of all or nothing will not and should not change!
Never will we return to pre-2015
yeah today pitch was two paced , ideal strategy was to keep wickets in hand and go deep and hit in the last 10Australia ODI model is the ideal not England brainless cricket .
Always respect the conditions than a time will come to smashed.
You're just comparing the wrong team .
its mostly a bust , 400 only happens in meaningless bilaterals with shipelt tipley bowling and niot with A grade bowling attackThey need to find someone like Morgan and Stokes. Aka moster batsmen but players who have a plan B incase early wickets fall.
Odi is not t20, You need to accumulate in certain situations.
That's why saim's 109 of 119 was a master class against sa. He started slow when 4 wickets fell early, rotated strike and once he was set in, despite the rr being 7.5, He hit a 6, then a other 6, and then another 4, ans brought the rr back down to 6.
Then he simply brought it down to 2.5 and got out when the game was won
However saim has proven that he can bash endlessly when theirs no pressure aka Australia and Zimbabwe of whom he destroyed into next week.
None of the current England batters except duckett know how to do that.
It's either 400+ or bust.
They badly need to learn from saim, Inglis etc on how to construct such innings.
You only need bashers at the top and bashers at the bottom in odi. No 3, no 4, no 5 need to batters who can wear multiple hats.
The issue with imam, Babar and rizwan is that their the opposite extreme. They don't know how to attack or even construct an innings.
this trade is not beneficial for either of themMaybe Pak and Eng can work out a trade.
Rizwan le lo Buttler de do
UR stat ate him.Tristan Stubbs in ODIs
Bat 1st: 4 inns, 192 runs, 64.0 average, 110 SR, 1 fifty, 1 hundred
Bat 2nd: 4 inns, 57 runs, 19.0 average, 55 SR
If only desi players had the same dignity to step down when they know they aren’t cut out to lead the team anymoreI don’t know why we are amusing ourselves over England’s struggles, does it make us feel better about the draconian cricket which Pakistan play? England have their problems yes, but they are much better placed than Pakistan to recover from them. It was not too long ago that they won the World T20 and they consistently do well in that format, and found to a way to end their terrible Test record under the past regime. I trust Baz and co to find an answer because they at least are aware of the answer to the examine question regarding what is needed for modern cricket, so it’s the execution which will take focus. They invest in the right players, don’t meddle in politics and even someone like Butler is not empowered enough to have the final say in things like who should be the England coach, not that he is selfish enough to cripple his country by interfering in matters like that. If I have a criticism of Butler it’s that he has been too selfless and willing to accommodate who or whatever to give them every chance to succeed despite being the franchise player. Hopefully he can take some time out and we give him a more defined role so he can start enjoying his cricket again.
babar Azam is uselessI do see some discussions going on. Now he is gone.
He has cost india a BGT . pathetic umpireBengali umpire using ultra edge to check if ball snicked boot
Commentators having a proper laugh about it
England's emphasis on a batting-heavy approach has weakened their bowling in the middle overs, and the impact is evident—they've averaged 93.00 in this phase during the tournament.
This is their second-worst figure in any series or tournament since records began, with the only worse performance being an average of 121.50 against the West Indies in November.
I'd prefer Stubbs because he is a proper three-dimensional playerMatthew Breetzke ahead of a finished 36 year old RVD would make this team so much better.