Sri Lanka vs Pakistan | 1st test - Day 2 | Galle | 5/7/09

feather said:
Chalo bhai lets forgive and forget. A 100 on his come back. Plus he seems to be getting along very well with Malik on the other end. Let's celebrate our cricket after a long time Pakistan cricket is looking good and the future even looks better.

Malik deserves a lot of credit for that, he has the integrity to put the pettiness aside. MoYo didn't.

Six more overs and the second new ball will be due. Should administer a cameo type phainti.

Intresting to see if they do take the new ball, last evening it did swing around alot.

Miandad and Inzi have how many hundreds?
Inzi: 25
Yousuf: 24*
Javed: 23

Just went past Miandad, will cross Inzi soon. With 20+ tests scheduled until the 2011 WC, Yousuf can break a lot of records (national and international) before he retires.

Come on waqar. Murali is great but say it str8, he was'nt as good as the pioneer!

Beautiful straight drive by Malik!

He's looking dangerous

Intresting to see if they do take the new ball, last evening it did swing around alot.
I am sure they will as soon as it's due.

A superb shot by Malik.

I dont know but the Lankans have become unfriendly and are not showing the sportsman spirit against Pakistani players since the Lahore attacks.

Well thats what I feel and I might be wrong.

I dont think its the lahore attacks, this change has come about under sangakkaras canptaincy...i know a lot of people disagree with me on this but i have really big doubts about sangas character. That will be become more and more evident as time goes on.

Sheikh said:

Just went past Miandad, will cross Inzi soon. With 20+ tests scheduled until the 2011 WC, Yousuf can break a lot of records (national and international) before he retires.
Thanks Sheikh.

Inshaallah.

what a shot by Malik, he should be under pressure every time he comes out to bat.

Sparhawk said:
Malik deserves a lot of credit for that, he has the integrity to put the pettiness aside. MoYo didn't.
I think it is best that all of us forget the past and move on. From what we have heard here or read it seems Moyo and Malik were actually very good friends at one point so when your friends they are times when friends fight. It takes one minute to work out their issues and go back to being best friends.

Every time I play cricket with my brothers [3]. Me and the one older then me always are fighting. His always screaming at me. I tell myself next week I am not going to play in the same team but end up playing again :x

The amount of times some of these guys spend together...I like to think they are mini-family too.

272/8 3.57 Sri

269/5 3.57* Pak

76th over.

^Their innings and our innings comparison.

Sheikh said:

When Inzi was the captain before he lost his own batting form. He said many times that Yousaf was Pakistan's greatest batsman. When many would have considered Inzi to be the lead runner. I guess his lost form in the end ICL might have hurt his likeness with short term memory Pak fans...

what is wiki saying. turn is very slow? its not that slow. 4th day will be extremely diff to play

feather said:
I think it is best that all of us forget the past and move on.

Agreed. Its been a long time since Pakistan were free of major controversies, lets enjoy it while it lasts :afridi

The good thing about this partnership is that both Yousuf and Malik know the art of taking singles. They are less likely to get bogged down, hence neither of them are going to take big risks.

feather said:
When Inzi was the captain before he lost his own batting form. He said many times that Yousaf was Pakistan's greatest batsman. When many would have considered Inzi to be the lead runner. I guess his lost form in the end ICL might have hurt his likeness with short term memory Pak fans...
I'd say Miandad has always been the lead runner, post Hanif of course.

At the end of his career, Yousuf certainly has a chance to be our ''greatest ever''. If has ends up with an average in the late 50's, 10,000 odd runs, and 30+ centuries, then he'll certainly have a case to be not only our greatest ever, but one of the greatest the world has seen.

Lofty numbers there, but as Momo said: Inshallah.

19 overs still left in days play if they get them in.

Malik playing his part here, he needs to convert this start.

New ball due any moment. This period is crucial.

spectator said:
this is last recognised pair. if moyo gets out any time, we can add 80 runs approx after that
Akmal is recognized.

Besides, anything under 450 and we may find it difficult to chase in the last innings.

eni thing less than 450 in 1st inn would be dangerous as pak have to bat last. it wont be easy chasing more than 200 on this pitch on 5th day

CricVet said:
NEW ball, flow of runs or mishaps. Let c.
Good point. Both batsmen set and fielders tired. If the bowlers don't ball well they can be picked for runs.

thushara kisses the ball twice then kisses his shirt...what next? these sri lankans and their superstitions haha

Sheikh said:
Good point. Both batsmen set and fielders tired. If the bowlers don't ball well they can be picked for runs.

yeah, except for the last ball of klu, not much there. Good sign for Pakistan.

hasanb said:
thushara kisses the ball twice then kisses his shirt...what next? these sri lankans and their superstitions haha

after seeing the attitude of the sri lankan players, not applauding the century, they can all kiss my a$$