South Indian Cinema and Songs

Who is this girl in white sari ? She looks gorgeous.

She is Sai Pallavi. She was into dance reality shows but got her first chance in the film "Premam" and she shot to fame after her role in the film. It's a wonderful film and do see it of you get a chance. But please see the malayalam version and not the telugu version because I'm sure Shruti will just kill the character that Sai Pallavi played in the telugu film remake.

Thanks. Will check out the malayalam version then. Is the movie available with english subtitiles.

Then why not import models from North as well?It becomes male domination which is takes off the balance,not one non-South Indian hero how come?

It is perfectly in sync with the male centric cine industry of Indian cinema. In most Indian cinema, the role of a heroine is still to appear like a barbie doll with whom the hero falls into love at first sight, and to do some cheesy moves in songs with a bit of glamour. You can very rarely see heroine centric movies where the heroine plays just an ordinary woman or even less so, doing some daring roles like Pooja did in Nan kadavul. If a heroine does something like that role, her market would come crashing down and directors will no longer find her an attractive choice for the role of heroine in his film. You can have heroes donning wigs like Rajni well into his 60s or even 70s doing hero roles, but the life of a heroine ends at 32 or at max 35, after which she gets discarded and a new chick from North is imported. Rinse, repeat.

Thanks. Will check out the malayalam version then. Is the movie available with english subtitiles.

Yup. I don't know malayalam and I saw it in subtitles only. Moreover the malayalam in the film is aluva dialect which is apparently a bit different frkm normal malayalam. Anyway, large chunks of film will be in tamil as Sai Pallavi plays a tamil girl who is the professor in the hero's college.

It is perfectly in sync with the male centric cine industry of Indian cinema. In most Indian cinema, the role of a heroine is still to appear like a barbie doll with whom the hero falls into love at first sight, and to do some cheesy moves in songs with a bit of glamour. You can very rarely see heroine centric movies where the heroine plays just an ordinary woman or even less so, doing some daring roles like Pooja did in Nan kadavul. If a heroine does something like that role, her market would come crashing down and directors will no longer find her an attractive choice for the role of heroine in his film. You can have heroes donning wigs like Rajni well into his 60s or even 70s doing hero roles, but the life of a heroine ends at 32 or at max 35, after which she gets discarded and a new chick from North is imported. Rinse, repeat.

Same thing can be applied to bollywood as well. Only girls from south and other places are imported.

Yup. I don't know malayalam and I saw it in subtitles only. Moreover the malayalam in the film is aluva dialect which is apparently a bit different frkm normal malayalam. Anyway, large chunks of film will be in tamil as Sai Pallavi plays a tamil girl who is the professor in the hero's college.

I can't understand neither tamil or malyalam!

Anyone here (Tamil) heard the beep song ?

Wonder what everyone make of that or the way OTT reaction

This notion that there are only fair skinned Actress in the south india..and we adore them. Absolutely wrong..yes it is true that there are a few fair north indian actresses doing glamour roles..but the vast majority are actually Non south indian or a fair south indians ..

Trisha
Nayanathara
Anushka Shetty
Nithya Menon
Parvathi
Nazriya
Priya Anand
Amala Paul
Samantha
Anjali
Swathi Reddy
Andrea
Asin
until Recently... and a lot more.

And it is alright if some people are doing glamour roles...let that be. It only shows we have actresses of different types doing different things..and it is show bussiness at the end of the day...they take actresses that suit what is required of the role... That is not bias per say.... Show me a meaty role that was spoilt by a good looking fair actresses...that is bias...but if they are taking actresses to what is needed ..it is alright..and you cant fault people for liking fair skinned girls or guys..it is a taste..and that is akin to liking somebody with long legs or whatever.

And also if somebody has a problem with south indian cinema with out knowing or watching even 10 of them..and or by seeing some bad movies..uninformed opinions are your problem..just dont make the thread a mess for people discussing movies..there is absolutely no need of arguments always.

This month I think !

Too many good movies this Month

Bhajirao mastani
Dilwale
Thangamagan
StarWars

This notion that there are only fair skinned Actress in the south india..and we adore them. Absolutely wrong..yes it is true that there are a few fair north indian actresses doing glamour roles..but the vast majority are actually Non south indian or a fair south indians ..

Trisha
Nayanathara
Anushka Shetty
Nithya Menon
Parvathi
Nazriya
Priya Anand
Amala Paul
Samantha
Anjali
Swathi Reddy
Andrea
Asin
until Recently... and a lot more.

And it is alright if some people are doing glamour roles...let that be. It only shows we have actresses of different types doing different things..and it is show bussiness at the end of the day...they take actresses that suit what is required of the role... That is not bias per say.... Show me a meaty role that was spoilt by a good looking fair actresses...that is bias...but if they are taking actresses to what is needed ..it is alright..and you cant fault people for liking fair skinned girls or guys..it is a taste..and that is akin to liking somebody with long legs or whatever.

And also if somebody has a problem with south indian cinema with out knowing or watching even 10 of them..and or by seeing some bad movies..uninformed opinions are your problem..just dont make the thread a mess for people discussing movies..there is absolutely no need of arguments always.

i think what you meant to say is but the vast majority are actually south indian or a fair south indians .. Exactly my point majority are south indian.

Anyone here (Tamil) heard the beep song ?

Wonder what everyone make of that or the way OTT reaction

My friend shared it. The song wouldn't be controversial if it was actually good, but it was horrible, simbu sang it and it bashes women and their love. Dumb song and cringe worthy.

True, failing to understand fair skin obsession only on girls although Priya Anand is refreshing but seeing more and more imports .Hansika,Tamanna and Shruthi annoy me the most.

View attachment 62727

The number is increasing for sure and i understand Kajal thing she is south indian looks one reason she gets more movies here.
For me Parvathy(Maryan,Poo) and Priya Anand among best looking south Indian girls.

View attachment 62728

Shruthi,Hansika, Shreya and Tamnnah are the worst. Then the new guys also want to act with light skinned, skinny girls and their acting and lip synch is far worse than the horrible acting and lip synching done by the likes of Tamannah, Shreya, and Hansika. Watched Vedhalam, half way through the movie her voice switches to another lady's voice.

True, failing to understand fair skin obsession only on girls although Priya Anand is refreshing but seeing more and more imports .Hansika,Tamanna and Shruthi annoy me the most.

View attachment 62727

The number is increasing for sure and i understand Kajal thing she is south indian looks one reason she gets more movies here.
For me Parvathy(Maryan,Poo) and Priya Anand among best looking south Indian girls.

View attachment 62728

I really cant believe how Sruthi Hasan continue to get chances in Tamil movies .Literally every single movie of hers has flopped horribly .Not just her voice is irritating even her acting is pretty comical stuff

Fake accent + ugly voice = Nightmare. In some of her dances she tries to act like the girls on hip hop/rap music videos. It ends up looking silly as her booty isn't big lol.

even i know 'why dis kolaveri' :misbah

slightly over produced though. wish the producer didn't have to put so many effects in the song.

i enjoy tamil movies over hindi movies in general although i can't say i've seen lots of either.

i will now see myself out.

even i know 'why dis kolaveri' :misbah

slightly over produced though. wish the producer didn't have to put so many effects in the song.

i enjoy tamil movies over hindi movies in general although i can't say i've seen lots of either.

i will now see myself out.

Do you know tamil?

Who else here finds Devi Sri Prasad annoying ?

Yo yo this iz Dee ess pee here!

Lol, almost everyone does. He basically has a single tune which he recycles again and again. His only exception was Sachein which had great songs.

Fake accent + ugly voice = Nightmare. In some of her dances she tries to act like the girls on hip hop/rap music videos. It ends up looking silly as her booty isn't big lol.

I don't know why no director is having the guts to ask Shruthi to please not give her voice in films. It is horrible and like a drunken man's voice and a world away from her voice when she sings. How hard is to ask someone to dub for her for god's sake!

Yo yo this iz Dee ess pee here!

Lol, almost everyone does. He basically has a single tune which he recycles again and again. His only exception was Sachein which had great songs.

Not sure if you are tamil..

But he did great work in Telugu...Check

Arya
Varsham
Bommarillu
Manmadhudu
Anandam
Nuvvastanante Nenodhantana
Jagadam

For some reason..he does not do as good a job in Tamil.

Not the greatest....but Definately one of good ones of all time in telugu.

Not sure if you are tamil..

But he did great work in Telugu...Check

Arya
Varsham
Bommarillu
Manmadhudu
Anandam
Nuvvastanante Nenodhantana
Jagadam

For some reason..he does not do as good a job in Tamil.

Not the greatest....but Definately one of good ones of all time in telugu.

Actually I loved his music in something something and santhosh subramanyam. Sachein's music was excellent too. But later he reverted to kuthu songs with basically one beat in background from villu onwards. And I was terribly disappointed with puli songs :facepalm:

Of the recent Tamil OSTs, I loved "Naanum Rowdythaan" the most. "Thangamae" in particular, is my favt track from it.

From Thangamagan liked Oh Oh song and Enna solla.

^^ Me too !! My God...Nayanathara looked a million bucks in the song !! Movie was good too

I watched Thani Oruvan... Awesome movie. Aravind Swamy rocked...would like to see him more in powerful roles.

Nayanathara on a role these days...

Enna Solla is on repeat the whole day at work...

^^Totally agreed, bro. Nayan is getting some pretty good movies these days. Loved her role of Kaadhambari.

I have also heard/read that nayanthara is a good actress.There is some horror movie review that i read on rediff which said that nayan did great acting and some other write ups about her say the same. I saw her yesterday on tv in some song with venkatesh she looked ravishing and sexy as hell.

Maya is the horror movie...her Last three movies have been good and hits.

Naanum Rowdy Dhaan
Maya
Thani oruvan

She headlined Maya as the only known name in the cast...movie made around 60 crores.

Good for her. She has had a roller coaster personal life first with simbhu and then with prabhu deva. What about samantha prabhu isn't she at the top too.

She is good. Not a fan...but is decent. Quite a lot of Interesting movies coming up for her...

She has Thangaman with Dhanush releasing in a week, 24 with Surya , Theri with Vijay with Raja Rani Director, and has a telugu movie with nithin directed by Trivikram..and brahmotsavam with mahesh babu movie ...Quite full.

^^ Me too !! My God...Nayanathara looked a million bucks in the song !! Movie was good too

I watched Thani Oruvan... Awesome movie. Aravind Swamy rocked...would like to see him more in powerful roles.

Nayanathara on a role these days...

Enna Solla is on repeat the whole day at work...

What song is that?

^^

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4bZ-MAOLbGc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/5iR5V9sHEtQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Used to hear the original as a kid when i used to go for a haircut the barber used to put AIR lol

The actress is beautiful. Nice face expressions.Is the movie any good.?

No idea haven't watched it..but i don't think it did that well.The song is from an old movie which i liked to hear a lot that i think was a major hit.

^^

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4bZ-MAOLbGc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I like this song and the "enna solla" by Shweta Mohan in Thangamagan. Anirudh has got some potential.:)

Used to hear the original as a kid when i used to go for a haircut the barber used to put AIR lol

Yeah, I can remember the barber shops with ilayaraja songs running on the radio. It was a childhood experience. Nowadays there are very few such shops and all have been replaced by hair salons like green trends and garnier where they charge 500 for a haircut lol.

Lovely Song and especially Picturization and locations

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/fiAlruU48HI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Yeah, I can remember the barber shops with ilayaraja songs running on the radio. It was a childhood experience. Nowadays there are very few such shops and all have been replaced by hair salons like green trends and garnier where they charge 500 for a haircut lol.

Exactly Miss those days a lot and you missed black & white salon.I never go to Green trends or Naturals.Would never pay more than a 150 bucks for hair cut and black and white is around 120.

Just saw Bangalore days omG brilliant movie .And i ve become a sudden fan of Dulquer argh!!

Bangalore-Days-56621_3516.jpg

Why you Malayalees are so good at singing ? Almost all the good singers are from Kerala.

They are very good at acting as well, Parvathy in Maryan and Parvathy in Bangalore days lol no bollywood actress except Kangana is that versatile and the Malayalees do it with ease.

not able to find torrent of it coz Anwar Rasheed is getting it deleted it seems :P ,but have asked a friend.Can't wait for Charlie trailer looks amazing.

Premam was about to become the biggest blockbuster in Malayalam crossing Drishyam. But the censor copy of Premam was spread like a virus to everyone. Anwar Rasheed tried his best to stop the piracy but was failed. He resigned from producers association etc because of their lack of support.

I don't have high hopes for Charlie. The directors last film with Dulquer was crap. I will watch it only for Parvathy.

Premam was about to become the biggest blockbuster in Malayalam crossing Drishyam. But the censor copy of Premam was spread like a virus to everyone. Anwar Rasheed tried his best to stop the piracy but was failed. He resigned from producers association etc because of their lack of support.

I don't have high hopes for Charlie. The directors last film with Dulquer was crap. I will watch it only for Parvathy.

Yes i read how Anwar Rasheed protested against the same anyhow it became a hit but yeah i guess not the biggest one.
Have to say Parvathy is very versatile after seeing Maryan someone seeing Bangalore days wouldn't be able to recognize her at all.

Are you talking about ABCD the director's last movie?I had put that in my torrent list might take it off then.Gonna try catching Ustad Hotel hope that's good.

Yes i read how Anwar Rasheed protested against the same anyhow it became a hit but yeah i guess not the biggest one.
Have to say Parvathy is very versatile after seeing Maryan someone seeing Bangalore days wouldn't be able to recognize her at all.

Are you talking about ABCD the director's last movie?I had put that in my torrent list might take it off then.Gonna try catching Ustad Hotel hope that's good.

ABCD is a confused film. Ustaad hotel is much better than that.

Also watch "24 north kaatham" and "1983". You may like it.:)

They are very good at acting as well, Parvathy in Maryan and Parvathy in Bangalore days lol no bollywood actress except Kangana is that versatile and the Malayalees do it with ease.

I saw an interview where Tapsee said how she moved to Bangalore to work in IT and some "random guy" (director) approached and asked her to act in movies :facepalm:. We all know that women play a useless role in Tamil movies. At least they should be able to give some type of character to the female. There is a girl on my instagram that looks like the younger version of Kangana :akhtar.

Not True...Tapsee went into modelling and was a famous model for a few years before she came into movies. she participated in miss India and won a few awards too and also did a show in Channel V. It was not random..she switched to movies later...

Wikipedia says she auditioned for some Tv show. She made it seem like someone who was recruited of street....

Just saw Premam really good and Malar miss part was the best! Have watched Bangalore days and Premam and really liking Nivin Pauly, any other advice on his movies 1983,Neeram are they worth watching?

Both are good. Neram is simple thriller of 100 minutes...good evening watch.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Able to relate more to Malayalam cinema because of its urban appeal but have to say i'm only watching their best movies so in my mind the industry is over hyped but in reality i'm sure they make trashy movies as well.

Any industry that makes more 100 movies a year makes trashy movies...and most of them will fun of mill entertainers...and a few gems. It goes with tamil telugu malayalam hindi Bengali and Marathi cinema...even hollywood. Real over hyped industries are countries or regional cinema where one movie every year is over hyped and then people proclaim pretentiously that they are fan of that cinema...case in point Iranian cinema.

Lol true.Btw have u seen autograph (tamil) Premam in the start felt slightly a bit like that but later on changed.

Yeah both of them are very similar. I haven't watched the tamil one...but watched the remake in telugu with the same name. Premam concentrated less on the after effect of second tragic love story ....unlike autograph.

Telugu movies have taken commercial cinema to a different level and eventhough i don't personally like it its commendable that they have a huge market now even among north Indian (Dubbed version) audience the other day my brother from Jalandhar was asking about the below movie.

Yeah, I too read about it. Do telugu cinemas really have a demand in the North? How?

Thanks to Dubbed versions being played every single day on Hindi movie channels plus it goes well with the non-urban audience who like the supposedly "thrilling" scenes and action in their movies.Allu Arjun is my cousin's favorite lol.

Also Bahubali Hindi dubbed version crossed 100 crores which is a shocker,Telugu cinema has expanded their reach beyond their own audience(south India) something i thought Tamil,Bengali or Malayalam movies would do.

Of the recently watched Tamil movies, absolutely loved #UppukKaruvaadu (at the same time hated the abominations called Vedhalam & Puli the most). Simple story with no big stars done in a very neat (and comical) way by Radha Mohan.

Haha i watched this, it was an alright movie. This was his first short film I saw of Karunakaran. Very funny guy.

Watched charlie. Same old "searching for the meaning of life" type movie without a definite story. Dulquer looks good in the movie. There is nothing for Parvathy to "act".

6/10 for Dulquer and the Cinematography.

Got to do with our language I suppose. A lot of our words require using a nice low larynx and that makes our voices sound nice :)

Malayalis are also the best when it comes to romance.

12106211_1632221110371736_1973651413_n.jpg

Watched charlie. Same old "searching for the meaning of life" type movie without a definite story. Dulquer looks good in the movie. There is nothing for Parvathy to "act".

6/10 for Dulquer and the Cinematography.

I was about to go this weekend for it,thanks anything else to look forward to esp from Anwar Rasheed's team?