Sri Lanka v Pakistan | 3rd ODI | Dambulla | 3 Aug 2009 | SL Innings

Mercenary said:
Captain Fantastic not setting attacking fields and thinks he can contain Sri Lanka because the score is ungettable. Someone needs to tell him this isnt like the pitches from the last two games.

Something that Malik as captain was guilty of and I was very critical of. Same with Younis, there are no fielders close to the bat with the spinners bowling, not even a slip. How can you expect to take wickets, with no attacking fieldiers?

Any chance that SL could do a 'Pakistan' and fold from a winning position? - I know, wishful thinking. But without hope, what is there?

180 is still a lot of runs- but we need 3 wickets in the next 10 overs and control the rr.

Amoeba- the pitch is amazing and the outfield is rapid. We lost wickets at bad times and yk or l akmal should have made a century.

Anyone just see that advert about great centuries....all those greats..and then Salman Butt.

Someone missing Salman Butt?

Someone missing Mohammad Asif?

Someone missing Umer Gul?

Someone missing Imran Nazir?

An opening like this really puts pressure on the opposition. Unfortunately for us that we never got a solid platform in the 3 ODI's so far. Does anyone know when was the last time we had an opening of over 100 in ODI's?! I can't for now!

i liked the five day games better, atleast we lost after 5 days, here we lose everyday.

IS this the end of the world? Could we be staring at the end of civilization?

yes. Pakistan team nay itni bongiya maari hai kay that the ozone layer has just collapsed.

coca-cola said:
i liked the five day games better, at least we lost after 5 days, here we lose everyday.

:)) :)) :)) :)) hahhahahhaa... made me laugh out loud!!

Don't lose hope fellas, the game has just started! Btw for those who think our batsmen scored a lot of runs: they could've easily done better! Many batsmen at fault, but Pakistan finally got a flat track to score runs and even then they couldn't do better!

Afridi fielding poor as well. Consistency is the key here, everyone fielding poorly

SL players being gentlemen is a myth. It used to be the case before Ranatunga.

Sanga is a bit too full of himself and that was visible in the T20WC final as well.

Sanga needs to be taught a lesson again. He has forgotten the lesson learnt in the final of the T20WC.

I'll back Rana to teach Sanga a lesson in humility and charm. To the point that Sanga will find the following words emanating from his own lips almost uncontrollably:

Hum ko Rana ji maaf karna ghalti maare se ho gayee

Fair enough..I've never liked Sanga..he is too arrogant for his own good..but he is a gentlemen...because he is one of the very few guys who walks if he had hit the ball....he is honest.. so I respect him for that

also have u guys noticed that Sanga never praises the other team's effort no matter how well they do ? Its all about how the SL players did but never a good word for the other teams good peformances... every other captain I know..including Ponting says "They did well" or "they did better than us on the day & they won" or something like that.... we in SLcricket also discussed about this....we r too not that happy

about Rasaq's incident.... it was unfortunate that Rasaq decided to run when the throw clearly hit his hand..I saw Akmal running about 30 yards to fetch the ball when the throw hit his hand..thats good sportsmanship... but guess Sanga over reacted..

Afridi cleverly gave away 2 runs where even one was risky to make.

edit:3 runs actually

Malik should be bowling...Razaq is not going to get a wicket unless the Lankans hand it to him. Malik might get some spin.

This is pathetic bowling. ive had enough of pakistan man, they dont play Nazir or a legend like Yousuf and keep clowns like Jamshed, and Alam

Perhaps there's been a deal made? To allow SL to make mincemeat out of Pakistan in Tests and ODI's in compensation for the SL team being nearly obliterated in Lahore?

undisputed said:
This is pathetic bowling. ive had enough of pakistan man, they dont play Nazir or a legend like Yousuf and keep clowns like Jamshed, and Alam

what does not playing yousaf and nazir has do with crappy bowling

Javelin said:
Perhaps there's been a deal made? To allow SL to make mincemeat out of Pakistan in Tests and ODI's in compensation for the SL team being nearly obliterated in Lahore?

It certainly seems to be that way. Our captain is relaxed as ever. Heck he's wondering why they aren't getting to this total any quicker

undisputed said:
:pissed: :))) Here's a guy who if given proper chances can serve his team for about a decade. But instead you want to see him being replaced by an almost 36 year old player ?

Khabri420 said:
It certainly seems to be that way. Our captain is relaxed as ever. Heck he's wondering why they aren't getting to this total any quicker

odi cricket is just a fun :13:

insaftak said:
what does not playing yousaf and nazir has do with crappy bowling

I know. but still not happy with the batting , c'mon yousuf is a must you gotta admit, alam is not ready for this level, he is a little kid that can't even swing the bat because its to heavy for him.

insaftak said:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA @ pakistani team

Pls dont laugh at Pakistani team - you have been warned. Another involuntary giggle and you will be sent to the dentist for repairs to your "bateesi" ...

Younis Khan doesn't seem to think under pressure. Malik should have a bowl in place of Razaq. He can get spin, besides Ajmal will run out of overs soon.

Kamran Akmal
Nasir Jamshed
Younis Khan
Shoaib Malik
Umar Akmal
Fawad Alam
Shahid Afridi
Abdul Razzaq
Naved-ul-Hasan
Mohammad Aamer

Pls dont laugh at Pakistani team - you have been warned. Another involuntary giggle and you will be sent to the dentist for repairs to your "bateesi" ...
:))) Oh man, you are really funny.

undisputed said:
he is a clown alam. when he got out he reminded me of a little kid that found the bat to heavy to swing
Here's a guy who if given proper chances can serve his team for about a decade. But instead you want to see him being replaced by an almost 36 year old player ?

I hope the Lankans won't be able to chase down the target without losing any wicket. Would be horrible for Pak cricket reputation if it happens.

THe thing that hurts the most about this loss is that we have to watch 2 more useless ODIs that have no meaning for the series!

You guys never cease to surprise me. A couple of weeks back Fawad was the next big thing. Some one even had a signature - "...we need to think Fawad" etc.

And today he is a joker, useless, a kid who doesnt know how to play etc..Wah. Pathetic stuff guys. And I am slowing getting used to this behaviour - which is alarming!

iZeeshan said:
THe thing that hurts the most about this loss is that we have to watch 2 more useless ODIs that have no meaning for the series!
I think at current form Pakistan should only be playing 3 match ODI series and maximum 2 match test series.

Finally got the batting in order but now the bowling looking rather impotent. This must be devastating for team morale. Meanwhile, these two Sri Lankans have been sensational.

They'll need a collapse of Pakistani proportions to win this game ... i have to say those pakistani's fans laughing at thier own team are pathetic, wrist slitting, pitiful losers ... the kind of people that jump on the bandwagon when the team is winning and proclaim them to be the greatest thing on God's green earth ... and yet when they see the first sign of trouble they scarper ... bravery in the face of adversity is something they've never heard of ... spineless scum

dani2k said:
You guys never cease to surprise me. A couple of weeks back Fawad was the next big thing. Some one even had a signature - "...we need to think Fawad" etc.

And today he is a joker, useless, a kid who doesnt know how to play etc..Wah. Pathetic stuff guys. And I am slowing getting used to this behaviour - which is alarming!

You guys? What's with the generalisation? Excuse me but was everyone having multiple orgasms over Fawad? Sure there were those (me included) that wanted him to given a decent chance and so far he, in all honesty hasn't responded in the manner that is expected from someone, who is rated quite highly.

His innings today deserves criticism, in that he did waste balls and then get out in the most bizarre way, almost out of frustration.

Juggernaut said:
They'll need a collapse of Pakistani proportions to win this game ... i have to say those pakistani's fans laughing at thier own team are pathetic, wrist slitting, pitiful losers ... the kind of people that jump on the bandwagon when the team is winning and proclaim them to be the greatest thing on God's green earth ... and yet when they see the first sign of trouble they scarper ... bravery in the face of adversity is something they've never heard ... spineless scum

it is customary to understand a situation before opening one's rude mouth. the fact that i've stood awake the entire night supporting a team 2-0 down shows my support. don't tell me who i am and what i am because you don't know me, and a couple of posts on a virtual community is quite an immature medium to judge a person by. :13:

Juggernaut said:
They'll need a collapse of Pakistani proportions to win this game ... i have to say those pakistani's fans laughing at thier own team are pathetic, wrist slitting, pitiful losers ... the kind of people that jump on the bandwagon when the team is winning and proclaim them to be the greatest thing on God's green earth ... and yet when they see the first sign of trouble they scarper ... bravery in the face of adversity is something they've never heard of ... spineless scum

no we are laughing to stay sane, they are trying everything to drive us nutts

Abay aik to out kerlo yaar.

:inti

Naved is bowling pies.. and Jaya is on freakin' FIRE

RR is still around 5.5/O...We can still win this game if if we manage to get few quick wickets.

I wonder if they can win this by 10 wickets. How novel would that be!

What a completely unexpected innings from Mahela! He's batting like a monster today

Razzaq and Rana need to realize that they aren't playing for the Heroes or the Badshah's here.

FM87 said:
RR is still around 5.5/O...We can still win this game if if we manage to get few quick wickets.
I was about to say the same. I think we will win it Inshaallah.

Jayawardene has on the whole batted superlatively today. He's been lucky a few times and should have been given out to Afridi, but most of his boundaries have just oozed class.

zulfiqar said:
What a completely unexpected innings from Mahela! He's batting like a monster today
Very unexpected. He hasn't played this well in his whole life.

We still have a chance if we could pick up a wicket and get the Required rate to over 6(which is about 5.4 right now)

It's still possible guys; don't lose hope yet! We needs both of their wickets.. you never know, mahela might play a rash stroke after getting his 100 and dismiss himself and Tharanga might follow.... 2 wkts + Sanga and we're in!

You guys? What's with the generalisation? Excuse me but was everyone having multiple orgasms over Fawad? Sure there were those (me included) that wanted him to given a decent chance and so far he, in all honesty hasn't responded in the manner that is expected from someone, who is rated quite highly.

His innings today deserves criticism, in that he did waste balls and then get out in the most bizarre way, almost out of frustration.

The problem is with the fans who praise the players to the heavens when the play one good innings only to grind them to dust when they dont. He is still finding his feet in the international arena and deserves his chances and a bit of understanding from you guys (yes all of you guys). I still stick to my view. You guys need to moderate your expectations rather than chastizing a poor guy who is new to the international scene (This is his 3rd ODI game isnt it?)

And don't criticize Umar if he doesnt do well in the next games. They are not Super men who could transform the whole world in one day. Give them time and they will do well with experience..

dani2k said:

There were many bring back ICL players threads which declared that would make significant difference.... Rana, Yousuf, Razzaq are back hard to see any difference ?

What is happening out there? Is it that flat pitch? Did Pakistan bat too slow?
And why is Mahela finding the boundaries so easy. He has a career SR of mid 70s and now he is scoring at 110, must be real poor bowling. I am glad I'm at work and can only follow the score on cricinfo.