Sri Lanka v Pakistan | 3rd ODI | Dambulla | 3 Aug 2009 | Pak Innings

• Thread starter Thread starter AZ
  • Start date Start date
Great maturity from Fawad and Umar Akmal

They came in when seniors were intent on another batting collapse and they have stemmed the tide and are setting the platform for Razzaq, Rana and Afridi to come in and have a blast

Akmal looks like a special player. Someone needs to get a hundred for us to win this game.

Umar Akmal trying to be friend with murali there. But he has played him well so far.

Impressive batsmanship by Omar and excellent temperament shown by the struggling Fawad.

umar akmal looks really good batting mashallah, even in the last match he was looking very comfortable

khanz141 said:
umar akmal looks really good batting mashallah, even in the last match he was looking very comfortable

Agree, when the ball was swinging prodigiously last game, he seemed in control but got out to a rash shot which was just a temperamental issue. The guy probably has the best technique in this game's lineup.

I am pretty much sure if we had Malik and Yousuf instead of Alam and U Akmal playing in the middle by the time now...we would have collapsed....

The drink break has changed Akmals approach, nearly gone there

Bye bye Fawad, what a catch from Angelo, he is a very good fielder

I am sorry all the Fawad fans out there, but this guy looks very very limited. When you are struggling to score against a crap bowler like Matthews, it shows you have serious flaws in your batting

It seems that this board is divided between two groups, the haters and lovers of Fawad Alam.

Usman Chadda said:
I am sorry all the Fawad fans out there, but this guy looks very very limited. When you are struggling to score against a crap bowler like Matthews, it shows you have serious flaws in your batting

not his day, you certainly cant judge a guy in one day ;-)

The real beast and the upcoming beast playing together now.

I hate Fawad Alam yaaaaaaaaaar......salay main JAAN hi nahi hai......bhai koi Glocouse pilao us ko.............OUT hone k baad reaction tu aisy dayta hai jiasy hamesha 100 marta hai .... :pissed:

Usman Chadda said:

Mabe Mathews is not "crap"

Lets see on which ball Afridi gets caught. On the first or tenth.

They should take the powerplay in next 2-3 overs?

coca-cola said:
not his day, you certainly cant judge a guy in one day ;-)
I would agree if it had been someone like Fernando, Kulasekara or Thushara troubling him. But Matthews?! Batsmen dream of facing bowlers like Matthews and depositing him all over the park, Fawad was struggling to get the ball off the square! Very disappointed with him

Fawad isnt sticking to his natural game, he seems to be trying to hit the ball too hard. Fawad isnt a boundary hitter, he's a strike rotator and he's not playing to his strengths.

Also I think after two years of hanging around the team and not getting much of a chance to bat, he's likely lost his form or confidence or both.

I was expecting Fawad to do better.. Pretty useless shot but I like the idea of going for your shots.. but the shot here was neither required nor fit for the ball..

I am scared he might be dropped in the next game.. though ideally id want him to play all 5 games as its his first full series.. and dropping might dent his confidence badly!

Fawad is throwing his wicket away.....not what I expected from him....it is true that he doesn't have the power to clear the field! Needs to learn fast or will be dropped

PakPassionate said:
I hate Fawad Alam yaaaaaaaaaar......salay main JAAN hi nahi hai......bhai koi Glocouse pilao us ko.............OUT hone k baad reaction tu aisy dayta hai jiasy hamesha 100 marta hai .... :pissed:

:)) nahi yaar...roze woh dood mai paanch badaam pees ker kahtha hai

Fawad dissapointing today, lets hope he gets more chances though. the boy needs to STOP shuffling, STOP thinking about the nudge to off for a single every single time, and play normally. he HAS THE SHOTS, he should just play. lets hope omar akmal stays, looking good. afridi looking a little "calm" as well.........calm or as calm as he can be.

I think its smart to play guys like umar akmal, alam , malik rather than misbah and moyo still....i mean mayb moyo is a bad decision. But you gotta keep one eye on the future too. Somoene has to form a backbone for pakistan in the future when all these guys are gone.
Umar akmal , alam, malik mite be the 3 solid middle order people in 2-3 years.

insaftak said:
afridi with brainless shot again and he gets lucky

Better than brainless tuk tuk. Im talking about Misnah not Fawad, altho Fawad's innings was like Misbah today.

10 off the over so far from Mathews

Afridi is in a hurry it seems, needs to calm down a bit and take the powerplays and then play those airial shots

Afridi cannot believe that crap like Matthews has an economy rate of under 5 on this pitch. He is trying to set that straight :afridi

Murali smashed down the ground!!!! Afridi not giving him any respect as usual

Another 4444444444

Afridi 21*(10) :afridi

haha Umer Akmal not content with just batting well, hes also fielding out there.

isnt rite nw the time to take the power play as both akmal and afridi play aggresive and theres razzaq and rana to come?