Thivagar
Police acting like criminals by vandalizing vehicles. A student has died in result of police attack already.
God how stupid can the TN police be got caught spreading fire to Autos)
WTH is happening dude? Some of the protesters look certified goons. Saw a video shared by TS sudhir where the stone pelters come face to face with cops, was scary. how did this take a violent turn?
People saying DMK playing politics? Any updates?
True goons did infiltrate but its confusing as to which party they belong to, don't think normal students would burn down stuff remarkable chaos around Marina is what i heard,saw a video where Police went to small streets and started smacking 2 wheelers among many others but police station also got burnt.
Apologies to any DMK supporters here, but I am hearing a couple of DMK office bearers caught on camera burning vehicles and the goons are apparently DMK folks from in and around the kuppams of Marina.
Yup and they thought they won't be caught on camera absolute morons.
This is exactly what everyone warned yesterday night about political elements joining the protests and trying to stir it into new direction,they burned down the police station today(although I wonder if they really do it) and the police took a massive revenge is what it looks to me,but if anyone can correlate the timelines of burning the police station and police burning vehicles we might have a clear idea.
Yeah and this was right there in front of everyone's face but people didn't want to see it,the amount of times Chennai has been shut down on working days in last 2 years is remarkable, they continue this it would reach Kolkata's level of mediocre investment.
And Stalin has now issues a statement ,not sure if people can't still see through this.
WTH is happening dude? Some of the protesters look certified goons. Saw a video shared by TS sudhir where the stone pelters come face to face with cops, was scary. how did this take a violent turn?
People saying DMK playing politics? Any updates?
The police station was 100% burned down by the police. No one would have got any guts to burn down a police station when cops have guns and other weapons to use against them. You think the cops would have watched it all burn down ? Government whether state or central is behind this. They know that they can bait,sabotage the protest by misleading the public and the likes of Adhi fell for it. During G20 meeting in Toronto, the police parked a police car right in between the protesters and left for it to be attacked so then the police can use the violent as an excuse to take charge against the protester. Someone even went up to the car and wrote "BAIT" and yet people(not peaceful protesters) attacked and the police moved in. This is a common practice.
Stalin's rail blockage was the funniest, supposedly he missed the earlier train as he was late and that train scheduled to stop was let go. Another train and its passengers were not so lucky. It made a schedule stop, by the time Stalin arrived it almost came to a complete stop. He came and waved a hand. As per staged, a police officer told him it is illegal to do what he is doing, he replied with how he is protesting for his people. He was told by the officer that he'd be arrested if he continuous to do persist. The police officer was "warning" Stalin for quiet long time and one of his right hand man ran out of patient and said "quicka velanga maatuya". He was "arrested" and taken on the police jeep. He was dropped at midway, picked up by his driver and dropped off at his home. Protest over.
South Indian protests scare me. Every time I was in the middle of one, I genuinely thought that I would die.
Lmao ,that didn't even make much news except for Sun news which seems to run on massive propaganda which is not even a joke lol have come to realize that no politician will ever do good in India whoever he/she is!
Only the society can push for it,this was a sad end to one of the best protests in India imo could had lead the way,RJ Balaji,Aadhi everyone should had explained and asked to go home.
Even if one cop is down due to stone pelting, expect CRPF or Army to show up. Its never good when army shows up.
Of course you were in middle of one,we totally believe you and we'd never think you'd lie at all.
I have been visiting Thekkady quite frequently, and had to take refuge in this little village twice when things have gone wrong (I can't read this script, so maybe you'll know what place this is). If you think I am lying, then let's explore the topic more, I have no problems.
View attachment 72160
What happened ? Don't worry you won't see riots like Mumbai, or Gujarat. It is relatively safe in South.
I have been visiting Thekkady quite frequently, and had to take refuge in this little village twice when things have gone wrong (I can't read this script, so maybe you'll know what place this is). If you think I am lying, then let's explore the topic more, I have no problems.
View attachment 72160
Bhaijaan..You were in Kerala which is a communist ruled state. You would get protests and bandhs every week for some reason or the other. It's just how it is there.
Btw did you cross over to the TN border to escape the riots? The sign board is in tamil..
Yes I did, the village borders Kerala.
Why do you visit Thekkady often all the way from Delhi..
Because Thekkady is known for its oil massages.![]()
I actually visit Madurai quite often to see my uncle, specially after my graduation. Thekkady happens to be the only beautiful place nearby and I enjoy the scenic drive too.
Thankfully, all those riots are not a weekly thing in the North, and I have never witnessed anything like that. I can only compare the protests, and the ones I witnessed there were easily the dumbest and the most dangerous I have seen anywhere in India. Once it was for water issue, another time, it was for something as idiotic as hike in petrol prices.
Saddest part, the police acted like cowards. They would see the car being smashed, people being roughened up, but it was all ignored. Imagine being stuck right outside your resort for 3 hours (2am to 5am), just because all these goons chose to keep me and my vehicle hostage for whatever reason. Police came several times, did nothing. I didn't even know the local language, so every time they shouted, it sounded like "kill him..burn him". It was way too scary for a "protest".
It was a prank bro. I was the one who was yelling that.
Like I said South Indian cities will never have a riot like the Gujarat or Mumbai protest. Even during the partition Hindus and Muslims never killed each other in the South like wild savages. Despite Hyderabad being relatively segregated, they got along very much.
Sasikala is the CM of Tami Nadu. How are you all feeling ?
There is a bit of a revolt going on within AIADMK now. The former Chief Minister Paneerselvam claims that Jayalalitha's spirit has spoken to him and asked him to take the top position to save the party and the state.
So the spirit has spoken to Panneer Ji.
Tomorrow the spirit will speak to Sasikala too.
There is a bit of a revolt going on within AIADMK now. The former Chief Minister Paneerselvam claims that Jayalalitha's spirit has spoken to him and asked him to take the top position to save the party and the state.
Any news coming from Madras doesn't surprise me.
So a Chief Minister goes to the memorial of a corrupt politician to seek permission from her spirit. There is stupid and then there is Madras politics.
Watching it on TV now lol. You live in Chennai ?
A corrupt megalomaniac who could not let go of her greed for power till the very last moment of her life has suddenly got sainthood status from the people of tamil nadu. the mind boggles.
Sasikala may go the Janaki route.
Who knows.
People seem to be convinced she is upto no good.
Lots of reports about corruption by her family.
She supposedly threatened Gangai Amaran's family and stole several acres of land. Have you heard about it ?
So the spirit has spoken to Panneer Ji.
Tomorrow the spirit will speak to Sasikala too.
Could be.
http://www.sify.com/news/gangai-ama...anneerselvam-news-national-rcir7Tgbifbii.html
Jaya tolerated Sasikala so she has to take the blame too.
Plus 1996 Jaya was corrupt.
Its also said that Sasikala did a lot of dealings using her proximity to Jaya as a tool. For some reason, there is a lot of anger directed at Sasikala but not Jaya which may suggest Sasikala has been playing a game.
OPS has called for probe into Jaya's death now that he has been asked to resign. Where was his conscience before?
Politics is a murky land.
Sasikala has placed almost all the MLAs are lodged in a hotel to prevent Panneerselvam from reaching out to them.
A top leader has defected to Panneerselvam side.
Sasikala knows the public is against her.
Please OPS....crush her like the pesky bug she is and once you come to power, expel her sycophants.
We have to fight her at all costs.
This is not even funny anymore..She has never being in any party post or contested in any assembly election before. And now is directly promoted as the party general secretary and what not, the next CM of Tamil Nadu??
Seriously, I don't understand why the common people are not revolting or protesting against this drama?? Even OPS took so much time to react. This is more serious than the Jallikattu issue for which literally everyone came out to the street to protest.
I thought the politics in my state is worse but this beats everything..
I doubt people of Tamil Nadu will get down on to the streets. Jallikattu was some what of a surprising phenomenon, people got sucked into a bandwagon but in a good way. Jallikattu is officially being held tomorrow and most people aren't even aware of it. I don't trust the people of TN anymore, but only positive thing about the Jallikattu protest is that people are no longer scared of politicians nor worshiping actors.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/There-is-a-disconnect-between-ruling-party-leaders-and-people-of-Tamil-Nadu-Chidambaram/article17277618.ecethe caste polarisation that has taken place in Tamil Nadu over the past few years. I have not seen such a bitter caste polarisation in Tamil Nadu in a long time. The Vanniyar-Dalit, Thevar-Dalit conflict and between other communities, the divide has become so acute today that it is creating anxiety and concern among the youth about its future. Therefore, everybody seemed to pick up this one issue to express their protest. It was a protest movement rather than a Jallikattu movement, it was a protest for a variety of reasons, but it zeroed in on jallikattu.
[MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] No macha, Kerala politics has way more wicked characters for sure, but we are a small state , so the the politicians have far less to fight for. Consequently we get far less national media attentionThis is not even funny anymore..She has never being in any party post or contested in any assembly election before. And now is directly promoted as the party general secretary and what not, the next CM of Tamil Nadu??
Seriously, I don't understand why the common people are not revolting or protesting against this drama?? Even OPS took so much time to react. This is more serious than the Jallikattu issue for which literally everyone came out to the street to protest.
I doubt people of Tamil Nadu will get down on to the streets. Jallikattu was some what of a surprising phenomenon, people got sucked into a bandwagon but in a good way. Jallikattu is officially being held tomorrow and most people aren't even aware of it. I don't trust the people of TN anymore, but only positive thing about the Jallikattu protest is that people are no longer scared of politicians nor worshiping actors.
[MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] No macha, Kerala politics has way more wicked characters for sure, but we are a small state , so the the politicians have far less to fight for. Consequently we get far less national media attention
The general level of political awareness and involvement of Keralites is far higher than most Indian states.
So we basically see politicians for the **** that they are. Expect a few misguided loyalists in the CPIM and BJP (mostly the malabar belt ) . But sad part is, we all vote for the same ****, fully knowing the kind of crap they do to retain power or save their own skin..
Tamil Nadu atleast has people who are extremely loyal to their leaders and stick with them through thick and thin , which gives them almost a god-like power in people's perception.. This often leads to autocracies like the Jaya-govt.
But us ? . Even the avg- malayalee knows about the u-turns our politicians make,(like the Solar scam last year, or the Student protests now), which is why we always kick out the ruling party every 5 years !!
We let them toy with our lives willingly , even after seeing them for what they are.. It's a strange kind of sadism/masochism that our people show ....![]()
This is not even funny anymore..She has never being in any party post or contested in any assembly election before. And now is directly promoted as the party general secretary and what not, the next CM of Tamil Nadu??
There was an article on the same a year back or something it went on to make below points:
1.The new generation of Tamilians aren't worshipping heroes like in past(eg:MGR,Rajni,Ajith,Vijay)
2.The enrollment of Dravidian parties is almost full and they don't really align themselves with the major parties as well.
Now because of the above two reasons what has happened is(according to the article,ll try to find the link)
-The younger generation esp in rural areas have started identifying themselves based on caste leading to several caste based violence in the last few years mostly between Dalits and intermediate caste.
This also mentioned by Chidambaram recently
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/There-is-a-disconnect-between-ruling-party-leaders-and-people-of-Tamil-Nadu-Chidambaram/article17277618.ece
Other articles over the caste issues,this has been a ticking timebomb for a while now.
http://www.firstpost.com/politics/tirupur-honour-killing-how-tamil-nadu-has-turned-into-a-reference-point-for-caste-based-violence-2675960.html
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india/caste-and-violence-in-tamil-nadu-a-state-of-honour-killings/story-W5RDkUTnOSz9NhEqqs6dOI.html
I am not able to closely follow the news as i am not in India right now..I hope the Governor take some good decision instead of appointing her the CM.
BCCI-ICC share issue, Chief Minister dilemma in Tamil Nadu and now we have a match fixing fiasco. So many events taking place in at once. Might have something to do with recent Saturn transit?
Pakistan cricket ain't need no Saturn transit.
They will create new Saturn transit at will.
Weird, you thought people will develop but some places are going back. We used to have a maid in India and she would talk about caste based issues. My mom and aunt used to listen to her stories, caste issues do happen. Predominantly the "higher caste" (cringe worthy) has issues with educated Dalit students and so on. Maveeran Kittu is somewhat of a good example. When you oppress people, they will revolt and that is supposedly what is happening.
I know every nonsense going on in our politics. The truth is that both the people and party know what they expect from each other and we willingly accept them by voting them into power. Our media and people are extremely critical that the govt can't do anything without a controversy. There is no extreme loyalism to any one here like in TN which is good eventhough it makes the progress slow.
Just imagine how our MLA's will behave if they are kidnapped and threatened by a "nobody" CM.)
Btw I am a muslim woman with some leftist views from the fortress of the Muslim league, not a machan.![]()
Apologies Aysha(lol!).. Couldn't have guessed it from your posts . I thought 'kaayal' meant 'Backwaters' as is in malayalam ... By which I assumed you were from central kerala (alapuzha or Kochi). I occasionally jump into a few of those patriarchal desi conventions , like only the "MARDs" follow cricket seriously enough to join forums about them..
Your last line may be the most intriguing intro for a malayalee ..So many interesting conundrums..
I was studying in Alappuzha when i joined this forum. That's why the username 'kaayal'.
And joining this forum was an accident that occured few years ago because of hopeless biscuit. And i regret it now because i am not able to get out of this addiction no matter how much i try...
I was studying in Alappuzha when i joined this forum. That's why the username 'kaayal'.
And joining this forum was an accident that occured few years ago because of hopeless biscuit. And i regret it now because i am not able to get out of this addiction no matter how much i try...
Be happy there is no genuine app for the site ,i can only imagine the amount of time i would spending here if not.
I am intrigued about said accident. Care to describe it ?
I am spending too much time here too.. My workplace has a few "desh bhakt" types from the Hindi belt.. Imagine them seeing a bearded "mallu" guy typing all the time in a site that has "PAK" written all over it![]()
I browse from phone now but no joke i used to have it on my desktop 2 yrs ago and guess ppl used to see and one guy actually all excited asked me my name and when i gave him my Hindu name he was so disappointed.
Came to know later he was a supporter of PCT,ur situation shouldn't happen Malayalee brotherhood is bigger than Bharat Mata ke bache.
"BHARATHAM ENNU KETTAL ABHIMANA POORITHA MAGANAM ANDHARANGAM, KERALAM ENNU KETTAL THILAKKANNAM CHORA NJARAMBUKALIL"
Translation :-
When you hear the 'Bharatam' your conscience must be filled with pride
But when you hear ' keralam' your blood should boil in your veins.
This is a famous quote from our well known poet, Vallathol.That's how we feel about Kerala and India.![]()
I am intrigued about said accident. Care to describe it ?
I was just lurking around the cricket page back then (you know the 2011WC win etc). Then there was this hilarious poster in some of the threads who was taking the mic out of everyone. And gradually i stumbled upon the timepass section following that guys post,debates with Namak halal, Robert etc. I made a few friends and we had a lot of funny banters back then..
But now i just come back to see some different point of views and news. That's it.
I am spending too much time here too.. My workplace has a few "desh bhakt" types from the Hindi belt.. Imagine them seeing a bearded "mallu" guy typing all the time in a site that has "PAK" written all over it![]()
Don't know about bharatam, but hearing keralam or whatever does make my blood boil.
"BHARATHAM ENNU KETTAL ABHIMANA POORITHA MAGANAM ANDHARANGAM, KERALAM ENNU KETTAL THILAKKANNAM CHORA NJARAMBUKALIL"
Translation :-
When you hear the 'Bharatam' your conscience must be filled with pride
But when you hear ' keralam' your blood should boil in your veins.
This is a famous quote from our well known poet, Vallathol.That's how we feel about Kerala and India.![]()
Really why? Why did he make such a quote to instill patriotism?
Chennai: In her first public appearance since conviction, VK Sasikala, who left the five Star Golden Bay resort this evening, broke down, saying, "No force can separate me from AIADMK. No matter where I'll be, I'll always think about the party." Earlier today, the Supreme Court convicted Ms Sasikala in a corruption case, and sentenced her to four years in prison, effectively ending her bid to take over as the state's Chief Minister. Sources in the AIADMK said she is likely to surrender in Bengaluru tomorrow, where she will be lodged in prison.
Come on, this pride is not unique to Malayalis. Punjabis are very proud of their 'nationality'.*when somebody calls them 'Punjabi', they elevate to an altogether different level of pride.Tamilians and Bengalis too have the same pride.
And about Vallathol's patriotism, here is an excerpt from the wiki page about him.
Vallathol is regarded as the greatest nationalist poet of the language. He actively participated in the Nationalist movement. He attended the all India Conferences of the Indian Congress in 1922 and 1927 and rejected a royal honour bestowed upon him by the Prince of Wales during his India visit in 1922. Vallathol remained a great admirer of Mahatma Gandhi and wrote the poem "Ente Gurunathan" ("My Great Teacher") in his praise. At the same time, he felt attracted by the Communist ideology and wrote poems praising the achievements of the Soviet Union. He wrote several patriotic poems hailing India's nationalist movement.
I have a question for our Indian members: Why do y'all dress the same? I see all these indian intl students here and they all dress a certain way, which makes no sense to me. I mean if y'all can afford to spend 40 grand a year on studying here, spending a couple hundred dollars to dress nicer, or at least like the average American isn't too much.
Coz they don't want to fake it?Unless you have started consuming alcohol and Bacon sausages and strips ,why don't you apply "your average American" rule first on yourself or is this your coping mechanism for Big NAS,in that case carry on.
What do you mean by faking, what does eating bacon and drinking have anything to do with dressing nice? It just surprises how so many students from India come here paying tens of thousands of $$$ to study here, it clearly doesn't seem like they have money problems though their appearance and the way they dress does give the impression that they just stepped outside a small town. Don't take it personally, I just don't understand. Do banks in India give like huge loans them to study here?
As for Big Nas, I'm more a Tupac fan. Nothing personal, just never been a fan of Nas.
What's your definition of nice?And yes those Indians that go there for Masters aren't necessarily rich and Indian banks do give loans if its a reputed American Uni atleast a lot of it.A lot of them get scholarships for Masters as well so the fee is pretty reduced making it easier to get loans.
The ones going for UG/MBA are probably well to do and incase they don't satisfy your definition of "nice" maybe you can ask them and let us know too.