Sri Lanka v Pakistan| 3rd Test - Day 1 | Colombo | 20/07/09

insaftak said:
the more i read these posts the more angry i get, i'm taking a break from all this, i hope i could resist and not comeback for another 10 hours

The more I read I read these posts, the less angry I get:D

MalikMohsin said:
He was dropped but the media and the public screamed and the next day, he was back in the squad. Technically, he never got dropped. He was really lucky. If it was an Australian cricket board, both Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Akhtar would have been dropped a long time ago, and of course, Malik and Misbah too. :D

Wow I thought philosophy was a difficult subject and I feared the mental patient the most.But now after listening to you, I am not afraid of them.

Geordie Ahmed said:
You really are a drama queen are'nt you

I disagreed with it being plumb so not sure why your are jibber jabbering about bad luck

Man its swinging in yes? yes, hit him in line with off stump, i mean what is wrong? ok fine, lets just agree to disagree.

Omar Malik said:
I knew it once Manzoor fell that the rest will be gone soon as the collapse had started! 1 wicket falls and the rest follow the trend!

We lost our wickets in pairs- 2 wkts in quick succession.

Fawad and YK went together.
Then Manzoor and Yousuf went together.
Then Malik and Misbah went together.

x2zee123 said:
haahahah lol man...........unbelivable stufff i hope dey lose this test to

We came into this series having played less Test cricket than every other nation, collapsed left, right and center, yet still didn't lose this badly:

http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/343729.html

That's what I call funny.

jusarrived said:
thats some seriously weak tail ? i mean Gul at 8 & you guys wonder why pak batting has been collapsing

Batting down to number 7 (Akmal) is perfectly fine for Test cricket. Picking bits and pieces players at the expense of specialist bowlers just to extend your tail slightly is not the way to go.

Wow I thought philosophy was a difficult subject and I feared the mental patient the most.But now after listening to you, I am not afraid of them.

Ooops! :))) :)))

Omar Malik said:
I knew it once Manzoor fell that the rest will be gone soon as the collapse had started! 1 wicket falls and the rest follow the trend!

Wow tum tu Jadugar hu yaar, Sajan Pardesi.

its depressing to watch but they need to put in some serious thinking as far as test cricket goes ... we have no stable opening partnership ... we need new players at 5 and 6 in place of malik and misbah ... and most of all the players need to take responsibilty:

Openers see off the new ball ... stop fishing ... set a platform
YK and yousuf come in and bat all day ... stop having brain farts ... they're capable of batting for hours
5 and 6 come in and realise the hard work isn't over, when the second new ball comes in see it off first and occupy the crease
Kamran comes in hopefully when we have more than a few runs on the board plays his natural game and blasts the ball to all parts
Tailenders stop wafting at every ball ... rotate the strike and **** off the opposition

The above is just a very simplified (and i guess a bit childish) batting plan.
I have no worries with regards to bowlers when you have runs on the board the bowlers will automatically bowl better

Take the game session by session and take responsibilty i can't stress that enough

Nasir Jamshed/Khurram Manzoor
Ahmed Shehzad
Younis Khan
Mohammed Yousuf
Sheharyar Ghani
Fawad Alam
Umar Akmal

Surely a much better top order that ^ both age wise and reliability wise perhaps in the longer term?

Of course, you aren't afraid no longer, but philosophy is something Shahid Khan Afridi can not understand. Gotta make it simple task for his fans to understand the real point.

pakcricketfan said:
Ooops! :))) :)))

Come on get serious.

Afridi came back in the side because public wanted him back in.And I wonder why the PCB is not listening to the same public and media when it comes to Misbah and Malik.

God the guy has made me so lost that I dont know what I am saying.I am going to pay a visit to the psychiatrist soon.

MalikMohsin said:
Of course, you aren't afraid no longer, but philosophy is something Shahid Khan Afridi can not understand. Gotta make it simple task for his fans to understand the real point.

Arey merey yaar tum Azeem sey bhi azeem hu, you have listened to that patriotic song, "watan ki mitti azeem hai tu, azeemtar hum bana rahey hain ,gawah rehna"

tum bhi Misbah ko Azeem sey azeem tar bana rahey hu, and dont worry mein is ka gawah hun.

Come on get serious.

Afridi came back in the side because public wanted him back in.And I wonder why the PCB is not listening to the same public and media when it comes to Misbah and Malik.

God the guy has made me so lost that I dont know what I am saying.I am going to pay a visit to the psychiatrist soon.

PCB has demoted Malik captaincy for the sake of public.

You telling me that the public didn't make a big deal out of it when Shahid Khan Afridi was dropped? You need to watch Wasim Akram interview. He was criticized from all over the Pakistan when Afridi was dropped.

MalikMohsin said:

You need to go back to your basics.
Defend Misbah but stop attacking Afridi and his fans.
Why do you have to rely on attacking Afridi and his fans in order to defend Misbah?

Arey merey yaar tum Azeem sey bhi azeem hu, you have listened to that patriotic song, "watan ki mitti azeem hai tu, azeemtar hum bana rahey hain ,gawah rehna"

tum bhi Misbah ko Azeem sey azeem tar bana rahey hu, and dont worry mein is ka gawah hun.

I am happy to see Misbah being kicked out of the team. Is that so hard for you guys to understand? I am not selfish, fan of some player who will put player above Pakistan. I feel bad for Misbah and Malik who always receive criticism all the times even when they were performing.

pakcricketfan said:
You need to go back to your basics.
Defend Misbah but stop attacking Afridi and his fans.
Why do you have to rely on attacking Afridi and his fans in order to defend Misbah?

Why you are over reacting? Calm down.

Yaar pre-season match start honey wala hai Man U ka, Malik sahib phir kabhi milna tum tu barey mazkhiye hu :)))

Hope to see you later Mr being obsessing with Afridi. :D

The late wickets has put Sri Lanka on top.. if we can make 320 or so it wont be a great score but wont be that bad too.. we will have to pin our hopes on the new ball !

Only decent thing we might have to look forward to is we playing two spinners and Lanka will bat last ?

i came back to see the score that may be , may be pakistan team can do better.. but i am stupid

pakcricketfan said:
lol..:)) Who's over reacting??!!
Some of your comments followed by Afridi_fan's responses actually cracked me up..

That is okay. No need to react. All is fun. ;-)

MalikMohsin said:
Not bad. He can't score 161, and 131 without talent in India. That is something :D Mr Blind's fan. :afridi

But he can never win MoM in any World Championship Semi-Final and Final :)))

Well played by the cheetah Malik, got a life on 21 and then he went to prove all his doubters wrong that he can score big and play a fighting innings just like the cheetah that he is.

:malik

This thread, which was supposed to be about SL vs Pak is turning into an Afridi vs Misbah thread..!

McBoom said:
Well played by the cheetah Malik, got a life on 21 and then he went to prove all his doubters wrong that he can score big and play a fighting innings just like the cheetah that he is.

:malik

The cheetah indeed, put everything on stake and went on to "fight" the new ball for his 45. Awesome work considering that he got a life on 21.

But he can never win MoM in any World Championship Semi-Final and Final :)))

I knew you were gonna comment this. We will see when Misbah performs the similar which is impossible at the moment. :13:

pakcricketfan said:
This thread, which was supposed to be about SL vs Pak is turning into an Afridi vs Misbah thread..!
Is that even a fair contest? I mean a player at 17 who achieved legendary status in the very first innings he batted and got a MOM in his very last match versus a player who is nearing retirement and still can't do jack.

if :malik is cheetah wot bout :misbah :132: surely he must be tuk tuk tatu then, ive bin ranting and raving its about time we get rid of them, WE NEED FRESH BLOOD IN THE TEAM

pakcricketfan said:
The cheetah indeed, put everything on stake and went on to "fight" the new ball for his 45. Awesome work considering that he got a life on 21.
Makes me think of that brilliant post from a brilliant cricket analyst on PP, who wanted YK to give captaincy back to malik.

I mean there are levels of stupidity.

pakcricketfan said:
Not to mention that after fighting with the new ball he sprinted like a cheetah towards the dressing room.

The loss of Inzamam i guess cannot be under estimated. Previously we had 3 batters whom we could really trust i.e. YK, MY and Inzi. Now we are forced to subtract Inzi from the list.

1)
2)
3) YK
4) Yousaf
5)
6)
7)

As far as the batting line up is concerned, apart from the position of the 2 Y's everyone else is suspect technically, mentally. I wont pay any attention to Manzoor's 93 because it was a dead rubber in the end and heck even Hafeez and Farhat have scored in dead rubbers.

We need to seriously declare a batting emergency on a large scale. I am glad Pakistan wont be playing too much cricket back home because playing constantly on these flat wickets has only hurt both our batting and bowling in the long run. The Wickets in Sri Lanka gave some fair assistance to both the fast bowlers and spinners but then again they werent impossible to bat again. Our batters have been exposed mentally and technically. Intikhab's position as head coach seriously needs to be reevaluated, he cant get away with his mantra 'i am a psychologist, mantra", we actually need a technically competent person to work with the boys as well like Woolmer for e.g.

waqar_ahmad said:
Makes me think of that brilliant post from a brilliant cricket analyst on PP, who wanted YK to give captaincy back to malik.

I mean there are levels of stupidity.

That 'analyst' has a good sense of humour.

Its funny how people are now regarding Afridi as the savior and rescuer of the team's fortunes when only a few months ago there were highly vocal demands for his banishment from the team.

As I posted earlier...the current situation requires a bit of risk taking and bringing in some young talent. This is NOT a quick fix, they may fail on a few occasions at first...but at least they will have time on their side, if we persist with them, they can eventually become a world beating combination for test matches.

1) Nasir Jamshed/Khurram Manzoor
2) Ahmed Shehzad
3) Younis Khan (c)
4) Mohammed Yousuf
5) Sheharyer Ghani
6) Fawad Alam
7) Kamran Akmal/Sarfraz Ahmed(wk)
8) Umar Gul/Anwar Ali
9) Mohammed Asif/Mohammed Talha
10) Mohammed Amir/Wahab Riaz
11) Saeed Ajmal/Danish Kaneria/Mansoor Amjad

I have not added Umar Akmal to the lineup since his natural game is an aggressive one which might not suit the game plot so much if there is a collapse underway, however this guy is a brilliant prospect and if any of the above fail or changes need to be made he can be slotted in quite easily.

I have added the names of 2 or 3 players for some slots in order to show the considerable bench strength that exists here as well. Guys we do have some very good young talent at our disposal, we just need the guts to bring them in first of all and then handle and manage them correctly.

Omar Malik said:
hasanb, so no Afridi in your team?!

yeah remember this is my test team only, ODIs and T20s would be different. Well if he wants to play test matches then i would put him there in a flash yes, he may or may not perform with the bat (he seems a reformed batsman with self control now). However his bowling will be an asset.

That adds to my point with afridi in the mix that broadens our options even more...we certainly dont have a lack of talent here!

hasanb said:
yeah remember this is my test team only, ODIs and T20s would be different. Well if he wants to play test matches then i would put him there in a flash yes, he may or may not perform with the bat (he seems a reformed batsman with self control now). However his bowling will be an asset.

That adds to my point with afridi in the mix that broadens our options even more...we certainly dont have a lack of talent here!

Yeah I knew its your test team hence the question of Afridi not being there arised! Well surely if he does want to play test matches which he seems to be showing a desire to do so now does broaden our options certainly with the ball!